burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx

Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Tropic Comfort Hoody II

Write Your Review

4.8/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 462 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Tropic Comfort Hoody II

4.8/5
True To Size
May 13, 2022

Okay fit, great material

Looks good overall but the cuffs on the sleeve and neck are super tight. Runs a bit small but works overall. Great material, cool in hot weather.

Response from Patagonia
May 16, 2022

Thank you for sharing this review, Nicholas. If you ever decide this hoody isn't the fit you're looking for, please remember we'll be happy to help you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it.

April 21, 2022

Super comfy

I was worried they had changed the fit after reading a couple of reviews to that affect. This is my 4th one and I dont notice a difference. Its my go to shirt for most of summer.

April 12, 2022

My go to guiding shirt

My go to guide warm weather guiding shirt. The fit is great, protects me from the sun and is durable.

March 29, 2022

BRING IT BACK!!!!!

This hoody was way better than the Capilene Cool Hoody, the fit, features, and comfort is in every way better on the Tropic Comfort 2. I've had a few skin cancers cut out of me, so I've gone to exclusively wearing sun shirts. I've gone through mulitple different brands of sun hoodies, and I thought I found my winner with the Tropic... Read More Comfort 2. If I would of known they were going to be discontinued, I would of bought another 7-8 more! The material and cut on the Tropic Comfort 2, along with the button closure, and thumb loop holes make it a far superior and comfortable shirt. PLEASE reconsider bringing this back. It really is THAT much better than the Capilene Cool Hoody.

March 23, 2022

Perfect

Perfect travel hoody. I wore it on a 8 hour plane ride to Hawaii. Soft light and just perfect.

March 21, 2022

Shirt

Love it!!

March 20, 2022

the perfect shirt for hot sunny days

Great fit, large hood for plenty of sun coverage, lightweight fabric. LOVE this! It's my third one.

March 18, 2022

Great way to beat the sun

This is a great shirt to wear on a sunny day when out for a hike or walk. Sun protection is a must here is Arizona and this shirt does it in style. Material is super lightweight and feels almost cool on your skin. I am a Patagonia medium across the board for all tops and this one fits spot on. The light blue is a great color and the fish graphic on... Read More the back gives it the right amount of flare.

March 18, 2022

Very lightweight and fitted

Nice shirt overall but since it is a very thin material it is rather clingy. To bad it doesn't have a pocket like my daughter s does. Definitely will help with sun protection which is the reason for my purchase.

March 17, 2022

Super comfy, super light

I bought one of these hoodies and wore it non-stop for a week (I work from home). No smell, so comfortable. I bought another. This is a perfect backpacking under layer. I breathes very well, inhibits smell to a freaky degree, slides under everything very easily, and provides skin shading when needed. For someone carrying a bit of extra under-skin ... Read Moreinsulation the tropic weight is perfect. I have a similar generic hoodie that's a quarter the price but doesn't breathe and doesn't move or drape like this. Highly recommended!

March 17, 2022

Perfect Shirt for Florida Heat & Sun

If you are looking for a casual shirt that will keep the sun off you without being too hot, this is it. This immediately moved into the favorite shirt rotation. Fits great, looks great, feels great and battles sweat. Really happy with this purchase.

March 17, 2022

Great Sun Protection

Works great for various activities in the sun to help prevent UV exposure. Very light and comfortable as well.

March 16, 2022

So awesome - so much better than other brands

Ive tried other brands from outdoor companies - these two are so much better. They breathed so well - 90 degree heat in Belize and they were comfortable all day - in and out of the water.

March 16, 2022

Crazy comfortable

This is the second one of these that I have purchased. It is super comfortable, feels great on the skin, and keeps the sun off so I don't wear sunscreen. Dries fast too so great for the beach or hiking.

March 16, 2022

Great fit

Comfortable, easy to fish in.

March 16, 2022

Awesome hoody!

Great all around hoody, I wear it on morning spring/fall runs. Looks great dressed up too!

March 16, 2022

Fantastic Hoody

Really stylish and comfortable hoody that has washed and worn well. My only issue is Patagonia still makes clothes a little boxy for lean builds. This hoody is much more of an athletic cut than some pieces but a bit more would be great.

March 16, 2022

Solar protection on the flats

Heading out for 2 week sortie- flats fishing. The hoodies mitigate much of the reflective damage . Lightweight non-restrictive. I wear them instead of bug dope for long days on the water in the 907 as well.

March 16, 2022

Amazingly comfortable

I've got this hoodie for summer camping, and ended up using it as my hiking wear, daily wear, and as my work attire (I live and work in SF Bay Area, so a hoodie can be considered business-casual here). Not the same hoodie, of course - I have 4 pairs. It is perfect for somewhat relaxed activities, due to its relaxed fit. It works both in wa... Read Morerm and cold (California cold) weather. Highly recommended.

March 15, 2022

Great alternative to sun screen

Was skeptical about these sun shirts but have come to love them. Standard sun ware for me even when it is hot when sun screen would clog my pores. Highly recommend this shirt.

March 15, 2022

Most comfortable hoodie!

I love the Tropic Comfort Hoodie. I bought it for fishing, but I find myself using it for hiking and casual wear too. The materiel is above and beyond better than other sun hoodies I own. Wish I could order more

March 15, 2022

Great

I love performance fabric hoodies and this one is great. It has a less athletic cut than the Cap Cool Daily which I also bought but returned. I would have preferred it to be less branded, but it was on sale. It is in the rotation.

March 15, 2022

Boyfriend loves it!

Bought this for my boyfriend and he absolutely loves it for fishing in Florida. It's lightweight and fits perfectly.

March 15, 2022

Great Added Piece

I bough this for a trip to Hawaii as a simple over layer and it was perfect for the mornings and evenings. Light weight and great fit.

March 15, 2022

My go-to top for fishing in Belize.

It's hot & humid in Belize. This is my go-to top for keeping cool and ventilated with the sun beating down. Good UPF also.

March 15, 2022

Comfy Apres Activity Wear

The material is amazingly comfortable and soft. Breathes nicely for warmer climates or for layering. Keep in mind this is a relaxed fit so if you prefer a more fitted look, you may want to size down. I'm 6'1" 190lbs and this fits comfortable and loose.

March 15, 2022

Great!!

Great fit, will be my go to fishing top.

March 15, 2022

Comfort Plus

I'd like this shirt in every color and style since it meets all my needs as a shirt to wear at school and work.

March 15, 2022

Lightweight waterside shirt

This shirt fits well and is incredibly light weight. The perfect shirt for hot days on the water.

March 15, 2022

Beach day

Perfect for anything under the sun. Love the hood, keeps the ears and back of the neck well protected.

March 15, 2022

great light layer

great light layer with SPF. wore it in the 80's on the beach. dries super fast. soft, comfortable. not baggy but not tight either.

March 15, 2022

Superb

Excellent shirts! Got them in many colors and prints. Very soft and comfortable. Tends to shrink after few washes, so size up

March 15, 2022

One of my favorite shirts

Love these shirts, comfy. Perfect in summer to block the Sun and not too hot and great in the winter beneath sweatshirts and or jackets.

March 14, 2022

Runs large.

I have the 1st generation Tropic Comfort Hoody, and I love it. It works great for all four seasons. However, the current version runs too large.

Response from Patagonia
March 22, 2022

Hi Joon, thank you for submitting this review. We're sorry you've found that hoody to be too large. It is shaped with a relaxed fit, but it sounds like in this case it was TOO relaxed. If you like, we'll be happy to help you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it.

March 14, 2022

Nice fit. Sun blocker on Rafting trips

The fit is perfect. I use it for a sun shield when hiking and on the water rafting, canoeing. It's light weight and cool for those hot sunny days.

March 10, 2022

PLEASE BRING THIS BACK!!

Such a great hoody!! I tried to go back and buy more for friends but unfortunately it was recalled due to some spf rating issue. Please bring this back!!

March 9, 2022

All Summer

All summer I will be wearing this! Perfect feel, size and color.

March 8, 2022

Perfect

Fit and quality as you would expect from Patagonia.

March 6, 2022

Quite possibly the best light hoody ever made.

I had never owned Patagonia clothing before this hoody. I bought it for fly fishing here in the Mountains of Montana almost 2 years ago. After wearing it a lot, and countless washings... it still looks as good as it did the day I purchased it. That alone would be reason enough to buy this hoody, but other reasons include great fit, extreme comfort,... Read More and it makes me look cooler than I really am. I like hiking in this shirt too because of the sun protection and it's breathability. I wish I could find more, I would buy one in every color.

March 4, 2022

Highly Valued Multi Purpose Top

I have worn this to warm up for tennis, hiking on slightly cool days, and walking in windy conditions at the beach, All in one week, This top is awesome.

March 4, 2022

My favorite in extreme heat

I am a fishing guide in the Florida keys. I have always worn collared shirts for the sun protection of my neck. I now prefer the Tropic Comfort Hoody as the hood also provides shade on the sides of my face and cuts glare to better see in the water. Much cooler than any bamboo shirt of the like. Love these shirts!

March 2, 2022

Good for travel

Great for travel in warm climates where the temperatures drops at night or a day on the boat. Easy and light to pack.

February 21, 2022

Hubby says super comfy

We have hooded sun shirts from a few different companies. I bought this shirt for my husband and he absolutely loves it. Its a regular-loose fit and the hood is big enough to go over a ball cap style hat easily. He wants to buy a bunch more!

January 28, 2022

A great shirt

Would love it if you guys would make stuff in bigger sizes, you need to do a 4x and a 5x and also tall. my torso is long so my shirts always are a bit shorter than I like, especially as they get older and shrink a bit. Love this hoodie though, absolutely love it, and so do my sons, bought four for them. I have six of these.

December 13, 2021

Excellent sunwear with a ballcap

Wore this for 5 days straight backpacking on Catalina Island. Excellent sun protection (even if it isn't SPF 80 or whatever). I hate putting on tons of sunscreen on backpacking trips because it gets clogged with dirt and no (pleasant) way to wash it off, so avoiding sunscreen and wearing light-weight sun shirts and hats is my preferred method.... Read More The hood on this is great for covering lots of the face. Just needed sunscreen on my nose and cheekbones - not bad at all.

December 11, 2021

Worth every penny

The customer service is above and beyond. Tonya went above and beyond getting the shirt to me in time for my Mexico fishing trip. The product was perfect for the material. I was flyfishing and would have liked a little more room.

December 7, 2021

Lightweight, breathable, sun protection

I spend a lot of time with my family in Florida and in Seattle fishing and hiking and this is a great lightweight, breathable layer for sun protection.

December 6, 2021

Great shirt.

Purchased to wear to the beach. Love it. Protection from the sun and feels light.

December 4, 2021

Amazing AND.... they shrink

Absolutely love this shirt. Seriously and the medium was the perfect fit. However, after months of wear, wash, and dry it got smaller and smaller. Larger is way too big for me so it you get one, be sure not to run it through the dryer too often (or at all).

November 17, 2021

Great sun protection hoody!

Great for sun protection on hot days- lightweight and comfortable. Perfect for fishing, stand up paddling and anything else that involves sun, water and working up a sweat.

November 16, 2021

Great sun hoodie!

They're great for the beach or by fishing , as well as just walking around on sunny days. They feel great and fit perfectly sun hoodies !

November 11, 2021

Love the fit and feel!

Super comfortable, light and a delight in how it feels to wear! Love the look as well. Wear for kicking around, as well as hiking and trail-running in cool weather. Truly glad I made the buy!

November 8, 2021

very comfortable

very soft, breathes, not tight (fits like a loose t-shirt). Great for keeping sun off the back of the neck and ears when gardening. Light enough for hood to easily go under a cap for fishing - also loose enough for cap to go under. Great as a base layer in colder weather.

October 7, 2021

Tropic Stinky Comfort

Patagonia products are always very reliable but this is no different from the classic stinky polyester shirt. After one day of use, it has that musty weird smell. It isn't a horrible smell, but definitely not a pleasant one. I just yearn for a good outdoor activity long sleeve that can protect me from the sun but also that can worn for days at... Read More a time (on backpacking or climbing trips etc.) without becoming unbearably smelly. I have pants that can do that. I have cotton shirts that can do that, and I have merino wool socks that can do that. Lets find a blend that doesn't trap smell eh?

Response from Patagonia
October 14, 2021

Hello Shamon, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're are sorry to learn about the odor issue. You may want to consider running a load of laundry with 1/2 cup distilled white vinegar in the washing machine's detergent compartment, without any detergent or fabric softener to remove the smell. If this does not help, please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) the hoody.

September 29, 2021

Comfortable but lacks any durability

First off I love Patagonia and what they stand for. They make a number of awesome products I own. I received the tropic comfort hoody as a gift and really liked its ability to block sun while remaining breathable. However, after one wash it has numerous small holes throughout it. I know its thin, but I definitely expected more from it.

Response from Patagonia
October 7, 2021

Hi Matt! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the small holes developing after such little time. We completely understand the disappointment with the quality. We've reach out to you directly with return assistance.

August 25, 2021

Great shade

I'm 6 foot 170, I love the fit of the large, has a little room for comfort. Perfect for sun responsibility, I try to never let the sun touch my bare skin

July 2, 2021

new favorite!

The sizing is "generous" I'd say. I'm normally an XL in Pata technical wear and an L in logo-t's etc. The L Tropic Comfort Hoody fits perfectly. If you want a more slim fit the Capilene cool daily hoody will be your style. It's too bad this style was recalled. Patagonia if you're listening, please liquidate these ... Read Morewith a UPF disclaimer, I'll buy 2 or 3 more!

July 2, 2021

Wish it were cooler

Now we know that it isn't 50+ UPF and that makes sense since it has always felt a bit too warm if the outside temp went over 90 deg F. It's okay when there's a breeze blowing but in hot humid weather, it's not that great to wear. I was wearing primarily as a sun blocker and to keep relatively cool but I guess neither is as adver... Read Moretised. I still wear it, though.

May 31, 2021

Perfect!

I love this hoody. I primarily use it for climbing/spring skiing in the Eastern Sierra, and its the perfect protection from the sun. I highly recommend it!

May 29, 2021

Perfect fit

Medium is the perfect size for me at 5'9" and 165lbs. Lightweight and comfortable. Best sun shirt I've had in a while.

May 28, 2021

Great all around sun shirt

Bought these shirts for sun protection but everyone loves them so much that they are in the regular rotation of what they wear each week. My husband wore his while fly fishing for a week in Belize. It completely blocked the sun and kept him cool.

May 28, 2021

Superb summer wear

I wore this shirt all summer life guarding! It was probably washed only once . There was no odor ever! 3 other guards liked it so much they also grabbed on. Fit is a bit loose which is perfect for hot summers. Material is light and airy while also not feeling cheap. Great job Patagonia!

May 27, 2021

Super comfortable material!

Recently played beach volleyball in this and was super impressed with the overall comfort, I love the thumb holes and sun blocking. I bought a large but normally wear XL, found this runs just a bit big for a large . I did have a short sleeved t-shirt underneath it as well.

May 26, 2021

Love it

I wear it all the time. Just ordered two more. Awesome look, feel and performance.

May 26, 2021

Comfortable for all day wear

Purchased and wore on a recent trip to Greece on the flight and around the country and the product is great with its light weight and super comfortable fabric. Great to use on a cold day but also keeps your skin protected on a hot day. Highly recommend!

May 25, 2021

One shirt for the entire trip..

Ive worn both large and medium sizes. The large is nice and breezy for me on trips exploring tropical coastlines. And the medium fits nice too.. cant go wrong. All you need is this shirt, board shorts, flops and your gear.. enjoy

May 24, 2021

Best warm weather fishing shirt

The best fishing shirt out there, period. Great warm weather fishing garment, super comfortable and provides great sun protection throughout the day - especially with the hood! Fit is true to size with a little extra room and stretch to keep you cool. Wicks away moisture and dries quickly. Would definitely recommend for anyone heading to the flats ... Read Morefor saltwater fishing, or even warmer days in the summer freshwater. Definitely the fishing shirt that I use the most!

May 21, 2021

Free Flowing without Baggy Look/Feel

Bought this to keep the sun off of me while outside. I've worn this running, golfing, fishing, and while being out and about. It's a great looking shirt and feels just as good to the touch. Highly recommend despite it being on the pricier side of these type of shirts. Even with this said I will most likely buy another.

May 21, 2021

Super light, cool, and protective.

This is a great light weight sun protection piece. Light enough to go on a hike and run and really keeps the sun off my skin. Great for humid Texas weather near the water and cool enough to let the breeze in.

May 20, 2021

Very comfotable

Excellent quality and fit. I am usually an XL Tall but this has plenty of length

May 20, 2021

Perfect weight

Keeps the sun off and is lightweight enough to be comfortable.

May 19, 2021

BF new fav shirt

This shirt is my boyfriends new favorite boating rafting shirt. Its protective from the sun while also staying cool. Its quick drying and keeps him comfy all day

May 19, 2021

Light weight sun protection

Fits great. Is perfect for the cool day that turns sun filled.

May 19, 2021

Black flies don't like this garment

When the black flies get too much out in the garden, I pull on the hood. Nice all-around, summer hoody. I find myself wearing it a lot.

May 19, 2021

Soft and lightweight hoody near perfection

Love the style, material and fit. Likely to buy another color. Only issue I have is the hood is so lightweight it constantly moving to the front of my body. Its a little annoying- almost need a tiny weigh in the hoody to hold it on my back. Great material.

May 18, 2021

Great for the river

I have worn this on a couple of river trips as well as around the home. It is super comfortable and does a great job protecting from the sun.

May 18, 2021

Second One of These!

I have the light orange or crawfish colored tropic hoody from a few years back. I've worn it a hundred times - favorite shirt for rafting and hiking. Last week I decided to treat myself to another color so I bought the blue, which I'm wearing now. New favorite shirt...sorry orange. You should know that the reason for my 5 star review is t... Read Morehe colors in both of these shirts, as well as the half dozen R-1 shirts I've owned for ten years, are true and they hold up for years! Plus they are exceptionally well made. Seriously I love Patagonia clothes.

May 18, 2021

BEST ODOR CONTROL

These shirts work great in any environment. Out of all the major players in this Hoody market....Patagonia has the best odor control system of all.

May 18, 2021

Light weight, packs small

Perfect hoodie to keep the sun and wind off while keeping you comfortable.

May 18, 2021

Men's spf comfort hoody

Comfortable, light fabric. Kept me dry. A little large but the light fabric makes it fit well. Great color, love the shark design. Love patagonia's commitment to the environment with recyclables and reusing.

May 18, 2021

Dream Come True

Simple but elegant design backed up by function and practically. Travel any where every day piece combined with a Houdini - Nivana.

May 17, 2021

best desert hoodie around

I live in the desert and wear one of these hoodies pretty much every single day. It is by far the best hoodie I found for desert field work and recreation. Only wish is for it to be available in a women's style!

May 17, 2021

Sweet

Nice product, fits very well

May 16, 2021

Super comfortable and stylish

One of the most comfortable sweatshirts that I own. And the color is great. Loved it so much I bought a second one. Excited to use this summer in Flagstaff where the days are warm but the nights can get a little chilly. The fabric is super soft and comfortable. The torso length is a little long for my liking but understandable given that it's ... Read Moremeant to be a more relaxed fit.

May 15, 2021

Very comfortable polyester shirt

A staple in my pack for backpacking & fishing trips. Wears exceptionally well. Wicks moisture, blocks sun, and feels great against skin under a pack. Highly recommend!

May 13, 2021

The perfect discription

Great top for many activities: hiking in a variety of weather (alone, t-shirt, long sleeve shirt, jacket,rain gear, ) indoors, sun ( protection) . This shirt is perfect!

May 13, 2021

Great value

I normally buy cheaper clothes but decided to spring for this item and I'm happy I did. It's not expensive or over priced for how nice it is, but I'm just a scrappy thrift shop scavenger. It's super comfortable, very well constructed and designed and it's perfect for living on the coast and being at the beach almost daily. ... Read MoreThe UPF keeps my cursed ginger complexion safe and I look and feel badass wearing and get told that often while wearing it. I wear it so much that I just hope I don't wear it out anytime soon.

May 12, 2021

Awesome

Nice piece of gear. Ive got a couple Patagonia r/o sun shirts, but this is my new favorite. Its the same light weight fabric of the Capilene cool shirts so its soft, comfortable, and quick drying. I teach sailing so Im out in the sun a lot. This is a great way keep cool and stay protected.

May 12, 2021

Sun Protection!

Been loving this thing on the trails, when I need some UV protection on belay, and in the backyard doing yard work. Don't get burnt, keeps mosquitoes away and the moisture wicking helps a ton. I think an improvement would be that it is a tad bit more breathable?

May 12, 2021

Perfect beachwear

The perfect sun protection for the beach. Comfortable and great fit. Highly recommend

May 11, 2021

Nice sun protection

I live in the Santa Monica Mountains and the sun can really get your skin if you aren't careful. When I'm running sunblock tends to get in my eyes and isn't very useful. I sweat a lot. The hood helps with protecting my neck and the thumb holes really give it a great mall ninja feel.

May 11, 2021

Fit has changed

I have several of the older versions of these shirts. I ordered 2 new ones as my old ones are getting gnarly. In the older version I was a large. The new version is cut much more true to size. I had to return the large for an extra large. Love the new material. These are my favorite fishing shirts. Just know if youve ordered them in the past that y... Read Moreou may need to go up a size.

May 11, 2021

Great for the beach!

Great sun protection, very lightweight, great fit but I am slender. Super comfortable in and out of the water.

May 10, 2021

Precisely what I was looking for!

This is precisely what I was looking for. Great cover from the sun and feels weightless while wearing. I even feel a little cooler in direct sun when there is a little breeze than when Im not wearing it. Thanks again for delivering Patagonia.

May 10, 2021

Just what I was looking for

Nice fabric not sweaty or stinky

May 9, 2021

Light, good fit

Very light and comfortable. Should be good for hiking in the warmer months.

May 9, 2021

Sun protector and light weight.

I bought this for myself when they first came out and it has helped protect my arms from the sun while at beach after surfing, playing golf or walking. I liked that it was light weight, cool and the thumb hole to cover my hands. When visiting a friend in Cal. I bought him and a crew for his wife as house guest gifts. They both were very impressed. ... Read MoreI have a few crews from a few years ago, wish you still made the crews with the thumb hole. Great idea making this with and without the hoody. Cheers.

May 8, 2021

Functional & Comfy

Great protection against the sun. Super light & comfortable. Perfect casual top for the summer (and most of the year).

May 8, 2021

Comfortable and fits well

Overall very comfortable. Good fit

May 6, 2021

Nice material

Breathable nice material that provides sun protection. I own more than one.

May 5, 2021

Very Comfortable

Hands down Patagonia is my Favorite! Superb Quality... This Hoodie is Amazing. It exactly does what it says. I would definitely buy more of these if Patagonia make slight design changes. 1. I am using Patagonias Capilene Cool Daily Hoodie and i feel it is slightly more softer inside. (Maybe i am wrong) 2. I dont like to use button near my neck.... Read More It is little uncomfortable and awkward for me. (This is purely personal preference though) 3. Is it possible to use Capilene material for thumb holes.? (I like the soft material of the liner inside Nine Trails Shorts). Also, Maybe foldable pullover/sleeve for the rest of the palm. (This can give complete sun protection as well as warmth when needed) 4. It will be fantastic to have Darker Grey Color hoodie.

May 5, 2021

My Favorite Shirt

These are my favorite shirts on the planet, if I could wear them exclusively, I would! Lightweight and breathable, I cant wear them on hot days or cold, on the River or hanging around the house.

May 5, 2021

Super comfortable

I really love this sun hoody, I think it's my favorite of the three different types that patagonia offers. The thumb holes are great for keeping the sun off your wrists, and the hoody works well keeping the sun off your face. My only two very slight comments would be the sleeves when rolled up do pinch my elbow joints slightly, and the hood bu... Read Moretton is difficult to do with one hand. Otherwise super comfortable capilene fabric, great fabric weight; I've worn this in 80F sunny hike and felt relatively cool, and really enjoyed the sun off my neck.

May 4, 2021

Great sun protection.

I recently moved to a new house that is on the water in the Northern Neck of Virginia and I knew I was going to be spending a lot of time outside in the sun and heat. I have fair skin and wear sunscreen but I was looking for the next level of protection. This definitely fits the bill. I went with the medium and it fits very nicely. Not too loose an... Read Mored not too tight. I am 6 and 185 pounds and I usually order a large but sometimes I find the large size in Patagonia is a bit too large. This shirt has great stretch as well. I usually wear it with the hood up over a Patagonia trucker hat and the sun protection is great. I now have 3 of these and plan to wear them pretty much every day outside. I have worn them for hikes, walks, working around the property, in my boat and on my paddle board. Love this shirt and highly recommend it.

May 4, 2021

Perfect shirt for water and sun

This shirt is absolutely perfect for wearing to the beach, surfing, on the boat. Dries quick. Super comfortable. I'm 6'2" and 180 LBs and M fits really well, not too baggy.

May 4, 2021

Comfortable sun protection

This is a great fitting, super comfortable sun shirt. Great piece for bright summer days beaching, fishing or whatever.

May 2, 2021

A perfect hoodie

This hoodie is perfect for the Spring weather. I bought this hoodie in order to stay protected from the sun. It isn't too warm to wear, even if it is 80 degrees and sunny. The fit is perfect, and I've already ordered another one. Highly recommended for those looking to keep the rays off while staying cool.

May 1, 2021

Perfect

Amazing. Perfect for Florida summer. Handles heat well.

April 30, 2021

Good for Sun

I bought this for added sun protection. It does an excellent job and remains cool through out the day. The hood works well to protect my neck and it doesn't get in the way or pull when not in use. I ended up buying another. Good for long casual bike rides, runs, hikes, or kayak trips.

April 30, 2021

Great for chilly or hot days

This hoody is great because it provides full sleeve, hooded warmth, and wind protection on chilly mornings on the river and then seamlessly transitions to sun protection and cooling by the afternoon. Also, I am 6'1" and glad I went with the Medium as it fits true to size.

April 30, 2021

Go To Fishing Shirt

Great fit and lightweight. Holds up great through weeks of tough hiking and fishing. Easy to wash up too!

April 29, 2021

Dealing with Florida Heat

Im from Northen Michigan and this is my go to Tarpon shirt to deal with what I call Africa Hot weather- anything over 85 degrees!

April 29, 2021

Cut the sun without melting.

This cuts the sun brilliantly and, since it packs to near nothing, has become a staple in my fly fishing kit.

April 28, 2021

one of my favorites

Super comfortable, lightweight, sun protection. I appreciate using this as sun protection instead of chemicals. Stays cool in the heat and hood fits over a ball cap. Great for casual wear as well as when working out/ mountain biking/ hiking. One of my favorite articles of clothing!

April 26, 2021

No sunburn!

I have had at least one of these shirts for the past 6 years. They are excellent. Sizing is pretty true when the garment is dry, but some may think it runs a little big. After 6 years, my first shirt started to show wear around sewing finish on the hood. EZ fix with home repair. The fabric feels great on the skin wet/dry during the hottest of days.... Read More I like them so much I've purchased 2 more over the past few years.

April 26, 2021

Perfect for hot weather hikes

Very comfortable and feels cooling when sweating in hot weather. Great color and fits just right. I am 6, 178 lbs. large sizes in this were too loose fitting.

April 25, 2021

Keeps the sun off

This is my daily wear for work in the High Utah Desert. Cant have enough of these in the wardrobe

April 24, 2021

Great for sun

Nice and light and great for sun protection.

April 24, 2021

Perfect

Absolutely dig these shirts. The fit exactly as described, theyre comfy, and stylish. Wouldnt change a thing.

April 24, 2021

Smaller than older version

I purchased 4 of the older versions of this shirt a few years ago and bought 2 more for the upcoming fishing season. The new version is cut quite a bit smaller. I had to return them for the next size up. The new material is a bit thinner too. Not sure why they changed a shirt that was killer to start with. The new material does feel nice on the ski... Read Moren. Just know if youve bought these in the past that theyre not the same.

April 23, 2021

If it aint broke....

Dont fix it. The first iteration of the tropic comfort was better, in my humble opinion. I love mine. I live in it. Do everything in it. Hiking, fishing, climbing, lounging, whatever. The new one... meh. I actually retuned it. (Though I might buy a bigger size) Changes include: Less comfy (completely subjective) Less roomy Thinner Shorter The... Read More sunshade is closer to the older tropic comfort so that works I guess.

April 23, 2021

Excellent sun shirt

Well made, breathable, super light weight and stylish. Great product. Will purchase again.

April 22, 2021

Super comfortable!

Great for a day on the lake or the beach without burning up. Very comfortable and great fit!

April 20, 2021

Better than expected

Overall solid shirt. I wore this for 4 days of intense/sweaty activity and I felt dry by the end of each day. Thumb loops fit under my gloves which is a bonus. The hood is huge, fits over a climbing helmet if needed. The button is nice for preventing neckburn from reflected sun off snow/water.

April 19, 2021

Comfy and blocks the sun.

So far so good! Fits well and is really soft and comfortable. Haven't had it very long. But a full day of work on a sunny day and a few hours in the kayak on the lake and haven't got any sort of sun burn so it seems to be working well.

April 17, 2021

Very comfy

This product is new to me in 2021. Purchased for upcoming warm weather for hiking/photographing/beach walking in warm buggy weather so not yet tried in those conditions. Like the feel/monkey paws/hood.

April 16, 2021

Awesome

This is an awesome shirt its only miss is that it needs the large front pocket.

April 16, 2021

Perfect sun sport shirt

Keeps me warm during the slight ocean / beach breeze run. Thumb holes and neck/hood button are nice bonus options. If you spend a lot of time in the sun several shirts like this are important to own.

April 15, 2021

Great shirt

I think all fishermen should have this shirt in their closet, just a great all around shirt for any weather condition.

April 14, 2021

Runs a little large.

Wonderful quality as expected by Patagonia. Soft and breathable. My only issue is that it runs a bit large. Im 5 11 225 ordered a LX, as I do with all my shirts from Patagonia. But this one fit a bit different.

April 14, 2021

The color fades in the sun

I'm a long-time Patagonia customer. I buy these products for the quality. Lately I am seeing that colors of some products are fading in the sun. This hoody is the second of this color, third overall, that I have purchased. When I placed the new one next to the old one I noticed the old one has faded quite a bit.

Response from Patagonia
April 14, 2021

Hi Gordon, thank you for reaching out and we are sorry to hear that the color faded in the sun. We understand that can be a bummer, especially when you're loving the vibrancy of a color. If you decide you'd like to send any of those items back under our [warranty](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html), we welcome you to do so.

April 13, 2021

Fit as expected

6'2" 165 lbs. broad chested. Fits as expected. Slightly loose for comfort. I wear the same size in the Tee shirt version. And I like the color and how airy it feels.

April 13, 2021

Great For Days In The Sun

Super soft and comfortable hoodie. I use it while fishing to minimize sun exposure. I went a size up in the event I wanted to layer it over a tshirt. Im 511 and 200lbs. The large for ok in the body, but was right in the arms so I exchanged it for a XL. Unless you like skinny jeans I suggest going a size up. Love it, and will be adding more to my wa... Read Morerdrobe for future fishing and beach ventures.

April 13, 2021

Works for a land surveyor

Works. Keeps my ears out of the sun. Lining around the thumb holes is less durable than my ideal but its working

April 13, 2021

Great down in Xcalax, Mexico

Awesome product I used while down in Mexico on a fly fishing trip. It was exactly what I was looking for in terms of providing protection from the sun and staying breathable in a tropical climate.

April 12, 2021

this shirt is ill

i picked up this shirt because i was needing something with long sleeves and some uv protection while i fly fish. even the hood is a nice touch. put over my trucker hat so my bald head doesn't get burned as well. i had no clue i was going to fall in love this shirt. i know own 4. they are amazing. i live in mine. they are soft and light. even ... Read Moreon hot days you really can't tell its a long sleeve. seriously every one should own a shirt like this.

April 12, 2021

Super comfy sun protection

The sun hoodies are great for protection from UV but also make a great super light base layer. Im pretty particular about the texture of fabric against my skin and I am very happy w the feel of these.

April 10, 2021

Perfect for the Sun!!

I am snowboard instructor and on these warm Spring days there is nothing better to work in. I can wear the shirt down to mid 20s and feel still comfortable when Im 70s in sun. I cant wait to flyfish this summer wearing this layer!

April 9, 2021

Best shirt I have ever worn

This is hands down the most comfortable shirt I have ever owned. I own 4 of them in various colors. Super soft and cooling on the skin. The thumbholes are perfect. The hood fits great. I wear this running, hiking, around town, mountain biking, everything. Please Patagonia Fam, please make a short sleeve version of this with this same exact fabric. ... Read MoreI would buy a ton of them! <3

April 9, 2021

New Material is Great

I bought this to replace an old Tropic Comfort Hoody thats ragged and stained. The new material is much thinner with a better skin feel. The fit is slimmer than my old one too... maybe could have gone with a large. 4 stars because the sleeves are too short for me to use the thumb loops. 6ft 3inch 170lb

April 8, 2021

Travel Shirt

Runs a tad small but is great. Use it to hike and travel.

April 8, 2021

Perfect sun protection

Incredibly lightweight, fast drying, super comfortable.

April 8, 2021

Ideal!

I had this last summer and wore it almost all the time that is until I left it at a hostile. I use it and now the Sunshade Technical Hoody near daily, alternating the two for walks, jogs and the occasional yoga session. The last one I had was just about my favorite item to grab daily and new I had to replace it when I screwed up and misplaced it ... Read Morewhile away.

April 7, 2021

Perfect for the beach

Great for keeping the sun off at the beach. Im tall and thin and the M is perfect - sleeves are long enough and the fit is relaxed.

April 7, 2021

Best sun shirt out there!

I have 4 of these now in various colors. After getting yelled at by my dermatologist, I live in these in the summer time. I usually get them in men&#x27;s because I am broader in the shoulders then most women. I wear them everywhere, kayaking, hiking, just in general. They are the lightest weight sun shirt I&#x27;ve found so far. They feel like you... Read Morer wearing water.

April 3, 2021

Great Outdoor Shirt

I did not try this shirt on prior to purchasing this shirt online. When it arrived I was extremely pleased with the quality, feel and look. This is an amazing shirt for summer fly fishing, hiking and for simple casual wear. I highly recommend this shirt for outdoor wear.

April 2, 2021

Light, comfortable and skin-friendly.

It's a very comfortable hoodie. It costs $10 less than the other one. The main difference is that it has a button to keep the hat from blowing off in windy weather! This dress is light, comfortable and great!

April 2, 2021

Perfect for outdoor UV protection

Light weight, protects neck, ears, & arms from sunburn. Performs great in summer heat

March 31, 2021

Super Comfortable

I have worn this for about fifty miles of hiking and trail running and it always keeps me nice and cool. The relaxed fit makes it feel very comfortable, even when there is a heavy pack on your shoulders. Highly recommend for anyone who is backpacking in a hot or sunny climate; the relaxed fit combined with the sun protection of the button up hood a... Read Morend hand coverage make for an ultra-comfortable and dependable layer to keep the sun at bay.

March 30, 2021

Little snug

Great fishing shirt- runs a touch on smaller size

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches