Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Galvanized Pants for Alpine Climbing

Write Your Review

4.1/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 16 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Galvanized Pants for Alpine Climbing

4.1/5
April 12, 2021

Rearward evolution

I purchased a pair of Galvanized pants a couple years ago for alpine and ice climbing. While I didn't love the fact that it had only a single, relatively small thigh pocket, I did appreciate the stretchy waterproof fabric, the scuff guards, the slim fit, and the adjustable leg cuffs with zippers to accommodate ski boots. The beauty of the pant... Read More was not only its performance but also its versatility; I used it for climbing ice and alpine routes and occasionally for ski touring. When a few small tears appeared on the thighs (possibly resulting from ice screw teeth brushing the fabric), I took the pants to a Patagonia store to see about repair or replacement. Patagonia's customer service, as usual, was absolutely top notch; they offered to partially refund the pant and recommended I replace it with the current version. Unfortunately, the new Galvanized pants turn a solid product into one that is sub-par in terms of design and functionality. While there is an added pocket (helpful), the scuff guards and adjustable leg cuffs are gone (as others noted), vastly reducing the versatility and durability of these pants. Also, the venting zippers have been strangely moved, arcing over the upper, front part of the thighs. It also so happens to fully expose your skivvies if you open the zips all the way (fyi, for modest folk). I don't know about others, but I dump heat best when the zips are positioned toward the side of the thighs (hip down to outside of knee). Finally - and this is admittedly a small nit-pick - but the snap closure at the fly was replaced by a button in the newer version. Why?? It's no more secure, hardly lighter, and actually far more annoying to manipulate, with or without gloves on. I'm a longtime fan of Patagonia's innovation and products. This newer version of the Galvanized pants evolved in an unfortunate direction in terms of functionality, durability, and versatility.

March 13, 2021

Very comfortable

I used them for Skiing at Crested Butte and in 2-degree weather and they were warm and dry. However I could not pull them over my ski boot, a zipper on the bottom of the legs would have been nice,

February 28, 2021

I love to snowshoe!

I was looking for a snow pant that would not only be comfortable but functional. I needed a shell that would fit over multiple layers of clothing. The adjustable pull-string at the leg cuff really kept the snow out of my boots; a plus! The suspenders also kept the pant from riding down and becoming uncomfortable. Great garment for snow shoeing.

February 25, 2021

lightweight, flexible, waterproof

Have had them for about 2 winter months. They've become my go-to outdoor wear, other than for downhill skiing. Love the fit and the stretch which make them very comfortable. Hiking, snowshoeing, cross country skiing, fat tire biking all good with these. Only needed a base layer when less than about 10 degrees (F). Worth the investment.

February 25, 2021

Great for hikes

The pants have a nice amount of stretch and although thin they are warm.

February 23, 2021

Not for Ski!!!

These pants are great, but you cannot get these over a pair of ski or snowboard boots. The absence of a boot zipper or snap makes them way less versatile. Otherwise they could be the snow pants that do pretty much everything pretty well.

Response from Patagonia
March 9, 2021

Hi Joshua, the Galvanized Pants are a great option for protection for alpine use, like climbing. We do not recommend using these for Back Country or skiing because the narrow lower leg does not fit well over ski boots, just as you had mentioned. Try checking out the Stormstride Pants, https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-stormstride-backcountry-ski-pants/29985.html?dwvar_29985_color=CTRB. These are great option for skiing and awesome back country. They feature better articulation for uphill movement, OppoSet waist adjustment, scuff guard at the cuffs and fit perfectly over a ski boot.

February 8, 2021

skinny fit

overall fit is on the small size, won't fit over ski boots, very narrow legs.

February 2, 2021

Hey Patagonia... Are you reading this?!?

I just came across the Patagonia Galvanized pants at my local mountain shop and, holy sweet Jesus, these are PERFECT backcountry touring pants for... SKIERS! But I'm a backcountry splitboarder. Have you actually tried getting these ankle-compressing cuffs over snowboard boots? Let me tell you the look ain't flattering. WHY the heck are al... Read Morel backcountry touring pants SLIM FIT? Why not make the Galvanized pant in a loose FREERIDE fit? NObody makes a loose fitting pair of softshell ski touring pants. No one. Patagonia, YOU can be the first! And while we're at it, please bring back the the REFUGITIVE jacket and pants.

Response from Patagonia
March 3, 2021

We're reading this, and we hear you loud and clear! These Men's Galvanized Pants can be used in a variety of ways, but they were designed with alpine climbing in mind. If you're looking for some pants that will be more accommodating for snowboarding boots, we'd recommend checking out the [Men's Stormstride Pants](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-stormstride-backcountry-ski-pants/29985.html?dwvar_29985_color=CTRB&cgid=mens-snow-pants). While they aren't soft shell pants, they are intended for backcountry and are lightweight, plus the lower pant has a zip extension which could be great for you. Check them out! As far as the Refugitive collection is concerned, we'd recommend checking out our Worn Wear website where we sell lightly used gear from past seasons, we're always adding to inventory. Best of luck!

January 26, 2021

Bomber Alpine Pants

I have been a Patagonia fan for truly decades. I still have a Retro-X jacket that I bought the first time that I came here to Alaska, but they just keep functioning. The price of these pants was a bit steep but as I reflected on the quality of all of my other Patagonia gear, I couldn't help but to do it. I couldn't be happier. I was doing... Read More a night time summit of a smaller coastal mountain here when as I began to slide my ice axe blade hit my knee. I thought for sure that I had just punctured or ripped my new pants. When I finally arrived home later, I thoroughly examined the pants and no hole. The only hole was in my leg. Albeit it was a small one but the pants held up better than my skin. I have yet to experience heavy rain while wearing them; however, deep snow, light snow, and moderate drizzle has not penetrated the H2NO. I love the less than athletic fit for roominess while climbing, squatting, and just plain comfortable. The old drop-seat bottom design of old alpine-style pants was a big seller for me and I love it. The bottom style of the pants hasn't grown on me yet and I figure that the two loops on the inside of each pant leg is designed for a strap of some sort to act like a gaiter or something. I'm not that sold on it and it would be nice to have that strap come with them if that was the case. Overall, love them, would buy them again or three times, and just like everything else Patagonia, I plan to own these for a long long time.

January 9, 2021

Super versatile

Bought, used, and destroyed many a pant over the last 50 years of being outdoors. My galvanized pants are the best all-round pants yet. Biking, tele-touring, climbing, wet hiking these pants do it all. If they vented/breathed a wee bit more they would also be great for cross skiing.

December 5, 2020

Fits amazing

Perfect fit. Sizing allows movement without stretching it too much and causing damage.

November 30, 2020

muy versátil

Excelente funcionalidad, lo utilice aproximándome a través de bosques, para luego entrar a terreno nevado, el pantalón respondió perfecto. 100% recomendado , muy cómodo y seca rápido.

November 28, 2020

Best climbing pants!

This is by far the best pair of climbing pants I have ever used. They are light, windproof and exceptionally water repellant. The slim cut through the lower leg hugs perfectly around my boots and doesn’t need cord under the foot to hold them down. The pant leg has just enough length so it does right up when high stepping. Despite the light material... Read More they are tough - except they don’t stand up well to punctures from crampons, ice screws and ice tool picks. They are quite easily patchable. The integrated suspenders are also great. I have the previous model with zipper that goes all along the crotch if the pants - a great idea! Unfortunately the new models only have a zippered seat. Bring back the old zipper and some new colours - black’s a poor choice of colour for the alpine - I could use a new pair.

February 24, 2020

Pocket zipper and Premature wear

Happy with this purchase... But two comments: - Did you tried to open or close the side pocket zippers with one hand? It's impossible. - Premature wear at the bottom of the pants near the tie down loops (only after using them for only 2 weeks guiding on Aconcagua.

Response from Patagonia
April 5, 2020

Hi Jean, we're very sorry to hear about the untimely wear on your Galvanized Pants. We'd be happy to return or repair those for you. You can begin that process here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

December 4, 2019

Good for winter hiking

Bought a few different bib pants to try out for purpose of winter hiking and x-country skiing, and these were the winners because they were stretchier than the others and do not restrict movement. Didn't give 5 stars because I'm not convinced they'll be waterproof, but you can't have everything!

October 13, 2019

So Comfortable!!!

I love the feel of these Galvanized Pants. I have flexibility and courage that when it is time to put on the full-meal-real-deal, I will have all the coverage I need. Well, thought out, great pockets on the outer thigh. Easy to dawn and made with any active mind in perspective.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches