Product Safety Recall

Due to safety concerns about the snaps on the Infant Capilene® Midweight Set, we are implementing a recall of units purchased between August 1, 2021, and January 12, 2023. For more information, including how to identify this product, how to return it and how to get a full refund, please click the link below.

Learn More

Rappel de produit pour cause de sécurité

En raison de préoccupations en matière de sécurité concernant les boutons-pression des ensembles Infant Capilene® Midweight, nous procédons au rappel de toutes les unités achetées entre le 1ᵉʳ août 2021 et le 12 janvier 2023. Pour obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires, notamment sur la façon de reconnaître ce produit, de le retourner et d’obtenir un remboursement complet, veuillez cliquer sur le lien ci-dessous.

Obtenir de plus amples renseignements

Earth Is Now Our Only Shareholder

If we have any hope of a thriving planet—much less a business—it is going to take all of us doing what we can with the resources we have. This is what we can do.

Read Yvon’s Letter

Back to Product

Women's R4® Yulex® Front-Zip Hooded Full Suit Reviews

Write Your Review


Kinda Small

Filter Reviews

  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Sort By
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 21 Reviews

Clear All

Ws R4® Yulex® Front-Zip Hooded Full Suit

Kinda Small
July 14, 2023

Not the fit for me

The material is lovely and I wanted to like this suit but the fit was wrong for my body type. I am 5'7", 122lb, slim build, small chest. I wear a Ripcurl FlashBomb size 8T which fits perfectly. This suit was the right width in the legs and torso but very short in both. The opening to get your whole body into is very small which makes it r... Read Moreeally difficult to get on, and the neck was so tight that it cut off circulation. If you are a shorter build with a very small neck this may work for you.

Response from Patagonia
July 17, 2023

We appreciate this feedback, Bron; we're sorry this suit didn't fit you better! We're glad to see you've returned it before getting it into the water, as we want you to be happy with everything you get from us. Please let us know if we can help you find an alternative!

July 11, 2023

Will snap your neck getting it off

The fit on the body is good but I put this on at home, alone, and could not get the hood off without feeling like I was going to snap my neck and/or completely smother my mouth and nose. It was super tight around my neck and I had to fight a panic attack. I had to get my partner to come home from work to help me. This hood design sucks. Just get a ... Read Moreregular suit and a detachable hood.

May 17, 2023

Perfect suit for my build

Super impressed with how warm this suit was, I tend to run verrrry cold and was totally comfortable in 10C water for ~2 hours but haven't worn it for longer than that yet. I struggled to choose a size based on previous reviews so hopefully my measurements can help someone else...I have a slim/slightly athletic build and am 5'4", 26.... Read More5" waist, 36.5" hips, 34" bust, 30.5" inseam, and 6.5" wrist and the 6 is perfect for me. It was a snug fit everywhere and didn't gap at the waist, but if the wrists were any tighter I don't think I could have worn it (though they felt fine once I was in the water). The 6 would definitely work for someone slightly taller than me.

April 24, 2023

Super Warm Otter Costume for Winter / Spring Surf

I love this wetsuit. It is my second one! I wear it from October through April, sometimes into May depending on the upwelling and wind. The only reason it's not 5 stars is because I am a bit more broad-shouldered / long-in-the-torso, and it takes a bit of getting used, as well as stretching over time, to fit better. Perfect use for me - a coup... Read Morele hours per surf session per week, and I stay so so cozy in my suit! I prioritized the material, so I feel good about wearing it.

March 10, 2023

Pretty flexible honestly!! SO WARM

I'm obsessed, this thing will not wear out, I've had 2 the past 4 years and they feel brand new every time I wear them. The people who have a hard time getting in probably got the wrong size. Any wetty is going to be a challenge the first few times you surf it. This suit is solid - I can't surf in anything else. It's the only br... Read Moreand that legitimately keeps me warm in cold Central to Northern CA winters and springs.

February 13, 2023

curvy girls surf too

Love the susty not neoprene. The warmest suit I’ve ever worn. BUT!!! this suite IS SO TIGHT IN THE CHEST AND ARMS. I am an 8/8t in every other suit, but was super frustrated. I find I’m consistently having to size up in patagonia products (meaning there’s often too much space in the waist) , solely bc y’all don’t make clothes for curvier gals (don’... Read Moret even get me started on the baggies!). Love the idea and look forward to owning a yulex wettie that fits me one day.

Response from Patagonia
February 21, 2023

Hi Caitlin! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear the suit isn't the best fit. Feedback like this is crucial to improving fit for future seasons so it's truly appreciated. We'll share this with our design team.

September 26, 2022

Super Small fit

I normally wear a size 3 in women's clothing, but had to squeeze into a size 8 wetsuit, the legs are good for women, but the arms are super tight. Size 10 fit better in the upper body but the torso was too long. Most of the women I know who surf are usually pretty buffed in the upper body, have a lower center of gravity (short) and arms that m... Read Moreatch the men. I love the warmth, but want a short torsoed size 10.

June 14, 2022

Reasonable suit (R4) C'mon R5 for surfing women in cold water!

I bought this suit hoping it would last longer than those with a lower price point like excel and ripcurl, but the zipper broke within one season and there is significant wear on seam sealing (peeling), cuffs and elbows. I rinse this suit every time and am pretty gentle on removal so this seems poor for the price. On a related note, I bought this b... Read Moreecause it was the warmest you had, but I surf in the north-northwest of BC and it really would be fantastic if you made the R5 for women as well rather than discriminating in the range of product offered to women vs. men. We surf alongside them in the cold cold and deserve good products with good insulation! Appreciate the recycled nature of it and will get it repaired, but hoped for better wear.

Response from Patagonia
June 16, 2022

Hi Robyn, thank you for submitting this review. We're so sorry to hear the zipper and seam sealing haven't performed as they should! We will reach out to you about options for a repair or a return. In the meantime, we'll pass along your suggestion about the R5 suit!

June 5, 2022

Great suit but could use some more engineering

I live in the PNW and enjoy paddleboarding in the 40F water. I am 5'7" and weigh 165 pounds and am a pear shape and the size 10 suit works great for me. I have enough length in arms and legs and room through hips. My suit stretched after several uses and became easier to remove. I love the comfort of the suit and I swim in the cold salt w... Read Moreater like a seal it is so warm. After 6 uses, the interior collar in the suit designed to keep water leaking into the interior started ripping away from the suit. Some better suit engineering to make this collar more robust would be desired. Otherwise, I love my suit.

Response from Patagonia
June 8, 2022

Hi Rebecca, thank you for submitting this review. The kind of detail you've provided is especially helpful to other customers. We're so sorry to hear about the collar damage! That shouldn't be happening. Please feel free to contact our Customer Service Team at (800) 638-6464, or via LiveChat on our website for assistance.

June 2, 2022

I wanted to love this, but I did not

I wanted to love this suit, but I did not. I love the idea that its mostly made from renewable sustainable materials, and the material in person is super soft on the skin, and I bet would be really warm in the water. But the problem is I couldn't even get the thing all the way on. There is only one tiny zipper in the front at the neck and its ... Read Moreonly there so you can take the hood off. The suit itself does not have a zipper so you have to squeeze your whole self in through a small neck hole. I was successful in getting my legs in and with some struggle got it over my hips, but when I got the bust/shoulder area I had to stop and take it off. It seemed impossible to get my arms in and get the neck piece over my head. I might have been able to manage it, but was afraid I would rip the suit or not be able to get out of it again. And I am a slim, 5'8.5" tall person. The legs and hips fit perfectly, so I assume the top would have fit well too (e.g. I had the right size), but the design is poor. To make this a practical suit to wear, it needs another zipper at the top to allow easier entry and exit. I had to return it.

Response from Patagonia
June 6, 2022

We are sorry to hear about your experience with our Women's R4 Yulex Front-Zip Hooded Full Suit. Sadly, we do not have the R4 available in a back zip option as that style is more prone to flushing when diving under waves which can be problematic in temperatures that cold. We have gone ahead and passed your feedback over to our Design Crew. If you have any questions regarding your return, please feel free to reach out to us [here]( Thank you so much for your feedback.

February 5, 2022

Too short for tall women

I have an R1 wetsuit, which I love but is barely long enough. The R3 and R4 wetsuits are made for short women (under 5'9") and don't stretch enough for taller people. I'd like to purchase a warmer suit for colder water, but the sizing doesn't work for me. Please make wetsuits for taller women!

Response from Patagonia
February 7, 2022

Thank you for your feedback on the Patagonia Women's R4® Yulex® Front-Zip Hooded Full Wetsuit We are of course sorry to hear that it did not work out for you. You are always more than welcome to [return]( any item that does not work out for you.

January 18, 2022

Where is the Women's R5?

Lots women like to surf in the winter on the east coast! We're freezing out there in 5/4s and no surf companies seem to care! Love the new R4. Great fit, improved stretch, cozy neck layers to prevent flushing, tough seams. Only reason for 4 starts is that I am still cold when the temps dip. I really want is a suit that is made for colder condi... Read Moretions. A women's R5!

December 2, 2021

Holy grail fit for a slim build

I surf 6 days a week, would likely take this suit out in 39-50 degree water. I've had and used this suit for the past 12 days or so. Fit This is the first suit I've had that doesn't gap at the midsection, which is huge for me. Like a glove. Holy grail fit. I will likely stick to this suit specifically because a good fit is hard to ... Read Morefind. I'm 115, 32-22-34, with broad shoulders and some narrow wrists (the wrists are actually flush tight, which I love and rarely find in suits). The neck is a little tight at the collar, and has not eased with wear, but the hood is the right height and doesn't squish me when it's up. Love the stretchy material around the ankles that really speeds up suiting up/down. Appreciate the little collar bib that prevents the suit from flushing when I duck dive without the hood. Great detail. Warmth It's a new, thick suit so it's really warm right now. I have noted that the wind doesn't cut through it at all. Winds were strong a few days ago and several others were shivering, even in relatively new suits, but I felt good in this, even with the hood down in brain-freeze-cold water. Super toasty, holds paddle heat almost too well sometimes, I find I sweat in it a little if I've got an especially long paddle, and it can be hard to flush the suit to cool off. These are great features in my warmest suit, but means it's super important to rinse it well because of the stink potential with something so non-porous. Durability/material In my experience, the average suit even with good care will start to really show wear after ~200 surfs -- this suit is still really new, but I have noticed that the glue at the seams by the crotch seems to be deteriorating a bit already which is a bit of disappointment. I'm really careful and patient with suiting up, so this was a surprise. I think it'll hold up for a good while, but if I had to bet, I think that seams/glue will be the component to fail first, as opposed to friction holes, thinning, zipper issues etc Overall, strong first impression, favorite suit I own so far. It's a delight to take out, and took about three 2-3 hour sessions to break in.

December 2, 2021

Warm enough for winter

Keeps me warm in the Atlantic. Initially, I thought this was too small but after a few wears, the body fit is great. The hood is still quite tight - could be a bit roomier to accommodate more height. Would buy again.

November 23, 2021

No Inclusive Sizing

I am 5'2" and my low hip measurement is 43" - your sizing doesn't come close to accommodating my size. So not only do your wet suits not come in plus size, but they don't even accommodate the 'industry standard' for 'regular' sizing. Also, if I were to get your biggest size offered (40.5" hip), I wo... Read Moreuld also need to grow 5 inches. Do people usually gain height as their hips get bigger? I love Patagonia as a brand, but please don't fall into the Skinny People Only athletic wear trap. Encouraging movement while discriminating against anyone with hips is really disappointing.

Response from Patagonia
November 30, 2021

Hi Zoe, thank you very much for taking the time to write this review and we are sorry the R4 Yulex didn't work out for you. We resonate with your frustration and please know we take this feedback seriously. We have no doubts that people of all shapes and sizes get outdoors and can benefit from our products. Over the past several years, we've begun to broaden our sizes and it is our goal to continue this to make our clothing more accessible. When making the decision to create more sizes, one main factor we've considered is the environment from a demand standpoint. It has taken some time to quantify the demand and ensure we are making environmentally responsible orders when it comes to production. Feedback like this is so helpful during this process so we can understand the demand, and we thank you again for that. Please note, all of our items are covered under our Ironclad Guarantee, so you are welcome to [return]( this at any time.

October 14, 2021

Cold and inadequate fit

** size 2 wetsuit** I just purchased one yesterday and wore it for the first time. I am not stoked on it. Mind you, I have been surfing for 15 years in cold water (Tofino) and decided to try Patagonia for the first time. The suit fits good in the legs but so incredibly tight in the arms I lose circulation in my hands..they turned blue?! I'm su... Read Morere it stretches eventually, but the slanted zipper is so long that it ends right next to the armpits. I got chafing I after 30 minutes from extending my arms to paddle. Not sure if the zipper was sized appropriately to fit a smaller chest width. I was also incredibly cold! The ocean today is 11°C. The water entered my suit so fast and left the suit just as fast. ZERO wind resilience, so I got even colder. I am just extremely disappointed considering the price point. I can't say I'll purchase a Patagonia suit again and will be putting this one up for sale as I don't want wear this one again.. I wanted to provide feedback for the company, So that perhaps changes can be made in the upcoming designs and could peak my interest once more.

Response from Patagonia
October 19, 2021

We appreciate your thoughtful and detailed feedback, Alyssa! We're very sorry for the disappointing wetsuit experience. We'll reach out to you privately to discuss options for you.

April 26, 2021

Fit is off

I was so excited to get this suit, the water temperature in my town has been hovering in the upper 40s to low 50s all spring. Im 58, 135 lbs, with a thin athletic surfers build. I purchased a size 8. Im feeling really disappointed with the fit. Some of it is manageable but some it was a deal breaker for me. Im desperate for a warm suit though (and... Read More trying to avoid neoprene) so I ended up taking my suit to a local seamstress to get it adjusted. I havent gotten it back yet so hopefully itll work out. The manageable part of the fit: the hood is really tight but the suit felt leaps and bounds warmer than my 5mm suit I have from another company Im not sure how much Ill use it, I may try to stretch it like another reviewer. The shoulders also were a bit tight but it seemed okay when I tried it in the water. The legs feel fine. The unmanageable part: the midsection! There was so much extra material in the middle I found it hard to move like I normally do when I surf, I went in on my first wave because I couldnt stand it when I tried the suit. For the reasons above on shoulders I dont think I couldve gone any smaller. When I took this to the seamstress, she estimated taking about 2 1/2 inches out of the length of the torso on the front, 1 1/2 inches out of the length of the back and the sides. Im so disappointed its so hard to find a high quality suit for women that fit. I surf nearly every day in cold water and have overall been disappointed with most wetsuit companies with their quality. I really would like to see an improvement in fit especially for the price since there are so many good things about this suit that matter to me (the material, quality, environmental impact).

March 5, 2021

Ditto to the previous reviews

Disclaimer: I have only TRIED this suit on one time and not actually used it. I am 5ft. 6 in., 155 lbs with broad shoulders. The size chart and reviews pointed me to a size 12 for the mere fact that I have broad shoulders and I was scared about the neck being tight and being able to remove this. I was able to get into the suit easily and it feels ... Read Morepretty good until I put the hood on. My neck certainly isn't large by any means and the seam is across the neck in a way that there is pressure making it really tight. I was able to remove the hood myself and thought that I would be able to get out of this on my own but I couldn't. I tried so hard, I was determined to get the suit off my shoulders. I thought the zip design would work and it was pretty easy to get into. I was sweating and came out defeated, I couldn't get out. I also have some extra wetsuit material that is too loose in my midsection and pelvic area because the 12 is a tad too big here but a little tight in the shoulders. I am not going to return this obviously because that would be disgusting after my sweating episode. I really hope that after some use it loosens up and that I can tolerate the neck tightness. I currently am putting a little stretch on the neck hoping that I can at least wear this swimming in the water a bit enough to stretch it out so I can still breathe and that I am comfortable enough breathing when doing water sports!

January 5, 2021

Wishing there was a women's R5 wetsuit!

Thank you for constantly improving your gear Patagonia! Glad for a chance to provide input and so here goes.... While the material is soft and comfortable and the wetsuit does the job and keeps me warm while surfing in windy New England conditions -- I do go out all year round and would have preferred an R5. I am not alone in being a woman who surf... Read Mores (or dives) in the winter and this begs the question, "Why isn't Patagonia making an R5 for women?" The other factor that keeps this wetsuit from getting 5-stars is the suit's narrow shoulders and tight arms. Man, is it hard to peel off after a session!! The first time I wore it I was nearly in tears trying to get out of the suit after leaving the water. It has stretched a little after about a dozen wears, but without a rash guard underneath, I find it super challenging to get out of this suit. Broader shoulders and/or strategically placed pull tabs would make this wetsuit a winner all around! (Pull tabs on the wrists to pull the sleeves over gloves would also be an amazing addition for mittened winter surfers!)

Response from Patagonia
February 11, 2021

Thanks for the detailed feedback. We'll let our surf team know your suggestions for the pull tabs and the fit.

December 8, 2020

Love Patagonia, but not this suit

I was super stoked to try this suit, as I'm very supportive of Patagonia and how they operate as a company . Much as I wanted the sustainability this suit provides, it just doesn't fit well on me. I normally wear an O'Neill size 10, which fits perfectly. This size 10 fit well up to the bust (I'm a 38" DD, American size), b... Read Moreut was so tight over the chest it required a fair bit of a valiant effort to pull up. It was then, of course, too tight across the shoulders, as well. The hood was the worst, 'tho. The neck is tight. Really tight. Aggressively choking you tight. Pulling the hood down, which is how I surf 95% of the time, actually makes it worse. After having my roomie help me escape from the suit I sent it back and tried a size 12. The 12 was too big up to the bust, better over the bust and shoulders, but still hostile to the idea of breathing. I should also mention that when the hood is up, the chin part fits so high and tightly that it pushed my bottom lip up almost under my top lip. I'm not confident I could open my mouth enough to get that big gasp of air that sees one through the occasional a*-handing. That being said, the non-choky parts of the suit were super cozy and definitely felt like they would have been warm enough in PNW waters. If you know already that Patagonia suits fit you well, or you'd just like a highly entertaining fitting session, I actually would recommend giving this suit a go. It just wasn't for me. Know what doesn't choke you? A mask. Stay healthy, everyone! :)

December 7, 2020

Warm and comfy!

Bought 3 Patagonia R4 wetsuits for self, husband and daughter. Wow! We all love them. Northern Washington Strait of Juan de Fuca water is no match for this wetsuit. We've worn them surfing and SUPing and wow. Comfortable and warm. My daughter and I do need help getting the hood off - it's really difficult - but it's getting easier wi... Read Moreth time. We used the size chart and my 5'8" 140 lb husband got the small and my daughter and I are both 5'4" / 5'6" and 117 lbs and the size 6 is perfect. Yay. We purchased them from a Patagonia dealer in Oregon. Couldn't be happier!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches