Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Capilene® Cool Trail Shirt

Write Your Review

3.8/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 62 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Capilene® Cool Trail Shirt

3.8/5
September 6, 2021

Very comfortable

Comfortable in warm weather while out walking. Will likely purchase another.

September 2, 2021

Not quite right

I wanted to try this because I have the lighter weight capilene. This one was bigger all around and the cut of the neck was too wide. The only color left was the blue with black stripes, and the color was too dull - I prefer vibrant.

Response from Patagonia
September 10, 2021

Hi Thea, we’re very sorry about the limited color selection. We should be getting more Capilene® Cool Trail Shirts on September 12th, 2021. The date is subject to change but go ahead and check back with us then.

September 2, 2021

Fun all-around shirt

Bought this on sale and not in love with the yellow color but wears better than it looks online. The material isn't as soft as I would like but does wick sweat well and keeps my shoulders from burning. Just a tad too big for me, but I'd rather too big than too small, and I think I'm in between sizes on this. Great hiking shirt when y... Read Moreou're a mile closer to the sun in Colorado. I'm 5'6" and 118 lbs with broad shoulders.

August 21, 2021

Variable Fit

I ordered two shirts of the same style and size. One is too small and the other is acceptable.

Response from Patagonia
August 26, 2021

Hello Karen, thank you for alerting us to the difference in sizing. We typically allow for a 3% variance on sizing but you are certainly welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) the item if the fit does not work out.

August 12, 2021

Other year's model is slightly better

While this is still a good shirt, the previous year's model, with the buttons on the front, fits slightly better across the chest. Still a great piece. Comfortable and performs well. Dries well after a sweaty ride.

August 8, 2021

Light weight breathable base layer

The capilene cool shirts are very lightweight and breathable. I work outside and hike in south Florida and have to choose clothes that I can freely sweat in and look good.

August 7, 2021

Thin

This was much thinner than I thought. Would definitely need to wear it as an under layer.

July 28, 2021

A Classic

This shirt does just what I expect it to do. Lightweight and stays cool. Bonus points for resisting stink.

July 25, 2021

Very thin fabric

Great sleeve length and live the curved hem line. However, fabric very thin compared to earlier iterations- almost see through in the chicory red.

Response from Patagonia
July 28, 2021

Thanks for your feedback, Janet! We've made so many iterations of Capilene fabric, it's tough to say which one you've had in the past. The previous version of this exact style used a 4-ounce fabric and this current product has 4.4-ounce polyester. Sometimes a solid color will be a different weight than a heather color for the same style. If you find the fabric weight to be a dealbreaker for your purposes, please reach out for [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) to return it!

July 23, 2021

Flattering and functional!

I am SO happy with this shirt! Super comfortable, cool and sweat wicking. Very flattering fabric and style. Unlike other active wear shirts it doesn’t cling to your body highlighting your lumps and bumps :) Love it!!!

July 21, 2021

Fits small!

The fabric seems great! But its small! I ordered a L in this shirt and is the Capilene Merion short sleeve, which is supposed to be a slimmer fit, yet somehow that one fits perfectly and this one is way too snug! So, Ill have to return it.

July 15, 2021

Light weight and comfortable

A perfect weight for the gym classes and hiking

July 11, 2021

Perfect

Love this t-shirt! Yes, it keeps you cool but it is also very flattering and forgiving. I have 2 toddlers and am in my late 30's. I do NOT have the bod I used to have. I have a tummy that is obvious that I just cannot get rid of. This t-shirt helps me hide it well. It also shows off your curves and chest in the right way. Not too low cut. Grea... Read Moret to pair up with a sports bra or a push up bra! For reference, I'm 5'7 145lbs 36C, pear shaped. Small fit me great if you like it body hugging and a little loose in the tummy area. Medium was way too loose. Definitely ran large. I am usually a medium, sometimes large in clothes depending on the brand. Good luck!

July 3, 2021

Does Not Disappoint

Love the quality of my Patagonia tee shirt. Highly recommend. Have purchased Patagonia before. Good value.

July 1, 2021

Good fit

Fits great!

June 20, 2021

Perfect for summer

True size and fit perfectly

June 16, 2021

Sheer!

This shirt is sheer and I was not expecting this at all! I have two from previous season and they were not sheer. Not a total bummer but will be used in a different manner since I can't wear to work casually. Strictly for exercise. I would love to see Patagonia bring back the previous style that's not sheer and/or give options to folks.

May 18, 2021

Nice, but more sheer than I can wear at work.

I purchased this shirt in the striped purple, but then returned it. It was a little more sheer than I can wear at work for business casual... I know folks had mentioned that before, but I thought maybe getting it in a darker color would help? Nah, it didn't. The neckline was nice... different than some other shirts I have. Fit around the shoul... Read Moreders and bust good... but after that it got a little too "flowy and drapey" around the waist and mid section. Seemed to lack direction and motivation... just kinda hanging there awkwardly. Some other people might like that, but that's not my jam (another reason for my return).

May 13, 2021

Not for large chests

Once again a company fails to design shirts that fit a female body. Im sure this shirt is great if youre flat chested. Even ordering a size LARGE is too tight across my chest. Youd think clothing designers would get a clue that larger womens sizes means larger in the chest but they just cut everything the same. The fabric is also very thin and see ... Read Morethrough.

May 12, 2021

See through

First time Ive been disappointed with a Patagonia product. This shirt is completely see through and I unfortunately will be returning it. Very low quality.

May 12, 2021

See Through :(

Disappointed. I bought these so I could have something comfortable to wear at work and both color I got are see through. Returned.

May 11, 2021

Great colors

I love these...ordered 3 in different colors. My only regret is that my husband put it in the wash with a soap that had fabric softener and it softened it way too much. Hoping I can rewash and get the fabric back.

May 7, 2021

Good running shirt

This shirt is cool and comfortable for running. The fit isn't too tight or too loose. The light purple is a little sheer, which doesn't bother me for running, but I probably wouldn't like it in other settings.

April 25, 2021

Warm

Fits well washed still looks new! Great quality clothing

April 20, 2021

Large is very big

I have this shirt in a few colors , its very comfy . I felt the medium was just a little snug in the chest so I purchased a large . What a difference in size . The large is way too big . I wish there was something in between sizes.

April 13, 2021

Great; perfect fit

I have found that the last few years Patagonia women's stuff sizing is not what it used to be; it often just feels off, and it has been a primary brand I have worn for years and years. This shirt is perfect though. It is cut really well and is actually true to size. I could see buying this shirt in multiple colors if they introduce more colors... Read More in the future. Patagonia - please don't go and tweak with this cut/model in future years - it's perfect as is!

April 12, 2021

Great everyday t-shirt

This is a great everyday t-shirt. It is not as soft as other Patagonia t-shirts, but I still really like this! The size is as expected.

April 10, 2021

Super comfy

Love this T. So soft and comfortable. Ordered it in two more colors.

April 1, 2021

Exceptional Fit and Finish

It is hard to find larger clothing with this kind of fit and finish. I love the length, the scoop neck and overall fit and design. I bought 3! LOVE them all.

April 1, 2021

Flimsy Material

I received this shirt as a gift. I was able to wear it once. I washed it in a delicate cycle with undergarments. It came out if the washer with pulls on the front and a hole. Highly disappointed in the garment.

Response from Patagonia
April 1, 2021

Thank you for the review on our Capilene Cool Trail Shirt. Sometimes top loading washing machines can be a bit more harsh on our clothes than we realize, so that could be what happened here. This is not something we have heard of being an issue before. Nonetheless, this is not the quality standard we hold our items to and gift or not, the Ironclad Guarantee still stands. To begin a return, please click [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

March 30, 2021

Great hiking shirt!

Light and comfortable. A little on the large side.

March 21, 2021

Completely transparent

This top shrinks after one wash and the fabric is completely transparent/see-through. Order a size bigger

Response from Patagonia
March 24, 2021

We're so sorry to hear of the shrinking on your Capilene Cool Trail Shirt. If you'd like to do an exchange for a bigger size, you can get started [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

March 15, 2021

Makes Me Stink!

Im 51 and 125 lbs. I ordered XS, and the cut is super flattering. I question the longevity of this shirt as it seems to pill easily. And I dont know what it is, but this shirt makes me stink! After a few hours wearing this shirt, I can smell my own armpits, and the smell is embedded in the fabric. This does not happen with any other shirt I own. I ... Read Moreguess my body chemistry is not compatible with this material. And before you ask, yes, I shower daily and wear deodorant ;)

Response from Patagonia
March 18, 2021

Hey Diana! Thanks for providing this important feedback. You're not alone in this complaint. The Capilene fabric, though advanced in lightweight, moisture-wicking and quick drying properties, synthetic materials do not breathe as well. We'd recommend going with a natural fiber, such as wool, for your next-to-skin needs. You could consider trying out our [Capilene Cool Merino Shirt](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-capilene-cool-merino-shirt/44580.html?dwvar_44580_color=JELY), which is a Merino and Recycled Polyester blend.

March 4, 2021

See through

Purchased the pineapple color but thin fabric is %100 see through. Wont be ever wearing this unless I decide to show my bra and belly button to the world

Response from Patagonia
March 15, 2021

Thank you for providing feedback on the fabric. You are always welcome to return it for a refund.

February 27, 2021

Miss the old fabric

The material they used to wear this back in 2019 was really soft. It did pill, but I could overlook that because it was so comfortable and soft, not like typical stiff athletic T-shirts. Unfortunately, last year they switched to a fabric that doesn't pill, but isn't soft and stretchy anymore. I bought several thinking they'd be the s... Read Moreame as the old ones. Kept them, but I never wear the new ones unless all the old ones are dirty. Sadly, I won't be wearing the cool trail shirt anymore, which is super sad because they were by far my favorite shirt.

Response from Patagonia
March 12, 2021

We're so sorry to hear that you're not a fan of the update in fabric on our Capilene Cool Trail Shirt. Your feedback is valued and will go straight to our design teams. If you'd like to return, you're more than welcome to do so. We'd also like to encourage you to check out our [Worn Wear](https://wornwear.patagonia.com/) website where we sell lightly used gear from past seasons. You might get lucky and find one of the older versions that you love.

February 25, 2021

Comfortable

I was hoping would be as soft as my husbands capilene shirt, but I still like it. The only thing I think could be better has nothing to do with this. I think your mens underwear should be tales,

February 4, 2021

100% polyester Not what I expected

I ordered two of these shirts they are 100% polyester (I never would have ordered if Id known this) and both upon arrival have a horrible like sour chemical smell. Even after I washed them twice the smell is still there lingering in the material. I havent worn them and dont plan on since I loath polyester and the smell of these tops. I tried on and... Read More washed. Ive never ordered from Patagonia and thought I would love the brand, but I am very disappointed

January 25, 2021

Poor fabric quality

Material super thin. Cheap feel to it

Response from Patagonia
March 1, 2021

Thank you so much for your feedback. This product is intended to be a lightweight base layer or solo layer for hot and high output activities. For a heftier fabric feel check out our [Women's Pastel P-6 Logo Organic Cotton Crew T-Shirt](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-pastel-p-6-logo-organic-cotton-crew-t-shirt/39576.html)

December 24, 2020

Super soft and looks good

This is my favorite workout shirt. Its soft and comfortable and It doesnt look like a workout shirt.

November 20, 2020

Need smaller sizes

I found this shirt runs large, especially very baggy around the underarms. I wish Patagonia's sizing were more consistent, since XS jackets fit me perfectly. There are no XXS options for this shirt, which sizes smaller women out. Please make an XXS. I would also love a crew neck option for both the long sleeve and short sleeve Capilene cool tr... Read Moreail shirts in similar earthy colors (camp green, classic navy, rust red).

Response from Patagonia
December 18, 2020

Hello Veena, we're sorry to hear this was too big, especially around the underarms. We are continuously working towards expanding our sizing to accommodate a wider range of body types. Thanks so much for sharing your feedback with us! We've passed it along to the appropriate team.

November 9, 2020

Looking good, keeping cool

I love the way the fabric of this shirt fits on my body. The cut of the fabric and shirt design is very flattering. I bought one shirt, loved it, and bought a second one. I've also given one as a gift to my sister-in-law. These shirts are awesome.

October 12, 2020

Flattering Fit!

I bought the blue t-shirt and am back to buy more as the fit is flattering, and I'm pretty picky on fit. Not clingy, however not too loose or boxy either, just grazes the figure with a slight a-line at the hips. Scoop neck just right. Length is perfect as well, partially covers bottom for wearing with yoga pants, but not too long for jeans. P... Read Morelease make this in other colors! Black and Dark Navy.

September 29, 2020

Average top

Doesn't fit my body the best, but still looks OK. Not the most comfortable, but still feels fine working outside. There are other tops that are more flattering and feel more comfortable.

September 18, 2020

Super cool! Capilene Trail shirt

My daughter really loves the Capilene College shirt fabric! She is a size medium. She uses it for camping, rock climbing, mountain biking ️ !

September 14, 2020

Not Odor Resistant

I bought this shirt for hiking/backpacking and the odor control is a joke. It smells really bad while wearing it, and after only a few wears it now has a permanent funk. I know this can happen with synthetic clothes, but really disappointed it happened so quickly on a higher quality item that boasts odor control (I've also tried washing it wit... Read Moreh baking soda which helps some). That being said, it still gets 3 stars because I do like the fit and material for everyday (material is a little heavy for where I hike in mid-atlantic heat/humidity). I just can't use it for what I bought it for which makes me sad. Hoping I can get the smell to go away and will just have to retire it from athletic pursuits.

Response from Patagonia
November 25, 2020

Hi Kate, we're really sorry the odor control of your shirt is lacking. Usually washing it with baking soda helps, but since you mentioned you already tried that and it didn't exactly work, you are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it under warranty. Feel free to reach out to our Customer Service team if you have any questions.

September 4, 2020

Nice style

I like the style of this shirt. Specifically the scoop neck and rounded hem. Length is great. Shoulders are a little tight on me but not enough to go up a size because the body of the shirt would be too big. I dont find the fabric to be as soft as described. Also it is slightly sheer. It does resist odor. I can wear a couple days in a row in hot we... Read Moreather and it stays relatively stink-free. I like the color too- I got blue.

September 3, 2020

Get one in every color!

Amazing technical shirt that doesnt feel or stink like a technical shirt!

September 2, 2020

Favorite T

I loved the tank top so much I tried the t-shirt. I ordered it in two colors and I am glad I did cause now I just want more. It fits so well and is so comfortable. I also spill a lot on myself and these things don't seem to stain.

September 1, 2020

sizes do not work for me

My husband purchased a this t in a store for me in an XL. It was snug in the chest, so I ordered 2 XXL for myself. They had huge neck openings and fell off my shoulders. I really wish patagonia would make a nice XL t that ran a little looser in the chest, so I could enjoy these tops.

September 1, 2020

Cool and comfy

Loose, good length and great colors. Neck and sleeves are also nice. Holding up well to my wash and wear.

August 8, 2020

Love this shirt

I am 5'10" and it is very hard to find a shirt that is long enough but not too long. This shirt is perfect. I love the fabric bc it is cool and lightweight without feeling synthetic and rubbery. It also washes wonderfully and no shrinkage.

August 7, 2020

Great base layer

Love everything about this shirt...except the colors. Its material and fit is great. Long enough in the front and back for leggings. Just please make it in white or light grey to help the ladies who prefer even a more basic, basic!

July 22, 2020

Awesome everyday shirt

It's soft, super lightweight, great for the summer in the southwest. Go ahead and sweat a little! It dries fast.

July 7, 2020

Comfortable Shirt - Quality built

As a larger women finding a quality shirt that is great for physical outdoor activities that holds up over washes, is hard to find. Well this shirt checked all the boxes, soft and comfortable and goes great both on a casual weekend or hiking.

June 28, 2020

Too short

Purchased this in a medium for my 5'4" wife, who has worn Patagonia mediums for years, and it was too short. Maybe she has a longer-than-average torso, but I had to return it. Other Patagonia tops in her closet are around 22" from the front of the neck straight down to the bottom; this shirt is just 20". Really like the fabric a... Read Morend color, but wish it was 2" longer (maybe 2.5" to allow for some shrinkage).

Response from Patagonia
July 30, 2020

Hi Andy, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear the the shirt didn't fit your wife quite right. We really appreciate the feedback as it's crucial to improving products for future seasons. We've passed this feedback along to our design crew!

June 21, 2020

Sweat proof

This shirt holds up to ultra-sweaty days on the trail. Dried quickly, and the shirt didn’t smell even though I was confident I did. Ordered a size up for a looser fit. Will be a go to for long hikes and the backcountry.

June 21, 2020

Cute shirt (a little see-through and a little loose)

Pros: The fit is flattering and I like the colour. I have broad shoulders and sometimes t-shirts don't fit that well, but this one looks nice without being too baggy. Cons: As other reviewers noted, the tag is a little scratchy and the fabric is a little see-through (I have the green version and it's OK but I probably wouldn't get i... Read Moret in white) and feels thinner than expected. So I'm not sure how durable it will be.

June 10, 2020

Comfy Shirt (except for tag)

My sister insisted I get this shirt, and she was right, sweat evaporates right off it and keeps me cool. So its a keeper. Except for the tag on the hem, I had to remove it because the hard edges of the tag kept irritating my hand as it would brush against it. So Patagonia, rethink that scratchy tag please.

June 4, 2020

Nice feel, see through

This was a nice fitting but slightly baggy shirt. I usually buy a M or L at other stores. I bought this in a L and could probably size down. Thats said, it was a bit transparent. Okay if wearing a sports bra for a run but maybe not as an everyday t-shirt.

May 29, 2020

Pilled up on the backside though

I love my tee and plan to order more! Bought one for a 3 week tour last spring and it was pilled up before the end of the trip! Not sure if it was my backpack or the bus seats, but that was disappointing.

Response from Patagonia
June 6, 2020

Hi Becky, we're so sorry to hear about the pilling. By their nature, knitted garments are prone to pilling, and this style is no exception. Removing pills can help lengthen the life of your Patagonia sweater, plus it’s easy to do with a sweater stone. Learn about removing pills at [wornwear.com].

May 18, 2020

Great fit

I love this shirt, bought the blue & yellow and just ordered 2 more colors. It fits great for us shorter people, the right length, a flattering scoop neck that doesn't go too low, not too flowy but not too tight body. The only issue is that the yellow and is very sheer so you can see my bra through it. I don't mind when I'm hikin... Read Moreg, etc but can't really wear it "in public" like that. Also, I don't see running in this shirt... but love it for what it is. I am 5'2" 120lbs and a 34C and the XS is just right.

February 27, 2020

Comfortable Workout Shirt

This version of the Cool Trail Shirt has a better neckline than the prior versions. "Better" means it has a slightly smaller scoop neck, so it gives you more sun protection and covers bra straps. I got it in the Camp Green color; love the color and the fit.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches