Product Safety Recall

Due to safety concerns about the snaps on the Infant Capilene® Midweight Set, we are implementing a recall of units purchased between August 1, 2021, and January 12, 2023. For more information, including how to identify this product, how to return it and how to get a full refund, please click the link below.

Learn More

Rappel de produit pour cause de sécurité

En raison de préoccupations en matière de sécurité concernant les boutons-pression des ensembles Infant Capilene® Midweight, nous procédons au rappel de toutes les unités achetées entre le 1ᵉʳ août 2021 et le 12 janvier 2023. Pour obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires, notamment sur la façon de reconnaître ce produit, de le retourner et d’obtenir un remboursement complet, veuillez cliquer sur le lien ci-dessous.

Obtenir de plus amples renseignements

Web Specials

Our Web Specials collection is brimming with perfectly sweet products—think last season’s jackets, fleeces, you name it—for a fraction of the cost.

Explore

Earth Is Now Our Only Shareholder

If we have any hope of a thriving planet—much less a business—it is going to take all of us doing what we can with the resources we have. This is what we can do.

Read Yvon’s Letter

Back to Product

Ultralight Black Hole® Sling 8L Reviews

Write Your Review

4.5/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • ALL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 108 Reviews

Clear All

Ultralight Black Hole® Sling 8L

4.5/5
True To Size
May 9, 2023

Do not recommend

The buckle comes apart with the slightest pull on it so if you try to adjust the bag while wearing it, it unhooks and the pack falls off to the ground. Really annoying. Have to tape the buckle closed so the only way to put it on/off is over my head.

Response from Patagonia
May 10, 2023

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and we are incredibly sorry to hear about the issues you encountered with your buckle. Please know that your satisfaction is always guaranteed so please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.ca/returns.html) your product at any time. In the meantime, please rest assured that we will be passing this feedback along to our Product Design Team so they are aware of these issues.

May 5, 2023

Great little (big) backpack

This is a great little backpack. It lives up to its name as a black hole bag. I love how versatile it is, its adaptable and holds a lot more than one would expect. The only downside that Ive noticed is the large compartment zipper has a tendency to come off from the top over time. But if you catch it in time its an easy fix (sew a loop around the t... Read Moreop of the zipper over and through the protector.

Response from Patagonia
May 5, 2023

Thanks for the review, Sean! If you ever need to send the sling in for repair, you can begin the process on [this page](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

March 16, 2023

Poor strap design

The strap on the bag feels like it is attached at the incorrect side, leading to the bag not resting properly on your back. Additionally, in order to access the zipper, you have to take the bag off, as the zipper is not located on the proper side. Super disappointed in the quality/design and was really looking forward to this purchase!

Response from Patagonia
March 17, 2023

Hi Erin, we're very sorry to hear that the Ultralight Black Hole Sling 8L isn't meeting your expectations. We want you to be happy with your gear, so please feel free to begin a [return or exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) at your earliest convenience.

February 15, 2023

It's just okay

I bought this ultralight sling pack a month ago. The first time I used it, I was snowmobiling in a national park, it did not protect the contents from snow and cold. The second was traveling in a warm sunny climate for 10days. The lime green strap faded and no longer matches the zipper color.

Response from Patagonia
February 22, 2023

Hi Claudia! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disapointment with the sling. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

February 10, 2023

The pocket on the strap

The pocket on the strap could use closer. I often pull the bag to my front and if my phone is in it, it falls out.

February 8, 2023

Perfect

Designer purses look out. I bought this quickly when I injured my knee during a half marathon and Im going to be on crutches for a little bit. I needed something easy to just swing over my shoulders that has room. The only improvement item here would be it needs a water bottle pocket on the outside. Otherwise this is a perfect size bag for getting ... Read Morearound every day.

January 24, 2023

sling

Would order again, fast delivery, love the sling!

January 2, 2023

I used this bag as

I used this bag as a "we don't need a diaper bag anymore but I still have young kids" on a recent trip to DC. It was great!! I could fit so much inside and it was very comfortable to wear. Highly recommend!

January 2, 2023

Good design

This sling pack is ultra light and perfect for fishing. When turned to the front it is super easy to access. Only suggested improvement would be a closure for the phone pocket.

December 13, 2022

Great light day pack

Great for light adventures in the mountains to carry a few extras and essentials. And I love that it packs away to nothing for travel.

December 3, 2022

Personal Item on flights

I have many Atom Sling versions, plus the original Ligtweight Travel Sling (the NO padding edition), and currently one of these Black Hole branded versions. Unlike the original Black Hole bags, this is NOT TPU coated but otherwise it is a fine riff on the Atom sling lineup. You save a little weight, but not enough to matter. Here are some changes I... Read More would like to see: 1. Thicker webbing (between foam padded strap and bag). For improved long term durability and greater resistance to slice and run bag snatchers. 2. The Atom Sling foam strap has a natural fold crease allowing it to be wrapped flat around the bag for relatively flat stowing in luggage. The Black Hole strap will only curve, not fold, so it is impossible to wrap into a compact and short package. None of us will ever go through the torture of trying to restuff this. 3. Patagonia almost deliberately makes the feature sets nearly completely different on the Atom Sling and on this Ultralight Blackhole Sling. There is a very capable padded 10 inch tablet slot in the Atom, nothing here. I would settle for a minimalist unpadded panel here, just to keep my tablet lined up and held against the padded rear panel. 4. Thin down the rear padded panel and strap a little. Both are way too thick, especially for this sling version with its minimalist mission. 5. The very thin open top mesh shoulder strap pouch needs a closure at the top to keep stuff from just sliding out and falling to the ground. Unlike a daypack where inversions are rare, the straps at least on slings just naturally invert when the bag is rotated to the front to access the main compartment. 6. Finally, the front fabric feels cheap. It needs an upgrade to the 27L Black Hole Tote Pack material. The current fabric at least in black tends to scuff as well. The secondary compartment is terrific. The main compartment needs an o ring or two for clipping in pouches so they do not slip out, and this is a better location for a key leash too, to keep scratches off phones in the secondary compartment. I am glad to see this sling variant, but it needs one of Patagonia annual or every other year design updates. It its present state it is good but not great by Patagonia standards, although it is still probably better than 90 percent of the competition.

October 16, 2022

Better than new Atom

I have two of the previous version of the atom 8L sling which I love, but the mesh backing is rough and damaging to clothing and especially nylon jackets. I Purchased the newest version of the 2022 atom. It was too bulky. The huge phone pocket on the strap was bulky and obtrusive, especially when you are a larger chested woman. The reconfigured div... Read Moreider in the main pocket allowed me to carry less. I found it very uncomfortable to wear. It is just not for me. I became frustrated. Then I learned that Patagonia also has an ultra light black hole sling 8L that is similar in design/function to the previous atom design. I really like this bag. The strap is so much more comfortable and not so bulky. It is a bit wider than necessary to accommodate a phone in the stretchy open pocket, but I use that to carry a small hand sanitizer. Things can fall out of that pocket when sliding the bag around to access the other compartments. Because this is designed to fold up within its own pocket, you now have three zippered sections. The larger one accommodates a pair of prescription eyeglasses in their case, a small hairbrush, hand lotion, tissues, and a pack of gum with room to spare. I even stuffed my Nano Puff vest in there this weekend. The front zippered compartment now has a smaller zipped compartment within. Like Russian nesting dolls. The larger section holds my iPhone SE and my Fjallraven zip wallet. The smallest compartment contains a key clip where I attach my huge key fob and carry lip balm, and a Swiss Army knife. For me, this bag is so much better than the newest atom. I find this extremely comfortable and functional for an EDC for running errands or hiking. I got the Wavy blue color way. Its gorgeous. Wish Patagonia offered more colors in the Ultra Light Black Hole sling.

October 12, 2022

Perfect utility!

I purchased this pack to replace a sling bag I had to depart with. And I couldn't be any happier. Since this item can effectively pack into itself and remain low in volume and mass is perfect for my needs. As for internal capacity, this holds all my stuff for my adventures and such. Super durable and perfect for my use.

October 10, 2022

Well made, perfect size, comfortable,

Well made, perfect size, comfortable, good amount of storage and pocket organization. Love it!

September 28, 2022

Best day bag ever

I bought this for an international trip and it ended up being my every day bag. The inner pocket is great for holding keys and a wallet. I cant imagine enduring the pain of a purse ever again after using this. I use this when skiing at resorts as I can fling it around to my front when getting on and off lifts. And it also fits the bill for travel a... Read Mores it can be emptied and fit easily at the bottom of my backpack and then used for touring around once we can separate from our larger luggage. I love so many things about Patagonia and this sling is the icing on the cake!

September 17, 2022

Handy little bag for day use!

I was skeptical about using a sling because I am large chested but the strap has plenty of length for adjustment so I can get it to sit comfortably. It holds everything I need for a day doing whatever - phone, keys, wallet, lip balm, sunscreen, hat, extra jacket or top. My only complaint is the pouch for a cell phone, it falls out when pulling the ... Read Morepouch around and could use a zipper or fastener.

September 3, 2022

Great pack but....

These backs need a second strap so that they do not swing around when you bend over. The previous versions had this strap.

July 19, 2022

Love sling bag , nice

Love sling bag , nice looking and fits plenty

July 19, 2022

One small adjustment

I love the sling and have used it daily since I purchased it. I wear it on daily walks and have taken it along for later use in my day pack. I would make a small adjustment on the pocket for the cell phone. While I love how it sits while the pack is on my back, it easily falls out when I move the pack to the front. It is doable without the phone s... Read Morelipping it of I'm careful but my phone had slipped out about 3 times during my exploration in Guatemala.

July 18, 2022

It seems to work perfectly

It seems to work perfectly for my needs...I plan to use it on an upcoming trip to LA and then to Croatia, Austria, and Germany in Sept.

July 18, 2022

Perfect walking bag

I bought this for walking. I live in the city and don't like being without my water bottle so wanted a bag to take on walks that would do the trick. This is able to fit my hydro flask and a few other items. I love how easy it is to pack and the phone pocket on the strap!

July 13, 2022

I love this bag!

This bag has an amazing amount of room and several zippered compartments. Also, its pretty attractive. I had pondered getting a knapsack, but this is much better.

July 8, 2022

Black Hole Sling

I love this bag as it is compact but you can still fit a lot in it. The two pockets work well with another zipped pocket inside for valuables. My only issue is that when cycling it can swing around to the front but happens less so with more weight in it.

May 1, 2022

High Quality

Just received my sling bag and Im already in love with quality. Patagonia sets high standards for their products and this is one of them.

March 25, 2022

Favorite Daily bag

I purchased this to replace an Osprey one I loved that was close to same size and function. This is already a favorite over that one due to its material, extra pockets and how well it sits on me. Using it for travel and for trips to the park, beach, etc.

March 15, 2022

Super Light, carries A Lot, and easy to maintain BackPack.

I discovered this Sling Backpack 6 years ago. I bought 1 for my very young granddaughter. Being a tomboy and liking only color black, I ended up using this backpack because of the red and blue color. This is a very Practical small backpack. It is very cute, carries a lot, light and easy to maintain. Just wipe off the stain or dirt with a wet cloth.... Read More At the end, I ended up getting 4 of these backpacks. I will most likely order some more to give as a gift. Thank you, Patagonia. I recommend this small (but large, carries a lot) backpack to others.

March 1, 2022

The Best Crossbody Bag!!!!!!!

This is the fourth Atom Sling bag I have ordered. I have other expensive bags, but I prefer this bag. This crossbody is very attractive looing, can carry many things, very practical and easy to take care of. I even ordered one for my granddaughter. She adores Patagonia's products and good quality. I recommend others to buy this bag. Thank you,... Read More Patagonia.

February 18, 2022

Perfect bag

I bought this bag for biking and hiking trips, as well as for grad school and it's actually perfect. It fits an iPad, book, snack, wallet, keys, etc. with room to spare. I like the phone pocket in the front so I can easily switch songs when I'm biking with my jbl clip and it fits a water bladder nicely. Works as an overnight bag too if I&... Read More#x27;m biking to a friend's place. Only complaint is that it tends to slip if you have it packed full, would appreciate a grip on the front strap to keep it in place.

October 25, 2021

Ideal daily walk and <30 mile bike quick pack

Ideal for easily stowing a pair of rain pants, rain jacket, hat, mitts, handwarmer, phone, keys, phone and hat. Unlike other "sling" packs, this one didn't cut into my neck or hang awkwardly. Light, self-packing, kept its shape, easy to stuff. Held up in light rain. Gave away my other sling packs.

October 6, 2021

Great Backpack!

Great backpack. Perfect for hiking. Not too big - yet holds a lot of stuff!

September 29, 2021

New design is cheap

I had the other sling bag since 2008. It was amazing and made of really high quality stuff. This material reminds me of a thin parachute material (think grade school gym class with the parachute circle). Im pretty disappointed and do not expect it to last. I had trouble zipping up some of the zippers bc Im afraid to pull too hard on it in fear of r... Read Moreipping the cheap material. I desperately need something like this for this weekend and dont have time to return. Not worth the money at all. Get a cheap brand off amazon for a third of the price. I wanted to pay extra for Patagonia quality, but this product lacks.

Response from Patagonia
October 7, 2021

Hi Meg, we are very sorry to hear that the Ultralight Black Hole® Sling Backpack 8L may not be what you're looking for. It's designed to be lightweight, package and features ripstop fabric, so it's sturdy for its weight. If you're wanting something that's heavier duty and the same price point, check out the Atom Sling 8L, https://www.patagonia.com/product/atom-sling-bag-8-liters/48261.html?dwvar_48261_color=BLK&cgid=root.

September 22, 2021

Happy customer

This is by far my favorite bag Ive ever purchased!! The quality is amazing and has lots of room in the pockets, Super good quality and vivid colors and the phone pocket is awesome. I will be purchasing more items from Patagonia

September 22, 2021

Sling bag

Love it. Lighter and better pockets.

September 15, 2021

Perfect sling bag

I love this bag. The smaller compartment has a small pocket with a zipper. This bag is my favorite for everything but especially traveling. It works as a catch all pouch that can be open but still keeps things secure while hanging in front of you. Im incredibly anxious about losing things and this bag is my baby now. Get yourself one. Also Patagoni... Read Morea supports, employs, funds and advocates for many issues close to my heart which is the only reason I bought this bag. Thanks for doing more :)

September 10, 2021

Great size and comfy fit

This is a very comfortable option for carrying smaller items.

September 7, 2021

Back saver

Bought this sling bag for my wife who currently requires a 24/7 infusion pump for a medical condition. The bag provided with the treatment sucked. Picked up this gem and its infinitely better. Plenty of room for other stuff, easy to shift around her body and easy strap advisements. She says the bag is very comfortable and the color way is sharp. Ju... Read Morest a really nice piece of kit. Thanks, Patagonia!

August 27, 2021

Zipper seam fell apart

Brought this bag with me on a 3 month trip to Zambia, however, the seam that held the zipper together completely fell apart on the flight over. Quite surprising and disappointing considering Patagonia's reputation. This was a new bag used only 2-3 times prior, and the stitching around the zipper completely unraveled for no apparent reason.

Response from Patagonia
September 1, 2021

Hey there Justin, thanks for the review on the Ultralight Black Hole Sling Backpack 8L. We're so sorry to hear what's happened to the zipper, we're happy to get this resolved for you. We'll be reaching out via email, thanks for bringing this to our attention.

August 17, 2021

Literally a black whole

I dont write reviews very often, but this bag is my new favorite thing! It has great pockets, fits water bottles, snacks, everything you need and is great for breaking down into a slim little pouch for packing away. I wore it for 12 hours straight and my shoulder didnt bother me at all. Im so glad I made this purchase!

July 31, 2021

Love this sling!

I love the color and material of this bag. The holder on the strap for the phone is perfect.

July 9, 2021

Good Cycling Bag

I like using this sling pack while cycling since it can carry a phone as well as a mini pump and spare tubes. My only complaint is that it isn't available in a brighter color for visibility. Otherwise, it is typical black hole quality and built to last.

June 24, 2021

Black hole sling *will* wash away the rain

I had a sling from an off brand for a number of years and liked it but there were a number of design problems with it so I decided to give Patagonia a try. I was NOT disappointed in the slightest. First thing is the sling comes packed inside its own pocket which I thought was amazing; I don&#x27;t know if I&#x27;ll ever get it back into that pocke... Read Moret for travel--I doubt I'll need to since I'm always using it. The second thing I noticed was just how true to the photos the color was; it is a beautiful, rich teal which I love very much. The larger of the two pockets is quite ample and this is where I store my more important things; keys, wallet, pen. The outer, smaller pocket contains the storage pocket the sling came self-packaged in. This outer pocket is not tiny either and I use it to store my spare battery, charging cables, and smaller odds and ends. The strap is ample, stays the length I've adjusted it to, and does what its supposed to do. I like the built in strap-keeper and the lightweight mesh on both the back of the bag and the sling strap; I live in a sub-tropical environment which is quite humid during the summer months so anything that helps keep me cool while going about my business is tops in my book. If I had one complaint, it's a small one: the padding on the strap itself is a bit wide for my tastes and a tiny bit stiff. I suppose that it will soften with time and use but the width bothers me just a wee bit when I have the sling turned so I can access the pockets, the foam of the strap abuts to the crook of my neck in a weird, not entirely comfortable way. As I said, it's a small complaint and definitely one I can live with/adjust to. Oh! And if the Patagonia engineers are reading, I have one small suggestion: perhaps a clip for keys in one of two compartments would be nice. The bag isn't very deep but when my hands are full, it'd be nice to seek out a clip which is always in the same place rather than dig for sneaky keys which always love to hide. ;) In closing, I love this bag and recommend it to anyone who likes minimalist bags with plenty of room for your essentials.

June 21, 2021

The Best Crossbody Bag!!!!!!!

This is the second Patagonia Sling Backpack I have purchased. I purchased the first one about four years ago. This bag is light, has much space, easy to carry around and easy to take care of. I liked the first one so much that I ordered this one on SALE. I carry it all the time from shopping, exercising and traveling. I recommend this bag to all Pa... Read Moretagonia Customers. Thank you Patagonia for a Wonderful Product.

June 19, 2021

Works great

This little pack is the perfect size for my hikes in local preserves. Im able to carry my water bottle, phone, and small binoculars and the is room for more. Its just what I needed!

June 14, 2021

Perfect

I love the size and the sling. I use this in my day to day - running to the store or going on a hike. It fits a lot! I have my wallet, a water bottle, small soap and sanitizer, and my keys in it usually. I had two friends constantly eyeing this bag when they see me with it and I bought them each one for their birthdays! Total hit!! :)

June 8, 2021

Great Bag

Love this bag, especially the pocket that sits just below the shoulder which is great for your phone while hiking.

May 25, 2021

I wish it was more flexible

Awesome sling, if you like it on your right shoulder. I wish it was designed for both shoulders, or there was the option to choose. Overall, fantastic piece

May 20, 2021

Excellent

Great features and well made

May 18, 2021

Love the size and lightweight feel.

This is a perfectly sized bag for what I need.

May 9, 2021

Ultralight sling backpack

This bag has made my hiking adventure with my dog so much easier. I love that it is lightweight & keeps my stuff organized which makes my hikes all the more enjoyable.

May 1, 2021

Comfortable and fits a lot

Forget Im wearing it. Great size for a few things and amazing design. The photo pouch in front is perfect.

April 26, 2021

Love it!

Its my first sling backpack and I absolutely love the comfort, size, large capacity and light weight. I use it primarily while commuting in the bike and its perfect for that.

April 26, 2021

Fits anything you need

Really like this pack. Cell phone fits nicely in the arm pad.

April 24, 2021

Really comfortable and light.

I have the atom sling which I like because the phone pocket zips which is good when you&#x27;re really going to be flipping the bag around and in front of you. The only thing I don&#x27;t love about the Atom is that it&#x27;s a bit back heavy because of the material and the foam, while structured, makes it kind of stiff. If I&#x27;m only wearing a ... Read Moret shirt it's a little uncomfortable across my boobs (ladies you know what I mean). This bag solves those problems- it's lightweight and the foam is nice and soft so you really forget you're wearing it if you have it situated correctly. I can load up the back with my packable grocery bags, Houdini Air, and wallet and put just my iPhone SE in the front pocket and it feels really balanced and doesn't swing around. Love it! I will be getting other colors I'm sure. This is replacing my purse.

April 21, 2021

Super comfortable

Very light with a lots of room for the sneaks, water even light jacket. I really love this little backpack.

April 14, 2021

Uncomfortable

This sling slips around too much even when tightened. The pocket on the chest strap is not functional since items can fall out if you move the bad around too much.

Response from Patagonia
April 14, 2021

We're sorry our Ultralight Black Hole Sling Backpack 8L didn't work out for you. If you haven't already, you're welcome to begin a return [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

April 12, 2021

Great Lightweight Sling

I love this sling. It is lightweight and has great zippered pockets. It folds up small so you can throw it in another bag for when you need an extra bag. It is great to throw your phone, lipstick and snacks. I put my wallet on a retractable line and secure it into the inner pocket. It is almost the same size as the Patagonia Atom, just minus the li... Read Morettle pocket on the strap but it is lighter weight. The material feels strong. I have the blue and teal. The blue is vibrant along with the teal. Great color.

April 4, 2021

Perfect pack!

My first ever Patagonia purchase. Im sold! It carries a lot, feels like nothing, and packs down into itself. Im left handed but its not super annoying that its made for righties. Color is great too!

March 18, 2021

Good but not great

Have used this pack for a couple short hikes. Here is my experience thus far: Pros: *Low mass + well-padded ergonomic strap make it extremely comfortable once adjusted to your body. I forget I&#x27;m wearing it sometimes (which is as good as it gets for any gear). *Versatility of 3 zippered compartments makes it useful for keeping things separated... Read More when needed. The nested inner compartment offers extra protection for small items (wallet, keys, etc). Cons: *Mesh pocket on front shoulder is a great idea but not useful for anything with mass (e.g. phone) due to no means of securing the opening. The elastic pocket will hold a phone until you "spin" the pack to your front to access the bag and the shoulder pocket turns upside down on your back. My Galaxy S-class phone falls out every time... with or without a case. A hook & loop or other type of simple fastener on the pocket opening would make this easily-accessible pocket far more useful. *No loops on the exterior for hanging extra gear, water bottle, etc, for those instances when you want to take "just one more thing" or haul something for a friend. Overall a nice pack. With a mechanism to secure the shoulder pocket and a few loops on the shell exterior, it would be a home run.

March 16, 2021

Is worth every penny

I had gotten the smaller version of this bag & I couldnt get all of my stuff in it so I see this one & got it & it fits all of my stuff & then some! Great company with great gear!

February 27, 2021

Super light

Love this bag in purple. I have several atoms which are a bit heavier. This one is made of a lighter material and I like it even better than my atoms. Wish they had more solid colors and hope they will add more in the future. Highly recommend.

February 27, 2021

Really handy sling

Just works. Perfect for a water bottle and back is padded for protection. 2 other pockets for other stuff. Very roomy. Will be a go to for 1/2 day hikes.

February 27, 2021

Very spacious!

Ive had other slings, but Im a big fan of this one! Theres plenty of compartments to store your belongings.

February 20, 2021

Best Sling Ever

Bought the Black Hole and absolutely love it. This sling has replaced my everyday purse taking the weight off one shoulder and distributing it. I love that I can wear it in the front or back, makes me feel safe knowing that no one can steal it, unless they want to steal a 54 brat as well lol

January 30, 2021

Good size everyday backpack

I use it as purse or when I go for a hike or walk in the city. The backpack size is good enough to carry a bottle of water, wallet, phone and a small vest.

January 19, 2021

Perfect for the Urban Adventurer

I am so proud to own my first piece of Patagonia gear after reading &quot;Let My People Go Surfing.&quot; As a father of three constantly on the go from volleyball tournaments to soccer tournaments, I was looking for a, I&#x27;m not going to lie, &#x27;man-purse&#x27; to keep all our essentials in. This over-the-shoulder bag is being put to the tes... Read Moret every weekend and is scoring perfect. It is just the right size without being too bulky. It has just three pockets for organizing your goods instead of overdoing it with ten compartments like most bags. My absolute favorite feature that sold me on the bag was the design of being able to access your content from side zippers without having to take the bag off by simple rotating around from your back to your chest. This bag will be perfect for air travel, too, as our family takes 2-3 trips a year and have to navigate airports on a regular basis. Love it!!!

January 18, 2021

Prefer Atom Sling 8L Sling

I was disappointed in this bag. The material is thinner and not as nice as other Black Hole bags I own (both regular and lightweight). And features present in Atom sling bag are missing (for example, the straps on the outside of the pack which are great for carrying a jacket or similar. I should have looked more carefully when ordering. I thought i... Read Moret would be similar to the Atom sling but made with black hole material.

January 12, 2021

Super Light

Love this pack! I use it for everyday use, carries lots and has hidden pockets, and is super light, also fits iPhone (with case) in front phone pocket, great purchase!

December 31, 2020

Amazing

Get this! Great quality. 10/10 would recommend

December 10, 2020

perfect size

the backpack is perfect for hiking, I really love that its super light so it doesnt add on weight when your carrying your belongings

November 26, 2020

Perfect Hiking or Day Pack

I was a little skeptical about the sling concept but this concept (along with the ultralight mini/fanny pack) is perfection. The cell phone holder on the should strap works REALLY well surprisingly and the strap is sturdy yet comfortable. The bag is not huge but can fit plenty of items comfortably. It EASILY CARRIES A WATER BLADDER INSIDE the bag a... Read Morend the shoulder straps easily hold the tubing perfectly for easy access across the shoulder. A great hiking pack or "just in case" foldable pack to bring along for your travels. Pack this sling inside your main backpack to use for smaller shorter day excursions when a backpack is overkill.

November 10, 2020

Perfect every use bag!

I love this bag! I can take it to the gym and put my shoes, AirPods, water bottle and keys in it. I can also take it to the grocery store! Its comfortable for hiking and the front pocket is perfect for my phone. I would recommend this product to anyone! Also, its so easy to pack up and transport.

September 20, 2020

Amazing

I enjoy this bag because I can put all my essentials in it. For instance, my chapstick, lotion, flashlight, wallet, and gum.

September 15, 2020

Awesome bag

I have officially found my new favourite bag for hiking. I love how many compartments it has and the lightweight but durable fabric. Got it in the all black colour so it can go with anything.

September 9, 2020

Black hole bag

Great bag. Only thing I dont like is I dont have much of a shoulder so strap is a little stiff and big on me but overall great product

September 1, 2020

Fantastic holdet

This is light but still seems sturdy. I like it much better than the older units. Access is easy and much better and useful in size than the older units. I like the colorful look and the light weight. I would definitely buy another and may do so for my wife.

August 30, 2020

Love it but...

Im a fan. It holds a lot and its light and I love the phone pocket on the strap. I had an old Atom sling from a few years ago and the pocket on the strap had a zipper and was small which was essentially useless. I do have a hard time remembering that it needs to go over my left shoulder and for some reason every time I put it on I have to undo the ... Read Moreclasp to wear it properly. But once on its a dream. The only thing I wish it had was a key clip.

June 17, 2020

Perfect fit

I have no qualms about how perfect this pack is for everyday use. I am a minimalist so if your looking to store bigger items or a lot of smaller items you may need a larger bag. That said, for all the necessities for daily life this works perfect. I have my air pods along with my iphone that I no longer have to worry about when it comes to separati... Read Moreon cause it all fits with my external charger too boot!

June 17, 2020

Great Bag - Missing 1 Thing

This is a great bag. Waterproof, light weight, easy to pack and a lot of pockets. Would be better if it had straps or a way to secure a water bottle

June 17, 2020

perfect for cycling

Vibrant color and perfect for cycling and most importantly it uses recycled material

June 17, 2020

Great on-the-go bag

This is the perfect sling-back bag I was looking for. Big enough for a wallet and phone and anything else I may need. Not too bulky and easy to get on and off.

June 17, 2020

Fabulous piece of kit

Love it. Works great

May 3, 2020

Good sling

Wish that the strap from the Atom sling and the main compartment of this bag could be combined. It is pretty roomy but the Atoms zippered and slimmer strap seems more comfortable. This can definitely fit more in the bag itself though. Mine has been super wrinkly since I received it, not sure how to get it to smooth out. Overall a good bag.

March 12, 2020

Functional and light!!

Use this for daily life. Take it to work, mall, hiking, dog walking and etc. really comfortable. It has cell phone pocket in front but it would be better if you guys add snap or velcro. I almost drop my cellphone when i turned my pack to side. overall good quality and functional pack!

March 6, 2020

Nice update, needs thinner strap and tablet slot

I bought several of this bag&#x27;s predecessor (the Lightweight Travel Sling 7L) and always thought it could use a thin foam pad (like in the Tote series) for the back and strap (the sister Atom series had padding, but gave up on the &quot;lightweight&quot; stuffable aspect). Patagonia eventually discontinued the Lightweight Sling and a couple yea... Read Morers later introduced this Ultralight Black Hole Sling 8L so in a way the current designer is the unofficial successor. Note that although this Ultralight Black Hole is rated 8L I can't freely transfer contents back and forth from my Atom 8L, the Atom seems to have more room. Go figure. And yes, this Ultralight Black Hole now has a foam backpanel and foam strap, but the pendulum has swung too far in the "padding" direction and the foam pads are just too think, they feel thicker (at lease on the strap!) than even the Atom series. You can kind of ignore this in the main body but definitely the strap is overdone. Please Patagonia, next year thin down the strap for sure and even the back panel. Maybe not as thin as in the Lightweight Travel Tote 20L, but definitely get the proportions better! Right now this feels like a portable 6-pack cooler (maybe that's an feature?). The external front panel zipper compartment is now not only extremely usable, it has a zipper slot inside which means a passport will be MUCH more secure, behind double zippers. I really want a laptop sleeve inside the main compartment just like on the Atom. Except in this Ultralight edition I can live without the felt backing on the panel used in the Atom. I think even as current as this Ultralight Black Hole is, the iPads upsized again and mine won't fit, so perhaps Paty should upsize the rear panel a little to hold the now-standard 2019 iPad size, which size is also used for the Air 3, Pro 11, and Apple keyboard cover so I'm betting this size will be stable for a long time. Sure would help if Patagonia could upsize enough to allow the iPad panel to "suspend" the bottom edge of the iPad off the ground. I bought one of these in black and the current main advantages over the "standard" Atom are the more useful exterior zipper panel (and interior to that, the zipper pouch), PLUS water resistance. The Atom 8L actually holds more and has that supernice, fleece lined tablet slot, BUT no place to put a modern sized phone anymore - the exterior slot is Chapstick-sized. Finally, on this Ultralight Black Hole, the key leash should really be in the main compartment. Who had the bright idea to make a compartment suitably sized for a phone then invite us to leash our keys in there too?

February 26, 2020

Must be worn over your right shoulder

I love this bag, however I always wear slings (for babies too) across my left shoulder so I can use my right hand to alter or move the sling. I simply can not get used to the sling being on the opposite side. It's unfortunate they didn't design this bag so you could alternate shoulders.

January 22, 2020

Fits my specific needs

I run/fast-hike in a place that is very exposed to wind. I sweat heavily so, whatever high tech fabric I wear, it is soaked after an hour. My route is usually less than 2 hours, max 3 hours, starting in less wind-exposed areas and ending up in a totally wind exposed area, which is especially dangerous when temps are in the teens in winter and winds... Read More are in the 20+ mile range. I don't want to wear a pack. All I need is my Micro Puff Hoody as a wind proof and warm insulator, an extra mid-layer for change into a dry base layer mid-run/hike, my phone, an extra hat (the first one gets soaked, too, sorry to be graphic) and Cliff shots as a reserve (almost never needed in < 2 hour runs, same goes for water). My Micro Puff is a size XXL, mid-layer an XL. Both fit with room for a very small H2O bottle, thin gloves, spare hat and hand-warmers to spare. If you use it to its full capacity, it packs all of the above. I was worried about this thing bouncing on my back but I don't see the need for this sling to require a cross-strap to stabilize it on your back, at least for me (6'5"). I am very happy with it. It gives me the extra clothing I need during a 2-3 hour run/fast hike and is very unobtrusive and practical as you just rotate it around your torso to the front to get access on the run. As others have stated, the front phone pocket is of limited use as the phone falls out if you rotate the sling from the back to your chest to get access. A small button or very small clip, over even better a small pocket opposite and overlapping the phone pocket and made of the same material as the existing front pocket to stop the phone from falling in the other direction out would be great and only 0.000001 $ of additional investment for Patagonia. Not well thought out but knowing this I just put my phone into one of the main compartments, no problem. Very happy with this for my specific use, although there may be many others.

December 31, 2019

Solid low weight item

This is a handy alternative to a fanny pack. More comfortable to me

December 27, 2019

Gift for niece

My niece loved it. It's light and comfortable.

December 5, 2019

flawed

too much padding, minor issue, but the big issues is that if you use the phone holder on the strap when the bag is on your back and move the bag to the front to open it the phone fell out and I lost a brand new iPhone, this is a big opps designed flaw. if the elastic would have been made tighter this would not have happened.......who did ok this in... Read Moreto production without trying to use it with a phone in the phone holder........DO NOT USE THE PHONE HOLDER...............would have given it a 5 star otherwise

December 4, 2019

Great quality but performance came up short

I originally purchased the atom sling online for a trip to Japan. Before I got it in the mail I had an opportunity to compare the atom with the black hole sling in store and decided to exchange the atom for the Black hole. The atom bag did not fit my cell phone in the front strap pocket (Google pixel 3). The black hole fit my cell phone but it didn... Read More't secure it very well. The first time I wore the bag and pulled the bag to the side to access the main compartment, my phone went flying. So I didn't end up using the strap pocket after all. The bag was terrific other than that small flaw. However, that's was a main reason for me to choose it over the atom and a main reason I choose a sling bag versus a crossbody in general. So I am still in search of the perfect travel companion sling bag.

Response from Patagonia
December 26, 2019

We are sorry to hear that the design didn't quite hit the mark in some aspects. We thank you for the feedback as it is incredibly helpful. Please note, if you decide that you are unsatisfied with it, you are welcome to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) it back to us.

November 29, 2019

Terrific Sling Holder

We second all the good things others have said!

November 13, 2019

Appropriately named

I ordered this product for an upcoming trip to Mexico. The things that I like about it are the comfort, security, and light weight. It’s very easy to wear. BUT, it really is a black hole! No matter the size or weight of the things I put in this bag, every time I want something from it, the object of desire is at the bottom of the bag. I don’t overl... Read Moreoad it, and put small stuff in the smaller sections, larger stuff in the biggest section. Still, I have been frustrated wherever I go by needing to empty the section in order to find “that one thing”.

October 29, 2019

Perfect walk-to-work bag

This bag is comfortable, holds lunch and essentials for the day, and keeps my phone handy and secure. The zippered compartments are also easy to get to en route without having to take the bag off--super well-designed. I love it.

October 19, 2019

Awesome travel bag

I bought the ultralight for a trip to Greece. It did not let me down. I LOVE the inner hidden pocket - I was able to store my passport without the worry of it being stolen! Genius design. It fit so much - sweater, pashmina, iPad mini, toiletry bag, and chargers, etc. The mesh phone holder on the strap was fantastic and upgrade over my previous Pata... Read Moregonia crossbody backpack that did not fit my phone. I’ll be using this bag for work now too! This bag was a total win for me and is my new favorite bag!

October 17, 2019

Perfect little bag

This bag was so perfect for our day excursions it held my rain jacket and my hydro flask in the main compartment along with my other essentials (small coin purse, sunscreen, and wet wipes) the separate pouch for your phone was really nice too so you don’t have to go digging around in the main pockets to take a quick photo. I will definitely be usin... Read Moreg this bag all the time for my hikes!

October 12, 2019

It’s a nice sling

I really Like the the layout of this sling, but I do much prefer the zip pocket on the strap of the atom sling. The bag arrived folded up inside itself but it’s very wrinkly now. Trying to un-shake and get it smoothed out- wish it wasn’t so wrinkly.

October 2, 2019

Great pack for average Dad

Already have an old model of Patagonia 8L Atom pack. Saw this Ultralight Black Hole Sling online and thought some of the design features would be worth the upgrade. Similar to other Black Hole items I have, love how light the sling is itself - so it doesn’t add to weight of overstuffed pack. Compared to Patagonia 8L Atom sling, the zipper lengths s... Read Moreeem to be bigger so easier to access and stuff compartments. Also the seperate small zippered pocket within outside zippered pocket adds some layer of security if wallet, phone, keys etc need to be stowed in pack. Use the sling mostly as Dad bag for weekend activity with 4 yo kid - where I have to carry things. Can easily pack spare clothes, 24 oz Hydroflask, snacks within big back pocket - with 2 iphones, wallet, and keys in small secure zip pocket - leaving the entire outsode zip pocket for whatever else. I would recommend this bag for all Dads with small kids.

September 19, 2019

Great sling!

I love the sling! It actually has an additional little zip pocket so there are 3 compartments which is super helpful.

September 10, 2019

Why make a collapsible bag with so much padding?

if the bag had thinner padding on the back and less padded area on the strap it would be much more useful for travel as it would &quot;fold&quot; down to maybe half the area... several of your products have the same issue (excessive padding).. generally your &quot;lightweight&quot; products have less.. not sure why this 8L pack has so much (returni... Read Moreng item now as it's not what i wanted)

September 9, 2019

Fits iPhone XR, great carry

Fits iPhone XR, great carry all

September 7, 2019

Significant update of the former Lightweight Travel Sling (which has been long discontinued)

It&#x27;s a shame Patagonia has begun throwing around the &quot;Black Hole&quot; name willy-nilly - to me it used to mean &quot;glossy exterior coating&quot; and now it means - what? Be that as it may, the Black Hole Ultralight Sling is a terrific re-invention of the long-discontinued Lightweight Travel Sling. And no, it isn&#x27;t glossy rain-shel... Read Morel coated, it's a siliconized exterior treatment. Unlike the 40d, unlined, Lightweight Travel Sling, this Black Hole Ultralight Sling is 70d and lined. Unlike the flimsy mesh only shoulder strap on the former Lightweight Travel Sling, this Ultralight has a shoulder strap as well padded as the one or the more robust Atom sling. Here are some other ways the new Black Hole Ultralight Sling is more robust than the former Lightweight Travel Sling: * The nylon fabric is now 70d instead of 40d. * The Lightweight Travel Sling was unlined and unpadded, essentially a stuff sack with a shoulder strap sewn on. The Black Hole Ultralight Sling is fully lined (except, arguably, the single panel separating the main compartment from the lid compartment - but then, that panel is what appears to be thicker 200d polyester). * The Black Hole Ultralight Sling has two layers of foam padding on the rear body-side panel (the Lightweight Travel predecessor had none) - corner to corner is high density foam sandwiched in between the exterior 70d ripstop and the interior 70d ripstop. Then, for breathability, a breathable foam mesh pad is sewn over the 70d ripstop rear panel. It extends to within about an inch of the rear panel perimeter. * The Ultralight much more rectangular (which makes it suitable for carrying a 9.7" iPad) than the former Lightweight Travel Sling, which was so tear-drop shaped you couldn't possible close the main compartment zipper on an iPad. * The shoulder strap is well-shaped and well-padded, contoured, as good as on the Atom. It also has two layers of foam, the structural dense foam (thicker than the main compartment foam) wrapped in what looks like 200d polyester, then a breather foam mesh pad on the body side of the strap. The strap also has an expandable fine mesh slot on the front, with ample two-way stretch, and it easily stretches to hold my iPhone Plus. * The secondary compartment - the "lid" portion - is finally meaningfully sized. It's big enough to hold an iPad mini, Nexus 9, and typical 8" Android or Amazon tablet. * As best as I can tell, the fabric panels forming the secondary compartment are differentially cut so that even if you stuff the main compartment full, there will still be space in the secondary compartment. This is much better than the flat cut zipper slots in the current Atom and the former Lightweight Travel Sling. * The secondary compartment has a large, useful interior zipper pocket, which also serves as a stuff sack when turned inside out. I don’t recommend re-stuffing this for travel, it is actually just as efficient, if not more efficient, to lay it out flat in your luggage. I think the only time the stuff sack matters is Patagonia’s convenience in shipping and the retailers’ convenience in hanging on display racks. The display rack hang-loop doubles as the key ring leash when the bag is unstuffed from shipping mode. * The materials tag inside the bag says “100% nylon” but the website says polyester is used for the lining. As far as I can tell from appearance and touch, the following portions of the bag are 200d, non-ripstop, polyester: (1) the panel dividing the main and secondary compartments, (2) the stuff sack (which forms the zipper slot in the secondary compartment when un-stuffed), and (3) the shoulder strap. The entire exterior of the bag exclusive of shoulder strap is 70d nylon ripstop (with the caveat that the rear panel has the mesh wicking panel on top of it), the sides are 70d nylon ripstop, and the exterior top panel is double layer 70d nylon ripstop. In other words, this seems robust enough for every day urban use. The Atom still holds the edge, but the Ultralight looks hipper, and only "costs" about 4 ounces in additional weight. I’d like to see some o-rings or other attachment points inside the main compartment for snapping a typical travel pouch to. I’d like to see a thin, unpadded panel to hold an iPad 9.7 in place - the Atom has a lightly padded, half-height panel. I’d like to see a two-way zipper for the main compartment, so I can use a ziptie or locking micro carabiner to lock the zipper tabs together for a little security if I use this during my air transits instead of stowing it in checked luggage. Given the relatively small weight difference between the Atom and the Black Hole Ultralight Sling - only about 4 ounces - the Atom is probably the more durable choice urban use, but it's not as good for travel because it won't flatten out as well as the Black Hole. This is well worth checking out. If it had an iPad slot I would rotate out my current EDC Atom and use this. As it stands, this new Ultralight is going in my checked luggage for my next overseas trip to use EDC when I hit the ground.

September 1, 2019

Needs a water bottle holder to be perfect

Was looking at a very light travel bag that could also be worn securely. This looked perfect. Just the right size, can be worn in front as well for security. just missing an outside pocket to carry a water bottle. Who wouldnt want to carry a water bottle in a sling? A pain to carry 2 slings, one for a water bottle. Please add a water bottle holder ... Read Moreplease. It would then be perfect!

August 31, 2019

Love it

I love my sling bag. The color is great, the size is prefect for daily use. and the front pocket for my phone is very convenient. I have a 17 months old baby. It’s nice to have both hands free.

August 26, 2019

Sling backpack

I really love the size of this, however it is a left shoulder device which I am having a hard time getting used to. Also needs to have a handle for easy scoop & groan to carry along. I am going to have one sewn on.

August 25, 2019

Ultralight Black Hole® Sling 8L

This bag is my go-to bike commute bag. It’s comfortable and waterproof so carrying a tablet in Southwest Colorado on a bike is no problem. It also is sleek! I would recommend this bag!

August 20, 2019

5 stars!

It is amazing just how compact this sling is when it arrives. It has terrific carrying capacity for such a small bag thanks to the multi-compartment design. I was confused by the two-tone color choice I made - Ink Black- mistaking it for the all Black model also offered. But it’s nice anyway. Immediately purchased another sling in Plum color as a g... Read Moreift. It was a huge hit!

August 15, 2019

Wonders for dumbbells

I take this sling walking for short distances and can hold my three pound dumbbells so conveniently!

August 13, 2019

Sling bag

Nice and lightweight with adequate storage. Only “con” is that it has a tendency to slip off shoulder. Would definitely recommend.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches