Skip to main content

Alaska Needs You

More mining and drilling in America's Arctic will push us away from a livable Earth and further into climate chaos. Right now, you can help protect our climate, local communities and biodiversity by asking our government to stop extraction in three areas under threat in Alaska.

Learn More

C$19 Fast Rate Shipping

Orders are shipped within 1-2 business days and arrive within 3-10 business days.

Orders are packed and shipped within 2 business days. Orders placed on weekends or holidays are processed on the next business day.

More Details

Earth Is Now Our Only Shareholder

If we have any hope of a thriving planet—much less a business—it is going to take all of us doing what we can with the resources we have. This is what we can do.

Read Yvon’s Letter

Back to Product

Men's Torrentshell 3L Rain Jacket Reviews

Write Your Review

4.4/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
  • 3XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 96 Reviews

Clear All

Ms Torrentshell 3L Rain Jacket

4.4/5
True To Size
December 3, 2023

Flexible, high performance, rain jacket

Lightweight, breathable, waterproof... excellent all around rain layer for outdoor activities in the Pacific Northwest.

December 2, 2023

Lack of pockets!

Not even a zippered chest pocket, let alone inside drop pockets. Who is the true outdoorsperson that does not appreciates keeping your phone, wallet, paperwork dry?

Response from Patagonia
December 6, 2023

Hi Preston! Thank you for sharing your feedback about the lack of pockets on the Men's Torrentshell 3L Rain Jacket. We understand how important it is to have secure storage options while enjoying the outdoors. Your satisfaction is guaranteed and you may always return the jacket under our Ironclad Guarantee. We would recommend the [Slate Sky](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-granite-crest-waterproof-rain-jacket/85415.html?dwvar_85415_color=OBPL), which is a waterproof jacket wth a chest pocket.

December 2, 2023

Perfect protection.

Perfect for wet conditions. Love the zip out arm pits to regulate heat. Hood is excellent protection for rain with ability to adjust to my hat or no hat. Looks great too!

November 30, 2023

So, so Noisy and Stiff

It is a very noisy, stiff fabric. It is rain resistant but so noisy in the woods or on the trail.

Response from Patagonia
December 5, 2023

We're sorry to hear you're disappointed in the noisiness of the fabric, J! If it bothers you too much you might like to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it. You may prefer the fabric of the Granit Crest Rain Jacket. Please let us know how we can help!

November 28, 2023

Time will tell... but so far so good.

5'11, 200 lb. I got a 2x first, and it did fit but only with a T shirt underneath. I want a jacket big enough to wear over anything. I exchanged for 3x without any issue. It doesn't have odors like typical new clothes do, and I am happy about that. I wanted something without PFAS. I need a reliable raincoat to use when it's raining a... Read Morend windy while I'm taking pictures with my phone of watershed behavior. I will use this jacket about 8 to 15 times a year probably, in my neighborhood. I first saw this jacket on CNN. I wanted uninsulated because I live in the Carolinas. Enough said.

Response from Patagonia
December 1, 2023

We're so glad to hear the new rain jacket is a good fit! To keep it in excellent condition and functioning well for a long time, we recommend washing and drying according to our [product care](https://www.patagonia.com/product-care.html) tips and tricks several times per year. Thanks for taking the time to send us a detailed and thoughtful review, Stephen. Don't hesitate to reach out to our Customer Service team if you have any questions or concerns about products or services. We'll be glad to help!

November 26, 2023

Put through the ringer

After 12 years of abuse, mostly used in warm, humid, salty environment the inside layer around the shoulders, neck, and hood had deteriorated badly. Patagonia replaced my old one with no hassle and no cost. The new one has a better fit for my build. A bit longer and slimmer than my 12 yo one.

Response from Patagonia
November 28, 2023

We're sorry to hear about the delamination of your older jacket and we're glad that you were able to get a warranty processed. You'll find some great [product care tips on our site](https://www.patagonia.com/product-care.html) for washing and drying the new and improved, PFC-free, 3-layer H2No Torrentshell to keep it functioning well for years. Please reach out to our Customer Service team if you have any questions or concerns. Thank you for taking a moment to send us a review, Kyle!

November 23, 2023

It's waterproof

It does the job for the rain.

November 23, 2023

Almost perfect

I have this Jacket, or had, lost it during a quick stop over while changing flights. This Jacket is the best ever....I would order one again in a heart beat BUT they changed the colours and this years colour are HORRIBLE, in my opinion. I am waiting till they update/change colours and I will buy another, maybe two. If the colour(s( they have now ap... Read Morepeal to you, great, BUY this Jackets immediately. The Jacket is very durable and sheds water so easily...it is the best rain Jacket I have ever owned. I live in the 3 windiest/rainest city in the world and it holds its own! Trust me, I almost cried when I realized I lost my Blue Jacket. I would buy this Jacket at twice the price if they had a decent colour I would want.

November 23, 2023

Dry Day Ahead!

I've been stuck in heavy rain many times in this jacket, always stayed dry underneath. In the spring we get lots of warm/humid storms leaving you sweaty in the wrong jacket. This jacket breathes very well and dumps heat with the pit zips. The hood conforms to your head with pulls, making it easy to look left/right without sacrificing vision. T... Read Morehe sleeves Velcro at the end keeping water out, waist tightens as well. More than a year of steady use and it still works like new. Best raincoat I've ever owned.

November 22, 2023

Not waterproof

I was really excited about this jacket. I love the fit and color (I have the lighter green one). However, the second time I wore it out on a walk in the rain it got soaked through. It was visibly soaked on the outside and inside. My phone in the jacket pocket was even wet with the pocket zipped the whole time I was outside. I am super disappointed ... Read Morein the jacket. It seems like some of the individual jackets are faulty as there are other reviews with the same problem. I wish I could submit a photo with this review to show how the water socked through to the inside :/

Response from Patagonia
November 22, 2023

We're very sorry to hear about this fabric issue and that you had this terrible experience with our jacket. Your purchase is covered by our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee), so we will reach out to you by email to further assist. Thank you for taking a moment to send us your review, Reilly!

November 18, 2023

Certainly not torrent proof

I bought the product because as a responsible consumer, I wanted to buy from a company that -to some extend- appears more believable when stating the sharing of profits with it's manufacturing process (mostly workers from poor countries) or show care for the environment at the expense of carrying a free marketing sticker on the chest. As a pro... Read Moreduct, the item fits well, is true to size, and comfortable; however, as performance item for the outdoors, this certainly lacks performance. I use the product everytime weather conditions call for (rain). I've owned the product for about 8 months, of which, the piece of clothing has been tested in the outdoors and on the way to work, and the results are disappointing. 20 mins in not so heavy rain, humidity starts to form in the area of the shoulders and back making clothing underneath feel damp. I thought maybe it was my imagination given that I have not washed the item given its infrequent use. But, a closer look at the interior after using the item in rain conditions, one can see how the area of the shoulders and back turns into a darker grey color, and does not feel dry at all... That means water is seeping through. Overall, I hope some of the profit made from the sale is used for a good cause with the poor artisans, and a note to self is not to wear the item and use an umbrella when it rains.

Response from Patagonia
November 20, 2023

Thank you for sharing this feedback on the Torrentshell Jacket. We're sorry to hear it isn't working for you for rain protection! This jacket is designed to allow water vapor to pass from your skin to the outside, while preventing larger water molecules outside from penetrating inside. It sounds like this particular jacket is either leaking (if rain is penetrating) or not proving to be as breathable as it should be (if it's humidity from the inside). In either case, please feel free to return it to the store, or to follow our [online return process](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

November 16, 2023

Great Rain Shell

Great Rain Shell! I have used this for pretty much all things outside. From rafting trips to guiding in the rain to shoveling snow and going to the airport. They shed moisture (from sweat) and keep the rain out. For the price this coat acts more like a high end technical coat for twice the money. Runs a bit large but I think that works well for lay... Read Moreering and activities.

November 13, 2023

Great product

I used to have the old model. Which started to deteriorate and fall apart. Patagonia replaced it free of charge. This rain coat is exactly what I need and is a perfect fit. Bravo.

November 12, 2023

Excellent Product

This jacket was a gift for our grandson’s 20th birthday. He sent us all the details for what he wanted. He was so happy with the jacket as the size was perfect (allowing for a sweater underneath if needed in colder weather), the colour was true to the picture, and we were happy because it was exactly what he wanted in a jacket, the ordering process... Read More was easy and the delivery timely!

November 8, 2023

Classic, reliable shell

This is my second Torrentshell rain jacket. I loved the last one (from ~2011) and this model is an improvement in almost every way. My previous jacket was a variation that had a slightly lower hem and I preferred that, but it's not offered anymore. In every other way I am happy with the changes. The components and materials have all improved a... Read Morend the fit remains really good for me at 6'3". This is one of my most used jackets and I'm really happy to have another one.

November 8, 2023

Great raincoat

Go-to raincoat for this Seattleite as long as I can remember.

November 7, 2023

Great Rain Coat!

I have used this for all sorts of activities and its work really well. Keeping me dry inside and out from shoveling snow to overnight rafting trips to grocery store runs this 3L rain coat keeps up with an active mountain lifestyle!

November 7, 2023

Well made but....

Great fit, ample for layering. It has bilateral hand pockets but that's it. I would really like a chest pocket or two for glaaes, etc. I got what was advertised but would have liked chests pockets like so.much of the competition.

November 5, 2023

Excellent in all respects

This is my third Torrentshell Rain Jacket. My first lasted more years than I can remember and finally developed a minor but annoying leak during heavy rains. My second is a large size and works very well when I occasionally layer something warm underneath. My third is a medium and great with no layering in warm/hot weather. The zippered openings un... Read Moreder the armpits are a welcome additional feature. I've been a Patty Patron since the early 1980s. Never disappointed !!

November 4, 2023

Cool jacket

This jacket fits well and feels delightful.

November 4, 2023

Water proof and light

Nice fit and weight. Great for quick weather change protection, and multiple use in hiking/Mtn biking/ xc skiing/ and river (boating). A bit noisy with hood on based on material.

November 4, 2023

Worth the investment

Definitely an upgrade over my last Patagonia rain coat . Better Zipper , better construction. And as always great warranty.

November 3, 2023

Love being dry!

Love being dry!

November 3, 2023

bought this for my mom

I bought this jacket for my mom, for casual wear and hiking, good quality and water proof material!

November 2, 2023

Not good

I couldn't use this jacket as it was more like a xl or 2 xl

Response from Patagonia
November 8, 2023

We're sorry to hear that our size chart steered you wrong, and we'll be glad to help you with a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html). We are following up with you by email to further assist. Thank you for taking a moment to send us a review of your purchase, Michael!

November 2, 2023

Great for long days out in the rain!

I live in the PNW and this jacket definitely keeps me dry on long rainy days out doors.

November 2, 2023

Good, but could use two tweaks to make better

I have been buying Patagonia jackets for 35 years and am brand loyal. This jacket has a nice colour (wax red) and good fit with 3L laminate. What I really don’t like is the zipper. It is a men’s jacket but seems to have a female zipper orientation which is …disorienting. No idea why they made such a counter intuitive choice. Second is it could use ... Read Morea chest pocket on inside or outside of jacket. Two pockets for a functional rain jacket is a little limited. I bought this to last so not sure if these two limitations will bother me over time.

November 1, 2023

Love the Yellow, Love the Company

I love knowing my raincoat isn't wearing harsh chemicals that aren't good for the environment or me.

October 31, 2023

The hood kept on sliding

The hood kept on sliding down over my eyes. Very annoying.

Response from Patagonia
November 3, 2023

We're sorry to hear about the hood issue, Frank! There is some adjustability in the cinch cord on the back of the hood, but if you'd like a slim fit rain jacket with a minimal hood, we recommend taking a look the Slate Sky Jacket in the [Men's Rain Jackets](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/mens/jackets-vests/rain-waterproof). Please reach out to our Customer Service team if you have any questions. Thanks for taking a moment to send us a review!

October 30, 2023

Love Patagonia products

Another great item from Patagonia. Great quality, fit and style...plus they stand behind what they sell.

October 30, 2023

I like the cut / nice hood

Good sizing. XL fits semi athletically instead of gigantic around the waist. I have other Patagonia shells with helmet compatible hoods that just don’t work on the way to the coffee shop. And, I can see this jacket on the trail for sure.

October 30, 2023

3L Torrentshell

I live in the Seattle area/Pacific NW and see lots of rain walking to work. The chemical treated coats never last long. This one is great bc it’s recycled plastics and has a polyurethane PU layer which is 100% waterproof. Plus no nasty “for ever chemicals” like DWR. So far it’s working great, I just add a zip on sweater for added warmth.

October 29, 2023

Nice shell

Quality product. The flap covering the zipper is on the right side, which is typical for a Women's jacket, not a Mens. The material is noisy.

October 29, 2023

Rain Wind Breaker

Tops

October 29, 2023

I love the combination of

I love the combination of extraordinary quality and company spirit !!!

October 28, 2023

Great fit, feels better on

Great fit, feels better on the skin when it’s raining than my previous rain jacket. The hood is an awkward size so as I walk the way it scrapes on my head is annoying but not a deal breaker.

October 28, 2023

Sleeves were a bit long

Sleeves were a bit long for me. Other than that, excellent product

October 28, 2023

Rain

Hasn’t been raining since I got it but it fits and it is as I expected from Patagonia just great!

October 27, 2023

The jacket is great for

The jacket is great for the rain. However I was hoping to wear a fleece under it for warmth. I found the sleeves to be especially narrow for a xxl. Thanks Chuck Harpin

October 25, 2023

Torrential shell

Second one that I have owned the first one I bought to wear on a bike trip through the Loire Valley. Your care instructions are very informative.

October 23, 2023

Good raincoat

I was looking for a jacket to keep me dry in the rain. This jacket worked very well. I spent all day in the rain from drizzle to moderate rain fall. I was as dry as could be. Thanks Patagonia.

October 23, 2023

Great jacket

Perfect fit and color , light weight!

October 19, 2023

A good rain jacket for the PNW...

This is my second Torrentshell Rain Jacket. I bought my first about 8-10 years ago, a men's XL Royal Blue one. I still have that jacket. It has served me well for many PNW (Seattle) rainy seasons. Its now delaminating a little in the interior collar, but everything else is fine and it still keeps me dry. It breathes well too. I've never f... Read Moreelt clammy in it. I recently picked up a new Torrentshell jacket for several reasons. Ive lost 30-40 pounds since I purchased my first jacket. It was time to downsize. Though a minor issue and the old one continued to kept me dry, the delamination was evident and becoming an appearance issue. Finally, I've recently taken up birdspotting and photography. This activity mostly occurs in the autumn and spring, both rainy periods in the PNW. I wanted a jacket to both keep me dry and blend in with the surroundings when taking photographs. So, I went with a jacket I've previously had good luck with, but this time with a more natural green-gray appearance to suit my uses. The men's large (L) size fits my 6-foot, 175 lb. frame just fine and will easily fit even if I have a wool sweater or fleece jacket underneath. I've always had good luck with Patagonia, in quality, sizing, and fit.

Response from Patagonia
October 24, 2023

Hi David, thank you for sharing this review. We're glad to hear these Torrentshells have served you so well! You may know about delamination, how it impacts water resistance, and how to prevent it. That flaking interior can happen for a number or reasons. Dirt and oil from your skin and the environment can accelerate the disintegration of the waterproof membrane. A good way to prevent this from happening to this new jacket is to wash it about every seven wearings or so. Depending on how often it's used, we suggest washing it at least a couple of times per season. A performance detergent is preferable (Storm Clothing Wash, Nikwax Tech Wash, etc.), but any gentle detergent will work. A post-wash tumble dry on low heat for 20 minutes will help restore the water resistance. Eventually, if water will no longer bead on the surface of the garment, you can apply a performance spray or wash-in treatment such as Storm Eco Proofer or Nikwax.

October 16, 2023

Waterproof reliability

Well made, adjustable with a true to size fit. Layer under it for cold wet fall hikes. Great to pop on for a quick walk down the driveway to get the mail in the rain. I love it.

October 14, 2023

Perfect weight

Good rain protection, but just a good layering piece. Like the color

October 14, 2023

Perfect Lightweight Rain Parka

True to size; very lightweight; very rain resistant; a perfect rain parka.

October 11, 2023

Most Reliable Jacket

Love this jacket, my GO-TO jacket when I travel abroad or locally. Perfect size to fit in my pack or carry-on. Weather my travels throughout the Baltic Region and SE Asia. Keeps me dry and comfortable and holds up well in cooler climates with a fleece vest underneath.

October 11, 2023

Nice breathable shell

A nicely breathable shell that looks good too, I buy it a little bit larger for layering, and I really like the feel of it. The hood sits nicely on the shoulders and out of the way until you need it.

October 3, 2023

Super Dry and Good Looking Too

This Patagonia rain jacket is as good or better than the one I purchased about 15 years ago. Patagonia clothing always costs more, but all of their products last a long time and they keep their shape and good looks.

October 1, 2023

Great material

Very nice rain jacket. Size medium I sit at just over 6ft. Perfect fit. I would be okay with a touch slimmer but hey its just for the rain. Very happy with the purchase and would recommend.

September 27, 2023

Very waterproof

Great jacket to layer with your nano puff jacket, Used the 3L jacket in Scotland alone and with the puff jacket. It stops the wind and is warm. I cant believe a jacket that weighs almost nothing can provide incredible protection.

September 24, 2023

Comfy and dry but

I hate the large hood. It might be meant to shield the face from the elements however hood fits over the eyes and limits visibility. Always needing to pull hood up above eyes.

September 24, 2023

Super Warm

It fits just fine...no problems

September 18, 2023

Stayed Dry!!

I retired my 10 Year old Patagonia Rain Coat and got this one. I spent 5 days hiking in the September rain of New Hampshire's White Mtns and this jacket worked marvelously. The arm pit vents kept me cool and the shell repelled water like it was supposed to. PHEW!

September 15, 2023

Super comfortable jacket for warm weather

I bought one of these jackets a few years ago and still wear it all the time. The jacket has held up really nicely, and fits really well. The hood is really comfortable and the hand warmer pockets are in the perfect location. I also love the fact that there are zippers underneath the armpit areas because I get hot really easily, and this really hel... Read Moreps to get some extra air to keep me cool

September 8, 2023

Great Product! Hours of rain and mud and I was dry as a bone!

6 days in Utah on the Aquarius Hut to Hut mountain bike system. Day 1 was raining all day and so muddy our bikes would stop rolling. The one thing I didnt have to worry about was getting wet! Amazing ride and a Great jacket!!

September 8, 2023

Not the best...

thought I was doing the right thing buying this coat. I bought two, one with color and the second in black for work. However, after wearing it a few times to work and around town, both coats started to delaminate. I've never used these coats for hiking or in harsh conditions. I'm very disappointed with my purchase. Yet I use patagonia pro... Read Moreducts for trail running, casual wear and for skiing. I think you should review your quality standards for this model...

Response from Patagonia
September 13, 2023

Hello Guillaume, thank you for the review. We're so sorry to hear of your experience with our Torrentshell. It's very unusual for a piece to delaminate in such a short amount of time. Typically delamination is caused by dirt, oil, and sweat from the skin that break it down over time. Wed recommend washing often to prevent this, but the timeframe has us thinking this is a different warranty issue all together. We've emailed you to gather more information. Please know that when these instances happen, we're happy to help rectify the situation, you'll just want to connect with [customer service](https://www.patagonia.ca/customer-service.html).

September 7, 2023

Torrentshell #2 is better again

This is my second Torrentshell. I wore the first one thread bare. This one is much improved. Seemingly tight seems, more water repellent than the last. I wore it on recent 230 mile bike tour along the Bay of Biscay coast of France and it delivered - dry + great ventilation. Good value! Lasting quality. all good

September 5, 2023

Lightweight Rain Jacket

Just what I was looking for. I have used it in the rain yet but I plan to use it for a trip to Scotland during the rainy season and wear it over warm clothing. I selected one size larger than I normally. Also, I like the fact it will fold flat and not take up much space in my suitcase.

September 5, 2023

Comfortable and lightweight

I was looking for a lightweight waterproof jacket and found it with the Torrentshell 3L jacket. I have not hade the opportunity to wear it in heavy rain but feel confident it will hold up as advertised.

September 4, 2023

Ok just too big

Selected size based on website advice to select according to chest size. Still too roomy and arm and torso length too long

Response from Patagonia
September 8, 2023

Thank you so much for writing this review and we are very sorry to hear about the sizing issues you've encountered with this product. Please know that you are more than welcome to [return or exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) your item as we want you to be completely satisfied with all of your Patagonia purchases. In the meantime, please rest assured that we will be passing this feedback along to our Product Design Team.

September 4, 2023

Loved it

Got it as a gift for someone and they loved it.

September 3, 2023

So far so good

Just bought and used once. So far so good. Fit is perfect. Water proof so far.

September 3, 2023

I didn’t have to much

I didn’t have to much time to use it but i wear once in a sailing day and was fantastic.

August 24, 2023

Versatile, but styling is completely wrong

The panel that extends to covers the front zipper is on the wrong side (right side covers left side) for men's jacket. While looking at it in the store I found it odd and first thought I was in the women's section. The salesperson assured me it is the men's section and everything is correct (not true obviously). I thought maybe it wa... Read Mores a Patagonia thing, but other jackets like Tres 1-3 Parka has the correct styling. Due to this odd styling, this jacket immediately went from something I will wear casually all the time to something I will only wear when needed for protection.

Response from Patagonia
August 29, 2023

We're sorry to hear that the product is disappointing. We have many other [Men's Rain Jackets](https://www.patagonia.ca/shop/mens/jackets-vests/rain-waterproof) to choose from, so don't hesitate to check in with the store about them, in addition to a return. Thanks for taking the time to send us a review, Raza!

August 22, 2023

Rain shell with the right mix of features

I wanted an everyday rain shell and this fit my needs. The adjustable hood, pit zips and hook and loop wrist closures were on my wish list. The feel of the fabric is fairly stiff compared to other shells I’ve owned but I’m hoping the heavier material holds up well to some rugged use. I’ve got a lighter, more packable shell for the right occasions, ... Read Morebut this is going to be my daily wear.

August 21, 2023

Love the jacket!

Love the jacket!

August 21, 2023

Better than perfect

I got the large size to be able to wear warm clothing under the jacket. If there is any shortcoming, the arms seem a bit long. I had done a few simple things wearing it in the rain, but this past May I had a great chance to put it through its paces. In early May, I did a three day bicycle trip on the GAP (Great Allegheny Passage) Trail, and while t... Read Morehe weather was great before the trip, and great after, we had what is known as weather. Fortunately those who participated were prepared. I wore my Patagonia fleece pullover under the Torrentshell rain jacket. We had rain, snow, sleet and a few moments of rare sunshine, and I was totally warm and completely dry. My small handheld camera fit perfectly in the pocket, and was kept dry. I had the hood over my head, and the bicycle helmet over it.

August 21, 2023

Great, breathable, fits, waterproof, except

I really love this jacket for the most part..fits well, is breathable ..keeps me mostly 100% dry, except at very bottom below seam for some reason isnt water proof or gore-Tex, always have a line of water on shirt where that section is , but other than that is great

Response from Patagonia
August 23, 2023

Hi Patrick, thank you for taking the time to write a review. If you find that the bottom seam is taking on too much water, please feel free to begin a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) at your earliest convenience.

August 20, 2023

Rain Jacket

Excellent

August 19, 2023

Pocket

Would have liked a left front sipping chest pocket. Instructions for rolling hood would also be helpful

August 17, 2023

Warm and dry

Perfect for working and living on remote Mackinac Island in Michigan. Not much summer going on there this year and this jacket is perfect for the outdoors

August 11, 2023

Rainy Yellowstone NP adventure

I forgot a waterproof jacket for out trip to Yellowstone and it rained almost every day while there. Luckily a fly fishing shop sold this jacket. 1st Patagonia purchase for me. This jacket performed. It kept me dry and I didn't sweat like I would with other rain jackets when hiking, I was just dry and comfortable. 100% recommend.

August 3, 2023

Perfect Rain Jacket

I've had this jacket for close to a year now, and it's far and away the best rain jacket I've owned. It's kept me totally dry in everything from a light mist to a major downpour. The armpit zips are a great feature to have in the summer (although I wish they were easier to operate while wearing the jacket). I wouldn't hesit... Read Moreate to recommend this product to anyone!

August 2, 2023

Great

This raincoat worked out well for me in the Bob Marshall. Patti going to replace my old one with this one outstanding service also..

July 22, 2023

Very good

Keeps the water out, cinches in all the right places, pit zips keep you cool. Is a teensy bit large, as a rain jacket should be.

July 19, 2023

Warm

Super warm on cool days. Can be used as a rain jacket or out layer for warmth on chilly days. Great jacket. I would order it again. Laura NSP

July 16, 2023

Awesome jacket

Just got this jacket Works great in the rain and against heavy winds Would recommend it to anyone

July 3, 2023

Great so far

Picked up a Torrentshell yesterday to supplement my rain gear in Maine. Its been a cold, rainy summer so far. I teach sailing, so Im outside on the water all day. This rain jacket performed better than expected after getting soaked for about 6 hours. I had a lightweight fleece under the jacket and was warm and dry all day. The fabric never wet out.... Read More Hopefully it will continue to perform this well.

June 11, 2023

Outstanding!

I bought this for several day hikes in the Glacier area and it has exceeded expectations. We were caught on top of a mountain in a sudden thunderstorm and ended up biking down ~15 miles in the pouring rain -- this jacket kept me completely dry! Proceeded to wear it on several hikes in the area in significant rain and stayed dry and comfortable. Hoo... Read Mored is well-designed and drawstrings allow you to adjust the fit to your liking. Despite being completely waterproof, jacket is reasonably breathable and comfortable. While not ultralight, it is reasonably lightweight and packable. I will be bringing this on future backpacking trips and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a reliable and well-made rain jacket.

May 24, 2023

Inside delaminated.

I purchased this jacket or a model exactly like it locally at a Patagonia dealer at least 5 years ago. I have never washed or dried it because I mainly use it when it rains and had no need to. The inner lining began delaminating about 2 years ago around the waist and now the liner is still flaked off up to the chest. I called customer service, was ... Read Moretold it was unrepairable, and told to return to the store I bought it from. I called them and they gave me a run around story asking for a receipt (like anyone saves receipts from 5 years ago). I have other Patagonia Items that have held up well, just disappointed with this and the alleged "Ironclad Warranty". I am still attempting to resolve the problem with the retailer, it's just been a hassle. If this item is still made with the same laminated liner, I would not recommend buying it.

Response from Patagonia
May 24, 2023

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and we are incredibly sorry to hear that your jacket has begun to delaminate. The reason your waterproof gear delaminates is because contaminants like dirt, sweat, or oils from your skin over time will slowly start to separate the waterproof laminate from the outer fabric. In the future, a good way to prevent this from happening to your next jacket is to wash it more frequently. Depending on how often it's used, we suggest washing at least a couple times per season. When it starts to look dirty or absorb water, it's time for a wash. To enhance the water repelling properties of the DWR, tumble dry on medium heat post-wash. Here are some general care instructions for waterproof gear: machine wash warm, do not bleach, tumble dry low, warm iron, do not use fabric softeners. A performance detergent is preferable (Storm Clothing Wash, Nikwax Tech Wash, etc.), but any gentle detergent will do the trick. With that said, we will be reaching out to you privately via email to help get this item returned to us so we can get you into a replacement as soon as possible.

May 20, 2023

Pockets collect water.

Walked outside wearing this jacket while it was raining and it kept me dry. However, when I got home I realized that the bottom of my pockets collected water. I have never had that happen with a rain jacket. My wallet, phone, and other items got drenched in water and got permanently damaged. Do not recommend.

Response from Patagonia
May 22, 2023

We're incredibly sorry to hear about this experience you've had and we're reaching out to you by email to further assist. Thank you for taking a moment to send us a product review.

May 1, 2023

The best single jacket I own

Patagonia just replaced same model jacket I owned for over 10+ years. It had started to delaminate and I found out that an occasional wash and gentle dry is key to avoid this. Of course, I never laundered it. Mistake! A generous credit was issued and I am loving the replacement! Will be taking to Switzerland in June and will be ready for any weathe... Read Morer. Great for layering with a capilene base layer and if colder my down vest or sweater. Love the fit (I am 6ft one inch, 200lb and 42in chest) on this, the pit zips, the sleeve velcro, the zippers and contrary to what some others might say, the hood fit as well. The jacket is sharp looking, can be worn in active, casual and even to a dressier country club setting. Lastly, I will be occasionally laundering this as recommended! Thanks Patagonia for the great service. Loved my old jacket (solid mustard yellow - please bring this color back) but the green is growing on me!

April 11, 2023

The jacket equivalent of comfort food

I go hiking almost every day in all kinds of weather and usually have my Torrentshell with me. Just love this shell in any kind of windy, rainy or cold conditions. I own most of the competitors versions of this type of jacket and the Torrentshell is the best. If you wear a good wicking base layer like capilene, a breathable mid layer and this shell... Read More, you'll be comfortable in a wide range of weather conditions. I usually have the pit zips open unless its super cold. If it gets too warm, the mid layer or the shell get removed. This is a fall/winter/spring jacket. Use an umbrella in the summer or get wet.

April 4, 2023

Awful zipper, awful customer service

I purchased mine in 2018 literally in eye line of Argntina's Fitz Roy . By 2020 it was unusable, zipper snag meaning I'd get soaked if I was trying to put it on, or I'd get trapped inside trying to remove it quickly. At the time of purchase the lifetime warranty was clear, and, from reviews, products were being replaced in the Argent... Read Moreina store. But now? I'm stuck with an unusable jacket, the store offered that they will pull the fabric out of the zipper (it shouldn't be in the zipper to start with), but refused a return because it's two years old. The 3L blurb says it has a snag free zipper. This acknowledges the design flaw in my model, but there's no support for me. I'm down the extra cost of buying it where I did, plus the cost of replacing it with something usable when the rain hits

Response from Patagonia
April 5, 2023

Hey Mark, thank you for the review. We're very sorry to hear that you ran into issues with the zipper on this jacket. We're not totally clear on where you're located, so we've emailed you to gather more information and present you with some options. If you're still in Argentina, you'll want to connect with our [customer service team](https://patagonia-ar.com/pages/centro-de-ayuda) out there. Please note, we do require the item be sent in for a warranty evaluation; this is a necessary step for accounting and inventory purposes. Thanks for bringing this to our attention!

April 2, 2023

useful and versitile

this jacket is small enough for over a t shirt and big enough for an outer shell. pockets are generous size and zip up tight. good wind and water protection but have to get the proper adjustment on the hood so it's snug enough. stylish and sleek look

March 7, 2023

Perfect combination of features

I usually wear a Medium or Large. I opted for the Large to layer in colder weather and travel. The underarm zippers are perfect. The simple main zipper water repellent fold design works better than Velcro. The hood does lack the structure other rain coats have, but it works for me.

February 28, 2023

Makes me perspire

Really no different than Gore-Tex, in that it traps moisture within the jacket as I walk or hike, making me wet and sticky, especially when humid, raining, or snowing. And this is while wearing a "wicking" base layer such as 100% merino wool, merino wool/nylon blend, and Capilene base layers from Patagonia. Simple explanation: the activit... Read Morey of water on the outside of the jacket is greater than it is in the inside, so that there is no thermodynamic driving force (concentration gradient) favoring the transport of water molecules from the inside of the jacket to the outside. I'm ditching this thing and going back to my organic ventile cotton parka, which is waterproof and has vents in all the right places.

Response from Patagonia
March 10, 2023

Hi Sean! Thank you for your review on our Torrentshell 3L Rain Jacket. We're sorry to hear you didn't find the jacket to be terribly breathable. This feedback is incredibly valuable and we'll share this with our design team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

February 15, 2023

The Ultimate Go To

Love my Torrentshell. I own many. The most versatile jacket there is. Keeps you dry, layer underneath and keeps you warm, looks classic. Pit zips and Velcro cuffs are all the features you need!

February 10, 2023

I like the color and features

My favorite windbreaker so far, it fitting inside it's own pocket is great.

January 30, 2023

Disappointed!

I bought my Torrentshell in an REI store while wearing a baseball cap. It wasn't until later, during a rainstorm that I discovered how curved the front of the hood is. Rain and blowing snow is dumped right on your face - the hood is worthless. Also, I couldn't operate the underarm zips while wearing the jacket. I had to take the jacket of... Read Moref, during a storm, adjust the underarm zips and put the jacket back on. I returned the jacket to REI.

Response from Patagonia
February 9, 2023

We're sorry to hear that the features of this jacket were ultimately so disappointing. We hope our longtime dealer REI was able to provide some guidance on a different jacket. If not, our [Customer Service](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) team will be happy to help, so please don't hesitate to reach out to us!

January 23, 2023

These Coolers Are Horrendous

A family member bought me my first Torrentshell in Navy Blue almost 5 years ago and it has been my Most used and beloved piece of clothing than any other item. It has started to show its age and I'd like to replace mine, but these pastal colors and disjointed blues that Patagonia has been using in their products is a real deal breaker. Bring... Read More Back New Navy! I guess I'll keep what I have and hope it doesn't leak on me on a backcoutry trail.

January 19, 2023

Fit and performance as expected

Really good piece, I grab it often. Able to layer with it comfortably. I didn't have to compromise between sizes (M or L)... to layer or not to layer. Comfortable around the neck and without the awkward fit/laydown around the neck area when the jacket is not at full zip. Packable, light enough, good value, great fit, and comfortable.

December 24, 2022

Versatile protection

I have owned my TS 3L for over a year and its my go to jacket for any inclement weather. Use it for mountain/Gravel biking in rain and wind. In winter I match it up with my nano puff jacket or nano puff vest as a layer to keep me warm .. I use it for skiing with a layer underneath and its very durable .. while it lacks a powder skirt, you can cinch... Read More up the hem on your mid layer or the jacket and stay plenty warm. I ski and bike with the pit zips open and have never had a problem with sweating out on the inside. This weekends -30* wind chill and 50 mph winds didnt stop the jacket and the hood kept my head warm with a good hat underneath.

December 16, 2022

Love the jacket, but awkward fitting in specific areas

I have been a Patagonia fan for a number of years, and have always been really consistent with the sizing. I am 5 foot 7, 154lb, athletic built, and I wear S in all of my jackets and gear, including other well known outdoor brands. What I found quite strange about this jacket, was the fitting in some part to my body. Although it a perfect fit aroun... Read Mored my chest, and lower abdomen area (even with a hoodie), I found it quite snug in the armpit, it cuts deep (the zipper cuts into into my armpit) while longer average sleeves. Also, although the chest and abdomen area fit perfect, the jacket is a longer than what I usually wear (half-way down my bottom) it is quite snug around my hips. When trying on a medium, the sleeves are way too long, too much room in my chest and abdomen, and long to the point of almost looking like a parka. The only benefit of the Medium is reliving the armpit discomfort. I would recommend, just be mindful as the sizing is not as traditional as other Patagonia products for ME. I have S in all my products, this jacket is just a little different.

December 13, 2022

Doesn't breathe

Wet is wet, whether from without or within.

Response from Patagonia
December 19, 2022

Hi Marv, when the inside of your jacket has moisture, generally it's caused by moisture trying to get out or being trapped by your base layer rather than coming in from the outside. Your next to skin, base layer should keep you warm and dry underneath your jacket. Sweating and exposure to moisture in the air can quickly saturate many cotton or natural fiber base layers, so a next to skin layer of wicking fabric is critical. Moisture-wicking material transfers the water molecules from the surface of your skin to the outer clothing layers, keeping you dry from the inside out, as well as the outside in. Our [Capilene](https://www.patagonia.com/search/?q=mens+capilene+tops&lang=en_US) is an example of a wicking, fast drying base layer that is specifically designed to work with our waterproof shells.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches