Back to Product

Patagonia Men's R1® TechFace Jacket

Write Your Review

4.5/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 58 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's R1® TechFace Jacket

4.5/5
June 12, 2021

Stretchy enough for golf

I looked far and wide for this jacket. I wanted something not too long, not too heavy, warm, yet breathable, had to be stretch and the kicker...waterproof. This fits all of them. I wanted one layer to save weight and movement. It's warm enough for WA state in late March, April, May, June. In the winter I'll wear it under a rain jacket.

May 15, 2021

Slim fit, with long arms

The jacket itself is great and I enjoy using it. The fit is very specific so I'd recommend trying it on first. It is slim fit, a little longer than I thought and the arms are pretty long. Again, the product itself is great, just make sure it fits you.

May 12, 2021

Perfect Running Jacket

This should be marketed for trail runners! Absolutely perfect combo of protection and breathability. Doesn't feel steamy like running in a windbreaker, I got this too late to run through the winter but this + a t-shirt keeps me comfy on runs down to 30F and up into the 50s so far. Sized down to a small to avoid extra fabric flapping around... Read More. Works great but I can't fit many layers underneath. I also have toothpick arms so YMMV. Really pleasantly surprised how well this jacket works.

May 11, 2021

Runs to tight

unfortunately runs super tight like a 'skinny' version for a jacket, t shirt. the product it is really good, I do walk 5 miles everyday early morning here in MA is kind of cold and this jacket works well, it is breathable, lightweight and keeps you warm enough during this season.

May 6, 2021

Pretty good

Fleece squares are not quite as big and chunky as regular R1 products but I guess that cuts down on weight and bulk. My only criticism is that the collar doesn't stand up as shown in the photos.

April 25, 2021

done just right

This product is done just right, the sizing is as good as it can get: sleeve lenght c orrect, wrist opening sized just right, waist just fits, collar is a bit tall but useful. The feel is on the edge of stiffness but it is light at the same time. Wearing it as much as I can as have worn out my previous model R1.

April 21, 2021

Excellent moderating body temperature

I had the previous version, the Patagonia words were stitched on instead of a label. I'm 6'0, 195, 42R, and large runs large - I was not good choosing sizes at the time. The R1 is an excellent "jacket" that I wear extensively in spring and autumn. I'm easily cold, and the R1 helps retain body heat enough through changing ... Read Moretemperatures during the day or while I warm up in brisk walks. In light-cool weather, I use it as a middle layer to moderate body temperature with a parka outside. The R1 is excellent in doing that. I unequivocally recommend this flexible "jacket." There's nothing in the market I can compare to in serving its purpose and making me feel comfortable.

April 12, 2021

Love this jacket!

I absolutely LOVE this R1 jacket. It fits perfectly!

April 3, 2021

Perfect Performance

I now own this piece in this model, and with the hood. It has been my go to this winter! As a shell, it has repelled many hours of snow fall. Worn with midweight capilene, and a lightweight capilene t-shirt, I was warm shoveling in a four hour blizzard. It works as a light shell, or as a mid layer my system.

April 3, 2021

Nice but not as breathable as original R1

I have many R-1 pullovers and full zips. I live in SC so at work, in the winter , its the perfect piece to keep on all day. The techface version is a little thinner , a little more generously cut, and doesnt breathe as well. To be fair it probably blocks wind better and sheds water better than my regular R1. Color is great especially with black pan... Read Morets. Its a sharp piece.

March 22, 2021

Handy

I like it - a lot. Not too heavy and not too warm. Perfect for those times where you are debating if you need to carry along a jacket. Fit: Wish it were slightly smaller but thats not Patagonia's fault coz I'm kinda right there between a M and a L (6'1 ~ 190). Ordered a M first but then had to exchange it for a L. Customer service: O... Read Moreut of this world!

March 20, 2021

Awesome layer

I had been wanting this cost and finally broke down and bought it. Not disappointed at all. Its super light and comfortable and sheds wind to keep you rolling. I wore it in a snowstorm on my road bike...performing like a champion.

March 8, 2021

Just right

I was thinking about an R1 zip up for awhile and was a bit concerned that the TechFace jacket would not as warm as I wanted after reading the reviews. It was actually more perfect than I thought it would be. If you are looking for major warmth, go for something else, if you want something to wear when doing snowsports it is just right for high outp... Read Moreut when it is fairly cold or breezy.

March 7, 2021

good

I purchased the R1 on sale and found the price to be fair. I would like to purchase the same R1 in orange but I have to wait for it to be on sale.

March 4, 2021

Very comfortable

I have worn this weekly since purchasing. Its light weight, offers just the right amount of warmth, the fabric is soft, and the fit is great. Im very happy with my purchase and would highly recommend to everyone!

March 3, 2021

Slim fit - REALLY LONG

I bought the R1 Techface jacket to use as a mid-layer on colder days under my soft-shell, and outer-layer on warmer days with cool mornings. The jacket seems like it would fit that need nicely, but I will never know. I sent it back 15 minutes after receiving it. The fit is atrocious. It is listed on the Patagonia website as a "slim" fit, ... Read Moreand I do not fit that description (average build) so I sized up from a large (my typical Patagonia size) to extra large. for the shoulders and body, that worked really well. The issue was the length of the jacket. It was so long that it went an inch past where my hips met my thighs - a literal short dress length jacket. I'm 5'8" tall, and if I were 6'0" tall, this jacket would still be too long. The length of this jacket would get in the way of a lot of things - a harness for example, and many others.

February 24, 2021

Great mid-layer

Very light material but still manages to provide warmth. I've had several generations of the R1 and like this one the best. Issues with previous gens were the collar didn't lay down very well when not fully zipped, and the bottom of the jacket was too long and caused the front to bunch up when sitting down. I do wish Patagonia would bring... Read More back the Fire Red color option.

February 24, 2021

Well Made

Always great quality and clothing fits my frame well. The R1 Tech Face is somewhat lighter than I expected and will be used summer through shoulder seasons here in W. Oregon. The medium size is slim fitted to a degree that layering under it is really not an option.

February 5, 2021

Not warm at all

Was looking for a light jacket to keep me warm during my walks near the beach. Also to protect me from the wind. Jacket felt like I was wearing a shirt. No protection whatsoever. On the plus side, the fit was great!

February 4, 2021

Great Light Weight Warm Jacket

I purchased the R1 for the light weight design and the ability to keep me warm mountain biking and running errands in the snow. UPS delivered the jacket today. It was about 50 degrees when I tried it on, it fitted well and the cool air wasn't a factor. For the price you can't go wrong.

January 19, 2021

zippers

medium fit perfect 6 feet 175

December 28, 2020

Perfect winter mountain biking shell

I wanted something a little warm, more breathable than a wind breaker, light, and bright (for the hunters). This is perfect for 30 degree F rides and I want to wear it all the time!

December 25, 2020

Thin but mighty

Not as thick as the previous version but its very comfortable and the techface can take on a pretty serious wind. I take this with me everywhere as a just in case layer. 6/190 and L fits great.

December 6, 2020

Perfect layer for skiing

I had another R1 for about seventeen years, when I was a ski patroller and then for recreational skiing. For me it was perfect, I layered, polipro top, R1 and a shell for most days of skiing. Had to replace when I lost the other, though it was still doing it's job for me. Great gear

November 29, 2020

Hospital fleece

Great weight and very comfortable for indoor wear in hospital over scrubs.

November 23, 2020

For very skinny people only

I'm a little out of shape but this jacket has a ridiculously slim fit. I wanted a slim fitting jacket but these are designed for a very specific body type... tall and very skinny. The fit is completely different from my old pullover.

November 23, 2020

Not Much Insulation

The Good: Exterior is more durable than the old R1, which was prone to pilling. The Bad: Less insulation compared to the old R1. It is almost more of a base layer than a jacket.

November 16, 2020

Close but no cigar

Being a huge fan of the R1 I was pumped to get this with abrasion resistance and less piling. Those two factors were accomplished but it's not a thick as the original R1 in terms of fleece. If you put it on because you are cold it doesn't warm you up unless you are moving. Would not call this a mid layer, or a fleece you would ever wear w... Read Moreear to keep warm skiing, more of a light weight running breathable shell. Just don't stop moving cause you'll get cold again...

Response from Patagonia
December 11, 2020

Thanks for your detailed and thoughtful feedback on the fabric and function of this jacket, Nate! Please know that your purchase is covered under our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee), and you might prefer our R2 TechFace series.

November 6, 2020

not a bad golf wind breaker

After 30 years of use my trusty Sunderland Golf wind shirt had finally outlived it's prime. So.... I needed a new outer layer for fall golf. Something with a windproof finish, light insulation and easy to move in. The techface fit the bill and after 8 rounds I'm very happy with it. as always with Patagonia, its functional and fun to wear.... Read More Actually much lighter then the Sunderland, ( well it is 30 year newer tech ) and easier to swing in. I hope the fact I'm using it for golf won't diminish it's street cred.

November 1, 2020

Comfortable

Love this jacket, is warm like a fleece but slimmer look and feel. Great for active sports.

September 20, 2020

Love this jacket!

This is my new favorite jacket! I wear it for work, on weekends around town, on the trails and everything else in between. Its warm, without being heavy or bulky, blocks the wind and repels moisture as advertised. Im 6 175 lbs, fit but not skinny and the M size is perfect for me. Two small things that would turn the R1 TechFace from a great jacket ... Read Moreto a perfect one: a chest pocket and the ability for the collars to stay more upright even when not zipped up. Fab jacket nonetheless!

September 6, 2020

Nice jacket

No frills very light jacket, comfortable and loose enough to wear layers. Sized up form fitting but medium would be fine (5'9" 165lbs). My R2 techface much warmer and outdoor protection, and with abundant pocket systems. Big fan of R1 tops which I use for technical outdoor stuff. For casual spring to summer light jacket this is a very nic... Read Moree garment. For outdoor cool weather activities get a conventional R1.

September 2, 2020

Love the fit

I have not had the opportunity to try this out yet, but have a back country camping trip planned in two weeks. You can bet this is the first thing I am packing. The fit is good, I probably could have gotten a large, but I am a little tubby in the belly. I figured I can go back to my old eating habits and have it still fit good, or continue to slim ... Read Moredown and have it be a little roomy and layer up.

June 24, 2020

Awesome as is always the case!

Got this for my dad and he loves it. He wears mostly Patagonia and this does not disappoint. I know I'll have to get a women's R1 for myself!

June 22, 2020

Functional and stylish

I enjoy this jacket and find it to be both very functional and looks good. For its weight it is quite warm. Good for a fall or spring morning. My only criticism is that it would be nice to have a chest pocket like most of the other Patagonias have. For those of us that we are reading glasses its nice to have that pocket.

June 17, 2020

Patagonia Men's R1® TechFace Jacket

Great everyday jacket. If you plan to wear layers get XL. Color is awesome.

May 12, 2020

Flawless crosslayer for just about anything

I have three of these. My wife thinks Im nuts. But I wear them every day in Colorado shoulder season. I hike, boulder, ice climb, ski, snowshoe, bike, and run in them. I never took my black one off in September in Iceland. Theyre comfortable from about 40 to the mid-50s while on the move. They shed wind, but not so much a breeze doesnt cool you dow... Read Moren a bit. Theyll shed light precip, spindrift, beer snarfs. Stretchy, but not annoyingly so. Fits relatively slim, but with room for a Nano Air, fleece, or sweater underneath. All I wish is that there was a Napoleon chest pocket and a few more colors - carbon, roots red, new adobe, or mission olive would not go amiss in this lineup. And if anyone one the product team reads this, this same fabric tailored into a shirt-jac would be incredible.

April 16, 2020

Perfect for Spring running

I usually wear large, but since this is listed as slim fit, I went with an XL, Im glad I did. Its a little baggy on me, but I love it; Im able to wrap the sleeves around my hands and not bring gloves. I use this in Anchorage Alaska where the weather in mid-April is mid 30s to low 40s in the afternoon. This jacket has blocked the wind and rain, kept... Read More me warm, is very lightweight, and breathable. In the past I would wear cotton or polyester hoodies, and I cant believe its taken me this long to switch to something performance focused. I will be purchasing this jacket again and again when mine wears out.

April 1, 2020

Best light insulation layer ever

I have a few R1 pullovers that are great also but I find they pill after about a year and a little difficult getting on & off if you have a cotton or merino blend T-shirt/base layer on. This new R1 TechFace jacket is the perfect combination of light insulation no pilling and easy on/off. Perfect fit for me too. 5'9-1/2" 205lbs Old ath... Read Morelete. Ya, I have small keg rather than a 6 pack now but this garment smooths out the bumps. I like the design and fit. 5 stars.

February 4, 2020

Light, Warm, wind and rain resistant

I have two R1s now one with the hood in one not. These are fantastic layering pieces. I use a Merino underlayer for warmth and wicking and this as an outer layer. The full zip allows me to cool down or warm up depending upon what I’m doing. I really like the fact that it’s wind resistant and good in light spring shower situations and layers well.

January 6, 2020

Awesome athletic fit

Husband 6’2” , 180 lbs with Extra long arms, the athletic fit works well for him & his arms!

December 27, 2019

Love it.

Great color and fit. Perfect for colder weather, but not too heavy. Would purchase again.

December 20, 2019

Service

Excellent product and the service to match. Thank you!

December 1, 2019

Love R1 TechFace

I have the R1 TechFace jacket and hoodie. I love: grooves in fleece keep air circulating, keeping me comfortable over huge temperature range. Good fit, looks good, great for layering or by itself. And, important for me, unlike conventional fleece TechFace doesn’t get dirty as easy and animal hair doesn’t stick to it. I can wear black and don’t need... Read More to use lint roller.

November 22, 2019

Ms R1 TechFace Jacket

I love the R1s decided to try techface. Hoping for more durable, less pilling, and less seed and burr attraction. I think it will be what I hoped for. Time will tell on durability.

November 22, 2019

Great warm sweater jacket

Great warm sweater jacket

November 20, 2019

R1

Great light weight jacket.

November 3, 2019

Not bad, but bring back the regular R1 zip up!

I own the hooded version of this jacket. It's more weather resistant on wet or windy days, but it doesn't seem to be as warm as the older regular R1 zip up. It's great for weather in the high 50s and 60s. I hope they bring back the R1 zip-up that had the hand pockets! They seem to have gotten rid of it for the 2019 fall season.

November 2, 2019

A-w-e-s-o-m-e

A-w-e-s-o-m-e

October 31, 2019

Lighter than the ‘regular’ regulator

compared to the standard or regular R1: 1. You get some DWR 2. You get a little less insulation 3. You get about the same wind resistance as a regular R1 in the wind... which is not much.

October 24, 2019

Nice and Light, a little tight

I was looking for a jacket that was very light and breathable and this works perfectly. It is a little tight, especially in the arm pits. I am 5'8 170 and got a medium.

October 24, 2019

Too Thin

Purchased this item but ended up returning it. It was too thin for my liking. A lot thinner than I had thought and thinner than the competitions jackets. Also, this seems to be an ongoing issue for me with all Patagonia items but the sizes are slightly off to what I am used to from most other brands. A small is always a little too big for me and a ... Read MoreXS is a little too small. I feel like their small should be right in between these two as I’ve never had any other issues with smalls on most other brands.

Response from Patagonia
November 13, 2019

Hi Daniel! Thanks for taking the time to provide this feedback, it's crucial to improving products for future seasons. We're sorry to hear about the disappointment with the jacket, and our sizing. If you ever need help with sizing in the future feel free to reach out to our Customer Service team and they'd be happy to assist!

October 24, 2019

Almost Five

Love the R1 Techface, just think there could be a bit more of a tailored fit.

October 11, 2019

Nice jacket, but not as warm as traditional R1

My old full zip R1 is pretty tired so gave this a shot without seeing it in person. Don't get me wrong, the jacket is well made, fits pretty well, etc., but it's not as comfy or as warm as the traditional R1 jackets, hoodies and 1/4 zips. Probably better suited for higher output activities or mild temperatures. I like the face material, b... Read Moreut there just does't seem to be quite as much of the waffle material on the inside. I'm going to keep it, but ended up ordering the R2 Tech Face jacket hoping it better meets my needs.

October 8, 2019

Rough fabric

In attempting to make the r1 abrasion proof, the fam]bric used was not comfortable. Please bring back the old r1

Response from Patagonia
October 22, 2019

We're sorry to hear this item didn't meet your expectations! Please note that your satisfaction is guaranteed. If you would like to initiate a return, you may do so [HERE](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=returns).

September 25, 2019

R1 Techface Jacket

Very high quality, good fabric, resistant to the weather elements and light enough to not be bulky.

August 10, 2019

Perfect light multi-sport jacket

The weight of this jacket is quite light, making it the perfect companion for everything from everyday wear to the office, to hanging on the beach in the morning/evening, to hiking, to running/post-run, and as a light layer under a shell. The fit is as expected, which is definitely not a given with Patagonia, but this piece is dialed in. The He... Read Morem cord is well done and appreciated. The zippered pockets are perfect and highly functional. Overall the piece is pretty flawless from my perspective, having tried about 6-8 other styles in this category from Patagonia, it's the best. Only downside is the price seems high for the lightweight nature of the piece. Considering there is substantial innovation going into the fabrics and one is helping to finance Patagonia's eco programs with every purchase, I'd say it's worth the price. I'm the first month having this jacket in San Diego (July) Ive worn it everyday, usually mornings and evenings. I love it.

July 31, 2019

Favorite jacket

About time they got rid of the hood. I have the hoody, which is great, but with the hood being sized for a helmet, not a very useable hood... unless you walk around town in a helmet. This is such a great lightweight jacket. Great as a mid layer or just for everyday wear. Wish they brought the sprout green color back, but black will suffice. Arms ar... Read Moree long but that actually works pretty well for activities where you stretch your arms out, perfect for biking. 5’10, 200lbs, a large fits great. Pretty snug but stretchy from the shoulders all the way to the hands. Not so much that it looks like some muscle jacket though.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches