Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Capilene® Cool Trail Tank Top

Write Your Review

4.3/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 64 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Capilene® Cool Trail Tank Top

4.3/5
September 3, 2021

Feminine and functional

This tank has a nice shape and air dries very fast after rolling in a towel to remove excess water. It gaps a little under the arm so if you are less full busted that part looks less elegant when worn as casual wear. Need more delicious colors.

September 2, 2021

Versatile tank

I love these tanks. I own three now and I love that I can use them for both every day wear and also active wear. I havent run in mine yet, but I think it would be comfortable for that as well. Washes well on delicate cycle and hang dry. My new fave tank!

September 1, 2021

See through

I have another color in this same style in size large, and it was a tad big (my standard size in just about everything Patagonia is large), so bought a medium and fits perfectly. My biggest complaint is that this tank is very see-through. A solid sweaty workout and you can see everything. I like the fit and cut of it, so won't return it, just ... Read Morewish the fabric were a bit more opaque. I'm 5'7", 155lbs and bought size medium.

August 31, 2021

Great Quality

The quality, fit, style, and feel of the shirt on my skin is nothing less than I expect from Patagonia. After I ordered one and saw how nice it was, I ordered 2 more colors.

August 30, 2021

Love this too!!!

The fabric is amazing and the fit/style perfect for me. Great for fishing, canoeing, hiking

August 26, 2021

My new favorite shirts

I love the flattering cut of this tank top. Its a busty yet fit person a medium fits just right! It has great coverage across the front preventing that weird armpit skin pinch. And its lightweight quality material I keeps you cool. Whether Im riding my mountain bike or going to the office this shirt is great! I highly recommend!

August 20, 2021

Great fit and look.

Super cool and comfortable. The large is too big for me but I like loose clothing. Great looking topI have several.

August 15, 2021

fabric too thin

Got the lavender because it was the only XS available. Fabric too thin & see thru. Others mentioned that in reviews, but had to see for myself. They are correct.

Response from Patagonia
August 16, 2021

Hi Paula, thank you for tkaing the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that the fabric was too thin. We appreciate this feedback as its crucial to improving things for future seasons. With that said, your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

August 8, 2021

Go to top

Great top for everyday wear and working out. The way it drapes is very flattering. I am typically an XS or S, but the XS fits great (I am 5'0" and 115lbs for reference). The odor control really works so I do not have to wash it after every use. I have even had my husband smell it 24h after a six mile run and it did not smell like body odo... Read Morer. Thanks for a great top and please make more colors! :)

August 5, 2021

Favorite Running Top

The fit and function of this cool trail tank top works well for me. It doesnt ride up when Im running and I think its the perfect length. I like it so much I purchased another color.

July 25, 2021

I love these.

I bought 2 colors and they're always in the laundry becuase I wear them every time their clean. I would say that they run a little large. I'm pretty flat chested and bought XS but they're still a little large in the armhole area. Not enough to bother me much but it's odd because I usually wear a small due to large shoulders, but... Read More bought XS because I could tell by the style of this shirt that shoulder fit wouldn't be an issue.

July 22, 2021

See through.

Comfy, stylish and cool but sadly the light color is see-through.

Response from Patagonia
July 26, 2021

Hello Roberta, we are sorry that you have found the lighter color options to be diaphanous. You are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) the tank at your convenience under our warranty.

July 16, 2021

Very flattering, great length, cool lightweight fabric!

This is perfection, I need it in all the colors. So lightweight and cool on hot humid days!

July 16, 2021

Cool

I love these tank tops, I have them in three colors! I love the fabric, drape and design. perfect for all the hot weather we've had!

July 14, 2021

Great shirt

This is light weight and very comfortable on the body. It lays nicely and I love this shirt so much I got a second one!

July 14, 2021

Comfortable tank

I normally wear a 4-6 top (53, 115#), so ordered a small initially. It was too big but the XS I exchanged it for fit perfectly! Its very comfy and hasnt lost shape when soaked with my high humidity sweat when running. Love the color too!

July 12, 2021

Great top!

Just wore this hiking the narrows and it was perfect. Quick dry and cool and comfortable. True to size. So glad I got this.

July 7, 2021

Awesome tank top!

I am 5'5",122lbs and have a smaller chest. I have two of these tanks in size small. They are a little big, especially in the armpit. This time I ordered a xs. It is perfect. Still loose but the arm holes fit well. I love the fabric and the colors. Thanks Patagonia!

July 7, 2021

Great top

Fit is really nice, the light purple is slightly sheer, top is very comfortable and lightweight for outdoor and indoor adventures alike. Dries super quick!

June 30, 2021

Fits Large, Especially Under the Armpits

I'm not a fan of this shirt. Unfortunately, it is huge on the top. This could be because I don't have a large chest, but it sags quite a bit under the armpits and causes chaffing.

Response from Patagonia
July 7, 2021

Hi Sarah, thank you for providing that feedback on the fit. We are sorry to hear this has caused you some discomfort and welcome you to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this back to us .

June 30, 2021

LOVE! I wish it came in more colors

I have this shirt in 4 colors because it is so comfortable and cool! I collect sweat under my pack when riding or running, but it dries quickly. It is also really breathable so I never have the feeling that I need to GET OUT OF IT when it is hot like some shirts have. Please don't stop making these!

June 28, 2021

Great Activewear top

Bought this in three colors after I bought the first. Super comfortable, great fit. Good for cardio, weights and casual wear.

June 28, 2021

Nice & cool

There's plenty of arm pit space in this shirt. Which I love. It's my new most comfortable tank.

June 23, 2021

Pile and Look Old

I love 99.99% of all Patagonia gear, however this is probably the one piece I don't excited to grab out of the closet. The fit is good, the racer back style is great, and the material is lightweight. I do however dislike how quickly it piled and how old it looks now. I also don't feel that it breathes very well in warm weather. All just m... Read Morey personal opinion!

Response from Patagonia
June 28, 2021

Thank you for this feedback! We're sorry to hear it's not as breathable as you had hoped, and that the material is pilling so soon after purchase. As it's covered by our Ironclad Guarantee, please don't hesitate to reach out to our Customer Service team. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you with a return or exchange!

June 21, 2021

Great cut & fit!

Love this! Finally a flattering yet useable/wearable tank. Great material, neutral lovely colors.

June 20, 2021

Nice Sturdy Tank

I ordered the green in size Small and it's a bit wide--the part under my arms sticks out. I'm going to try an XS. This is a little loose which is great for movement. The fabric is very lightweight but feels sturdy at the same time.

June 17, 2021

Perfect weight

Love this racerback top! Lightweight like a linen but it doesnt wrinkle. Wore it for a hot, humid camping trip and it was perfect. Theres enough room to cover my stomach and the coverage of the backside is great. I didnt have to keep tugging at it to keep it down. I already ordered a different color!

June 16, 2021

Sheer!

This shirt is sheer so, for me, strictly for exercise. It would be nice if Patagonia made this in a non-sheer option as well. It would give more versatility to the shirt for the price.

May 10, 2021

Great fitting tank

This is a great fitting tank! Wow, I love the back design for mobility, and it does not droop down in the front to keep you covered when you are doing strenuous activities. It is light but durable material. I plan to buy multiple pairs, I believe this is my new favorite shirt.

May 9, 2021

I bought 3 because this is my summer uniform

Perfect little tank with flattering cute pleat in the back. Fabric is a little thin for general wear but ok if you don't mind seeing sports bra underneath some of the lighter colors. The sides are shaped with a hip curve so coverage lacks on the sides with my long torso but I use to that.

May 3, 2021

Great All Around Tank

I love the fit of this tank! It's flattering without sticking to my body :) I wear it as an every day tank, but it also fits well for when I go hiking and climbing - lightweight, breathable material

May 3, 2021

Cute top

I bought two of these and while I really like the fit, they are quite sheer. For reference, I am 59 and 150 lbs, purchased a size medium. I will be keeping them, but I am definitely mindful of what bra I wear!

Response from Patagonia
May 4, 2021

We appreciate your feedback on the fit and fabric of these very lightweight tank tops!

May 2, 2021

Cool and comfortable

I purchased this as a running tank top primarily, but have also worn it as every day wear. It's kept me cool during the hot days and is very comfortable. I normally wear a medium but ended up exchanging for a small and it fits great. Only complaint is that it can be slightly see through depending on the lighting, even though I have the darkest... Read More color available.

May 1, 2021

Cool trail tank top

So beautiful and sooo comfortable

April 29, 2021

Bad cut and fit

I love the material however the fit it terrible! Under the sleeve it hangs away terrible, square box shape. And not long enough for my activities!

April 26, 2021

Loose fit, nice material

Love this tank for any outdoor activity or just a hot summer day. It's not fitted at all, it's loose and roomy. Love the design and fabric.

April 26, 2021

Flattering Fit

This shirt fits true to size and is very flattering. Material is breathable but not thin. Keeps its shape and will hold up throughout days of hiking, camping, running and other strenuous outdoor activities.

April 12, 2021

Transparent

This shirt (yellow) is completely transparent. I couldnt wear it even with a sports bra, felt naked. Unfortunate, because I like the fit

Response from Patagonia
April 13, 2021

Hi Rachael, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that you found the shirt to be transparent and we totally understand the disappointment with that. We'll pass this feedback along to our design team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

April 3, 2021

Buy it!

Really happy with this tank! Perfect for an arizona hike in the summer. Light, comfortable and soft.

March 26, 2021

Awesome for warm weather

I love this top for hot Texas weather outside. It fits me well but Im smaller up top so I imagine a larger bust may want to size up. Hits at hip, which I like. Would love more colors.

March 8, 2021

A good basic tank (blue)

A nice basic blue tank for everyday. FYI, slightly see through especially w/ dark colored sport bras. I mostly wear it under my scrub top which is nice on hot days.

January 23, 2021

They changed the fabric, not as soft anymore

I bought this top a year ago and love it so much, I bought a couple colors and wear them all the time. I wore them almost every day last summer. I'm 5'10" so sometimes shirts aren't quite long enough for my liking, this one is. It's loose, but not baggy. It's held up really well in the wash. Just an all around great sh... Read Moreirt. I liked them so much I went back last month and ordered a couple more (the tank version as well as the short sleeve version). Was very disappointed. The fabric now is not nearly as soft. I'm keeping them just because it's easier than going through a return, but I don't see myself wearing them often. If they go back to their previous fabric, I'd buy four more in a heartbeat.

January 19, 2021

Fabulous fit

Love this tank! I wear it to work out in at least once a week. Quality material and fits true to size.

January 18, 2021

Functional and Pretty

The fit and drape of this top are form flattering: neither tight nor baggy. I've worn it for yoga and plan to layer it for hiking and camping. The melon color is pretty. If it keeps its shape after a few washings I will likely order another color.

November 18, 2020

Very Versatile

Love these tanks! Great on their own or as a base layer.

October 26, 2020

Great all purpose top

I loved this tank top so much I immediately bought another color. Its long and loose enough where it doesn't ride up when exercising. I bought it for summer use but its been perfect this fall for layering. I have a bigger chest (DD) so I ordered a large to accommodate and it fits great.

October 1, 2020

Sizing changed?

Bought a second one this year because I loved the first one I got in 2019. The XS seems to have gotten quite a big bigger and I am considering returning. Has anyone else noticed this?

Response from Patagonia
December 3, 2020

Hey Vicky, thanks for taking time out to leave us a review. We're happy to hear the Trail Tank was such a hit that you decided to buy a second, but sorry to hear that the sizing has been inconsistent. Our teams have been hard at work to ensure that our size range is inclusive and consistent time and time again, there is a chance you have received defective product. Please reach out to our [Customer Service Team](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) so we can see about setting you up for an exchange, and confirm the measurements we have on file. Thanks!

September 16, 2020

Just Lovely!

His tank top is a perfect multi use product. The fabric drapes nicely. The fit is just form fitting enough to create a smooth silhouette yet not tight. Works great as an under layer and matches very well with the straps on the Barely There Bra.

September 15, 2020

So Comfortable

This is my second tank, and I love it as much as the first one I purchased. These are so comfortable. Compared to other XS, this seems just a litte bit big on me (105 lbs and 5'4). Nothing too big that would make me send it back.

September 12, 2020

Great tank but why does everything come wrapped in plastic?

Tank fits great and true to size but WHY IS EVERYTHING WRAPPED IN PLASTIC????? I won't be ordering from Patagonia again until this changes.

September 3, 2020

Favorite Tank

Probably my all time favorite tank for casual dressed up or down and for layering under button-ups for work and play. Ordered a Small and it fits perfect, only wish there were more colors to buy up... I have 6 of them. :) 5'8" / 130lbs / Small

September 3, 2020

not for me

I wanted this top for everyday wear in a hot climate. I am 66 years old and found the fabric too sheer. I ordered a medium and it was too big. I did return this top. Yet the Return department was extremely helpful and understanding!

Response from Patagonia
November 6, 2020

Thanks for leaving us a review on the Women's Capilene Cool Trail Tank Top. We're sorry to hear it didn't work out for you and have passed your concerns on to the appropriate teams. If you're interested, please check out our [Women's Seabook Run Tank Top](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-seabrook-run-tank-top/23645.html?dwvar_23645_color=CCRL) for a similar style with more opaque material. Thanks!

September 1, 2020

Love love love

I have this top in every color! I bought them for workouts but then it just became my everything top! They do pill, but thats ok. They become so soft and comfortable. The fit is perfect. No baggy underarms and they hang just right. I cant wait for next seasons colors!

September 1, 2020

Favorite tank top!

I super love this tank top! I've had a number of these over the last few years, and I think this most recent iteration is my fav. I've got it now in 4 colors and wear them pretty much on rotation. It's definitely my go-to hiking/backpacking tank, but I also love it for running, yoga, working around the house, and basically everything... Read More else where you need a shirt. :) I'm 5'6", 165# with an athletic/curvy figure and ample bust. I like my tanks a bit roomy, so I went with the L in this, and I love it. I'm often either a M or L in Patagonia tops, depending on the fit. Overall, I highly recommend this tank...it's the best!

August 23, 2020

So soft and nice fit

This tank top is flattering but with a lose fit. The material is so soft I want all my clothes to feel as buttery against my skin! 10/10 reccommend!

August 17, 2020

Great Material, But Odd Fit

The tank is the softest and I wanted to like it, but the underarms were baggy and loose and ordering a smaller size wouldn't fix it. It's just the cut. Maybe if you have a bigger chest this tank would be good for you.

Response from Patagonia
October 22, 2020

Thanks for writing a review, we appreciate the feedback! We're sorry to hear the fit was not ideal with this tank, if you're interested in checking out some comparable pieces with a different fit please check out the [Women's Capilene Cool Daily Tank Top](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-capilene-cool-daily-tank-top/45295.html?dwvar_45295_color=PUPL&cgid=womens-t-shirts) or the [Women's Glorya Twist Tank Top](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-glorya-twist-tank-top/52900.html?dwvar_52900_color=WHWA&cgid=womens-t-shirts).

July 23, 2020

Comfortable

I bought the blue and green ones. They fit nicely and comfortably. The armpit part is a little awkward because its looser but its not anywhere near being a deal breaker. My biggest complaint would be that sweat shows through the shirts pretty quickly. Otherwise I like these shirts!

July 22, 2020

armpits pooched out

I love the T-shirts in this line, and I wanted to love the tank. The fabric is awesome: light, soft, and quick-dry. But the tank's arm-holes flapped out off my chest in the weirdest way. Couldn't keep it.

July 7, 2020

Purple tank is sheer

Love this tank in peach and navy. However the purple was so light and sheer you could see everything underneath, had to return. Go darker for the color for the best quality.

June 27, 2020

Got pilly after just a few washes

I've only had it for a few months and have maybe washed it five times, and it's already pill-y. I wouldn't buy it again nor would I recommend it.

Response from Patagonia
July 27, 2020

Hi Colleen! We're very sorry to hear about the pilling you experienced with the W's Capilene Cool Trail Tank. Please note, you are welcome to send that item back under our Ironclad Guarantee. To initiate your return, visit our returns page at https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html. Alternatively, our Customer Service team would be happy to assist you via phone at 800-638-6464 or with our Live Chat feature on Patagonia.com. Representatives are available M-F 6:00-6:00 PST or on weekends from 7:00-3:00 PST.

June 14, 2020

Love it!

Own multiple colors. Dries quickly, fits well, perfect for work, a run or a ride.

June 10, 2020

Odd Underarm Fit

I generally like the feel of this shirt...unfortunately the shirt puffs out in the underarm area. I'm a slim-waist, larger busted woman, so I got the medium to ensure it didn't fit too snuggly under my armpits...but it bulges out oddly. But looks aside, it functions as described. I just wish it fit better!

May 8, 2020

Odd Fit in Chest Around Arm Pits

As previous reviews have stated, the tank has nice lines that fit everywhere but around the arm pit/chest. I am a 34C and there was extra fabric by the armpits that stuck out funny. It's as if the back was tapered in enough. I am a tried and true S in Patagonia, and am nervous that an XS will be too snug everywhere else. Not sure how to make t... Read Morehis a win... go with the frump look, or the hastle of a return/exchange?

Response from Patagonia
May 20, 2020

Thanks for the feedback and we are sorry for the troubles with sizing. If you'd like to try an XS we are happy to help make the [returns](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) process as painless as possible.

March 8, 2020

Thin, transparent material

The tank is see through, will require doubling up another tank underneath to avoid being completely see through.

Response from Patagonia
April 9, 2020

Hi Megan, we're really sorry that this tank is see through. Please feel free to return it back to us under warranty if you're unsatisfied with it because of this. We've emailed you with all necessary instructions. Thanks so much for your review.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches