Back to Product

W's Houdini® Jacket

Write Your Review

4.4 /5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

All 154 Reviews

Clear All

W's Houdini® Jacket

4.4
True To Size
May 25, 2020

Great for My Bike Commute + Fits Normally

This is a great, light-weight jacket! The main reason I got it was for a wind-breaker and to be visible when riding my bike to work. And the Pineapple color is great! As others have said, it is a bit see-through, but it does it's job! The first time wearing it I went for a run with a t-shirt on underneath - the sweat on my arms didn't re... Read Moreally have anywhere to go so when I lowered my arms, sweat was dripping down to my hands; if I had worn a thing long sleeve underneath, I think that problem would be solved! I also think it will be great to throw on while hiking here in SW Oregon during chilly mornings and cloudy days. Would recommend, and will probably get one in a neutral color just to wear as a light jacket to the store on those not-so-hot but not-so-cold days, because it does help keep a little heat in on windy days. Also, the Medium still fit well wearing a typical sweatshirt underneath, yet it still looks "fitted" when wearing tight-fitting clothing underneath.

May 24, 2020

Great for My Bike Commute + Fits Normally

This is a great, light-weight jacket! The main reason I got it was for a wind-breaker and to be visible when riding my bike to work. And the Pineapple color is great! As others have said, it is a bit see-through, but it does it's job! The first time wearing it I went for a run with a t-shirt on underneath - the sweat on my arms didn't re... Read Moreally have anywhere to go so when I lowered my arms, sweat was dripping down to my hands; if I had worn a thing long sleeve underneath, I think that problem would be solved! I also think it will be great to throw on while hiking here in SW Oregon during chilly mornings and cloudy days. Would recommend, and will probably get one in a neutral color just to wear as a light jacket to the store on those not-so-hot but not-so-cold days, because it does help keep a little heat in on windy days. Also, the Medium still fit well wearing a typical sweatshirt underneath, yet it still looks "fitted" when wearing tight-fitting clothing underneath.

May 12, 2020

GREAT BUY!

I really love this jacket. I bought it primarily for running/climbing. I live in Oregon where the winters are cool and wet, although it is not waterproof, it operated amazingly as a windbreaker (as it's designed to be one). I wear it with a long sleeve baselayer underneath and a light rain shell on top and I have never been warmer and drier in... Read More the rainy season. This was an incredible find. Also super lightweight so it's great for taking with me on climbs and the hikes in/out. Has been incredible for long trail runs and road runs alike. Cannot live without!

May 1, 2020

Part of my running gear for 10+ years

Just order my received Houdini - the first lasted for what seemed forever. I live in the NW where I can wear it all year on dry, cold days, and when cool/damp but not really wet days. Almost always with me trail running, the exceptions being rare hot, dry days.

May 1, 2020

Great Wind Breaker

I live on the west coast and even the warmest fleece can't keep you warm on a windy day. A high-quality windbreaker is a necessity and the Houdini Jacket does the job well! It also packs down super small, which makes it easy to carry along. I often clip it to my water bottle or pack with a small carabiner.

February 11, 2020

I LIVE IN MY HOUDINI JACKETS!!!

These are one of my favorite Patagonia products produced. I have about 8 of them and wear them 24/7 365 days a year. Best for running in cool weather.

January 18, 2020

COLORS ARE AWFUL!!!

So disappointed in new colors for 2020 - same drab, awful colors as 2019! I will NOT buy another of these fabulous windbreaker jackets until you go back to producing good colors! You used to do yellow, light blue, navy and other great colors. What is going on with your design and production departments. Seriously! I used to buy this jacket every si... Read Morengle year; now I haven't bought one for 3 years. Figure this out - you are losing so many paying customers!!!

December 31, 2019

Houdini

I bought this jacket because I lost my previous Houdini and I just couldn't be without it! This jacket goes with me on just about every trail run! It's mainly what keeps me comfortably warm with just a baselayer under it. The weather where I live reaches mid thirties sometimes earlier in the morning or late night during the winter. It is ... Read Morejust my one piece of gear that I found myself having with me all the time. So for cold weather between mid 30's and higher it's the perfect companion.

December 31, 2019

Small fit

I loved it, The sizing was very small

December 30, 2019

Thin and light weight

Perfect for San Antonio

December 25, 2019

The perfect Florida windbreaker!

The perfect Florida windbreaker!

December 22, 2019

Poor design and style

I was disappointed about the construction of this material. I was hoping to see a more durable, higher end product. I'll be sending this back.

Response from Patagonia
January 14, 2020

Hi Erika! Thanks for your feedback. We're sorry to hear the Houdini Jacket was not quite what you were expecting. If you'd like to initiate a return, you are welcome to do so [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return). We would recommend the [W's Mountain View Windbreaker Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-mountain-view-windbreaker-jacket/27756.html?dwvar_27756_color=SNBL&cgid=womens-jackets-vests-windbreaker#start=1) for a more versatile and durable everyday piece.

December 19, 2019

great lightweight jacket. perfect for

great lightweight jacket. perfect for keeping dry on a long run

December 19, 2019

Very good

Very good

December 12, 2019

nano vest is wonderful

for an added layer and stylish cannot go wrong with the houdini. that is packs into a small space for travel is an added bonus. be aware though that the material does not have as much give so consider a half size larger when purchasing.

December 8, 2019

Perfect

Bought this for a trip so I needed something that would not take up space in my pack, this fits the bill.

December 6, 2019

Very high quality

The Patagonia women's Houdini Jacket is beautiful, extremely well made and loaded with all the pockets, powder skirt, feminine lines and comfort that you'd want.

December 6, 2019

Thought it would be a little more substantial

It is thin as paper and makes annoying noise every time you move.

Response from Patagonia
December 26, 2019

We are sorry to hear that this didn't seem to be what you were looking for. The Houdini is designed to be ultra lightweight so it can practically disappear when you don't need it. But we understand, this isn't the jacket for everyone. If you are looking for a more everyday windbreaker, we'd recommend checking out our [Mountain View Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-mountain-view-windbreaker-jacket/27756.html?dwvar_27756_color=SNBL&cgid=womens-jackets-vests-windbreaker#start=1). Nonetheless, please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) the Houdini back to us.

December 4, 2019

Wore this on a hike

Wore this on a hike this past week, and it fits well, light weigh, and a good layer. I'm don't love that the light color is a bit transparent, one can definitely tell if I'm wearing a t-shirt or long-sleeve shirt, but that color was on sale, so I can't complain too much. I got a medium, which is a little big for me, but because... Read More it isn't for warmth, I didn't want anything too restricting.

December 3, 2019

Houdini

Perfect as described.

December 3, 2019

Cute jacket but way too thin!

I was excited to get this jacket at a deal during a big Patagonia sale. It's a nice jacket and would serve a purpose on a cooler, windy fall day, but the jacket is extremely thin. Really not worth the price in my opinion. I can't imagine it keeping me especially warm on a hike. Probably will return!

Response from Patagonia
December 20, 2019

Hi Claire, thanks for writing us a review! We're sorry to hear about the disappointment with the Houdini. The jacket is designed to be more of a windbreaker and since it doesn't have any insulation it won't provide much warmth. The piece is intended to pack down to take anywhere and pull out when you're in a pinch and need quick wind and light rain protection. Nevertheless your satisfaction is guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

November 30, 2019

lovely and lightweight

a great new running & skiing jacket with a fun pattern. would love one or two more pockets (only has a chest one) and the material is unusually loud when you move.

November 29, 2019

Great wind jacket

I will use this jacket for travel in the spring and summer. It takes up almost no space in a suitcase and will offer me a layer of warmth and protection from cool nights. I like that it is cut for women and can be tightened around the hips.

November 28, 2019

Love, love, love it

Love, love, love it

November 27, 2019

Great design

I normally wear a women's medium, but I purchased the large size instead because of the slim fit chart. I am so happy with the large size and it fits perfect. I also like tucking the jacket in the chest pocket for transportation purpose. The jacket also keeps me warm since I get hot easily.

November 26, 2019

Hoodie smaller than most others

Hoodie smaller than most others in this brand. Jacket is so thin no need to bother wearing one.

November 25, 2019

Solid, lightweight jacket

As others have noted, this jacket is shockingly warm for how lightweight it is. I do wish there was some kind of vent under the arms because it can get a bit sweaty when wearing short sleeves underneath. Overall, a great value and I would certainly buy again.

November 24, 2019

Houdini

A little tight on the bottom and loose on the top, but that’s my problem with most Patagonia (I think I just have more curves than their target customer). But still a great, super light jacket!

November 23, 2019

Awesome lightweight

great piece for tailrunning, climbing, camping, biking, hiking - wind and water resistant and packs down super small, so it is perfect for any adventure

November 23, 2019

Nice light weight for walking

Nice light weight for walking

November 22, 2019

Wish it had pockets

Love the weight of the jacket and it is perfect for light precipitation. I use it mostly for biking. Wish it had a larger pocket on the chest or side pockets.

November 22, 2019

Houdini Jacket - LOVE!

This jacket is great for so many different sports and activities. It offers the perfect layering piece and packs up nice and small so you can always have it along just in case.

November 22, 2019

Love the print!

It’s my 3rd Houdini Jacket and I am always bragging abt it trying to get my hiking friends to get one too. They are durable, pack small, & come in handy when the wind picks or you just need an extra layer. The only con is the colors fade.

November 22, 2019

So light!

So light you don't think it can deliver. But pull it on when the wind picks up and temperature drops and you are good to get back to camp. Warning—it is so light the wind could fly away.

November 22, 2019

Love it

Fit is great! Light, breathable. Kept me warm during a race and didn't feel heavy or uncomfortable during my run. Love it!

November 14, 2019

Very thin

I am disappointed that this product is SO light and thin. I had hoped for a bit more substantial fabric. This is quite thin.

Response from Patagonia
December 3, 2019

Hi Teri, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're sorry to hear about the disappointment with the jacket. The Houdini is designed to be super lightweight and pack away really easily. This doesn't make it the most durable jacket we offer. Nevertheless, your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

November 11, 2019

Comfort all day

First of all, this jacket is tapered for a women which is awesome! I can wear it in any mild weather conditions and feel very comfortable all day. It’s also breathable so I don’t get sweaty. The packability of the jacket is a game changer. Very well worth it!

November 10, 2019

Great Jacket!

Just enough protection from the elements and provides just enough warmth at the start of a race. Fits in my running vest with ease and clips on my climbing harness. Great jacket!

November 9, 2019

Super light - perfect for

Super light - perfect for the PNW

November 8, 2019

Loved it!

Loved it!

November 6, 2019

Warm and lightweight

I take this everywhere because it packs so small and is so lightweight, why not? I just finished a bikepacking trip in northern AZ where the early mornings were windy and chilled and the evenings needed a little something more. This piece was a perfect edition to keep the wind from chilling me when we got to camp and was sweaty and in the chilly mo... Read Morernings when we were packing up.

November 5, 2019

Does so much!

I love this jacket. I use it for trail running, rock climbing, alpine climbing, hiking and warmer backcountry ski days.

November 4, 2019

ReOrdered a Size bigger than normal

Surprisingly snug at bottom of jacket at zipper for around my hips I’m considered a long and lean build.

November 3, 2019

Great windbreaker

Before buying this ultra lightweight, tiny fold-up wind breaker, I was always cold when the tiniest wind arose. I love how lightweight it is and warm.

October 31, 2019

Exactly what I needed

The Houdini jacket is exactly what I needed for the light covering when I’m running, cover up for swimming , or out early in the morning and need to keep the brisk cool air in check - but breathes well and isn’t sticky when activity heats up and I break a sweat. It dries super fast. It looks terrific, and I love the light purple. I’m 5’7” 135 lbs a... Read Morend the medium is a loose fit - just what I like for layering. Great product - thanks Patagonia!

October 31, 2019

Perfect for winter running!

It is light and thin but well fitted and roomy enough to wear layers underneath. I'm between a small and a medium as far as tops go in Patagonia (I wear a medium sports bra, small in tanks and the t-shirts are dependent on the shirt), but purchased a medium in this to have some room for layers. It fits perfectly for me as I like things more fi... Read Moretted, but it may be on the small side if you are a traditional Medium or like things a bit looser.

October 30, 2019

Awesome. Love it.

Awesome. Love it.

October 26, 2019

Love this jacket!

I already have a turquoise Houdini jacket but I couldn’t resist this pattern. Great color for the fall. Love it love it love it. Lightweight, wind resistant, water resistant and amazingly warm. Great for layering!

October 24, 2019

Cheerful and practical

Light and colorful, it makes me happy to wear it iin unpredictable weather. It's coming to a 5K with me in 3 days. I sized up (L instead of M) according to other reviews and the fit is perfect for running. Not restrictive, not bulky.

October 22, 2019

Add pockets

This is just what I wanted however pockets on the sides would've rated a 5 stars. Per others remarks I sized up to L (5'5" and 150 lb) to get the room in my hips :)

October 21, 2019

Serves Its Purpose

I bought this for a trip to Panama during the rainy season. It worked great for keeping me from getting soaked. It was light enough that I didn't feel stifled in the heat. I usually wear an XS or S but had to buy M in this, as it is slim fit and the S didn't fit over my hips comfortably. The M is baggy, and the sleeves a bit long, but I d... Read Moreon't really care as the jacket serves its purpose well. Would have liked some zip hand pockets but the chest pocket carries an ID, credit card nicely.

October 18, 2019

Best wind/rain coat ever

Bought my first jacket like this in SFO 6-7 years ago. Got it on the clearance rack and in men’s size. It is large on me but works great for layering and going over my daypack if necessary. That jacket has been all around the world. I decided it was time to add another one to my collection. One that fit a little better. It did not disappoint. The j... Read Moreacket is very lightweight and so easy to keep handy. Breaks the wind without making you sweat. Does a really good job at keeping the rain at bay too. I have worn it on boats and heavy soaking surf and stayed dry under this amazing jacket. I get tons of compliments on this little jacket. We bought my husband one too. He had jacket envy.

October 7, 2019

Patagonia Houdini Jacket

Cute and practical. Like this for the slightly cool days of fall and spring on a hike or just for around town. I Also wear a sweatshirt under if needed for warmth.

October 3, 2019

A great layer, but not your rain layer.

I purchased this for trail running. It's hunting season in my neck of the woods and I have struggled to find any kind of orange outerwear layer for running in the fall... something that I could layer with a base layer. I couldn't really tell from the description or the reviews how waterproof this jacket would actually be... so the day a... Read Morefter it arrived when the weather was drizzling I figured it was worth a test run. It's certainly comfortable to run with when layered with a base layer. The temperature was 60 degrees so mine was a tank. The drizzle turned to a light rain during my 30 minute run and I definitely got wet. Also, my skin became a bit clammy while I was running and the jacket started to stick. I'm uncertain if that was me sweating or the moisture coming in. Yes, the description does say the jacket is only water resistant. And 30 minutes does perform better than me wearing simply a shirt. I look forward to seeing how it holds up on longer runs as the temperatures start to drop here in New England. Will I get sticky? Does the jacket breathe? I'm glad I have something orange for running in the woods. I think a more accurate description of this jacket is that it's a windbreaker. However, I'm still looking for something to keep me dry when it starts to rain and I'm on the trail.

October 2, 2019

Great purchase

I bought this for fall trip out West where temps ranged from 38 to 85. Many people were often wearing puffer style jackets but this very thin jacket with a layer underneath was perfect for the coolest hikes and night temperatures. It protected from cold, wind, and rain which was not heavy. Light shirt underneath needed most of the time. Great purch... Read Morease and highly recommend. I’m 5’2” /119lbs and preferred the M for length and layering

September 29, 2019

Super Lightweight

I like the floral pattern and color. It keeps you warm on a breezy day. The jacket is super lightweight and good for travel.

September 23, 2019

WHAT NO POCKETS?!!!

Loved the weight and the fact that it is water resistance but no pockets out of the same light material would make this a perfect jacket

September 21, 2019

Houdini jacket

although I really like this jacket and use it often I found that the heat seems to build up on my back and my back perspires..

September 19, 2019

Nice and light

Love the color and how light weight the jacket is! Blue violet. As usual for Patagonia products, the arms are a little long on me. Everything else fits. I usually buy Large so I can layer under, if needed, and because of my Mature 55+ figure - Patagonia has not started designing for this body type yet. ( I’m hopeful!) Works great to protect from ea... Read Morerly morning mist and fits as an extra wind layer over my Micro Puff Jacket. Nice just to have in my bag if needed in it’s storage pocket ( hikes, evening walks, cold grocery store trips). NO hand pockets - cost it a star.

September 19, 2019

Great jacket

I’ve been wanting a very light weight “windbreaker” for a while and saw this one. It fits great and is exactly what I was looking for. I’m 5’6 133lbs and ordered a M. Sleeves could be a tad too long but I wanted the space for layering!

September 16, 2019

Running jackets

Super lightweight. Love it. Wish there were pockets though.

September 16, 2019

Houdini love - is it wrong?

Love it! It is my go to piece as we transition from summer to fall with some wind and rain. Amazingly warm for its weight.

September 16, 2019

Great jacket

This is a great jacket! On a trip to Nepal during the end of monsoon season, had to use it quite a few times. It folds up small enough to keep in my purse, and kept me nice a dry. The jacket also dries quickly.

September 14, 2019

Very thin and lightweight but effective

I survived 2 months backpacking with this as my only rain jacket, I usually wear S but got a M so I could fit it over a puffer and it worked perfectly. I love how it can be compressed into the pocket and the flattering cut. It's quite thin so not recommended for heavy rain but it is surprisingly warm. Overall I like how it's easy to carry... Read More around and can be worn over anything as an extra wind breaking or water resistant layer, wish it had pockets though.

September 12, 2019

Love it

The fit was excellent and flattering. It’s so convenient to be able to fold and store in itself and toss in my purse. Love it!!

September 9, 2019

Great Rain Jacket

I really enjoy being able to fold up this rain jacket and throw it in my backpack for a long school day and walks across campus. It's super light weight and holds up great in heavy Michigan rain as well. I also got a size up to add layers underneath. I think it runs a little small so I'm glad I got a size up. I would definitely recommend ... Read Morethe jacket!

September 9, 2019

Great superlight jacket

I love the jacket and the color is so ephemeral. The little pocket that it stuffs into makes this jacket something “you should never leave home without. “

September 8, 2019

Lightweight warmth

Bought the navy print jacket and wore it yesterday on a blustery day over a sweater. It really cut the wind and held in warmth. Its amazing how thin it is. I do wish it had hand pockets but thats not a deal breaker. Very happy with the purchase!

September 8, 2019

Love this rain jacket!

This is the perfect rain jacket! Not only do I wear it causally, but it is perfect to take on a hike/trail run. It fits perfectly in my running vest and does not add noticeable weight. Love this jacket!

September 7, 2019

Super light & compact. Please

Super light & compact. Please make it a little roomier to accommodate layering & also in some darker colors too!

September 7, 2019

Jacket fits like a glove

Jacket fits like a glove and is super comfortable. First time needing a rain jacket for running and I am not disappointed in the slightest.

September 5, 2019

Houdini Jacket

This will be a cozy, warm coat for the winters in Jackson Hole, WY. The size 4 fits perfectly. I love the roll away hood and hand pockets.

September 5, 2019

Convenient and effective

I have loved my houdini. I love that I can wear it on a long walk that starts windy and chilly here in the high desert and then pack it away and attach it to my caribiner that holds my keys once it warms up. Same for the very windy run and windy evening on my SUP. Very versatile and I have a feeling I'll be wearing it 3 seasons a year. I also ... Read Morelike that the hood fits my hair, which tends to be voluminous, and another hood underneath if I needed a hoodie for warmth underneath. Thanks Patagucci- another worthwhile purchase! I have a 38 in bust, am 5'5'' and athletic/muscular build and I like things baggy enough to move and bought a L and am pleased with it.Can't wait to take it on my San Juan Islands bike trip next week!

September 5, 2019

Perfect Summer / Lightweight Rain Jacket

This jacket is seriously super thin and perfect for summer, or travel. I wore it the first time during a light rain shower and it kept me perfectly dry. I don't know if it would hold up as well during a heavy storm, but I have jackets for more severe conditions.

September 5, 2019

No pockets

Thin and packable rain/wind resistant layer. But really really thin fabric and no pockets, which for me is a deal breaker on a jacket. Fit is good, maybe a little on the slim side for something I would expect to wear over layers. I’ll be returning.

September 4, 2019

Runs small

I had to return my order. I went by the size guide. However, too small.

Response from Patagonia
September 17, 2019

We're sorry this was too small. Please [let us know](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html) if you have any questions regarding your return.

September 4, 2019

Wonderful Jacket

Lightweight, wind resistant. Very compact, fits well. I did size up to a medium as I felt the small was a bit snug. I am 5'8" 125 and the sleeve and overall length were better in a medium.

September 4, 2019

the little jacket that could!

it will be there when you need it; but you will forget it's there when not in use. packs small, carries light...

September 3, 2019

Disappointed

For the price I was expecting something heavier. First experience with your brand was disappointing.

Response from Patagonia
September 17, 2019

I'm sorry to hear your first experience with us wasn't the best. If you would like to return your jacket you can start that process [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

September 3, 2019

Houdini jacket

Best light and versatile jacket I have, Great for cool days keeping warms warm, windy days and over better sweater on colder days! My second one (lost my first one on a hike :( and ordered another right away!) Love it KK

September 3, 2019

Beautiful light Houdini!

I love this jacket--love the color (thanks for bringing Light Balsamic back!), love how you can scrunch up the fabric into a tiny package, yet it doesn't stay wrinkled when you shake it out. Love it that you made the chest pocket big enough for a phone, and gave us an XXL for those of us who layer. Now, would you go back to making o version wi... Read Morethout the hood? These make excellent windshirts under fleece for winter layering--but not with a big bulky hood attached.

September 2, 2019

Houdini Jacket

Light; comfortable; perfect for slightly cool summer days or evenings.

September 2, 2019

Great for light weather

Jacket is light, packs down, great for light wind and rain! I keep it in my bag at all times

September 1, 2019

As described

Perfect ultra-light rain jacket for outdoor sports. This is great for rainy evening rows in mild Seattle. The long coverage on the rear will make it a nice jacket for bike commuting as well.

September 1, 2019

Just OK

Very thin and see through. No cuffs on sleeves, just a thin piece of elastic that seems to be lightly sewn.

September 1, 2019

So thin , inadequate , disappointed

Fit was fine but this is so incredibly thin that it is literally see- through such that I could see the print of my t-shirt underneath. Will not protect me from even a light drizzle, that is for sure. Disappointed ; I will be returning it.

Response from Patagonia
September 12, 2019

We're sorry to hear you're disappointed with your purchase! Please [let us know](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html) if you have any questions regarding your return.

September 1, 2019

Smaller than expected

I am a size 10 and could not zip the large together, thankfully my 13 year old size 6 can wear it so I have it to her. Expensive for what it is but very light weight which is nice.

Response from Patagonia
September 12, 2019

We're sorry this ended up being too small. Please note that you are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it back to us and you can get the right size. We're glad it worked out this time around though!

August 31, 2019

Houdini Jacket

Love the jacket and material. I will be returning this jacket - it is too snug through the hips.

August 31, 2019

Light weight, amazing!

Great purchase. I bought one for myself and my husband and they are true to fit, comfortable and definitely wick away any water you come in contact with. Wish I bought more!

August 31, 2019

I thought I bought the wrong jacket

I was looking for a lightweight jacket to wear in the morning when walking my dog. I went to the store during the sale and could not find my size so I ordered on line and ordered a windbreaker by mistake. I love this product so much, it is light and keeps me warm even in the fog and is easy to take off and stow in my fanny pack. It is perfect under... Read More a tee.

August 31, 2019

Great!

Super comfy and lightweight. Not rough feeling like most windbreakers. Perfect light layer.

August 31, 2019

Houdini Jacket

Awesome. Perfect light weight to ward off a light chill or offer a barrier to sun, wind, light rain.

August 31, 2019

Love this jacket!

I've been looking for a lighter rain/wind jacket for warmer weather and ordered this in the light violet. It's a wonderful color, and the style and fabric of the jacket are just right. I love the thought that's gone into the details -- the longer tail, the thinner cuffs, and the fitted-perfect hood. It seems to run a little small, ev... Read Moreen for Patagonia's "slim fit" (mostly in the hips) so I had to return it and size up. That said, I'm thrilled to have this.

August 31, 2019

This jacket is awesome

I bought this for my high schooler who would rather die than wear a poncho to a football game. The first day she used it she took it to school and liked how it took up less space than an umbrella in her backpack once it was stuffed into the pocket. Plus we know it will last forever.

August 31, 2019

Houdini Jacket

I really love the Houdini jacket. It is the perfect weight for the weather in Ventura. I love how it fits into the chest pocket. I didn't realize that it doesn't have pockets for your hands which I might have not bought it if I had had realized this. I love to have pockets for my hands, phone and wallet. It would be much better with pocke... Read Morets and I dont think they would add that much weight.

August 30, 2019

Lightweight and Lovely

This packs/travels so well because it is insanely lightweight. Was going somewhere where it was going to be very hot and humid, with scattered showers - needed something breathable that would provide some rain protection. This was perfect because it was easy to take with me wherever I went, and afforded me the rain protection I needed.

August 29, 2019

Houdini jacket

Love it, color is beautiful- perfect weight!

August 29, 2019

Didn’t fit right

Pants are well made, but cut wide in the thighs for a “slim” style. Otherwise, liked them.

August 29, 2019

Love this Houdini jacket!

Perfect lightweight wind breaker, on sale, in a beautiful color: Rain Fern Multi: Classic Navy (RECN)! With slim fit garments I order a size up. I’m 5’4” 130lbs and a bit chesty, Medium fits me perfectly. So glad I made this purchase.

August 29, 2019

I have 3!!!

So versatile! Packs to nearly nothing!! Won’t leave home without one. Cold grocery stores, chilly beach mornings, evening hikes, movie theaters. I lost my black one years ago which slipped perfectly over a dress after dinner in the city while waiting for the car service curbside. I left it behind and never got it back. Ordering the black one now to... Read More add to the other colors, which I wear to suit my mood that day.

August 28, 2019

Nice quality but too small

Nice quality but too small

August 27, 2019

Too light weight for price.

Too light weight for price. Very disappointed.

Response from Patagonia
September 3, 2019

I'm sorry to hear the Houdini was too light weight for yourself. If you are not satisfied with the weight, feel free to start a return [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

August 26, 2019

Nice for travel

Very lightweight, pretty color! Will be useful for travel.

August 26, 2019

NOT water repellant!

I just wore this in the rain for the first time and was soaked underneath! It's only good for a very light drizzle...

Response from Patagonia
September 3, 2019

This is true, we really don't recommend this for rain, it serves as more of a windbreaker. If this wasn't exactly what you were looking for, please feel free to let us know and we can [help](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=help) with a [return/exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

August 24, 2019

Jacket

Runs very small

August 24, 2019

Houdini

Seriously awesome jacket - beautiful color (lavender), so light-weight and compact, and can wear in drizzle (haven't tested full-on rain) without getting wet. I love it - and Patagonia. Thank you Mr. Chouinard!

August 23, 2019

Gotta have it

I live in Alaska, and wasn’t sure I would actually use such a light jacket. But I have found it to be useful in so many situations, and I just bought one for my daughter. I keep it in my bag or car all the time and most often use it on the beach, which is windy and cooler than town. It cuts the wind and offers just the right amount of warmth. I hav... Read Moree worn it sailing in Hawaii, exploring beaches in Scotland, and on day hikes at home. Love it, you need one where ever you live! The one I bought my daughter seems to be a bit longer in the back, which is great.

August 20, 2019

Nice light jacket

5' 7" 160 lbs, athletic build, ordered Lg. Its fits good can layer vest or thin long sleeve shirt. Jacket is thin, light weight, packable. Nice to hike in, not best in heavier rain. wish it had side pockets.

August 15, 2019

Love the Houdini!

I see where this jacket gets its name: it's like magic the way you can stuff this super light jacket into its chest pocket, zip the pouch and then just toss it into your bag or pack. But for such a light jacket it has a drawstring adjustable hood and a zippered chest pocket to keep things secure. I use it when I go into buildings that are over... Read Morely air conditioned but I also use it when I'm kayaking early in the morning and need something to keep me warm until the sun burns off the cool air. I'm hiking Mont Blanc in the fall and this jacket will definitely be in my pack.

August 15, 2019

Houdini shell

This jackets is light weight. Perfect extra layer. Easy to pack. I keep one in my day pack. The current version is fitted and lighter than the original, but it's more compact.

August 15, 2019

Ultralight for Ultra Adventure

I purchased Houdini rain jacket and pants for a hut-to-hut running trip in the Alps. They were ultralight for this ultra running adventure. Recommend both jacket and pants if you’re looking for maximum performance at minimum weight.

August 12, 2019

A staple!

I purchased this jacket to replace an older Houdini that I have worn for years and thousands of miles. The old one still looks like new but after many washes does not repel water as well as it once did. This jacket is a great, lightweight windproof and water resistant wardrobe staple. I wear it everywhere!

August 12, 2019

Great quality rain jacket, super

Great quality rain jacket, super light weight! I love the color and the fit. It's especially great for me as a photographer, I can pack it in my camera bag and it takes up literally zero space.

August 12, 2019

nice packable extra layer

This jacket is very well made. It fits into its one pocket (at chest) making a small ball that's easy to stick in a bag "just in case." I got the navy print and love it.

August 11, 2019

The peach sherbet is a

The peach sherbet is a great and happy color! It's my third Houdini jacket. I'm usually cold but it provides perfectly light coverage and is a staple of mine!

August 10, 2019

Beautiful fit

Fits just right over lightweight clothing. Folds up to almost nothing. Great for travel. Does a wonderful job of keeping your upper body and head dry—even in s downpour.

August 10, 2019

Versatile jacket

Love this jacket, very versatile. I bought it for running and it works great. Super light weight, easily packable and have used it on multiple trips. Always like to keep it in the car in case I need it.

August 10, 2019

Houdini

The jacket is great. Very light weight and warm. Helps to break a sweat.

August 10, 2019

Women's Houdini

Love this jacket!! It is the perfect layer to always have in my bag.

August 10, 2019

lite weight raincoat

tag on upper back hangs out if not zipped completely

Response from Patagonia
August 14, 2019

Thanks for your feedback! We've passed it along.

August 10, 2019

Very lightweight

Used this coat for travel, and couldn’t be happier with how lightweight and packable it is while still protecting from rain without fail.

August 10, 2019

No pockets

Love that jacket except for the fact it doesn’t have pockets! 😞

August 10, 2019

Houdini Jacket

My 25 year old Houdini jacket finally gave up the ghost. I ordered a new one right away. It is the most indispensable clothing item that I have ever owned.

August 10, 2019

light weight windbreaker/rain jacket

love this light weight jacket - keeps off rain and wind. perfect for traveling

August 10, 2019

Love this light jacket!

I wasn’t sure about this jacket at first, mainly because it’s so light. Turns out to be one of my favorites!!! It’s very light but a perfect layer to take the chill out! It’s perfect for damp days or even misty weather. Great for walking & running in cooler weather. It’s super thin & light so it’s easy to take along without taking up much s... Read Morepace. I’m 5’2” about 130lbs. And I went with the necium because I like a little wiggle room.

August 10, 2019

Houdini I love you

I bought this jacket because my friend recommended it and turns out it is perfect for me. The weather always changes here in San Francisco, the fog comes in every afternoon and the jacket is always in my mini backpack . It weighs nothing but adds quite a bit of warmth and it looks wonderful. I got the dark green with the flower pattern. It matches ... Read Moremy backpack 😊. Love the jacket, love Patagonia

August 10, 2019

I wear it more often then I thought I would

So light and warm. Really a great purchase.

August 10, 2019

wish

Absolutely love this jacket. It works in so many ways. I only wish there was a pocket or pockets.

August 10, 2019

New best friend

Owning a Houdini jacket in the PNW just makes good sense. I never know when I’ll be caught in a quick shower or just need a wind cheater in early morning rambles. It packs down to nothing and I can pull it out in a moments notice to stay warm and dry until I can get inside. Sized up one size from my normal small to accommodate spring and fall layer... Read Moreing.

August 10, 2019

Awesome jacket

Love this jacket and how it zips up so tiny when you're not using it. I run ultras and this has been perfect to stash in my pack. It kept me comfortable during a climb up Whitney and was durable enough to provide shelter during a hail storm.

August 9, 2019

Doesn’t breathe well for running

I tried to use this for running in cold weather- 17’F i , layered over merino wool long sleeved base layer. There was literally water beaded up on the inside when I came in from my run... worked amazingly to keep me warm, but not breathable. A nice layer, but not for running (for me anyway... I am very sweaty, ha ha). Length is perfect for me, but ... Read MoreI do have a long torso.

July 11, 2019

Houdini

Awesome lightweight, packable water resistant jacket for light misty conditions. Have wanted this jacket for a long time and really love it.

July 10, 2019

Too long

This is a nice windbreaker that is portable and easy to stuff into a bag or a clip onto a belt loop. Love the hood. The problem with this jacket it is that it is way too long. I’m average, height 5 foot four with a long torso, and this jacket is super long even in XS. It’s also a bit tight in the bust area and I’m not a big busted gal. I have an at... Read Morehletic body but I’m still a woman. Patagonia, you have to understand that women do have boobs. Why is everything cut as if a man is going to wear it?

July 10, 2019

Great fit, lightweight, and warm

This jacket has been extremely impressive since I've bought it. I bought the XL (I'm usually a L) and it's a great fit. I've used this jacket for backpacking, running, hiking, and rowing. It kept me warmer than I expected and is a great outer shell that has fit over multiple layers. There are no pockets, except one on the chest ... Read Morewhich is what you can pack it for carrying, but for my activities (mostly rowing), this feature is extremely beneficial. For being so thin and lightweight, it does a good job of keeping most of the rain out and keeping you warm.

July 3, 2019

Extremely light, useful and practical

My regular size M didn't fit me in this jacket (5'5",150 lbs), so I went up to a L. Perfect fit. It's like plastic-bag-type thin and light, and as it turns out, extremely useful I keep it in my purse and use it regularly. To go shopping when the AC is on; recently I used it on an overseas flight under the Bajadas Hoodie. The Baj... Read Moreadas is stretchy, comfortable, longer cut, and breathable, but less insulating; the Houdini doesn't breathe much, and thus is warmer. At the beach I used it to protect from wind. I find this to be an unexpectedly awesome and useful find for the summer. The pros are that it's unbelievably light and comfortable, as well as effective in blocking breezes, sun, and giving some warmth. The cons are that it isn't very breathable... although I am not sure that's actually a con.

July 2, 2019

Oh, but to have pockets!

The Houdini is a great coat; it's shockingly light weight, so great for traveling. It kept me warm and dry during a downpour in downtown Düsseldorf. The only problem is no pockets. A jacket just isn't a jacket without hand pockets. (And I Really hope this isn't a sign of Patagonia's commitment to the resurgence of the Fanny Pack... Read More!)I decided to keep it and adapt, and I'm glad I have, but I do lament the missing pockets every time. The fit is slim, but not too. It fits over a hoodie with no problem.

June 23, 2019

Great fabric but not cut well for average-sized women

I’m not short or tall. I’m not skinny or fat. I’m 5’5” and 120 lbs with an athletic build. My torso is long yet this jacket is soooo long, even in XS. I have an XS from a previous season. That one is long. I ordered a small in black so I could wear light layers underneath but it is too long and I returned it. Shame bc the fabric is so awesome.

Response from Patagonia
June 24, 2019

We're sorry to hear this was too long to your liking! Please don't hesitate to reach out to our [Customer Service](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html) team if you have any questions regarding your return.

May 30, 2019

Always in my purse

I bought this jacket for a spring trip to Greece. It has been perfect! It is weightless and easily rolls up to fit in my shoulder bag. Along with a light cotton scarf, it has kept me warm on some pretty cool and windy evenings when I probably would not have thought to bring along a jacket. It's also excellent on top of my R1 hoodie for really ... Read Morecold outings (like an evening catamaran ride).

May 10, 2019

This was perfect for the Inca Trail!

I took this super lightweight jacket out on the Inca Trail as I wanted something that would be a good top layer in the event of rain and wind, but didn't take up much space. This jacket ended up working perfectly. It also folds up into a ball just a little bigger than my fist, making it the perfect jacket to throw in my pack. To be sure, it wo... Read Moren't offer a lot of warmth, as it's super lightweight, but it did hold in body heat really well. I did size up (I got a large, I'm usually a medium) to make room for layering and I am glad I did.

May 10, 2019

Perfect summer & Hawaii multipurpose jacket!

I have a dark navy version (no longer available) which I love. It's the perfect jacket to keep on hand for summer thunderstorms w/o making you hot and sticky & is really pretty water repellent. It takes up practically no space so I also always keep it with me when taking the train as they are over-air conditioned in the summer and it'... Read Mores just enough to take the chill off w/o overheating. It's the PERFECT jacket for hiking in Hawaii, through misty paths in the mornings when it's cool out to keep you drier. It's great for fair-skinned people as an extra layer to keep the sun off if you're on a beach (or anywhere) w/o any shade available. If you ever visit Kauai (the wettest place on earth) you'll want one of these! I only wish, like others, you all offered a lighter neutral color like a light grey or white, which would be cooler for wearing in the sun. I have a light grey version w/o a hood from another brand, but really like the hood on this one for keeping sun off my neck & ears, which always get sunburned. It washes great, I only air-dry it, and have washed several times and it's kept it's water repellency well.

May 9, 2019

Practical Outerwear - Top Layer

My husband stumbled across a Men's Houdini jacket at a Patagonia store. He is a true size medium and was a little disappointed that they only had a large in stock in the color he wanted. He tried it on anyway and he really liked the way it fit, especially for mountain biking. He loves this jacket so much that I decided to purchase one for myse... Read Morelf and sized up just like he did. I wear a small or size 6 in everything Patagonia but decided that not only is it slim fit but this is an item that is light weight enough to not feel oversized if I went up a size. Sizing up can be problematic when you are 5 ft tall, every inch in length matters but I wanted a slightly looser fit for layering in cooler weather and for mountain biking. It wasn't exactly designed for mountain biking so there's the whole hood - helmet issue but its still a great product for riding in California's Salinas-Monterey dry/overcast/cold/windy climate. We just tuck the hoods in the jacket or if its drizzling enough the material is so thin that we can wear the hood under our helmets.

May 8, 2019

My opinion

I really like my spring and fall jackets. They’re comfortable and keep rain and wind off me. That being said, my spring jacket has no pockets. I understand it’s meant to be a light jacket but I really, really wish it had at least one “hand warmer” pocket. I can hardly wait to buy a winter jacket. I’m not in a hurry for winter though so I’ll just si... Read Moret back and enjoy spring and summer in my new Patagonia jackets!

May 8, 2019

The best, prettiest jacket ever

I originally purchased this jacket to have a compact, fall-back jacket along with me when I hike or mtn bike, stuffed into the bottom of my hydration pack. It has become my go-to for all the time wear. The color version I got is white with pale fern on it (can't remember name, and it doesn't seem to be in stock right now). That color is ... Read Morewonderful too because it is semi-translucent, thus the bright color shirt beneath shows through. Really love it for the water repellent feature and wind break. Fits well too.

May 8, 2019

A day pack essential

The Houdini really delivers on its promises as a super packable, minimalist extra layer. It's warmer and more protective than it looks like it should be, fits well, and all but disappears folded into its pocket. I always keep one in the bottom of my hiking day pack as an emergency layer and it's come in handy many times, for myself and sh... Read Moreared with hiking partners. The new colors and patterns are pretty bomb too.

May 8, 2019

Preferred the old design

Love the Houdini jacket, but do NOT like the contrasting color zippers. Why clutter up a beautiful thing? Also, my original Houdini was a beautiful light cool blue, sadly no longer available.

May 8, 2019

Houdini jackets

Bought one for my wife and myself. They are a great jacket for warm weather rain showers. Super convenient to bring along just in case a they weigh next to nothing and can easily be shoved into a bag.

May 8, 2019

Light and excellent jacket

Houdini rain jacket is light and packable. Love the jacket

April 23, 2019

Great!

I love this jacket. It packs well and is super lightweight. Perfect for little drizzles or from protecting from wind. I ordered in the Tarkine Fern: Atoll B color and it was way more see-through than I would have liked, but it still looks nice.

April 19, 2019

Quality not as good as last year and sizing off

I have a teal Houdini size M from 2018 which I wear always. I decided to buy a new one this year for a little variety. When this one arrived I noticed; the new version is larger in sizing, the material is thinner and the toggles to secure the bottom are smaller and seem cheaper. I have to no bring it back and order a smaller size if I still want it... Read More.

April 1, 2019

Patagonia jacket

This jacket was nothing like I thought it would be. The images made me think it would be a good fall/ spring transition coat and would be warm enough for those seasons in Canada. When I received it it was the thinnest coat I’ve seen and not warm at all. Nice coat for very light days in summer but not at all warm enough for spring/ fall in Canada. N... Read Moreice looking coat but definitely not worth the price for what you get.

March 22, 2019

Love this jacket

I have a black jacket and purchased a green one when they went on sale. I love, love, love this jacket. I literally wear it year round. I use it for runs at high elevation when it gets chilly and at lower when it might be windy. I take it to the movies when the air conditioning is crazy cold. It breathes, but is just that one layer that helps keep ... Read Moreme at good temperature when the environment is colder. Sometimes I will use it as a layer when skiing, it is so light and can really add some warmth. Sounds crazy for such a light weight jacket, but it works. I did go up a size after trying it on in a store. It does run small.

March 20, 2019

Houdini Color Options

This jacket has "saved my life" on many occasions when I have thrown it into my luggage at the last minute just in case! I initially bought it in white, for there was no other color available at the store. Thank heavens that I did have to buy the white! It literally, for me, has given me protection from tropical rain, cool tropical or sum... Read Moremer evenings and even protection as I boarded a cocktail cruise hydrofoil where a wave caught me and drenched me. Thankfully, this jacket was in a pack , which did not absorb the water. Thanks to having it with me, I could enjoy the cruise with some comfort! Ever since this event, I ALWAYS take one with me just in case. I would LOVE ANOTHER IN WHITE, for this color is so versitile and neutral. Black and a silver/grey would also be a practical color for this particular jacket for travel.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches