Back to Product

M's Cloud Ridge Pants

Write Your Review

4.46 /5

Filter Reviews

All 13 Reviews

Clear All

M's Cloud Ridge Pants

4.46
September 2, 2020

Great Waterproff Pants

The Cloud Ridge Rain Pants fit well and the length is perfect for someone 6"3". Ordered one size larger to fit over pants and running tights. Have not tried the pants in a downpour ,but I am sure they will live up to their purpose.

June 17, 2020

Good rain pants.

Quality seems excellent, though I have only worn once. Zippers are well placed and work easily. No problems.

January 14, 2020

Great liner for skin contact and great breathability in humid conditions!

I bought this jacket and the corresponding Cloud Ridge pants to wear as rain protection on my bicycle commute to and from work in Seattle. My commute is 9.2 miles one way, so I commute about 92 miles per week. I’ve used the jacket and pants for almost 2 months now, so as of this writing I've spend about 40 days in the kit and biked over 700 mi... Read Moreles in it. My previous rainwear kit did not breath as advertised and so I ended up "boiling in the bag", as they say. Admittedly, the competitor’s jacket retails for about $100, so it may not be fair to compare it to this jacket, which costs more due to better materials (apples-to-oranges). However, the misery I experienced sweating in this jacket is what convinced me to try something else and to spend more money on that “something else”. (I won’t go into the gory details here, but suffice to say - ringworm is a fungus, not an actual worm, and you acquire it by grinding your sweaty skin around in humid places). I understand hard shells never offer "perfect" breathability, but I needed something better than what I had. I looked at bike-specific jackets by bike clothing manufacturers and while they looked nice, they generally lack a hood. Hoods can be cumbersome when cycling, so I understand that aspect, but I wanted a jacket that would cover my pate while cycling and also be functional & fashionable enough to wear as a standalone rain jacket if I wasn't on the bike. I was also on a budget so I couldn't go for the best of the line-up. I decided to try the Cloud Ridge lineup. I read one or two reviews about this jacket on Patagonia.com that specifically mentioned the great next-to-skin feel of this jacket's inner liner. I also noted Patagonia's claim that it excels in humid conditions, which is perfect for me here in Seattle. For those unfamiliar with Seattle's climate: it actually rains less here than in Portland, OR. Instead, what we experience is long consecutive days of very weak sunlight, moderate temps that average around 50 degrees F., and precipitation which seems to hang suspended in the air instead of falling, which gives us humid conditions with mild (cool-to-warm) temps. I'm very happy to report that this jacket and the corresponding pants are superb. The reviews about next-to-skin comfort are correct - no greasy, moist, slippery sweat-sack feeling at all. And this jacket breathes as good or better than my more expensive one (from a different manufacturer) that I save for alpine climbing! One caveat: a review about that pants carped about the pants not having enough give to mount a bike comfortably. I can confirm this is rather true: the crotch feels a little tight when cycling. However, it's not an impediment, even after almost 100 miles a week, for the last month. The pants aren't designed with cycling-specific function in mind, so I can't fault them for that. The side zips make them wonderful for not becoming a swamp, too. And the fact that they’re not bike specific means they work well for backpacking and other activities, something bike-specific rain pants could not do. A final testimony: I don't have fenders on my bike, so I constantly end up with a rooster tail of road grime up my back and on my front from the spray of my tires. When I get home, I keep the Cloud Ridge jacket and pants on and get straight to my shower. The shower rinses all the dirt and road grease right off the kit, and even when the material is saturated with water (no more beading up because I'm in the torrent of the shower and it can only take so much), even then I still don't get wet. Patagonia's HnNo material is excellent, and a bargain compared to GoreTex. Well done, Patagonia. Highly recommended; highly satisfied. (For reference, I"m 6'0", 175-180 lbs, 32" inseam, and the size Medium fit perfectly for walking. A size bigger would be too baggy to bike in).

January 7, 2020

Rain pants

Material is good, has no pockets. Rain Pants must have rain pockets if it is sold as material which will feel good next to skin.

December 22, 2019

Almost perfect

As others have written, sizing is challenging. I'm an athletic 5'11", 180 lbs, 32" waist. The Cloud Ridge in Med was swimmingly large both in length, seat (i.e. requiring suspenders). Size Sm (which I ended up purchasing) is more appropriate in the leg length, and waist is good. The issue is through the thighs. Snug. Fine for cl... Read Moreassic cross-country skiing, or walking the dogs here during PNW winters. I can't imagine rock hopping across a creek in these, skate skiing, anything with lateral movement. But comfort and dryness win out for my primary use (walking).

December 9, 2019

Solid rain pants

The material is very solid and was 100% waterproof for me. That to me is the best part of the pants. The second best is that you can adjust the cuffs. I tried it out in the store and the tighter setting fits perfectly snug to the boots so that snow won't get in.

November 15, 2019

Fit is awesome

Fits great, with plenty of room to move. Not snug around legs, but I'd prefer to layer under anyway. Material feels rugged and they have been waterproof so far!

October 17, 2019

Cloud Ridge pants

Your pants run larger now then in the past. Will return them for medium size. Also want pants with pockets.

Response from Patagonia
October 29, 2019

Sorry you're disappointed in the pants Michael! These pants are designed to be worn over one or more layers. We'll reach out to you privately with other suggestions and help with your [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#).

September 4, 2019

Weird cut

First let me say, I absolutely love the fabric. It's perfect for direct skin contact and doesn't have that sticky feeling some rain gear has. The zips all the way up to the knee are super functional and the venting is quite nice too. Thats where it ends though. Sizing is weird. I landed at medium with a 32" waist which seems accurate... Read More. With the stretch it could go 33" or even 34", a lot of flexibility in the waste band area. However, the hip area is where I ran into problems with restricted mobility. Walking or even jogging is fine, but forget about lateral movements. The lack of a gusset, stretch, or additional fabric width wise is severely limiting. Sizing up only makes these pants more baggy. The legs are generous from the knee down, almost like a pair of wide bottom jeans instead of a more modern cut with a slight taper. This makes biking tricky without tying down the pant leg and very delicately mounting the bike as to not rip out the crotch or hips.

Response from Patagonia
September 18, 2019

Thank you for your detailed feedback!

May 10, 2019

Great rain gear

I'm 5'11" 155#. I went with Medium and they fit perfectly over jeans or work-wear and the zipper/button combo on the legs make putting them on over boots easy. They are new so we'll see how the water repelling lasts and the only reasons I am not giving 5 stars is because there are no pockets, which is weird, but I'm usually... Read More in a big jacket when wearing rain gear, so that's a bit of a work-around. I use these during wet CA winters for working in the rain, pressure washing, mushroom foraging, and gardening.

May 8, 2019

Exactly as advertised

5 9” 165 pounds, usually wear a medium but got the small, which is perfect. Nice pair of rain pants especially relative to the baggy thin ones most people have.

November 2, 2018

Boss pants

No regrets in buying these. Bought my first pair in 2016. Little expensive I thought, but.. They've performed admirably hiking in the UK (Scotland) and several other countries(South Korea, India, Indonesia) Very comfortable to wear, fabric feels good against the skin, makes minimal noise, 2 way zippers thigh to ankle perform flawlessly and ar... Read Moree of high quality. It Has been waterproof through several storms. Not too baggy, cut is fairly good. I am able to fit knee and shin guards comfortably for motorcycling under them. Very versatile and user friendly, works in the tropics too, bought a second pair few months ago. Only downside is that it has no pockets. Even one would be nice.

May 21, 2017

Lightweight and Sturdy.

These pants were recommended by a member of a Search and Rescue team. They are light and fit great in my day pack for seaching. Slip over boots and pants quickly and hold up well when trekking through the wilderness.

April 23, 2017

Great boating (spray) pants

I was looking of something light and roomy for a sailing spray pant. I purchased these and have been more than impressed. They're very water repellant and with the zipper on the outside of the leg,you can easily zip them open and put them on with shoes or boots on. They have really exceeded my expectations!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches