Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Torrentshell 3L City Rain Coat

Write Your Review

4.4/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 85 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Torrentshell 3L City Rain Coat

4.4/5
June 27, 2022

Happy with my raincoat in the end

I ordered a medium and was surprised and disappointed at how small this raincoat ran. I returned it and exchanged it for a large which fits perfectly, feels and looks great. Im very happy with it.

June 12, 2022

Love the look and feel of this raincoat

Im normally a medium and was surprised that this raincoat runs so small. I returned it and got a large which fits fine. Im very happy with the choice of pumice - light tan, looks and feels great. Cant wait for a rainy day.

May 27, 2022

City Rain Coat

Perfect for spring and transitioning into summer. Great color!

May 25, 2022

Bring back Yosemite trench with nicer lining!

This looks like the Yosemite trench Patagonia used to make in that it is longer and the material is a little softer than their other rain jackets. However, the inside is horrible! It literally feels like you are wearing a plastic trash bag, and is particularity bad during the Spring/Summer months when clothing material is thinner so you can feel th... Read Moree inside of this jacket on your skin. I honestly do not know why Patagonia changed to this lining, but for the $$, it feels and looks gross. Did I mention it peels and flakes when you wash it. Consider this a PSA: Patagonia, bring back the Yosemite trench or change this gross lining!

May 18, 2022

Great Coat - Hood could be Improved

This overall fit and function of this raincoat has been great for me, with a few areas of improvement for Patagonia to consider. I love the length which covers the booty, and the design of the sleeve cuffs, which have just a touch of elastic so they aren't slopping down over your hand. The hood could use improvement - for someone with high-vol... Read Moreume hair, there is simply not enough room in the hood. With the hood up, it feels like the whole coat is hanging off the top of my head, rather than my shoulders. If Patagonia doesn't want accommodate high-volume hair in its standard hood, please consider designing detachable hoods with different volume options for different people. Despite this, still a great coat for me for now.

May 10, 2022

Rain Coat

I liked the coat but the arms were tight even in the L size. There was limited arm movement and tight across the back.

Response from Patagonia
May 13, 2022

We're truly sorry to hear Women's Torrentshell 3L City Coat has a tight fit in the arm. We went ahead and reached out to you via email to offer some help with your return. We also passed your thoughts along to our Design Team. Thank you so much for your feedback.

May 6, 2022

XS

Slightly long but otherwise works well

May 6, 2022

Sleek, lightweight and waterproof

I love this latest version of the torrentshell because its so versatile. Its still a little crunchy with movement but all the added updates on the hood, zippers and style make it worth it. I use this for walking, errands, yard work, and day hiking. I like that I can bend over or reach into my trunk and stay covered and dry. The cut and length allow... Read More me to wear my nano air, better sweater or long cardigan underneath for extra warmth as needed while also providing breathable lightweight insulation on its own. It takes up little space and weight when packed. Im 57 with a build that is leaner up top and sturdier from the waist down. Im typically between a small and medium in Patagonias regular fit. I wear a medium in their slim fit. Special thanks to Ruth in Seattle for going the extra mile in helping me find this when my own online search failed. I received it from out of state within 48hours of ordering it from her.

May 3, 2022

Functional and flattering

I love the fit. Keeps me comfy and dry. Looks great. Flattering fit. Well made. Highly recommend

May 3, 2022

Great quality and looks sleek

This raincoat is light, modern and perfect for rainy days in Spring! Not only did I feel well protected, the style is sleek and perfect for the city!

April 24, 2022

Too small for me

Ordered this as a coat to wear dog walking in the city. Ran too small to keep but seemed like a great jacket. Maybe you can make an XXL.

April 20, 2022

Too tight

I bought the small because the medium was too large for me. The small is too tight for layering. I am very slender and find that most Patagonia jackets and vests are too wide at the bust and too narrow at the hips. The toggle for adjusting the hood was sewn into the body of the hood and the hood could not be adjusted. The inner pocket is too narrow... Read More to be practical. I am going to return this jacket.

April 18, 2022

Feels like rubber

Very rubbery feeling. It was obviously used. Not well packed, very wrinkled, had a personal item in the pocket.

April 13, 2022

Style and Function

Appreciate the minimalist style for work and travel.

April 11, 2022

Great coat

I love the length and fit of this coat and it keeps me dry dying downpours. I have enough room to fit a fleece or puffer underneath when it is too chilly. Only downside is the size of the hood. If I have my hair in a ponytail the hood cannot cover my entire head, not a dealbreaker for me though.

April 1, 2022

great jacket

I returned mine only because I was in between 2 sizes but otherwise it is a great jacket. Patagonia is a wonderful company, in terms of their "footprint".

March 30, 2022

Pricey, but better quality than other brands

Had to exchange the medium for a large; I normally wear a size 6, but the M coat was way too tight. Large fits much better, but am surprised by the narrow wrists. I have small wrists and the sleeve wrists have barely any stretch, which means gloves wont fit inside the sleeve. Overall the coat appears to be good construction, better than my water ... Read Moreresistant wind breaker.

March 18, 2022

Perfect raincoat

Bought this as a replacement for the shorter version of this same jacket that I had previously owned. I never carry an umbrella when I wear this coat. Its not needed. This jacket fits perfectly, sleeves are just the right length. Even in a size small, I have room to move my arms. Great color and super waterproof. I love the fleece-lined pockets!

March 11, 2022

Excellent quality

This raincoat is very tough and well engineered. I wear a small in Patagonia clothing and this fits perfectly, looks great. I'm 5'1", slim with broad shoulders and not a lot of hip. It hits above my knee. My nano puff fits easily underneath if need be.

March 9, 2022

Sleek and Effective

I really enjoy the fit, and it can be dressed up more than other rain jackets I have. Love the pinkish color, keeps me feeling cheery on dreary Seattle days!

March 8, 2022

Waterproof rain jacket

I looked everywhere for a stylish waterproof jacket to wear to my travels through the rainy Scottish highlands. I am so glad I found this. I love everything about it. I originally bought size medium and it fit well but I exchanged it for an L as a looser fit may allow me to wear warmer things under and even hide my purse if needed. The exchange pro... Read Morecess was super easy and quick. Id buy this all over again.

February 8, 2022

perfect, just a little small

I love this jacket! love how long it is, and for a shell, it is still very warm. Keeps me dry. the only thing is that it is a little smaller than I expected for a medium. I am always between a small and a medium, and this jacket was not small enough for me to return it, but in my opinion it runs just a little snug.

January 26, 2022

too snug

a city rain jacket should allow for some movement...in and out of cabs etc. This has a snug fit. I am a size 12 or med and the large was too snug. Great quality.

Response from Patagonia
January 28, 2022

Thank you for sharing this review! We're sorry that coat was too snug for your needs. We want you to be happy with everything you purchase from us, and if you like we'll be happy to help you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it.

January 21, 2022

Disappointed

I loved my old raincoat until eventually the inner lining began peeling away, and so I retired it. This newer version does not have the same details and comfort level as my previous one. In addition I feel that its quality is lacking and not worth the $$

Response from Patagonia
January 25, 2022

Hi Karen, thank you for this review. We're sorry to hear the Torrentshell 3L City Rain Coat isn't working for you! Please keep in mind you are always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) anything that doesn’t work out for you. Please reach out to our Customer Service Team if we can be of any help! What you were seeing with your previous jacket is called delamination. This can happen when contaminants like dirt, sweat, or oils from skin start to slowly separate the waterproof laminate from the outer fabric. A good way to prevent this from happening to the next jacket is to wash it more frequently. Depending on how often it's used, we suggest washing at least a couple of times per season. Here are some general care instructions for waterproof gear: machine wash warm, do not bleach, tumble dry low, warm iron, do not use fabric softeners. A performance detergent is preferable (Storm Clothing Wash, Nikwax Tech Wash, etc.), but any gentle detergent will do the trick. A post-wash tumble dry on low heat for 20 minutes will help revive the water repellent DWR finish. If the water repellent finish ever begins to fail DWR can be restored with a performance spray or wash-in treatment such as Storm Eco Proofer or Nikwax.

December 16, 2021

Great looking, practical

Bought this coat on sale in September 2021 for $114 based on reviews from dog walkers. The size Medium fits a slender, athletic 5-5 125lbs with a slim flattering line but room to move arms freely with a warm layer under it. My granddaughter loved the look and Hyssop Purple color immediately, and reports that she stays completely dry in this coat. T... Read Moreotal success.

December 5, 2021

Safety first

I like the length and shape of this coat but I wish you offered it in bright white. Hope you will consider how many of us are dog walkers. For years I have had a white Patagonia jacket (with a wonderful light quilted lining - where are those?). I wear it at night because it helps us be seen. Please offer more bright white, reflective clothing pleas... Read Moree, at least for non-ski wear like this coat. And please add Dog Walking as a category of use - you will learn a lot if you do.

Response from Patagonia
December 9, 2021

Hello Edith! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We really appreciate you sharing this feedback with us. We'll pass this along to our design crew!

November 30, 2021

Perfect Rain Coat

I love the color, fit and style of the coat. It is perfect for the wet weather.

November 29, 2021

Nice jacket

I love the length & thickness of this jacket. Im 56, 140# & got the large. Theres plenty of room for layering. Typically I wear a large in Patagonia but I probably could have fit into a medium with this jacket. Overall the fit doesnt look awkward though. I wish the inside pocket was a little larger or maybe have another pocket lower on the ... Read Moreinside to fit my phone better. Overall Im very pleased with this jacket for my new adventures in the PNW.

November 19, 2021

Attractive and effective

I love this jacket. It co tours somewhat to my body with its sleek lines and attractive color.

November 19, 2021

Ok quality

The hood kinda flies off in the rain and doesnt protect the face. Definitely wish the hood was longer on top to cover more of the face.

Response from Patagonia
November 26, 2021

Hello Anastasia, we appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. You may want to tweak the two-way hood adjustments to ensure a secure fit during rainy and windy conditions. Please feel free to [contact us](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) if you have any questions.

November 17, 2021

Arrived a crumpled mess

The coat arrived a crumpled mess. Understanding that its a shell, it felt very thin and like the seams wouldnt hold up more than a season or two. To me, it wasnt worth the money to find out.

Response from Patagonia
November 24, 2021

We're sorry to hear this coat was a disappointment. We'd be happy to help you return it. Also note that your purchase is covered by our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee), so if it does not perform, you would also be welcome to return.

November 17, 2021

Nice coat...too small

I had to return it...way too tight. I have so many OLD Patagonia jackets, vests etc. they all fit.size S Alas, some years ago you changed your cut and I am sorry. Fortunately, my five year old down jacket and nano jacket are still great!

Response from Patagonia
November 23, 2021

Hello Margaret! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that the rain coat didn't fit like some of your older jackets. We'll pass this feedback along to our design team to keep in mind for future seasons. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

November 14, 2021

Great Fit! Love the Length!

The raincoat is long and fits great. I was able to wear a sweater underneath.

November 13, 2021

So waterproof!!!

Replaced my leaky raincoat with THIS. Cant wait to work outside in the rain and stay dry! Perfectly sheds water and looks cute with the gather at the lower back :) only recommendation to Patagonia is to make the hood longer.

November 13, 2021

It's actually waterproof, no kidding.

I received this rain coat just in time for this fall's freakishly intense downpours that we've had here in Portland. Being someone who walks or bikes everywhere, I've been caught away from home in a couple of them. The inside of the coat has stayed completely dry. I am really happy with this purchase.

November 4, 2021

It's so-so, expected better for the price tag

I had high hopes but I'm a little disappointed. It's not terrible and it gets the job done (you'll stay dry) but there's a lot of things I think could be better. I wish the hood was a little bigger and extended over the top of the head a little more. I have to wear a baseball cap for the brim to keep the rain out of my face. I b... Read Moreought a size larger because I wanted to layer underneath. The size is mostly good except for the armpit area. If you wear anything thicker than a light tee, you'll feel uncomfortable bunching in these underarm areas as it is too tight and there are no vents so you can't make it roomier. Pocket placement is a little awkward and wish they were lined with something warmer. Inside pocket is on the small side.

Response from Patagonia
November 20, 2021

We're sorry to hear you're disappointed. We offer a few [other styles](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/womens-waterproof-rain-jackets-vests) that might work better for you, so don't hesitate to reach out to our team to discuss a return or exchange. Your feedback is valuable so thanks for the review Sara!

November 3, 2021

Comfy and Dry!

I use this jacket in both the front and back country. It's actually great for backpacking trips where I don't need to go ultralight because it is a little longer than a standard hip-length jacket, and it's still pretty light. Has kept me dry this far!

November 3, 2021

Great walking coat

I initially found myself "hunching" to avoid getting rain on my face. The hood would slide back and I had to keep pulling it forward. However, tightening the toggles near the chin helped significantly and now I enjoy wearing this coat. If preserving your peripheral vision is important to you, you'll probably like this one - the brimm... Read Moreed hood style means I can see to the sides better than with my last coat which means less twisting around to check for traffic at road crossings. The coat hits me just below mid-thigh (I'm 5'5"); I was originally hoping to buy a knee-length coat but couldn't find one I liked, so I'm glad this one hits me a bit lower than I was expecting. The double zipper makes it easy to walk in despite the length. I like the angled sleeve cuffs, the softly-lined pockets, and the blue colour. Only remaining quibble is that the loop for hanging the coat is seriously tiny; maybe I just got a wonky one? There are few hooks it fits over, and only with extra attention.

October 16, 2021

Great cut!

Great cut, a touch lower in the back, higher in the front, little longer on the top hand part of the sleeve. Super light weight! Cant wait to try it in rainy weather

October 10, 2021

Classy raincoat

Snug fit, the green olive color is pretty.. just wish there was a visible logo.

October 9, 2021

Super light and waterproof

This is my second rain coat from Patagonia I love it for traveling- looks great and long enough to walk around n the rain It does run tight for me - I ordered up to XL from L because I want to wear fleece under it.

October 5, 2021

Winner winner

I ordered this jacket expecting to try it on and return it. It was on sale and there was only one left. I figured I better grab it to try just in caseand holy smokes Im glad I did. Im petite and around 110, so Im between XS and S. The S works great on its own and it fits over my Radalie parka from a few years back. Its even long enough to keep my... Read More thighs dry on rainy walks around the city, which is perfect for living in Portland.

September 16, 2021

Nearly perfect

Waterproof and stylish, love the long sleeves, the flattering silhouette, the deep outside pockets, and generous hood. My only complaint is that the inner chest pocket is way too small for a phone. I won't buy jackets or coats without inside pockets (or drop-in pockets for fleece). My favorite part of cold-weather walks is being able to use m... Read Morey phone with wired headphones. But that only works if there's a usable inner pocket. So I have to wear a fleece with this raincoat to hold my phone. Otherwise, it's perfect. The purple color is gorgeous, much more interesting than the black. (I'm 5'6", 118lbs, the size small is roomy enough for a long-sleeved shirt and a fleece underneath.)

September 16, 2021

Perfect rain parka

I have finally found the perfect rain parka! I wanted a rain coat that covered more of my body, especially when out playing with my kids (I always end up with a wet butt). This parka covers my butt even coming down to my thigh. I purchased a size large because I'm also wearing it over the Radalie Parka as an added wind and water protection lay... Read Moreer in the winter. I'm 5'11", 139 lbs, 32"bust, 31"waist, 37" hips, broad shoulders, long torso and arms. I would normally be a medium in this coat, but I prefer it to be roomy and I knew I wanted to wear it over the Radalie. The sleeves come down over the very top of my hands, which I love because coats are always too short in the arms on me. I'm looking forward to wearing this!

September 8, 2021

Did not fit me

This jacket is made for taller women probably. I'm 5'5 119lb and the pockets were waay too low for me. Still waiting for my return.

Response from Patagonia
September 17, 2021

Thanks for letting us know about the fit Velichka! We're sorry this one didn't work for you. You may prefer our [Women's Torrentshell 3L Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-torrentshell-3l-rain-jacket/85245.html) it's a shorter fit and may work better for you. Please reach out to our customer service team regarding your return. Thanks!

September 6, 2021

High Quality Waterproof Jacket that Looks Great!

This is extremely waterproof. The water beads up and runs off. It is not hot or uncomfortable. It fits so well and is actually quite flattering. I got it in a purple hue and it is beautiful and looks very good on. This is now my go-to raincoat.

August 26, 2021

Perfect Fit

I have despaired finding a raincoat that 1)actually repelled rain and kept me dry, even in a downpour 2) fit well 3) was designed with some style and panache. This checks all the boxes. I am 5 7, 138 lbs and the Medium fits beautifully, even with a thin sweater underneath. I love the length and slanted hem and sleeves. The blue is a lift on dreary ... Read Moredays but not so bright I will tire of it. I expect to enjoy wearing this coat for the rest of my life ( I am 74), so the coat was worth the cost. Quality product.

August 24, 2021

Just as described - true to size

Im 56 with measurements 32B, 28 waist, 38 hips and size small was perfect. Its roomy enough that I am able to wear a sweater under the jacket with some room for movement.

August 11, 2021

The perfect "city slicker"!

Super lightweight, fitted so it presents with a lot of style, hood is low profile for perfect urban look, love the length ... not too short, not to long ... just right!

July 9, 2021

Tight in armpits if you layer

This jacket is a great color and tapers very nicely so you dont look bulky. I live in Florida so I only need it for rain, but I see it could be too tight in the armpits if you layer up. The hood is really nice and stays in place. Seems waterproof to me. The zipper pockets are a plus especially the inside one at chest level. I am happy with this jac... Read Moreket.

July 7, 2021

Totally worth the $$$

I was very hesitant about the price once I got it, I would have paid it over and over again. I have very long arms and this accommodated me perfectly. Not a drop of water got on me in a huge downpour

June 22, 2021

Rainy day darling

This coat is a great length and practical for getting places without a soggy bottom. Medium is good with sweater underneath. I usually size up for outerwear with Patagonia.

June 19, 2021

A-line fit and flattering

I read a lot of the other reviews based on peoples height and weight to pick the size medium I chose. Im 55 and weight 142 pounds. It fits perfectly! You can only wear a t-shirt or one layer. Definitely cant wear a sweatshirt underneath. That may not be an issue for most people but I live in the North and some rainfalls get pretty chilly. The lengt... Read Moreh falls about mid thigh for me. And with the two-way zipper, I can open up the bottom some when I sit. The sleeve length falls exactly at the middle of my palm with my arms down. The cut of the jacket is A-line so that its fitted at the waist and flairs out a little at the bottom. When zipped all the way up, it does have a high neck like you would see on winter ski jackets. It will definitely keep the rain out.

Response from Patagonia
June 24, 2021

Thanks for your detailed and thoughtful feedback on fit, sizing and design! For colder climates, we recommend you layer with a thin fleece, wool sweater, down sweater, Capilene Air or R1 Air Crew. Another option would be to take a look at our 3-in-1 parkas which consist of an insulating coat that zips into an outer rain and snow shell like our "slim" fitting Vosque Parka. Please reach out to our Customer Service team if you have any questions. We're happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

June 14, 2021

Beautiful jacket

This Jacket is so cute, the fit is perfect, beautiful color. All around very satisfied with this jacket.

June 12, 2021

Nice length

Good length for us taller ladies. Sleeves hit almost first knuckles when arms by side. Flattering fit, but a bit tighter in hips yet still slightly loose in stomach area, straight cut and I am have a bit more curve. ..I love that the zipper can unzip from the bottom.!! Only real complaint is the hood brim is a little bit short for me. I like a loos... Read Moreer and larger hood for my hair and I do have a very large head. Overall happy with purchase.

May 29, 2021

Perfect fit, gorgeous color, repels hard rain, perfect for dog walks

I saw the CNN review on the top raincoats and torrent shell came out on top so i thought Id try it after having 2 prior coats for many years that no longer seemed to repel rain anymore. This one was the ticket. It looks gorgeous, especially the purple color, fits nicely and I dont need an umbrella. I love the double zipper so that i can unzip the b... Read Moreottom when sitting down. The sleeves have a nice asymmetrical design to them as well. Its crinkly like most rain coats yet thats what works for rain. I am about 112lbs 5 foot 1 inch tall and XS is perfect. I can fit a thicker layer under it like a sweater if i need and its not too tight in the chest or other places. If youre over average height, the sleeves may be too short.

May 21, 2021

Fantastic Jacket

Love it! I got a large (usually wear a medium in shirts) and I'm glad I did so I can layer in colder weather. Even though I sized up a tad it doesn't feel bulky at all, the cut is perfect. The material feels so durable and very well made. I love the raised collar, partially fleece-lined pockets, and longer sleeve at the back of the hand. ... Read MoreAll really nice and functional details.

May 10, 2021

Misleading product description

This is a really nice rain jacket. It was labeled as a city coat which implied that it had a warmer layer on the inside. I was disappointed that it did not since I am planning to use this to wear in London everyday.

May 9, 2021

Noice looking raincoat

I wanted a longer raincoat that I could wear with dresses. This one is perfect.

May 5, 2021

Fits Well, Very Waterproof!

I have tried many waterproof shells throughout the years, and this one so far has exceeded expectations! I've worn it in multiple heavy spring rains without any issue. The water beads immediately upon contact. The fabric over zippers also reduces wind, and I love that the pockets are lined with a fuzzy material - I don't have to worry abo... Read Moreut anything getting scratched. I also really like the hood (what's with companies making rain coats without hoods??), since it protects my face well.

May 5, 2021

For tall, with no hips

Sleeves waaay too long, even for a nonshort person. Does not come in petite sizing. Tight around hips/rear. So loud and crunchy you'd scare away wildlife.

May 3, 2021

Perfect layer over my radalie parka

I bought this in preparation to my move to western Washington. It is a nice fit and like that the khaki color looks a bit dressy. It fits perfect over my radalie parka.

May 3, 2021

Classic and Functional

Simple, stylish and functional. Blocks wind and rain without looking like you're about to head out on the trail.

April 30, 2021

Nice cut and versatile

I didn't need a raincoat, but I wanted something long enough to wear over leggings and a tunic. My other outerwear was either too long and heavy or too short. The cut of this is perfect, and the raincoat character has already come in handy. I appreciate the two way zipper and appreciate that the medium zips closed over my biggish hips without ... Read Morethe shoulders being sloppy The one modification I would appreciate would be a way to make the hood smaller, i.e., to sit back farther on my head. My windbreaker has a tab on the back of the hood that shortens it, which makes that hood perfect for my smallish head. The drawstring in this hood helps to snug it up, but the front of the hood still sticks out way too far for my head. I might be able to improvise something.

April 26, 2021

Nice cut and a lovely color

I am 5'9, 120lbs. I always buy an XS in Patagonia gear and usually my only complaint is that the arms are a bit short. The XS in this rain jacket was too snug over a light fleece so I went with the S. The arms also could be longer on both the XS and S. But the fitted cut and longer length are great and it seems well-made.. The shoulders are &q... Read Moreuot;slim fit" and might be a problem if you are very broad. The purple color is lovely. I will wear during spring, summer and early fall backcountry hikes and runs, as well as casually.

April 24, 2021

Warweproof

It fits well and its comfortable

April 12, 2021

A Bit Too Slim

I loved the jacket and was tempted to keep it, but.. The jacket was the correct size, just too slim for me, primarily in the bust region. Hips and waist were okay. I am 143 #. My other 3 Patagonia jackets in medium fit well. Loved the length ( I don't like tunics always sticking out of my jackets like some ruffle) and that it was rain and wind... Read More-proof. The lavender color was a refreshing, light color and I was ready for it after winter and it is a lighter-weight jacket. If it had had pit zips I might have stuck with it anyway, but it was just too close overall in the top of the jacket. Could have worn only a standard tee underneath, comfortably.

April 8, 2021

Useful length, pretty color, excellent quality

I was looking for a longer rain jacket I could use for backcountry trail running and hiking. This jackets works we'll. I am 5'9+, 120 and usually take an XS in Patagonia jackets. I purchased this jacket in XS and S. The XS was fine with just a tee but was too snug with my r1 (not heavy) fleece underneath. The S was a better fit but arms s... Read Morelightly too short. I purchased the lilac color. In person, a lovely color. The jacket is flattering and fitted and will fine for hiking and trail runs in the rain.

April 3, 2021

Keeps you dry

I use this jacket for casual wear and dog walking. The length is great, keeps the legs dry. Its a great lighter weight rain jacket for those warmer days, but can also wear a lightweight sweater or thinner fleece if cooler. Ive gotten compliments on the color and fit. Definitely recommend this rain jacket!

March 30, 2021

2nd try better

I was attracted to the muted lavender purple color of this raincoat and bought it in SML which usually fits. The small had a more slim fit thru the shoulders and waist so I ended up getting the medium. I think it would be more accurate to describe this as a slim fit than a regular fit. Being 53, I wish there was a petite version because slightly s... Read Morehorter would be more proportional for me. There was a city coat that was the perfect length but discontinued years ago that I loved and this is the closest replacement I have found so far. I would have loved some pit zippers because I think this could get warm.. especially in Hawaii... lol. Still cant wait to use this on a windy rainy day...

March 25, 2021

Nice fit

Good raincoat does the job and fits well. However it came folded and the fold lines won't come out. Crinkly noise when you move, material is kind of like a hard plastic. Could have been a little more supple.

March 20, 2021

Perfect medium (for me at least)

After reading a number of reviews, I was somewhat hesitant to order a medium because a number of reviews stated the coat size ran small. I took a look at the size chart provided on the site, I measured hips, waist, and chest (although no one needs to remind themselves their hips are a little wide, haha). I even took advantage of the online chat and... Read More spoke with a wonderful rep, Ryan. He was super helpful and very knowledgeable about the product. I asked him a number of questions, one being if a fleece vest would fit under this coat comfortably and he assured me it would. I also figured if it did run small, i could return it for the large. But I had full faith in the Patagonia size chart and Ryan, so I placed my order for the Torrentshell 3L City Rain Coat - MEDIUM. Four days later the coat arrived!! I opened the package and immediately tried it on. I already had on my fleece vest that I would wear under it on chilly days and donned the coat - it fit like a charm! It's meant to be fitted/have a fitted look, but I had sufficient room in the hips and shoulders. When I removed the vest, the coat had plenty of roominess. My recommendation would be measure yourself before you order and make sure your measurements fall in the range of the size chart. Great coat, I can't wait to wear it when it's raining! Thank you Patagonia and Ryan!

March 11, 2021

perfect for layering on the raining days Great length just above my knees

have only worn this once as CA is lacking rain, but i really liked the fit and how i could layer a down vest underneath . The length is perfect for walking in the rain! Yes i recommend this rain coat!

March 3, 2021

A nice rain jacket, but not a coat.

I ordered this thinking it would be a warm coat, alas, it's just a rain jacket. I ended up keeping it because I like it a lot as a rain jacket, but I had to order something else for warmth.

February 24, 2021

Beautiful Rain Coat

Loved the Color a light purple.. It was too fitted in the waist.. I had to Return it.. Regular Fit??

Response from Patagonia
March 10, 2021

Hey there, thanks for the review. For future, size swaps are super easy with our exchange process. To get started on an exchange, please click [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

January 30, 2021

Great rain jacket

I grew up in the PNW but currently live in the Bay Area where we don't see much rain. My old longer rain jacket is a size XS and has been very tight /unwearable with my recent covid weight. We just had a week of rain and I really needed something that would protect me while I walk my dog, plus I am finally moving back to the NW later this year... Read More so I knew I'd need a good raincoat. This one fits the bill! It is a good length, very waterproof, comfortable, and stylish. I love the blue color. I ordered a L (I am 5'4'', ~145lbs mostly athletic build with some extra tummy fat thanks to covid) and normally wear a L in tops/jackets from Patagonia. I would say that this fits like a true L. I had some room to spare inside but as I prefer to be able to layer in case it is cold and rainy, this was ideal. Definitely recommend this coat!

January 26, 2021

Perfect raincoat for rainy Portland Oregon

We don't use umbrellas in Portland, so having a perfect raincoat is essential. And this is the perfect raincoat. I wear it over a suit for business, and over workout clothes for a hike or walking to the grocery store. I hope Patagonia makes this silhouette forever!

January 17, 2021

Rainy day hikes

I am really impressed with this coats fit and easy grace from hiking at the beach to work. Nice fit overall, double opening zipper makes this transition possible. Am puzzled by the chest pocket, not much of anything fits in it easily. Love the lavender color.

December 6, 2020

Love this rain coat

I love this rain coat! Im 52 & 125-130lbs. I ordered a small in the purple. The color is beautiful; better than expected even. Fit is great. I love the tapered cuffs. The collar stands straight and at the perfect height as it doesnt sit too low or hit my chin. The hoodie actually covers my face from the rain and stays in place when Im rushing a... Read Moreround, which is great. Its an ideal length for providing good coverage while not drowning my smaller frame out. Its really a cute, sophisticated looking rain jacket. Its lightweight and thin but with a sweater underneath, it keeps me warm. Perfect for Southern California and our rarer rainy days and cold windy days. Would definitely recommend.

November 19, 2020

Dog Walking Jacket

I was trying to find a perfect jacket to throw on for dog walks that would keep my legs a little drier in drizzly weather. I ordered a medium, which is my normal size, but needed to size up so I could layer underneath. Love the hood, the sleeves, and the length. Wish it had pit zips as I get warm during a long walk, but understand this is not s sup... Read Moreer technical piece.

November 17, 2020

Excellent Rain Jacket

I wanted a feminine rain jacket, that had 2 zippers to allow movement at the bottom. Also wanted zipped pockets to secure my phone and keys when in the rain. I'm completely dry in this jacket. Which is exactly what I wanted. I looked at several brands and chose this one due to the above functionality. I am very pleased with my purchase.

November 17, 2020

Love it!

If anyone else is primarily sizing based on (large) bust measurements, it seems you can size down based on your other measurements and get a great fit. I'm 5'3", 120 pounds, and usually wear a size 4 in other brands (35" bust/26.5" waist/35" hips). I initially ordered the S because I was on the upper side of the listed... Read More chest measurements, but found it was pretty baggy. The XS fits me perfectly even though the listed bust measurements are 2-3" smaller than my measurements. Now that I found my size, I've found the sizing to be consistent and very thoughtful across products. I am using this as an outer shell and didn't need to "order up a size" to account for layering. I also got an XS Better Sweater (a fitted, very thick sweater). This rain jacket fits nicely if I'm wearing just a T-shirt underneath AND when I'm wearing my Better Sweater underneath. I can also switch out the sweater for a down jacket for colder temps and still have a good fit. The fit is great for a shell - it is neither baggy nor constricting with different levels of layering. I love the hyssop purple color. I was worried it would be too grey (it can be hard to tell from pictures), but it is a really lovely, soft purple color. The coat hits a few inches above my knees, which is perfect, since I am wearing it for city use and usually won't be wearing rain pants. I appreciate the attention to detail (handwarmer pockets, double sided zipper for sitting down, very adjustable hood to get a good fit). Also appreciate the sustainability mission and that I'll be able to repair it anytime I need to in the future. Very pleased! Thank you!

November 12, 2020

Sophisticated look for rainy days

I am always out walking the dog rain or shine, so I needed something that could withstand torrential downpours. This jacket is exactly what I was looking for. It is very slimming and figure flattering, yet still does the job of being waterproof. It has a very clean, modern look. Im happy I finally found something waterproof that doesnt look like a ... Read Moregarbage bag on me! I read some reviews that the material is loud and stiff, but I dont find that to be the case. It is more of a substantial weight rain coat material, which to me means it works well in the rain. Im 5 foot 4 inches and typically wear XS. This fits perfectly and hits above my knee.

October 29, 2020

Patagonia Never Disappoints!

I absolutely love this coat! Patagonia never disappoints when it comes to function and performance. True to form, this coat is amazing in the pouring rain. I've worn it on long walks with my dog in the pouring rain and come home perfectly dry. What a particularly like beyond the performance is the fashionable styling with a fitted form, decora... Read Moretive stitching, and lined pockets. This is the perfect balance of high quality rain gear with casual wear appeal for city living. I highly recommend this coat!

February 21, 2020

Great for rain and as a windbreaker.

Oh my gosh, do I like this coat. It covers very well, keeps the wind from getting through and is great in the rain.. The hood is much appreciated. It is roomy enough to wear a warmer garment underneath. I usually wear either my macro jacket under or my TechFace Hoody if it is cold, and if not, by itself on a windy day. I am snug and warm. Am I glad... Read More I bought this rain coat!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches