Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Down Sweater Vest

Write Your Review

4.67 /5

Filter Reviews

All 175 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Down Sweater Vest

4.67
April 8, 2021

Warm and the right length

Have been a long time customer of your garments and they have lasted through several seasons. This vest would be a much better garment if it had a chest zippered pocket

April 7, 2021

Perfect for fall/winter/spring, over a shirt / sweater, or under a coat!

Its light, rugged, warm, and doesnt take much room in a backpack if you need to shed it.

April 2, 2021

Awesome Vest

Awesome vest- not too hot not too cold! Superior workmanship! Great quality!

April 1, 2021

Good fit!

Excited about this piece for a cold weather snowboarding mid layer that fits over my bibs and under my 3L shell. I like the robust zipper and will also use it as an outer layer for fall and spring...nice piece, Patagonia...good job!

March 21, 2021

Light and warm

Nice down vest, lightweight, compact and warm enough. Size S good for 5.6 height with thin fleece, shirt and t-shirt, with thick sweater feels bit tight.

March 14, 2021

Too Short

Too short in Length...2 to 3" short!

Response from Patagonia
March 17, 2021

Hey there, thank you for the review on our Down Sweater Vest. We're sorry to hear that this was too short for you and appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us. Please note, Customer Service is happy to provide you with measurements on any gear you may be curious about. After some research, we've found that the [Men's Micro Puff Vest](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-micro-puff-vest/84075.html?dwvar_84075_color=BLK&cgid=mens-jackets-vests-vests) is longer in length, if you're interested have a look.

March 6, 2021

Nice Top Layer

I needed something that was warm yet compact enough to fit in my duffel. I use it mainly to get to the pool in winter at 6AM when it is about 40 degrees outside. I have limited space and this vest fits easily in my bag. It is very warm even though it is deceivingly thin. My only want would be for the outer shell material to feel a little more rugge... Read Mored as I am afraid even my finger nails will snag the outer shell. I am super careful with it so all good so far. It is expensive compared to other companies offerings but I like the idea that it can be repaired. Old clothes is full of stories and it is a shame to throw h them away just because they get old. Overall, great quality product that meets my needs.

March 5, 2021

In-between sizes

I am a pretty dedicated Patagonia customer and I've loved the down vests for years. When it came time to get a new one, I didn't hesitate, but it seems they have changed their sizing and the mediums that usually fit me are too small and the larges are too big and baggy. Per the size chart a medium is 38-40 in the chest whereas a large is ... Read More42-44. The rest of the sizes overlap with each other so why the gap between med and large? It seems like a chest size between 40-42 is pretty common and to not have that covered in a vest is disappointing. Unfortunately I'll be returning this vest.

Response from Patagonia
March 16, 2021

We're sorry the sizing didn't work for you. In the future we're always happy to provide exact garment dimensions.

March 1, 2021

Size inconsistency

Fit could have been better, it seems consistent that the small is a little too small and medium is a little too large. Been a customer for over 20 years and my only complaint is inconsistency in size, one item that fits well and is small doesn't translate over to another item. Often I have to order two sizes and return one, which is a drag.

March 1, 2021

Its bloody awesome

Well, anything I have to say has been covered. So, quickly, Me likey and you will too.

February 28, 2021

Perfect fit

This vest fits like a glove Im a 39-40 chest 30-31inch waist, it fits like it was custom made. Good zipper construction warm and comfortable great color.

February 27, 2021

Grade A Vest

I am a bit of a vest lover these days and own several vest from different brands but my Patagonia first purchase instantly became my favorite. The attention to detail and style sets Patagonia vest apart from others. I get compliments from strangers about how they like my vest. I highly recommend Patagonia vest! I plan to buy several more myself .

February 25, 2021

Favorite Vest

I have most of the Patagonia vests. All do what they should. The Down Vest is quiet, warm, breathes, and moves better. The cut is the same but it's warmer and my new favorite!

February 24, 2021

vest

Was happy with this product

February 23, 2021

Awesome vest!

Fit was perfect and very comfortable. Worth the price for the quality.

February 23, 2021

Best Vest

I have almost all Patagonia vests, love them all, the down vest is very warm and comfortable. Very happy with the purchase!

February 20, 2021

Comfy

Nice quality, good fit. Love a light vest for outdoor activities.

February 19, 2021

Excellent feel and perfect weight

I own 2 of these vests I like them so much. A black one and a blue one. As a business executive, I like to wear the black one with a white shirt, jeans and my cowboy boots. (I was raised on a horse ranch with over 200 head of appaloosa's.) They are very comfortable, lightweight but strong. The only challenge is they tend to rip easier than my ... Read MorePatagonia jackets. I hike and climb allot in the high country around Lake City and Ouray and in the woods they catch on branches and tear. Then the down starts coming out. Regardless you have this fantastic warranty! You are an amazing company and I love your products! They are the best! My best to your success Robert Smith

February 15, 2021

Just what I was looking for

True to size and warm. Not bulky but does not fit tight. Great with half zip underneath. I would recommend this product good quality.

February 15, 2021

Comfortable

I love wearing my vest over a sweatshirt it keeps me warm and I am not overloaded with layers of clothing

February 8, 2021

Awesome vest!

Bought this one in Green a few years ago! Loved it so much due to its warmth and durability that I decided to get another one in black! Overall, an awesome product!

February 2, 2021

Like a glove!

Given that its winter we lower the house temperature to 68 degrees which means that the house is 64 degrees. This vest is supremely well made, stitching precise, feels like a super light, comfortable quilt. Definitely!

February 2, 2021

Warm and well made

this vest will serve you well for most activities. it's exceptionally warm. I used it as the outermost layer as well as under a coat on an exceptionally cold day. I miss having a little stretch (I used it for winter golf) and the chest area was slightly large. I suggested to customer service a draw band similar to what they use at the waist. ... Read MoreExpect to have many years of use with this high quality product

January 31, 2021

Down vest

Its a bit expensive but worth every penny spent. Its warm, has big pockets, and keeps me warm.

January 31, 2021

Light and warm

This is a great piece of gear. It is very light but warm and comfortable. I would highly recommend it.

January 19, 2021

Toasty when fishing

High quality, wind proof, warmth. Keeps the body warm while allowing freedom to fly cast.

January 18, 2021

Nice For Walking Around In

I live in downtown Boston. I use the vest under my overcoat when the temperature gets cold.

January 16, 2021

super warm

great vest

January 13, 2021

Love it!

Medium is too small and large a little big. Large is better for someone with an athletic build. Allows you to layer underneath. Im happy with it.

January 9, 2021

Stylish, super light but warm and practical

I am sold on Patagonia! I have barely taken off the vest ever since I purchased it. Thank you for the great quality.

January 9, 2021

Warm and comfy!

It's very warm and comfortable. The shipping was prompt and reliable. The vest was a little pricy but I love it!

January 5, 2021

Perfect Lightweight Stylish Vest

I bought this for my husband. He never takes it off. Its cozy inside the house and toasty warm on Catskill Mountain winter hikes. Hes tall and the length is perfect. The slate blue color with the sporty aqua blue stripe is beautiful. Patagonia customer service is second to none. Patagonia political activism is correct and admirable. I am a happy, l... Read Moreoyal, repeat customer.

January 4, 2021

Great vest

Great product

January 3, 2021

Super vest

Warm and lightweight. Not bulky. Zippered pockets and inner pocket for storage. The perfect weight. Im never too hot or cold. Probably one of my best Patagonia purchases.

January 2, 2021

Mens Down vest

This is the 2nd Patagonia vest for my husband. He loves them.

December 31, 2020

warm with great mobility

best golf cold weather vest you can buy

December 31, 2020

Perfect

Wear in over a fleece in cool weather or even indoors. Perfect

December 30, 2020

Ultra Light Weight, Super Warm

This particular vest was given as a Christmas gift. We have a quilt from Patagonia made of very similar materials at the same weight. We love this cover and felt the vest would make a remarkable Christmas gift.

December 25, 2020

Excellent fit and lightweight

Excellent fit and very light weight

December 5, 2020

Comfortable and looks great

It's a great product and I own it in two different colors. Fits well and is far warmer than I would have expected. Worth every penny!

December 4, 2020

super warm

its really good to use everyday

December 3, 2020

Very warm

Well made very comfortable and warm. Like the look

December 3, 2020

Perfect for Winter Work

Purchased Vest to wear over professional attire during winter months. Large fits perfectly over button-ups and tie. Extra layer keeps me warm in the office and the look is client friendly. Pockets nice touch.

December 3, 2020

My Husband Loves

Perfect. He doesnt like jackets...this is the perfect article of clothing for him. Wears with a wool sweater under.

December 2, 2020

Love it

I'm 5'11" - 195lbs - 35" waist and have larger shoulders and back from surfing. This vest fits perfect, is nice and warm but light and folds into a tiny square to place in my pack. Looks great too.

December 1, 2020

Fashionable and warm

Being a woman that is well endowed, it is hard for me to find women's jackets/vests that will zip up with clothing underneath, so I purchased a men's extra large, which is a little big, but leaves room to wear a thinker sweater underneath if needed. Love this vest!

December 1, 2020

great clothing

I usually buy in the store and love your clothes. I'm still wearing one of you sweaters I bought 25 years ago; still in style and still looks like new, clothing is durable and extremely functional

November 18, 2020

Great winter vest.

Im a female, 5 7&1/2, weighing 150 pounds. This vest fits like I hoped, leaving room underneath for winter shirts. Its well made and functional for the winter hiking I do. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a lightweight but warm winter vest.

November 16, 2020

Nice and warm. Especially for this Chicago 40 degree weather.

I wish you guys can add a zipper the double zipper.

November 14, 2020

Appreciate XS mens sizes

Many American clothing company clothes lines run large and dont even include an extra small size choice: as a relatively diminutive sized man, I have always appreciated Patagonia including an XS line of sizes for many/most of its clothing line (perhaps due to it European roots?). And the Patagonia sizing scheme accurately reflects different men siz... Read Morees to my mind. Clothes are properly tapered, form-fitting including down vest I just purchasedto fit snuggly, properly and achieve goal of light weight, breathable warmth. Thank you!

November 14, 2020

Runs a bit small compared to other patagonia products

It seems cut slightly smaller than other smalls i get from you guys. i have a small ski shell that i can fit layers underneath, small down sweater (i think it's called) that i ordered through a local store at the same time and both of those fit no problem. I also wear size small polo shirts of yours. This one, however, puts the squeeze on a bi... Read Moret. I suspect it's an anomaly for this particular unit?? but not sure as obviously you guys make a lot of the same thing on a line. i'm kind of bummed because it's kind of a distraction when i wear it so not sure when i will. thank you! love 99.999% of your stuff. you guys are awesome. Justin

Response from Patagonia
December 11, 2020

Thank you for your feedback on this and for all the support. We are bummed to hear that the fit didn't work out on this vest. If you decide you're not grabbing for it much and want to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it back, please feel free to do so.

November 7, 2020

Warm and Comfortable.

My first Patagonia product. This is one of the highest quality pieces of clothing Ive ever owned. Super comfortable, super warm, premium quality. You can tell this will last a very long time. Worth every Penny.

November 1, 2020

Pata-gucci

Customer for 20+ years but no more. Fashion has overtaken utility. Vest cut for a fashion fit and down fill may be very high quality but there's precious little of it -- near zero loft (but a slim look for the Metros).

Response from Patagonia
December 8, 2020

Hello Dana, thanks so much for sharing your thoughts with us! Our items are rigorously tested by our ambassadors to be sure that we keep performance and durability over anything else, but we sincerely appreciate your feedback nonetheless and have passed it along to the Design Team. Thanks for helping us improve!

October 29, 2020

As expected

Exactly as described. Warm but not bulky.

October 29, 2020

My second purchase of this item

I'm 5'10 weigh 190-195lbs with a 42 inch chest. This is my second time purchasing a vest. The first time I purchased an XL and recently lost a bunch of weight. I used the worn wear to repurpose my old jacket and bought a new one. I went with an M because I wanted a more fitting vest. I can't have too much of a layer underneath, so no... Read More big thick winter sweater. Then again you're probably not using this coat for that.

October 22, 2020

Love my new Patagonia vest

Got my new vest in the post today. Only FOUR DAYS from order date. Amazing. This is a beautiful vest, small and highly compressible, yet very warm. A crucial new part of my outdoor checklist. Love the design and quality. Patagonia rocks!

September 18, 2020

Winner!

Size large works for me at 5'10" & 44" chest I'm able to wear as is or layer under a summer snow storm. Easy to move and very warm during low activity and core heats right up with some movement. Pockets hold all that I need. Very comfortable vest. Packs super well too.

September 8, 2020

Very Versatile

The Patagonia down vest is a must for California. Great on cool mornings and evenings, works well when layering for skiing and looks good for casual business meetings.

September 7, 2020

Warm and Very Light

The vest is very light and pretty warm. It is a good grab and go item. Also, it is very warm under a shell. It packs down to nothing. Perfect gift for men and women.

September 5, 2020

Great look

Great quality and a special fall color

September 3, 2020

Great traditional vest- small in chest

I love the vest- just like I remembered from 1986! It keeps me warm in the medical clinic I see patients in when the "auto-climate control" kicks it down to 60 degrees F as I'm in at 0430 completing charts and refilling meds before seeing patients starting at 0740. Goes so well with my assortment of P-gear... Yvon for prez, he unders... Read Moretands way more about the long-term impact on the earth than the administration or legislative branches of government do. Do right by your planet, Greg

June 22, 2020

Runs really small

The size large fits more like a medium. I was surprised by the misleading regular fit description -- it's more of a slim fit.

June 17, 2020

Yes!!! Replaces an older Patagonia vest with too many holes and broken zippers.. Thanks.

Yes!!! Replaces an older Patagonia vest with too many holes and broken zippers.. Thanks.

June 17, 2020

As advertised

Very warm with a snug fit, just what l wanted

June 17, 2020

Saul good

Puffy goodness :-)

March 7, 2020

Perfect Lite-Weight Vest

I carry a little belly and normally wear an XL but it was long and loose so I returned for a ML and it fit perfectly. Very warm down fill, so lite you hardly know you're wearing it. Great all around cool weather vest.

February 14, 2020

Thumbs Up

It's a very good vest and I am pleased. But they've changed it since 2012 which is when I had one last. The hand warmer pockets are no longer lined with fleece and neither is the collar. If I remember correctly, there used to be an outside left chest zippered pocket which is perfect for a phone and now it's on the inside. The fit is ... Read Morevery good, I'm 6' 200lbs and the large is perfect. It just seems a little less well-made, less attention to detail than previous models.

February 9, 2020

Pockets

I've had my vest many years, its been very good to me. Warm and light weight it goes perfect under my snowboarding jacket and over my fleece. The only problem I've had with it is both pockets jammed and would not open. I had to cut them open to pull out my wallet on one occasion and my keys on another occasion. When I go snowboarding I ju... Read Morest use my other pockets on my outer shell leaving the vest as strictly a base layer.

January 3, 2020

Warm and Comfortable

Great item for wearing over a sweatshirt or long sleeve shirt. Really comfortable and provides great warmth while spending time outdoors during the winter. Fits true to size for me.

January 1, 2020

The best!

Patagonia has really great clothing and things I wouldn't not want to have whether winter or summer!

December 31, 2019

Excellent

Good quality

December 28, 2019

Light weight yet warm and comfy

It was a gift and the recipient loves it!!!

December 28, 2019

Love it!

Lightweight, but warm and comfortable. Great layering piece. Packs really easily. It looks great too.

December 27, 2019

Warm and stylish

Warm and stylish

December 25, 2019

Comfortable, fits well, looks great!

Comfortable, fits well, looks great!

December 25, 2019

Lightweight and warm. Perfect underlayer

Lightweight and warm. Perfect underlayer for my coldest ski days.

December 22, 2019

Down sweater vest nice addition

Perfect for keeping your core warm. Works for a hike or the office.

December 17, 2019

Easy, pleasant, predictable

This is what makes Patagonia shine above the rest. I had the stopper end of a zipper let go on a nearly new down sweater. Not repairable in the store, the garment would have to be sent to the shop for repair with a 6 week turnaround. This puffy is an essential part of my winter wardrobe and would be sorely missed. The store(Freeport, Maine) clerk o... Read Moreffered to replace it in house and was able to do so on the spot.....problem solved. Thank you very much! Alan Arbo Sugarloaf, Maine

December 14, 2019

Coat

Perfect fit. Very warm and looks great. Great materials used.

December 13, 2019

Excellent quality, nice fit, easy

Excellent quality, nice fit, easy to pack and keeps you warm.

December 12, 2019

Excellent choice

Wore this under my soft shell while cross country skiing. It fits great and kept me warm

December 10, 2019

Comments on MS Down Seater Vest

This is everything I expect from Patagonia Thanks, Chris

December 10, 2019

High Quality

High Quality

December 5, 2019

Jack Sprat Could Eat No Fat

Purchased XXL. Sized way too tight. My "normal" size for shirts is XL; Outerwear XXL. I will return this item for an XXL or refund. Barely get the front panel closed.

December 4, 2019

Classic style

Good style. Good quality. Don't like the draw sting cord coming through side pockets ( past models draw string was outside).Navy blue more like a royal blue with dash of purple.

November 23, 2019

A little short, but overall

A little short, but overall great fit.

November 21, 2019

I love the mission of

I love the mission of Patagonia

November 19, 2019

Bought this for my Dad

Bought this for my Dad and he loved it. Said it fit very comfortably .

November 13, 2019

Great purchase

The vests are great, they are very comfortable and light weight. Couldn’t have asked for anything more.

November 10, 2019

Lightweight and compact warmth

The vest is lightweight and warm, but not bulky so that it can be worn comfortably as a mid layer

November 9, 2019

Very comfortable!

Very comfortable!

November 6, 2019

Best Ever

I have worn this basically everyday since it came in the mail. I love it. So warm and comfortable but not too warm like a full down coat. Absolutely perfect.

November 6, 2019

High quality nice fit

A good fitting stylish yet fully functional vest.

November 5, 2019

Love it!

Love it!

November 5, 2019

Perfect color

You can go wrong with a Patagonia vest! I have a few but wanted a good color like this. Thankfully the men’s XS fits like a woman’s small. I love it so much! Don’t mind the mess in my teenagers room! :)

November 4, 2019

Light and warm, perfect fall

Light and warm, perfect fall fishing layer

November 4, 2019

A beautiful down vest. Well

A beautiful down vest. Well made and customer service was exceptional. I expect to wear this vest for many years to come! I purchased a men's as I liked the color (and that color was not available in women's. Fit is perfect.

November 2, 2019

Purchased for my husband for

Purchased for my husband for extra warmth during the winter months. Loves the comfortable fit and light weight. His favorite piece of clothing to go to for warmth.

October 27, 2019

Perf

Love it

October 18, 2019

Buy this!

Ever been wearing your Patagonia down sweater and thought "man, I wish this thing was sleeveless"? Look no further, this is the one! So lightweight and comfortable --and packable! Don't waste your time deliberating, get it!

September 22, 2019

Great looking vest

I’m very happy with my purchase. This is my first Patagonia product, so far I’ve only read about the quality of their products but now I see it for myself. I hope I’ll wear this for a long time and for sure I’m getting more of the brand. Just before buying, google the colors so you can see the true tone of the color on more images.

September 10, 2019

Nice, slightly odd cut

Nice color (Hammonds Gold), and well made. My only concern is that the fit is a little odd, as in so many Patagonia items of late. If you are of average build and expecting a regular fit, I think you'll be very disappointed. It's slim - no two ways about it. It fits me because I'm (very) slim, but even then it could use a little more... Read More room in the mid-torso. The saving grace is that the fit around the shoulders and armpits gives sufficient room to move, unlike some slim fit items.

September 5, 2019

Down vest

Great product. Super light, very warm. Such a great, functional piece of gear as a layer or an emergency have in a pack.

August 10, 2019

Pricey and delicate but does the job

Pricey and delicate but does the job

May 8, 2019

Down vest

Great product works very well. Very satisfied with Patagonia.

May 8, 2019

Ms Down Sweater Vest

It's a fine garment. A small thing; zippers frequently catch surrounding material and get stuck. I previously owned the same vest and had the same problem. In the case the right pocket zipper became so stuck I had to send it in for repair.

May 8, 2019

Core Convection!!!

Man, does Patagonia’s Down Sweater Vest keep your midsection toasty! Perfect for hiking, camping, cool evenings, frosty mornings, and the odd misty mountain hop. Just at home as a stroll along the promenade as it is during Spring and Fall Backyard BBQ’s.

May 4, 2019

M's Down Sweater

The Down Sweaters cousin when you don't need selves but need to keep your core warm. I found the fit slightly slimmer than "regular fit". A great packable piece to have on the boat, just in case.

March 6, 2019

Best Vest Around

This vest is the perfect extra warmth layer to throw in your bag or keep in your car. It's got plenty of fill, so it's warm; it's durable and well-made, like everything Patagonia makes; and it packs down small into its own chest pocket, so there's no excuse not to carry it with you. I've worn this under a work coat or over ... Read Morea softshell for that just-perfect amount of extra insulation while I'm out and on the go.

March 4, 2019

Men's Down Sweater Vest

Great product. Bought this to replace another Patagonia vest. I can't say enough good things about this vest and this company.

November 8, 2018

Great Vest but Sizing is an issue

I recently purchased the Down Sweater Vest in a size Large to primarily wear as an outer wear piece and not a layering piece. I'm 5'10 and between 170-175lbs. The issue I have is the DRASTIC difference in size between the medium and large sizes. I would describe myself as average build, not overweight, not skinny. I like my micro brews lo... Read Morel. The medium fits extremely snug with just a light layer and the large is quite loose unless you have a heavier bottom layer. Every single piece of Patagonia I own in the regular fit I am a Medium except for this vest. It doesn't look oversized or baggy thankfully if worn with a flannel or hoody but just feels a bit boxy. My down sweater jacket which is a size medium fits perfect and I wish they transferred the cut from that jacket to the vest as it would still be a solid layering piece if the cut was slightly more accommodating. I'm going to keep the vest in the end but hopefully the designers will take the feedback from my post and others having the same issue and incorporate it into future designs.

May 17, 2018

Good Looking,Lightweight,And Warm

If you are in the market for lightweight,warm and windproof Vest this is the best product you can get for this price range. I've used this vest throughout the Colorado Rockies and during my business trips,and I would say this is one of the most comfortable & good looking pieces I've owned. I would certainly give it 5 stars for great b... Read Moreuild quality!

February 2, 2018

8 Years Strong

I recently ordered a Patagonia Down Sweater Vest to replace my previous Patagonia Sweater Vest after 8 years of hard use and thought I'd take the time to provide a more detailed review. I have used this vest in the Sierra Nevada, throughout the Colorado Rockies, the Northern Rockies of Montana, and the Green and White Mountains of New England.... Read More If I added up all of the days I wore this vest in the field my guess is I would come close to 3 straight years/1100 field days of daily use. Overall this is a great vest ' I would say it sets the industry standard for lightweight down vests. The down is quality, as is the fabric and construction. All down will leak from garments but this is about as good as it gets for down retention with no noticeable loss of fill/loft after all this use. Patagonia deserves props for their efforts to ethically source and construct their products. A down vest is a great layering piece, and this is more or less an ideal weight for this kind of layer. If I'm snowboarding at a resort I will wear this with an R1 base layer and a shell down to about 15 degrees Fahrenheit without overheating on the runs or getting too cold on the lift. Touring I often just wear this with a base layer. Camping/backpacking I pair this with a down jacket of varying weight depending on the conditions. In the pictures below you can note a couple of changes over the last 8 years, both of which are solid improvements. Patagonia has eliminated vertical upper baffles (these baffles in particular lost loft on my original vest). The have also bucked the industry trend (kudos!) of using ultralight zippers in favor of a slightly heavier, more durable zipper on both the main front zipper as well as the hand pocket zippers. I had to replace the main zipper on my previous vest after 2 years of heavy use and will gladly carry the extra grams to avoid the hassle of finding a seamstress to fix repair this zipper (Patagonia does back their products with an Ironclad guarantee but I needed a weekend fix to head back into the field). The interior pocket, which doubles as a stuffsack, has also improved in size and design, though I wish it were larger to more comfortably accommodate a set of climbing skins. Other improvements I would like to see in the future are more robust elastic around the armholes (suitable enough for occasional use) and fewer, larger baffles on the neck. I also wish Patagonia had a slightly more athletic cut. Finally, it would be nice to see Patagonia provide a heavier weight down vest one day. When all is said and done I've been happy with the 8 years my vest has brought. I could get several more years out of this vest but the amount of stains and duct tape on my vest led me to want to look like less of a dirtbag everywhere I went, hence the recent replacement. If you're looking for a high quality, lightweight down vest - and particularly if you value ethically sourced and produced products from a company with a strong commitment to our public lands - this vest is an easy win. If you are particularly round or particularly thin you may find the fit lacking, but the average person will find this to be a suitable fit.

October 19, 2017

A Classic

I've had my Down Sweater Vest for over a year and it is easily one of the best garments I have ever purchased. Well made,versatile,extremely warm and packable. I live in British Columbia and have this vest in my pack for hiking and camping trips heading into the mountains. As soon as things cool down it will warm you right up. It also look... Read Mores great too so you can just wear it around town on a cooler day. The DWR finish is excellent I've stained the vest so many times,but it always washes out. For me this is one of Patagonia's essential and classic pieces. A must have in anyone's outdoor wardrobe. Also this vest goes on clearance frequently. So it's often one of the best deals going.

September 24, 2017

Great vest I get compliments every time I wear it

I bought this a month ago and it is awesome to wear fits perfect and is warm.

September 8, 2017

Nice!

Wanted a down vest and found this version on sale so bought (elsewhere) the Ramble Red which complements my Patogonia French Red Down Sweater Jacket. The Ramble Red is a bit darker than the French Red which is slighter brighter. It's not yet cold yet but autumn's cool weather has appeared with winter's cold temperatures coming. The v... Read Moreest fits over a t-shirt and a lightweight fleece with enough room for a heavier base or mid layer. It's not thick as a regular down vest but appears to be warm enough,at least indoors. The fabric is lightweight so it probably won't hold up well if you use it harshly. There's no inner liner in the hand pockets so you'll need to keep some gloves in those pockets. Buy it when it's on sale ~50% off :)

September 2, 2017

Cozy dawn patrol snivvle gear.

This keeps the torso warm when your deciding whether or not to paddle out during an early morning wave check.

July 16, 2017

Mammoth outdoor enthusiasts

I bought this item with the expectation for the outdoor and it could not be designed better than Patagonia itself. Thank you for the commitment for us outdoors.

June 24, 2017

So light and warm

Love the look and the weight of my vest and awesomeness fit

May 28, 2017

Comfortable and warm

Light,comfortable,warm,functional pockets! It is all that I expected except possibly not quite as compressable as described. Great product.

May 26, 2017

love it but ....

We love Patagonia,have always bought Patagonia and think it is great wear. Unfotunately soon after buying this vest we noticed a little hole in the back and the insulation is coming out of it. otherwise we love all about Patagonia.

May 6, 2017

Have not taken it off!!

Best Buy yet!!! It goes with me all over the world. I wear it under the heavier Patagonia jacket for extra warmth. Super convinent for travel as they both become so small.

April 29, 2017

So warm and comfy

Bought this to keep warm during work. I should have bought this a longtime ago. The perfect thing to have all the time. Keeps the core comfortable and the arms ready for action.

April 22, 2017

Great Vest

I bought this vest about a month ago and have worn it several times with casual weekend clothing and have used it once while backpacking for evening / morning camp wear. I love it and it has quickly become my favorite insulating clothing layer.

April 10, 2017

Down sweater vest

I am so happy i bought this about a month ago as a present and they love it! Its light weight and warm.

April 9, 2017

down vest

well made,warm,comfortable ( I'm a 44 jacket and the XL was ileal) but i would descibe the color as "caribbean blue" not "deep sea blue".Another consequence of climate change? The photo shows a blue darker than the product delivered. So it goes.

April 8, 2017

TSA destroyed my vest!

I love my vest and it's keeping me warm during the cold days of spring. But wouldn't you know my first flight the TSA put my vest through the x-ray and it caught on something and make a hole where the down is coming out. Dang. Any ideas?

March 27, 2017

Has Evolved: Better or worse?

This item replaced an old "Down Vest" from around 2003. I immediately noticed that the evolution of this vest has resulted in a slimmer fit garment,which is actually alright by me,but won't be for some folks. My 2003 Down Vest was a size small but fit a little more relaxed than this newer "small" one. I like the relaxed fit... Read More more,but this tighter fit will be fine. Also,there is now less down in this 2017 product,as my 14 year old vest is still puffier (and possibly warmer) than the brand new one. However,this new vest has baffling that makes the garment more compressible and seems more pack-able and light. This one will be useful for certain cases where I need slimmer,lighter,and more compressible,but will not be as warm and relaxed of a fit.

March 26, 2017

Great product,sizes tricky

I haven't give 5 starts because of the size,the product mention regular fit,but,I found kind of small,more like a SLIM fit,the company should reconsider their sizes they are not consider wide backs.

March 25, 2017

Very warm,Does the job!

I already have the Micro Puff Vest and that is nice for lightweight warmth but the Down Vest is definitely warmer and it's really nice and lightweight. It totally blocks wind and easily maintains your inner core warmth in colder 20-40 degree situations. I haven't had the chance to wear it in colder than 15 degree temps. as it was a mild W... Read Moreinter here. You can also wear it in 40-60 degree weather. I like vests for their lightweight and maneuverability. I live near the beach in the New Jersey where it's damp and cold in the Winter so the Down Vest is perfect for around here. I'm 5'9" and 180 lbs and large fits perfect.

March 25, 2017

Quality product

Bought this product from a recommendation and love it.

March 20, 2017

Essential Item

Practical for the crazy up and down ATL weather. Great fit.

March 11, 2017

All around perfect item to have on hand

I purchased this about a month ago. I bought it because I already had the jacket and just needed a bit more. I take it with me wherever I go and will keep it in my car all year round. It is exactly what a person needs when it is just a bit chillier out than expected. Thanks for making such great functional,usable stuff! Richard

March 11, 2017

Great look and warmth

Love the easy on and off and can wear everywhere for casual or outdoor

March 10, 2017

New Fit Runs Very Small

This is my 2nd vest (both size medium) which I bought a month ago. My first vest fit perfectly - not too loose or too snug. The 2nd one is much too snug around core even though its style is regular fit (I am 6',160 lbs). I tried a large and it is much too big. This vest is definitely a slim fit. Very disappointed with the slimmer style.

March 4, 2017

Super versatile and fits great

This vest will make me sad when it's summer. I absolutely love it! Great layering piece. I use it skiing,winter walk/jogs to the playground with my kids,around town,and at home. The vest keeps the core nice and toasty and the arms free to move.

February 25, 2017

The Best!

This is my 5th Patagonia vest its the vest down vest I ever bought! Thanks Patagonia.

February 11, 2017

I love this vest..

This was a gift. I've rarely worn a vest before,and now I rarely take it off,in the cooler seasons here int he NW. Great colors,nice cut,and of course,Patagonia's troubke free warranty,which they honored effortlessly when I had a zipper issue. Replaced in a flash..Great "purchase" and I'll be buying myself more Patagonia ge... Read Morear going forward,since the company is second to none in their environmental efforts!

January 28, 2017

Sizing difficult

I bought this vest for my husband as I have one myself and love it. Unfortunately the L was too large and the Meduim too small. We ended up returning both.

January 21, 2017

Simple,light,warm.

Must have for anybody that uses a waterproof outer shell,without much insulation. Combined with a parka or other shell,you'll be warm and dry all day.

January 12, 2017

Great fit

I ordere for my son and it fit great. Quality product,He was very happy and said it is lightweight but warm.

January 12, 2017

Best vest ever

I bought this for Charlotte winters . Best ever I would recommend this vest

January 12, 2017

Love this sweater vest

Perfect for everyday use,keeping the core warm under a jacket,etc.

January 11, 2017

Great midweight insulation

Great midweight down vest. I wear it under lighter shells on times when I need a little extra warmth. I like that it is thin and easily layer-able (if that is a word). Excellent construction. Fits true to size in my opinion

January 11, 2017

Stylish

I had to send it back size was too small. Not true to suze

January 11, 2017

Down sweater vest

I bought this as a xmas gift,it is just what we wanted. Very happy with it.

January 11, 2017

Great product

Very well made,perfect for fall and mild winters,will buy again

January 11, 2017

Like Wearing a Warm Hug!

I purchased this last Fall and it has been my go to jacket/vest for wearing outside and inside. I have gotten so many compliments on the electric blue color,but to me the best part is the simple design,the soft collar,and the incredible light weight warmth it provides.

January 11, 2017

Snug fit

I bought this vest 2 weeks ago and didn't get to wear it until recently because of the unseasonably warm Holiday season. The fit is true and feels extremely light without any restriction to movement. I am thinking of getting the big brother to this line,the hooded jacket,hoping that it shows the same fit and freedom of motion. The only caveat ... Read Moreis the light-weight zipper that is a little difficult to engage if you don't have the reading glasses on.

January 11, 2017

Men's Down Vest

I bought another one,just because it's so handy,versatile,high quality. I love Patagonia products,especially the down.

January 11, 2017

Great Fit and Features

Bought this for a winter road trip to Colorado. I used it much more than I had anticipated because it works so well with layers. I wear it under a nano jacket or rain shell. It also works great over a heavy flannel shirt or other base layer depending on conditions. I like the fact that it is shorter than the standard vest. I like the inside pocket ... Read Morefor stuffing it during travel.

January 11, 2017

Another home run!!

Got this for casual wear. Didn't realize I would also be using it as a layering piece for hunting too. Quality is great and it's very functional

January 11, 2017

Warm

I rips to easy is only bad thing. But I have had several and keep coming back for more.....

January 11, 2017

Simple,sustainable and an investment for life.

Bought this last fall,quality of construction and practicality make this a killer vest. I truly expect to have it the rest of my life. Add it traceable down and the sustainability of Patagonia as a company,well its the real deal.

January 11, 2017

Too good!!!

My daughter stole it the first day she saw it. I haven't seen it since!

October 17, 2016

Perfect!

Love the sweater vest. A perfect fit and exactly what is needed as fall transitions into winter.

October 11, 2016

Great fit,warm,and looks great.

I own the deep blue sea down sweater vest and so far it has been a great addition. It has kept me warm at home whenever I am just lounging or doing things around the house,warm during the current chilly fall commute to and from work or errands,and even at work whenever the occasion allows for wearing the vest where I work. The size works out well ... Read Morefor me. I am about 5'10'' 150-155lbs and I prefer a more fitted feel. I can wear a t-shirt,long sleeve t-shirt,baseball t-shirt,active gear (i.e. dri-fit long sleeve shirts) up to a thin wool sweater or fleece without it feeling uncomfortable or too tight. The M size,at least for me,was not able to keep me warm the way I wanted it to. Overall,very satisfied and enjoying this vest from 'Gonia.

October 8, 2016

Warm and comfortable

A great extra layer and fit. Perfect for everyday use.

October 1, 2016

great down vest

I bought as a gift and they loved it!! Would buy again

October 1, 2016

My new favorite vest

I have only been wearing this vest for the last week but so far I love it. It's lightweight and keeps me warm when the temperature has dropped in the 50's. I haven't had a chance to test it out in any cooler weather yet. I am 6'5" 250 and ordered the XXL and it fits perfectly. It's just long enough. I am so happy when... Read More I buy clothes online and they actually fit.

June 7, 2016

all good in the hood

love my down sweater jacket so it was only natural to add the vest as the weather warms up. also a great layering piece under a snowboard coat or winter hiking.

January 14, 2016

Perfect Down Vest

So far,so good. I purchased this after researching many competitors' products. The vest is light,stuffs into an inner pocket,repels water,and keeps me warm while not restricting my movement. I've worn this vest in 20F weather and walked to do errands layered as follows: long-sleeved t-shirt,light fleece 1/4 zip pullover,vest,blue jeans,at... Read Morehletic shoes and socks. I kept my hands in my pockets and I was very comfortable as I walked from my office to the post office and then to the bank. There may be other vests out there that get the job done,too,but I'm glad I bought this one. Patagonia has a new customer.

August 14, 2015

Had this for years, wear it every day

Had mine for years. Keep it right next the door along with my house keys. Wear it every day that ends in a y. Walking the dog? Check. Going to get coffee? Check. Headed out for dawn patrol and the fog is an inch thick? check. Headed to the crag? Check. Great for bay area where you can pair it with a tshirt and sunglasses, or a thick wool sweater an... Read Mored a hat, sometimes in the space of a few hours. Got one for my dad for Fathers Day and he loves it. Everyone makes cheapo down stuff these days, but this is the genuine article.

June 15, 2015

Works great everywhere

I have purchased three of these vests for my family and they wear them everywhere. It's warm enough to wear by itself or can be used as an added layer when needed. It's been used skating, skiing, fishing, hanging out at the lake, and even as a layer snowmobiling. I would like to see more colors so I can order more.

June 11, 2015

Disappointed

This is a great vest with one exception, the zipper closure at the neck. The zipper guard creates a stiff section of the collar that digs into your chin and neck. The collar isn't rounded all the way around the neck, maybe three quarters of the way and then it's squared off in the spot you expect it to be round. This does not break in wit... Read Moreh regular wear. I have the same issue with a solar wind jacket I purchased from Patagonia. It's annoying and shouldn't happen on a piece this expensive.

April 21, 2015

Awesome vest

It is exactly what I was looking for. Simple and efficient. I got an M size. Room enough to move and of course it is warm. Use in the city in a chilly morning, at the track after running or in the fields walking. Worth the money.

April 11, 2015

Best stuff on earth

Can't live without it. I am so used to wear my vest to keep me warm and organize everyday with all the right pockets. My Patagonia vest Not only gave me everyday comfort also gave me style and a brand respected worldwide

March 18, 2015

Big warmth in small package

This down vest packs so small and when combined with a couple under layers is the perfect traveling jacket for climates that are cold but not wet. Just wore in the high desert Arizona and worked great.

March 7, 2015

Light and toasty

Super styley, and warm and light. Digging my down vest for colder days on the mountain, absolutely, but mostly digging it around town and traveling. Nothing's cozier than down.

February 28, 2015

Perfect Extra Layer

The Down Sweater Vest is an ideal extra layer for cold weather activities. Low bulk, great warmth, and looks good too. Really easy to stuff into a day pack when the sun peaks through. Another awesome Patagonia product.

February 28, 2015

Warm and fits great

I'm very happy with the flexibility this vest offers - I'm able to wear it under a shell or as an outer garment. My positive experience with this vest has me considering the down sweater too. Stick with the regular fit. I'm athletic and slim, but recognize that the regular fit will accommodate more body types and layering desires.

February 28, 2015

Best down vest

This vest is absolutely the best down vest I've ever worn. It's crazy warm and crazy light.

January 9, 2015

vest, the super layer

Vests are simply the best. From adventure to expedition to rigorous work days on site, I'm most likely wearing a vest. I own 1/2 dozen from Patagonia, including the latest Forge Grey Down Sweater Vest. 1) When donning vests, I often end up going elbow first through the opening.. Somehow Patagonia has made this Down Sweater Vest with such a ma... Read Morervelous flexible opening that stretches to accommodate uncoordinated elbow-first entry and yet constricts closely to the body, retaining warmth. 2) I loathe the infiltration of my pockets with irritating plastic parts. After years of annoyance from the uncomfortable placement of adjusting cords where hands and gear belong, I found the only adjustment needed is to cut those absurd parts out of the vest and enjoy comfortable pockets.

November 16, 2014

Great vest

I purchased the Down Sweater Vest last minute before a 5 day trip in north central Wisconsin on the Ice Age Trail in late October. I bought it as an additional mid layer but ended up using it everyday as a primary piece of clothing. I would start my day with it on over my base layer and it would come off about 30 minutes into the hike. I'd cli... Read Morep it to my pack belt and it would go back on during my breaks. Paired with a fleece sweater, it kept me warm around camp at night. I get cold easily but the vest kept me warm to my surprise, even in temperatures to the low 30's. It also blocked the wind as advertised. The cinch cords in the pockets are a nice feature. I'm very pleased with the features and performance of the Sweater Vest. I could have left my insulated jacked at home since I never wore it!

November 1, 2014

Small

Great quality and construction but had to return. Seems like a lot of gear has been resized smaller this year. I got this to go over a mid layer but under a shell. I'm usually a medium in patagonia across the board. I can not wear the med on any thing over a thin base layer mostly because the bottom edge is too tight. I thought that's why... Read More the cords where there in case adjustment needed.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches