Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Farrier's Work Shirt

Write Your Review

4.7/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 90 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Farrier's Work Shirt

4.7/5
April 27, 2022

Great Layer to Throw On

Pretty tough and rigid shirt w no stretch. Starting to soften as I wear it. Durable and thick to use for rugged tasks. Generally just use it as a light layer to throw on. Looks great and so far have gotten compliments on it each time Ive worn it. Im 53, slender w athletic shoulders and long arms. Typically wear an x-small but a small feels a lot ... Read Moremore comfortable and better sizing for wearing as a light outer piece.

April 9, 2022

Pleasantly surprised

Great over shirt, light jacket shirt. Very well built and amazingly warm. Nice thick material, good stuff.

April 8, 2022

Loving it

I was pleasantly surprised how warm this is. It is very well made and I am sure it will last a long, long time. I have it in black and red plaid and it works great as a light jacket.

March 27, 2022

Odd fit

I'm tall, with a small torso and long arms. The shirt fits exactly like the fjord flannel but the sleeves are even shorter than the ones on the fjord. Material gets softer with washing, did not shrink much. If I was any more muscular in the arms and shoulders this shirt would have been actually unwearable, the arm holes are right in the armp... Read Moreit and are very narrow. Solidly constructed, I expect to get a lot of use out of it. I bought the grey, and it's a comfy, very well made, heavyweight fabric. I love and use the pen holder pocket detail. I'll probably have to cut the sleeves off and make it a shop vest. Wouldn't buy it again unless I bought six of them, five to wear and one for a tailor to use for fabric to give the first five functional sleeves

March 27, 2022

Best utility shirt!

Initially I bought this shirt because I dig stripes, and this was giving me retro Oshkosh feels. However, this has become my go to work shirt now for working on the farm and garden. It's tough material doesn't snag on the thorns and metal fencing easily, dirt tends to roll off it better, and I like it way more than I should, but it's... Read More prob the stripes. I initially bought it in an xs, but it was too snug for layering, the small is def much more practical, and the weight of the shirt is on par with a very light outer jacket. So good!

March 23, 2022

Super comfy and a great way to add layers

Weather is finicky! This is a perfect second layer when it's chilly, but not cold enough for a jacket.

March 22, 2022

Lightly fitted, comfortable shirt. Great fabric.

I really like this shirt a lot. I hope they come up with some more colors. Its a little bit fitted, so good for work with a little dressing up. And great for being out and about. Super soft. Feels great.

March 21, 2022

Staple fav in my wardrobe!

This is one of my go to favorite items to wear. Versatile, well made and tailored well. I'm 5'2" and 115-120 lbs. I feel it runs a little big, bc I normally wear a small or medium in tops and like to layer, but the xs fits well. I can wear a long sleeve shirt and a t-shirt underneath and it doesn't feel or look too tight. This i... Read Mores my 2nd farrier work shirt. I bought a second b/c that's how much I love my first one. I normally wouldn't spend this much on a button down casual top, but it is well worth it! Highly recommend!

March 21, 2022

Wear nearly everyday on the farm

I grow microgreens a large garden and raise Scottish Highland coos on our farm in Southern Utah. I absolutely love this work wear shirt. It looks nice, in the event I need to run in to town for errands and also holds up very well when Im working on the farm. I've received many compliments and I love how it fits and how it looks. Looking forwar... Read Mored to buying other colors of the same.

March 16, 2022

Nice and durable

I really like the look of this shirt and its made of comfortable but durable material. I got it as a work shirt for chores and other activities around my property, but I dont think Ill actually be using it that way. The sizing was accurate, but theres very little give to the shirt. Any bending, lifting etc and it feels like its pulling against my s... Read Morehoulder blades. I ordered a size up to compare and the cut wouldve been too big. So I love this shirt but it wont be used for the heavy duty work I needed it for.

Response from Patagonia
March 25, 2022

We appreciate your detailed feedback on the fit, performance and hemp/polyester-blend fabric. We're glad that you like it, despite it not working for the intended purpose. Please reach out to our Customer Service team if you'd like any specific fabric or measurement information on our other shirts. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

March 16, 2022

Great shirt

Love the stripes and especially the cut. Im 125 lbs., and the small fits perfectly. The shirt is well made and flattering and I like that its cut a little closer to the body.

March 8, 2022

Excellent Shirt

I love the weight of this shirt. It goes from work to a dinner out with no problem. I have three - that says it all.

January 26, 2022

Blue farriers shirt

Nice comfortable shirt that can also be used as a light jacket over a tee shirt. Sturdy material that looks like it will hold up well. Nicely sewn.

January 14, 2022

SMALL and ROOMY

Almost perfect. Only problem: too narrow/short across shoulder blades/upper back and the sleeves could be longer, too. The fit is fine for standing around. It drapes nicely and fits slouchy but is cut to show curves (not boxy); however, if you try to do some real work, with arms forward and high, restriction is felt across the upper back and throug... Read Moreh the shoulders, and the sleeves recede and let the cold, damp air harass wrists and forearms. Sleeves that are too long are always better than those that are too short...especially in the PNW! Too long? Roll the cuff over once! I fully agree with these reviews: Kitsie77; Redheifer888; Maria; Harper B.; Breena R.;Charlotte G.; Karen; Tamarya; Mindy; Aleta; Bobbie;Kara; ...and everyone else who feels that the back and shoulders are too restrictive, and sleeves too short. Good suggestion by Kitsie77. I will return my order and try on men's small in store!

Response from Patagonia
January 21, 2022

Thank you for your detailed review, Mimi! This kind of information is vital for helping other customers and for our product development team as well. We're sorry to hear those dimensions didn't work for you! If you haven't already returned this shirt you can do it [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html), or by contacting our Customer Service Team by phone at (800) 638-6464 or via secure chat. If you would ever like specific measurements for an item you can also contact Customer Service to get kind of detail. We'd love to help!

December 31, 2021

Love it!

True to size! I bought a medium because I didn't want a tight fit and it was excellent. Material is also thick! Love to wear it on a cool fall day.

December 4, 2021

Fantastic & Versatile Shirt

I first bought this shirt in size small in the dark orange and also the sage green color. Great colors. At 5'2 and about 120 lbs., the shirt definitely had a loose fit and was almost more like a light jacket on me than a shirt I'd wear alone. That's not a complaint though. It has actually been great in that way. Living in south Georg... Read Moreia, we have generally mild falls and winters, so I've already gotten a lot of use out of these simply by wearing them like a jacket. The shirts feel durable yet are quite comfortable, they are warm enough for my purposes, and they wash well. They are VERY well-crafted shirts, and I know I will enjoy wearing these for years to come. I did also purchase this same shirt (hickory stripe color) in an XS to see if I could achieve a more fitted look. Alas, it was not nearly as comfy as the small. The XS was too narrow for my broader-than-average shoulders, and overall I felt a bit stifled in my movements, so I ended up returning that one. At least now I know that the trick is to try a few different sizes to find the right one, and for me, it's a small for sure. Anyway, I loved the Farrier shirts so much that I bought my husband one as well, and he loves his too. I couldn't be happier with this purchase. 100% recommend.

November 20, 2021

Quality shirt

Love the looks and fit of this shirt. The material is very durable and it washes up nicely. I generally wear a small- medium and the medium fits perfectly (but the fabric isnt very forgiving) so, Make sure you pick the right size. Id say it runs just a tad small. Other than that I love it!

November 19, 2021

Looks good, durable and warm

I love this shirt, I was worried the cut was going to be boxy but it's not. I had purchased it to use for outside-type work however it looks good enough to wear as an everyday shirt.

October 20, 2021

Had to return

This is a beautiful shirt and I was excited to have it for work this fall. The size medium fit like a small. Im 56 and 125 lbs. I thought the shoulders would bust the seams and I couldnt move my arms much. The sleeves were also oddly short? I never understand who Patagonias audience is. Im pretty small and their clothes never fit. I hope it works f... Read Moreor you!!

Response from Patagonia
October 25, 2021

We're so sorry to hear this one didn't fit well and we really appreciate this feedback with details on a relatively new design for us. You might prefer our Fjord flannel series or Western Snap Shirt, so please don't hesitate to reach out if you have questions for us!

October 10, 2021

Love the Buffalo check print

I love this shirt. I usually wear a medium but the medium was more like a large on me. Returned it and the small was perfect!

October 9, 2021

Jacket-Shirt: great for Southern CA

Although the sleeves are long on me, I am short, I like to keep them long as I can cover my hands when biking. This is great for running around, yard work or going to the mountain and running around there. Great for layering.

October 4, 2021

I really want to love this shirt

I really want to love this shirt. The fabric feels soft on the skin, and I love it's thick sturdy fabric. The color (I got the hickory stripe) is nice and earthy, which I like. Based on a review from someone who is about my size (120 pounds and5'5), they recommended getting a size medium. I am a 33" bust, 25" waist, and 35&quo... Read Moret; (I think?) hip. I usually wear a size small for shirts, and size 2 pants. I went with the recommendation to get a size medium, and it is very relaxed fit. It is too loose around the waist area, but fits my arm length and shoulders beautifully. The way the fabric falls, it doesn't fit awfully and for a work shirt (I have a small homestead with sheep, chickens, horses) I really want a looser fit. And with how the shoulder fits, I wonder whether a smaller size would be too small. Overall, it's a really great shirt- I do love the color and the fabric feel. I loathe online shopping for this reason- you really can't tell how something will fit until you try it on!

September 14, 2021

Can't wait for the cold!

As much as I despise cool weather, I'm looking forward to it this year so I can wear this shirt all the time! I purchased the '70s orange color and it feels very retro. In a good way, of course! 4 instead of 5 stars because the fabric is very slightly itchy, but I suspect that may lessen after a some wears and washes.

September 13, 2021

Great shirt that will last!

I have a Fjord flannel that I love and wanted another long sleep button-up that I could layer. Living in the cold midwest, I'm always prioritizing warm clothing, and I like that this cotton/hemp blend stays warm but breathable. I bought this in two sizes, not sure which would fit best, and ended up keeping the XS instead of my usual S. The sho... Read Moreulders and arms are roomy and I opted for a slightly more fitted size. I love the bright red/orange color and can tell this shirt will be a favorite for many years to come.

September 13, 2021

Soft hemp/linen

This shirt is warm, and soft but sturdy. Useful collar for work meetings

September 5, 2021

Nice and thick work shirt

I bought this shirt for a durable and warm work shirt. Since it hasn't been cold, I haven't used it too often yet but I love the texture and weight of the fabric. Can't wait to use it while building outdoor things.

September 4, 2021

super cute, very tight-size up

i rely on reviews a lot when buying clothes online, so heres my input to hopefully help the next person looking to buy! about me: 56 - 130# - athletic build 35-27-36, issues with pants sizing almost always, but shirts tend to sort out easier. i have other tops from Patagonia ranging from xs & s, most recently a medium in the insulated fjord f... Read Morelannel jacket because so many of yall really showed up in the reviews (thank you, i love it!!). I have pretty much my entire winter wardrobe from here, mostly smalls with a few xs depending on fit. For this shirt, I read every review, yes, all of them, and determined the majority vote was to order your usual size. So, I did. Style wise this shirt nails it. I love the fabric, the colours (striped sediment), and was so excited to potentially wear it with my double knee hemp pants and overalls. I ordered four items, three came straight away and the farrier shirt came separately today. I was so excited. I put it on immediately and *enter dramatic sound effect womp womp* it barely buttons over my chest. This 100% runs small imo. Unless I got a mismarked shirt and this is actually an xs, but even still I can think of four other xs shirts from Patagonia which are far from small/tight. So I am off to do a return, and for the first time in my life , find myself considering if I need a medium or large. really wild sizing imo. The fabric is thick, not stiff, but also not stretchy at all so if you plan to layer, like a looser/oversized fit, or plan move around at all (garden, camping, work in a science lab, change your tire) size up. For sure I will reiterate that this shirt is everything I hoped for style wise! The material is stellar, colour is so nice and neutral, but its cut tight. Thats all! If the exchange goes well and I get a size that works, Ill either update this review or post another to follow up! For further reference: I ordered the fjord flannel in a medium so I can layer and still have a roomy fit. I have the season hemp jacket in a small, regenerative sweatshirt in xs, the poly filled vest (cant recall name) in small, rashguard one piece long sleeve swim in small, etc.

August 28, 2021

A must have for outdoor adventures!

Simply love the quality and fit of this shirt!

August 26, 2021

Rugged but Soft

A gift for my wife. Very soft material, but believe it will hold up well in the outdoors. She is a master gardener and is always in the garden and fields. Cut with enough room to layer if needed.

August 13, 2021

Great product

Functional and comfortable

August 4, 2021

Great fabric

I really like the shirt. Because I make most of my clothes, I don't do a lot of shopping and I'm fairly particular about what I buy. I have been wearing more clothing made from hemp lately, and really like this medium/heavy organic cotton/hemp blend. The color and stripe is quite nice. This is a workshirt and has the comfortable fit of o... Read Morene. That said, I bought an XL, and it's the right fit for me, but I am not an extra large person and wish it were available in larger sizes.

July 26, 2021

New FAVORITE Shirt!

Even in the summer, I ADORE this shirt and wear is as often as possible. Love it early in the morning or at night when its a little chilly outside, hiking or working outside to keep the sun off my skin. The burnt orange is such a cool color and I get compliments on it all the time. Tempted to get another one!

July 15, 2021

Great shirt

This is another great unisex-esque women's piece. I have 3 of these shirts now and love the cut and the heavy fabric.

July 12, 2021

Great camping or outdoor shirt

Im very pleased with this shirt. Its high quality with a tough fabric that wont snag yet its soft enough to be comfortable. Wore this on my last camp trip and didnt want to take it off.

May 29, 2021

True to size, versatile, well made

Love this shirt, especially the hickory stripe (which is lighter and more brown and tan than it appears online). Would 100% recommend. I'm usually an extra small in patagonia and I found the xs fit perfectly over a tee. Size up if you want to wear a thicker layer underneath, but they've got other styles of work shirts if that's the ... Read Morelook you're going for.

May 26, 2021

Unexpected treat

I wasn't really looking for a shirt like this but saw it in a Patagonia store, tried it on, and loved it. I do a lot of landscape work and this stands up to being in the brush, stacking firewood, and hiking in rough terrain. It is distinctive (maybe the name sold me... I ride horses too) and helps make rough days easier to manage. Well made!

May 25, 2021

Unique heavy material

I get compliments on this shirt. It is a heavy weight fabric and I use it over a tee shirt. It is a perfect 2nd layer. The more I wear it, the more I like it.

May 10, 2021

Excellent fit and comfortable fabric

I liked this shirt so much I ended up buying a second one. It's my go to for dirty chores, the fabric is relatively durable while being quite breathable. As a tall person (5' 10", 145 lbs) I found the torso lenth and sleeve length to be just right. I took my size following the size chart and felt it was true to size for a relaxed but... Read More flattering fit.

April 26, 2021

Durable, comfortable cooler weather work shirt

Definitely one of the best work shirts I have purchased. I manage nature preserves for a living so my work clothes get put through the elements. I bought this shirt for a donor event because most of other shirts are dirt stained and ripped, but now I can't go to work without it. Its durable and has yet to show any wear and tear from walking th... Read Morerough brambles. Its roomy enough that I can button it close and still have full motion when I'm operating a chainsaw. It's on the heavier side so this is regulated to my winter wardrobe. If you're looking for a durable, comfortable cooler weather work shirt, then look no further.

April 22, 2021

The Western Shirt I've Been Dreaming About Forever

The fabric is amazingly soft and warm. The arm length is perfect and the best part is that it actually buttons over my chest without bunching at the buttons. It's nice enough to wear to work to fight the air conditioning and yet comfortable enough to wear while riding my horses. It's the western shirt I've been dreaming of and could ... Read Morenever really find. It has instantly become my favorite shirt to wear and I went and bought two more in different colors. I want to give this ten stars.

April 20, 2021

Nice work shirt

This is a great work shirt. It is soft yet seems durable. I am 56 and lean. I ordered both the xs and small but ended up keeping the small solely for the purpose of wanting it for farm and forest work. The xs fit great and the sleeve length was better for me, but it didnt offer the same mobility in the shoulders that the small offered. The small is... Read More a bit wide on me but this is fine because I will also use it for layering. For hiking or casual wear, the xs would be great.

April 20, 2021

WARM AND CONFORTABLE

WARM AND CONFORTABLE

April 16, 2021

great land work shirt!

This shirt fits so nicely and looks quite attractive even though my use for it is while I'm digging dirt, cutting bramble, pruning, controlled burning etc. It's such a tough shirt but still soft on the skin. Love it!

March 10, 2021

Best Kept Secret

This shirt has to be the most underrated and best-kept-secret of Patagonia's product line. It's warm, stylish and incredibly durable; the kind of shirt that only gets better with time. It also somehow pulls off being rugged, sporty, or chic depending on what you pair it with. I've worn one of mine during both camping trips and busine... Read Moress meetings. However, for some reason it seems to be way less popular and well known than Patagonia's other shirts that make the best sellers list. I own three of them and almost whenever I wear one someone compliments me and asks about it. I used to be a die-hard Fjord Flannel fan, but now I'm just keeping my fingers crossed that Patagonia doesn't discontinue this product line for lack of popularity since its gotta be one of the best shirts ever made.

March 3, 2021

Amazing

5'5" 140lbs 36" bust 30" waist bought medium - there is plenty of room and the sleeves get rolled up for hand washing. What a beautiful shirt. The material is soft and strong with a flattering drape. At 490 grams it is a bit heavier (compared to the Haywood Flannel at 244 grams which is more of a standard shirt weight). It is no... Read Moret made for tucking in. Love the metal buttons, quality construction. Holds its shape after washing. Bought both the green and the orange. Each with deep pigment saturation and a slight sheen almost linen quality. Don't let that scare you away. It isn't shiny but more polished or hand rubbed like a cherished wooden table that has held generations of family dinners. I will cherish this for years. Buy it, just buy it. I promise you won't regret it.

March 1, 2021

One of my favorite shirts

Very flattering fit! I wear it mostly as a light jacket over my t-shirt. The fabric is durable and thick but not rough on the skin. Very good quality shirt!

February 28, 2021

Perfect weight

I bought this for working in the yard but so far have used it for layering indoors during these chilly winter days. Sooo glad I got this.

February 25, 2021

Nice but small

I usually wear a M but I got a L. Still a little small. Wish I wouldve gotten a XL

Response from Patagonia
March 10, 2021

We apologize for the troubles with fit on this shirt. Please feel free to [exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this out for an XL if you'd like to give the size up a try. We appreciate you taking the time to give this feedback.

February 11, 2021

Perfect cut and toughness

Im a medium athletic build, 34DDD and no fat or extra fluff and this fit perfect. I wear a medium in most button ups and jackets. A small in athletic t-shirts. This shirt is perfect and has give in all the right places, like my shoulders and chest. Its long enough to tuck in and I absolutely love it.

February 11, 2021

Good though shirt. But....

Sizing is definitely off. On workwear line items it says that they run larger. Not true with this shirt. I am usually an XS in Patagonia, but got this shirt in S for a bit of an oversized fit, and I am oh so glad I did or it would not have fit. It is fitted, not roomy. Second issue is that this shirt does not have any spare buttons sewn on the insi... Read Morede (or wherever) that are a MUST on a work shirt (or any shirt for that matter). Cmon Patagonia, so much for your worn wear campaign if we won't even be able to replace a button ourselves.

Response from Patagonia
March 4, 2021

Hey Ana! Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We really appreciate this valuable feedback and have passed it along to our Design Team to consider for future iterations of the shirt.

February 5, 2021

Work Shirt

This is a sturdy, nice-looking work shirt. Its fitted with room for a capilene t-shirt underneath.

January 1, 2021

Cheery and Comfortable

Perfect for horse owners. This shirt breathes but is still warm and the brick color is great. A nice match with the hemp overalls.

January 1, 2021

New favorite!!

I purchased this shirt in my usual size, (XS) and the fit was spot on. The fabric is of very good quality, so it is durable and very comfortable. Proving to keep me super warm in the MN weather!

December 28, 2020

Great fit and style

I love this shirt. It fits perfectly and is the right blend of fashion and function.

December 16, 2020

Warm, stylish somewhat

A half jacket half shirt. Very warm worn over a sweater. I wanted it roomy so I ordered a large; but it fits nicely, doesn't look like an ill fitting men's large shirt. Patagonia quality, I can tell it will last a long time and look the same. Good for wearing hiking or in studio on cold day

December 13, 2020

Love it!

Im 59 and lean so the medium was a bit large/roomy, but I love it. I wasnt looking for a fitted piece. Ive worn it hiking in the snow, and on cold days with kids. Its perfect thick for cold/working days!

November 30, 2020

Sturdy and warm.

This shirt is sturdy and warm. It feels like wearing a light jacket, but you aren't hot when indoors and it's comfortable. I walk to work and it's cold. This shirt is perfect to stay warm and with a cute necklace, looks perfect for the office. My only complaint is that it flairs out a bit more than I would like at the bottom. I prefe... Read Morer a straighter shirt. The flair is only slight though.

November 24, 2020

Quality shirt

This shirt is amazing, thick cotton, relaxed fit, quality! I bought two and they should last a very long time. Ill wear them for work or play and everyday.

November 17, 2020

A Real Shirt

A true everyday shirt - it's very well-made and the fabric has heft, durable yet soft. Easy to roll up the sleeves for working outside, hiking etc. but give it a press and it's polished enough for desk time too. Women's shirts are often flimsy compared to those for men. Thank you Patagonia for making a simple, beautifully crafted shi... Read Morert for women.

September 27, 2020

Excellent field shirt for work

As an environmental scientist, I needed something I can get dirty and will protect my arms. This shirt is the perfect addition to my work wear. Flattering, nice color, protects me from the scraps and mud.

September 24, 2020

Great shirt for work or play

I have this shirt in three colours - grey, blue, and the red plaid. I got the grey and blue shirts a couple of years ago and they have worn great. Still look brand new! They also NEVER wrinkle. I take them out of the wash and hang them to dry and they look ready to wear even to the office. Really nice, heavy duty (fair trade) stitching. Thick mater... Read Moreial. Good for dog walks, camping, hiking, and even to wear to a (casual) workplace. The red plaid fabric is slightly different, still thick but more like a wool flannel even though the tag still says hemp and recycled polyester. The fit is roughly the same though. I usually wear medium but in these shirts I am a small.

September 22, 2020

Love it - will buy another!

This is a great short. Heavy, soft, well made. I know it will last a long time.

September 18, 2020

attractive style

this looks so good it's not just for beating around the house, or hiking. It's got style.

September 18, 2020

Perfect for fall/winter

Because I live in Tucson, AZ, this is a perfect winter jacket for me. Well made and a great shade of blue

September 17, 2020

Great look

I love this shirt but wish it was a little less stiff.

September 16, 2020

Well made

I was impressed with the overall quality, it really is well made. The material is denser than expected, its soft but still has that Im gonna be with you forever kind of feel. Its made to last. 4 stars is a high rating in my book, 5 it would have to give me a shoulder rub lol.

September 13, 2020

Classic,old school patagonia

I love this shirt. It is functional, tough, comfortable. It is what Patagonia made in the 80s..just great clothes that did their job , and lasted for years. Love this shirt.

September 9, 2020

Great Classic

This shirt is a great classic that will probably last a lifetime. The fabric is incredibly thick and capable of taking a beating and withstanding the elements, yet the shirt looks polished enough to wear to work or out around town. The fabric is not as soft as the Fjord Flannels, but I've noticed mine has gradually grown softer with repeated w... Read Moreear and washing. I've already ordered a second and I'll probably do so again, especially when they're on sale.

September 3, 2020

Sturdy Button-up

Heavy duty button up will be perfect for the Construction Site and Casual wear. Very sturdy fabric, slightly stiff, but a very good addition to my wardrobe. Medium size gives me plenty of room to layer when the weather turns cooler. 5'8" / 130lbs / Medium

September 3, 2020

Strong, yet relatively soft and very comfortable work attire!

This shirt fits well and is comfortable to wear. The cut allows for excellent mobility in the arms. I haven't used it for work yet, but have put it on to play badminton in our backyard b/c I wanted to test out the shirt- mobility was great! Will use it for work starting this weekend, building a paver patio and hauling rock, etc... for substrat... Read Moree. We're also having to take out a mature tree (sadly, due to the runners- which will ruin the new patio) and I will be chopping wood for our outdoor fire pit! This shirt will absolutely fit the bill for these jobs and hopefully last many years. These things said, I'm an Active Girly Girl- and I wish the logo on the female version was the beautiful normal Patagonia logo. The Workwear logo isn't as visually appealing, but that's just my opinion. I won't be looking at it while I work, so it's not a big deal. I purchased the black/dark grey color and really like it.

September 2, 2020

High quality

Great shirt. XS was a better fit for shoulders, bust, waist, and length, but too tight in the arms. Went with S so could work and move arms more comfortably. If had added stretch would have gone with XS for slimmer fit.

August 15, 2020

Soft, thick and seemingly strong fabric!

The Farrier shirt is a "Regular Fit" item, so I purchased my regular size in this fit (XS, I'm 5'4.5" and 125#, 32 B)- it was smaller than expected, but still fits well. The item is made out of amazingly soft fabric! After reading rave reviews about the quality of Patagonia Workwear on horse websites, I purchased this for w... Read Moreorking outside. Whether cutting back blackberry vines, gardening, weeding, chopping fire wood for outdoor cooking or helping build a paver patio- this will hopefully be my 'go-to' shirt for any type of manual labor outside. (Even though I no longer live and work on a horse & cattle ranch).

Response from Patagonia
October 20, 2020

Thanks for submitting such a thoughtful and detailed review. Please don't hesitate to reach out to us if you have any questions or concerns about your Farrier Shirt, Victoria!

January 24, 2020

Great

Love it.

November 26, 2019

Workday and Weekends

This is my favorite shirt. Fits perfectly. Looks sharp enough to wear to my casual workplace and durable enough to work around the yard on the weekend. I told my partner to expect to see me in this shirt for many years to come.

November 24, 2019

Great work shirt, fit is a little awkward

I love this shirt. It has a great feel to it and is perfect for field work. The only is issue is the fit in the sleeves. They are rather over long, but also narrow. Extra material bunches near my wrists, but they’re right near my shoulders. It’s not a deal breaker, but it could definitively use a tweak.

September 25, 2019

Love but could use some tweaks

I bought this in a size small (I am 5'10 and 135) I usually wear a small in everything Patagonia except for the Fjord flannel- I wear a medium in that. This shirt is so thick and soft, I never want to take it off! However, it is much too small in the shoulders to be a real "small" and the sleeves are wayyy too short. Little disappoin... Read Moreted that the sizing is so off compared to other Patagonia items, but I still love it and will buy it in other colors!

September 22, 2019

5 star quality

Great fit and top notch craftsmanship!

September 12, 2019

Quality

I work and play outside. I love the thickness and quality of this shirt. I am 5'11" and 145#. I got a large so I can wear shirts underneath. There is still room. I would say if there was a size between medium and large it would be perfect! For tall ladies with a long wingspan this shirt wont disappoint.

September 8, 2019

Comfy & warm

Great shirt for working in the garden or going out, super warm.

August 26, 2019

One shirt to rule them all

If I'm leaving the house, the Farrier is coming with me. It's thick enough to hold up in a light rain, or be thrown on over a swimsuit and not make me instantly cold. It's a must for around the campfire, minimizing mosquito bites and easily wrapped into a pillow at the end of the night. I get compliments on this every time I wear it.... Read More I'm 5'7" and typically a Med top, but I went for the small. Sleeves are perfect, it's a little tight across the shoulders, so if I were working in this daily I'd opt for a Med.

August 20, 2019

Great feels!

This shirt is pretty great. It’s all it is described to be - a soft, but tough layer. I wish it were just a little fuller cut, but wearing it anyway since I plan to wear open over a T-shirt.

August 10, 2019

Great Materials, good fit

Great materials, feels like a shirt that will be wearable for years and keep getting better with time. My only qualm is about the fit. Generally, the shirt fit's well. However, I'm 5'11" with a fairly athletic build and the shoulders are a bit snug.

August 5, 2019

Tough and Cute

I originally go this shirt to cut wood. But now that I have it, it's too cute to use for working ;). I have used it the past 7 months though, and is still cute, and looks just as good as day 1.

April 18, 2019

Fabric is great, sizing a little strange

I bought this shirt on sale because I love the Western Snap shirt and thought I would try this one. Gambled and went with the S (since that's what was left on sale), since the S fit well in the Western Snap. The fabric and drape of the shirt are amazing, but I found that the Small was very restrictive through the shoulders for me. Could be I j... Read Moreust needed a size bigger, but I thought it was odd that the fit was so different from the Western Snap, especially on a "work shirt" that should leave ample room through the shoulders for active things. The fit everywhere else was roomy.

February 24, 2019

sturdy shirts, fits great

This shirt is practical and stylish. I like its two pockets and cut longer so can be tucked in or out. I am 5'4" 110lb, got an XS. Great shirt!

March 11, 2018

The perfect shirt

Patagonia please make this in more colors! I have several of the women's fjord flannels and this fits and looks even better than the fjord. It feels incredibly sturdy and fits perfect. The sleeve are a tad short but I always roll my sleeves up so that doesn't really bother me. If only there were more colors like the men's!

October 5, 2017

Really nice

This is a nice,durable-seeming and really nice looking shirt. I saw it and instantly coveted and am glad I bought it. It is pretty roomy--I bought a small and was glad I did (I'm usually between a small and a medium in Patagonia tops). I also agree with the other reviews that said the sleeves are a bit short,but I would probably roll them up a... Read Morenyway,and I honestly didn't notice this issue at all after wearing it for 30 minutes. It is a really well-made,really nice shirt and worth investing in.

October 1, 2017

Casual work shirt,doubles as a light jacket

Have had this for a couple of days,used it while renovating a room and carrying furniture pieces around,plus for general casual wear,cycling around etc. It feels a bit heavy,keeps the wind out pretty well,the pockets are large enough to fit stuff in,and the sleeves are long enough (I'm a bit of an ape,me). I've wondered if the sleeves are... Read More a bit to loose to my taste,but on the other hand they do give good mobility and I could assemble a couple of beds with ease,nothing constricted me in any way. The hanging loop is a nice addition. Doesn't look half bad as a jacket,either (I've the khaki version)! Sleeve tabs could be nice for hot weather use,as most lighter shirts (say,Sol Patrol) don't really hold up for much wear and tear. Won't find out before next summer,it might be the sleeves roll up and stay rolled up without any tabs at all.

September 28, 2017

Soft yet durable!

I bought this shirt because I do alot of woodworking and wanted a work shirt that would 1. fit a small woman 2. hold up to working conditions for years 3. be easy to move in,and 4. shed wood chips and shavings fairly well. I got to first test it out the other day while building trail for the Tahoe Rim Trail Association. It has great freedom of move... Read Morement (see video),and I never got too hot in it. This shirt gets softer with each wash but seems super tough! Worth every penny. Thanks guys. Love it.

August 29, 2017

Seemingly durable,but the sleeves are too short

Nice,seemingly durable shirt. Heavy-weight,flannel-like material. I purchased this in both colors,the W's Forge Hemp pants in both colors,and the Tin Shed Jacket in the "Ink Black". After purchasing all of these items,I would only keep the Coriander Brown Forge Hemp pants because everything else looked drab,or they just did not have ... Read Morean "awesome" factor about them. The "Ink Black" Iron Forge Hemp pants look like a pair of urban denim pants. They were a huge disappointment,and not as awesome as the Coriander Brown color. Even though the Farrier's Shirt look as though it was made with a good quality material,Patagonia did not get the length of the sleeves right,but the body of the shirt had a good length and width. I also find that I have the same sleeve issues with Patagonia's women's "updated" or more recent hoodies. When my arms are at my side,and I am stationary,the sleeves are seemingly a good length,but upon moving my arms,the sleeves ride up. I purchased an extra-small in both colors,and both Farrier's shirt have a sleeve length issue. Even though Patagonia has a good niche going for itself,it seems to not have many clothing that have an awesome factor,but instead,in my opinion clothing that are a disappointment.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches