Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Fitz Roy Down Hoody

Write Your Review

4.6/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 27 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Fitz Roy Down Hoody

4.6/5
April 13, 2021

Warm

I travel a lot and need maximum warmth, minimum space. Down Sweater wasnt warm enough, so I took it up to the next level. Instant warming when i put it on. Very packable. Top notch!

March 20, 2021

looks well made

Got it at the tail end of winter so I can't tell you how far below freezing it can comfortably go, but it seems pretty warm. I'm 5'10" and 190 lbs, and the L is just about right. Definitely room for a couple layers underneath if needed. Saw someone else remark that the pockets seemed awkwardly high. I don't find this to be... Read More true, for what that's worth. Yes, they are maybe an inch above where I would expect them to be, but the reason they are placed there seems to be to allow for a substantial "drop" inside the pocket. This means that objects in the pockets aren't likely to fall out even if you don't use the zipper. For me, this is perfect.

March 14, 2021

Great, but not as good as it used to be

don't get me wrong, if you're looking for a warm parka that's also packable then this will do the job. the hood fits pretty well even without a helmet on. the fit is perfect for adding another layer underneath. the colors are nice. I guess i'm just disapointed at the changes from the 2019 version. this version is a dialed-back v... Read Moreersion of the 2019 Fitz Roy Down Parka. that parka had boxed-baffles and a draft tube. it made a HUGE difference as far as letting in drafts and cold spots.

March 12, 2021

Winter Climbing Jacket

Great jacket, used mostly for climbing in 30f-50f dry winter days, some snow days. Lightweight and toasty warm.

March 10, 2021

Great Fit - Super Warm

Awesome jacket - fits well and is super warm. I am an XL in most Patagonia items and it fits perfect. I would definitely recommend this jacket to someone looking for a warm jacket to get through the brutal New England winters!

March 9, 2021

Super warm

Fits well, light,

February 25, 2021

Very warm and light

I love the Fitz Roy hoody. Just wish it had an inside pocket

February 24, 2021

Perfect for dog mushing

I am a woman that is very happy with this Men's Fitz Roy Down Hoody. I am using it over my snowsuit for extra warmth while dog mushing in Alaska. I also use it over my women's Nano Puff Hoody in the -40'F in Fairbanks. I want Patagonia to make a hooded puff parka that is a relaxed fit to allow layering for Alaskas cold temperatures. ... Read MoreI only purchase Patagonia jackets for living in Alaska. Thank You for practicing conservation in your business.

February 22, 2021

Soft fabric, almost a tad too delicate

Great belaying jacket! Love the burnt orange color, but the fabric is very easy to puncture/have down come out. I LOVE it anyway!

February 22, 2021

Soft fabric, almost a tad too delicate

Great belaying jacket! Love the burnt orange color, but the fabric is very easy to puncture/have down come out. I LOVE it anyway!

February 10, 2021

Light, Comfortable and Toasty Puffy

This is my 2nd Fitz Roy. The first was the 2019 version which I loved. It was a plush high loft and super warm parka. Patagonia should have left the formula alone. The high loft and box wall construction felt a bit nicer and premium when worn. This 2020 Fitz Roy Down Hoody is nice too but in my opinion not as nice as the 2019 parka version. I love ... Read Morethe 2 upper chest pockets and raised hand warmer pockets on this newer version. It's still an extremely comfortable jacket that loves the bitter cold. Fit is roomy without being too bulky or baggy. The hidden elasticized wrist cuffs are neat and clean looking. The inner drop-in pocket is a nice touch as well in case you want to stash a hat and or gloves real quick. I really enjoy the comfort and look of the Smolder Blue. Only downside is the the absence of the box wall design and the face fabric is thin.

February 5, 2021

Very warm and light weight....great hood!

I bought my Fitz Roy about 10 years ago and wear it on opening and closing flights to the South Pole. It is one of only a few jackets approved for the Extreme Cold Weather Pilot Program for the USAP (US Antarctic Program) I wore it for my daily walks during my 2015 winter-over at South Pole. We hit a cold temperature of -109.1F ambient with a wind-... Read Morechill of -179F. With good heavy duty fleece thermals, Stance Belay pants and my Fitz Roy I was out every night and stayed warm, although it always helped to keep moving. A great parka!

February 2, 2021

Killer Jacket, but lacks the loft of it's predecessor.

This is my 2nd Fitz Roy Down Hoody; I bought my first in early 2019. While I love the cut, fit, and performance of the 2021 version, I couldn't help but notice the difference in the overall loft and removal of the down 'tubes' running down the front zipper, featured in the 2019 version. The addition of a 2nd breast pocket and updated... Read More down chambers in the shoulders were welcome updates. Like the title says, this is a KILLER jacket! A must have if you live in colder climates. Worth every penny! Looking forward to seeing where Patagonia takes it in years to come.

February 1, 2021

Great jacket with one problem

The jacket is comfortable and warm, and the hood works well. Now for the problem: One of its interesting features is the ability to turn it inside out through the left lower pocket and end up in a stuff sack. The sack is closed by a zipper. This means that the zipper on the left front pocket has a pull fob on both sides, one for normal use and the ... Read Moreother to close the sack. The design of this inside zipper means that in normal use the zipper frequently "eats" the fabric on the inside of the pocket and thus gets stuck. All of the other pockets on the jacket only have a pull fob on the outside, and the inside is designed to avoid getting stuck on the fabric. Therefore I suggest that the zipper on the inside of the left front pocket should be redesigned to reduce the fabric entanglement problems.

January 24, 2021

The coat you need and wont regret

Got this for Xmas gift and could not be happier. I live in Colorado and go for walks in mid teens and 20s with just a T-shirt under . Coat is cozy and light too , and feels great when you wear it. Coat has great pockets and access for phone and keys. Overall if your on the fence about the coat , just go for it youll love it . Its expensive but life... Read Moretime warranty cant go wrong .

January 19, 2021

Warm jacket, design could be improved

Overall, I like this better than my old Fitz Roy parka. It's warm for the weight. I went with a M because I am between sizes. A little more length would be nice for me at 6'2. I find the handwarmer pockets are positioned too high up, and I'm also not a fan of the two upper zipper pockets. Biggest gripe is probably that the neck is to... Read Moreo loose/has no adjustment and doesn't seal out the wind. A premium jacket like this should have better draft protection around the neck and front zipper.

January 2, 2021

Outstanding Style and Warmth

More than adequate for extra warmth on the trail.

December 31, 2020

Lightweight, "quiet" and sooooo comfortable and warm!

I spend many hours outside taking care of my horses, and this jacket is one of a long line of Patagonia jackets. It is the BEST one so far. I am a pretty small woman, but bought the men's medium, so I can put a fat (Patagonia!) fleece under it; I get cold easily and this jacket is incredibly warm and super lightweight. I love the large, open i... Read Morenside pocket, perfect for gloves when I have to take them off. Barnwork is pretty hard on clothes, but I'm hoping this jacket lasts a LONG time!

December 24, 2020

Very warm

I wear this at camp before getting in my sleeping bag when its less than 20 degrees, you feel like the stay puft marshmallow man but who cares, this thing is amazing

December 11, 2020

Nice and warm

Its a very warm jacket. Its lightweight as it uses very light materials that, in my opinion, are prone to tear very easily. But, overall, its a great option to keep you warm in cool and mild-cold weather.

December 11, 2020

Perfect winter jacket for NYC

Very light weight and warm jacket, perfect for walking my dog on winter days. I also bought the down vest in the same color to layer with it when the weather gets really cold.

December 2, 2020

Ultrapuffonzo

This is THE cold weather puffy, amazing warmth to weight ration, very well made and perfect fit–it easily fits over my outerwear (powslayer/nanopuff) layers like a belay jacket should, and in a pinch I can layer it under if it gets wet out... The loft is incredible, so much insulation, and the hood is perfect. Also very nice how it stuffs into it&#... Read Morex27;s own pocket. All in all a well designed, refined cold weather puffy with top notch warm to weight ratio, I'd definable;y recumbent this one!

December 2, 2020

Its the bomb proof warm coat I have been looking for

I purchased this coat for activities when I need to warm up after the activity & will be outside for an extended period of time. After rock climbing a route, after a long bike ride, etc. I can take the active-wear layers off that I used to dry out & then put this coat on & feel the instant warmth and all my cares go away. Temps have o... Read Morenly been in the high teen's & low 20's. Even in high winds this coat has still kept me toasty warm. I have only been able to test with a simple base layer on and this coat. The coat has keeps me warm in these conditions. For me, this coat will easily go into sub-zero temps, with a base layer and a mid-layer, all will be good! The collar works well too. If you are not using the hood, the collar is like a coat without a hood, and when you need the hood you are all set. I can also see this coat used as a pillow when out camping & like all the coats I use; when I am over heating, the coat works well as a scarf draped around myself! This also is my favorite zipper Patagonia puts on their coats. Future request colors, bring back the fun greens!

November 14, 2020

Bring back red!

The above colors are all boring, except for crimson, which is just ugly. Bring back true red, and a blue. This is a great parka, very warm. However, cold air can be felt at the inner elbow creases.

November 14, 2020

I love the feel of wearing this coat!

This is a really warm, light-weight, great feeling coat with fantastic pocket and zipper design. Love it!

September 16, 2020

One of the best

I have had this jacket for many years and it has finally given up on me. It has been put through the ringer many times over. I use it for winter hikes and mostly snowboarding. I really cuts the down the wind. Pockets are soft. Its super warm even in -30 Celsius. Super light weight. I am 5'10". The arm length seemed a little short but my a... Read Morerms are long. If I were to give it any knock the outer fabric tore easily. I hit a many branches snowboarding and it tore numerous times and had to patch it up. Also it doesn't like heat as I melted the wrist once getting it too close to the snowblower exhaust. Overall I am super happy with it and plan on retiring it to be recycled. I will be buying another jacket this winter and it will be another Patagonia product. Excellent product.

August 16, 2020

Amazing jacket

I've had this jacket 2 years and it's amazing. VERY warm, quite packable, and light. Perfect for the colder winters of the canadian rockies.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches