Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Calcite Jacket

Write Your Review

4.6/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XXS
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 61 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Calcite Jacket

4.6/5
June 30, 2021

Really rain resistant

Decided to see how rain resistant it would. Went for an hour walk. When started there was a light drizzle. By the time I got back home it was an official down pour. I was dry. I was pleasantly surprised!

June 30, 2021

Waterproof

My wife needed a rain shell for a climb of Mount Katahdin recently. The weather was foul and the Calcite jacket was perfect. Waterproof, the hood sizing is ample and user friendly!

June 14, 2021

Great Jacket

Got this in the Catalan Coral color and it's my favorite piece! The color is outstanding. Got the corresponding Calcite Pants too. They're absolutely perfect for time in the Adirondacks which can be quite uncomfortable with the wrong gear. I love the feel of this piece as it's not too boardy but definitely substantial. Doesn't p... Read Moreack down too small but that's not why I chose it. I would agree with other reviews that the sleeves are a bit long but I just have adjusted the velcro down. I'd rather have them longer anyways. I wear a medium in most Patagonia or a large on the slimmer fit. Purchased this jacket in a medium and am comfortable with a fleece layer underneath.

May 17, 2021

So Versitile!

So Versatile! Purchased this jacket because my old raincoat was falling apart at the seams. This jacket is fabulous to say the least. I have worn it in rain with just a t-shirt underneath and in snowy 20° weather with a fleece underneath. This is now my go to outer layer. Can't say enough good things.

May 13, 2021

Great jacket

Sleeves are long for a short person, but otherwise the jacket looks great on and feels nice and light.

May 13, 2021

Great jacket!

I am an odd shape so chose this size to fit perfectly where I need it to and still fit a mid layer or down vest underneath. This jacket is very well made, comfortable and nice looking. Oh yeah, its waterproof too!

May 3, 2021

rain jacket

I am 70, trim and fit. Really wanted Patagonia rain jacket to work. I need a medium for layering and hips, but...arms way too long and a bit too much room in chest. Zipper very difficult to zip. For price just doesn't work.

April 16, 2021

Great light weight

My boyfriend bought this for me for my birthday because I absolutely hated my last rain jacket. This one is absolutely perfect! It is a great light weight jacket that doesnt make you hot and sweaty when you wear it in a spring time rain. It is also wind proof so it will be great to wear during cold weather as well! Its very durable and comfortable.... Read More I even wear it when its not raining and just need something light for cooler mornings. I highly recommend and look forward to wearing this for a long time.

April 12, 2021

Calcite Jacket

I bought the jacket for my Seattle trip this spring break, temp between low 30's max 50 degrees with more wind than rain.. wearing underneath my t-shirt and sweater .overall I am very happy with my purchase.. the only thing I wish it could have is some warm fabric inside the pockets for the hands to keep them a little warm without the need of ... Read Moreusing gloves.

April 11, 2021

Best Quality Jacket

I was looking for a good rain jacket to go over my puffy when I go hiking. Very durable and shows no wear from my pack. Love everything about it!

April 7, 2021

The ideal rain jacket

What I love the most is that this jacket truly protects from rain, yet it is not heavy or too sturdy and packs easily. I just love it.

April 4, 2021

Too small in the hips

Unfortunately, Patagonia jackets never seem to fit because my normal size is always about an inch too narrow in the hips. I ordered an XL, which fit everywhere but the hips. It would zip up, but it was an *exact* fit, meaning there wouldn't be a way to effectively layer underneath. I also tried the XXL, but I was swimming in that size; it was ... Read Moreway too big. I understand that many athletic women are fairly thin, but I can't help but think there are a lot of other women like me who are on the curvier end of the spectrum but are still active hikers, skiers, bikers, etc. who would realllllly like to be able to wear high-quality gear. A small tweak to the cut of jackets like this would accommodate a wider range of people without sacrificing a good fit for those with slightly narrower hips. Or, Patagonia could at least offer a style that is not as fitted and is instead more of a square cut so that true layering, for example, with a sweater or fleece, is possible.

Response from Patagonia
April 6, 2021

Hi Laura, we are so thankful for these detailed comments about sizing and fit. We totally hear you on this and greatly appreciate feedback like this as it helps other shoppers and our designers. We are so sorry to hear about troubles you've experienced with sizing and welcome you to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) anything back that hasn't worked.

April 4, 2021

Favorite rain gear

Love this jacket...very light, yet ultra waterproof and breathable. Flattering cut for a big boned girl ; ). Doesnt make that average rain jacket crinkle sound, and love the color! Scored an awesome price and amazing customer service at the Freeport outlet!!

April 4, 2021

Great Jacket

The sleeves on Patagonia jackets are always way too long for me, otherwise they are terrific.

April 3, 2021

Soft and comfy

This jacket is amazing! I wanted a high performance jacket for, well, real rain. This jacket has all that and more! The more is the soft feel of the texture on the outer fabric. Typically higher performance here is stiff. This is not! It is super soft to the touch. Plus, I love the color!

April 1, 2021

Not waterproof at all

Went hiking in light rain for the first time with this jacket, and it was WET. This jacket is NOT waterproof as the description says it is.

Response from Patagonia
April 2, 2021

Oh no, Genevieve! We are really bummed to hear this and so sorry for the troubles that caused. We are thankful for your feedback on that and please feel welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this back to us.

March 26, 2021

Nice rain jacket

Great jacket for rainy activities. Smart design features, vents, waterproof zippers. I feel like I will have this jacket for years to come.

March 15, 2021

Light weight

Fits great, bought a size large to fit over a puffy jacket if needed. Love the way it looks and fits. Will also start using it for ski touring as it is super lightweight, wind proof and water proof. Highly recommend. I’m 5’2 and 140lbs and the large fits loosely I could fit a small if I wanted a tighter fitting rain jacket

March 12, 2021

Love this rain jacket.

Live in Florida so I don't have to worry about snow.

March 11, 2021

Very breathable but not durable

I am really pleased with the breathability of this jacket. I struggle to stay cool in the winter, I sweat a lot, and I have found that previous jackets can trap in the moisture - but this jacket does wonders for that! I love the feel and the colour. I got a little bigger to be able to fit over my warmer jackets. The one downfall of this jacket is ... Read Morethat it has already ripped on me. I was in the woods and a branch got stuck on the arm and ripped in to it. Very disappointed as I have had the jacket for a month. Great for the ski hills or an open hike, not ideal for branchy woodsy areas.

March 7, 2021

Great rain jacket.

Sleeves are long for a short person. No complaints.

February 27, 2021

Great jacket, runs a size large.

Ordered a medium (the size of my last Patagonia rain jacket) and it was too large. Exchanged it for a small. So far it's great! The sleeves are slightly too short, which is a bummer on my bike. The hood can fit over my bike helmet but I can't turn my head to check for traffic, maybe I'll try it underneath. I do wish the back dipped d... Read Moreown just a bit more. But none of these things are deal breakers, the quality of the jacket definitely outweighs these critiques. The last jacket I had was H2No and worked great for 5 years, I'm excited to try the Gortex. Seems lighter weight but just as warm. I got the curacao blue color and absolutely love it. It's doing a terrific job in this PNW winter rain and wind.

February 26, 2021

good fit and room for layers without looking bulky

I compared a small with a medium for fit and decided on the medium as it allowed for more comfortable layering to adjust to different activities: hiking, casual walk or cross country skiing. I am loving the fit and function so far. A little trouble getting used to the drawstring adjustment through the pockets but figuring it out.

February 24, 2021

Versatile Water Proof Shell

I have worn this in the snow with a fleece underneath and it does a great job with blocking the wind and keeping you dry. Can't wait to wear it skiing!

February 21, 2021

Waterproof and Breathable

After searching for a waterproof and breathable jacket to replace one that was 20 years old, I purchased the Ws Calcite. My old jacket had more of a fabric inside which I liked for comfort with bare arms, and a collar that provided a better fit around the neck for protection from the wind. I only found men's jackets with these features. I do ... Read Morelove that the Calcite is both waterproof and breathable--no trapped moisture on the inside making the lining wet. I also like the fit, pit zips, adjustable hood and bottom cinch cord.

January 14, 2021

Perfect Jacket!

I hope this jacket sticks around unchanged for many MANY years. I own no less than 10 Patagonia jackets already and love each of them for a multitude of uses. The Calcite jacket knocks it out of the park by being a VERY lightweight shell that provides fully waterproof protection without being over heavy or bulky. The length is spot on with just eno... Read Moreugh coverage over the rear without feely like a dress. This jacket is perfect to wear around the city for more casual rain protection, but I've also used it skiing and hiking in the rain/snow and it provided just as good of protection as my $500 shells. A+ Jacket would HIGHLY recommend!

January 5, 2021

Great, warm and durable jacket

Light enough to take backpacking or stuff in a pack while skinning uphill. Great for layering. Replacing old Torrentshell and Stretch Rainshadow jackets. Wanted something more durable with water repellency (Gore-tex Paclite technology), but light enough to throw in a pack. This fit the bill perfectly. Love the color, purchased the classic navy (vs.... Read More yet another black jacket).

December 4, 2020

Wonderful!

I love that I can put the hood over the helmet. I bike to work when its cold but it allows me to stay worm and not overheated. I love how long the sleeves are, and the extra pocket! I bought small. Tried medium but it was way too large. Only one thing I would improve, make the bottom of the jacket wider or straps to loosen it. If I wear worm pant... Read Mores definitely feels tide.

November 17, 2020

Visible, dry and beautiful

I looked forever before I found this jacket. Two things kept me away at first: the price and the hood which fit over a helmet -- which I did not need. But when nothing else worked, I finally decided to try this jacket and I love it. The coral color is gorgeous and visible for city walking. I like the chest pocket, the waterproof zippers and the hoo... Read Mored that is not too big even if you're not wearing a helmet. The jacket also feels great -- a soft, matte finish. I could not love it more and it is totally worth the price.

November 8, 2020

Packable for travel

Great jacket flying in and out of Madison, WI and Minneapolis, MN. Warmer climates are always on my mind. Perfect!

September 15, 2020

Pricey but worth it!

This is my go-to jacket in the spring and fall, I absolutely love it. Its very breathable, so you wont overheat on warm spring-afternoons but at the same time, you wont feel any chill at all when its windy in the fall. The fit is very true-- I am a 0/2 and ordered an XS which fits perfectly (I can comfortably fit a sweater on under the jacket if I ... Read Morewant an extra layer) . I cannot recommend this jacket enough, it is pricey but its worth it.

June 21, 2020

So versatile!

Love this jacket! Light, comfortable and a nice fit. Room to layer, and not too big when worn alone. Used it hiking, backpacking, knocking around, and in the rain so far. Will be great for all seasons!

June 20, 2020

Womens Calcite Jacket

Love this Gore-Tex jacket and the features. I ordered a medium, and it gives me plenty of room for layering. I I love the color and fit. Super comfy and lightweight jacket, ( without feeling too light).. The upper left outside pocket easily holds my iPhone 11. Nice roomy pockets, and drawcord hem. Love the design of the back of this jacket, which d... Read Morerops slightly and provides a little more coverage.

June 18, 2020

Solid rain jacket

Definitely waterproof. Love the color! My only complaint is that I wish there was a way to make the neck part had the option to button it down. When its lightly raining and I'm working it'd be nice if i could snap it our of the way. Still love it and am super happy with this purchase.

June 17, 2020

So versatile!

Love this jacket! Light, comfortable and a nice fit. Room to layer, and not too big when worn alone. Used it hiking, backpacking, knocking around, and in the rain so far. Will be great for all seasons!

June 17, 2020

A bit tight in the hips

This jacket replaced another Patagonia jacket that I had worn for years. I like everything about this one except it is tight around my hips/butt. My previous one had a drawstring was waist and wasnt as tight on the derrière. But other than that, it is a great jacket! Lightweight and comfortable.

June 16, 2020

Impressed

Full disclosure: I just received this jacket and haven't yet put it to the test, but plan to wear it hiking (occasional alpine summits), biking and as a lighter ski shell. I think it will perform well with all based on the seemingly durable fabric, quality zippers, length and neck height. Also because, like other reviewers said, it's got ... Read Morea flattering cut without being tight. In fact, I will say that this is the best fitting Patagonia jacket on me (I have a few). I always purchase size small, but occasionally have issues with my hips being too wide. The trouble is that my top is very small, so sizing up makes me look like I'm swimming in just one large piece of fabric. This jacket gives a little extra room in the hips so I can move all around in it (I did test that), like sitting on a bike without cutting off circulation. I bought mine from Worn Wear, love the color, and the price, and excited to put it to use.

May 11, 2020

Perfect Skiing Shell

Just what I needed! I bought this jacket to be an outer shell for skiing and I can report that it kept me dry all winter long! I love that the hood fits over my helmet. I bought a large purposely so I could layer (normally wear medium) & it fits well. I wear it regularly now for hiking and it is perfect for protection against wind and rain. My ... Read Moreonly complaint is I wish it had an inside pocket.

May 1, 2020

Great Rain Jacket

I used to wear a Torrenshell Jacket, but when the Calcite Jacket came out I couldn't resist making the switch. It layers nicely over my Nano Air Hoody, and when it comes to rainwear, Gortex can't be beat! It's comfortable, durable, and breathable. The Calcite Jacket is also form-fitting, which is not only flattering but also practica... Read Morel when engaging in sport. I deducted one star because I'm not crazy about the way the back dips down. I would prefer the back to be cut straight across.

April 14, 2020

Weird Fit

I wanted to like the Calcite. And there still a chance if Patagonia lets me return for a larger size. I initially ordered a small because I didn't want the body to be super baggy. Well, the small sleeves go to my wrist making them to short. The hand pockets sit really high on my waist where it is not a natural position for my hands to sit in t... Read Morehe pockets. The fit in my torso isn't baggy which I like but in every other aspect the sizing does not fit. I've tried the medium on and the body was super baggy. I'm not sure there is a happy medium here.

Response from Patagonia
April 16, 2020

Hi Katie! Thank you so much for your feedback, and we're sorry to hear the fit of the Calcite Jacket didn't quite work out for you! If you would like to exchange that item for the next size up, or a different style, you are welcome to do so [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html). Please note, our Customer Service team is always happy to provide garment measurements to take some of the guess-work out of online shopping. Contact us [here](https://help.patagonia.com/s/).

January 5, 2020

Brilliant Jacket

I love the color and the fit.

January 3, 2020

Entry-level GoreText

Super pleased with my first Gore-Text shell; a cut above the Torrentshell in terms of durability and waterproofing, and a great gateway in to GoreTex. Cut is active without being boxy, and there's not tons of bells and whistles: good pockets, adjustability, and just an all-around functional waterproof piece and wind blocker. The hood is gigant... Read Moreic and the top of the zipper comes up a little high on my face, but I'm overall thrilled with the quality, cut, and function of the jacket. Will serve me well on rainy days outside, low-output activities, and maybe a soaker of a run if it's brutally cold / windy.

January 2, 2020

Gortex Jacket

This jacket was the perfect piece for recent winter mountaineering trips with high winds and low temps! Like all Patagonia gear - this one will be a staple jacket for me

December 29, 2019

A little more room n

A little more room n the body of the jacket would be good. Otherwise, it is great.

December 19, 2019

This jacket has had a

This jacket has had a great fit and I’m really liking the subdued color that’s not grey or black.

December 16, 2019

love it

great fit and insulation

December 14, 2019

Will. Certainly keep the rain

Will. Certainly keep the rain of. While being cute and comfy. Lots of extras like vents in the arm pits

December 12, 2019

Perfect outer layer

This is a quality jacket that goes perfectly over my down sweater. Love the XXL outer layer. Normally I wear XL, but this is allows for layering. Love it!

December 8, 2019

Magic

I was skeptical once I saw just how light (yet sturdy and durable) the material is, but it’s incredible. So warm, no bulk. Perfect shell for all seasons and all activities-raincoat for rainy day runs to snowy escapades. Also, the color is gorgeous.

December 3, 2019

Love This Jacket

I bought the grey and the color is beautiful. Fit is exactly as expected. I'm 5'7" and 145 lbs. The Medium would work but the Large gives me the ability to layer. Best part is the feel of the fabric - who knew a rain coat could have wonderful hand.

November 27, 2019

I love this jacket!

I love this jacket!

November 27, 2019

She loves it

I have been living and wearing Patagonia for many years. Many many years. I have used Patagonia clothing and gear in more scenarios and environments than I have time to list. From saltwater fishing, boating, doing almost 4000 skydives as an instructor, base jumping, long-distance backpacking, surfing and just going out to eat. I had to get my girlf... Read Moreriend a jacket for the rainy season here in the Montauk area of Long Island. Once again, I’m continually impressed

November 14, 2019

Calcite Jacket

Jacket had trouble with zipper; you shipped me a second one, and the first one is in the USPS mail to you already. I love this jacket! Ordered it two sizes up from my ordinary size choice, and can layer pieces of fleece under it for toasty hikes in the winter mountains and city streets. Its structure is so well designed, and it fends off both wind ... Read Moreand wet stuff, keeping me warm and dry. Thank you so much for all the years of producing great outdoor gear. I have several pieces of your clothing which are now going on 25 years old, and they still work perfectly.

November 13, 2019

Like the color

Like the color

November 6, 2019

Excellent quality and fit.

Excellent quality and fit.

November 2, 2019

Calcite is worth the buy!

I bought this Calcite jacket as a sort of raincoat, but I've ended up using it for so much more! I layer it over hoodies during walks in the snow, and I pair it with a fleece in lieu of a more bulky winter coat. It's warmer than it looks! The Star Pink color is very different and nice.

November 2, 2019

Perfect for what I want

Perfect for what I want it for. I can wear it has a rain jacket in Spring & Fall and as my outermost layer in the winter to keep the snow, wind and rain out. I teach skiing in the East and as you know we get a lot of rain and wet snow.

October 14, 2019

Sturdy, effective, true to size

I got this jacket for work, as I am outside in the rain throughout the day. It is extremely effective, with rain immediately beading and running off, instead of partially absorbing into the fabric. The zippers, velcro, and gore-tex material are very sturdy and it's true to size. Very satisfied with my purchase and it's worth the extra mon... Read Moreey.

October 8, 2019

Multi Functional - Worth It

This piece is a great product to add to your collection. An excellent rain coat, great for layering over hoodies, or non-waterproof coats. I didn't realize it had zips in the underarms to help cool you down! I ordered the orange/teal, the orange is a lot brighter in person, compared to the photos so keep that in mind. I ordered a medium, wh... Read Moreich I usually wear with Patagonia, and it does run a little big. Just an all around beautifully made and clean looking coat.

October 5, 2019

A great jacket!

I normally don't take the time to write reviews, but I would like to sing the praises of this sweet little jacket. I purchased it in a local Patagonia store and not online. My daughter is spending the semester in Dublin where it rains frequently. On a recent excursion into the country side her friends were getting wet in their rain gear- while... Read More she remained dry. This coat is technically correct and wind proof to boot. It's the best back to school purchase of the year and she wears it daily. Like the other review mentions, we also purchased it a size up- so She could wear a sweater underneath.

September 7, 2019

Rain or snow, doesn’t matter

I tried several rain jackets and picked the Calcite because of style, fit, feel and color choice. I am able to layer this over my M MicroPuff without any problem. I normally wear a M but first purchased a L for layering size. It was too L even over a MicroPuff and Lightweight Down. My suggestion is go with your normal size.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches