burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx

Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Swiftcurrent Expedition Zip-Front Waders

Write Your Review

4.6/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • SRM
  • MXM
  • MSM
  • MRM
  • MRL
  • MLM
  • LSM
  • LRM
  • LRL
  • LLL
  • XRM
  • XLL
  • 2RM
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 65 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Swiftcurrent Expedition Zip-Front Waders

4.6/5
True To Size
November 2, 2022

Tough as nails

Got these to replace an older pair of Gallegos and I am stoked. They are just as durable, bushwacking through brush and never got hung-up, and comfortable in 40° temps. The greatest upgrade is the zipper. Makes it super easy to add or remove layers.

October 18, 2022

Awesome Waders

These are flat out great waders. I am tall, 6ft 4in, so ordered the LLL. I also have a long upper body, so legs are a little long and the upper body and straps are almost to short. There is some adjustability with the straps, but which there was more. Very rugged and should last years. Extremely well made.

Response from Patagonia
October 20, 2022

We really appreciate your thorough and detailed feedback, Ethan!

October 16, 2022

Great waders!

Great product. I have lwned a pair of patagonia waders before ( I actually wore them out, which is difficult to do for ANY Patagonia product) These are much improved. The older pair were quite baggy and were difficult to wade in in deep high current situations.. these are much slimmer and have much less resistance to heavy current.. Kudos to your d... Read Moreesigners!

October 10, 2022

Warm and fits well

I have short legs, big feet and a long torso. The waders themselves fit great. I was nervous about the feet being too small, but they fit very well and keep me warm and dry when I'm out on the water.

October 1, 2022

Had to return the waders

I ordered the waders because of the quality of Patagonia products, the use of recycled materials and the conservation efforts of the company. I also wanted zip front waders. I had called to confirm the sizing and it seemed that MSM would be okay. When I got them they were clearly too big even with undergarments. I think a smaller size would have be... Read Moreen better but there is no smaller size available. The only option would be custom fitting. I called to see what other options were available but I ended up returning them. The customer service rep could not have been nicer. I bought a competitors set of waders and they fit well, but theres a reason why my first choice was Patagonia. My only suggestion would be to offer the smaller size for this set of waders.

September 23, 2022

darn tough

I've used these waders on a couple outings so far and man are they holding up. Climbing up and over fallen trees and sliding down a cliff or two in them (not on purpose) these waders don't even have a scratch on them. Super comfortable sitting and rowing the drift boat as well!

September 2, 2022

Fantastic Waders

These swift current expedition zip front waders were purchased to replace my Rio Gallegos zip fronts after 5 seasons of use on those waders. The Rio Gallegos were so good I was hesitant to replace them but after receiving my new Swift Currents I am happy to say they are an upgrade. Two things that always stood out to me as a negative on the Rio Ga... Read Morellegos- the stocking feet were overly large and the waders would get tight between the foot and knee when I was bending at the knee..the Swift Currents alleviate both of these issues, I am 6 ft 2 in tall & 230 lbs, the Swift Current XLL are a perfect fit..the foot portion fits my size 12 foot just right..not to loose and not to snug, I have full mobility while kneeling, bending, ect without and issues with binding or tightness..time will tell but the improved gravel guards are lighter and fit firmer around my wading boots and seam to be an improvement..the added interior & exterior pockets are a welcome addition..overall the waders feel lighter than my Rio Gallegos , I cant wait to put some serious time in them on the river, once again a fantastic product from Patagonia that I am confident will give me years of service, if you are in the market for a solid pair of waders look no further than these Swift Current Zip Fronts - they are form fitted for a wonderful bulk free fit which reduces fatigue while wading rivers, feature packed and built extremely well to last many seasons on the water The only personnel observation thus far and its a bit knit-picky is the small string pulls on the zippered pockets- a bit larger pull with more finger purchase available would be a welcome addition Buy with confidence that you are receiving a fantastic set of waders backed by Patagonia and their exceptional customer service!

Response from Patagonia
September 9, 2022

Thank you so much for this detailed review, Chad! It's obvious you know what to look for in your waders, and you're in a position to make good comparisons. Please get in touch any time we can be of any help!

August 30, 2022

Superior Attention to Details

Patagonia makes outstanding waders. Attention to details for each aspect of these waders sets them apart other excellent waders out there. The quality starts at the tip of the toe (neoprene bootie) and continues through to the very top of the waders. Three features stand out for me. The Fit: Patagonia offers many size options to fit a wide range... Read More of body size and shape. My waders feels like it was custom made for me. The design: No details are spared. Adjustable shoulder straps makes the waders very versatile for all seasons. The little abrasion fabric along the inside ankle to protect it waders while walking is brilliant. The zipper and placement of the stitching and tougher panels of fabric all adds up. The support: Patagonia warranty and customer support is the best in the industry, bar none. In the era of throw-away-culture, Patagonia makes every effort to keep a piece of gear alive as long as possible. I respect that and value that tremendously. Finally, Patagonia's commitment to environment is truly commendable. Ultimately they are making an effort to keep the places and watersheds alive for us and our next generations. How could I not applaud that. Hats off to you.

August 14, 2022

Bomber

Super thick and bomber material. Love having the front zipper. These things are made to take some punishment and they fit perfect. The shoulder straps distribute the weight well and have nice padding.

August 9, 2022

Durability Issues

I can't fault the features and comfort, the expedition zip waders have been extremely comfortable on all my walk and wade trips. Unfortunately, it seems to have durability issues - particularly in the neoprene booties. Despite drying immediately after every outing i was disappointed to find during a fishing trip that one of the booties had sta... Read Morerted leaking. Upon closer inspection, it seems like the seam tape on both ends delaminated and water was entering through the seam. Every other part of the wader from the fit to the materials has been extremely impressive. But for this to happen a little over a year of use and at this price range - i can't help but be kind of disappointed.

Response from Patagonia
August 12, 2022

Thanks so much for your thoughtful feedback, Jason! We're sorry to hear about the lack of durability. Your purchase is covered by our Ironclad Guarantee and we encourage you to reach out to our [Patagonia-owned store in your area](https://www.patagonia.ca/patagonia-vancouver-canada/store_735639866.html) to discuss a repair. They'll be more than happy to help you!

July 25, 2022

Excellent Waders

I have used an other prominent brand of waders for a few years and made the switch to Patagonia for my new set. Im 5 ft 10 in and roughly 200 lbs and the LRM fits perfect. The material (H2NO) is great, but is quite a bit thicker than the others Ive owned. This isnt a big deal, but the sand guard over the booty is elastic and I could see this becomi... Read Moreng stretched over time, but will have to wait and see. If Patagonia reads this, I recommend maybe using a Velcro style strap of some sort to increase longevity. My only issue is that these waders are made in Vietnam and the other companies make theirs in the USA respectively. I was so on the fence about these because of that. I would gladly pay the increased price if the next line is USA made to ensure fair wages, standard of living and responsible manufacturing. Other than that, great waders.

Response from Patagonia
July 28, 2022

Hello Derek! Although some of our items are made outside of the USA, we are Fair Trade certified, which means that all our factories meet a robust certification with hundreds of standards, such as safety, working hours, working wages and environmental management. We also pay a premium which goes directly to all the workers (not factory management), and they decide how to spend it. In each factory, a democratically elected Fair Trade worker committee decides how the funds will be used. If you would like to learn more, please feel free to click [here](https://www.patagonia.com/where-we-do-business/)

July 18, 2022

New Waders

Excellent Waders. Great fit. Looking forward to Steelhead season with these new waders.

July 15, 2022

great waders

Not cheap, but worth the cost. Like the waist/chest adjustment option. Patagona does a great job of standing behind their product, which adds to the value.

July 12, 2022

Freedom of Movement

I have finally gotten to use these waders after buying them over the winter. They offer great freedom of movement and do not feel binding at all. I have been able to scramble up steep embankments and climb over downed trees with ease. I have used them in high mountain lakes and rivers. Not once did I ever feel the cold water, and I was only wearing... Read More shorts and a thin pair of socks under the waders. At 5'10" I find the MRM fit to be perfect. Not once have I wanted more room in the crotch or knees. I do find the waterproof pocket a bit cumbersome to get at, but otherwise the waders work great! Now only if they would help me with catching fish, then they would be supreme.

Response from Patagonia
July 14, 2022

We'll pass that suggestion along to our product designers... :) Thank you so much for this detailed review, Brodie!

May 25, 2022

Great waders

Got these as a graduation present. Loving them so far, only got them out once so far but so much better than anything I've ever owned.

April 13, 2022

River tuned

Took the first trip out in a April snowstorm expedition and the waders exceeded expectations. Everything has purpose and everything works as it should. Well thought out from the suspenders to the seem lines. True to size on fit. You cant go wrong!

February 15, 2022

Disappointing Fits Small

"I live on Vancouver Island and am in waders fishing for salmon and steelhead about 100 days a year. I am 6'1 and weigh about 210lbs and wear size 11 shoes. I recently used the online measuring system and it recommended an "MLM" size for me. That is what I ordered and what was shipped to me. The quality of the materials and cons... Read Moretruction appears to be top notch. However, after one use it was clear the waders just don't fit me right. Below are my main observations: - NEOPRENE BOOTIES FIT NICELY... a perfect fit. - A NICE SLIM FIT THROUGH THE LEGS... legs are just what I am looking for. A nice slim fit that isn't too bulky. - TIGHT IN THE ANKLES... a bit tight on the ankles. Not uncomfortable, but definitely annoying putting the waders on and taking them off. I also wonder if they would be too tight for winter fishing with underlayers. - CROTCH RIDES HIGH... this is a major issue. The waders give me a wedgie even with the suspenders fully adjusted to the bottom loop. This was very uncomfortable and resulted in me calling my first day of fishing with these waders off early. I suspect it wouldn't be too long before the waders tore in the cotch if I forced the issue and attempted a season with them. That or I would do damage to my body! - FRONT ZIPPER SITS HIGH... the zipper down the front doesn't extend low enough to easily pee in the field (a major selling feature). I suspect this issue is related to the crotch riding so high. - THE HIPS ARE TIGHT... the design leaves very little room for mobility in the hips. When squatting or bending over the material is very tight on the outside of the hips to the point that it begins to limit mobility. When I wore the waders in the field this was very distracting and I found myself avoiding certain movements and not fishing certain places on the river (e.g. climbing up banks) to access fishable water because of this issue. - THE TORSO IS SHORT... the torso fits the girth of my chest nicely, but it is very short. Fully raised (and that means a major wedgie) the top of the wader sits about an inch below my nipples. By contrast my old Rio Gallegos waders sat about an inch above my nipples (with no wedgie). I do lots of deep wading and this will limit my ability to fish certain spots. Overall, I am was surprised with the fit of the waders. I double and triple checked to make sure I didn't get sent a smaller size wader by accident. Alas, they are indeed the MLM's I ordered. My surprise shifted to disappointment and concern when I took a closer look at the waders online. It would appear other "taller" people have had similar issues with sizing and fit in the crotch. I had hoped a larger size would make a difference (e.g. LLM). However, my main issue is to do with the length of the waders and it appears the larger sizes are only geared for people that are heavier set - not people that are taller. I ended up speaking with a customer service representative and and guide brand representative. They have been excellent to deal with so far. They said they have heard similar complaints from other taller customers. Unfortunately, there are no larger sizes that will work for me in a timely manner. They suggested new sizing options may be available in the future. I will be pursuing a refund and will have to look at switching over to another brand. I really like the Patagonia Brand and have been a fairly loyal customer over the years. The construction quality looks good and I think these might fit short people well. Unfortunately they just don't work for me. If you are over 6 feet tall I highly recommend trying a pair on in person before ordering. Plus, it is nice to support local retailers!"

Response from Patagonia
February 17, 2022

Hi Jake, thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed review of these waders. This kind of information is bound to be useful to other customers looking for fit information. In addition, our product development team reads these reviews, so your feedback will be heard. We're glad to hear our Customer Service Team was helpful in arranging a return, and of course you're welcome to return anything that doesn't work for you. We hope we can hook you up in the future with other gear you'll love!

February 4, 2022

Sturdy and Light

Waders are sturdy, strong, yet light. I got size XRM cause I needed size 11 boot with 48 inch girth (note: not waist-girth). Being 62 with long torso the shoulder straps were an inch or two short. I just added a short adjustable strap on each side. The Customer Service was absolutely great. The best service of any company I have dealt with. Very r... Read Moreesponsive, knowledgeable, and articulate. They referred me to the Patagonia Guide to zoom to confirm fit as internet order. The Guide really thought everything through. I would have ordered the wrong waders without him. Best company by far I ever dealt with.

Response from Patagonia
February 4, 2022

Hey, Thomas! We're so glad you were able to take advantage of the Guide as a resource! Aren't they great? Please let us know any time we can be of any help!

January 29, 2022

Best looking. Most functional. Ultra comfy.

Hands down the best. Having owned Simms (which are great), theses waders are more superior. They look great and provide the necessary warmth when swinging flies for winter steelhead. They fit like a gloves and have all the right features so you dont really need a pack to carry gear. Another added bonus feature, is you can slide a net between the be... Read Morelt loops of your lower back, if the handle is long enough. Also, Patagonia make these waders responsibly and resourcefullygotta respect that.

January 22, 2022

Perfect

True to size and fits pretty much according to the fitting chart. I am just over 6, my inseam is 32+ and the R lengthy is great. LRL and MLL also fit, but with the ladder adjustment I settled on MRL. I wear size 13 shoes. I wear these with a size 14 boot (Danner River Saltyou need to go up one size with a heavy wader, whereas I use a 13 boot in my ... Read Morepackable waders or when wet wading with that version of the Danner boot). Nothing to me is worse than a footy that is too small and the L foot works well for me. My actual girth is around 39 and I assume I would have ordered LRL or even LLL if I ordered on line and they would have been too big. I usually have long johns, pants, heavy socks, a t shirt, a thin shirt, a sweater and a puffy coat under these with just enough room to be comfortable. Glad they dont have too much slop in them but they are not snug or tight. Also glad my local shop had these when they came out. I do recommend that you try them with the clothing you intend to wear. For me these are great in a cold climate. They are very well built. Even though I fish in the NW I would have been happy with slightly thinner materials (1 less layer of material) but they are never too hot if its under 50 degrees out. I just really wanted the front zipper. Thats the best feature. The waterproof pocket is a bit annoying and the hand warning pockets are a bit small but the waders are the best ever. I replaced an older pair of Simms boots with these and wont look back. I have no real brand allegiance but I just loved the design of my Patagonia packables and thought I should try these. Try these! Its a hefty price. But worth it and more affordable in the zipper free and lighter versions. The regular swiftcurrent would have been fine if they had had a zipper model. I rarely fish below 32 degrees air temperature. But they are definitely not too hot and I also love the knee pads.

January 22, 2022

Perfect

True to size and fits pretty much according to the fitting chart. I am just over 6, my inseam is 32+ and the R lengthy is great. LRL and MLL also fit, but with the ladder adjustment I settled on MRL. I wear size 13 shoes. I wear these with a size 14 boot (Danner River Saltyou need to go up one size with a heavy wader, whereas I use a 13 boot in my ... Read Morepackable waders or when wet wading with that version of the Danner boot). Nothing to me is worse than a footy that is too small and the L foot works well for me. My actual girth is around 39 and I assume I would have ordered LRL or even LLL if I ordered on line they would have been too big. I usually have long johns, pants, heavy socks, a t shirt, a thin shirt, a sweater and a puffy coat under these with just enough room to be comfortable. Glad they dont have too much slop in them but they are not snug or tight. Also glad my local shop had these when they came out. I do recommend that you try them with the clothing you intend to wear. For me these are great in a cold climate. They are very well built. Even though I fish in the NW I would have been happy with slightly thinner materials (1 less layer of material) but they are never too hot if its under 50 degrees out. I just really wanted the front zipper. Thats the best feature. The waterproof pocket is a bit annoying and the hand warning pockets are a bit small but the waders are the best ever. I replaced an older pair of Simms boots with these and wont look back. I have no real brand allegiance but I just loved the design of my Patagonia packables and thought I should try these. Try these! Its a hefty price. But worth it and more affordable in the zipper free and lighter versions. The regular swiftcurrent would have been fine if they had had a zipper model. I rarely fish below 32 degrees air temperature. But they are definitely not too hot and I also love the knee pads.

January 4, 2022

Love the waders

Excellent product. Excellent customer service.

October 30, 2021

Excellent equipment!

The best waders I've ever owned! Spent 32 days in them this season and they are still as good as new!

October 28, 2021

Crotch too Tight

My Rio Gallegos full zips are on their 4th season and starting to show their age, so I pulled the trigger on these in the same size for this upcoming steelhead season. While there are some nice upgrades (gravel guards are awesome, zippers on the hand pockets, gusseted crotch, etc.), the crotch is just too tight compared to the old model and tension... Read More is evident when sitting or bending down. Not only is this a comfort issue, but also means the seam is more likely to have durability issues over time. I measured the thighs on both waders and these a are full inch narrower (11" vs 12" when folded flat) compared to the old model. I'll be exchanging for a Large and hope they aren't too big up top. Both the old Rio Gallegos and current Swiftcurrent appear to be about the same size across the chest and waist - 22" across in medium.

Response from Patagonia
November 5, 2021

We really appreciated your thoughtful and detailed review; the feedback is so valuable! If you haven't already done so, please reach out to our Customer Service team for a return and any measurement info. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

October 24, 2021

Bombproof

First of all, Patagonias customer service exceeded all other fishing brands in regards to the pandemic supply issues. I took these to the Aleutian peninsula in Alaska where I wore them for 4 months straight. Wake up, put on waders. Thats the routine. Every time I would put these on I had confidence my day was going to be as I planned it. I had no w... Read Moreorries of the product failing. From walking 8+ miles a day at the first camp to exposing them to brackish and salt water daily at the second camp, they did their job. The layout of the pockets has obviously been well thought out as well. My only suggestion is to have a removable or permanent fly patch on the front for when you are changing flies and want the one being taken off to dry before going back in the box of shame. They took some abuse and more. Thanks for a great wafer!

October 20, 2021

Truly Excellent Waders

I love these waders. I've been using them for the past 7 months in Colorado (with some wet wading in the heat of the summer) and I couldn't be more impressed. Not trying to overhype them but they're seriously awesome. I like the fit a lot more than the competitors and the material feels a lot more durable too. The fit isn't ba... Read Moreggy like every other wader I've tried so crossing strong currents and hiking is a lot easier and safer. In general I think these are some of the best fitting waders on the market. I'm going to wear them as long as I possible can. I love the look and love the functionality even more. I've never owned zippered waders and now I don't think I could go back. Tons of storage, I've never used a vest, chest pack or the like because I can keep everything I need accessible in all the interior and exterior pockets. I hang nippers and forceps from lanyards off the ladder straps, I like that feature for that. Waterproof pocket is a great feature too, it works..haha. I spend as much time fishing as I can, it's the most captivating activity for me. I probably have close to 50 days on them so far. They've been super durable and comfortable whether I'm hiking the rocky banks along my local river or hiking many miles out and back and scaling cliffs and bushwhacking along the remote creeks. One of the first times I used them I ran into some errant barbed wire and tore a hole in the gravel guard area over the bootie. I patched them and haven't noticed any difference. I doubt I would've needed to patch it at all since it didn't go through the bootie but was just playing it safe. I'm just glad the tear wasn't into my skin. The durability has been outstanding on these waders and I always go out with confidence.

October 19, 2021

Tough

Tough waders and zipper front comes in handy on those long days out on the river.

October 19, 2021

Very durable

So far Im really liking these waders. I am a guide and my gear gets beat up pretty bad. These waders feel heavy and durable. I expect they will last a while. The zip from and pockets are well placed and the design makes a ton of sense.

September 28, 2021

Wonderful

Have used these waders once and already love them. Well made, fit perfectly, and are versatile. Looking forward to using these for years to come in a variety of wading conditions!

September 25, 2021

Best waders to date!

These waders are fabricated with superior quality and the material is durable. Looking forward to many years of use!

September 25, 2021

A Superior Product

The new Swiftwater Expedition is truly worthy of it's name. I provide multi-day wilderness fly fishing expeditions in Alaska and these waders have proven to be the best functioning and fitting waders I have owned in the many years I have been conducting float trips. Period. I find these waders to be a big improvement to my Rio Gallegos and far... Read More superior to the big name brand that I used for years. The suspension system is a work of art and ergonomics, the padded knees are indispensable for the work of a raft guide, materials are bulletproof, neoprene booties are well designed, rock guards are bomber, pockets and waterproof pouch are very functional and for a first time ever, a front zipper that actually works smoothly. I put in 45 eighteen hour days in these puppies this summer and they are solid. The Swiftwaters are some burly waders and I anticipate that will hold up to years of hard use.

September 21, 2021

Great wader

Comfortable, warm, dry, and I love the zip down front. There is even a built in dry bag providing patagonia thought of everything with these.

September 21, 2021

Durable and Feature packed

These waders are awesome. I spend the summers as an alaskan fly fishing guide and depend on these things to work every time, the multitude of sizing options is magnificent and helped me to ensure a perfect fit. Love these waders. Also a side note, the knees have a little touch of extra padding which was a welcome surprise, kneeling on rocks can get... Read More a little uncomfortable and this was a huge benefit.

September 20, 2021

Outstanding quality waders

The quality of the waders is outstanding. The fit is great. The front zipper is just what an old guy needs and it is truly waterproof. The straps which allow lowering the waders to waste high is a great idea and they work very well. The pockets, including hand warmer pockets outside, additional pockets inside and waterproof pocket for cell phone an... Read Mored/or wallet are all great features.

August 22, 2021

Excellent waders

Excellent product True to size

August 17, 2021

way too small in mid-calf

These are supposedly the best waders on the market from any manufacturer. Patagonia thought of everything when designing them with one exception: they are way too tight in the mid-calf where the gravel guard is sewn in. I'm a big guy, but I've never had pants too small in the calf. The small diameter make it so wearing heavy socks and pan... Read Morets at the same time in these waders is a no-go. I really am undecided if I should give them 5 stars or 1 star. It is a little like I bought a spectacular Ferrari only to find out my hand is poked by a pointy gear shifter because they didn't put a knob on it except I could add a knob to the Ferrari but I can't add material to the waders. The truth is I want to love these waders but I don't. Other than the mid-calf, the waders fit perfectly.

Response from Patagonia
August 17, 2021

Thanks for the feedback Rick. We're so sorry our wader's didn't work for you. You're more than welcome to return them.

July 4, 2021

Great product

These waders fit perfect and are far better than any other pair Ive worn. This is a quality pair of waders and definitely worth the price.

July 1, 2021

Functionable comfort

No complaints with this latest edition to fly fish without issues! Slips in and out easily, would care to have more cushion in the suspenders but not a game changer. Belt could be wider, more stout, but it works. We will see how long the zipper remains waterproof, otherwise Im a happy camper!

May 9, 2021

Great Quality

Although I havent taken to the water with them yet. The quality and the look of this product are everything I was hoping it would be.

May 8, 2021

These are the future

This is how every wader should be made. Read that again. They fit better, feel more durable and look better than any wader Ive ever seen or worn. When I first took them out of the box and tried them on, I was absolutely blown away, I didnt want to take them off. First day on the water I wore them all day long. Multiple spots and car rides in all my... Read More gear. Even though the material is thick and rugged, I never got too hot, and it was 86 degrees and dry here in southern Colorado. They breath very well during the hike, and even better in the water. As a previous reviewer said, the sizing of these is years ahead of the competition. I was trying the competitors waders but just couldnt find the right size, even with a custom fit. Its like theyre all made in proportion to the foot size. I am 510 ~180 lbs, 38 chest, 32 inseam, 33 waist, 34 hips and a size 12 shoe. I got the MRL size and I could not dream of a better fit. Obviously wader fit is very important to me, as it should be, it is pivotal to the longevity and comfort of the wader. I do a lot of hiking so I dont want to feel like Im wearing waders. I dont like the overly baggy fit. These are the answer. They fit like theyre tailored to my body, but yet I have all the room I need exactly where I need it, nothing more. They are very customizable with the ladder system on the suspenders and the cinch around the chest. Trust the sizing guide, because even if they dont feel like they fit out of the box, theres a lot you can do to find that perfect fit. These are pricey, obviously, and when I first saw them in a fly shop awhile back I was mesmerized, Id never seen anything like them. Every breathable wader Id ever seen was basically one of three colors. These waders really stood out to me. But alas, I thought no way, I could never justify spending that on a pair of waders. For me they are worth every penny. The Patagonia warranty alone is enough to justify the investment. So many great features on these waders. I love the convertible straps and the zipper is a game changer. I cannot stress that enough. If youre on the fence about this model and the non-zip model, do not hesitate to get these. The zipper makes it very convenient to get in and out of the waders without unhooking the straps, amongst other things. You know what I mean. The 12-14 stocking foot is perfect for my size 12 street shoe and leaves room for extra socks without being too big. I use the competitor Flyweight boot in a size 13 and its a perfect fit. I dont think theres a better combo on the market today for someone like me who enjoys the long backcountry hikes to the honey hole. This wader style should be and will be the future. I havent had these for very long, so I cant speak on the longevity or overall durability of these waders, but the feeling of the material alone gives me confidence that I will be using these for many years to come, even if I do have to repair them at some point. Speaking of repairs, they include the materials to do it yourself. How is this not standard across the board?! At this price point, I feel nitpicking is warranted. The only feature that could be added is some kind of dedicated net attachment on the back of the waders. I wear a chest pack for that reason alone, because otherwise they easily have enough storage to forego a pack or vest in most cases. You could, however, easily attach a carabiner and magnetic net release to the back strap to solve this problem. The included interior waterproof pocket is a very nice touch, I dont understand how thats not standard at this price point. It could be nice if it was removable, but thats extremely trivial at this point. I legitimately dont have any complaints about these waders. I am extremely happy with my purchase and cant wait to use these as long as I possibly can. I could go on and on about what I love about these waders, but I think Ive said enough. I really dont think you can go wrong with these. If you spend a lot of time in waders, or would like to, theres nothing better on the market today. I truly believe that.

May 8, 2021

Game changer

Finally making the switch to the zip front even with the convertible straps is life changing. The zipper pull is weird but Im sure that theres a reason its shaped like it is.

May 6, 2021

Superior Product

Ive been guiding in Alaska for a few years now and consistently had issues with the competitors products and their serious lack of customer support. Alas, I finally came to my senses and couldnt be happier now that I have the Patagonia Swiftcurrent Expedition waders as part of my daily kit. These waders are designed to take a beating and stave off... Read More the chill from our cold Alaskan waters. The sizing was spot on, no more saggy butt while still offering plenty of room for bending and squatting. The harness/shoulder straps system is flawless, easy to adjust and comfortable with no cutting into your shoulders. The many water tight pockets are roomy and secured by quality zippers that surely wont fail...and if they did you can be assured Patagonia will quickly remedy the issue like they do with all their products. In closing I would highly recommend the Swiftwater Expedition Waders, they look and feel great and most importantly are built to take the daily abuse of guide work. No Pebble Mine, Leave No Trace and Tight Lines to All

May 5, 2021

Perfect, So Far

The waders have a snug, but comfortable fit so they are comfortable when hiking and cut through the water better than more traditional baggy waders. An unexpected feature that I love are the knee pads. During a recent 3-day outing I spent a lot of time kneeling in the water to land and photograph fish; something I would never do with other waders.... Read More The pads are extremely soft and comfortable, but thin enough that I don't notice them when I walk. Kudos to whomever came up with them. This is my first zippered wader. I had my doubts when others assured me that the zipper would be "life changing," but they didn't lie. I just wish the wader's belt loops accommodated my wider wading belt with lumbar support. The fleeced booties keep my feet toasty, but I haven't had a chance to test them out in 33 degree water yet. But I am betting they'll make a meaningful difference. Accessing the cell phone/camera from the waterproof pocket is a bit of a hassle, but still is a nice feature. The inside "basket pockets" are perfect for a small bottle of water or a big fly box, it's a smart use of space. I appreciate all Patagonia does to save the planet and so far these waders are worth the investment. The real test will be longevity, but I have high hopes.

April 28, 2021

BEST waders out there

I purchased these waders when they first came out and have put them through the ringer. I am hard on waders; I've walked through thick brush, slid on my butt down large hills, and have walked miles in these, and they're incredibly durable. They're great while fishing in Michigan winters, as well as the summer. No complaints, I&#x27... Read More;ll have these forever.

April 22, 2021

(e.g. Super Warm)

I am a long time happy Patagonia customer and found your new sizing system for waders more than a bit challenging. A sign of the "covid times" resulted in me not being able to try on Patagonia Men's Swiftcurrent Expedition Zip-Front Waders before purchasing. Patagonia employees were most accommodating, but it did take me three times ... Read Moreto get the correct size. I'm a little longer in the tooth now, so it made a big difference for me getting in and out of the waders that had a zipper on the front! The Patagonia waders are simply the best on the market! Thank you to all Patagonians were so patient and facilitating in helping me make this successful acquisition!

March 13, 2021

Great features and durable feel

Just made the switch over from a competitors waders after too many issues with durability and quality. Im really glad I decided to purchase these waders. They are extremely comfortable; the fit chart said I ought to be a size medium, but I dislike tight fitting waders and opted to size up to a large. Theres ample room for layering underneath. Addit... Read Moreionally, theres enough space for my knee to flex and articulate while hiking or scrambling from spot to spot without stressing the welded seams. Speaking of knees, the integrated knee pads are an awesome addition. Cant say enough about the usefulness of the front zipper but It might make for some extra maintenance/ attentiveness to keep sand and grit out to avoid damaging the seals. Pocket design is well thought out and the grid-fleece lining is comfy to the touch. Boot-feet of the same material is great to wick sweat from the feet and seems to insulate really well, although my feet dont get cold as easily as others. Ive put a fair amount of time in these waders which included some hike-ins and bushwhacky moments as well as some time rowing a boat and they really feel like they are built to last. Obviously some care is necessary to maintain any wader that sees a fair amount of use but I cant imagine any serious leaks ( E.g the seams) occurring without some serious use or neglect. If youre looking for a quality wader that beats the price of competitors, offers more features, and is backed by one of the better warranties in the business then I wouldnt hesitate to purchase these.

February 24, 2021

Great waders!

This the first set of real waders I've owned. I have purchased really cheap waders and hip boots in the past and have lived the adage, "you get what you pay for". I'm impressed with the Swiftcurrent Expedition waders. It's obvious a lot of thought went into producing these waders. The front zipper is a great idea especially... Read More for someone like me with arthritic and torn up shoulders. It makes it quite easy to get the waders on and off. The hand warmer pockets are another option that has been very nice to have. They are handy this time of year when the air is usually colder than the river. The zippered pockets on the front are nice for carrying minimal gear so I can leave the supply pack in the car or on the bank. The neoprene booties have done a pretty good job of keep my feet warm too. I also bought a pair of the Dannner Foot Tractor wading boots which with the waders is a pretty awesome set up and gives me confidence to go places I would have shied away from in the past. Thanks for the great products. Keep up the good work!

January 30, 2021

More durable w/ relaxed fit

Really like the relaxed fit. Not a rigid wader. Worked incredibly well in ivy conditions. Love my new waders.

January 18, 2021

Solid construction

Only had these out on the River a few times but so far Im very happy. Im 5 10 and the fit for me is perfect. The booties are just the right size and theres plenty of room in the chest area for a heavy shirt and jacket. The zipper is robust and I really like the hefty zipper pull. The seams and sewing are real solid and should last. Would give 5 sta... Read Morers but need more time on these waders to see how they hold up.

December 3, 2020

Sizing limitations.

Hi there. First off, congratulations on having created an exceptional product that is very well received in the Fishing community. I am 6 foot 10 and fish over 100 days a year… Finding suitable gear is a huge challenge for me, and I was rather disappointed that there isn’t a size for me with my 36 inch inseam, or for my 39 sleeve. I hope future inn... Read Moreovation in manufacturing will allow you to provide custom sizing for those outside of your current sizing (which is still quite impressive and extensive). If this ever does become a reality, I’m very likely to invest in new waders and jacket for the river. Thanks for your time, keep up the great work.

November 30, 2020

Stout!

These waders are super stout! They are definitely expedition weight. I spend a lot of time in my waders so I wanted something that was burley enough to withstand the daily abuse from guiding. I love the shoulder strap configuration; being able to pull them up and lower them down depending on the temp.

October 19, 2020

I love my Swiftcurrent waders!

Let me start with I love my Men's Swiftcurrent Expedition Zip-Front Waders! I retired this past Dec (2019) and I got a bunch of fishing in, in them this year. I really put them through their paces. My only issue is the boot sizing. Im a size 11 shoe. When I tried the waders on at the fly show, they didnt have a pair of the L booties. The M se... Read Moreemed tight. The rep suggested going to L size. This was a mistake. I wish I had gone for the M. The L are huge on me and I get sore feet because they are bunched up in the boot. If you are in-between go with the smaller size. I bet they will stretch. I find getting in and out can be tight unless you lower the top on the sliders but in return they fit perfectly. The following are recommendations for improvements that I would love in future models. The inside waterproof pocket should be removable. Velcro in rather than welding in. The current design requires the pocket to be flipped out to access what is in the pocket. It is almost impossible to flip it unless you unzip and lower the waders. If you forget to position it correctly when you are getting ready you must unzip and redo otherwise it bunches up and is uncomfortable. If you solve this next issue it will be a great patent! The wader belt length adjustments are in the wrong spot on the belt(at least for me). They are a pain to get through the belt loop on the wader. What is worse, they dont seem to hold the belt from sliding back through the loop. I wear a wading stick on my belt on one side and a rod holder on the other. The weight pulls them back through the loop all the time. If you figure out a way to stop the belt from sliding back through the belt loops it would be awesome. I see people all the time struggling to get the belt end back through the loops. Maybe just make the loop wider, rather than a ¼ inch loop. I prefer D-rings rather than the flaps you have to hang tools. I dont trust safety pin zingers. I would add a D-ring where the suspender straps come together in the back. This will allow you to hang a net off the back of the suspenders. A small slot pouch and a D-ring on the inside front to store and clip leash for forceps/scissors right where you need them would be awesome. I currently use the zipper cover on the outside to hold forceps. I tuck the leash inside. The string zipper-pulls always seem to un-knot at the most inopportune time. These could be better. These enhancements are what I would consider make the perfect wader. I realize each enhancement ads cost and you need to balance. I do love my Swiftcurrent waders! Thanks

September 2, 2020

Tough waders

The Rio Gallegos line are the Toughest waders Ive owned. Highly recommend.

August 5, 2020

Good first impression, but too early to tell

These are the third pair of zip-front waders I've purchased - previously one Reddington & one Orvis. I like the trimmer fit compared to the non-zip variety and ability to open them up for ventilation. The zippers of the others never leaked. The previous pairs were each good for two years, then started to seep water along seams. I had no is... Read Moresues with punctures. This is not a major problem in the summer, but winter fishing while wet is a different story. I tried sealing the seams by painting with liquid Flex Seal, but they continue to seep. The Patagonia waders fit well, but so did the previous ones. They appear to be well constructed. I expect they will be ok when I put them to the test tomorrow. The key test will be how their durability compares with the others over time. If they hold up longer than the others, I might eventually re-visit my review raise my rating to 5 stars.

June 24, 2020

Too Tight

As others have mentioned, this is a well appointed wader. The features are impressive. However, going from the Rio Gallegos to the Swiftcurrent, the design failed to give adequate room in the crotch. I am not sure quite how this cleared the design process, but this issue makes the waders most undesirable. Ill unfortunately have to return these wade... Read Morers.

June 23, 2020

Function and Durable, Yet Difficult Fit

I dont think theres a more burly, seemingly durable wader than the swift current expeditions. I purchased these with super high expectations. My height is 63 and I have a 46 inch girth measurement and 34 inseam. I wear XL Jackets and Pants from Patagonia and have always found them to fit perfectly. With that being said I followed the size chart and... Read More purchased XLL. I immediately found the booties to be very large to accommodate a 12-14 foot rather than my 11.5 which I was expected but still a little disappointing that there isnt more customization in the bootie sizing. The legs were actually the only part of the waders that fit well. Trim yet easy to move in etc. There is very limited room in the crotch region and I found that the mid seam was uncomfortable and binding and the suspenders did not offer enough range of adjustment to give any relief in the nether regions of the waders. The uppers did have some range of adjustment with the draw cords etc. but are on the whole very large, so much to the point it felt like very baggy. I returned the waders and received the refund promptly (Thanks Patagonia Customer Service). I am a Patagonia fan and very much look forward to the next iteration of these waders with hopefully a much improved fit for us bigger/taller guys.

June 12, 2020

Excellent First Experience

Just purchased the waders and took a three day wade trip. Totally comfortable, felt solid, safe and secure even in fairly deep water and strong current. No complaints, and the quality seems superb. We'll see how they wear over time, but at this point I'm very happy.

June 1, 2020

Paid the bucks and glad I did

I'm 6'2'', 226 #, 45" largest girth(chest) and size 11 foot. I ordered LLM. I have owned several brands of waders over the past 30 years of fly fishing. My first time out this year both booties leaked in my go-to waders. Sent them in for repair (4-6 weeks). My back-up waders also leaked. They're old and I decided to r... Read Moreetire them. I was felt with a pair of hippers that are fine but limit access to the water I like to fish. I live in a rural area and don't have access to shops I can go and try waders on. So, after 2 days of intense online research, I ordered the Swiftcurrent zippered. Guides and friends who have zippered waders and love them. My style of fishing is to work a pool or stretch of water and leave my pack on the bank. I find this less tiring and easier to cast. To change flies, add tippet, land and release fish I need reasonal pockets and attachment points to carry some gear with my waders and stay on the fish. The Swiftcurrents seemed to fit the bill. As soon as they arrived I put them on and walked, sat, squatted, kneeled down, and got in and out of my truck. No problems. At first, I thought they might be a tad too long, but after all my gyrations they seemed to conform. I'm glad I ordered the L length (34"). My inseam from crotch to floor is 34. When I buy pants I get a 32" imseam. If I had ordered a M inseam for the waders they would definitely have been too short. The next day 6 hours on the water. These waders are awesome. Comfortable on the water, on land, and driving from spot to spot. Having the zipper is a fantastic feature for convenience, and easy on/off. I can see these becoming my Golden Retriever of waders.

April 24, 2020

Top-Notch Waders

I picked these up to add a warmer, but adaptable, chest-high option to complement my Gunnison wading pants. I was a little nervous about the fit after reading a previous review from someone with the same or at least very similar body dimensions. I'm 6'2", and my pant size is typically 32or33x34. Shoe size is 10.5. My wading pants are... Read More Medium Regular, but I opted to follow the current size chart and order up the MLM, which best matched up to my measurements. I don't like excess bulk in my clothing, particularly in waders, so I opted to trust the size chart and rely on Patagonia's proven willingness to make it right in the event that I had the same fit issues. Straight off I had no issues with the bootie sizing with a thin liner sock. But they would definitely be snug with a light wool hiking sock in there. I got the suspenders up over my shoulders, and they definitely crept up in the rear in a way that would be distracting, if not uncomfortable during a day of fishing. Everything else seemed perfect, so I took a closer look at the waders for adjustment options. Sure enough there were some adjustments on the front of the suspenders. I had to drop the hook to the lowest hole, but once I did, the fit was perfect for me. I could lift my knees, raise my arms, etc without any binding down below. I haven't had them out on the water, but the fit, and my simulated run-through of typical actions I might do to access pockets on the water were good. There is definitely adjustment available, but longer torsos, or that additional inch of height might tax that a bit. I definitely recommend these waders for quality and features. They happen to fit me very well, but you might have to try them on for yourself to make sure the adjustments accommodate your dimensions.

April 24, 2020

Great, with one caveat...

These are the nicest waders I've owned and I've had quite a few different ones over the past 30 years. I did find that the bootie/foot sizing on these is not inline with my actual foot size though. I have size 12 feet and ordered accordingly. When the waders arrived the booties were huge so I had to return/swap for the same size wader wit... Read Moreh smaller feet which must be made large to accommodate socks or something but the size 12/13 booties are far too big for my size 12 feet. Additionally, I think it takes walking around in these for 10-15 minutes to really gauge fit and sizing. When I initially put mine on they seemed too small as they are a bit more trim than the Rio Gallegos waders I previously had. However, once I'd walked around the house in them for ten minutes it was clear that while certainly a "trimmer" fit, I do in fact wear the same size in these as I did the Rio Gallegos, they just fit a little differently (probably better actually). These are my first zippered waders and while I had originally thought the zipper would make getting into them far easier, I think the real advantage with the zipper is getting out of them, and the noon moment behind the bushes. Overall, these are great, a big improvement over any waders I've previously owned, I'm very happy with them.

March 14, 2020

Saved My Pennies for a Lifetime Opportunity

Patagonia, I absolutely love you, your people, and your desire to protect and serve this place we call home. Your ascetic is very much that which best represent my own, in a brand. I choose to work with you regularly becuase of the quality, devotion to environmentalism, and overall organizational ethic you encompass. This is the reason that for all... Read More things, climbing, running and fishing I choose you. Alas, after much consternation, convincing of my wife, and hording of my pennies I decided to buy what I believed to be the perfect pair of waders, the Swifcurrent (and the front-zip at that)! On receipt I realized that the size chart must have been wrong and referenced back to the one provided on-line. I am 6'2" with a 33 inch waist and a 10.5 shoe size and when reading the guide I should be a MLM....beeeeeep... wrong answer, and in pulling them on I could barely sit, the booties were skin tight to my foot and the inseam pulling tight into my nether-region. Ok Ok, "I got this," I said to myself, "lets try the MLL." Returned, shipped and received later- and the waders fit perfet less one very uncomfortable thing- the nether-region. Wow, "am I going to tear myself or these waders first," I thought. So, this time I made an executive decision and I went into my local PDX Patagonia and with the help of the staff found an LRL (as they did not have the LLL) and tried that on. Eureka, the crotch was comfortable but the 44" girth made it feel like I was swimming in them. Alas, I kept the MLL and walked away with one of the staff metioning, "this was the 5th time he heard someone mention the issue in the crotch." I hope to not hike far, tuck myself tight and look for a future repair job that may add some room down below. Patagonia- I ain't normally fussy, nor do I ever write reviews but for the quality you put into your products it may make sense to add a little room below for us tall gents who are fit and not girthy. Your friend- Connor

March 1, 2020

Pricey, but....

With a busy work schedule I only get on the water for a couple of multi day trips each year. I had been looking for a new pair of waders for some time now as my current pair were approximately 10 years old. They were from another manufacturer and have served me incredibly well. But a lot has changed in the past decade and I was looking for somethin... Read Moreg with more features. I purchased the LSM Zip Front waders and the fit is perfect (Im 59, 210) from head to toe. The booties are amazing and finally I dont have material bunched at the front of my boot. The knee pads are a nice touch and the updated belt is very sturdy and comfortable. The articulation throughout the garment is awesome and will provide for a full range of motion on the water and over the trails. The top half of the waders are cut a little bigger which allows for plenty of layering options to match your weather conditions. All of the zippers are super sturdy and the various pockets give lots of options for gear. The internal waterproof pouch is perfectly sized for cell phones which is perfect as that is my go to for photos and videos. I was I little nervous about the shoulder straps just having one attachment point in the back, but they work great and there are many fine tuning options for a perfect fit. The quick release suspender system also works amazingly well and will be perfect for a quick conversion to hip waders as the weather heats up throughout the day. From the online pictures I wasnt sure how I would feel about the color but they look really sharp and its certainly different from the standard issue khaki of every other manufacturer. The only design element that I dont love is the boot lace hook at the front of the gravel guards. Im used to that extending all the way down to the front of my boot and hooking into the first crossing of the laces. However, the design on the waders only allows you to get about half way down your laces. Its not a big deal and overall the gravel guard design is much improved from the waders I had previously worn. These waders are certainly not cheap but are a huge upgrade from featureless waders of the past. Im looking forward to wearing these waders for a very long time and through many adventures!

March 1, 2020

These waders are next level

I didnt think these waders were a big upgrade from the Rio Gallegos but I was completely wrong. The fit alone is well worth getting these. Patagonia really did put in the effort on making sure the fit is right. So many little upgrades that make these perfect.

January 24, 2020

Dave H.

Waders fit great and are extremely comfortable. Quick-release suspenders are an improvement over old models.

December 23, 2019

The Best Waders I’ve Ever Owned!

I was fortunate to get to try these out a few months back and just recently got my very own pair. The fit is great. Love the colors. Apple the upgrades, like a bigger waterproof pocket and quick release suspenders. It’s wonderful they’ve found a way to use recycled materials to build these. Obviously can’t comment on the longevity, but they seem bu... Read Moreilt to last. The new construction should help with that. Ultimately I’m not worried, because Patagonia has the best warranty program on the planet. They truly stand behind their products, while helping steward the lands we love so much.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches