Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Torrentshell 3L Rain Jacket

Write Your Review

4.6/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
  • 3XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 235 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Torrentshell 3L Rain Jacket

4.6/5
October 15, 2021

Good fit

Great fit and nice color. Perfect for windy or rainy day. Nice jacket for autumn or spring

October 14, 2021

Not very breathable

This jacket is attractive and works fine for casual around-town use. However, I recently took it on a fall hiking trip in cool weather and was shocked at how wet the jacket became inside. I don't believe it was rain seeping in (it was not heavy rain, just steady), but rather condensation inside the jacket. At any rate, it was utterly drenched ... Read Moreand so I question the breathability of this design. Generally a huge fan of Patagonia jackets and this is the first where I've felt it's really just an average garment of the type I'd expect from lesser (and less costly) brands. Also noticed that one of the taped seams is splitting and may have to seek warranty service.

Response from Patagonia
October 19, 2021

Hey Dale, thanks for leaving us a review on the Torrentshell 3L Rain Jacket. We're so sorry to hear that you didn't have the best experience with the jacket. A big thing with waterproof jackets is you want them to fit fairly close to the body to be efficient. As you mentioned, all items are backed by warranty and your satisfaction is our number one concern. If you'd like to return or exchange for a different size you're welcome to send it back or return [in store](https://www.patagonia.ca/store-locator/).

October 14, 2021

The small works!

Usually a wear in most Patagonia stuff, but at 6 foot and ~150lbs the small works! Like the updated jacket (last one was purchased over 10 years ago)

October 11, 2021

Fantastic Jacket but Pit Zips are Cumbersome

Great rain shell for layering over fleece. Affordable, and true to size when layered. The only negative is the cumbersome pit zippers. Trying to close the pit zips while the jacket is on is an exercise in futility. Defeats the point when you have to take off the jacket just to do up the pit zippers. If you use your pit zips frequently, expect some ... Read Moreheadaches. Aside from this, it's an awesome jacket at a great price that comes in decent colours!

Response from Patagonia
October 15, 2021

Hey Dan, thanks for the review. We do have a handy zipper lubrication guide that might help with the pit zips on your jacket. Check it out [here](https://www.ifixit.com/Guide/How+to+Lubricate+a+Zipper/19450)!

October 5, 2021

Great Quality and Fit

I had purchase a Torrentshell Jacket about 10 years ago. I was due for an upgrade. I was really impressed with the improved quality of the jacket of the Torrentshell 3L Rain Jacket. The membrane is much more durable. The fit remains is consistent. It is refreshing to see a company continue to improve their product year after year... Although, this ... Read Moreis not surprising with Patagonia. I highly recommend this jacket.

October 4, 2021

Super dry

Great fit, have not had it in extreme rain Yet, but I will! Weather down South changes in a blink, cant wait to take it up to 8750 in Telluride️️

October 1, 2021

Excellent Rain and Wind Jacket

I bought this jacket because I have gone through several "rain jackets" that don't actually stop water seeping through during a down pour. I finally ordered this jacket. It's a great jacket for both rain and wind protection! I especially like the blue color I got. Too many men's clothes are bland these days, so it is nice t... Read Moreo add a pop of color. The sleeves run long. If you're our height (I'm 5'6), you'll know most jackets do. The cuffs extend to about the end of my palm.

September 29, 2021

great jacket

really like new design of this jacket . seems way more durable and better zipper that doesnt get stuck. i live in hawaii and had trouble with previous jackets holding up. thank you for redesigning it.

September 29, 2021

I just bought two of these jackets.

I love the feel and fit. I'm about 5 foot 9 inches and 180 pounds. The medium is my size. Love it. Will buy more.

September 26, 2021

Rain protection

The lighter weight of the coat is something I really like. fits over a sweater or vest with room to move freely. The hood also fits well over my cap. However, I have not as yet had to test its ability to keep me dry. I do like an inside zippered pocket when using it for travel.

September 24, 2021

Just a great rain shell

I buy these jackets because they last! I use them for work and play, they outlast the other jackets Ive bout in the same price point. I feel they breath better too.

September 24, 2021

Great rain gear

Great rainy protection on any given time, light and easy to pack and carry around. Warm if its cold but in warm weather breaths well so youre not sweating, comfortable in all means.

September 21, 2021

Great for rain

Really is waterproof, water hasn't bled through while wearing it in some heavy rain so good for me

September 20, 2021

Warm

It is good to protect rain.

September 19, 2021

Best rain wear there is

Keeps you dry without feeling like youre in a plastic bag.

September 17, 2021

AMAZING

My husband LOVES this coat. Says when we go north, WA state, he will wear this and a fleece underneath. Bought it bigger so he could wear sweatshirts/etc underneath and still be warm. Amazing coat.

September 17, 2021

Works well even in Hurricane like conditions

It is what i needed to walk my dog in bad weather.

September 15, 2021

Best rain jacket

Keeps me completely dry while walking the dog in the rain

September 15, 2021

Dry and comfy

I bought this jacket to replace an old and heavy raincoat before an annula canoe/camping/fishing 6 day trip. My joke with my friends was tgat if I came prepared, then it wouldn't rain. That didn't work! The remnants of Tropical Storm Ida dumped on us for about 12 hours. I stayed dry and comfortable in the jacket whether sitting or sawing ... Read Morefirwood to keep us warm and entertained. The hood is big for fitting a helmet, but I found an adjusted fit that made it less cavernous. All in all! I'm glad I bought it. I just wish they had had the color I wanted in my size

September 15, 2021

Great quality

Although I havent had this jacket in a downpour yet, the quality appears good. Time will tell if its waterproof.

September 14, 2021

Super Dry

Bought this jacket after reading a CNN review. I am 6 tall and the sizing seems just right without thick clothes underneath. The jacket and lining work well as a windbreaker. Got caught in a big rainstorm once and the water beads off the jacket. Kept my upper body totally dry although the water dripping off the jacket got my pants a little wet. Def... Read Moreinitely recommend this jacket for anyone looking to stay dry in the rain

September 14, 2021

Warm, Good Water Resistance, Doesn't fit my build

The jacket is warm, water resistance, and looks good, but it is to tight around the shoulders for my fit. The sleeves fit fine, but it feels restrictive for full arm motion when you rotate your arms above your head.

Response from Patagonia
September 23, 2021

Thank you for the feedback on fit, fabric and function. We're sorry to hear this one didn't work for you. We encourage you to return it with our easy online process, or reach out to our Customer Service team. If you're interested in a water-resistant, relaxed fit jacket you might like our [Men's Steel Forge Windbreaker](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-steel-forge-windbreaker-work-jacket/27545.html?).

September 14, 2021

The Best

So incredibly well made and it fits perfectly.

September 4, 2021

Great light rain jacket

I bought this for my youngest son because I found out that he was outside in the rain without a jacket. Now he has this and I don't worry about him getting soaked. He's 12 and is prone to lose stuff because, well, he's 12. Guess what? He doesn't lose this jacket. It's light, it's useful and he doesn't feel like hi... Read Mores parents dressed him up when he wears it, so the chances of him actually using it are quite high. He's happy, I'm happy, even his mom is happy and that's is an accomplishment. This jacket will last until he's in his thirties. So he has that going for him.

September 3, 2021

Nice overall jacket

Overall, the jacket is nice. Id say an inner pocket would enhance the jacket wearing experience.

September 1, 2021

Nice waterproof shell

I finally had to give up my old SST fishing jacket due to a slight increase in my weight and a desire for a simpler, lighter, rain jacket that would give me greater mobility and better water repelling qualities. I did order an XL and tried it on but decided I would need the XXL if I was going to layer up under it with possibly a fleece jacket and a... Read More sweater for cold rainy days on the river. Im 6 ft 2 and about 230 lbs to give you an idea of the fit. Overall I think its a great jacket!

September 1, 2021

Basic rain jacket

Received this as a warranty replacement for my older Torrentshell jacket. In comparison to the old one, the hood fits better (more roomy). The pockets however are smaller. The inside mesh pocket is gone, as are the velcro closures that flanked the zipper. This becomes apparent when you want to just quickly close the jacket without fumbling for with... Read More the zipper. For example, when getting out of your car during a rain storm. Material feels thicker, and less breathable. Water repellency is decent.

August 27, 2021

Oversized

They are oversized. I bought XS as Patagonia XS (34-35) usually fit right for me. They looked oversized when I tried them out but I thought I was imagining it. But nope, measured it with a tape measure today and it looks it is sized as an M (38-40).

August 25, 2021

Excellent

Use for fishing. Keeps me totally dry and warm on bad fall days he in wy.

August 24, 2021

Justified reputation

Bought this after reading and article on CNN. Jacket is just as reviewed - protects from wind & wet, yet 'breathes' so you don't overheat when active. Used it on some pretty strenuous NH hikes immediately after purchase. Love it !

August 23, 2021

Excellent fit and protection

I am 5'9" (160#) - the jacket fits perfect on my torso. Good room to move without restriction but not so roomy to feel baggy. Used twice already in a couple of thunderstorms in the Sierra, excellent water protection. I am happy with my purchase.

August 20, 2021

Excellent rain shell

The Torrentshell 3L Rain Jacket is an excellent rain shell! Great materials and design, Huge two zipper pit zips for ventilation and durable material. This is an outstanding shell and at this price it is a killer value. Highly recommended.

August 17, 2021

Very well made

Very well made Extremely waterproof The zippered vents under the armpits are a nice touch Wish it had a inside breast pocket for phone, etc

August 16, 2021

Great Jacket

Purchased as a gift for my husband. He loves the fit, style and weight of the jacket.

August 11, 2021

well constructed

Great rainwear, however, for an XL it is slightly snug. Still looks great!

August 9, 2021

Great fit, great style, and the right features!

I am 5'10" and 165 pounds and Medium is a perfect fir for me. During a downpour today I wore my Torrentshell for the first time. The water resistance excceded my expectations. I really appredicate the large hood that fits comfortably over a baseball cap. The pit-zips are large and easy to zip open/close. I really like this jacet it will b... Read Moree one of many go-to weather specific jackets.

August 8, 2021

Perfect for outdoors in the rain

Perfect for outdoors in the rain

August 6, 2021

Good and cost effective

Bottom line: A well priced and hardwearing waterproof rain jacket. Not built for harsh conditions but still surprisingly capable. Attribute Ratings (1-10): Waterproofing: 9 Breathability: 7 Features (pocket, hood, etc): 8 Sustainability: 10 (as always) Fit: 7 Price: 10 Overall: 9 Detailed Review: I purchased this jacket about a year ago ... Read Moreand I have used it regularly since for a wide variety of activities. This jacket has, generally, preformed well throughout all of them. It has a slightly large fit which permits layering but still fits well on its own (for reference I'm 5 foot 11 and 155 pounds, I got a medium). The waterproofing is good and I have yet to experience any wet out. With that being said, I haven't worn it in hard rain for more than 30 min so your mileage may vary. I have also used it as a stand-in hardshell when I forgot my normal one cross country skiing in harsh winter conditions. It held up surprisingly well considering it isn't built for that but let in more wind than I would have liked. Its breathability is alright and close to on par with my Gore-Tex jacket but not quite there. Its features are good enough. The hood design is well thought out and the pockets are generously sized. However I would have liked to see an internal drop-in style pocket. It has ways to tighten down the hem and wrists if need. Finally, the zippers are nice and won't be falling any time soon. Changes that could improve a future revision: - Add an internal drop pocket big enough to fit something like a stuffed puffy or folded up map -Add the same soft material on the back of the jacket (the part that touches your neck) to the zipper garage in the front (similar to a nano puff jacket) <-- not sure if this would be annoying when wet but the current revision can get a bit uncomfortable after long periods with the hood up and tightened.

August 5, 2021

great light jacket

nice jacket .. it could really use an inside pocket .. something simple, but a pocket inside would make it perfect..otherwise, great product. love the products.. love the mission.. Patagonia as a company is great, we need more like it.. JM

August 3, 2021

Nice Lightweight Jacket

This is a nice lightweight rain jacket, with a nice light liner. Plenty of room to wear a hoodie or heavier shirt under it. Sharp style as well.

July 31, 2021

Trip to rainy Panama

I bought this jacket for a recent trip to Panama City , Panama. I knew it was rainy season but I did not expect 3 days of heavy rain. The jacket is light weight and the material is rain proof . The vents beneath the arm pits help in circulating air in the humid climate. This jacket travels well.

July 23, 2021

Perfect

I live in south Florida and work valet, this keeps me dry and its light and breathable. Usually wear an XL but went with a large and it fits perfect.

July 22, 2021

Very durable

These jackets are great. I use them extensively in Southeast Alaska in the summers and fall. We get tons of rain here and this jacket always keeps me dry. For breathable material its very durable and will hold up to almost anything but take note they are not bulletproof. Im very hard on my gear and I usually get at least 2 seasons out of it before ... Read Moreit gets shredded but thats a lot considering the amount of abuse it gets. If youre just prancing around town when its misty this thing should last years.

Response from Patagonia
July 26, 2021

Thank you for your thoughtful and detailed feedback, Sam! Depending on your usage, we thought you might want to take a look at our more durable but less breathable Hose-Down Slicker Jacket or our less waterproof, but more durable [Steel Forge Windbreaker Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/mens-work-jackets-vests).

July 22, 2021

Super nice

I like it a lot

July 17, 2021

THE BEST!

This is my second Torrentshell rain jacket, the first one lasted me 12 years and is still going strong. It keeps me dry, not clammy, not hot in warmer weather and also has room to layer up underneath. I fish in this jacket, work in it and just always have it anywhere I go. Highly recommend it and the price is great. It will last you a long time....... Read More.Brian

July 16, 2021

great rain jacket

Been wearing Patagonia jackets for 25 years or more never disappointed. Keeps me dry and warm

July 13, 2021

Great warm season raincoat

Ive been a fan of the Torrentshell for years. Just bought my third one. Very good rain protection under warm-to-cool weather conditions. Nice details in underarm ventilation, hood adjustment, and taped zippers.

July 11, 2021

Very comfortable, great fit.

Would like to have an interior zipper chest pocket large enough for cell phone and ID.

July 11, 2021

Didnt fit see below

Ordered large it was to big reordered medium fit was to tight. Im 180 lbs and 58. Sent both back staff were very helpful. Bought a Patagonia MS Calcite Jacket gore Tex fit like a glove and ver happy.

July 8, 2021

Fit me weird

Material was extremely stiff. Tight around the chest and armpits, loose around the belly and waist.

July 8, 2021

Just... perfect

Absolutely love the thing. So awesome.

July 7, 2021

Amazingly waterproof

My partner and I purchased a pair of these for our trip to Iceland and they're amazing! Stylish and really worth it's price. We've walked through rainy days and many waterfalls and came out water free

July 7, 2021

Nice Jacket

I received the Patagonia Men's Torrentshell 3L Rain Jacket as a gift from my son. I guess he grew tired of hearing me complain about my previous rain jacket. I really like the fit of the Patagonia. It's light weight, breatheable and does a great job of keeping me dry.

July 5, 2021

Waterproofness lost again

I have nothing to complain against the cut, fit and size of the jacket. It fits amazing with a t-shirt or hoodie underneath. BUT, after completely loosing waterproofness in my 2.5L Torentshell jacket WITHOUT EVEN washing it I had it replaced with a 3L version and after the first wash (without even using softener) I completely lost waterproofness ag... Read Moreain. I had it treated with Storm Proof solution as per Patagonia's recommendations and it still not repelling water like in the beginning. When it first happened I thought I was unlucky and got a jacket with defects but rafter happening again I'm a bit skeptical about this brand.

Response from Patagonia
July 12, 2021

Hi Catalin, we're so sorry to hear that the Men's Torrentshell 3L Rain Jacket keeps soaking through. Every jacket has a maximum limit on how much moisture can pass through. When doing strenuous activity moisture can build up and soak through the layers being worn underneath your shell. It's important to remember to layer accordingly and this could possibly be what's happening. Nevertheless, it sounds like your disappointed with your gear and we never want you to feel stuck with an item that you're not confident in. Please feel free to begin a return or exchange under our Ironclad Guarantee, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

June 30, 2021

Great Rain Jacket

Great jacket for the price. All the features of the more expensive jackets at a reasonable price. Three layer. Not sticky. Pit zips. Two way adjustable hood. Velcro cuffs. Pockets. Thanks Patagonia.

June 29, 2021

Great Jacket

This is a lightweight, durable, and simple rain jacket. Love the added bonus of it being a good windbreaker, having pit zips and a packable pocket.

June 29, 2021

Clean classic styling, great quality

I bought the Torrentshell for travel, light and easy to pack. I use it for everyday work, errands and walking.

June 29, 2021

Great coat

Although I have had this for a short time, I love the fit, it works great in the rain and the color is awesome. Very pleased with the product, which is not a surprise as I have been a Patagonia customer from the beginning and still have and use the products I own.

June 28, 2021

Extra dry

The Torrent Shell is excellent for the pop up thunderstorms we experience in my local area

June 22, 2021

Very water

I bought this for Iceland, but I have used it the most during the rainy season here in Tampa. It works like a charm. Quick flick of the wrist and the water shakes off. Dry as can be

June 19, 2021

Rain Jacket

This is a great product. It would be even better with a third pocket.

June 19, 2021

Frustrated Patagonia keeps changing the size of their apparel

I bought the medium of this jacket and it runs way too large. I returned it. I bought the exact same rain jacket in the same size about a year and a half ago that runs much smaller and fits great. Why would Patagonia change the sizes? I won't be buying patagonia online anymore without trying on the apparel.

Response from Patagonia
June 25, 2021

Hi Mike, we're sorry to hear about the trouble with sizing. If you ever find that sizing isn't working, please feel free to use the exchange portal on our website, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html. Exchanges are free, we just ask that return your items within 14-days of starting the process.

June 14, 2021

Nice Rain Coat

I needed to replace my older Supercell rain jacket with something newer and breathable. I havent had to use it yet but I do like the features except for the put zips and visor. In the past Patagonia had the longest pit zips for dumping heat but the ones on this jacket are small in comparison. Im still glad they are there though. The visor seems sho... Read Morert and doesnt cover my forehead as well as I would like in a downpour. Overall Im always happy with Patagonia gear and it lasts forever and I still have most of my gear from the past 25 years. I love the guarantee and customer service is always top shelf!!! Thanks

June 14, 2021

Really big

I purchased this because of a review I had read. I was not aware the fit would end up being larger than I anticipated. It was really large. I ask to return it and customer service was very pleasant and quick. I returned to the post office 5 days ago and it appears to still be sitting there. I look forward to getting a size down to really test it.

June 14, 2021

Y

Definitely rain repellent! Zipper seems oriented for a left handed person. Big test will be this coming winter.

June 13, 2021

Repels water- doesn't sweat.

A super product. Repels water like a duck's arse. Very prompt. A very good company.

June 13, 2021

Needs a breast pocket

Love the jacket. It would be nice to have an inner breast pocket for a wallet. I wouldnt call it a criticism

June 13, 2021

Great Coat

This is a great waterproof Rain jacket. It is now my go to coat for casual, walking, hiking and traveling.

June 13, 2021

Would love it in tall sizes

Good rain jacket. Seems fine. However, Im long waisted. Wish it came in tall sizes. If it did, Id buy another!

June 12, 2021

Truly waterproof

Fits me like a glove and truly waterproof and very sturdy but light and packs easily. Bought it after I read the article on CNN where it was rated #1. Couldn't be happier. Love this company.

June 9, 2021

I love this jacket, dependable and durable

I've had two of these jackets. The first one I had for a year working a lot of outdoor events in the rain, and it never lost its water proofing. Then I lost it on a trip, so I bought a second one because the first one worked so well. This jacket is a bit of a staple in my life now.

May 29, 2021

Well Built

Was looking for a well built rain jacket and this is that jacket. I have never been let down by Patagonia.

May 29, 2021

Best Ever!

I bought this as my current rain jacket was losing its &quot;coating.&quot; This jacket is simply THE BEST rain jacket I have ever worn - completely breathable and super lightweight. I wear this hiking in Colorado where it is alternately hot then cold. I don&#x27;t get too excited about clothing but this jacket is the best waterproof purchase I hav... Read Moree ever made (and I'm over 60). Will not disappoint.

May 21, 2021

Nice rainwear

Very nice and lightweight

May 20, 2021

Too small

Several online reviewers have rated the Torrentshell as 2021&#x27;s best rain jacket for men. An inspection of the jacket would confirm that it is exceptionally well made and probably protects the wearer from wind and rain. However, the XXL is too small. I am a muscular 6-5 and a former collegiate athlete. Patagonia started making some of its appar... Read Moreel in 3XL a few years ago, and those items fit me. Patagonia needs to make the Torrentshell in 3XL. Currently, only the Hose Down Slicker is available in 3XL, but that item is for commercial fisherman or other industrial applications. It would be absurd to wear it on the street. There are a lot of us larger men who require bigger gear. Please help us out.

Response from Patagonia
May 21, 2021

Hi Brian, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on this. We are so sorry to hear that the size offerings in the Torrentshell Jacket aren't working for you. Feedback like this is helpful for us to understand the demand for a wider range of sizes. Thank you and please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this.

May 19, 2021

Super rain jacket

Finest quality product by Patagonia.

May 18, 2021

Wont make you sweat while wearing it

I love that this rain jacket isnt like a heat trap. Ive worn it in the rain recently and I dont feel like Im burning up while walking and Ive actually been dry the whole time wearing it. I definitely recommend this jacket!

May 16, 2021

So comfy

I love this jacket great quality and comfy.

May 16, 2021

Florida rainstorms

Im 510 195 athletic/muscular build and I ordered a size lg. I have many other Patagonia jackets and tops so I know thats my size. I will say, fit is long in the arms for just casual wear. Perfect length if moving around (climbing, fishing, etc) and not having the sleeves fife too far up your arm. It is a little loose on the rest of my body EXCEPT f... Read Moreor armpit area. I could probably wear a medium all over but NO WAY in the armpit. It would be uncomfortably tight. Large is perfectly suitable. Waterproof ability if this jacket is fantastic. Im in coastal Florida and the skies open up and can drop inches of rain in no time at all unexpectedly. This jacket packs small is a huge help to stay dry in those conditions. Another great Patagonia purchase

May 14, 2021

Good Shell

Thinner Shell than anticipated; overall, great seams and quality fabric.

May 14, 2021

Packable outer layer for layering and rain resistant

This item was a replacement for an item purchased about 10 years ago. I couldn't believe that the iron clad warranty gave me a replacement. The replacement jacket is great as a light weight outer layer, either alone for mild weather and with additional layers for colder weather.

May 13, 2021

Meh

I tried on the size medium in a store, and it was on the tight size. I ordered this, as the store did not have a large size. The arms are very long. This is a replacement for the Patagonia Storm Jacket, and it seems far inferior.

May 11, 2021

It is an improvement over my old Torrentshell

Purchased this to replace my old Torrentshell which had begun delaminating. The tricot is more comfortable against the skin and feels drier. The center zipper without an outer storm flap is a little harder to get started; well see how well the new design keeps out water. Dual-zipper pit zips are nice and the Velcro cuffs cinch down well. The hood s... Read Moreeems a little larger but adjusts as well as the old Torrentshell. Overall, the jacket seems a little larger but thats ok for layering fleece when its colder. The improved liner material makes this a winner.

May 7, 2021

The best!

I got incredible service from Michelle in the Atlanta store and Patagonia did an amazing job of standing by their product as my previous jacket was starting to show its age (after a perfectly reasonable length of time). I&#x27;m amazed that the Torrentshell is available in purple for men, and the fit is perfect. I bought it with a little room so I ... Read Morecan layer it over warmer gear, and it's exactly the way I wanted it. I'm a Patagonia customer for life.

May 7, 2021

Liked older version better

So, I bought this exact model 5-8 years ago and it was an awesome raincoat. The liner started flaking away and I had to replace it (still have it afraid to part it was so good). This one doesn&#x27;t fit as well in the hood. The old version had a large visor that comfortably extended outward but didn&#x27;t block my view. I would wear a baseball ca... Read Morep under it and I had great visibility and the sense of a roof over my face. This new version fits like a sock that covers my face with the visor instead of sticking out. I used the strings and was able to adjust it so that it fits tighter and pushes the visor higher but it still doesn't protrude over my face or provide that "roof" that I liked. I think its workable but I don't like it as much, too much of a fitted design instead of a simple comfortable raincoat. Also, it used to have velcro around the neck which was helpful for quickly hanging up the jacket to dry while keeping it closed. Now I have to zip it up to keep the jacket on the hanger. Lastly for sizing I have started wearing clothes to be more form fitted and I'm a Large for most shirts, however I definitely needed an XL and it not big on me at all. Anyway, I like your products and your politics but really wish you went back to the old design (some things don't need changing).

May 7, 2021

Well done

Massive upgrade over the 2lyr H2No I had a while back. Great next to skin feel and wont end up a shredded mess after multiple washings. Simple and well done, quintessential Patagonia.

May 5, 2021

Kinda large

This jacket is great quality and very easy to pack away in a backpack, but I would suggest going down a size since it does run a little large.

May 4, 2021

Repels Water, Lightweight, Sleek Design, but runs slightly big

Jacket feels is quality build, functional, and maintains looks sleek. The sizing runs slightly large.

May 2, 2021

Perfect shell

This jacket is the perfect shell for the San Juan islands climate. But much more actually. I rarely have to supplement with an fleece or extra thermal layer. Cheers!

April 30, 2021

True to size

well worth the price and is the perfect versatile lightweight jacket. Will continue to politely brag about this jacket

April 29, 2021

Comfy over down sweater

Wore it once in a rain over down sweater, walked 3 miles and was very comfortable and dry.

April 27, 2021

The standard for affordable rain gear

This is my third Torrentshell and I feel it is well designed and certainly meets my needs. I use it much for wind as I do for precipitation. If you plan to wear it over a heavy insulation layer I suggest you go up a size as it is pretty form fitting. The only downside is the pit zips are hard to work with one hand.

April 26, 2021

Like quite a few of your products (lately) it runs small.

Several of purchases are not the same quality of previous Patagonia products and too many run small. I can no longer purchase with confidence products will fit comfortably.

Response from Patagonia
April 27, 2021

Thank you for your review on the Torrentshell 3L Rain Jacket. We're sorry to hear that it ran small, and you feel like the quality has declined. We'll be sure to pass your feedback along to the appropriate teams. Our Torrentshell is the most basic of our rain gear, if you were looking for something with more features, we'd recommend checking out our Men's Storm10 Jacket. Lastly, we're always happy to provide you with garment measurements when you're deciding on an item, simply reach out to our [customer service team](https://help.patagonia.com/s/).

April 26, 2021

Great Jacket

I love the style and functionality of this jacket. Looking forward to buying more Patagonia products.

April 24, 2021

Torrent shell h2no

I bought this to replace a well-worn h2no shell that I have had for a long time and was starting to fall apart. I bought the same size - medium - same colour. There seems to be some creep in size. The new jacket is a bit larger than the old jacket. I guess small is the new medium.

April 23, 2021

Rain Gear

Excellent product, although a little stiff in jacket. Also, get rid of those labels at the neck level. They have gotten rid of then on T-shirts and many other shirts. Do same for coats. Also, expensive.

April 23, 2021

Love the hood; hate the cut

Great good design! Love that I can see to the sides without turning my head. But the cut is very boxy, which I do not love.

April 21, 2021

Amazing value

I am 6 feet 170 pounds and generally wear medium for most Patagonia tops. I would say this is a little less tight than my usual medium in their technical pieces which I can easily wear under it. The jacket is well made and looks like it will last a long time

April 20, 2021

Solid, high-quality rain jacket

This jacket replaced my worn-out (from tons of use) Patagonia rain jacket from ca 2010. It&#x27;s a great all-around rain jacket. You can get a more &quot;technical&quot; purpose-built jacket, or a more compressible lightweight jacket, etc., but for all-around use, I highly recommend it. I stuff it in my pack for long backcountry hikes and mountain... Read More bike rides, as well as professional fieldwork. The fit is true to size, the pockets are great, and the waterproofing has worked well in all rainstorms thus far.

April 16, 2021

Disappointing

Fit is good, but the DWR wore out extremely fast, especially on the sleeves and shoulders, even with minimal backpack usage. Torrentshell? This jacket cant resist a 5-10 min light rain. I cannot recommend.

Response from Patagonia
April 17, 2021

We're really sorry to her that your jacket isn't holding up. This isn't what we expect from this piece. Please reach out to our Customer Service team to set up a warranty return.

April 16, 2021

Performs well around the farm

This jacket does well when working around the horse pens in the rain. It keeps out the rain and keeps perspiration down if I wear a wicking shirt. The size is a bit big but I wanted to leave extra room for fleece when needed.

April 14, 2021

Functional, sharp and well made.

This bad boy has zippers exactly where you want them and installed with top notch quality. I love this piece for travel because it's thin and packable and when combined with another layer (sweater, etc.) it functions almost like a winter coat. Thanks patagonia. Great quality as usual.

April 12, 2021

Durable, Comfortable

Wore on a recent backpacking trip in Badlands NP. Withstood rain and freezing rain and 40+ mph winds. It also withstood mud, gravel without any abrasions or tears. My only reason for not giving a 5 star rating is the sleeve length. If you are tall, slim build, the shoulders and chest are good but the sleeves may be 1/2 to1 inch short. A &quot;tall... Read More" option for this coat would be great.

April 12, 2021

Dry for days

I purchased this coat last minute before a 4 day camping trip after the forecast turned for the worst. It rained for four days in Newport park, WI, but I was able to keep dry using this coat. My only complaint is the hood and pockets. Hood blocks vision and is difficult to sinch, and there is no chest pocket. Other than that the coat is awesome, an... Read Mored the water proof technology works great!

April 10, 2021

Warm and dry

Good fit and keeps me warm and dry. Pit zips work great for regulating my temp.

April 9, 2021

Great quality

Love the style and how breathable the coat is and well built too.

April 8, 2021

Great

A really great jacket. I got it for my husband and he loves it. Highly recommend!

April 8, 2021

Very dry rain jacket

I bought this as a more durable rain jacket for cool weather activities. I like that its a bit oversized so I can layer a down sweater and other base clothing for the winter. I love the breathability and the pit zips it lets lots of moisture out to keep you dry. It is very waterproof and has kept me dry in the heaviest of storms so far. Its a litt... Read Morele heavy compare to my pertex shell I carry 3 season backpacking, but it is much more durable. Highly recommended.

April 7, 2021

A great rain jacket for everything

A great rain jacket. It runs a little slim in the body. However, it fits true to size. Just went hiking in the Ozarks and it kept my dry and breaths well in the humidity.

April 5, 2021

Very versatile!

This rain gear fits well. It is a great over layer and it works well on windy days!

April 5, 2021

Lightweight & watertight

Good for layering in cool weather; breathes well in warm

April 4, 2021

Perfect

I think each adult in our family has this jacket. We experience a lot of rain on Kauai & this jacket is perfect to handle the conditions!!

April 3, 2021

Light-weight and dry

As a fly-fishing guide in Florida I need a minimalist jacket for our frequent rain showers. The newly-designed Torrentshell 3L Rain Jacket folds into a quart-sized sandwich bag and deploys in seconds with the upgraded snag-proof zipper. Snug over-the-cap hood adjustment is quick, and velcro wrist straps keep water from running up my sleeves. Undera... Read Morerm vents are a nice touch for keeping cool while wading, casting, or poling the skiff. Jacket runs large to accommodate layering. If using in hot-weather select one size down. I am 6'2'' with a 42" chest and wear a M. The jacket keeps me dry and doesn't take up much valuable storage space. I'm very satisfied with the Torrentshell 3L jacket and recommend it to my clients and friends.

April 3, 2021

Great.

Perfect

April 2, 2021

A Little Long in the Sleeves

Looks well-made and as long it is truly waterproof, it will do. Now I have one small problem - how do you get it to stuff itself in the left pocket? I can't figure it out.

Response from Patagonia
April 5, 2021

Hi Hermann, thanks for your feedback! Please know, if the sleeve length doesn't work out, we are happy to help with a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html). For further assistance on the self-stuff feature, please [contact](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) our customer service team for detailed guidance.

April 1, 2021

Replacement coat

I had a version of this coat made of some special cotton fabric. It was my favorite go-to. This is about the same design, but it is a noisy coat. I appreciate that this is warm and good in the rain. The fabric just makes too much noise.

Response from Patagonia
April 2, 2021

Hey there, thank you for the review! We have never made the Torrentshell out of cotton as cotton retains moisture and this is a waterproof jacket. If you can locate item information on the old jacket you had, you may be able to find one on our [Worn Wear website](https://wornwear.patagonia.com/) where we sell lightly used gear from past seasons. Have a look!

March 31, 2021

Dry Days

Great jacket - bought larger size so I could wear a light vest under. On down point is the arms run a little long.

March 31, 2021

I love this rain shell

The Patagonia Torrent was already a great jacket and they made it even better by making it a 3L jacket. When I first put hands on it I couldn't believe it was 3L because it didn't feel any heavier than the old Torrent shell. Patagonia hit the ball out of the park on this jacket.

March 31, 2021

Jacket's great. I'm a tough fit.

I like the weight and the materials. I&#x27;m 5&#x27;6&quot; and ~175# so a loose fit is comfortable. The medium was a little too snug for a rain coat. Large is better, however the sleeves are longish. I appreciate the velcro, but not having to size the sleeves every time I put it on would be better (elastic...?). The hood goes a bit sloppy too. ... Read MoreAdvice: Be slightly bigger than me. Or smaller.

March 29, 2021

Great jacket but peeling.

Overall this is a good jacket. I&#x27;m 6&#x27;1 and 180lbs and the L fits well, especially for adding layer under. This is a great shell and has held up in some real heavy rains. My one issue and reason for the 2 stars is the inner waterproof coating is completely peeling off. The jacket is no longer water proof and the white layer inside that is ... Read Morepeeling off gets left behind on my clothes. The outside still looks great but it's lost it's functionality. Hopefully Patagonia is able to improve this issue. Thanks!

Response from Patagonia
March 30, 2021

Hey there, thank you for the review on our Torrentshell 3L Rain Jacket. It sounds like you've encountered delamination. The reason waterproof gear delaminates is because contaminants like dirt, sweat, or oils from your skin over time will slowly start to separate the waterproof laminate from the outer fabric. Sadly, this isn't something that we can repair; however, it is considered a warranty issue. In the future, a good way to prevent this from happening to your next jacket is to wash it more frequently. Depending on how often it's used, we suggest washing at least a couple times per season. Please reach out to our [customer service team](https://www.patagonia.ca/customer-service.html) so we can set you up with a return and share care instructions should you buy more waterproof gear in the future.

March 25, 2021

Layers

I have used a previous version of this coat for over 10 years and loved it. I put this over several base layers. This version runs small but once I got the right size ( I use to have a medium and this fits the same) I am up and hiking in all wether again.

March 25, 2021

Exchanged for a smaller size.....

Ordered a XL first, exchanged for a L. The exchange process was easy and reliable. The XL was too long in the arms and body length. Had a bunching affect in the middle of the body. Got the L and it's tighter in the underarms and chest now. Its a great jacket and very well made. Could use a size in between sizes.....

March 22, 2021

Light and water resistant!

Another great product by Patagonia, water proof and breathable, timeless look and very durable.

March 21, 2021

Tough to fit

I&#x27;m 5&#x27;8&quot;, 165 lbs, have a 40&quot; chest and a 35&quot; sleeve length. All arms and shoulders. The medium was sized as 34&quot; sleeve length and 40&quot; chest. Sleeves fit but the chest was tight under the arms. Exchanged it for LG and the chest fit , but the sleeves were long. It&#x27;s a bit blousey. Well that&#x27;s what you get... Read More trying to fit a nonstandard body into standardized clothing.

March 20, 2021

It Fits!

I typically wear a small and ordered this jacket accordingly. The small was enormous. So I ordered the XS and it fits perfectly. Happy with the materials used, the construction and fit are on the money. Great jacket!

March 20, 2021

Keeps me dry

Lightweight but waterproof provides all the protection I need on rainy days.

March 16, 2021

Great rain jacket

Got the new version as part of Patagonias solid product guarantee as my older version had some issues with the inside liner peeling away. The updated version of this coat appears more solid on the inside and I anticipate wearing this one for decades. Love my Patagonia clothing and their mission!

March 10, 2021

Like it

Seems like a good rain coat. A little crackly but overall pleased

March 8, 2021

Durable material

Material feels thicker than the typical rain jacket, which makes it feel more durable. The oversized hood keeps the elements at bay. Very solid purchase.

March 7, 2021

Beautifully Made

Highly recommended. The Torrentshell Rain Jacket is a great Patagonia design. Fits very well and just a good, basic jacket for wet weather protection. The Blue color is also awesome, colorful without being too much.

March 7, 2021

A bit noisy material

How do I soften it up?

Response from Patagonia
March 17, 2021

Hey David, thanks for the feedback on that and we are sorry for the noise. This may begin to soften up with time; however, if you'd like to try something else that's a bit more buttery, you can take a look at our [Rainshadow Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-rainshadow-waterproof-jacket/85115.html?dwvar_85115_color=SPRB&cgid=mens-jackets-vests-rainwear).

March 6, 2021

Great fit, breathable, keeps you dry

I wanted a jacket that would keep me dry during warmer months without feeling like I was wearing a sweat lodge on my back. Vents in the pits are key. Im usually between a medium and large, glad I got the large. Fits great.

March 4, 2021

Size up for those with expanded guts

I have an &quot;expanded gut&quot;; I hike, just slowly. Still, reading the reviews, originally chose an XL. The XL was tight, not only in the gut, but also in the shoulders. No room for layering underneath. Exchanged for an XXL. The XXL fit great, loose enough for layering underneath and did not feel constricting. Yes, the XXL allows more &quot;in... Read Moreside" air, but given the hem cords, not a problem for me.

March 4, 2021

Awesome

This fit perfectly. Very light weight for when it gets warm. I have wide shoulders and this fit me perfectly so for a more typical build it will have a little extra room.

March 3, 2021

Perfect fit

Fast shipping, perfect fit

March 1, 2021

Nice jacket

This jacket does its job and looks nice too. I will recommend it.

March 1, 2021

Just a great little jacket

This jacket represents everything you want and need in a rain jacket. It protects from wind. Cherry on top: the zippers on the armpits.

February 28, 2021

It's dry

Purchased this rain jacket to replace one from Bean that had started to delaminate after use. I have worn Patagonia stuff for years and still own and wear the first fleece jacket that I bought in the early 80&#x27;s. So far this jacket has done well in keeping me dry on my morning walks in mild to moderate rain. Pit zips help vent some heat. No lea... Read Moreks so far but no hard rain yet. My only disappointment (reason for 4/5 stars) with the jacket is the lack of either a outside breasts pocket or inside pockets to store a phone or other things . Somehow I missed that when ordering. I know more pockets could mean more seams to seal or leak but at least one inside pocket would be nice. Would still recommend the jacket.

February 28, 2021

New features

Bought this to replace my nine-year-old torrent shell size large which has been great but waterproof lining peeling away. Size large in new model bit too big so got the medium which fits fine. Able to wear over down vest or nano puff jacket just fine. Also looks better with just a shirt than the old model did. Also like the new features.

February 28, 2021

Best rain jackets

I am between 6&#x27;1 and 6&#x27;2, and bought an XL as my shoulders are broad and it fits fairly well though a bit baggy around the waist. Not a bad thing as I can layer more if needed. I had an &quot;old&quot; 2.5 layer Torrentshell and the 3L version is much better and much more comfortable especially while being more active (2.5 layer gets a bi... Read Moret sticky against skin when sweaty, 3L does not) and the pit zips are great for shedding heat, especially for someone like me who tends to run warmer anyway.

February 27, 2021

Aptly Named

Light weight and packable. This jacket is aptly named. I've worn it out in a torrential rain and felt well protected. Order your regular size.

February 27, 2021

Super cute, super warm

Love the style and the fit. Doesnt look or feel bulky when worn with other layers underneath. Perfect for a neighborhood walk, windy hike, and even for sunny ski days!

February 25, 2021

Just what you need

Great wind breaker & rain jacket!

February 25, 2021

Fits perfectly

Originally bought a Large size but realized it was too big. Thankfully the customer service is top notch and they helped me get an exchange despite the stock being basically non-existent. Anyhow, the product is amazing. It fits perfectly. Love the look and extra strings near the hood to tighten it to cover the head/face area when its pouring down.... Read More The only con would be that theres no inner pocket to store your phone or keys or credit card if you were to do that. It just so happened that the time I was wearing it while it was pouring rain, I couldnt put my phone in my jeans cuz they were wet and I couldnt use the other pockets in the jacket cuz of storing other things. Inner pocket or extra zipper pocket would be good. But to sum it all, its Patagonia and its a great product.

February 24, 2021

Great fit and super warm

I bought the blue and red and love the color blocking. The pit vents are great, and it fits awesome! Highly recommend. We own several Patagonia jackets (nano and rain) and love this products.

February 24, 2021

Light

My husband liked it. The shoulder is tight.

February 24, 2021

As expected

Fit is a little snug. I am 59 and 170 lbs. Seems I am between a large and a medium, so no fault of the manufacturer. Being in Hawaii, Im not likely to be wearing much under it, so it will serve its purpose.

February 22, 2021

Keeps me dry

I use it as a light weight rain jacket.

February 18, 2021

Sleeves way too long

Im returning it. Seems nicely constructed but the sleeves are at least an inch too long, maybe two. Ive never seen this in a jacket before. So weird. As nice as a coat as it seems, I know that the sleeves will annoy me and I wont wear it.

February 15, 2021

Rain jacket : very effective

Has been very effective for the short time I have had owned it. I prefer the older styles: web lining, dual zippers, more flexible outer layer. I began purchasing Patagonia products on a regular basis in the early 1980s. Have never had a bad experience.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches