Back to Product

Patagonia Men's R3® Yulex® Front-Zip Hooded Full Wetsuit

Write Your Review

4.7/5

null

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
Size
  • S
  • MS
  • M
  • MT
  • LS
  • L
  • LT
  • XLS
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 14 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's R3® Yulex® Front-Zip Hooded Full Wetsuit

4.7/5
April 21, 2021

Very comfortable and warm

I love it. Best wetsuit ever. Comfortable, warm and high level finishing. Feels good to know its a fair triad product also. Now I want the booties so badly!

April 8, 2021

Great Suit

Overall a superbly made suit. Had some issue with the crotch/butt seam separating on a couple of my last suits, however sent them back and Patagonia is fixing it. Keeps me warm, fits comfortably, and the hood compresses nicely not leaving a void around the ears like other suits. Thanks Patagonia for sticking by your product and always evolving in p... Read Moreroviding a great suit.

March 28, 2021

Customer For Life

I was hesitant to buy one of these wetsuits because I try to avoid anything with hype (or a crazy price). A few friends have Patagonia wetsuits and have raved, but I dodged their opinion. The time came for a new heater, so I decided to read up on the Yulex technology, and was swayed almost immediately. Anyone that believes in science should back Yu... Read Morelex. Beside the suit being warmer than a normal comp suit, what really cemented my opinion was the guarantee. I destroyed the knee pad on a head high, low tide day in San Francisco. I got into a hollow section, tried to fly out the end, and got caught at the lip. The foam grabbed my board, flipped it over, and shoved it backwards at me, fin side up. I pulled my legs up to protect my innards. My board slammed into my knees, and somehow I didnt get chopped. The knee pad took all of the force. When this happens, I usually patch the suit myself, because most wetsuit companies dont cover damage due to intended use. But after reading the guarantee on the Patagonia website, and decided to give their repair guys a try. I got my wetsuit back in a week (7 days) and they replaced the entire knee for free. Service like that goes a long way with me. I feel like I got the full treatment with my wetsuit, and I will be back for another one.

March 21, 2021

Great suit.

Best patagonia suit ever. Veey earm. Improved flexibility over years past. Tanx.

February 26, 2021

Warm, good fit and sturdy

It's been a few generations since I wore an R3 - and this years' model is a step forward for me. At 6'0 the MT fits very well, the weight and flex is improved and the construction (as always) is top-notch.

February 1, 2021

Warm and cozy!

The latest version of the yulex rubber is so stretchy and warm. Even when my fingers are frozen, it's super easy to get off post-surf.

January 27, 2021

Incredible

For an entire year this suit was 100% waterproof without letting in a single drop of water. It actually worked like a dry suit, I was in shock. It finally started to let in some water after a year of good use, but I'm hoping I can send it in for warranty and get it back to being airtight for an entire year.

December 30, 2020

liked it so much i bought 2

I surf daily in Huntington Beach, CA. this suit keeps me warm and fits just right. this is my go to suit in the winter and I bought two. I have 3 other Patagonia suits for different temps - the quality, fit and service (Pata repaired one) are the key reasons for me.

December 24, 2020

Great Winter suit, really warm!

My 4/3 hooded suit fits great and it is very warm, almost to warm. The mornings are cold and the hood is a great addition to keeping my skinny bones and dome warm. I have had to take the hood down a few times and with a pencil neck like mine the fit of the hood around my neck feels great. This is the first time I have purchased a Yulex suit and it... Read More is very stretchy for a 4/3. Im very pleased with my purchase.

December 12, 2020

Super Warm and Flexible

I have worked in the wetsuit world for decades. I have warn almost all brands. I wanted to try Patagonia because I love the brand and its environmental manufacturing practices. The Hooded R3 is an awesome suit. I am tall and skinny and get cold easily, but long sessions are no longer an issue for me. I was pleasantly surprised by all the attention ... Read Moreto detail with the design of the suit. The suit is really durable as well. As we head into this winter I am currently still wearing my suit I purchased last winter and it still feels like new; no pin hole leaks any wear. I am super stoked on the suit and will for sure be buying another one when this one wears out.

December 11, 2020

Excellent

I live on the central coast of California. Decided it was time to get a suit for the colder water temperatures. After trying on a couple other brands I went to Patagonia because of the advice of friends who have been surfing since they were kids and said these suits were the best they had ever owned. It took me four tries to get the right size and ... Read Moreconfiguration. Started with a hooded medium front zip, too tight under my arms and too difficult to get the hood on and off. Then MT back zip. Oddly had trouble getting in and out of the arms, also decided back zip would not be the optimum for staying warm. Then MT front zip and the neck seemed tight. Finally MT hooded front zip and it was just right. My hands and shoulders are weak areas and played a roll in choosing a suit that fit correctly and was also not too difficult to get in and out of. I have added the Lite Yulex front zip long sleeve top to make the comfort level even better. The Patagonia guarantee is real. All of you who contributed to make this suit possible , a sincere Thank you..

December 4, 2020

Worth the Price

So toasty, so comfy, so flexible. I love this suit. Im a pretty lanky 6, the large fits perfect everywhere but sits about an inch above my ankle, but its not terrible. Ive really had to adjust to the hood being over my chin and its a bit restrictive on my neck when its down. These are minor concerns though. Its so dang warm. That plus the low carbo... Read Moren and human impact of the materials and labor makes me think this is worth the price.

November 29, 2020

PLEASE make a ST (Small Tall)

This wetsuit is a great wetsuit. its warm its flexible and the inside material is very comfortable and dries nicely. My one flaw with this wetsuit is that there is no ST size. I have a tall and skinny body type which meant that the suit fit really pretty well on my upper half, although the legs and crotch were too tight. The legs stopped like 4 inc... Read Morehes above my ankle. They went up so far you could see my legs when I would wear booties. Not Fun. The result of this is that I stretched the suit enough by paddling that one of the seams on the right upper chest exploded and now I have a large hole in the suit and haven't used it since. So Please Patagonia make a Small Tall suit ST!

November 27, 2020

Best Suit Patagonia's produced

Far superior stretch and ease of entry then previous iterations. New seam placement makes me notice the suit less when paddling . I was ready to give up on Patagonia suits because I felt they sacrificed performance for environmental sustainability but with this latest FA20 suit, I feel you don't have to trade one for another. Truly the best su... Read Moreit Patagonia has designed and the first that feels indistinguishable from neoprene.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches