Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Classic Retro-X® Fleece Vest

Write Your Review

4.4/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XXS
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 43 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Classic Retro-X® Fleece Vest

4.4/5
May 6, 2021

Super Waarm

It was uncomfortable, stiff, awkward around the neck, the lining felt like hard plastic( I know it wasn't) , too heavy etc.

April 30, 2021

It's fitted and long

I loved and yet returned this vest as it wasn't attractive on me at all. I'll keep shopping for one that is boxier, I guess, as it's fitted and felt tight over a sweater.

Response from Patagonia
April 30, 2021

Hey there, thanks for the review on our Classic Retro-X Fleece Vest. We would love to gather some more information from you on intended use and help you find a vest that fits your needs. Please reach out to our [customer service](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) team so we can find you the perfect match!

April 27, 2021

Super warm.

Will use it for casual wear to keep me warm.

April 22, 2021

Vesty McVestface, totally stoke.

I bought this for my wife. Now, I am as a GOD.

April 18, 2021

Snuggly but...

I love the look and outside feel of this vest, but the wind-blocking layer makes it feel more like armor. If there was more flexibility, I'd run and ski with it more. For now, it's relegated to casual wear.

Response from Patagonia
April 19, 2021

We recommend that you take a look at our Women's [Retro Pile Fleece Vest](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-retro-pile-fleece-vest/22826.html?dwvar_22826_color=SGRY) which will have the same look and feel, minus that windproof layer. Please reach out to our Customer Service team to work out a return!

April 8, 2021

Warm and cozy

I love this vest - the colors are so much fun. It is warm and blocks the wind. It would be slightly more comfortable with some stretchy fabric built in,

April 4, 2021

Love the style/dislike the fit

I love this style however for a curvy girl like myself with a chest and hips its an awkward fit. The length is too long so it creates a bunch in the midsection if zipped.

Response from Patagonia
April 6, 2021

Hi Hannah, thanks for taking the time to write this review! We are sorry the fit of the Retro-X Vest isn't working out for you. This is really valuable feedback, which we've passed along to our Design Team. They are constantly working to improve fit and style of our products and customer feedback is one of the contributing factors to these changes. We hope to not disappoint you in the future.

February 26, 2021

cozy!

lovely color and perfect for the transition between seasons!

February 24, 2021

Great for every day

Great for every day

February 15, 2021

Incredible warm

I have many down and puffer style vests and this is by far the warmest vest I own! I know understand the loyal customer following Patagonia has!

February 15, 2021

Warm

True to size, I wear a small in Patagonia and this was same with this product, even though some reviews stated runs small. I Bought a medium and a small, the medium was bulky/ boxy and way too big in shoulders and chest. Very warm, a bit stiff but warm.. really like the quality along with retro look I rocked back in the day

January 30, 2021

Great all-round vest

The retro x line is excellent for warmth in cold weather with added protection from wind. Everyone in my family has at least one!

January 26, 2021

Beautiful!

Love-love-love this vest! I am a size large but it was quite snug, so I exchanged it for an XL. Cozy, comfy, and unique. I am getting double takes when I wear it!

January 25, 2021

Perfect for Wind

I wear this a lot when I am out on the boat in early/mid-spring season fishing. It can be cold on the lake, especially when the boat is going down the river. This vest does an excellent job keeping off the wind. I have worn it a few times casually during winter, and it has helped without the use of a jacket. (Weather/Boating wind is in state of WV/... Read MoreMD.)

January 16, 2021

Cozy Vest

Love this vest! It is warm and cozy, without being too bulky. I especially like the splashes of blue on the zipper details.

December 22, 2020

Great vest

I was looking for a vest different than the standard puffer vest and this is it! I got the brown color with blue details, fits great, warm, super cute, and I have gotten a ton of compliments on it. I highly recommend!

November 6, 2020

Not great

Well, the problem was the lining. Stiff, scratchy, not user friendly. It also may of had something to do with a collar that was also stiff and poked me in the throat. It went back. Not sure if the next patch changed this season or not. In previous yrs, retro had a much softer user friendly interior.

September 21, 2020

Runs huge !!

After reading other reviews I sized up! That was a bad idea. This vest runs huge. It is also stretchy so if you’re wanting something fitted and not gaping your regular size would easily fit with plenty of room for layers. So I am disappointed with an unflattering un-fitted vest. The armholes and hip area are particularly large and that is wearing m... Read Moreultiple layers. I am not sure who this is designed The colour and fleece is really great it’s just a shame I read the other reviews. Just order your usual size and maybe even size down.

Response from Patagonia
December 1, 2020

Thanks so much for this valuable feedback, Kay! We hope you've been able to reach out to the Toronto Patagonia store to process a return or exchange. Please let us know if we can [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

September 18, 2020

Favorite vest

This is an awesome vest. Its very light and warm and wind proof. Perfect for layering and the patterns are really cool.

September 14, 2020

Super cozy

Perfect for casual wear

September 10, 2020

Warm and functional

Wore this in the Northern states during a chilly fall day, mid 50s as a high temp, it kept me warm and the material was a high quality to keep a light wind from reaching through the material. Seemed a bit small for a medium but still fits well enough to wear.

June 26, 2020

Quality Piece

This vest is fantastic. I go hiking often. This is one of my layering pieces. It blocks the wind and is incredibly warm. It is also a nice addition to my wardrobe in the cooler months here in Wyoming. This is a quality piece.

May 12, 2020

Super Warm

Great for a Fall day

May 8, 2020

Super Versatile and Light Weight

I love this vest. It's the best of both worlds. You get the old fashioned hi-pile retro style fleece that I love, but not the restriction that sometimes comes with the full sleeve jacket. It's light weight and perfect for spring/fall. I wear a light long sleeve under it to go on hikes. The durable windproof technology keeps my inner core ... Read Morewarm which is the most important part to keep warm. I love the style of the vest. It's fitted and short but not too short if you know what I mean. The colors accents are so pretty too. I got the dark blue one with the cute pink trim.

January 2, 2020

Warm fuzzy vest with nice styling

I usually don't buy fleece because I don't want to contribute to the ocean microplastics problem, but so far this vest hasn't shedded any fluff and I also don't plan to wash it. It acts as a thick, warm midlayer for casual outings. It looks great and professional even when worn in the office. Size up if you want to wear anything... Read More bulkier than a thin layer underneath. I love the retro style and color chest pocket- it is a seasonal staple and won't go out of fashion,

December 29, 2019

Beautiful piece of clothing

Beautiful piece of clothing

December 27, 2019

Happy wife

I got my wife the blue for Christmas and now wants the khaki one too. She loves the fit. She was worried it would be “boxy” but had the athletic fit she wanted. She wears a medium and it fit true to size. She’s also a fan of the blue piping the zipper and around the base, says it’s a nice contrast. Now for a camping trip to try it in nature.

December 19, 2019

A year round staple!

I love the pattern and the coziness of this vest. I can dress it up or down and add much needed core warmth for the cold north east temps.

December 14, 2019

Great Vest. Customer Service EXCELLENT

Great Vest. Customer Service EXCELLENT as I ordered wrong size!

December 10, 2019

Best vest ever

I purchased Natural, and am in love! Warm, true to size (I got a S, and am 5'4", 127 lbs.) without being too snug. Wore it to a holiday parade and it is very windproof. I'm freezing if the temp is below 50 - Southerner... - and this seems like it will do the trick for weather even a bit cooler than that.

December 9, 2019

Warmest Vest!

This vest is true to size, and is a relaxed fit. It’s so nice and warm, the retro x material blocks wind. I’m 5’9” and an extra large fits great over an R1 fleece and kept me warm outside with the wind in 30 degree weather.

December 1, 2019

Cozy, true to size, cute!

Love this vest so far, it's exactly what I'd hoped & expected. I got caught up reading reviews and waffled a bit between ordering a Small or Medium; went with Medium which is my normal Patagonia size for outerwear and it's perfect.

November 19, 2019

Looove it!!!

Looove it!!!

March 1, 2019

Runs huge

This vest seems super cozy but it’s enormous. I wear a medium or large, usually large in Patagonia stuff and most jackets, so that’s what I got, and when I lift my arms out to the sides the fabric underneath sticks out several inches on both sides. I double checked the label to make sure they hadn’t sent me an XL accidentally, it was so big. Also, ... Read MoreI have moderately wide hips and even that area was too loose by several inches. Hopefully the medium is a more reasonable fit!

November 1, 2018

Love to keep it but...

This vest is so cute but it is a little snug at the hip. I’m 5’3”, 120 lbs. have narrow hips)and ordered a small , my usual Patagonia size. I’m disappointed, but can’t keep it if I can’t layer it. Also, why not use two way zippers? They are much more practical and flattering.

September 29, 2018

Great vest! But...

I love this vest. The retro look is sweet and it is very warm. That said, it is cut for women without hips. There is an elastic band on the bottom that doesn't give and makes for some gathering at the hip when you layer. This is not a huge issue, just something easily remedied by a reversible zipper (why oh why don't you use these, Patago... Read Morenia?) or a relaxed hem. If you are curvy on the bottom at all, size up. I didn't want to because I am really small in the ribs and I didn't want the arm holes to gap. I got the XS and I am 5'6"/120lbs. I mostly wear this vest open if I am layering.

September 9, 2017

Love

I bought this over the summer and just started wearing it now. Its great for fall weather.

June 23, 2017

Cute vest

The vest is really cute and comfy. The collar is a little high and the material is a little stiff (due to the windproof fabric),but I'm assuming it will soften up with time and wear I normally am a XS in Patagonia and ordered XS for the vest,and it fits really nicely. Since it's a regular cut it allows me to layer up but still look femini... Read Morene and form fitting if I decide to wear less layers or by itself. Get it while it's on sale,I'm glad I did! For reference I am 5'4" 120 lbs and ordered XS

May 27, 2017

Love it!!

Perfect for that light chill or using it as a layer.

May 11, 2017

Beautiful vest,but don't size down.

I heeded the recommendations of other reviewers and sized down for this vest. I'm 5'5",128,34B and S is my usual size. I ordered an XS and it was the right length,but otherwise too small all over. Just wanted to add my sizing experience into the mix. I would recommend ordering your usual size.

March 22, 2017

Runs big

I love this vest!! It's a lot warmer and more heavy duty than I expected! Its "stiff" at first but it definitely softens up after wearing it a couple times,the material and quality is amazing,Patagonia never lets me down,I'm 5 ft 2 in. 130 lbs with a 35 1/2 inch bust,I normally wear a size small in Patagonia (but the size small ... Read Morein this vest was huge on me!) I had to return it for the XS and the XS fits perfect,if I were you I would size down unless you want to layer underneath it. I don't like to bulky layer so that is why I got the XS and it works out perfect with a long sleeve or short sleeve underneath,it's cozy to lounge around in or to wear for casual wear in the cold weather,I hope this helps!

March 11, 2017

Too stiff

I purchased the Retro-X vest after returning the Retro-X jacket hoping it would still keep me warm,but be more comfortable. Unfortunately,it's just as uncomfortable as the jacket version. Way too stiff and constrictive. I'd go for the Better Sweater vest and layer up.

March 5, 2017

Warm and Snug

I have well-worn old retro-x vest from a few years ago. Sometimes you need to replace an item. Anyway,ordered the size in medium,which was my previous size. Anyway,I received it and the armpit area was huge. So I had to return it and order the small. It was same for the Better Sweater Vest. It ran a little big near the armpits.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches