Back to Product

Ms Down Sweater

Write Your Review

4.6/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
  • 3XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 778 Reviews

Clear All

Ms Down Sweater

4.6/5
True To Size
July 11, 2022

Best product ever

Great product, great quality

June 22, 2022

My Go To Everyday Jacket

The down jacket is lightweight and comfortable for a wide variety of occasions. It does a great job at keeping my core warm in cooler weather. Don't forget to protect your down jacket with a shell of some sort when it's sprinkling outside.

June 17, 2022

Everyday jacket

My go to jacket for most occasions.

May 13, 2022

Fantastic go to item

This is always my go to jacket. keeps you nice and warm in pretty much any weather. The ONLY thing I wish that was different, was that the material was a bit more sturdy. At least compared to the north face down jacket. Aside from that, good stuff!

May 2, 2022

A surprisingly warm jacket

My second sweater coat. Obviously, I love them. My first had zippers replaced by Patagonia twice in 15 years of hiking. Great company!

April 25, 2022

Perfect Jacket

First off Patagonia customer service is second to none. This jacket is my absolute favorite. Wear it all the time, keeps me warm and fits perfect.

April 25, 2022

It is very warm without bulk

I love the look and fit.

April 23, 2022

Great alternative to a Norma Kamali Sleeping Bag Coat

I love this jacket so much. I wear it while I scale the peaks of my student apartment. When I wake up for early morning study sessions, it keeps me warm like a big warm hug. Fantastic product. Seriously. I don't think I'll ever buy another brand of jacket. Patagonia is it. (The Baggies Brimmer Hat is fantastic too. I wear it when I run ar... Read Moreound in my Fiat with the top open.) :)

April 20, 2022

Extremely comfortable

This jacket has a multiple of uses. I live in it! I love it! My wife loves it on me! What more can I say, it's my everyday go to jacket.

April 18, 2022

Great light and warm jacket

I used to make fun of these jackets because they were expensive and all the yuppies wore them in San Francisco but now that I own one I am sold. Super warm and lightweight jacket, pretty much worth the high cost of ownership. One complaint is that that after a few years of use the jackets tend to start leaking down feathers. I wear my jacket campin... Read Moreg and it developed a number of tiny holes from getting snagged on branches, or tiny burns from campfire sparks and the next thing you know the jacket is leaking. Luckily Patagonia has a lifetime guarantee and when they couldn't repair mine, they gave me a reasonable credit to buy a new one.

April 12, 2022

I love the jacket but.

I own both the down sweater jacket and hoodie, both are great except for one problem the elastic wrist cuffs are to tight and cut off circulation to my hands. I wish there was a way to fix this.

Response from Patagonia
April 13, 2022

Hi David! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that the elastic cuffs fit too tightly around the wrists. This feedback is greatly appreciated, and we'll share it with our design crew. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

April 6, 2022

Super light warm excellent quality!!

Excellent quality jacket just as described fit true size very nice color, light feels like skin love it

April 3, 2022

Very comfortable I wear it almost all the time. Warm and packable.

Always fits, always durable, company stands behind their products.

March 31, 2022

My favorite everyday wear jacket

A stylish, warm-but-not-too-warm jacket that's perfect for so many occasions. I often have to tell myself during the fall and winter to wear something else because I've worn it for the last 10 days nonstop and need to change things up. After about 3 years of use, little holes started forming in the arm stitching and I couldn't stop t... Read Morehe feathers from coming out. Brought it into a Patagonia store and they replaced it on the spot without me even asking, which means they've got me as a customer for life. Grab one of these and don't look back.

March 30, 2022

Poor quality zipper

I like the fit and feel WHEN I can wear it, which is not often because it's in for a new zipper for the second time in a year. Both repairs have taken 6-8 weeks and I don't wear it in the summer so it hasn't had a lot of use and the zipper still broke - twice !!!

March 30, 2022

Lightweight and warm

I love this down jacket. It's feather light but very warm. I live in Northern Michigan which gets very cold and this jacket keeps me warm. I have bought 6 of them for various family members. All love it! This one is for my son.

March 30, 2022

Awesome

This jacket is not only really warm, but its really eye catching. I have gotten several remarks of how nice it looks.

March 30, 2022

Perfect

Lightweight but warm. Exactly what I was looking for.

March 28, 2022

Warm and Lightweight

Love the fit and weight. Very comfortable and warm.

March 28, 2022

Nice and Warm

Amazing classic Patagonia down sweater jacket is great as a midlayer under my winter jacket for added warmth or a stand alone. Made well, using only quality fabrics and colors with attention to detail this is a true Patagonia classic that you can not go wrong. I purchased this in a few colors and some of them with a hood if you choose that you migh... Read Moret need one Patagonia makes both. I love everything Patagonia makes so its kind of bias to ask me. I would recommend this jacket to anyone.

March 27, 2022

Light and Warm

I wear a size S in Women's, but prefer the non-fitted look of this jacket in Men's. The XS fits well, sleeve length just right. Light and warm for daily wear.

March 26, 2022

Versatel

Versatel, Comfortable, good fit.

March 26, 2022

Love it!!!

Love this product. Super warm and soft. However, sometimes feathers come loose and float around in space as Im talking to people. Kinda annoying but other than that best light puffer Ive ever owned!

March 24, 2022

Very warm and comfortable

I'm short so the sweater/jacket is lower on my torso making it tight to sit in. I would like a 2 way zipper NOT a wider bottom. I like that the garment is not longer in the back. I also like that I can roll the sleeve into a cuff so the sleeve doesn't go over my finger tips.

March 23, 2022

Extremely warm, works well as a top layer

Love this jacket, this my second one.

March 23, 2022

Overall very nice jacket

I needed XXL for the arms and torso to be long enough, but then the body is too large. That is the story of my life with jackets. Ideally, I need a slim fit XXL. Otherwise, the jacket is really nice.

March 23, 2022

Light and toasty

I usually wear a size small in everything so I am very glad I had tried on some different jackets in person to verify the fit awhile back. The x small fits me exactly as snug as I like (5'6", 135) and keeps me toasty as hell. It's super lightweight and compact so I don't have to worry about when the day goes from under 40 to ove... Read Morer 70.

March 22, 2022

Very light, very comfortable, very warm

I love the jacket. It's very light and comfortable. Looks great and fits very well.

March 21, 2022

Gift

First puffy my husband has ever owned, nice and warm with just a thin layer underneath. He wears it every day in the Colorado winter so it must be working well for him.

March 21, 2022

As good as ever

Bought this jacket to replace similar 10 plus year old Patagonia. It looks and feels great, as good maybe better than ever in decades of wearing Patagonia jackets.

March 19, 2022

Great jacket

This is the 2nd jacket Ive purchased for my 14 year old son. Hes loves it- not too hot, not too cool.

March 17, 2022

Second layer

I love the quality of the product, but more then that I like the philosophy of the company. The way it supports the environment but also the way it treats it's customers.

March 16, 2022

Warm and compact

I originally bought this style of jacket for its lightness to put in my pack and wear after the hike up the mountain. Now I use it everyday. To add to this, I own three in various stages of wear. Great jacket.

March 16, 2022

Nice jacket

Very comfortable, light weight and warm in moderate cold weather. add a layer and it work well in cold weather. just what I wanted in a coat

March 16, 2022

Well made, comfortable,good looking and warm. I now have three of them. Great sweater/jacket.

Well made,comfortable ,good looking and warm. I now have three of these sweater/jackets .

March 16, 2022

Comfortable/Warm

Im 61 and 175 lbs. Fit it spot on and thankfully the sleeves long enough. The jacket is warm and I cant wait to test it on a backpack trip.

March 16, 2022

Warm and comfortable

Other coats might look similar, but none are of the same quality and fit. The minor details and form fitting nature of this coat makes its extremely functional, comfortable, and durable. Highly recommended and I'm likely buying a second in navy blue.

March 15, 2022

Great fit

Fits perfectly and seems nice and warm

March 15, 2022

Perfect Jacket

This is my second down sweater jacket. Wonderful fit, weight, and super warm. I live in the Smokies where it gets windy and cold and this jacket is perfect. Great colors and styling too.

March 15, 2022

Great fit and same tried and true quality

Decided it was time for a second down sweater, and after exploring my options I decided to go with another Patagonia due to it being windproof and having been happy with my current one. Only reason I was shopping really was for a more fitted fit, but much to my surprise my new down sweater was much more fitted than my old one. Great job Patagonia! ... Read MoreWith that adjustment I wouldnt hesitate to recommend this to anyone in the market for a great all around jacket, or extra layer (or standalone) for skiing/fishing.

March 13, 2022

fit and color

feels and looks great. beautiful blue/green color is flattering and whole jacket is comfortable and soft. great layering or by itself.

March 11, 2022

Love this jacket, so adaptable.

Fits great! 65 170lbs. The sleeves are wide enough to layer a thick sweater under it easily and the material is also soft enough to be comfortable to wear with just a t shirt underneath on less chilly mornings and evenings. The insulation, breathability and wind-proofing is amazing. On these spring mornings when its warm in the sun with a cold br... Read Moreeeze, I dont feel the windchill and also dont overheat and sweat. I love how lightweight it is and that it will pack into the inner pocket. I like the color options with contrasting zipper colors (I got dark blue with the bright yellow green zip). Its understated but fun at the same time. I went back and forth on whether I should get the hooded version and am glad I stuck with the no-hood one as it doesnt get that cold here and it gives me an opportunity to wear my wool hats more! If I lived somewhere 10 degrees colder for more months of the year (not Northern California), Id probably get the hooded one. Love it!

March 5, 2022

Very warm and comfortable

It is stylish and comfortable and warm. Does the job.

March 3, 2022

Great look, just warm enough for those 35 degrees day

This is a perfect cold(er) day jacket and it looks awesome too. Warm enough for a nice winter day in Chicago (when it's in the mid-30s with sun) but also light enough to wear into the 50s (maybe 60s too but it hasn't gotten *that* warm yet).

March 1, 2022

Sweater parka

In Southern California we do get cool and occasionally cold nights. This jacket is perfect for my needs. Stylish and functional.

February 25, 2022

Perfect fit

So warm and and perfect fit. Sleeves are long but not too long, zipped up is super warm. No complaints. Would purchase again,

February 22, 2022

Almost a great jacket

Bought mine at REI. I love it except after 2 months the down started to leak badly. They gratefully exchanged the jacket for another one which I really appreciate. The shell fabric is super soft and fine so I'm concerned about it's abrasion resistance and ability to hold up to an aggressive activity. I only would wear this for 'soft&... Read More#x27; activity or sport.

February 21, 2022

Excellent jacket

Stylish excellent craftsmanship jacket

February 20, 2022

Down sweater jacket

Our family loves this jacket. We each own one. My growing son needed to go up a size and wanted to try a new color. The color of the body of the jacket itself is fantastic but Patagonia this year chose to do some zippers that are different colors than the body of the jacket. That was a big miss for my son. He didnt think it was very subtle and cool... Read More. We returned and will hope for solid colors and zippers next year.

Response from Patagonia
February 25, 2022

Hi Julie, we're so sorry to hear that the colorway this season wasn't to your son's liking. New inventory and colors arrive for Fall 2022 on August 1st, so we be sure to check back in with us then.

February 19, 2022

Tried and True

Everyone has copied the original Patagonia Down Sweater. This is because it is so amazing. You cannot beat the warmth, lightness, quality workmanship and style. I am a Patagonia fan for life!

February 17, 2022

Super Warm

I wear it to keep warm. I live in the mountains @ 4600 elevation. The morning is tipically 22-28 degrees. I wear the vest too. Very comfortable. I burned/melted the sleeve when adding more firewood in my fireplace.

February 17, 2022

Cozy and warm waiting for the bus

I have never been so warm and comfy in a coat before. Sometimes the bus can be 20 min. Late and I am still warm. Love this coat. Light weight and versatile. I live in the PNW and we get all kinds of weather patterns. Having a reliable coat to keep you warm and let you breath if needed is so important. Thank you.

February 16, 2022

Super warm and comfortable

I purchased this jacket as an upgrade from the Micropuff jacket. The Down Sweater proved to be much warmer and more comfortable than the Micropuff. The only feedback I have is that the inside pocket is too deep, at least for my phone. Might improve the support if the back of the pocket were affixed to the jacket or had more support.

February 15, 2022

Perfect for cold nights in Texas

For those extra cold nights in Texas it's great!

February 15, 2022

Nice

Love the jacket, but I have another in a different color and its starting to fall apart. Im worried this one will do the same.

Response from Patagonia
February 17, 2022

Hey Trevor, thanks for the review. If the other Down Sweater you have is less than a decade old and is already falling apart, you're welcome to send it in for a warranty evaluation for a merchandise credit. Our Ironclad Guarantee stands for the lifetime of the product, but if it's damage from regular wear and tear that would not be covered by warranty. If you think your situation qualifies for an evaluation, you can begin the return process [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

February 14, 2022

Good Jacket - Bad Elastic Cuffs

Great jacket and fit. Only problem is the elastic cuffs are all stretched out to where the jacket will ride up my forearm. Went in and exchanged for a new one and the cuffs are all stretched out again. Checking the cuffs of all the jackets in store, there appears to be a very large range of the standard cuff. Some are fine, others are stretched out... Read More (no consistency). They always offered to swap out for a new one, but my size and color are gone and I honestly dont trust the new one will be any better

Response from Patagonia
February 16, 2022

Hi John, thank you for sharing this feedback! We appreciate this kind of input as it's vital for improving products for future seasons. We want you to be happy with everything you purchase from us, and as you know, we'll be happy to help you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it if it still isn't working for you, or you can return it to any of our stores. We hope we can get you into something you'll love!

February 14, 2022

Versatile

I love this jacket because I use it as an added layer under my Topley when it gets a little bit colder. Its also terrific because you can use it as a great fall jacket or spring time. One of the greatest features is that if you are going from a cold to a warmer climate you can always make it really small and jam it into your backpack. I have the ho... Read Moreoded version, as well which I am also in love with.

February 12, 2022

Super Light Weight but keeps me Warm

I love this jacket!!! So pleased you added 3X to the line up!!! It feels so light but keeps me nice and warm. Definitely not my last purchase!!!

February 10, 2022

Ive own this jacket for 10 years

I first purchased this jacket over 10 years ago and I loved it. This jacket served me so well with my casual wear, my work attired, and it was a lifesaver on my backpacking trip to the Patagonia region. Yes, I discovered that the mountain in the logo is "Monte Fits Roy" which sits with Chile! I loved it so much that I had to repurchase it... Read More after it fell off my bag in an airport. In comparison to my old 10-year-old jacket, I'm extremely happy that this new jacket still is made with exceptionally high standards. Thank you Patagonia Customer Service.

February 9, 2022

Super warm yet so light.

Absolutely love it.

February 9, 2022

Great everyday winter wear

The jacket is perfect to slip on when you're running around town on errands or visiting friends on a winter weekend. The jacket is very warm and stays warm even in windy weather, but it's not excessively bulky. The pockets are also roomy enough to fit your everyday carry items as well as a pair of gloves just in case. The only thing I wou... Read Moreld change is adding an extra inside pocket to the right side of the jacket; else it's a great jacket!

February 8, 2022

Great jacket

Lightweight, packable, and warm.

February 6, 2022

As built

Love these thingsexcept (and I need to order next model up) sleeves get caught on unzippered pockets, started pulling on threads etc

February 6, 2022

Small rips started in at least 3 areas within a couple weeks. Terrible.

I have three of these and love them. I noticed a couple of small rips in the sleeve of one of my older jackets and decided to buy a new one. Within a few weeks the new one has at least 3 pinhole rips in different areas. Terrible quality.

February 4, 2022

Warm and comfortable

I like everything about this garment EXCEPT the zipper. It should open at the bottom so that it's comfortable when sitting or driving. Pantagonia seldom (if ever) uses double zippers on their garments.

February 4, 2022

Not thrilled

Its warm and attractive but there are creases from shipping that have never gone away. I've even done the suggested tumble dry with tennis balls. It's nice but I find myself being pretty annoyed by the lines every time I catch my reflection in the mirror. I had tried the nano cell jacket in a small at Christmas, and loved the look (no cre... Read Moreases either). However, when I went to return for a medium I found it was out of stock with no way to order another in medium. What I've ended up with is a more expensive and not as good looking substitute. Pretty disappointed.

Response from Patagonia
February 5, 2022

Hi Brett, we're so sorry to hear the creases in your jacket aren't going away! You can absolutely send that in for a warranty return. We are expecting more Mediums to be in stock by mid-March, if you'd like to exchange it. Please feel free to reach out to our Customer Service Team in early March to see how we can arrange an exchange.

February 3, 2022

pockets

yo I like lots of deep pockets to carry extra gear etc. Also, a light hood zipped inside of the great high collar could make the gear even more versatile. I like the addition of little strings on the zippers... makes it much easier to zip with gloves /mittens on.

February 3, 2022

Perfect Warmth with a warm layer

This is my 3rd jacket, Love it ! Casual wear: Lightweight and warm, but youll need a warm layer underneath if you are going to be outdoors for too long.

February 3, 2022

Light and Warm

The coat is on the long side. Really this should be labelled Medium Tall. Maybe take 2 inches off for Medium Regular. I think your shoppers would prefer a choice like this. But that point takes noting away from a super warm but super light coat. Surprisingly nice to lounge in as well.

February 2, 2022

Great Jacket

I love the fact its super light yet does the job of keeping you warm

February 2, 2022

Warm & Light....but

I wish the jacket had a bit of stretch to it. It can be a bit restricting when moving, especially at the waist when layering for the cold. Overall, very nice jacket. If I could do it over, I'd have picked something with a shell and open waist.

February 1, 2022

great fit, warm, light, instant fave!

medium fits me perfectly, athletic build, 6, 178lbsperfect outerwear for living in the mountains of south west colorado.

January 28, 2022

Nice

Pockets are important to me. Deep pockets so that things don't fall out. I like the little strings on the zippers. I would have liked a bigger inner pocket or two.

January 28, 2022

Comfortable fit

I have around 25 pieces of Patagonia clothing and this product is true to their brand.

January 26, 2022

Nice jacket

Warm and light

January 26, 2022

Ideal Classy Jacket

I looked at many jackets at many retailers. Patagonia had the best selection, best color varieties, best details, and best look for my taste. This is not my first Patagonia garment, and certainly not my last. I already am on the wait list for a particular shirt. Patagonia's garments are great value and great quality.

January 25, 2022

just right

i use my my down sweater for all kinds of things. I love it as a layering piece for skiing. it is also perfect for as a casual piece for many types of activities. it has become my go to piece. i have been wanting to get one for a long time and glad i finally did. the large fits me just right with room to move. I like it layered or not.

January 25, 2022

Tore within a year

Really expensive down jacket. I liked Patagonia because they had smaller sizes as I am only 5'6. The jacket fit well. But began to tear. First in the seams in the back. I patched it with tape. Tore below that. Now tearing at the sleeves. I only wear this for to go to work. No outdoor activities etc. So the quality for the price really disappoi... Read Morented me.

Response from Patagonia
January 27, 2022

Hello Raymond, thank you so much for your review. This is definitely not something that should be happening to your jacket this quickly. It's possible that this jacket was deflective and we would like to make this right. Please feel free to call out Customer Service at 1-800-638-6464 or chat via Patagonia.com so we may get you taken care of.

January 23, 2022

Awesome

Great product as always. Perfect for 20-30 degree weather.

January 20, 2022

Snug but love the fit

Nice and warm but very light. Feels a little thicker than my Northface jacket it is replacing.

January 19, 2022

Perfect

This coat is absolutely perfect in every way. Fit, feel, and affordable

January 17, 2022

Surprisingly Lightweight & Warm

So lightweight, and compacts down, great for hiking, amazingly warm.

January 15, 2022

Super warm and ligh weight

Love it

January 14, 2022

Fabric Easily Tears

I bought this jacket in the olive green color for my husbands Christmas gift. Our biggest disappointment is that it tore twice on the sleeve in the first week during normal, casual wear. The fabric is not durable enough for outdoor activities. It looks great, is extremely comfortable and we want to love it but after paying this much for a coat that... Read More is so easily torn, we would not recommend this purchase to others.

Response from Patagonia
January 21, 2022

Hi Meg, thank you for sharing this review. We're so sorry to hear this fabric didn't hold up as it should! Your satisfaction is guaranteed, so if you'd like to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) the jacket we can help you do that. Also, if you ever have an item that needs [repair](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) that is a complimentary service we offer as well.

January 14, 2022

Great

Great quality and customer service.

January 13, 2022

Perfect Fit!

I searched for a long time to find the best fitting puffy jacket, and the down sweater just felt the best out of all of them! I love the hem cinch inside the pockets, it's brilliant! Great for around town, and also a great packable layer for outdoors or trips

January 13, 2022

Shoulders and sleeves too big

I ordered a small but it was huge so I returned for an XS. Even though it's the smallest size, the shoulders are too big and the sleeves are way too wide. I'm pretty skinny but not a skeleton - it makes me look like I'm trying to be the Hulk or something. Everything else about the jacket is great, I don't understand how they got... Read More the sleeves so wrong.

Response from Patagonia
January 21, 2022

Hi Jeff, Yikes, so sorry to learn about your experience with the sizing. You are welcome to return jacket. Based on your trimmer build, the [slim fit](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/mens-insulated-jackets-vests?prefn1=fit&prefv1=slim) jackets may offer a better fit. We can also provide any garment measurements if that might help.

January 13, 2022

Awesome Puffy

I love this jacket. It's beautiful. It's my favorite color (navy blue) with an awesome trim color. It's also warm which comes in handy in the cold. One must look good in the outdoors. Everything is awesome - quality, fit, warmth, comfort, et. I wear it for casual outdoor activity - I sweat allot and it is too warm for me for exertion... Read More. Love this jacket.

January 10, 2022

Very light and holds well at 30F

It is my first Patagonia jacket. It is very light and warm enough for the PNW winter. I am wearing it in 30F weather and keeps me warm enough when I am moving around, if not walking, then it keeps me warm enough at 40F. When I transition indoors it does not get uncomfortably warm which is a plus.

January 10, 2022

Warm, great fit! Prompt, quick shipping!

My son loves this jacket!

January 10, 2022

Great for and warmth

I am tall and thin and this fits well. Love the light weight feel and warmth of the down. I have another Patagonia jacket without down and found that I was cold if temp below about 55. So this is great for those cooler temps and very comfortable.

January 9, 2022

Comfortable and warm

Sizing is perfect. Sleeves are long enough. Jacket is perfect length. Warm but not bulky.

January 9, 2022

Rating

Fit perfect and is very warm. My son loves it

January 9, 2022

Disappointed but good for casual wear. (Very warm)

I'm a very big supporter and Patagonia client, and I'm honestly very disappointed about the performance of this jacket. I bought it a bit more than a year ago, and at around 7 months of use, the down started to constantly come out of tiny wholes in the fabric, which I would say has caused a significant loss of its insulation as of today. ... Read MoreSecond, the fabric already teared open in the inside of the neck area, and I repeat, the jacket is only a year old. I usually use it for hiking and casual wear, which doesn't expose the jacket to extreme environments or put it to a very tough use, and having problems with it already in year 1 makes me truly disappointed, specially by how expensive this product is and how Patagonia states that they make 'long lasting' products. The only thing I was impressed by is how warm it is.

January 9, 2022

Warm, Lightweight, and great all around jacket

Runs a little snug but nice comfortable jacket for day to day cold weather use.

January 8, 2022

Great for a range of temperatures with or without a sweater underneath.

Perfect. So light weight yet warm & blocks the wind. Slightly form fitting through the waist which is flattering. Packs well. Love the jacket, no complaints. Customer service was wonderful. Will buy again.

January 8, 2022

Classic & dependable warmth

I purchased this for the 3rd or 4th time for my husband to replace well-loved and well-worn Patagonia down sweaters over many decades. It still excels in its categorylightweight, warm and extremely well-made.

January 7, 2022

Warm and comfortable

My go to jacket for walking the dog, skiing insulator use with a shell cover. The fit allows additional layers as needed. It was a discontinued color making it an exceptional value.

January 6, 2022

Very comfortable and lightweight

Very comfortable jacket and Its pretty warm considering how light it is. It feels like it weighs nothing is easy to move around in but keeps me warm when its in the low 30s/ high 20s and windy. If it gets really cold youll probably need a fleece or something under if you don't want to wear a heavier coat or dont have one but I can attest that ... Read Moreit is totally wind proof. As a bonus, the beach browncolor looks awesome

January 6, 2022

Smells awful

The jacket overall is great but the moment you step outside in any sort of humid weather, it will begin to smell awful. This jacket smells like a wet dog and due to this no matter how great it fits, feels, and performs, its not worth it.

Response from Patagonia
January 14, 2022

Hi Jaydevsinh, we're so sorry to hear about your experience with the Patagonia Men's Down Sweater Jacket. We want you to be happy and comfortable in your gear, so please feel free to begin a [warranty return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) under our Ironclad Guarantee.

January 4, 2022

Perfect Jacket

This is one of my favorite jackets. Very Lite but can keep my body warm

January 3, 2022

Ultralight but warm perfect with sweaters

Fine jacketfeatherweight

January 3, 2022

Nice and warm

It was a gift for my husband and he loves it. Material is so nice and warm. He wore it at a football game recently and it was really cold (30 degrees ) and he said how warm it kept him the entire time.

January 3, 2022

Sweet buy

Jacket fit very well. As warm as I expected. Overall very satisfied.

January 3, 2022

Very warm

It fits perfect and stays very warm! I highly recommend purchasing this item!

January 2, 2022

Like a Mini Sleeping Bag

This jacket works well in any condition and keeps you warm without weighing you down.

January 2, 2022

Light weight and warm.

Replaced a non-Patagonia puff jacket for wearing in northern New Jersey. This coat is light weight and very warm. I love the quality of the material and lifetime guarantee. Great for layering as well.

December 31, 2021

Smaller on the hip

I owned the previous model and it appears the new design runs smaller on the hips. Had to go to a large size.

December 31, 2021

Awesome

Great product, warm and super light. Fit is just right for my high

December 31, 2021

Perfect size, weight and warmth

Looked at a couple other brands before settling on the Down Sweater Jacket and couldnt be happier. The fit is perfect, true to size but not baggy and slim through the torso. Super light but punches above its weight class in warmth, keeps plenty warm even below freezing temps.

December 30, 2021

Nice color- True size

I bought this jacket for my husband and he loved it. It fits true size and its perfect for the chilling CA winter weather. The item looks exactly the same as in the picture.

December 29, 2021

Fits Well

Purchased for my 27 y/o son, fit perfectly, super warm, looks casual or dressy, he loves it!

December 29, 2021

Warm jacket but damaged in first week

The jacket fits nicely and is very warm but less than a week from the time I got the jacket it started leaking feathers. Was hoping for a higher quality product that would last me a bit longer before I saw started seeing wear.

Response from Patagonia
January 8, 2022

Hi Joe, thank you for taking the time to share this review. We’re sorry to hear your Down Sweater is leaking feathers! You may be able to keep them intact by pulling them back into the baffle from the other side, and then firmly rubbing the fabric with your thumbs to “heal” any hole that has formed. In any case, we want you to be happy with everything you purchase from us, and if you like we'll be happy to help you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it.

December 29, 2021

great piece

I'm 6'0 tall 160 lbs. with athletic build, 40" Chest and 31" waist. Fits well with room for an additional layer under the jacket. This is a "normal fit jacket not a trim fit jacket. Very satisfied with purchase and quality.

December 29, 2021

Light weigjt

Love it

December 27, 2021

Durable Everyday Jacket

I have had my jacket for 3.5 years now. I probably wear it everyday from November till March and its still good as new. I usually layer it over a hoodie but its warm enough I dont have to. Easily keeps me warm in temps close to 0F and Im also comfortable in it when its 50. This jacket singlehandedly made me a Patagonia customer for life.

December 25, 2021

Comfortable. Sleeves are a little longer than most mediums.

Love the look and how warm it keeps me.

December 24, 2021

Great jacket

Very warm and looks terrific

December 23, 2021

Love the jacket

My body type doesnt lend itself to this sweater jacket. Im kinda short and rounded. hence the fit was off, so I had to return it.

December 22, 2021

Three at last!

I'm just so happy these finally come in 3XL. and that I was able to order one. Please continue to make more items in larger sizes.

December 21, 2021

As always a great gift

As always a great gift! Bought this for my son who is 17 for Christmas and he loves it, the colors the fan light weight and warm.

December 17, 2021

Just OK

I own a Silent Down shirt jacket and its been a staple for my casual day-to-day Minnesota winter wear, but with travel picking up again for the holidays, I've been looking for a more packable down jacket to lighten the load during travel and I heard a lot of good things about the Down Sweater Jacket. I lucked out and purchased a 2021 version i... Read Moren the perfect size and color (Medium / Black) on Worn Wear. What I like about this jacket: it feels good to the touch as a standalone piece over a t-shirt, and is roomy enough to layer a hooded pullover underneath, and it is lightweight and packable. What I didnt like: the overall warmth was disappointing, and there are some pockets of the jacket where it feels like the down is either sparse or there is none at all, especially in the sleeves. I expected that a newer version of this jacket would have been fuller, so with all the pros and cons considered I think this jacket is just OK.

December 14, 2021

Fits well.

Very comfortable.

December 11, 2021

Super warm but smelly

Sorry I had to return it to the Ventura store, It had a distinct Oder like an old dog ! I even aired it out for 2 weeks Im gonna reorder the same hopefully it wont smell !! Please let me know if you have any suggestions. I really love the color Thank You.

December 11, 2021

Super Warm

Best product on the market with regard to its achievements aesthetically (not only in product design and utility of product, but "best damed looking label on the planet, as well as, most importantly Patagonia's philosophy of giving back to mother Earth!

December 10, 2021

Awesome comfort and super warm

The down sweater I recently purchased is a perfect single jacket and a great layer on those colder days. It fits great and is so comfortable I forget I have it on.

December 9, 2021

A must have.

All around a warm, functional, and versatile top. I only wish the fabric was not as delicate. I get tired of duct taping the holes or glueing them with silicone. I wish these were offered in a slightly more robust fabric.

December 9, 2021

Great Jacket

This is my 2nd Patagonia Down Sweater jacket. I love the weight to warmth ratio! Perfect jacket for midwestern winters.

December 8, 2021

High quality as always!

This coat continues the high quality I have grown to expect from Patagonia. In my 33 years as a ski patroller I have had and still have several coats and pants from them. As in the past this coat is well made and I expect to get years of use from it.

December 3, 2021

The Perfect Layer

Overall, I love this coat. This was my first experience with down and I cant believe I never owned an article of clothing with it before. The jacket fits great, its warm, and incredibly light. The only grievance I have with it is that the polyester exterior is incredibly thin. The day after I unwrapped the jacket, there were already little feathers... Read More poking through on the back of the neck. I hadnt even worn it outside yet so Im not sure how that happened, but I was able to manipulate it so they went back in. Hopefully, that doesnt become an issue down the line.

December 2, 2021

Nice fit and very stylish

I was very happy with the jacket as it will be warm enough to get me to work for the rest of the winter (a few extremely cold days aside). I also really enjoyed the fit. It was stylish and, based on the sly smile from my wife, looks good on me!

December 2, 2021

Better fit.

I spoke with a representative and explained that i didn't see any ladies jackets i liked. Asked what size men's if i wear ladies xl. He recommended a lg, and it fits great. Enough room to layer, important here in wi. As always, i appreciate your activism, and it's a big reason i support your company!

December 1, 2021

Winter warm

kept me warm with weather in the 30's, had a sweater underneath - like the fit, felt very comfortable

November 28, 2021

Perfect Weight and Warm

Perfect for when temps are 40 and above. Nice looking, fits well, nice weight. Short on pockets however - would minimally like to see an inside pocket (it would not add bulk) or a a high zipper pocket. Need a place for a phone or an envelope.

November 25, 2021

Great Jacket

What can I say about this jacket that hasnt already been said. I have 3 , one being a hoody, 2 in the color black(staples) and this one being a cool retro color. And or colors. They tend to fit a little snug . Which I like !

November 25, 2021

Convenient and warm

Perfect to wear over a t-shirt while walking my dogs along Chicagos Lakefront Trail. The Abalone Blue is a nice subdued shade; Ive gotten lots of compliments.

November 23, 2021

Warm & Comfortable

This jacket has exceeded my expectations. Its warm, fits well and is designed with a high level of quality. Im a big dude, and this jacket fits perfectly.

November 23, 2021

Amazing

Definitely one of my favorite jackets I have ever owned. Warm, comfortable and looks great.

November 23, 2021

A true favored friend! Needed color choices!

Love it! Its my third one! My wife has three as well!

November 23, 2021

perfect at temps above 40-45 degrees with a couple of layers underneath.

What is: my daily driver during the cooler days and colder evenings. feels good, light, soft and a good fit. Looks good and easy to wash. The Patagonia logo messages environmental consciousness.. What isn't: the inside pocket zipper has a tendency to get stuck.

November 22, 2021

Why did I wait

I have several of the puff jackets and vest and really like them and they have served me well. I want to get something a little warmer and hoped more compact. I really like the performance of the sweater and think itll find a place my pack most trips. It feels (no proof yet) it might be a little light weight on the durability (my puff coat have had... Read More some run ins with brush, hooks, dogs, rocks, zippers, etc. and based on age and use field duct tape repairs worked okay) so Im going to carry some nicer patches to repair this one, its too fancy for duct tapeyet Looking forward to putting this through the paces

November 22, 2021

Great versatile jacket

I bought this jacket for my husband. It provides warmth without bulk and is versatile. You can wear it alone or with a vest or another layer underneath. It looks great too. I appreciate Patagonia's mission to consider the impact on the environment in everything they do.

November 20, 2021

Warm but Feathery

3/4 STAR REVIEW: This is my FIRST Patagonia Jacket and wasn't sure how the sizing would go so I took a look at their size chart and measured myself. It turned out I was a Large. I'm around 5'9 by the way with a broad squared body along with a decent holiday belly I would say. I purchased this Men's Down Sweater Jacket since it w... Read Moreas promoted as a warm water resistant jacket. It had to be something I could wear around on a cold and/or windy day/night, casually or even something I could wear while snowboarding or skiing. Especially with the well hidden pull cords, it seemed like i had found the one. After a few days, I received the notification that it was left on my front porch. I was really excited! I liked that it was packaged inside a recycled paper envelope. The jacket looked amazing. I immediately put it on and began to sweat (which was a good sign). On the second day, I noticed feathers sticking out from the jacket. It was pretty upsetting because I had high expectations. The hole left after pulling out the feathers sticking out is very minimal and not noticeable at all but it's still a letdown. I'm on the verge between 3 or 4 stars but because I love the jacket overall aside the feather flaw, I left a 4.

November 19, 2021

A must for anyones wardrobe

Lightweight, warm, stylish and rolls into its own pocket forming a small pillow. Perfect for hiking, travel and casual wear. I bought my first sweater jacket three years ago and have given one to my wife and kids because they loved mine so much. Super cool jacket

November 18, 2021

Warm and fits perfect

Im 61 and 235 lbs and the XXL fits me perfect. I like it better than my previous North Face coat as this coat is not as loose in the neck and keeps from wind blowing down my neck

November 18, 2021

Unreasonable size

This is a Thanksgiving gift for my husband. He has a standard shape can measure the clothes. This sweater has good material, but has wider breast , thinner stomach and shorter . I consider returning it if I can find another good sweater.

Response from Patagonia
November 24, 2021

Hi Yueyuan, thanks for your comments on the Down Sweater Jacket. We're always happy to provide garment measurements before you make a purchase to ensure it'll fit when you [reach out](https://help.patagonia.com/s/).

November 15, 2021

Yesssss

Keeps me warm. Very delicate.

November 7, 2021

Warm

The perfect jacket for cold weather especially if your core temperature runs warm already.

November 5, 2021

Great jacket, runs small!

This is a great jacket for fall back east and perfect winter jacket for California. Very well made but definitely order a size up for men's and women's down sweater. I bought this for my husband and a women's for myself and both were too small in our normal sizes. His is in grey and is great looking. One adult son has the medium blue... Read More and a good friend the teal blue and all three look terrific!

October 28, 2021

Light weight & warm

I'm 6'0, 170 lbs. This jacket fits perfect. It is very light weight and warm. I wear it all the time during fall and winter. Fits good under a shell on cold stormy days while snowboarding. While hiking it rolls itself into the pocket as illustrated with no problem. It has a loop that can be attached to you pack with any kind of latch or s... Read Moretring system. Never an issue with zipping up or down material stays clear and does not get caught in zipper. I bought 4 of these jackets 3 years ago for my family and none of us have had any problems. Highly recommend!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches