Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Retro Pile Fleece Vest

Write Your Review

4.4/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XXS
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 73 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Retro Pile Fleece Vest

4.4/5
October 22, 2021

So versatile!

I love a fleece vest to help keep me warm. This is super cute and versatile in that it goes with so many outfits and I can dress it up or keep it uber casual and still look good.

October 21, 2021

Love this vest!

I usually wear a small and always order a medium from Patagonia. This vest has a looser fit than other jackets and vests I have. I like the looser fit right now since that has become more of the trend. I love this open over a flannel.

October 20, 2021

Comfy Cozy

Have been on the hunt for the perfect vest. I love Sherpa material and decided to purchase this for chiller days. Its perfect length and keeps my core warm! Highly recommend!

October 11, 2021

Perfection!!!

I went deep on your vests and men's, too before I ordered the women's large. I am size 8, 5'9" tall and weigh 147lbs. I noticed in the photo it looked long. Once you have on over jeans, a flannel, maybe another layering piece, too, it lays nice and flat when zipped...no pulling and tightness through the hips. I also like the big... Read Moreger circumference around the neck and armholes, so you can wear a hoodie underneath, too. I bought the pelican color with navy trim. Perfect color for fall through spring! Thank you for the thoughtful design.

September 26, 2021

Strangely Long

I really liked the blue color and softness of this vest, but it is much longer than a typical vest. On its own, it seems a strange length, and even more so if used for layering. I will return but would love to purchase if designed for a lower waist fit.

Response from Patagonia
October 5, 2021

Hi Laura, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the length of the vest. We appreciate feedback like this as its crucial to improving things for future seasons. We'll pass this along to our design team!

August 18, 2021

What is up with the Zipper?

I just received this vest and was very excited to wear. I agree with other reviewers that the product is long, but I was okay with the fit otherwise and love the color and comfort. However, the zipper may force me to take this back. I frequently like to zip my jackets and vests all the way up, and this zipper will scratch your neck, as it is comple... Read Moretely exposed at the top without any protective hood around it. Very rough, very sharp. Disappointed as Patagonia is typically very thoughtful with such details. Not sure what happened here.

Response from Patagonia
August 18, 2021

Sorry to hear about the lack of zipper protecting fabric! We will be happy to help you return your vest under our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee). You may prefer our Los Gatos, Classic Synchilla, or Better Sweater vest. Thanks so much for your valuable feedback, Lydia!

June 30, 2021

All around great vest!

Super soft and well fitting vest! I’m 125lbs, 33/24.5/34 (chest/waist/hips). The vest fits comfortably, with some room underneath. Size up if you want extra room for multiple layers underneath. The fabric itself is extremely soft and so cozy. I haven’t worn it in really cold weather but it seems to keep my core nice as toasty thus far! Would highly... Read More recommend.

June 14, 2021

All around perfect

Great fit, great feel and overall a great layering piece!

May 12, 2021

Its comfortable, fits well, and is warm

Its comfortable, fits well, and is warm. Its great for a casual day.

May 5, 2021

Cozy but too big

I like the material it was just way larger than I expected and I dont wear it now

Response from Patagonia
May 6, 2021

Hi Clara, we're so sorry to hear about the sizing issues. Please note, we always want ensure you're happy and wearing your product. If you want to [return this or exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) for a different size, we welcome you to do so.

April 14, 2021

Right product, wrong size

This vest is too big; shouldve purchased a small.

Response from Patagonia
April 14, 2021

We are incredibly sorry to hear this size did not work out for you. Please know you are always welcome to [exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) your items at any time. If you need any help, please feel free to reach out to our Customer Service at 1-800-638-6464 and they will be more than happy to help!

March 27, 2021

Cute but too long

This review is as much for customer service as it is for customers. This vest is warm, cozy, cute and well made which is why Patagonia is one of my favorites. However, the vest is too long for shorter people. Not everyone is 5'9 like the model shown, I am 5'4". I wish you would PLEASE make things for shorter people not just models. I... Read Moref you could make your pants like another favorite of mine, Kuhl brand who makes their pants 28" inseam for shorter women, 30 " for Regular and 32 for taller women. You would sell a lot more and not waste material, as I always have to have my patagonia pants hemmed to fit me, a common complaint I hear. So, when I find a great product that offers 28" inseam I stick with them. Most of us shorter girls don't need petite pants as they are shorter in the crotch, we just need a shorter inseam. Same for this cute vest. I did keep it because its cute and warm but when zipped up it covers and cradles my butt. Needs to be about 3-4" shorter for shorter women. If you are 5'9" like the model it will look like your picture. I don't mind paying a little more to have shorter versions of pants/vests/shirts (arm length) etc so I don't have to bother finding an alterations person after my purchase. Oh how I wanted to buy two more vests and some pants but will only buy the one vest because of the length. Thus only the 4 stars

March 17, 2021

Just what I needed

This was to replace a similar vest my wife's mother stole from me. The old one lasted for over a decade. Hopefully this one does, too.

March 12, 2021

Love the look and style

I love the look of this vest. I have several vests from Patagonia for ski/snow, casual wear, but needed a size up. There was something about the fabric structure and weight that didn't work for me.

March 10, 2021

Cozy & Warm

I originally ordered a medium like my other Patagonia tops (which fit perfectly) and the vest was too bulky for my liking. Exchanged for a small and Im very happy. Have only worn a couple of times but it generates warmth the moment I put it on and is super comfortable. Pockets and zipper work great, which is a huge pet peeve of mine. So far, so goo... Read Mored!

March 4, 2021

Cozy n cute!

Got this for work (required to wear red/burgundy) and it made the perfect addition to my winter outfits! This vest never fails to keep me warm while still looking cute!

February 26, 2021

Cozy and warm

I have a hard time with Patagonia sizing for my large frame. I typically wear a Large/12, but this is true to size, maybe a bit roomy, but perfect over another layer. I would say it runs roomier/longer on me than the fit on the model.

February 25, 2021

Exactly what I needed...

I just moved from sunny San Diego to not-so-sunny and way colder coastal Humboldt and really needed a new vest to complete my colder-weather gear. This vest is super-cozy, warm and comfortable and makes a huge difference when the winds kick up (this is one of those "feels colder than it is" places, very humid). I'd read another revie... Read Morew here mentioning that this particular vest is a great fit for women with larger chests, and I concur. I often have a problem with clothes that are too fitted because of this and tend to like clothes on the baggy side. The retro fleece is a relaxed fit that's great for me. Just "boxy" enough to not be tight across the chest but still flattering. I say that it runs "true to size" because my idea of large is that it should be, well, LARGE, and this is, but saying that it runs "kinda large" is probably not inaccurate either. I got the salt gray and think it's super-cute as well as really practical. I really could not be happier with my purchase.

February 11, 2021

Not Patagonias Best

The vest is warm, cozy, great pockets, nice color contrasting detail. I recommend you wash before wearing. Mine shed heavily. The reason I sent it back was the way the fabric hung when anything was in the pockets. It looked sloppy. Not for me. Id like to tru the retro x when new colors come out.

February 11, 2021

Nice fit

It's warm and cute.

February 1, 2021

WARM

Very nice vest runs a bit large so I returned for a small. Perfect for golf in AZ.

February 1, 2021

Great Vest

I an not a regular vest wearer. However, this vest could easily convert me! Very, very nice vest. Warm but not bulky. Stylish but functional. Well made. I love it. Absolutely no complaints. The medium was a snug too tight. The large fits me perfectly. I fluctuate between a medium and large. I am better fit with the large for this vest.

January 30, 2021

Beautiful Classic Vest

This was my first purchase of Patagonia. This is a classic piece that I can wear it during telework.

January 30, 2021

Now a fan of Retro Fleece

I ordered this along with the Marsupial. I have lived in Classic Fleece when the temps are down for years and was a little hesitant to try the Retro Fleece. So glad I did. Very warm and comfortable

January 29, 2021

Great for extra warmth on cold days under a jacket or perfect for spring and fall.

Great purchase and get quality and warm. Just what I wanted!

January 29, 2021

Snuggly but long

Very warm and cute, but really long in the waist for me - Im 54 so it would be nice if petite sizes were offered!

January 22, 2021

Nice fabric but poor fit

I tried the small as well as extra small. Neither fit well. The vest is very long and wide. I returned both and purchased the better sweater vest which has a much better fit and looks great.

January 20, 2021

Fit problem

Here's a problem I've had for a decade. I've been buying your clothes since I was a river cook, ski bunny and bon vivant back in the day. I'm now 71 and not used up but your clothes haven't fit me in a long time. I understand changing fashion ( I was a clothing designer in New York City in the early 70's) but this curr... Read Moreent thing with the skinny sleeves and "slim fit" sure doesn't work for me. I weigh 120 pounds but have to buy a medium so I can zip things up. I am far from voluptuous and not particularly overweight, just old. This vest really doesn't fit. It looks like I have on my dad's clothes but it goes halfway to my knees. I needed something like it though so here I am.

January 20, 2021

Vampire Collar from Zipper Tabs

We love Patagonia as casual wear and thought this vest would be awesome. And it mostly is except for the top of the zipper under the collar. There are hard plastic edges where the zipper ends inside the collar. If you zip it all the way closed its like two tiny vampires trying to pierce your neck. Very disappointing quality issue for Patagonia and ... Read Moreotherwise good vest.

January 18, 2021

Cozy & Flattering

This Retro Pile Fleece Vest is exactly what I was looking for! After trying on many styles of vests that don't flatter a larger chest, I came across this one. Decided to pull the trigger and I am so thankful I did. Not only is it flattering, but it is also incredibly warm and easy to wear and style. Washing it is a breeze and it goes with ever... Read Moreything. Would highly recommend!

January 18, 2021

Just Right

I love adding a vest over a turtleneck top in the winter. This vest adds the perfect amount of extra warmth I am looking for.

January 16, 2021

Super warm

Quick shipping great quality

January 8, 2021

Nice vest

Fits perfectly and is nice to wear with jeans casually or to work.

January 4, 2021

Gift for girlfriend

She loves it. Worried the piling will flatten out. But loves it.

December 17, 2020

Great so far!

I read the other reviews on this vest and just received it. So far, it a cozy, comfortable, good looking product. I haven't washed it yet to see what how it holds up, which I expect to be good. It's a little long on me but I have a short torso so that's not saying much. I would buy again!

December 7, 2020

Perfect fit

Its perfect for Los Angeless weather. I wear almost every day.

December 5, 2020

Perfect!

I have been looking for a vest to wear with my medical scrubs. This vest is perfect I am able to zip it up without it feeling too stuffy. According to the measurements online I shouldve purchased a size large however after reading the reviews I purchased a size medium since everyone mentioned it runs large. Im glad I did as the medium fits me perfe... Read Morect. The vest is self is it tru navy blue color and super warm. For reference I am 4 11 and weigh 155 pounds.

November 30, 2020

Wonderful vest!

This vest is exactly what I was searching for -nicely made, great colors and fabric. However, I had to return it as it was a bit too snug and way too long. I need one in petite sizing.

November 22, 2020

Perfect fit

The size charts were very accurate. Fits just right. Super cozy for early morning dog walks to the park. Love it.

November 17, 2020

Cozy

Patagonia's Retro Pile Fleece Vest provides warmth, comfort and style. I found this item to be a bit larger than I might have expected with size medium.

November 13, 2020

Warm and cozy

Great vest for everyday wear. Its more bulky than the synchilla but its texture has a more cozy feeling to it. Its a bit more boxy than the synchilla or the nano vests but I still purchased my normal size and was happy with the fit. Its just a different look.

November 13, 2020

Cozy vest but collar/zipper needs a re-design

This is a very cozy vest - heavy fleece. Runs a bit large so I sized down. The collar and zipper, however, is a deal breaker for me. I hate when my neck is cold so often like to zip my vests to the top. The collar on this vest though is not very tall, which might be ok if the zipper had a zip cover flap over it. When it is completely zipped, it is ... Read Morevery uncomfortable -- zipper stabs your neck. Such a bummer. If not for the exposed zipper at the neck, this could be a great vest. For now though, the my re-tool vest is still my favorite... too bad Patagonia stopped making those. Hoping for a design change on this Retro Pile vest next year.

November 3, 2020

Good quality

Patagonia Products last forever !

November 2, 2020

So cozy and cute!

Have been looking for a vest for a while! This one covered both the warm and cute boxes. Super thrilled with the purchase, would buy again.

October 29, 2020

Disappointing quality

This is the only Patagonia product that has ever disappointed me. It sheds (my seatbelt is always covered in white fuzz after I wear it) and looks so dumpy after a year of light wear. Really an outlier. I love all of my other Patagonia gear.

October 27, 2020

So soft

Really cozy and not too short. I love it, and its just the retro fleece I was looking for.

September 12, 2020

Retro pile fleece vest

It was good but just not for me. A little snugger than I thought based on other reviews

February 1, 2020

Disappointed

My first vest I have not liked. The collar is too soft to stand on its own. It runs big and after 2 washes it is still shedding on everything. It just sits in my pile of vests and when I’m comes to the top of the pile I always skip over it.

Response from Patagonia
February 4, 2020

Hi Catherine, thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that your fleece is shedding. We will pass along your feedback to our product team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed, so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) the item to us for a full refund.

January 26, 2020

Best Vest Ever!!

I am a vest wearer. I prefer a fleece vest because it's more cozy and easy to move in. This vest is so warm, cozy and cute it tops any other vest I've owned. I got the blue and it is adorable with the contrasting light blue zipper pulls. I think the best part of the vest are the DEEP pockets. My entire hand fits in them up over my wrist k... Read Moreeeping my hands warm and snug. Lastly, I'll mention the length of the vest because I am tall and like my tops to fit over my waist which this vest does. It doesn't ride up on me and it isn't too puffy. It's just right. I am 5'7" tall, 126 lbs and usually wear a size 4 or small. I am happy to say a small fits perfectly - like it should. Please keep making this vest Patagonia and don't change a thing!!!!!

January 8, 2020

Amazing Vest

Lovely, warm, cute...what more could one ask for!

January 1, 2020

You guys and gals are

You guys and gals are awesome. Original product came perfect, but wife wanted different color. The new color and return was super easy to process. She loves the vest. Long time fans. Thanks again

December 31, 2019

Looks good

Love the colors. Vest fits ell and looks good. I expect it to perform well as a layer of warmth in a very cold climate.

December 31, 2019

Loved it at first, but after first wash the zipper is puckered.

I loved this vest, and the idea of it. After I washed it on a wash and hung to dry, the piping next to the zipper shrunk and is now puckering the zipper so that the zipper is scrunched and wavy. The wash properties of the piping are not consistent with the rest of the garments and for that I have to knock off stars. The shearling is great though an... Read Mored is good for lightweight warmth. The garment wont hang on my body like it did when I bought it however. Runs large, size down. Please let me know if you have any fixes.

Response from Patagonia
January 24, 2020

Hi AJ! Thanks for leaving your feedback, and we're very sorry to hear about the shrinkage you experienced on the Retro Pile Vest! This issue is covered under our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee#searchterm=ironclad), and you are definitely welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) that item under warranty.

December 30, 2019

Love the vest, great quality

Love the vest, great quality and fit!

December 29, 2019

Very satisfied

Quality product and very efficient delivery. Thank you.

December 26, 2019

Bought for my wife, she

Bought for my wife, she loves it & I love looking at it when she wears it.

December 23, 2019

Great gift

Girlfriend loves it!

December 17, 2019

Perfect

This is casual and cute. Perfect for flannels.

December 17, 2019

Very comfortable, a little big

Very comfortable, a little big on me

December 17, 2019

Warm

I Love it! This is the warmest Patagonia vest I own I also bought the long sleeve version super warm. This is warmer thicker than last year style

December 16, 2019

Bad pilling

Love the look and design, perfect light vest that is still warm, but after a week of wearing it it started to pill very badly.. disappointing in that regard.

Response from Patagonia
January 9, 2020

Hi Kaya. We're glad to see you're satisfied with the design and weight of your vest, but it's a shame about the pilling. To prevent pilling, we recommend washing it either by hand in cool to cold water, or separately in your washing machine on the gentle cycle. It's best to lay it flat to dry rather than place it in the dryer where the fabric can easily get unbraided.   To remove pilling that has already occurred, a sweater shaver or sweater stone is an excellent tool and can help the garment look brand new again.  Of course, if you are not pleased with the performance of your vest, you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) the item to us for a full refund.

December 8, 2019

So warm! I purchased the

So warm! I purchased the XL which needed some adjusting. The Large was too form fitting. The “size” below isn’t working.

December 4, 2019

Love my vest!

I wear this daily! Keeps me warm, looks good and has the great Patagonia quality.

November 23, 2019

Warm and cozy without being

Warm and cozy without being restrictive or heavy.

November 22, 2019

Cozy & Stylish

Love this retro vest! Not too bulky, but warm. I bought the oyster colored fleece with navy trim and golden brown zipper ribbons and it looks great with jeans!

November 20, 2019

color was great

it took 2 tries to get a size that fit but the fit is still not great. The problem is the arm holes are way too large when wearing this vest with just a shirt.,.If I were tower it with a sweatshirt they would be find. Also the room for ease in the chest if too much. I ordered a large and based on my chest size of 38 and the garment chest measured 4... Read More4. This is way too much ease. I called company and was told that the med garment size was 40, it was not it was 41.75. but I just gave up and kept the item. I will alter the vest later if I decide it just bags too mcuh.

Response from Patagonia
December 6, 2019

Hi Connie, we're sorry to hear you're disappointed with the fit. Please note that you are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it back to us. We're also always happy to email you any item's measurements chart beforehand so you can feel more confident about your next purchase.

November 11, 2019

Love this vest!

Love this vest!

November 10, 2019

Comfy vest

I love the material and color (Beech brown) of this vest. Super warm, soft, and well made. However it does run large. I usually wear a medium and could easily have gotten a small. Otherwise one of my new favorites.

November 1, 2019

Pretty decent vest

This vest is mostly what I wanted. It does run big - I'm usually a medium jacket, small top in Patagonia, but I had to exchange this for an XS. My only real complaint about it is the collar isn't very stiff so unless it's zipped the collar flops down. Otherwise it looks great and is warm.

October 31, 2019

It's warm and cozy

It's warm and cozy

October 19, 2019

Looks great and feel great.

Looks great and feel great. Love the huge pockets.

September 30, 2019

So comfy!

This vest is so comfortable and instantly makes me warm, so cute and soft.

August 25, 2019

The vest is great! It

The vest is great! It is a little large for your typical Medium, but it is cute and comfortable!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches