Skip to main content

Alaska Needs You

More mining and drilling in America's Arctic will push us away from a livable Earth and further into climate chaos. Right now, you can help protect our climate, local communities and biodiversity by asking our government to stop extraction in three areas under threat in Alaska.

Learn More

C$19 Fast Rate Shipping

Orders are shipped within 1-2 business days and arrive within 3-10 business days.

Orders are packed and shipped within 2 business days. Orders placed on weekends or holidays are processed on the next business day.

More Details

Earth Is Now Our Only Shareholder

If we have any hope of a thriving planet—much less a business—it is going to take all of us doing what we can with the resources we have. This is what we can do.

Read Yvon’s Letter

Back to Product

Women's Terravia Alpine Pants - Regular Reviews

Write Your Review

4.3/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • 0
  • 2
  • 4
  • 6
  • 8
  • 10
  • 12
  • 14
  • 16
  • 18
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 46 Reviews

Clear All

Ws Terravia Alpine Pants - Regular

4.3/5
Kinda Large
November 16, 2023

Terraria Alpine Rock Climbing Pants

This is the second pair of these pants I have bought, love them. They are so comfortable and practical, stretchy in right areas, more durable where required and lots of pockets. The new green colour is great too!

October 31, 2023

hiking pants

Sooo comfy! I love them

September 28, 2023

Too large through hips

The waist fit me, but these are too large through the hips. I'm an athletic woman, 5'5", 125 pounds. The size 8 was too small, the 10 too large. Too many companies do not size well for women. Men's sizes are specific to a number, women's sizes not so much.

Response from Patagonia
September 28, 2023

Hi Diana, thank you for taking taking the time to write a review. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced with the fit of the Terravia Alpine Pants. We understand the frustration that can arise when you're having trouble finding the correct size. We value your feedback and take it seriously. Rest assured, we will take your comments into consideration going forward. Our goal is to create gear that meets the needs and preferences of all our customers. If you haven't done so already, please feel free to begin a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) at any time.

September 7, 2023

Almost perfect

The reason I give the Terravia 3 stars is for the price, it should be perfect. As mentioned in other reviews, the crotch feels a little short when first wearing, but the fabric is stretchy, it dissipates. It also pooches out on the thigh. I am slender build so it isn't too noticeable. I wore them on a windy, drizzly, cool day (hiking/running) ... Read More- they were great, very comfortable, DWR works. The slim fit and stretchiness of the fabric, all the zippered pockets, the secure waist and the Lagom Blue color make this a great pant that can be used for lots of activities.

August 11, 2023

New Favorite Alpine Climbing Pants

These are the best alpine or multi pitch climbing pants I've ever owned! I love the harness compatible zipper pockets. My phone even fits in the thigh pocket (although just barely, a little more room would be nice). They seem to be quite durable. I've worn them for several long days in the mountains. I did unfortunately puncture one of th... Read Moree legs with a crampon during my first use. It might be nice to have a little more reinforcement in the inside calves, but the hole hasn't spread at all. There is a little pilling on the main material, but nothing crazy. And the fit is perfect. Dare I say sexy? I look good and feel good in these pants. Thanks patagonia!

August 7, 2023

Small and very light weight

I am having difficulty seeing how these pants would keep you warm in cooler temperature. I bought a size 18, thinking I would give myself some baggy, but they fit extremely snug, like a size 14.

Response from Patagonia
August 9, 2023

Thank you for the feedback! These pants were not necessarily designed to keep you warm. We think of them as an alpine climbing pant designed for articulation and abrasion resistance. If warmth was a concern, we'd advise layering with one of our baselayer options. We're sorry to hear these ran small for you. The Terravia Alpine Pant does have a slim fit, so they're intended to sit closer to the body. The size 18 has a 19.75" waist when laying flat, and unfortunately it's the biggest size we offer in these. We recommend checking out the [Quandary Pants](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-quandary-hiking-pants-regular/55416.html?dwvar_55416_color=NUVG&cgid=womens-pants-jeans) as a potential alternative. They're available up to a size 22 and they have a regular fit.

July 7, 2023

Lightweight and stretchy

Super comfy and lightweight. Great for climbing with no restricted movement. However, a little bit of a strange fit. I am normally a 4/6 in Patagonia pants, I’m 5’9 145lbs and 33” inside leg. The pants only just reach my ankles but I’m used to not being able to find pants long enough. These pants have a large waist but snug on the legs. It also has... Read More a wider fit directly over the hips/upper thigh which is just a strange bit of extra material. They also stretch quite a bit during the day you’re wearing them but shrink back after washing. I wouldn’t recommend them for aggressive scrambling or bushwhacking as the material isn’t as robust as a normal soft shell pant. Otherwise, a super comfy pant for some summer hiking and cragging.

June 18, 2023

Stretch after 2 times

I bought this pant for hiking (easy trail nothing intensive), only worn it twice but the band is already stretch at least 5cm, now I have to use the belt and not putting anything in the pocket to keep it from falling down but at this point I can't really enjoy wearing it anymore. I am very disappointed with the quality because it's not ev... Read Moreen cheap :(

Response from Patagonia
June 21, 2023

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and we are incredibly sorry to hear about the difficulties you've encountered with your pants. Please know that your satisfaction is always guaranteed and you are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.ca/returns.html) at any time. In the meantime, please rest assured that we will be passing this feedback along to our Product Design Team so they are aware of these issues.

May 26, 2023

THANK YOU PATAGONIA!!!

I have been looking for the ultimate women’s mountaineering pants for awhile, and no other brands seem to fit me quite right. I finally found these, and I am AMAZED with them! They are lightweight and stretchy but surprisingly durable: I’ve taken them crack climbing, bushwhacking, wading in deep waters and snow, and getting them caught on bushes or... Read More rocks. So far, not a single tear, as well as impressive waterproofing (legs stayed dry in hip deep snow!) I also wish more pants had thigh level pockets like this, since that nice pocket means my phone is accessible while wearing a harness, and also for winter touring (as a base layer) my phone can be on my leg away from my transceiver. They also get just about as hot as shorts do which is fantastic to protect myself in the alpine while not worrying about overheating. Not so good for cold alpine evenings, but that’s not what I need them for anyway. All that to say I am in love with these pants and would buy them a hundred times over. Thank you Patagonia for making the perfect pants for me!!

April 24, 2023

Great but strange fit per usual

These pants are great for colder/rainier hiking and climbing. I have used them for alpine ascents as a midlayer. I am never sure how to rate the sizing on patagonia gear because it is so inconsistent with other brands and with itself. I am consistently a size 4-6 or a small in other brands' gear. This is also what Patagonia size charts say. Ho... Read Morewever, I am a size 8 in these and other Patagonia climbing pants. I once bought the same pair of Patagonia corduroy pants in two different colors, but needed a 4 in one of them and a 6 in the other. Once I tried on climbing pants in store and couldn't get them on until size 12. I think I've now sorted it out where I'm a 'small' in letter sizes and an 8 in numeric patagonia sizes, but that doesn't match the charts. I would love for Patagonia to work out these sizing inconsistencies, and also be more size inclusive, because if I'm topping out the charts here but a small elsewhere, that seems highly limiting to only the thinnest customers.

April 1, 2023

Great pant

Love these pants - perfect weight for outdoors in the fall/spring

April 1, 2023

Nice pants

The texture is very nice. The pants are very light.

February 9, 2023

I bought these for my

I bought these for my daughter and we loved everything about them. I did have to go shopping for Patagonia snow pants, too, as the tapered leg didnt work with winter sports boots.

February 9, 2023

Comfortable, functional and cute

I decided to break out of my all black or grey mode. Love that the reinforcement panels are contrasting. Functional for hiking, lots of pockets

February 6, 2023

Strange jodhpur look

I was looking forward to getting these pants. I want something stretchy and lightweight for hiking in the high altitude that would carry me though the day, from chilly early morning, through the heat of the day to an afternoon Victory beer. This could have been it, but the cut or sewing or some combination of those gave it unflattering bulges at th... Read Moree low hip, and the fit just didnt feel right.

Response from Patagonia
February 15, 2023

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and we are very sorry to hear about the difficulties you encountered with these pants. Please rest assured that we will be passing this feedback along to our Product Designers. In the meantime, please feel free to start your [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) at any time as we want you to be completely satisfied with your Patagonia purchases.

January 26, 2023

So close, but so far

Generally, nice pants. I was expecting a sturdier material for winter, but these are just DWR hiking pants (like you'd buy for non-winter). I guess they might function to windbreak a bit, but other than that they are quite thin. The fit is decent - Patagonia did a better job here than usual. I'm curvy (210 lbs, 5'8", size 14 pan... Read Morets). I got these in a size 14 and 16. The 16 fit best (so size up). Generally, fit my curves reasonably well, I was fairly pleased with the fit and found it flattering. EXCEPT - the crotch is cut too short and it gives you major camel toe. I do not normally have this problem. If the crotch were cut better so it didn't cut up into my you know what, I would have kept these. But no thank you to camel toe. If you aren't curvy, you may have less of an issue with this.

January 2, 2023

For women with curves

I am pretty straight and muscular. I have glutes, but slender hips, and these pants had a lot of material on the upper thighs and hips, definitely for more curvy women. I am sending them back. The stretch and material otherwise feels amazing. They are also short and fit women under 5.7 or with short legs. Again..... please consider a tall option, a... Read Moredding material is not really an option for us women who are a little taller than the average.

October 27, 2022

Style meets function

I really love the look of the altiva pant. It rocks. But lets talk fit. I needed a short as Im 5 foot 4 inches tall. Just too much pant otherwise. I weigh 123 and the six is great with a tad bit of room to move. Love the attention to detail in the knees and areas that count. Only surprise was I thought theyd be thicker. That being said I loved them... Read More. Lets hope Patagonia makes a winter weight pant just like this. Id buy two!

October 5, 2022

Great for climbing

Great design / color (in blue), super strong orange ne durable. Too bad it doesnt come in Long (inseam).

October 4, 2022

Water beads right up

I love the flattering fit and color! I wore them hiking in Winter Park, CO and got sprinkled on and the water beaded right off. Superb quality, as always!

September 21, 2022

Super comfortable

These are very comfortable hiking and climbing pants. I used them all summer in the cascades and the alps and they survived. Only complaint is that the main snap fastener button already broke and the thread zipper handles keep falling off, even on the first easy hikes.

September 18, 2022

Comfortable Look & Fit

Love these pants and the color I selected is fabulous. I am 145 pounds, 5 feet 8 inches. The size 8 is a perfect fit. Nice for hiking or upscale casual wear.

September 1, 2022

Breathable and so so comfy!

Wore on 3 multi-day backpacking trips this summer as well as many hikes and they still look and feel brand new. Very comfortable and stretchy, never felt like they hindered my movement, and even on the hottest days, they kept me pretty comfortable. Also, for my comfort, I like a higher waistband, and to be able to cinch the cuffs, these pants fit t... Read Morehe bill. Highly recommend them, they have become my go-to pants when heading into the mountains.

August 13, 2022

Flattering and Stretchy !

I was skeptical these were too form fitting for climbing but they are super stretchy . I used them for summer alpine climbing and was impressed with the range of motion. For example, I used to wear the Patagonia Simul Alpines for all summer climbing trips, but the crotch wound up ripping since it was hard to high step in those. Alta Via also fit w... Read Moreell, and are flattering in my opinion. I bought a 0 and am 115lbs and 5 4 and they fit great.

July 18, 2022

Incredibly comfortable and flattering

These are the most comfortable pants I've ever worn, great stretch and freedom of movement but also hold their shape really well. I also find them to be a really flattering fit, and get lots of compliments on them. I'm 5'3", and fluctuate between 115-120 pounds, and the size 4 SHORT length looks good anywhere in that weight r... Read Moreange. They're super lightweight, but still warm enough for shoulder seasons, and very durable. I have the black and the blue and love them both.

May 15, 2022

So comfortable!

I recently used these pants on a trip to hike the West Highland Way in Scotland. They were perfect--quick-drying on drizzly days, breathable on warmer days, and utterly comfortable at every stride. They even looked classy on our final day exploring Edinburgh!

April 25, 2022

lightweight, comfortable, 3 accessible zip pockets

just purchased, haven't been out yet but this seems like just what I've been looking for

April 20, 2022

Love but runs big!!

Great pants, I am obsessed with them!! Cant wait to start going on all sorts of adventures with them. BUT they do run large. Im 55 125lbs and wear a size 26/4 in most pants. The waist on these is very large and they are baggy throughout. The belt keeps them up but when I tighten it I get lots of bunching. The pants are also quite long, which the an... Read Morekle cords help with. Overall these are definitely a buy!!! So comfy.

March 30, 2022

My new favorite pants

These are my new favorite pants! They fit me better than any pants Ive ever had. Super breathable but durable. Stretchy in all the right places with a built in belt to make them fit your waist perfectly. The blue color is also gorgeous. 10/10!

March 29, 2022

Very comfy

Excellent hiking and climbing pant. Very comfortable to wear, and the double layered sections feel very durable. I wear them for mountain biking as well, as they have very good mobility and a comfortable waist to wear over bike shorts.

March 29, 2022

Looked Cute Online

These pants were on sale, looked cool and were available in a size 4. I toggle between size 4-6 and thought these might work because of the stretchy fabric. They were tightish around the mid-waist making the addition of the built-in belt feel superfluous, fit fine everywhere else but were uncomfortable and unflattering so I returned.

March 27, 2022

Love the look!

I slipped them on and immediately fell in love with the feel and the fit. What a great idea to have the belt built in. I need lightweight, but strong to wash and wear for weeks on the Camino de Santiago.

March 19, 2022

Stretch with adjustable fit

These pants fit really bell. I am 5'2 and weight about 128pounds. I have a thighs and a butt so Normally I don't comfortably fit in Patagonia pants. But these pants are great their stretch allows me to move freely. The sinch cord at the cuff prevents me from walking on the cuff of my pants. The size 4 waist is big, but the built in belt h... Read Moreelps with that. With the the stretch and softness of the material combined with the adjustments to the fit I can make I'm in love!

March 16, 2022

Comfortable fit

These pants can stretch with your every move. They fit well without being tight. They are nice and light and will be great in warm weather (which I haven't worn them in yet). They are well made for a woman's body.

December 27, 2021

super comfortable'

I love the pants... the belt buckle can be a bit challenging...

November 1, 2021

Perfect slim fit

These pants are stretchy, breathable, and flattering. The perfect climbing and hiking pant! Great pockets.

August 18, 2021

Best hiking pants for me!

These are amazing. Its been hard to find hiking pants that accommodate a bigger bum on a small frame and these are the only ones I have found that truly do! Im 56 and about 135. They sit a bit higher (mid waist) which I find very comfortable. I thought they might be a little too tight when I first tried on but they stretched every so slightly and a... Read Morere perfect now (in terms of appearancetheyre stretchy material and are super comfortable no matter how tight they are!). Stretchy, good fit, seem fairly durable, cute. Love love love. Thanks patagonia.

May 25, 2021

Comfy, multi-purpose pants

I love the comfort, stretch, breathability, and durability of these pants. I bought them for climbing and hiking, but have found them to be so comfortable that I wear them casually as well. Five zippered pockets that lay miraculously and remarkably flat adds to the desire to wear them often, because I can never have enough secure pockets. The built... Read More in belt is also a major plus. Im 59 and bought these in a size 2. They fit me very well and true to size, except for the length, which is always an issue for me with pants with scaled-to-size inseams. These fit me like a 7/8ths pant, but they work for me provided I use the draw cords at the ankle to give them a jogger silhouette.

May 20, 2021

Lighter weight Soft-shell

Love the blue color! So fun! Light weight, stretchy, great for climbing/ backpacking/ summer mountaineering. The wind cuts through them, so I wish they had a bit more wind protection... The lighter color does absorb some grime, but it washes out easily. Overall love the fit. Great summer backcountry pant.

May 3, 2021

Super comfy!

Love these pants! Theyre more comfortable than I even expected and are super stretchy- great for climbing! Also nice and cool so Ill be able to wear them through the hot Colorado summer.

April 29, 2021

Soooooo comfortable!

Just what Ive been looking for! Was searching for light weight, durable trekking pants for a range of conditions with good pockets and these pants fit the bill. They are unbelievably comfortable and functional they move with me and feel like a second skin. Love the multiple deep zippered pockets. Would prefer the thigh pocket to be a bit bigger wit... Read Moreh the opening a bit higher. Appreciate the PFC-free DWR and really like the patchwork look and beautiful blue color, fun!

April 25, 2021

True to size in waist, runs short for taller women

These pants were extremely comfortable, true to waist size but ran short for my body.

April 16, 2021

Nice pantsNice pants but a bit too large

I really liked the colors and bought those as a light, casual wear, comfortable pants for the outdoors. Unfortunately the seem to run a bit large and the fit wasn't for me. I can usually buy off the rack size 6 but these were too large and felt baggy. I'd say better for women with curvy hips. Returned them and will try a size smaller.

April 15, 2021

A Not Uncommon Disappointment

These pants are a soft but tough fabric, and a beautiful blue color. They would have been wonderful, if my correct size (14) had been available. But my size is so often sold out before I'm even notified new items are available. I returned these because they were way too big, and received a gracious full refund from Patagonia..

Response from Patagonia
April 15, 2021

Hello Margaret! We're truly sorry that you weren't able to get these pants in your size. It looks like the size 14 will be restocked around June 3 but it will be a very small quantity, so be on the lookout. We went ahead and passed your feedback along to our Product Teams and we hope to have more inventory available in the near future.

April 13, 2021

Perfect climbing pants!

These were bought as gifts and my daughter loved them! Thank you for making high quality gear!

March 16, 2021

Comfy, sizing chart for these a bit inaccurate

Just a review for sizing as I haven’t worn them out hiking/in the bush yet - the fabric seems pretty light weight to me so hopefully it holds up. My waist measures 32.5 inches, right above my hip bones. I’m usually a size 6 or 8 in other pants that I buy (such as LLlemon) so I thought that a size 12 seemed way too big! I ended up going with size 10... Read More, and even that I was skeptical about fitting properly. The waist of the pant comes right to my waist (just above the hip bones), when I first tried them on I had to use the belt and tighten it slightly, for a comfortable fit. The pants aren’t snug; they’re a bit loose, but not baggy. I think if I went with size 8, the waist might be a bit tight (especially after snacking), but might be a bit more snug/flattering in the leg. For hiking and bush work I prefer looser and the built in belt fixes the loose waist problem. Nice and roomy in the butt area as well. I’m 5.5, 150lbs, 32.5” waist (above the hip bones), 42” hip (around the butt), and 29.5” inseam. I’m happy with the size 10, and glad I didn’t follow the chart and get a size 12.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches