Back to Product

W's Classic Synchilla® Vest

Write Your Review

4.4/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 61 Reviews

Clear All

W's Classic Synchilla® Vest

4.4/5
October 5, 2021

Too warm for me

I would have loved this jacket had it had an up-down zipper. Meaning you could zip from Top or up from bottom. Also for me the fleece was too too heavy which for most would have been fine! Pretty color . Sadly I returned because of weight and zipper.

October 1, 2021

Cozy Reliable Classic

Great for light warmth on autumn walks, over t-shirts or for added winter warmth under jackets. Back length is several inches longer that the classic Patagonia vest I have worn and loved since the 70s, but still comfortable.

September 29, 2021

So Functional

I have had a black vest of the same model for many years! Wanted to have a Navy version as well, just for a bit of change. So glad Patagonia is still making this model.

September 28, 2021

Love it!

I was wanting a vest because I get cold, but not usually cold enough for a full jacket. This is great for that and building layers to keep warm in Colder climate!

September 25, 2021

Super comfortable

Im very pleased with my vest. It's exceptionaly warm. The costumer service is fantastic. I love Patagonia.

September 12, 2021

Very nice vest. the cut is nice and the pockets handy

My only disappointment is that the fit is a little snug. I prefer things a little looser. unzipped, it's perfect. the cut and design fall just right. but I cannot wear a very thick shirt under it when zipped

Response from Patagonia
September 21, 2021

Hey Joan, thanks for the review! If you'd like to size up, you're welcome to begin an exchange [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

September 9, 2021

Oatmeal color more grey than tan.

I already Have this in the grey. Wanted one in a tan. So I ordered the oatmeal and black. Love the style but returned the oatmeal because it was more of a grey tone then tan. Kept black. Wish they would make a true tan/ wheat color

September 8, 2021

Very soft, beautiful color

Fits well. Very comfortable.

July 8, 2021

Make office temperature comfortable.

Vest is well-designed and made. The two pockets are valuable since I move around too much at work. Vest is comfortable and light.

March 20, 2021

Very Comfortable

This vest is very comfortable. The material is nice and soft. The vest is a good weight, lightweight yet still warm.

March 3, 2021

Comfy

Very comfortable, and warm. Good length.

January 25, 2021

HUGE arm holes

I bought the vest at the outlet store. It was marked as a womans small but the huge arm holes make me think that perhaps the wrong label was attached. I have similar vests that I love. This was definitely a one off!

Response from Patagonia
February 26, 2021

Hey there, thanks for leaving us a review on the Synchilla Fleece Vest. We would be happy to check to see if you got defective product by sharing the measurements we have on file. If it turns out you do, we can move forward with a replacement. Reach out to our [Customer Service Team](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

December 22, 2020

Great vest

Super soft, warm and comfortable...just like all of Patagonias fleeces

December 11, 2020

Great vest

It's warm, nice style and great fit. Works well over shirts or under a coat for extra warmth. Love he selection of colors.

December 10, 2020

Very comfortable.

I'm very keeping warm at my work.

December 9, 2020

Love my vest!

I ordered this through the Reno outlet-outstanding customer service! And she answered the phone! The Maine location wont bother to answer the phone! I think they changed the material to avoid matting. So light! Please make in more colors-like red or brown...or gold!

December 6, 2020

Just Perfect

Enough to keep me warm on a cool day and a good layer for a cold day. Very convienient and comfortable!

December 5, 2020

Not what I expected

I bought this item with the intent of wearing it with my scrubs for work. I purchased the navy blue color which is true navy blue. However, I did not like the fit of this item. It is way too long in the backside the arm holes are really large and the size recommended (L) was swimming on me. For reference I am 4 11 and 155. I ended up purchasing a d... Read Moreifferent style which worked out perfect. I purchased the W's Retro Pile Vest in a size M. Its much more warmer and the fit is just right.

Response from Patagonia
January 7, 2021

We're sorry to hear that the sizing was off on your first purchase, but we appreciate your feedback, Janet. We will gladly [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) with any returns or exchanges in the future, and we're glad you found a vest that performs well for your comfort at work!

November 15, 2020

Really nice vest.

Ordered this vest because the price was right and I have bought this vest in the past. Last year I bought this vest in medium in grey. It fit great. Then this one I ordered in Medium and it is a bit too small. So, the sizing needs to be consistent and it's not.

November 14, 2020

So comfy!

I had always wanted to add the synchilla vest to my SoCal vest wardrobe. My easy winter daily outfit is a vest with a lululemon swiftly long sleeve shirt and leggings! I have lots of north face vests but really wanted some Patagonia. I was too big busted and short torso for most of their vests. But that all changed since I had a double mastectomy t... Read Morehis past September. Now I can fit Patagonia vests! In this vest, without my boobs, I can now fit a medium perfectly! LOL! The synchilla was just too big in the armholes and too long In the large, by the time I had it fit in the chest! And it looks like they have created an anti-pilling finish to address previous pilling complaints? I dont know until I start wearing mine and putting it through this grandmas busy lifestyle, post mastectomy. Please make more colors, especially mustard! And true red!

November 2, 2020

Comfortable and warm

This vest is very comfy and warm. I ordered an extra small and have room to wear a sweatshirt under it but doesnt look bulky with just a long sleeve either. Perfect for fall in the northeast.

October 30, 2020

Perfect slim fitting for petite

I bought this to wear to work where its chilly inside. Color is nice and it has an inside pocket. I like the huggy fit where I dont feel bulked up. I wish they had more extensive colors to choose. I would buy another.

September 20, 2020

My favorite Patagonia vest!

I really would love to get a puffy vest but my torso is short and I find it bunches at the top. So I went with this one instead and I love it. I Will definitely be getting other colors!

June 29, 2020

Jacket has REALLY REALLY bad Pill and Lint problem

I own many patagonia vests including the nano and better sweater models. Always loved patagonia for the durability and quality. I cannot say the same about this vest. When i first got it i loved it, the feel, the fit, everything. However after just using the vest lightly it has pilled like crazy and picks up every lint and hair. Not sure what the i... Read Moressue is, even tried washing it (air dry of course after) and nothing helps. Save yourself the trouble and get a different model. This does not have then quality or durability of what Patagonia should be.

Response from Patagonia
July 27, 2020

Hi Mark! Thank you for sharing your feedback about the W's Synchilla Vest - we're very sorry to hear about the pilling you've experienced! To remove pills, we recommend using a sweater shaver or stone on the affected area. Alternatively, you are more than welcome to send the vest back under our Ironclad Guarantee. To initiate an online return, click here: https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html. Our Customer Service team would also be happy to assist you via phone at 800-638-6464 or with our Live Chat feature on Patagonia.com. Representatives are available M-F 6:00-6:00 PST or on weekends from 7:00-3:00 PST.

June 20, 2020

Wear everywhere and in most every situation.

Living in rural NH, we wear vests most of the year. Many old buildings have cool drafty rooms. This vest is the perfect fit, especially the length and high collar to deal with drafts. The color goes with everything. Bobsie

June 17, 2020

Comfortable middle layer

I wear this either as a light vest in transitional weather or under a jacket to provide additional warmth. It fits snugly but doesnt bind. This is my 2nd vest, I liked the first one so well that I bought a second one in a different color.

March 2, 2020

Disappointed

I don't think I have ever been disappointed with a Patagonia product EVER. I have been a loyal customer for over 40 years. This classic vest fits well but the fabric is not soft and EVERYTHING is attracted to it and either weaves it's way in or clings to it. Every time I wear it (black color) I have to use a lint roller. It looks like it ... Read Moreis pilling however after closer inspection it is fabric from other materials just stuck to it. I would have sent it back but I wore it for trip to Canada and just don't feel right returning it after a month of wear. Sorry Patagonia you missed the mark on this one, although my original Synchilla jacket from the early 80's is still going strong.

Response from Patagonia
April 3, 2020

Hi Lorraine, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the vest. We truly appreciate your feedback as it helps us to improve products for future seasons. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](http://www.patagonia.com/static/on/demandware.static/-/Library-Sites-PatagoniaShared/default/dw0cbc28c2/slots/RMA/patagonia_returns_form.pdf).

January 7, 2020

Christmas presents-Great Quality

Super good quality and fit was nice-

January 1, 2020

Great Vest

Comfy, warm, gets the job done! Got the XL so I could wear over layers. I am 175 lb 5'9" happy I got this size.

December 30, 2019

Giant arm holes

I ordered a L because I am fairly large-busted (38C). The vest fit my bust, but there was a ton of extra fabric under the arms. I am 5’5”. My waist is 32-33 and hips 38/39. The L fit just a big loosely all over as I hoped it would, but the arm holes were totally out of proportion. Returned.

December 30, 2019

Not the synchilla I remember

I have 4 other synchilla vests in different colors from 5-12 yrs ago. This black synchilla vest is a mess after 1 wash. I wore it 6-7 times and then washed it. Under the arms, collar, near pockets are all piling. Very surprised. My other vests have held up so well. Maybe it’s the black color? Still recommend the vest; mine has to be 1 in a million.... Read More

Response from Patagonia
January 27, 2020

Hi Mary, we're sorry to hear that your vest is pilling so soon. We'd suggest a sweater stone. For detailed instructions on how to remove pilling, please follow this link to Worn Wear, https://www.patagonia.com/worn-wear-guide/?gid=19439&langid=en.

December 28, 2019

Great!

My daughter asked for it and loved it. We love anything Patagonian!

December 27, 2019

Love it

Fits great, looks great and warm!

December 26, 2019

Great fit.

It is lightweight but snuggly warm.

December 19, 2019

I purchased the same vest

I purchased the same vest a number of years ago, which fits me perfectly. The armholes on this new vest are larger than they used to be so unfortunately I have to return it.

December 13, 2019

I love the vest and

I love the vest and what Patagonia stands for but price is quite high so it’s a luxury purchase for me

December 13, 2019

Handy Vest to have

Nice color comfortable to wear. Not bulky and warm.

December 7, 2019

Perfect

Fits well and keeps me warm.

December 6, 2019

Love it!

I’ve been wearing this type of Patagonia fleece vest each winter on a nearly daily basis for roughly twenty years. This was my fourth vest purchase, and I love it just as much as the other three! Breathable and keeps the core toasty warm for all occasions.

December 4, 2019

perfect winter vest

I loved my Classic Synchilla vest in the color nickel so much I got two more in new navy and black. The small fits me perfectly and it is just the right amount of warmth indoors. It's my new uniform for winter along with the Snap-T pants.

December 2, 2019

Soo warm!

Fits perfectly for me. I'm in-between sizes, but probably closer to an 8 rather than a 6 so I was counting on it running a little large. My previous fleece vest (which I still wear regularly) that I bought several years ago is also a size small.

November 29, 2019

A true classic

Just love the synchilla. Almost can’t wait for it to get a bit of wear and tear! I have one that is almost 20 years old— still wear it!

November 23, 2019

Love it!

I am excited about my best! It is perfect most days for winter in the South.

November 22, 2019

Comfort

I love Patagonia products - I own several from vests, long sleeve warm ups to long coats & pants. This particular Synchilla vest - I had to exchange. Although it is the same size and style as my other Synchilla vest , it fitted differently. This vest had such wide arm hole that when I wear it, part of the fabric folds out under my arm. I excha... Read Morenged it at the store for a different style vest - which I was much more happy about.

November 19, 2019

Please don’t change this...

Classic and perfect for me.

November 18, 2019

Classic Synchilla Vest

i have always been pleased with every item purchased from Patagonia...this is no exception....PERFECT!!!!

November 17, 2019

Great vest

I recently purchased the Nee Navy Synchilla vest. It fit very well (I normally wear size Large and the Large fit nicely). It is very warm and has great pockets.

November 8, 2019

I would get a size

I would get a size smaller. It's warm though.

November 6, 2019

It works for me by

It works for me by wearing It around the house when the weather is not too cold.

November 5, 2019

Very nice addition to my

Very nice addition to my wardrobe

November 3, 2019

I. Love. This.

So cozy. Let’s you move and have freedom while keeping your warm.

October 27, 2019

Love my vest!

It’s cozy and warm! The right fabric and weight. Love my vest and absolutely will continue to purchase from Patagonia.

October 25, 2019

Armholes cut too large compared

Armholes cut too large compared to previous Synchilla vests bought from Patagonia in same size. Have to return

Response from Patagonia
November 13, 2019

Sorry to hear that the sizing of the arm holes has been a disappointment compared to our vests in the past. Your [return](https://is.gd/DQq2nw) is currently processing. Please reach out to us if we can recommend a different product or you have any questions!

October 23, 2019

Great vest

This vest is my second and is performing as expected. Love the ability to layer up and this fits the need perfectly with a warm, but relatively slim profile. Only word of caution should have ordered the XS vs S. Slightly too big for my body frame, but works for the intended purpose

August 10, 2019

Worth the money

Better construction ( zipper & pockets ) and better quality fleece than some less expensive options. Plan to replace others w/ Patagonia when they fall apart. Prefer spending more upfront to have longer lasting purchase.

August 10, 2019

Fleece Vest

It's fine. Fits. Looks okay. Ticks all the boxes. I haven't worn it yet; it's summer after all. No complaints.

June 20, 2019

Gray not black - Poor sizing and quality

The vest is a true 'gray' in color, not black, and that is what the product description should state. The zipper is gray-green: not a particularly good color match. The 'S' size measures 39" at the chest (armpit to armpit) and 27" at the shoulders. I don't know what figure type this sizing would suit: late-term pr... Read Moreegnancy? This vest is not of the quality I have come to expect in Patagonia products over the past twenty years. The only upside is that it is made of recycled materials. Purchased 06 of 19.

Response from Patagonia
June 20, 2019

We are very sorry to hear that you are not satisfied with this vest and we appreciate that feedback regarding the color and the fit on this. We recommend you [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) this back to us since you are disappointed with it and we can get you taken care of. Please reach out to us if there is anything we can do to [help](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact) you out.

May 13, 2019

Gift for my mother; functional and flattering

I bought this in Nickel size Medium for my mom this Mother's Day. She called me to say that it fits perfectly--not too fitted and not at all boxy like some other vests--and it goes great with her outfits for both work and home. She is 5'2 and 135.

May 8, 2019

The material was not the

The material was not the wonderful soft synchilla I have in a jacket that I bought several years ago. i also thought that the "black" had a brownish tinge that I was not expecting. Next time I will not buy "on line". I would rather look feel and touch the item and not be stuck with having to decide whether to wend it back!

Response from Patagonia
June 4, 2019

We're sorry to hear that the feel and color were not what you were expecting! Your satisfaction is always guaranteed, and you're welcome to return or exchange your item at any time. View return instructions [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

May 8, 2019

Great vest!

Love these vests. Wish they came in even more colors. Easy wash and dry.

May 8, 2019

My go to vest!

I wear this vest around the house, out in the woods, coming/going, gym workouts +++ Indispensable!!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches