Back to Product

Patagonia Men's DAS® Light Hoody

Write Your Review

4.4/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 19 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's DAS® Light Hoody

4.4/5
June 24, 2021

Zippers !

I see this jacket as a "Two-Way, Center-Front Zipper". I am disappointed you don't have these types of zippers on ALL your jackets especially your lightweight rain coats as they have to be zipped up to stay on your body.

Response from Patagonia
June 29, 2021

Hi Don, the two-way, center-front zipper is featured on our DAS Light Hoody because it's a technical alpine jacket and the zipper function serves for better belay access when climbing. Many of our other jackets do not have this two-way feature because they're not used as often for other sports. You can find other belay specific tech jackets here, https://www.patagonia.com/search/?q=belay&lang=en_US.

June 2, 2021

Refined and Warm

After bashing a micro-puff for several years, it was time for an upgrade. The DAS light delivers. More warmth, a more functional two-way zipper, and what appears to be a more durable finish. The slightly heavier weight than a micro-puff is negligible. The designers got this piece right. The only add-on I'd like to see are two interior drop-in... Read More pockets to dry out wet gloves while on the move. Otherwise - love it.

March 26, 2021

Almost 5 starts

I bought this because I wanted something warmer than a nano puff but more durable than the micro puff. So far it has fit that role well. It is nice and warm, stops wind in its tracks, and layers well enough. I really, really like it and the yellow-ish color with the blue-green inside. But, don't buy one yet unless you really need it like I did... Read More. They are going to revise it in the future and hopefully add the few things its missing. When they do it will be, in my opinion, the best puffy out there. Here's what I want to see added to a future version: 1) A way to sinch the bottom (As almost everyone else has pointed out) 2) This combines a few recommendations that are all related. Please give the chest pocket a water proof zipper and make the pouch larger and also made of a water proof material. This way, the pouch could make the jacket a sort of water proof container when it is in stuffed mode. Also when I say make it larger I mean large enough that it could be stuffed with something like a plus sized phone in a pocket of the jacket. As it is it barely fits just the jacket. 3) I think adding a version with the tight fitting hood of the nano puff/micro puff would be really nice. I love that hood and was sad to part with it. I know that having a hood that fits over a helmet is important to this jackets intended use (rock climbing) so maybe you could make a nano puff with the outer material of this jacket for extra warmth/abrasion resistance? I don't really know how the good people on Patagonia's design team make their decisions so maybe I sound like a crazy person. 4) Finally, I would like to see a second chest pocket on the inside right of the jacket. It would be great if it was about the size of the one in the nano puff. It could work well for storing a wallet or something where you really don't want to risk losing it. Glove warmer drop in pockets like those on the micro puff would be a welcome addition as well. Thank you to the Patagonia team and store I bought this from for being so great! Keep it up!

Response from Patagonia
March 26, 2021

Hey Samuel! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thoughtful and thorough review. This is incredibly helpful feedback, which we've passed along to our Design team.

March 3, 2021

Excellent name

I have had a DAS for years and love it. For an example, I was benighted in the Bugaboos and slept on a rope bed with the DAS keeping me more comfortable then I deserved. Problem is it is a bit bulk and heavy. The DAS light is super light and very warm for what it is. I attribute it to the combo of advanced insulation and Pertex fabric with Poly coa... Read Moreting. Perfect piece for pushing it fast and light. Agree with others about lack of hem tightener.

February 25, 2021

Love this jacket

Got this jacket as an all in one to throw on for the down portion of backcountry skiing. Fits that role admirably, typically going over a base layer or a more 'alpine fit' softshell. Also a great around town jacket, good warmth, decent protection, and very comfy. 3 things to take it from 4 star to 5: 1) Go from regular fit to relaxed. Thi... Read Mores would better enable it to act like a lite belay jacket (ie over a baselayer, light R1 type mid, and shell) while still working as a mid layer when wanted. 2) Waist cinch as others have noted. 3) Add 10-15% more fill for the little extra bit of warmth that extends the versatility another 5-10 degrees

Response from Patagonia
March 10, 2021

Hey Chuck! We appreciate this feedback and have passed it along to our Design Team. If you're looking for a great belay parka with a bit more warmth than the DAS Light Hoody, check out the [Macro Puff Hoody](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-macro-puff-hoody/80111.html?dwvar_80111_color=SMDB). Thanks again for taking the time to write this review!

February 11, 2021

Does what it needs to do

Good fit, warm, water resistant, great 32°F - 50°F insulated jacket.

February 9, 2021

Something about it

This jacket just feels good. And its quite warm. I walk are dogs in freezing temps and stay warm without layering. The jacket just feels good, and super light. Way better for warmth than the micro puff.

January 30, 2021

good warmth for the weight

full disclosure i returned this item because i felt like i wasnt going to take full advantage of its technical benefits, but in trying it on, i could tell it was a very nice and well made lightweight jacket. it has great warmth for the weight and i could imagine that it is great for high exertion activities in cooler weather. i cant speak to exactl... Read Morey how warm or breathable it would have been because i returned it. the material was extremely static generating and the synthetic material was very noisy. for the cost i felt like i wasnt likely to wear the jacket enough in situations that really warranted it in order to justify keeping it, but thats more about my situation than any issues with the jacket.

January 20, 2021

Worth It

The DAS Light achieves what the micro puff was lacking, which was some durability. I've found this piece to be just what the Dr. ordered for a spring/fall weight belay style jacket. I'm not as worried about using this jacket while rock climbing due to it's higher abrasion resistance over some of the lighter insulation jackets in the ... Read Moreline! Sizing accommodates spring/fall layering quite well underneath.

January 19, 2021

Wow

This piece is amazingly warm, light, and comfortable. It is much warmer than the micro puff, while weighing slightly more. Still outrageously light! Every aspect was well thought out and I especially love the cuffs and longer drop hem. Has to get this one in purple. 6/190 and L fits gray with plenty of room to layer. Shoutout to Sean at Engearment ... Read Morefor the demo. Get one before theyre gone!

December 10, 2020

High Quality and Looks Good

I'm very happy with this purchase. This jacket is well constructed, very warm in windy under 30degree weather, roomy for a light sweater and the blue color looks good.

December 10, 2020

Best Warmth-to-weight ratio around

Upgraded from the Micro Puff and Nano-Air to this jacket for touring, backpacking and climbing. Minimal added weight and bulk for a huge bump in warmth.

November 28, 2020

Das Right

I swear, with my hand on a box of skinny old rat-tail skins, that in the last 30 years I have owned every Puff Ball, Puff Jacket, Puff Daddy, Nano and Micro hoodie that Patagonia has made. The wait was worth it. 'Puff' jackets don't last forever because they they are warm and light so you wear them every day. This jacket has seam tap... Read Moree under the rarely exposed stitching. I spent a couple of hours behind my snowblower in a ground blizzard a few weeks ago. My pants and gloves were soaked and the jacket was dripping wet. I was wearing a T-shirt underneath and it was dry. The jacket was dry after maybe 30 minutes indoors. I'm 5'11" and 195 lbs - the XL is just what I wanted - it can go over everything. Size L is probably the "proper" fit. I agree, it needs a bottom draw cord. Also, I never use the the inside out pocket-to-stuff sack feature. It's a bit of a tight fit and (IMHO) stresses the zipper. I'd prefer a "drop in" pocket, then it's a quick stuff to create a nice pillow. Light, warm, dry and breathable. I'm wearing mine every day. JW

November 13, 2020

This is THE jacket.

Your partner is 10 ft above her last pro and a stiff wind is crawling over your bare, sweaty neck. Stressed out? Nah. You just nestle into your sweet DAS jacket and pull that big hood over your helmet. Comfort! Safety! I've found this to be the best belay jacket ever. Just enough more warmth than the micro (but still lightweight and packable!)... Read More, it's got the double zippers you want, and all the warmth you need (obvs less breathable than the air, this is for stop and go activities). Your loved ones may even compliment your style!

November 13, 2020

OUTSTANDING PIECE!

Just wore this for the first time on a 12 Hour ice climb day in Full Winter conditions in Alberta.Only had a merino base layer and this for the entire climb in -15 celsius and windy conditions.I found the face fabric excellent with breathability for the cold conditions. I used my Grade 7 Parka overtop at the belays and snack breaks and was very imp... Read Moreressed with the Das Lite. I also wore it as a hiking piece and was impressed. Hood goes over a helmet. The only 2 drawbacks to this piece is no Hem draw cord or bungee and no inner pockets to stash gloves or some bars. Fix these points and it will be awesome!

September 25, 2020

Versatile piece

Great all-around jacket, layer on top, or under a shell. Primarily use it for ski-touring as it is a bit of a shell and dries fast. Packs down nice for its warmth. Good sized chest pocket for radios and extras items. Awesome addition to the kit.

September 18, 2020

Chartreuse DAS Light Hoody

for reference, im 511 and 155lbs. the medium fits perfect! if i remember correctly, Patagonia said theres a 25% increase in warmth over the micro puff at a cost of only 2 extra ounces. with that said, i have both and it is noticeably warmer but if you are on the fence and you already own a micro puff just save your money. you can always layer up u... Read Morender neath without spending another $300+ on a new jacket. i dont regret buying this piece by any means, i love it as much as my micro puff. plus, when i saw they had chartreuse colorway i was sold on it because yellow is my favorite color. im a cyclist, i love bikepacking and bike touring. since my micropuff was smolder blue, i figures this yellow one would be perfect for high visibility riding where theres motorists. i could dive into the science of it, but theres actually a good explanation on YouTube from Sean Sewell at Patagonia on the engearment channel just look up Patagonia ISPO 2020.

August 31, 2020

Fatal Flaw

The DAS light parka may be the perfect static mid/outer layer but for two things. It has no hem drawstring, which combined with it's boxy cut, means cold wind 100% blow up your back.

Response from Patagonia
November 5, 2020

We are thankful for your feedback on this and are sorry to hear that some of the design aspects aren't working for you. Please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this back to us.

August 18, 2020

Wanted to love it, but missing a must-have feature

For reference, I am 6' 150lbs and wear a Medium in all Patagonia pants and jackets, which typically leaves room for latering in "Regular Fit" jackets. I really wanted to love this jacket. I saw it announced at ISPO and the idea of a more weather resistant Micro Puff with a helmet compatible hood was genius. I planned to use it as th... Read Moree outer layer of my belay layering system for winter mountaineering and ice climbing, consisting of the Micro Puff Vest, the Micro Puff Hoody, and the DAS Light Hoody. The execution, however, missed a key feature! How does this jacket not have an elastic draw cord on the bottom hem?!?! It feel like I'm wearing a skirt when I have this jacket on. It also does not have the elastic hem of the Micro Puff, which fits me great in a Medium, so it is not a size issue. I have not used it outside but I can already tell that cold air and snow will easily fly up the base of the jacket while wearing it, not to mention allowing crucial heat to escape. I know someone might say "yeah, but if you use the dual zipper while belaying then it will never be tight on the bottom anyway, so why does it matter?" Good question, but 1) I often don't use the zipper for this exact reason and keep other jackets cinched tightly at the base and simply pull the front over my belay loop, and 2) a draw cord would still help seal the butt area and upper legs if you wanted to use the two-way zipper. Please tell me how no athletes pointed this out during development as this is a huge miss IMHO?!?!?!

Response from Patagonia
October 22, 2020

Hi Kyle! Thank you for providing us with your feedback, and we're sorry to hear that the DAS Light Hoody is lacking that key feature for you. We are happy to pass this important feedback along to our Product Team for consideration on future iterations. In the meantime, you are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) that item for a full refund.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches