Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Houdini® Jacket - Windbreaker Jacket

Write Your Review

4.5/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 253 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Houdini® Jacket - Windbreaker Jacket

4.5/5
True To Size
September 4, 2021

Super light weight

The size small fits perfect for me. Im 5ft 6inches 118lbs I will be using it for running when its a little raining. I would not be able to wear layers under this size which will work great for me. I would definitely size up if you want layers underneath.

September 2, 2021

Love this one!

Wonderful!. Folds into pocket to easily fit into a pocket or purse.

September 2, 2021

Wish I would have got it sooner!

Great shell for PNW Coast. Sheds mist, blocks afternoon wind, layers over a long sleeve base layer if needed. Zipped up and its warm for chilly mornings. Unzipped and perfect when the sun comes out. No waist pockets is great with a pack. However, I dont wear it running because I have dogs and need room for treats and poo bags!

August 15, 2021

Nice light versatile jacket

This is a great jacket - very versatile. I use for jogging, casual wear, hiking and camping / canoeing. Note that it is weather resistant. I was in a canoe with a downpour and had brought this along due to the convenient size it packs down to, but did end up wet. I also have the Torrentshell, which probably would have been a better choice in hindsi... Read Moreght. Otherwise, a great little jacket.

August 14, 2021

Perfect weight for summer and fall

This is my second purchase of the women's Houdini hoody. I love the fit & colors, purple and new red. This is my go to jacket!

August 11, 2021

Best Layer

This is an all-time favorite layer. It provides the right amount of warmth and protection during the shoulder seasons. I wear this every time I go running in the cold months and vary the amount and thickness of layers under it. It packs down to be super small and doesn't require a second thought when throwing it in the bottom of a pack as an e... Read Moremergency piece for unexpected weather or to ease a chill.

August 5, 2021

Versatile

The Houdini provides a thin layer of sun & bug protection in summer so I've used it running and camping in the desert and work in Hawaii. In fall and winter it's a nice light shell for running. It's also somewhat fitted which is great for layering. Can be folded to a tiny bundle and stored easily. This and the nano-puff - my fav ... Read MorePatagonia items :)

August 5, 2021

Never Leave Home Without this Jacket

This is the most versatile layer I own. It doubles as an outer layer windbreaker or even a mid layer under my nano on especially cold days. I never leave home without it and use it year round. Best of all, this jacket is super light and packs down small so there are no excuses not to bring it.

July 26, 2021

Good Jacket

I like this jacket - its great for keeping me warm when my Better Sweater or Nano Puff are too much. Great for fog!

July 18, 2021

Great fit!

Great fit! Nice colors!

July 16, 2021

Would like better pockets

Great fabric, fit, and style, but I was very disappointed there were no pockets at waist level. I rarely wear anything that doesnt have good pocket. The one near the neck is very small and in an awkward position for me.

Response from Patagonia
July 16, 2021

Thanks for the feedback on the pockets Sarah. This is designed to be ultralight so every ounce counts. If you love pockets you'll like our [Women's Mountain View Windbreaker Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-mountain-view-windbreaker-jacket/27756.html).

July 12, 2021

Essential Travel Gear

I travel to windy places and this jacket makes all the difference. It is light and packs well. I loved my first one so much I recently bought another. I have recommended this jacket numerous times. An essential when I am traveling and hiking.

July 9, 2021

Great Lightweight Jacket

I purchased this on sale and am very happy with it. Size medium fits well and it will be perfect for taking along on hikes, canoeing and other adventures.

July 4, 2021

Comfy and dry

It rains a lot in the PNW. This light jacket keeps me dry and warm while out for a walk or riding my back. Would absolutely recommend to a friend!

July 3, 2021

Perfect & light weight

Great for covering up on a brisk day. I wish it had pockets. The hoodie was great on drizzling mornings.

June 28, 2021

Light weight

Great for a little extra sun or wind protection when needed. Lightweight and packable. I wish the bottom and sleeve hems and zipper were made of light reflective material for a little touch of extra nighttime visibility.

June 27, 2021

Perfect lightweight windbreaker

The Houdini is always worth the investment. The only noted drawbacks are a lack of side pockets and noisier fabric than some other windbreakers--not really a big deal on either front. My last Houdini lasted many years and finally had to replace it!

June 25, 2021

Perfect Versatile Windbreaker

A little pricey but good quality windbreaker. It is lightweight & packs easy. Perfect to take on vacation or use for everyday walking. I purchased a bunch of these for gifts and everyone was happy with them. Runs small in bust so size up if you dont want it super snug in chest area.

June 15, 2021

Houdini Jacket... perfect name.

I have 3 of these and absolutely LOVE them all. My first two are women's small and fit great for every life event and daily use. My new one is XS and also fits nicely, just a bit more fitted. It is not much tighter of a fit than the WS, but unfortunately is longer ... The WS was a perfect length for me at only 5'4", yet the XS is a b... Read Moreit too long for my height. I wear these jackets every single day, and they are my favorite go-to's. Thank you Patagonia!

June 11, 2021

Lightweight, stylin' windbreaker!

Love this jacket. Fits slim, which I like ... and it compresses to the size of an apple or something. Perfect for those mild hiking days when a thin layer is needed. I think it's very attractive as well.

June 9, 2021

Perfect running jacket

I love how lite and warm this is. Thought long and hard before buying this jacket. Could not have been happier with the pick. Have been for several hikes and regular runs almost every day

May 20, 2021

Bring this layer for all outdoor pursuits

This layer comes with me on every adventure- it is so packable and a practical addition for most trips. On windy days, it will keep you so much warmer, as it keeps the wind from stealing your warmth. Consequently, is not super breathable for high output activities (i.e. it will make you sweat), but sheds and stows very easily in the brain of a pack... Read More, a hip belt pocket, or even clipped to your climbing harness so that it is always within arm's reach when the wind picks up.

May 19, 2021

The jacket runs small, very snug

Usually size L is very roomy for me, but not this one, however size xl is not available, so I am keeping it anyway, as it is very lightweight and packable.

May 17, 2021

The Perfect Sidekick

Love this Jacket! It's so light and small it is easy to bring along on any outing or adventure and makes the perfect extra layer for added warmth, wind block or water repellent! Excellent for cool spring or summer mornings when you need something extra to begin your adventure before heating up for the day. Also an excellent choice to pack for ... Read Moretraveling. Fit is great and true to Patagonia sizing.

May 17, 2021

Perfect!

I use this jacket as my mid layer while on long distance hikes. On cold mornings just before I start hiking I take off my down jacket & don this windbreaker. Its the perfect weight for staying warm until the sun comes out. Its also what I grab when I stop for a break. Packs down into a small handheld size.

May 15, 2021

Simply Amazing

Fave all time jacket. Bought size larger fora loose fit because patagonia stuff can run a lil small. Perfect!

May 7, 2021

Perfect Layer

I love how versatile the jacket is and that it can stuff just about anywhere!

May 6, 2021

Perfect for a little extra when needed

Holy cow! I was skeptical of the ravings from friends about the Houdini, but sure enough to the jacket lives up to the hype. The cut and lines are very flattering, the back dips just enough to cover your butt which I like. For spring or fall running this jacket has been a great addition for when its cool but not cold enough for a thick layer. I am ... Read Morefishing in the southeast where mornings and evenings on the ocean can be slightly chilly and this provides provides just enough protection to keep the focus on the fish! I wear a large for most all tops and this fits to size-just love it.

May 6, 2021

Definitely wind proof!

I got this to build a hiking kit and forgot about it for a while. Found it spring cleaning my closet and finally have tried it out a few times as the weather along the New England coast has been very windy. This little jacket blocks the wind like a champ and is so lightweight it feels like nothing on. The hood stays up when blasted by 20+ mph winds... Read More from all directions! When things warm up it packs up nice and tiny. It now lives with my black hole mini and is my grab-and-go for outdoor adventures!

May 5, 2021

warm and light weight

This Houdini Jacket warm, light weight and versatile, with colors that are easily compatible with all sporty items.

May 2, 2021

Light and cute

Running and walking easy pack- great color

April 28, 2021

favorite running wind layer

I love getting this layer in a size larger than my normal so I can wear an R1 or thermal base layer underneath. It is my running go to and I typically keep it in my bag for an emergency shell.

April 28, 2021

try it on first

Perfect weight, runs small. Good for layering. I usually wear a Medium, but need room to run so I the large

April 28, 2021

Very small and not what I thought I bought

I purchased the size recommended for my height/weight/fit and this was way too small - I could barely even zip it up. It was also, in my opinion, falsely advertised as a jacket when it was more like a napkin on my body. There was barely any fabric whereas the picture shows an actual jacket. Further details about this item need to be added so custom... Read Moreers know what they are buying. I returned this immediately.

Response from Patagonia
April 28, 2021

Hi Emily, We are very sorry that the Houdini was not as expected. The slim fit shell is intended as a light protective layer, often times, next to a light baselayer. If you are interested in another option, please do not hesitate to [contact us](https://help.patagonia.com/s/). We are happy to offer additional information on the fit and fabric weight.

April 25, 2021

Ultralight and packable

We use this for long distance running to have a safe jacket in case there is high wind and it works great. While it won't keep you totally warm, it does work against the wind!

April 23, 2021

Super Light

Super light jacket! we used it lot for hiking . Cold /Warm Day were wearing it from start to finished. My family love your Houdini jacket so much️!

April 20, 2021

Keep dry and warm

Perfect windbreaker for all uses

April 8, 2021

Perfect for a rainy summer day

This light jacket is perfect for a warm, rainy day. I wear it when walking my dogs; it keeps you dry and cool and does not make you sweat. Perfect for my needs!

April 5, 2021

Fantastic color in a hard to find windbreaker

It is so hard to find a windbreaker that is not lined. This fits the bill perfectly and the color is amazing. I would give it five stars but it does not have pockets :(

March 31, 2021

The sleeves are too long. The products are not designed for petite women. The are very good products

As a petite woman i would like to ask for adding the petite sizes to your products. I get large size to fit the rest of my body but the sleeves are too long.

Response from Patagonia
April 1, 2021

Hey Lili, thank you for your review on our Houdini Jacket! You'll be happy to know we do plan to extend our size offerings further and venture into tall and petite sizes as well. This will take some time to complete because we want to get it right, so we appreciate your patience. In the meantime, if you'd like measurements on any of our garments, feel free to reach out to [customer service](https://help.patagonia.com/s/).

March 31, 2021

best ultralight windbreaker

Love the houdini jacket! So light, bring it on every adventure: hiking, backpacking, boating, camping, beach time, travel. Great fit, great protection. One of my favorite pieces from Patagonia, I have several of these.

March 27, 2021

Pretty Satisfied

I bought this jacket primarily for running and hiking, and I've been mostly satisfied. It does wonders as a windbreaker, packs down SO small, and is an excellent light layer to stick in my pocket before heading out for a hike. My one complaint is that it is not very breathable at all. On some of my longer runs, I've seen pools of moisture... Read More accumulate on the inside - yuck. I hear the Houdini Air is more breathable, so maybe I'll try that..

March 25, 2021

Fits the bill

Was looking for a very light weight, packable, water/ wind proof shell, that cold fit over a thin fleece layer, this does it all and looks good! Only downside - only one small pocket, could use more

March 24, 2021

Fits perfectly - great wind or slight rain layer

I used an old Houdini for years and years. I am definitely a fan of it for running in a bit of light rain or windy conditions. Its a super light layer to throw in my pack. Loved this new colour and the fit is perfect!

March 20, 2021

Returned

Fabric is like parachute material. Swishy noise when moving. An xl was ok but fit was short. Mainly so thin I didnt know what I would use it for? Not as expected. My dough yet said it looked really cheap. ( It wasnt). Back it went. Im a size 14 so I between sizes with Patagonia. But arms holes are generally too big. After trying a lot of their thin... Read Moregs, I conclude the sizing just isnt fir tall women. Hard to make it work.

Response from Patagonia
March 24, 2021

Hello Carol, we're sorry to hear this jacket wasn't what you expected! The Houdini is a windbreaker and it was mainly designed as an emergency piece, meant to be used for protection against the wind and light rain during unexpected weather situations. Please feel free to [reach out to us](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) with your preferences so we can suggest a jacket for you!

March 18, 2021

Love this, but PLEASE add pockets

Ive had this for a few months now and have worn it periodically, mostly as a wind breaker on days that are sort of warm except the wind is cold. I originally ordered a M because all the reviews said to size up. It was huge on me so I returned it for my normal S which fits great and still has room for a layer. I am 57, 125#, slim hips, a small chest... Read More and long arms and have always been a solid S. The only thing I wish was different was that the jacket had hand pockets!!! I wore it on a Lake Michigan beach walk most recently and had no where for my hands or the petoskey stones I found! I have found myself wishing for pockets almost from the start of owning this jacket. I realize it would add a little weight, but in my mind it would be worth every ounce!!!

March 5, 2021

I love this gypsum green Houdini jacket

Jacket is great, super light weight and just all around fun!

February 28, 2021

Versatile Jacket

First off, definitely size up if you have curves unless you like your jackets tight. Even though this is slim fitting (and I don't usually choose items that fit that way), this has become one of my favs due to its versatility. Mostly I wear this to run in the morning when it's coolish. Easy to layer with a long sleeve shirt on colder days... Read More, as well. I bring this if I think it might rain since it's easy to pack up. I bring it when traveling was a thing b/c airplanes can get cold. I've worn it in the summer in the movie theater or restaurant and taken it off when going outside. I've worn this to bike when I just wanted a little something extra to take off the chill. I have 3 - that's how much I like it. Love the one pocket, but would love to have at least one more on the side (you can never have too many pockets), the price could be a tad cheaper (totally get the complaints about pricing), and the sizing could be a bit more generous (on the other hand, wearing this does make me more aware of when I'm putting on weight so it does keep me in check lol). This isn't going to keep you warm in a snow storm, but I find it is really good at what I need it to do.

February 27, 2021

Nice lightweight windbreaker

Lightweight, easy to fold up. 1 pocket in the front. The sleeves have a nice cuff to them but not too tight so you can still access your watch. The also hood fits well. Am 5'0 and got the XS. Fits perfectly for me.

February 25, 2021

So lightweight

This thin windbreaker is ideal in my mild winter climate. It layers well with other Patagonia products such as my nano puff vest.

February 7, 2021

Great job with blocking the wind

It keeps the warmth in! I do find I warm up pretty quickly though since it does such a great job of capturing the heat. Underarm zippers would have been nice.

January 31, 2021

Not what i expected

One of my least favorite jackets from patagonia. It's super thin and super lightweight. I was expecting more of a windbreaker, but it just kind of feels like a thin parachute-like sheet and seems like it would easily rip if I accidentally get caught somewhere. Glad I got it on sale at an outlet, otherwise I would never have bought it. Love the... Read More color though and i'll still wear it around the house or when i grocery shop.

Response from Patagonia
March 3, 2021

Hi Samantha, we're so sorry to hear that you're unhappy with your Women's Houdini Jacket purchase. These jackets are made to be extremely light for high-output activities where extra weight could a detriment. If you're feeling the Houdini isn't the best option for you, please feel free to begin a return or exchange. You can begin either process here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

January 28, 2021

Great for kayaking, on windy days too

Water proof for outdoors,need layers if cold but is waterproof

January 28, 2021

Great for kayaking, on windy days too

Water proof for outdoors,need layers if cold but is waterproof

January 21, 2021

Awesome Jacket if you are using it correctly

This is definitely one of my favorite pieces from Patagonia. This jacket is EXTREMELY lightweight, breathable but also very windproof. Note that this jacket is meant to be used in "harsh" conditions and it is a completely useless coat to someone buying for the brand as it doesn't provide much warmth but keeps wind and snow out. This ... Read Morejacket is water-resistant, not a raincoat. I mainly use this for nordic skiing, it's the best jacket for nordic skiing in my opinion. It is also very durable, I bought it second hand and have had it for 3 years now, and still looks brand new. Definitely recommends this coat for someone looking for a breathable windbreaker when doing high output activities.

January 16, 2021

Versatile jacket

I LOVE this jacket. I got it for the rain but winter set in and now I layer it with a thin jacket and a shirt. Perfect for running in 30-40 degree weather. Some inner pockets would be nice though.

January 6, 2021

Houdini jacket

It was a Christmas present for my wife. Ill forward the review request to her. She likes the fit, the color, basically everything about it. I thought shed get a lot of use out of it in warmer weather ( were in upstate NY), but shes been layering it under a coat on windy days and is loving it. The only problem has been that the zipper pull fell off... Read More and got lost. Overall

January 6, 2021

Protects from the wind

I wear this jacket all fall/winter long for running and biking outdoors, it is a perfect outer-layer. I'm obsessed with it, I bought my sister and husband one for christmas. If you are looking for a running jacket, this is it.

January 5, 2021

Perfect Running Jacket

Ive been on the hunt for a good wind/rain layer to wear for running in colder temps. This has been perfect! Its light, breathable, and great at shielding wind and light rain/snow. The fit is great - I hardly notice that I have it on. Also love that it is light and packs down into its pocket if I need to shed a layer. I havent used it for climbing y... Read Moreet but also plan to bring it along for multi-pitch adventures.

December 29, 2020

Cute & very lightweight

Im normally a size S but had to get a M because im currently 7-8months pregnant lol but it fits great, just kinda baggy/little long on the arms

December 27, 2020

Size up! Other than that - Love

I wear a size small in clothes and have curves and can get away with wearing kid's L - XL clothing. What is not noted on the website is that the houdoni's are slim fit (per actual product sales tag). Basically if you're shaped like a pencil you'll be fine at your normal size, but if you have the slightest of curve in your hips -... Read More size up for comfort. I love the jacket and have it roamer red. The jacket is perfect for California weather- especially here in San Diego County. I mainly use this on my early morning runs or hikes. I exchanged my size small to a medium for comfort.

December 26, 2020

Pleasantly Surprised!

Got this in the mail and it was SO thin that I didn't believe it would do much and was so surprised when I used it in 25F weather WITH wind for a run and it kept me warm (with proper layering of course!) .. I plan to use this for running (all seasons) and hiking!

December 18, 2020

Super comfortable

Love the design and got multiple compliments on the jacket

December 18, 2020

Great lightweight jacket for light rain

Great jacket. Will use it for running in light run (which is what I purchased it for). Also seems to block some wind, so probably good over a t-shirt for spring time running. Bright yellow is fun and visible!

December 16, 2020

Perfect

I love this jacket ! Its been great for running in colder weather . I wish I had bought two!

December 14, 2020

Perfect jacket fir mild San Diego mornings

This jacket is perfect for my morning run. It keeps me warm without the weight of a heavy jacket. Its very lightweight you will forget you have it on. When I get to warm I love how easily it folds up and I can put it in my running waist belt. This jacket is fitted so I purchased the large so I have room to move without it being baggy. I will be pur... Read Morechasing more in different colors

December 14, 2020

Perfect.. keeps you warm

I love this jacket, you can wear a T-shirt under it on and cold windy day and still be warm

December 13, 2020

This Jacket is Magic like Houdini

The name represents. I have three of these. Super small packable piece provides max wind and weather protection for its size. Home run. Versitle jacket . Long sleeves i like and one minimal pocket great for key or card . Not cell phone size necessarily. Lightly waterproof for rain showers. I would add an inside zippered pocket for cell phone size. ... Read MoreHope Patagonia does that next gen .

December 10, 2020

The best thing Ive ever ordered

Its the best thing I have ever ordered

December 7, 2020

Super Thin

Very lightweight. No side pockets. Too simple for the price

December 3, 2020

Versitile and Lightweight

This is my go-to jacket for trail runs that are chilly or damp. It keeps in just enough heat to keep me warm, even if its sprinkling and I love having the option of putting on the hood. If it gets too hot, its super easy to zip up and throw in a pocket or my pack! Already own two, might buy a third in another color...

December 3, 2020

Race start line

If youve ever run an organized race you know that theres a down time at the start when youre waiting for your wave and its always freezing cold. The first mile of every marathon or half Ive done is littered with all the sweaters and jackets people ditched along the way. This is the perfect solution to keep you warm for that down time without needin... Read Moreg to ditch your layers on the road. This jacket packs down tiny into its chest pocket and then I clip it to my race belt. Its so light weight that I forget its there.

November 29, 2020

Barely there

This looks like a jacket but it is so thin I cant call it one. Not sure what you would use it for. Runs small so order up a size. Like the idea of sustainable clothing but had to return

November 22, 2020

Great packable

Love this jackets warmth & its small size for stowing. Bought a size up from my usual to slip it on over a hydration pack. Planning to buy a second one in my true size because its so comfortable. Wish the hood would stow or zip off, would make this jacket golden!

November 13, 2020

cuts the wind and rain

This coat is light weight if you want a jacket to bring with you on a long run if there is a chance of rain. There is one pocket that you can stuff the entire jacket into and zip closed. Keeps the cold out this time of year, and yet still breaths. It's easy to look at your Garmin or Fitbit because the elastic on the wrist isn't so tight t... Read Morehat it's hard to get to. When you zip the jacket all the way up, the hood won't fall off. There is a string on the back of the hood to tighten it the hood. The perfect running jacket.

November 12, 2020

Perfect in every way!

Bought this for long runs on the days where its a little chilly in San Diego. It was recommended on an ultra blog I follow. Its exactly what I wanted. Im super happy with the fit, the lightweight material, the pineapple color I chose is awesome (I think)! It has a great little pocket on the top left for maybe a key, or a small bar. Love it! I know ... Read Morethis will become one of my favorite running items. Buy it! You wont be disappointed.

November 3, 2020

The best layer!

This is the second Houdini I have bought (my first one got a small rip, otherwise I would not have replaced it). I LOVE this layer....it keeps me warm (without making me hot) while also keeping the wind out, is so light I dont even know its on, and fits into its own pocket. Its a four season item for me...( four very different northern New England ... Read Moreseasons). Washes and dries so easily and comes out clean.

October 31, 2020

Best layer ever!

Everyone needs this layer - it covers all bases for all seasons!

October 31, 2020

Lightweight!

LOVE this jacket! Bought it primarily to layer as a windbreaker/top layer for running. Its so lightweight that it doesnt make me too hot. Now that its getting colder outside, I appreciate the elastic in the sleeves by my wrist to keep cold air from getting in and love the design of the hood. I did go a size up so that I could layer warmer clothes u... Read Morenderneath in the winter and it was perfect!

October 2, 2020

The jacket that started it all

This was my first purchase of Patagonia... and I have never looked back since. I bring it with me when I run, when I hike, when I bike... It is lightweight, it fits in even the smallest compartment and it truly does protect from wind. Though I agree it would be great if it had hand pockets, this is still a 100% safe purchase. Do not be thrown off i... Read Morets lightness - it is sturdy.

September 15, 2020

Just perfect

I have been buying one almost every time a new color comes out since 2004 when I started hiking. It's a perfect windbreaker for me, and fo layering. I wear an Icebreaker 260, and the Houdini on top in winter months, and I feel great. I like a size bigger only because I wear thick layering. It is true to size.

September 14, 2020

Super Light

Got this for beachwalking/running on misty/breezy days. Needed just a light outer layer. So far its been great for summer temps and very light rain. Rolls into its own pocket, weighs nothing. Easy to keep stowed in backpack. Like the ocean blue color and that its longer in the back too. At 54, 140lbs, medium fits nicely. Just wish there were handpo... Read Moreckets. Otherwise very happy with it!

September 10, 2020

Super light

Great light layer that packs great and fits in my pack great for downhill mountain bike rides.

September 7, 2020

Have three!

Great light weight. Can wear as a coverup or under another jacket for extra warmth. Usually wear under jacket of same color.

September 2, 2020

Perfect light outer layer for backpacking

I have had the half button mens version of this jacket for years. I purchased this as a gift for my partner before we hiked the John Muir Trail and she worn it often and loves it. Easy to throw on in a cool morning or predawn start to the day and then stow it quickly before over heating.

September 2, 2020

awesome emergency jacket

I love this stripped down jacket. It's ultra lightweight but good for a sudden shower. Also a good windbreaker. Not so awesome for a torrential downpour, but it's peace of mind if the forecast is mostly clear. It's always in my pack even if there's a 0% chance of rain.

August 4, 2020

Does Exactly What It Says

I got the pineapple color and its great. The Houdini does exactly what it says it does! I wear it biking to work and it keeps the wind out but doesn't over heat me too badly (its summer give it some slack). I also wore it once while it was sprinkling on the way to work and it kept me perfectly dry so 10/10 great job!

July 16, 2020

Best lightweight jacket available

I love this extremely lightweight jacket. And it keeps you warm. It is perfect for a hikestart with it on and then toss it in backpack or purse when I warm up. It weighs nothing and folds in to a tiny pouch so it is easy to keep it with me all the time. If the weather is damp, it keeps off water and still keeps you toasty. Ive bought one for each o... Read Moref my sisters, my daughter and my niece it's that good.

July 13, 2020

Great Jacket for cold Mountain mornings!

This is definitely a very light summer jacket but perfect when you live in the mountains and it is still chilly in the mornings and evenings.

July 12, 2020

The best lightweight windbreaker on the market, but we need a version with hand pockets!

For years, I've been searching for a super lightweight windbreaker. So far, I haven't found anything that beats the Houdini. I take my Houdini everywhere: Camping, hiking, walking the dog, in the canoe. I also toss it in my daily bag for commuting in the city. It's handy indoors too, as it really cuts the chill in overly air conditio... Read Morened offices. But... the lack of hand pockets really annoys me. I understand it was designed to be a small, packable item and possibly designed for climbing, so hand pockets wouldn't be needed. But this would be so much more versatile with the addition of hand pockets. Hands need wind protection too! Although this jacket has a chest pocket, which it can pack into, I personally never use that pocket. I wish Patagonia would remove the chest pocket and add 2 hand pockets instead. Even if it adds another oz of weight, it would still be the lightest, or one of the lightest, weight windbreaker that I've seen on the market. Patagonia, please consider? With functional pockets, this jacket would be perfect. And it would fill a gap in the market.

June 28, 2020

AMAZING

this jacket is so amazing! i love that you can fit it right into its pocket. great for travel and bringing along on hikes and runs just in case of a rain shower.

June 26, 2020

The perfect light jacket

This is the perfect light jacket that is my all around go to for wind, rain, just take the edge off, coverage. It stores so small but packs a powerful pinch of a much bulkier, heavy jacket.

June 21, 2020

Lightweight

Perfect for running in the rain or taking in my pocket for a short hike.

June 20, 2020

Really lightweight!

I'm 5'2 and about 120 lbs and the small fit me perfectly. It's been a great summer jacket. I get overheated really easily so it's perfect for when it's early/late in the day, overcast, or a bit rainy. It is a very thin layer and it translucent which isn't an issue at all for me. Only thing I don't love is that it ... Read Moredoesn't have pockets other than the chest pocket. One bigger zipper pocket to put my phone it would make this the perfect jacket.

June 17, 2020

Patagonia love

since Patagonia is my favorite brand, I can never go wrong with your clothing! this is a great jacket, beautiful color, and I love everything about it!

June 17, 2020

Perfect Weight Jacket

This jacket is the perfect weight for spring and cool summer weather. It keeps the wind and light rain at bay without overheating. I love this jacket and hope to get it in at least one other color.

June 17, 2020

Lightweight

Perfect for running in the rain or taking in my pocket for a short hike.

June 17, 2020

Lightweight

I love my Houdini jacket! It is lightweight and packable so glad I purchased it

June 15, 2020

Colors are not exciting at all this year

I have 3 of these and my partner had 2, which were purchased in the last few years. Love the Houdini and would've bought another this season but colors are just so blah...

May 25, 2020

Great for My Bike Commute + Fits Normally

This is a great, light-weight jacket! The main reason I got it was for a wind-breaker and to be visible when riding my bike to work. And the Pineapple color is great! As others have said, it is a bit see-through, but it does it's job! The first time wearing it I went for a run with a t-shirt on underneath - the sweat on my arms didn't re... Read Moreally have anywhere to go so when I lowered my arms, sweat was dripping down to my hands; if I had worn a thing long sleeve underneath, I think that problem would be solved! I also think it will be great to throw on while hiking here in SW Oregon during chilly mornings and cloudy days. Would recommend, and will probably get one in a neutral color just to wear as a light jacket to the store on those not-so-hot but not-so-cold days, because it does help keep a little heat in on windy days. Also, the Medium still fit well wearing a typical sweatshirt underneath, yet it still looks "fitted" when wearing tight-fitting clothing underneath.

May 24, 2020

Great for My Bike Commute + Fits Normally

This is a great, light-weight jacket! The main reason I got it was for a wind-breaker and to be visible when riding my bike to work. And the Pineapple color is great! As others have said, it is a bit see-through, but it does it's job! The first time wearing it I went for a run with a t-shirt on underneath - the sweat on my arms didn't re... Read Moreally have anywhere to go so when I lowered my arms, sweat was dripping down to my hands; if I had worn a thing long sleeve underneath, I think that problem would be solved! I also think it will be great to throw on while hiking here in SW Oregon during chilly mornings and cloudy days. Would recommend, and will probably get one in a neutral color just to wear as a light jacket to the store on those not-so-hot but not-so-cold days, because it does help keep a little heat in on windy days. Also, the Medium still fit well wearing a typical sweatshirt underneath, yet it still looks "fitted" when wearing tight-fitting clothing underneath.

May 12, 2020

GREAT BUY!

I really love this jacket. I bought it primarily for running/climbing. I live in Oregon where the winters are cool and wet, although it is not waterproof, it operated amazingly as a windbreaker (as it's designed to be one). I wear it with a long sleeve baselayer underneath and a light rain shell on top and I have never been warmer and drier in... Read More the rainy season. This was an incredible find. Also super lightweight so it's great for taking with me on climbs and the hikes in/out. Has been incredible for long trail runs and road runs alike. Cannot live without!

May 1, 2020

Part of my running gear for 10+ years

Just order my received Houdini - the first lasted for what seemed forever. I live in the NW where I can wear it all year on dry, cold days, and when cool/damp but not really wet days. Almost always with me trail running, the exceptions being rare hot, dry days.

May 1, 2020

Great Wind Breaker

I live on the west coast and even the warmest fleece can't keep you warm on a windy day. A high-quality windbreaker is a necessity and the Houdini Jacket does the job well! It also packs down super small, which makes it easy to carry along. I often clip it to my water bottle or pack with a small carabiner.

March 5, 2020

Lightweight Weather Protection

Believe the hype; the Houdini is exactly what I was looking for in a lightweight jacket to keep me more comfortable in wind, rain, and snow. It's not Gore-Tex so it's not waterproof; but that's not really the point. I stayed more comfortable and protected on a trail run in rain and snow with the jacket instead of getting immediately ... Read Moresoaked or immediately overheated with a proper rain shell while running. I saw some reviews about weird fit / cut; I think it's pretty expected from what I've come to know from Patagonia. I love the color- I got it in Pineapple- and my only complaint is that I really wish there was at least one proper pocket as the one that's on the chest is pretty small. A proper pocket would help with taking off and stashing gloves/buffs while on the move... otherwise, I'm super happy with the investment.

February 28, 2020

Bomb

I run really hot when I nordic ski and run- I wear shorts when it's 20 degrees and snowing (I'm an Alaskan). I like being cold, or really, just not hot and overheating and sweating, but I do not like getting soaked! This layer is perfect for me! I wear it with just a shirt and it is stellar as a windbreaker and rain/snow protection withou... Read Moret being too warm. I am at the perfect body temp and hardly notice I am wearing a coat. A few times I have been outside, the wetness has soaked through in my forearm so don't use it thinking it's completely waterproof. I ordered in the blue, red, and yellow and kept the yellow but fair warning, it is the most see-through of the three. The red was really nice. Overall, I love it and would highly recommend it, even if you do not get as hot as me while exercising!

February 11, 2020

I LIVE IN MY HOUDINI JACKETS!!!

These are one of my favorite Patagonia products produced. I have about 8 of them and wear them 24/7 365 days a year. Best for running in cool weather.

January 18, 2020

COLORS ARE AWFUL!!!

So disappointed in new colors for 2020 - same drab, awful colors as 2019! I will NOT buy another of these fabulous windbreaker jackets until you go back to producing good colors! You used to do yellow, light blue, navy and other great colors. What is going on with your design and production departments. Seriously! I used to buy this jacket every si... Read Morengle year; now I haven't bought one for 3 years. Figure this out - you are losing so many paying customers!!!

December 31, 2019

Houdini

I bought this jacket because I lost my previous Houdini and I just couldn't be without it! This jacket goes with me on just about every trail run! It's mainly what keeps me comfortably warm with just a baselayer under it. The weather where I live reaches mid thirties sometimes earlier in the morning or late night during the winter. It is ... Read Morejust my one piece of gear that I found myself having with me all the time. So for cold weather between mid 30's and higher it's the perfect companion.

December 31, 2019

Small fit

I loved it, The sizing was very small

December 30, 2019

Thin and light weight

Perfect for San Antonio

December 25, 2019

The perfect Florida windbreaker!

The perfect Florida windbreaker!

December 22, 2019

Poor design and style

I was disappointed about the construction of this material. I was hoping to see a more durable, higher end product. I'll be sending this back.

Response from Patagonia
January 14, 2020

Hi Erika! Thanks for your feedback. We're sorry to hear the Houdini Jacket was not quite what you were expecting. If you'd like to initiate a return, you are welcome to do so [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return). We would recommend the [W's Mountain View Windbreaker Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-mountain-view-windbreaker-jacket/27756.html?dwvar_27756_color=SNBL&cgid=womens-jackets-vests-windbreaker#start=1) for a more versatile and durable everyday piece.

December 19, 2019

Very good

Very good

December 19, 2019

great lightweight jacket. perfect for

great lightweight jacket. perfect for keeping dry on a long run

December 12, 2019

nano vest is wonderful

for an added layer and stylish cannot go wrong with the houdini. that is packs into a small space for travel is an added bonus. be aware though that the material does not have as much give so consider a half size larger when purchasing.

December 8, 2019

Perfect

Bought this for a trip so I needed something that would not take up space in my pack, this fits the bill.

December 6, 2019

Thought it would be a little more substantial

It is thin as paper and makes annoying noise every time you move.

Response from Patagonia
December 26, 2019

We are sorry to hear that this didn't seem to be what you were looking for. The Houdini is designed to be ultra lightweight so it can practically disappear when you don't need it. But we understand, this isn't the jacket for everyone. If you are looking for a more everyday windbreaker, we'd recommend checking out our [Mountain View Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-mountain-view-windbreaker-jacket/27756.html?dwvar_27756_color=SNBL&cgid=womens-jackets-vests-windbreaker#start=1). Nonetheless, please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) the Houdini back to us.

December 6, 2019

Very high quality

The Patagonia women's Houdini Jacket is beautiful, extremely well made and loaded with all the pockets, powder skirt, feminine lines and comfort that you'd want.

December 4, 2019

Wore this on a hike

Wore this on a hike this past week, and it fits well, light weigh, and a good layer. I'm don't love that the light color is a bit transparent, one can definitely tell if I'm wearing a t-shirt or long-sleeve shirt, but that color was on sale, so I can't complain too much. I got a medium, which is a little big for me, but because... Read More it isn't for warmth, I didn't want anything too restricting.

December 3, 2019

Cute jacket but way too thin!

I was excited to get this jacket at a deal during a big Patagonia sale. It's a nice jacket and would serve a purpose on a cooler, windy fall day, but the jacket is extremely thin. Really not worth the price in my opinion. I can't imagine it keeping me especially warm on a hike. Probably will return!

Response from Patagonia
December 20, 2019

Hi Claire, thanks for writing us a review! We're sorry to hear about the disappointment with the Houdini. The jacket is designed to be more of a windbreaker and since it doesn't have any insulation it won't provide much warmth. The piece is intended to pack down to take anywhere and pull out when you're in a pinch and need quick wind and light rain protection. Nevertheless your satisfaction is guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

December 3, 2019

Houdini

Perfect as described.

November 30, 2019

lovely and lightweight

a great new running & skiing jacket with a fun pattern. would love one or two more pockets (only has a chest one) and the material is unusually loud when you move.

November 29, 2019

Great wind jacket

I will use this jacket for travel in the spring and summer. It takes up almost no space in a suitcase and will offer me a layer of warmth and protection from cool nights. I like that it is cut for women and can be tightened around the hips.

November 28, 2019

Love, love, love it

Love, love, love it

November 27, 2019

Great design

I normally wear a women's medium, but I purchased the large size instead because of the slim fit chart. I am so happy with the large size and it fits perfect. I also like tucking the jacket in the chest pocket for transportation purpose. The jacket also keeps me warm since I get hot easily.

November 26, 2019

Hoodie smaller than most others

Hoodie smaller than most others in this brand. Jacket is so thin no need to bother wearing one.

November 25, 2019

Solid, lightweight jacket

As others have noted, this jacket is shockingly warm for how lightweight it is. I do wish there was some kind of vent under the arms because it can get a bit sweaty when wearing short sleeves underneath. Overall, a great value and I would certainly buy again.

November 24, 2019

Houdini

A little tight on the bottom and loose on the top, but that’s my problem with most Patagonia (I think I just have more curves than their target customer). But still a great, super light jacket!

November 23, 2019

Awesome lightweight

great piece for tailrunning, climbing, camping, biking, hiking - wind and water resistant and packs down super small, so it is perfect for any adventure

November 23, 2019

Nice light weight for walking

Nice light weight for walking

November 22, 2019

So light!

So light you don't think it can deliver. But pull it on when the wind picks up and temperature drops and you are good to get back to camp. Warning—it is so light the wind could fly away.

November 22, 2019

Love the print!

It’s my 3rd Houdini Jacket and I am always bragging abt it trying to get my hiking friends to get one too. They are durable, pack small, & come in handy when the wind picks or you just need an extra layer. The only con is the colors fade.

November 22, 2019

Wish it had pockets

Love the weight of the jacket and it is perfect for light precipitation. I use it mostly for biking. Wish it had a larger pocket on the chest or side pockets.

November 22, 2019

Love it

Fit is great! Light, breathable. Kept me warm during a race and didn't feel heavy or uncomfortable during my run. Love it!

November 22, 2019

Houdini Jacket - LOVE!

This jacket is great for so many different sports and activities. It offers the perfect layering piece and packs up nice and small so you can always have it along just in case.

November 14, 2019

Very thin

I am disappointed that this product is SO light and thin. I had hoped for a bit more substantial fabric. This is quite thin.

Response from Patagonia
December 3, 2019

Hi Teri, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're sorry to hear about the disappointment with the jacket. The Houdini is designed to be super lightweight and pack away really easily. This doesn't make it the most durable jacket we offer. Nevertheless, your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

November 11, 2019

Comfort all day

First of all, this jacket is tapered for a women which is awesome! I can wear it in any mild weather conditions and feel very comfortable all day. It’s also breathable so I don’t get sweaty. The packability of the jacket is a game changer. Very well worth it!

November 10, 2019

Great Jacket!

Just enough protection from the elements and provides just enough warmth at the start of a race. Fits in my running vest with ease and clips on my climbing harness. Great jacket!

November 9, 2019

Super light - perfect for

Super light - perfect for the PNW

November 8, 2019

Loved it!

Loved it!

November 6, 2019

Warm and lightweight

I take this everywhere because it packs so small and is so lightweight, why not? I just finished a bikepacking trip in northern AZ where the early mornings were windy and chilled and the evenings needed a little something more. This piece was a perfect edition to keep the wind from chilling me when we got to camp and was sweaty and in the chilly mo... Read Morernings when we were packing up.

November 5, 2019

Does so much!

I love this jacket. I use it for trail running, rock climbing, alpine climbing, hiking and warmer backcountry ski days.

November 4, 2019

ReOrdered a Size bigger than normal

Surprisingly snug at bottom of jacket at zipper for around my hips I’m considered a long and lean build.

November 3, 2019

Great windbreaker

Before buying this ultra lightweight, tiny fold-up wind breaker, I was always cold when the tiniest wind arose. I love how lightweight it is and warm.

October 31, 2019

Perfect for winter running!

It is light and thin but well fitted and roomy enough to wear layers underneath. I'm between a small and a medium as far as tops go in Patagonia (I wear a medium sports bra, small in tanks and the t-shirts are dependent on the shirt), but purchased a medium in this to have some room for layers. It fits perfectly for me as I like things more fi... Read Moretted, but it may be on the small side if you are a traditional Medium or like things a bit looser.

October 31, 2019

Exactly what I needed

The Houdini jacket is exactly what I needed for the light covering when I’m running, cover up for swimming , or out early in the morning and need to keep the brisk cool air in check - but breathes well and isn’t sticky when activity heats up and I break a sweat. It dries super fast. It looks terrific, and I love the light purple. I’m 5’7” 135 lbs a... Read Morend the medium is a loose fit - just what I like for layering. Great product - thanks Patagonia!

October 30, 2019

Awesome. Love it.

Awesome. Love it.

October 26, 2019

Love this jacket!

I already have a turquoise Houdini jacket but I couldn’t resist this pattern. Great color for the fall. Love it love it love it. Lightweight, wind resistant, water resistant and amazingly warm. Great for layering!

October 24, 2019

Cheerful and practical

Light and colorful, it makes me happy to wear it iin unpredictable weather. It's coming to a 5K with me in 3 days. I sized up (L instead of M) according to other reviews and the fit is perfect for running. Not restrictive, not bulky.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches