Back to Product

Ws Sunshade Hoody

Write Your Review

4.5/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 74 Reviews

Clear All

Ws Sunshade Hoody

4.5/5
April 18, 2022

good quality but somewhat scratchy

I've ordered patagonia sun hoodies in the past - I got one last year that is supremely soft and I am in love with it. I was disappointed that this one was not quite as soft. I will wear it while kayaking/SUP for sun protection at work but my callousy/hangnail hands seem to get caught on the fabric. I wouldn't buy it again but it is nice q... Read Moreuality if you aren't as picky as me

Response from Patagonia
April 19, 2022

Hey Kristin, thank you for the feedback. As always, if you're not happy with one of our products you're welcome to send it in for a refund or merchandise credit. To begin the process click [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

March 15, 2022

Save Your Skin

Great product! Comfortable all day wear, protects my skin while being breathable and a solid layer in the snow and wind. I absolutely love this hoody!

March 15, 2022

Too long

Im 55 and 135 lbs. I ordered a medium, which was much longer than I expected, and hugged my stomach in an awkward way. The way it drapes could be improved, as well as shortening the length.

March 9, 2022

Saved my skin

This is a really great sun shirt. It has a hood that fits pretty snugly and protects your neck in addition to your arms, back, etc. It's very breathable too, and because of the sun protection I frequently felt cooler with it on than without it.

February 21, 2022

Sleeves too short to use thumb holes

Wanted a sun hoodie with usable thumb holes. Shirt fit well otherwise but the sleeves are too short to use the thumb holes. The hoody part seemed a bit too much also. Returned the shirt.

Response from Patagonia
February 28, 2022

We appreciate your feedback, and we're sorry that our Sunshade Hoody didn't work for you. We hope the return process was easy, but please don't hesitate to reach out if you have any additional questions. Thanks for the review, Karen!

January 31, 2022

Very Cute and fits well

Really like this top. Very comfortable and fits well. Beautiful color too. Unfortunately it got tiny holes in the lower front after only 3 wearings. The Internet says its because of the friction from my jeanss button but Ive been tucking in the front so am not sure what the problem is. Id love to buy more in different colors if I can figure out the... Read More problem.

Response from Patagonia
February 1, 2022

Hello Janette! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that holes developed in the shirt after only a few wears. We'd definitely consider this a warranty issue so you can return the hoody to us. We've reached out to you directly with further assistance.

January 29, 2022

Great overall hoody

Its a great hoody. It fits well, Im 52 and 103 lbs - the XS is perfect. I havent worn it in the sun yet, but its a great run around item.

October 15, 2021

Perfecto

This is our go to top for fishing in Baja! The hood is great fir that extra protection when you feel the sun. The fit is a little loose which is great for active casting.

September 30, 2021

Great Weight

This is an awesome option if sun protection is important to you. It has a shaped but not "fitted" cut that is roomy but still flattering. Arm have generous length so the thumb holes can actually be used. Keeps me cool even when fishing in the Bahamas and Mexico. The hood also fits over my hat which is another plus. More colors please!

July 24, 2021

Perfect for a desert rafting trip

I was surprised how cool this top was despite the thickness of the fabric. The zippered pocket is a nice touch! I just wish the sleeves were 2 inches longer so I could actually use the thumb holes and cover the backs of my hands. I wore this for 8 straight days while rafting the San Juan (in 100 degree heat). Not only did it protect my skin, but it... Read More didnt pick up an odor!

July 19, 2021

Comfortable Sun Protection

Perfect shirt for a trip down Cataract Canyon. Lightweight, cool and no sunburn.

July 10, 2021

Amazing sun shirt!

I am obsessed with this shirt. It is warmer than you think it will be on chilly days and somehow simultaneously cooler than you think on hot days. I love the sun protection without need for slathering on sunscreen. Reasonably cute, but mostly love the utility. Slimmer cut, but not too tight for wearing over another layer. Recently wore on a backpac... Read Moreking trip that was a bit buggy, and this shirt was a decent bug barrier too.

July 9, 2021

Not as soft as it once was

I bought this because my boyfriend had one for like 7 years and I absolutely loved it. This one has two layers to it and the inner layer is almost like a tightly woven mesh that just isn't that soft. Once you get sweaty it rubs against your skin and I got a rash around my shoulder. So, I'm still on the fence about this. The small fits per... Read Morefectly. It's slightly tight but I like a form fitting top. Could definitely put a layer on under it and it's baggy enough to move freely in. I have a long torso. Measure 33 bust, 27 waist 35 hip.

July 7, 2021

Breathable and effective

I wear this a lot for heavy labor and building trails in the sun, and I love how it feels on my skin, even when Im sweating like crazy. It fits well too, slim enough to look good, but not at all constrictive. The overlapping base of the hood in front does do a much better job than some other sun hoodies at protecting your neck, although the look is... Read More a bit less stylish than a big open hood. Probably a worthwhile trade off for better sun protection, although Im less likely to pull up the hood.

July 7, 2021

Fit of hood wasnt for me

Returned this item. It seemed well constructed but I didnt like how the hood fit. It touched my cheeks a lot when I wore a hat and caused the shirt to lift up off my chest. I dont think the length of the hood was long enough for me.

July 6, 2021

Awesome sun hoodie

Absolutely love the sun hoodir, its the second one I've bought. Thumb holes and hood are great for extra sun pro. My only wish is I hope they come out with an even lighter weight material sometime. It can get a bit toasty in the desert sun.

July 2, 2021

Nice

Bought for my mom who was looking for a full coverage top in the hot summer. She hates the sun but wants to be outside. She loves it. The color was better than the photo. My only negative review is that it was voluntary recalled due to the SPF false statement. It said 50spf coverage and it is only around 30 spf. Decided to keep it because it stilll... Read More keeps you cool, and some coverage is better than none. I still love the brand.

Response from Patagonia
July 9, 2021

Thanks for the feedback. This item was not a part of our [voluntary recall](https://www.patagonia.com/voluntary-recall-of-capilene-cool-daily-and-tropic-comfort-upf-products/). To be fully transparent this item was never listed as a 50+ UPF item because it did not meet our European UPF requirements. It does still provide solid sun protection. Please feel free to reach out to our Customer Service Team for more information.

June 30, 2021

Cool sun protection

Great top for cycling with maximum sun protection. It is loose-fitting and allows air to circulate - I never bike without it.

June 27, 2021

Lightweight sun protection

I lived in this shirt for two, recent backpacking trips. Its light and shaped just right to keep the sun off your upper body without feeling stuffy. Had I known it was going to be so useful, I would have purchased one years ago.

June 20, 2021

Super Warm

I live the way it feels. I wear it under micropuff and it us cizy. The cut could be a littke more flattering.

June 1, 2021

Sun protection for the Florida sun

I bought the gypsum green sunhoody for hiking and beach walking under the Florida sun. Its has protected me from sunburn even after the sunscreen has been sweated off. I've received many complements about my sunhoody as well. My mom loved the color so much I gifted her mine because it had been discontinued and I was having trouble find another... Read More one in that color. So I'm ordering another one in the blue for myself! Can't image myself hiking in anything else!

May 26, 2021

Great Sun hoody

Great overall sun hoody that I use for everything from fishing to work. I do a lot of work outside so finding a breathable layer that protects me from the sun is a top priority for me. This hoody checks all the boxes. Hoping for a wool blend one in the future!

May 17, 2021

Comfortable

Comfortable, nicely made sun shirt.

May 15, 2021

Wonderful Sun Hoody

I absolutely love this sun hoody- it's light weight and great protection from the sun. They do run kinda large though. I originally ordered a medium and ended up exchanging it for a small (I'm 5'3" and about 130lbs)

May 15, 2021

Perfect for beach!

Love wearing this to hang on the beach or exercise in when temps are cool. It fits true to size. I'm 5'4 / 120lbs and it fits without being snug.

May 11, 2021

A delicious hoody!

Super soft! This hoody is amazing

April 20, 2021

Lightweight sunshade

Very soft and light weight fabric for staying out of the sun. I love it!

April 18, 2021

Please fix the collar

Overall this is a great garment but the neckline is not great, especially for warm weather. Please put a 1/4 zip (at least) instead of the crossover collar/hood. Ive been writing to Patagonia for years to PLEASE make a lightweight hoodie for hot/humid/tropical weather with a zipper for venting.

April 15, 2021

Hawaii Sun Cant Touch This!

Just hiked 22 miles over open black rock basalt in this Sunshade Hoodie, worth every $$$. Cool in the heat, and blazing sun, cozy in a cool Hawaiian thunderstorm. Stop looking for a sunshade shirt ~ just buy this. Love It!

April 11, 2021

Too clingy

The fabric is clingy and made the fit unflattering. My husband has the same shirt in a men's size, and the fabric is different - smooth and silky like the Patagonia cool daily fabric.

April 10, 2021

Another Great Option for Hiking in the Sun!

I wear the cool capiliene daily hoodie tops for hiking in the summer in the Sierras. I love how they keep me protected from the sun (neck included) and yet they are not hot to wear. I can see this top will be another great option for doing the same thing. I love the Lago color, such a beautiful, happy shade of blue! I am 5 feet tall and about 107 p... Read Moreounds. I usually wear extra smalls in Patagonia clothing but went with a small this time since the fit was just a little snugger than I wanted for a sun shirt.

April 8, 2021

Great Lightweight Sun Protection

I absolutely love this hoody. Its very comfortable and breathable. I spend a lot of time outdoors and I hate having to be covered in sunscreen. This keeps me cool and prevents me from getting sunburned. I also really love the minty color.

April 5, 2021

Best saltwater flats shirt!

I own several of these shirts, bought for fly fishing, specifically saltwater flats. The material cross over on the hood is brilliant as it provides optimal sun coverage and the hood stays on even in the wind. Super lightweight so even when the sun is intense you stay cool.

March 6, 2021

Soft and comfortable

I have two of these tops and I love them both. They're soft and comfortable and I love the colors.

February 26, 2021

Great layer, hood is more form fitting that expected

This is a great garment. Everything was true to size. The hood is very form fitting. Do not expect this to fit like a hoodie.

February 26, 2021

Lightweight and comfy

I know it's for sun-protection, but when I wear this casually I find the neck to be more in-the-way than I would want. BUT it's well made, and designed to cover up, so....

November 22, 2020

Would like to get a 2nd one

Very comfortable

September 17, 2020

Great product!

Great fit! A bit tapered which I love. The cross- cross of the hood on the front could be a little bit looser. Nice pocket for phone or keys.

September 15, 2020

My Seafoam Green Hoodie Makes Me Smile

I love this hoodie. It keeps me protected from the sun but the fabric is breathable enough that I don't get to hot using it. I particularly appreciate how the hood folds over in the front, which provides extra protection from dust, grass, mud, etc. It's durable too. Keep it coming Patagonia!

September 3, 2020

An Active Wardrobe Staple

I absolutely love this shirt and have a million reasons to put it on - cool mornings, sunny afternoons, over a tank or by itself. The material is just right for paddle boarding, hiking, biking or lounging around. I'm 5'3" and the XS fits great. Love the blue color also.

September 1, 2020

Lightweight sun protection

This hoodie offers good lightweight sun protection. Im a teacher and wear it at recess and for outdoor dutIes. It feels a bit scratchy, so its not super comfortable. The hood looks super dorky, as my daughter put it, so I dont wear the hood. I wish the hood didnt have such tight elastic in it. But I like having something I can easily wear over my c... Read Morelothes which allows me to avoid putting on sunscreen at work.

September 1, 2020

Lightweight, breathable, dries quickly,

I'm 5'4, 115 pounds. Fits well. Perfect sun protection garment for the beach, no need for sunscreen.

June 25, 2020

Cool and breathable

I got this as a sun cover to wear in the Houston heat. It's at least as cool as wearing a normal cotton tshirt. I have broad shoulders and somewhat wide hips compared to my waist, and this fits pretty nicely--no binding in the shoulders, no riding up the hips. The hood does not slip off my head the way a lot of hoods do. I haven't yet bro... Read Moreken a hard sweat in it, so I can't yet speak to how it handles moisture. I wish the zip up pocket was a little bigger--I have a big phone and it doesn't fit in there. But still, very happy with this sun shirt.

June 21, 2020

Can't imagine Mountain Life without It

Patagonia's SunHoody's have been a staple in my wardrobe for years. For that bluebird ski tour, or day spent among the high, sunny peaks, this layer seems to keep me just warm, and yet, cool enough, at the same time. Only on the really cold days do I trade this for an R1. As a bonus, I also save on a lot of sunscreen.

June 17, 2020

Durable but Light Weight

I wear this sun hoody on days when I know Ill want protection on the back of my neck, ears, face from the sun. The hood stays on really well even though it doesnt have drawstrings. I also have the Tropic Comfort Sun Hoody. This hoody, the sunshade hoody, is a little more durable than the Tropic. Therefor, a little less breathable as well. Its l... Read Moreoose fitted. And super comfy.

June 17, 2020

Better than sunscreen!

Dont be fooled by the long sleeves - this hoodie keeps you cool and comfortable even on humid summer day. A great alternative to chemical sunscreen lotions.

June 17, 2020

Can't imagine Mountain Life without It

Patagonia's SunHoody's have been a staple in my wardrobe for years. For that bluebird ski tour, or day spent among the high, sunny peaks, this layer seems to keep me just warm, and yet, cool enough, at the same time. Only on the really cold days do I trade this for an R1. As a bonus, I also save on a lot of sunscreen.

June 5, 2020

Great sunshirt!

Love the weight a functionality of this sunshirt. I will use it in all the water sports I participate in (especially rafting and canoeing), and general hiking/climbing/running. It is a great weight, and I love the hip zipper pocket. I would recommend sizing up on this one if you don't want it more on the skin tight side--I am almost exclusivel... Read Morey size medium in Women's Patagonia clothes (both top and bottom) and I found that this shirt worked best for me in a large, so it didn't cling to my skin. The large is definitely not baggy or over-sized in a large on me, but just lose enough to dry easily and be cooling. I do wish this hoodie had the small neck closure button like the men's version does, I think that is a really nice feature. Maybe someday in the future!

May 6, 2020

Bring back the light fabric

Ive purchased many Patagonia Sunshade hoodies over the years because I love the functionality and the hood that stays put in wind, but the fabric on the new version is much thicker than the older versions and just not as breathable and light for warm weather activities. Please bring back the old material!

March 12, 2020

Good except the hood

I purchased this and a tropic comfort at the same time. The material of the tropic comfort is soft and silky, more like a classic technical shirt, while this is heavier and thicker. Still soft, but just a thicker fabric. I like the general cut of the Sunshade, but the part I do not like is the hood. It seems to want to pull backwards which makes me... Read More feel like I'm being really gently choked. If I adjust and pull forward, it exposes my throat to the sun and then eventually seems to settle back into the gentle choking place. I find it very unpleasant and will be exchanging.

January 6, 2020

Love the hood and weight!

Just wore this nearly every day in Utah as a mid-layer for hiking, climbing and biking. I had forgotten my buff (neck gator) so it was great to have the hood with a nice neck cover as a sub. Lightweight and comfortable. I have longer arms so I ordered the small bc other reviewers said the arms ran short. The shirt is a little roomier but the sleeve... Read Mores are perfect!

January 3, 2020

Functional but not especially stylish

The Sunshade Hoody is well made and the material is as described. The fit is definitely roomy with minimal shape.

December 17, 2019

Always good

This is my 3rd sunshade hoody, like the new color. Love the zip pocket, keeps my key safe while out on the board. Don't mess with a good thing.

August 27, 2019

Great function, fit could be better

Love how light and soft this layer is and the protection it provides, however, I find that the sizes at Patagonia are always off. The hoody is pretty long and the sleeves are baggy but overall I still like it because of the great sun protection, breathability, and lightness of the layer. If I sized down then the shoulders are too tight/narrow. I&#x... Read More27;m 5'6, 128 lbs and wear a size small 90% of the time but at Patagonia I often need medium - but occasionally XS. Doesn't make sense to me.

August 18, 2019

What I Needed

Nice and light, the hood offers lots of coverage without being restrictive, but stays on well at the same time. Love that the sleeves have thumb holes but are not tapered at the end so the sleeves dont tug awkwardly when moving. Didnt think the zippered pocket was necessary when I made the purchase, but have been surprised with how useful it has en... Read Moreded up being. I am very fair skinned and get tired of sunscreen and this is a great shirt for hiking and enjoying the outdoors.

August 16, 2019

Great shirt, but not for long-armed women

Great quality, looks good, but one major problem - the thumb loops don't fit me, my arms are too long. And the shirt is already pleasantly loose on me, if I were to get a larger size I'd be swimming in it. This has been a problem for me with finding sun protective shirts, I have a few that are long enough in the arm, not all styles are. H... Read Moreoping Patagonia will make some options for people with long arms!

August 16, 2019

Didn't love - A little too thick for me

I like everything about this, fit, hood, pocket. But the material was too heavy for me, I ended up returning this shirt and got a second Tropic Comfort Shirt, as it was an equally great fit, but a lighter weight.

August 15, 2019

Obsessed

Took the Sunshade Hoody on a hot summer trip rafting through Grand Canyon and it was amazing. Light, cool, and comfortable the whole time.

August 15, 2019

Love my Sunshade Hoody!

This lightweight hoody is fantastic. It's breezy enough to wear when it's warm and offers great sun protection.

August 13, 2019

no more sunburns

I had my mom buy this for me since I work outside some and don't like lathering on sunscreen. Keeps my skin away from the sun without getting too terribly hot.

August 11, 2019

Indispensible

Every article from Patagonia integrates into my wardrobe. The versatile colors and functional styles go everywhere - i don't have to change to go to the grocery store after running with the dog. Designed for layering many of the active garments go two or three seasons.

August 11, 2019

Sunshade Hoody

This is a great cover up in hot weather. Keeps my skin covered from the damaging sun rays and me cool. I love it! My only request is a new color =)

August 11, 2019

Solid Gear

Upon looking for sizes in Mens it became clear that at 175 Cm tall and 58 Kg the sizes are difficult to match, thus went w/ the ever dependable Women's Large, the sleeves actually long enough and torso not too rounded out like Happy Buddha. The hood is large enough for hat or visor, yet covers bare head nicely as well due to the small rim of e... Read Morelastic. The thumb loops at bottom of sleeves a must and function really well. Temperature range is very versatile and works well as ultralight & warm layer, or protection from the sun up to about 28 degrees, after this gets a bit warm though. Material is comfortable and soft, protects from bugs looking to nibble and thus far holding up well. The white sleeve tips do stain a bit w/ dirt, mind you am very active person running, mtn biking, and spending time in the woods and desert. The hoodie also breathes well whilst being physically active, a good feature for those of us who put out heat when exercising. Am getting a second and do recommend this hoodie to anyone who is medium height w/ long arms and slim build. Thanks much for recycling over 50% of this hoodie patagonia!

August 10, 2019

Great lighweight fabric, fits well

I bought this earlier in the summer and have used it a bunch of various adventures with my family. I love how lightweight it is but also works well in the evenings when camping in the summer for a little warmth. I know I'll be using this a lot for sun protection in the years ahead.

August 10, 2019

So lightweight and much better

So lightweight and much better than sunscreen.

August 10, 2019

Great

Love the fabric and details. It’s a little more heavy weight than I expected but seems more durable, good for both summer and winter activities. Protects well against the sun and bugs when fishing.

August 10, 2019

Exactly what we needed

We bought these for our family before a boating trip to the Bahamas. We were in the sun for hours but these kept us from getting burned without being too hot.

June 21, 2019

Nice Shirt

It is a great shirt, true to size and a great fabric. Would be a little warm in extreme heat. Comfortable and hood fits nicely. I'm 5'4" and 118lbs athletic build. Will be buying the next one in an XS.

May 30, 2019

Great shirt!

I really love this shirt because I can wear it on a raft trip and also on a backpacking trip. It never feels too hot, and the color is great! I have a short torso, and it is a little long for me, but other then that, I love it!

May 8, 2019

Love

My husband has the men's version of this hoodie and loves it, and we love them for our kids as well, so I finally decided to order myself one and I love it too! The material is definitely slightly different from both the men's and the kid's version, but I still really like it. I went with a small (5'7",135 lbs, 36A) and it&... Read More#x27;s not super loose but definitely not snug either. I can wear a loose fitting shirt under it no problem. I wore it for a 10 mile canyon run that fluctuated from 40 degrees and rain to 65 degrees and full sun and I felt like it kept me the perfect temperature through the entire run!

May 8, 2019

Sunshade Hoody

Great fabric, light but still protects you from harmful rays of the sun. Fits true to size, somewhat fitted but not snug.

May 8, 2019

Light weight and breathable works

Light weight and breathable works great on hot days. But also snags easily

May 5, 2019

Good Stretch on Sun Shirt

The stretch on this version is pretty good. Fit is slim, but not tight on me - 36D, 5'8" 160 lb. I wear it when we float rivers and fish. Works well.

March 19, 2019

Wish this was cut looser

I bought this sun shirt because I liked the men’s version my husband has. His is nice and airy to keep you cool in the sun, so I was very disappointed to see that the women’s version was cut so close to the body. This seems to ruin the functionality of the shirt.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches