Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Retro Pile Fleece Hoody

Write Your Review

4.1/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 130 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Retro Pile Fleece Hoody

4.1/5
Kinda Large
May 25, 2021

Doesn't fit/feel like Patagonia quality

The fleece seems cheap and the cut is big.

May 2, 2021

It runs big

I'm an XS in most Patagonia gear but this hoody runs large! I can fit my XS down sweater under it. Because of this, I don't use it for anything adventurous. Still very cozy and warm but bigger than expected!

Response from Patagonia
May 3, 2021

Thanks for feedback on the fabric and sizing, Kayla! If you decide you'd prefer a more slim-fitting fleece, please let us know. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you return this one!

April 26, 2021

My favorite hoodie

This hoodie is super warm and comfy. The only thing is that zipper a bit scratchy at the top in case you want to hide your chin when its cold. Still love it nonetheless.

April 19, 2021

Super Comfy and Warm

This is a great hoodie for cool morning hikes or late night walks with the dogs. Nice deep pockets with zipper to hold in your mask, keys and phone. Quite warm for most spring mornings in Northern California. Second hoodie-different color. Does pill up.

April 5, 2021

So comfy

This jacket is so comfy and I have room to layer

April 3, 2021

Love!

Much softer than I thought. I always go between medium and large but I wanted this more fitted and it s a perfect fit! Love the colour, how soft it is and the retro look. Loved so much I bought 2 more colours!

April 1, 2021

Beautiful Piece

Love it, versatile, functional and really nice on. Extremely comfortable. Normally Im a medium, I can wear a bulky sweatshirt or sweater under this piece. Size down if you want a snug fit. Loved it so much I bought one for a family member. Great piece to have, extremely useful.

March 31, 2021

Super cuddly

This is my comfort jacket. I love it. I really like the hood too. My husband has the mens version and he wishes it also had a hood.

March 29, 2021

Very Nice!!!

I've always liked fleece garments for the most part but find them not too suitable for windy conditions. And I've not been partial to "hoodies" however after wearing the Retro Pile Fleece Hoody I was elated to see that it actually did cut the cold wind, even the hood. It was all I had with me at the time and it surpassed my expe... Read Morectations and I was smiling throughout my errands !!! I would purchase another one and/or tell someone who's considering another fleece garment that they may be surprised!!

March 29, 2021

Great jacket!

I am so happy to have gotten this jacket. I did a lot of research and decided on this one. This is definitely my go to jacket for warmth and comfort.

March 21, 2021

super soft and warm but sheds like a golden retriever

This is a nice cozy jacket but I'm going to return it. It sheds constantly, and worse knowing it's shedding plastic microfibers.... I thought a cold wash/hang dry might help but my t-shirt under the jacket is still covered in fiber, as is the back of the couch after sitting down. I have had many patagonia jackets that I've loved and ... Read Moreused for years, but this isn't one of them...

Response from Patagonia
March 24, 2021

Thank you for the review on our Retro Pile Fleece Hoody. What you're describing sounds like a warranty issue and we're happy to have our return team do a warranty evaluation, this is not the standard that we hold our products to. While we're evaluating, we recommend checking out the [Women's Los Gatos Hooded Fleece Pullover](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-los-gatos-hooded-fleece-pullover/25245.html?dwvar_25245_color=NGRY&cgid=root) as a cozy alternative that will not excessively shed.

March 15, 2021

Very cozy

Very cozy, right size

March 9, 2021

Nice and Cozy

I had been looking for a jacket like this for a while. I love this one because its not too fluffy and a great shape - by that I mean that it is not too form fitting, not curvy. Good length. Hits just below the hip. The hood is super warm and comfy and the zipper pockets really practical. I wear it out to the park in the morning when Im walking the ... Read Moredog. Right now under a heavy coat but as the weather warms up a little, as the outer layer. Washes and dries well also. Love my purchase.

February 27, 2021

Warm

Soft and warm

February 25, 2021

Yummy!

I love this jacket, and am wearing it every day! My only complaint is that it's beginning to molt.

February 25, 2021

Very warm and comfortable

Love this fleece sweatshirt its very warm and comfortable especially for the morning walks. Perfect for shopping and daily activities especially with covid and staying home wearing almost every day

February 24, 2021

Not warm enough

I have prior retro fleece jackets, from the 90s and compared to this new version, they seem a lot warmer. I expected the jacket to be a little thicker.

February 17, 2021

Material is linty

Super cute sweater, I received it as a Christmas gift and I love how it looks, super warm and goes with anything. Im not sure if Im the only one but Theres one thing I dont like about it and its how much lint it leaves on the shirt I wear under, car seatbelt, on the chair I sit etc,. Sometimes I have little balls on the same sweater. I almost feel ... Read Morelike a dog that is shedding and leaving hair everywhere. I have so many Patagonia jackets and sweaters and this is the first one that Ive tried loving but the lint issue is super annoying

Response from Patagonia
March 8, 2021

Hi Kenia, thanks so much for your review! All fleeces have a tendency to pill but to prevent further pilling, we recommend washing it either by hand in cool to cold water, or separately in your washing machine on the gentle cycle. It's best to lay it flat to dry rather than place it in the dryer where the fabric can easily get upbraided. To remove pilling that has already occurred, a sweater shaver or sweater stone is an excellent tool and can help it look brand new again.

February 2, 2021

Hmm...

I was disappointed in the fit - the body was very boxy/roomy for a small (I'm usually a S or M) and the sleeves were short. I was eager to have this for the long Michigan winters but I had to return, unfortunately. I'm 5'6" 128 lbs.

Response from Patagonia
March 3, 2021

Thank you for this valuable feedback on our Women's Retro Pile Fleece Hoody. This hoody is considered a "regular fit". If you were more interested in having a slim fit, we'd recommend checking out [these options](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/womens-fleece?prefn1=fit&prefv1=regular%7Cslim).

January 28, 2021

snuggly

Super comfy and warm, I LOVE the hoodie option!

January 28, 2021

Love the fit but...

The bright red is beautiful and I love the fit. However it has 3 major flaws. The stitching is reinforced by a plastic hem that itches and has even left scratches on my arm if worn without a long sleeve underneath. The hood is too small and doesnt fully cover my head. Finally it does pill. If the stitching is fixed, it would be a great jacket. Im s... Read Moreearching for an alternative style.

January 26, 2021

Comfy Warmth

This hoody is great for running around doing errands, its super cozy and warm. I have short arms and based on sleeve length reviews I ordered a medium and its perfect on sleeves. I wear a long sleeve tshirt underneath and its a little snug on my arms and hips. I am 5'4" and 180lbs.

January 26, 2021

Teddy bear status

Im in love with this zip up and feel like a giant teddy bear every time I wear it. Its so warm and also breathable and really holds up in the weather. Part of the stitching came undone by the cuff of the sleeve after a few weeks, but I plan on getting it repaired. This thing is super rad.

January 24, 2021

Cuddly and Comfy

I absolutely love this. It is warm, comfortable and cuddly. This was my first Patagonia purchase and it exceeded my expectations I will definitely be purchasing another in a different color. My only wish would be to have the hood to fit more on the head like my Nortface hoodie

January 22, 2021

Lining along with the hood...

This was the first item I disappointed from other Patagonia products I purchased. Im 110-113lbs and 53 and it is roomy for me, and the main reason I had to return this item was the lining along with hood part was over stretched. It was absolutely defective product; the other color I bought for my sister was not like this and it was perfect. She lov... Read Morees it. I believe that the products purchased via online must be double and triple checked before send them to customers.

January 19, 2021

Great gift

Bought it for my sister, she loves it and wears it daily!

January 18, 2021

Love it

Bought 4 of these jackets for my kids ! They all live it! It is super warm if worn with layers . Only thing is that it is not waterproof ( which we knew)

January 15, 2021

Cozy and Soft. wanna wear it every day

Ordered wrong size. The return process is amazingly fast even during the pandemic/dictator package. Oh yeah, if you didn't know Patagonia makes the best gear. Loyal for life.

January 13, 2021

Warm and comfortable

Purchased as an XMas present for my gf. She needed cold weather wear. She loves the texture, comfort and great fit.

January 12, 2021

Wish it didn’t SHED

I love this jacket. But I don’t love the shedding!! I’ve got little fleece balls everywhere. Any thing I wear with this fleece has fleece balls on it. Anything I come into contact with has the fleece balls every where. Is there anything I can do to stop the shedding? It’s perfect except for the shedding?

Response from Patagonia
February 18, 2021

Hey there! Sorry to hear your Retro Pile Hoody is pilling (when it sheds fabric)! To prevent pilling, we recommend washing it either by hand in cool to cold water, or separately in your washing machine on the gentle cycle. It's best to lay it flat to dry rather than place it in the dryer where the fabric can easily get upbraided. To remove pilling that has already occurred, a fabric shaver or sweater stone is an excellent tool and can help it look brand new again. Hope this helps!

January 12, 2021

Nice fit and finish

I purchased for my gf. She loves it and it fits her perfectly

January 12, 2021

Cozy and nice fit

I still have synchila fleece from 1992, but I wanted a cozy, jacket-like fit and was lucky to find this! Love the good, zippered pockets, the cut and color. My new go-to fleece.

January 5, 2021

Beautiful Color

I ordered the Chicory Red color. It's lovely. Of course, my Fleece is warm and comfy. I'm so happy I ordered it as a present for myself!

January 4, 2021

Warm & Cozy

Received this jacket for my birthday and I absolutely love it. It is the first full zip fleece I've owned from Patagonia and I am very happy with it so far. The fleece is incredible soft, I love that the pockets have zippers and I really like the shape/design of the jacket (especially that it can be zipped all the way up without being too tigh... Read Moret around the neck). I generally wear a size Small or sometimes XS in most Patagonia products (I wear XS in Capilene but my Better Sweater is a S and so is my Nano Air Hoody and Nano Puff pullover). When I tried on the S of this fleece it just felt way too big in the mid section so I opted for the XS and it fits great! My only qualm is that the inner lining of one of the pockets ripped on the first day of use (I think it might have been ripped when I bought it since I didn't use the pockets at all one Day 1). I'm not interested in returning it and would happily go get it fixed if I could find a place that would do so - using a duck tape patch for now to prevent the rip from getting bigger and so I can actually use the pocket.

January 3, 2021

Love this jacket

Love this jacket. It runs a bit large so I can layer.

January 2, 2021

Comfortable

Relaxed fit and cozy.

December 30, 2020

Very nice

My wife loves this

December 30, 2020

Interchangeable with the 3-1 Jacket!

Bought this for my girlfriend, she loves it. I was delighted to find out that it can be zipped into the 3-1 jackets as well!!! If you want more warmth then the liner puff jacket, you can swap it out for this fleece jacket.. the zipper matches the inner zipper of the 3-1 type of jacket. Really stoked to find that out... great interchangeable design ... Read Moretech! Thank you!

December 29, 2020

Retro pile fleece hoody

I was afraid that Patagonia sizes ran small and that I would have to return it. This style fit perfectly and its cozy warm with the attached hood.

December 27, 2020

So soft

Super warm

December 26, 2020

Very cozy and appreciate the new sizing

To start, this fleece is super cozy and the color options are so nice that I had a really hard time choosing. In the past, Patagonia ran quite small on me and I would sometimes size up to M, but this fleece is a pretty generous small.

December 25, 2020

Retro Pile Fleece

Nice thick fleece! And the longer length is nice because it doesnt ride up when you reach for something

December 22, 2020

Outrageous Retro Does It Again

My partner has had a retro vest for almost 25 years and said it was the next best thing to sliced bread to keep him warm and stylin'. So, when he offered to buy me the new retro hoodie, how could I refuse? :-) ... I love the softness; I love the warmth; I love the hood: I love the arm movement: I love the color (well, even a polar bear would l... Read Moreove this color); I love the fabric; I love the P quality and guarantee...plus, I love P's dedication to the environment and putting your money where your mouth is...uber congrats, P, you did it again.

December 22, 2020

Perfect Coat

My favorite coat. Very warm

December 13, 2020

Patagonia Womens Retro Pile Fleece hoodie

I love this Jacket so much because it is light and warm but not ichi... and beautiful Jacket to wear for walking and shopping

December 12, 2020

Super cozy and warm. Great color.

I bought this for my picky daughter and she loves it!

December 11, 2020

Super Warm Fleece

I love my new Retro Pile Fleece Hoody! Its perfect for our north east winters. Pockets are always a plus for me.

December 7, 2020

favorite jacket

I love this jacket, great fit, super warm and very versatile. Yes it has shed but I still love it. Only problem is the stitching in the cuff is coming undone. The thought of not having it for 8 weeks is a bit daunting. Not sure what to do,

December 5, 2020

Love, love, love!!!

Bought this to wear to work on cold mornings. Wanted a bit of a vintage look to it as thats more my style. Its perfection!! Keeps me perfectly warm on the brisk mornings and the fit is great! Usually a Small, or Medium. Got the Medium so I could layer underneath.

December 2, 2020

Very Cozy!

I bought this jacket because I had one when I was a kid and remembered loving it and it being super cozy! (very much needed in Canadian winters) I've had it for a little over 6 months now and it unfortunately is not performing as I expected. It sheds like crazy and after washing it only a few times it has pilled and is getting bald spots. I am... Read More in love with the idea of this jacket, but it hasn't performed like I hoped. :(

Response from Patagonia
January 6, 2021

Hi there, we are sorry to hear that this is not performing as well as you would have hoped. While shedding and pilling can be normal and inevitable with fleece garments, we certainly don't want this causing any dissatisfaction. Please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this hoody back to us if you'd like.

December 1, 2020

Sadly Disappointed!

I am a huge fan of Patagonia and I was really excited for this fleece. The positives are that it's really warm, fits great, and is so comfortable. It's perfect for really chilly days and keeps me warm while walking and hiking, which is exactly what I had hoped for. My disappointment is that it started pilling the first time I wore it, and... Read More after washing it (on gentle and air drying) once and only wearing it a few times, it is pilling so badly and looks like it's 15 years old. It looks worn out already. I haven't had this experience with anything else I've gotten from Patagonia, so I was really surprised.

November 30, 2020

Super comfortable

I love this jacket! Its so warm for a fleece! It fits great, not to tight in the arms and just the right amount of space through body! Doesnt look bulky, which is sometimes how puffy fleece jackets can look! Would definitely buy another!

November 30, 2020

Cozy & Comfortable

Great fleece for the fall/winter. I bought it because it was warmer than a sweatshirt/sweater but without the bulkiness of a heavy winter coat. Great quality. Very happy w/ the purchase.

November 22, 2020

Cute and cozy

I have worn this practically every day since I got it

November 21, 2020

Super Comforting

I purchased this in the red on sale in a Large to motivate myself to get up in the cold, throw it on over a sweatshirt and walk my dog. I'm 5'8" and a 132lbs and could have gone with a medium but I wanted it long, slightly oversized and comfy. It does fit large around the waist and hips so if you are my size and looking for regular f... Read Moreit you may want to go with the medium. The red is a beautiful rich color and has not shed even when wearing it over white. Hope this helps someone. Will be washing cold water delicate cycle and hanging dry.

November 10, 2020

Cozy and Warm

I do love this hoodie. I have been wearing it since I received it in the mail. I love the color and contrasting color detail. The issues is, after just a few hours of wear, it started to pill and has become matted. The elbows are already worn thin, and I'm worried a hole might emerge. So I'd say the quality is not up to par with my other ... Read MorePatagonia pieces. I do love the lifetime warranty, so if this sucker does get a hole, I'll be sure to bring it back in.

November 9, 2020

Cozy

I love it but arms are short on me . I have long arms but old Patagonia stuff fit better ( arm length ). Keeping it because warm and soft . Navy in pretty color

November 6, 2020

Low Quality Fleece, poor fit for larger sizes

I have a patagonia fleece from 2004 that looks brand new. This fleece jacket was pilling and looked really worn after 2 wears. Almost a year later, I'm disappointed and sending it back because the quality of the fleece is so low, which is really unusual for Patagonia. Also, I find Patagonia is still not great with larger sizes-unless their l... Read Morearger sizes are just meant for tall bigger people. When they grade their pieces, you can tell its done poorly, with large increases across all pattern pieces. It fits my hips but the arms are way too long! Hire more fit models.

Response from Patagonia
March 8, 2021

We're so sorry to hear about this disappointing experience, Kelly! Your purchase is covered by our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee) and we're reaching out to you privately to discuss this option further.

October 28, 2020

Too Long

Wanted to love this, but unfortunately it was just too long on me at 5'3". The waistband hit low on my hips, like halfway down my butt, so it was pretty tight, and sizing up wouldn't help with the length issue. The wristbands were also oddly tight! The jacket is super soft though.

Response from Patagonia
December 8, 2020

We're so sorry to hear the sizing didn't work for you. While we don't have petite sizing out yet, we are working towards making a more inclusive size range for our customers so keep an eye out for that! If you haven't already begun a return or if you're interested in swapping it out for another product, please [reach out](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) to us!

October 19, 2020

please please add a zipper guard at top!!

Hurts my neck after a while when fully zipped up- please add this back like Patagonia from the olden days!! Otherwise I love this, super warm and love the style.

September 19, 2020

Warm & Soft

Great fleece, very warm and soft. Roomy fit which I wanted for wearing layers underneath. Just what I was looking for.

September 18, 2020

Warm, soft and fluffy.

Super for winter. Cosy and soft with a strong color for brightness. Easy care also.

September 17, 2020

Soft, very warm and comfy

Im 54 140 lbs and ordered a medium. Fits true to size. Can probably wear a thinner layer underneath but not roomy enough for a thick sweater. Love the red color, the hoodie, the thickness and softness of this item. Would definitely recommend it!

September 17, 2020

Warm and fuzzy

Exactly what I wanted. I have a 20+ year old fleece jacket in a L , still great but i wanted XL so it can be a top layer for walks and work as a fuzzy jacket /wrap around the house. Yummy solution!

September 15, 2020

Cozy and warm.

It changes texture on the outside with one wash. I was hoping to keep it a little more like its initial outside softness. Id buy this product again and again regardless.

September 14, 2020

I love Patagonia.

Thank you for the quick delivery. However, one thing that is unfortunate is that I hope the fabric is a little better.

Response from Patagonia
November 25, 2020

Thanks for your review of the Retro Pile Fleece Hoody. When making products, we keep two very important considerations in mind: quality and environmental impact. We have also begun using more recycled materials which is why the fabric and feel of some items is now different, but still perform well. All our products are backed by our Ironclad Guarantee, so you welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it if you are unsatisfied.

August 28, 2020

Warm, but sheds.

This sweater is quite nice and warm and comfortable. One exception, since the first wear, it just sheds so much that I haven't use it at all.

Response from Patagonia
November 5, 2020

Hey there, we appreciate the feedback on our Patagonia Women's Retro Pile Fleece Hoody. We are sorry to hear that you've experienced some shedding issues, all of our Retro Pile jackets are currently under quality review. If you'd like, you are eligible for warranty coverage and return. You can begin the returns process [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

August 26, 2020

Wanted to love it!

I loved this hoodie for the first week I had it, but unfortunately it's the only Patagonia item I have ever been disappointed with. I love the bright red and feel of the fabric. But! The fabric still sheds constantly, months later. It has pilled so badly with regular wear that it looks years old and I would never wear it out of the house. I ha... Read Moreve only washed it once and that made the fabric even more nappy and less soft. Finally, the seams down the inside of the arms are scratchy and not comfortable, so I rarely reach for it. Sadly returning because I've tried so hard to love it but can't! Please update the fabric!

Response from Patagonia
November 5, 2020

HI Rachael, we're sorry to hear about the pilling issues! We recommend washing your fleeces by hand in cool-cold water or separately in your washing machine on the gentle cycle. It's best to lay it flat to dry rather than place it in the dryer. Of course, you are absolutely welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it under warranty if needed.

August 13, 2020

Favorite Sweater

This is my favorite sweater of all time. Yes after a year it started pilling (this is typical with fleeces), BUT I think it continues to look better with age! Plus, I still get compliments on it all the time. This thing is cozy (and I mean real cozying). Its super warm, soft, and comfy. I wear it constantly for camping, lounging, to/from gym. I&#x2... Read More7;m going to buy another one when they are back in stock.

May 19, 2020

PILING

I love all the pockets but the material starting shedding after one wear. I was wearing a backpack and a lot of the material just rubbed off onto my straps. There was also a lot of piling after one-time of wearing. I am very disappointed with this hoody.

Response from Patagonia
June 3, 2020

Hello Elle. We're sorry to hear about the pilling issues you've been having. Unfortunately, all fleeces have a tendency to pill. We recommend washing your fleeces by hand in cool-cold water or separately in your washing machine on the gentle cycle. It's best to lay it flat to dry rather than place it in the dryer. Of course, you are absolutely welcome to it under warranty if needed.

May 8, 2020

Baggy fit

I bought this hoody because I love high pile retro fleece. Unfortunately I didn't like the fit on me. It was a frumpy unflattering fit. I prefer the fit of the Classic Retro-X Fleece Jacket. If you like the baggy fit this would be a great casual wear jacket because it was very soft on the inside.

Response from Patagonia
May 20, 2020

We are sorry to hear that the fit didn't work out for you in this jacket. If you decide you aren't wanting to keep it because of the fit, please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) that back to us.

February 29, 2020

Runs way too big and the pilling is BAD

This is a very cute fleece and I was so happy it went on sale in the color I wanted (red). I put it on and I was swimming in it! I wore it around the house and the fleece came off onto everything it touched. I washed it based on Patagonia's recommendation and it still pilled significantly, way too much for the first couple of days of owning it... Read More. The fit is BOXY, super weird. I really wanted to keep it, it is warm and I loved the overall function but I just looked like "honey I shrunk the kids" character in it! I'm 5'2" 98lbs and I'm typically XXS or XS but this one was just beyond acceptable fit! Oh and it's LONG! The jacket covered past my behind. Sadly I had to return it :(. Hopefully the next year's fit will be more reasonable. It's really hard to buy anything online with Patagonia because the fit is almost NEVER consistent anymore. :( Loyally sad customer.

Response from Patagonia
March 23, 2020

Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that your fleece shed so much, and that the fit wasn't quite right. We will pass along your feedback to our product team.

February 25, 2020

Disappointed

I want to start off by saying that I love Patagonia and have bought many things from them. This is the first time I have had a problem. My jacket pills and sheds a ton. Even after washing it, my jacket gets red fibers everywhere. It fits great and is super comfortable, I just hate wearing it because it gets red fluff all over everything!

Response from Patagonia
March 23, 2020

Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that your fleece is shedding. We will pass along your feedback to our product team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed, so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) the item to us for a full refund.

January 20, 2020

Losing Lava

I received the Molten Lava colourway as a Christmas gift. There are red fuzz balls all over my car, office chair, furniture... this thing leaves a trail of fuzz everywhere I go. Pretty disappointed - loved the colour and the fit of the jacket.

Response from Patagonia
January 29, 2020

Hi Jessica, we're so sorry to hear that your fleece is shedding. We recommend washing your Retro Pile and drying on low to no heat because this will help curb the shedding. If you still feel unsatisfied with your fleece, please feel free to return under our Ironclad Guarantee, https://www.patagonia.ca/canada-returns.html#searchterm=return.

January 9, 2020

Comfortable & Pilly

The hoody fits well, is comfortable and good for a variety of activities. I would recommend it highly except that it immediately begins to pill and I'm regularly pulling off pieces that start to dangle. I hope it holds up over the long-haul and doesn't look too ratty after more use.

Response from Patagonia
January 29, 2020

Hi Elana, thanks for writing us a review! We're sorry to hear that the hoody is already starting to pill. To prevent pilling we typically recommend a machine wash on warm and laying the fleece flat to dry. Also, a sweater stone is a great tool to remove pilling that has already occurred. With that said, if the pilling gets worse and you're not longer happy with the quality you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

January 8, 2020

I like it but the cut is weird

I bought this to lounge around the house in because we keep our house pretty cold. I bought a size L because I wanted it to be spacious and comfy. It is spacious. So first the things I like. It is double faced so the fleece is nice and thick. I like the hood so you can run outside in cold temperatures to shovel snow and keep the snow off your head.... Read More It is very roomy. But there is a really weird cut to it. There is a seam along the top of my back that is tight, when everything else is loose and spacious. It feels uncomfortable across my back, like there is always something pulling back there. It is especially annoying if I reach forward or up for something. So in some ways I am pleased with the quality, but the cut makes this jacket uncomfortable and not what I was hoping for

Response from Patagonia
January 29, 2020

Hi Stephanie! Thank you for your feedback, and we're sorry to hear that you found the back seam uncomfortable! If you'd like to [return or exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) this item, you are certainly welcome to do so. A great alternative would be the pullover version of this hoody, the [Women's Retro Pile Fleece Marsupial](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-retro-pile-fleece-marsupial-pullover/22835.html?dwvar_22835_color=NENA&cgid=womens-fleece-casual#tile-12=&start=1&sz=36).

January 2, 2020

so WARM

Amazing jacket, have used it so much already and plan on having it a long time!

January 1, 2020

Nice love it

Always a pleasure to put on and wear !!

December 31, 2019

Perfect Fit and Feel

Purchased for wife for Christmas and she loves it. Has commented numerous times how it fits great and keeps warm/cozy on these cold winter days.

December 31, 2019

Very warm..very soft..great quality..must have!!

Originally, I ordered a size small since my Patagonia size is usually a small for hoodies, but the straight side seems in this jacket made it a little tight around the hips. The arms were also very fitted (and short), in the small, making it difficult to easily layer a long sleeve shirt underneath. I returned it and bought a medium. I’m thin built,... Read More 5’5” tall and weight about 140lbs. The medium fits perfectly and has a relaxed look with room to layer. The upper part of the jacket does have a slightly boxy shape but this is the style of this jacket considering the cut is very straight. I’ve worn this Patagonia constantly over the past few months and even fell asleep in it a few times on cold nights! So far, I’m very happy!! I’ve noticing some slight pills of fabric along the arms and sides from normal everyday movement and gently pluck them off and carry on! I recommend this jacket to everyone unless the straight cut and slight pilling of fabric bothers you. Honestly, if you don’t choose to own this Patagonia you will be missing out on comfort and warmth ;)

December 27, 2019

love the fabric

love the fabric

December 27, 2019

Delivery was right on time!

Delivery was right on time!

December 26, 2019

Ultimate comfy and stylish fleece

I love this hoody! I typically wear a Medium in longer tops because of my hips and the Medium fits very well. My only gripe is that the sleeves are a tad short for my long arms, but that is fairly typical for me. The fleece is soft and warm. I love the chestnut color. I will thoroughly enjoy wearing this for years.

December 26, 2019

Perfect gift to myself!

I get cold easily so bought this jacket to stay warm around the house. It is warm and cozy with the usual Patagonia high-quality finish. It fits perfectly - I am tall and lean.

December 26, 2019

Warm, great style, but sheds and clumps

I bought the Pelican colour. It kept my warm throughout my BC road trip in which I encountered sun and snow as I went up and down mountains. I love the look as well and it's very comfortable. The looser fit allows me to layer with my sweaters under it. Unfortunately, from my first wear, the fabric developed little clumps in areas where my slee... Read Moreve rubs on the side of my body. It also sheds onto the car seat, seat belt and the back of my backpack. Basically whenever it runs against something. I can't avoid wearing a seat belt or my arms brushing my body at times so it makes this sweater too delicate to wear in many of my activities. I have to wear it with a shell jacket in order to protect it. Not what I expected from this sweater. I wish I could but wouldn't recommend this sweater.

Response from Patagonia
January 17, 2020

Sorry to hear about the excessive pilling but we really appreciate the great feedback, Sara! All knit fabrics pill, and an electric fabric shaver can keep the pilling minimal. However, we'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you [return](https://help.patagonia.com/s/topic/0TO1L0000002yyTWAQ/returns-exchanges) it under our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://www.patagonia.com/ironclad-guarantee.html), so don't hesitate to reach out to us.

December 25, 2019

Cute and comfortable

I bought this to wear alone or over the matching vest. It looks great, and is very comfortable. I plan on wearing them to Alaska.

December 22, 2019

Always get compliments and love wearing it.

Haven’t one in brown color which looks and feels very comfortable. Just ordered one for myself in red. Been waiting for this color. It is my favorite. Looking forward to Christmas so I can finally wear it. Women’s large.

December 21, 2019

Retro gift for mellenial

Bought for my 25 year old daughter in law . She wanted the Sherpa style. Well made and a lot of nice colors. I do like the retro look of the Sherpa.

December 19, 2019

couldn't be happier!

couldn't be happier!

December 15, 2019

Jacket fit fine. Bit long

Jacket fit fine. Bit long but I am only 5’2”. Comfy but warm up quickly. Have yet to try it back east. Hood helps offset the cold.

December 14, 2019

Loving it!

Super comfy, warm, and cool

December 13, 2019

Odd fit

I usually wear a XS or S in Patagonia, ordered this in an XS. It was very comfortable, warm, a great material, shed a little bit, but unfortunately the fit was too uncomfortable for me to keep it. The length was good, but the bottom of the jacket felt very boxy and large, while the arms were tiny. I didn't mind the boxier fit on the bottom, bu... Read Moret the arms became too difficult. It was hard to get the jacket on or off without having to hold onto, pull on, or rearrange my shirt underneath. Especially wearing a watch, the arms (specifically the forearms) were just too tight and I felt like the arms were pulling on the shoulders and the rest of the jacket. It became a jacket I could not wear with other layers underneath comfortably. The size S had more room in the arms, but still clung to me too tightly, and at that size the boxier bottom was much too large.

Response from Patagonia
January 3, 2020

We're sad to hear this hoody didn't work out for you! We definitely understand though and appreciate your feedback. Our designs and fits are constantly being revised, and customer's feedback is one of the contributing factors to these changes. We hope that we won't disappoint you in the future. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it if you were looking to do so, but haven't already.

December 9, 2019

Fuzzy Wazzhe

Cute details and this thing is WARM, only needed a t-shirt under it. I am always a Medium however the medium core was too big/bunched up. So I got a Small. Core area fits perfect but sleeves are tight....I do recommend trying this on before if possible

December 9, 2019

Fuzz all over!

Love Patagonia, sadly this Fleece went back. My sister got it for me as a gift last Christmas and I initially LOVED it. Super soft and cozy. The color was white. After wearing I started noticing white fuzz all over EVERYTHING! My seat belt, my jeans, leggings....ALL OVER! I brought into Patagonia Burlington and they sent back to Reno for a credit. ... Read MoreThe credit came for half the original price, but after talking to Patagonia they are making this right for me! They are awesome about customer service, as usual. But I do think this product needs a revamp. Thanks!

December 8, 2019

W's Retro Pile Hoody

Love this hoody. It fits well and is very comfortable and cozy. I ordered it in Molten Lava which is a great color.

December 7, 2019

Can’t take it off

This is beautiful and warm. Ever since it was delivered, I’ve worn it every day. No shedding yet. I love the red color and it’s definitely warmer than my other fleeces and sweaters. Great for under a windbreaker too. Got the XS and I’m usually in between s and CS. It fit well.

December 5, 2019

Love the color

Love the color so much, super comfy, only downside little red puff balls do come off, as stated in previous reviews, even after washing, can't wear in the car as it covers the seatbelt in puffy red lint balls! Still the color is great so will keep!

Response from Patagonia
March 23, 2020

Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that your fleece is shedding. We will pass along your feedback to our product team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed, so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) the item to us for a full refund.

December 5, 2019

Material shed quite a bit.

Material shed quite a bit. I had to wash to reduce shedding onto my pants shirt and car seatbelt. Still shedding after washing. Very warm however wouldn’t recommend

Response from Patagonia
December 23, 2019

Hi Chris, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear about the way your hoody is shedding. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

December 2, 2019

bummer

Love the blue color and chunky fleece but pretty bummed on the inside seams. Not sure if it's a new material but unless you're wearing long sleeves the inside seam is extremely uncomfortable and distractingly scratchy in the arms and neck. Never had any issues with quality in other products but the seam and major shedding/pilling after 2 ... Read Morewears is a bummer.

Response from Patagonia
December 17, 2019

Hi CC, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're truly sorry to hear about the disappointment with the hoody. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) it.

December 1, 2019

Comfy and Cute

Super cute and plenty warm enough for Santa Cruz winters. I've virtually worn it every day since I got it. Probably could have fit in a small (130 lbs, big chest) but I like it roomy for layering so opted for a small.

November 28, 2019

Patagonia fever

This is the most beautiful jacket!! Very warm and the heather grey is gorgeous, git it git my granddaughter and she loves it

November 24, 2019

Love it, Love it, Love

Love it, Love it, Love it! Cute, classy and warm!:)

November 16, 2019

Not worth it

Fur is keep going out!!! Everywhere is fur really my black clothes went crazy. I put it in the laundry two times but nothing is changed I don’t know what to do with this..

Response from Patagonia
December 3, 2019

We are sorry that this jacket is shedding quite a bit. Usually after a couple of washes the excess fleece should come off, but if you are finding this is causing too big of an inconvenience, you are welcome to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) this back to us.

November 16, 2019

Super comfy

I love this fleece jacket! It keeps me warm and doesn’t require a lot of layers. It is soft and very comfy.

November 11, 2019

Love !! Comfy and so

Love !! Comfy and so warm. My dad loves it too. He said he one exactly like it in the 80s and it was his favorite shirt that lasted forever.

November 6, 2019

Great, in theory

I was super stoked to receive this in the mail. When it finally arrived, I was both cozy and warm inside of the soft, luxurious fleece this jacket provides. It's really great! As long as you have a 4 foot long torso and tiny arms. I ordered a small, which is usually my size because I'm 5'3 and 135lbs. Needless to say, I was swimming... Read More in this jacket. It was so long that it covered my butt. The shoulders were also oddly broad... I suggest measuring yourself and the jacket before ordering. I will be returning.

November 5, 2019

Sheds everywhere

Purchased this for my wife and returned it as the fabric shed fuzz everywhere; seatbelts, clothes, hair... it was everywhere! We returned it as we were not confident that there would be much fuzz left when it shed so much after only a week or so of wear. Though it was not the reason for the return she also felt the fit was more generous than antici... Read Morepated.

Response from Patagonia
November 25, 2019

Sorry to hear the hoody didn't fit well and shed more than is normal. We recommend using a [GUPPYFRIEND](https://www.patagonia.com/product/guppyfriend-washing-bag/GP001.html?dwvar_GP001_color=000&cgid=root&isSearch=true#q=guppy&lang=en_US&start=1) Washing bag for all polyester products, and following our [product care](https://is.gd/u0SeG0) instructions. We're glad you were able to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#) it and we'll be happy to recommend a different item anytime!

November 4, 2019

Perfect Fall Jacket

I’ve been eyeing the retro pile fleece jackets since last year. I finally got one with a zip front and hood. I love it! It’s been my go too jacket since it arrived. I will definitely use this to layer under my parkas for when the temperature really drops. It’s so cozy. True to size, I’m a full sized 4 and the small fits perfect.

November 1, 2019

Retro pile hoody

This is a great jacket, seems like it will be super warm. However, I am on the taller side (a little over 5'9"), and the sleeves are too short. The sleeves end with an elastic band so it's uncomfortable to wear with a long sleeve shirt or sweater underneath.

October 30, 2019

Love this sweater it is

Love this sweater it is my 4th one!

October 29, 2019

Love it by leaves little

Love it by leaves little fluffs everywhere

Response from Patagonia
November 15, 2019

Hi Elizabeth, thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback! We're sorry to hear about your fleece shedding like that. If it's brand new, we typically recommend giving it it's first wash which will help. If the issue persists or becomes more of an issue you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

October 23, 2019

Great Fleece with a major flaw

This super cozy fleece is almost perfect. Great style and color, but within the first hour of my wearing it started shedding and piling everywhere. I looked down and half of it had come off on my seat belt! I was extremely disappointed because I loved it, but was worried with this much fabric loss in such a short time, that is would last very long ... Read Moreand wind up looking pretty beat up well before it’s time. I sadly wound up returning it.

October 23, 2019

This is the best yet!!!

I have bought RETRO before... BUT this is the best! My old retros have been stiff, hard and not comfortable....I love color, texture, hood...ohhhh so warm.

October 20, 2019

Great jacket for golf

The jacket I bought is soft,cozy,and very roomy.I love the large zipper pockets and the one on the chest.Patagonia quality is the best!!

October 20, 2019

Inside seam is rough

Love everything about this jacket except that on the right arm the seam is so rough it’s very scratchy and super uncomfortable. Almost unbearable. Maybe I got a just a one off with a weird seam. If you’re wearing long sleeves under it you wouldn’t notice.

Response from Patagonia
November 6, 2019

Thank you for leaving your feedback, Bernadette! We're sorry to hear that the right arm seam is so uncomfortable. It definitely sounds like this could be a defect in the item. We went ahead and reached out privately to follow up on this.

October 14, 2019

Only wore the hoodie a

Only wore the hoodie a few times. It is pilling terribly . And lining of the pocket was not stitched with the binding, thus loose. Very disappointed quality, going to return this . And one armhole is stitched terribly, quality control should have caught this!!

Response from Patagonia
October 28, 2019

Thank you for your feedback, and we are very sorry to hear that this item did not work out for you! I will follow up in a separate private message with return instructions.

October 3, 2019

Normal product

I thought hoody color is not white. So less gray plus white? Therefore the other point is perfect but I don’t like color.

September 22, 2019

Disappointed

I had this in a prior season color, and the fit was AMAZING. I didn’t realize they changed the fit, and I bought it in the new white color. The arms are too short, the fit is boxy and tends to bunch up vs the prior fit. Please please please go back to last year’s fit!!!! It was perfect!

Response from Patagonia
October 1, 2019

We're sorry to hear this seasons hoody isn't fitting quite right. You're more than welcome to set up a return [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

September 20, 2019

Cool and Cozy

Looks amazing and keeps my sweetheart warm. Great, stylish, and fits her perfect.

September 16, 2019

Awesome addition for work

Bought this to go with my nano puffs I wear for work in all sorts of weather. I wear it under nano puff for wetter days and over for colder days. I ordered a small (5' 125lbs) so it falls comfortable over my hips (36"). Washes really well (hang dry only) and I have only noticed pilling under the arms which is to be expected but not bad at... Read More all for this kind of teddy style jacket.

September 16, 2019

Perfect for over and under Nano Puff

I wear Nano Puffs for working outside in all sorts of weather and this jacket was a nice addition for when the weather is cooler. I wear it under my nano puff for wetter days and over my nano puff for colder days. Washes really well and I like the over sized fit with leggings. I am 5' 125 lbs and bought a small so it falls comfortably around m... Read Morey hips (36").

September 13, 2019

Over sized

Im usually an xs and patagonia xs would fit me, bit for this one the xs feels like a medium on me. Not true to its labeled size. With they made xxs.

September 11, 2019

Perfect!

This is exactly what I was looking for. I ordered this in the Pelican color, size large (my usual Patagonia size), and it fit just as described, less nipped in at the waist. I love how much freedom of movement I have in this fleece. Certainly not as warm or thick as the Retro X, but that’s what I was looking for. Love my Retro X fleeces, but find m... Read Moreovement to be restricted. I found no problem with the length of the arms. They’re just right and I have long arms. Sleeves fall at my wrists. The shoulders are a little more boxy than my other fleeces in size large but not so much that it’s really noticeable. This fleece also isn’t as thick as it appears in the pictures. Feels more airy but I’m into it. For size reference, I’m 5’9” and a size 12. I think if you’re looking for a slimmer fit you’d likely be fine ordering one size down in this, bit if you’re looking for comfort and want to layer and enjoy the benefits of a less nipped cut at the waist, your typical size will be just right.

September 7, 2019

Soft and comfy

I wanted that “in between” sweater/jacket. This serves the purpose. It’s great for cool days and nights. Fits nicely under a rain jacket for the days that require more protection. The hood fits nicely and does not obstruct vision. The neutral color and style works well with all types of casual and work out clothing.

September 5, 2019

Beech Brown in Extra Small

I ordered the Beech Brown in my usual size of an extra small. I am Petite, 5'1" with a small frame. The jacket is not meant for Petites, but the sleeves stop at my wrists and the length stops at my hips. The sleeves are not tight, but not too relaxed either. The body of the jacket is described as slim, but it's more relaxed than fitt... Read Moreed. I can wear a light-to-medium weight shirt/sweater underneath without being overly warm. The material is a soft, cozy fleece that's also on the interior and the hood. The zippered pockets are warm and they have room for my iPhone, keys, and other small items. The Beech Brown is a neutral that looks great with skinny jeans/pants, duck boots, Chelsea boots, knee-high boots, and sneakers. My only complaint is that I would've preferred metal zippers especially for the price. I'm happy with jacket and will get lots of use from it!

August 29, 2019

Fit was not as expected

I am 5’9” and 140lbs and ordered a Medium, since all my other Patagonia jackets and fleeces are Mediums but for whatever reason the sleeves on this hoody are shorter than the sleeves on other fleeces and jackets of the ‘relaxed fit’ category. I’m not sure if that was a feature of this retro style or not.

August 22, 2019

Fit is HUGE

I was so excited for this as it seemed to be an updated, more relaxed fit from last year’s style. I ordered an xs (my usual size) but when I tried it on I thought it was a mistaken order; it fit like a size medium, felt at least 2 sizes too big, was so huge. Sadly had to return. The fabric is SO soft though! And the navy color is beautiful. Really ... Read Morewanted this to work, was bummed.

August 20, 2019

Very short arms

I'm usually a small but I ordered this in a M so that I can wear it as a jacket in the fall. The body is really big and the arms are really short. I will be taking this back.

Response from Patagonia
September 2, 2019

We're sorry this didn't work out! Please let us know if you need help with your [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

August 20, 2019

Perfect for Fall but Not as Fluffly Expected

The jacket is super light and soft. This makes it perfect for fall layering. I wanted it to be super fluffy and thick like the synchilla pullovers. I got a medium which is perfect for pulling on over lightweight sweaters.

July 31, 2019

Fit is off from last year

So I hurried and bought the red color because I bought 3 of these hoodies last season and loved them. But I found that the fit is different from last year. The fit is boxier in the chest/torso area and the horizontal seams across the chest are not flattering. I'm still on the fence whether I will keep it. I bought the small, I'm 5'3&... Read Morequot; and a size 4/6.

Response from Patagonia
August 1, 2019

We are sorry to hear about the troubles with fit and appreciate that feedback. If you end up wanting to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return), please feel free to do so. We are happy to [help](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact) if you need it!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches