burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx

Back to Product

Ws Torrentshell 3L Jacket

Write Your Review

4.5/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XXS
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 236 Reviews

Clear All

Ws Torrentshell 3L Jacket

4.5/5
September 28, 2022

Well designed, good quality

Good quality and does the job of protecting even during heavy rain. The design is supper functional. Love the environmental aspect too

September 26, 2022

New favorite jacket!

This is seriously the most comfortable jacket! Its obviously meant to be worn as a rain jacket but I wear it rain or shine especially on chilly mornings! Its so warm and cozy! True to size!

September 12, 2022

Prefect

I could definitely fit a M but I got a large since I use this for work I typically have many layers on under as a farmer. I love it.

September 11, 2022

Super cute

Fit was perfect. I got it in white & its super cute. I like the hood design. Its lightweight, waterproof & very comfortable.

September 10, 2022

Light and waterproof rainjacket

I love this rainjacket. It is extremely light, rain proof, and easy to pack. I love the color and it is also long lasting.

September 9, 2022

Great windbreaker

This jacket fits well and is a great windbreaker. Unfortunately, it is not water repellent . I just walked 6 miles in light rain and was soaked after a couple of miles.

September 8, 2022

This is the best rain

This is the best rain jacket I've ever had, and I do want to point out the size is closer to a standard L than XL, because the L fit more like a medium. That said, good looking, dry, good fit once you get the right size! My sound blue jacket with dark pink zipper and detail is very pretty!

September 7, 2022

Prettiest Torrentshell

Love this jacket, and I'm glad I went beyond my comfort zone and ordered the white! I haven't worn it yet, but the fit seems good-I sized up so that I could layer underneath. I think I'm going to enjoy wearing it.

September 6, 2022

Rain snug!

While I have not worn the raincoat during the rainiest season, so far I love it. The fit is great with the adjustable wrist bands, the underarm vents, and a hood that stays on! I hope that it lasts a long time. Will submit an update after wearing it through the seasons.

September 4, 2022

A great raincoat!

This is my second Patagonia raincoat. I like how it performs well for what it is designed for to keep me dry in the rain. It is comfortable and has a nice weight, too.

August 30, 2022

Great raincoat

I bought this to have as an outer shell rain coat for walking and hiking in the rain. It works great for what I want! The material is stiff, but that's not unexpected with a rain coat.

August 28, 2022

Not for anyone with a shape

I returned this because it was not designed to fit my body. The sleeves were insanely long and the shoulders were really big. Yet I could barely zip it around my hips. I'm very curvy and carry extra weight- this was not the jacket for me!

Response from Patagonia
September 2, 2022

Hi Courtney! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the the fit. Feedback like this is crucial to improving products for future seasons so we'll share this with our design team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

August 25, 2022

inside coating flakes off after some time

This is the 2nd raincoat I have from Patogonia. First one did exactly the same thing - I returned it and got the 30% off this one. After a while the inside coating flakes off, its like dandruff, on my clothes and rains down when I take the jacket off. I really hope that it is biodegradable, if not I am basically dropping micro plastics every time... Read More I wear it. This is an issue with the jackets that happens with time. Feels like there should be a better solution to this. Especially since we pay a premium for a product that is supposed to be sustainable- this doesn't feel sustainable to me.

Response from Patagonia
August 30, 2022

Hey Steffany, thank you for leaving us this review. Unfortunately, it sounds like your jackets are delaminating. The reason waterproof gear delaminates is because contaminants like dirt, sweat, or oils from skin will slowly start to separate the waterproof laminate from the outer fabric. Sadly, this isn't something that we can repair; however, it is considered a warranty issue. In the future, a good way to prevent this from happening to the next jacket is to wash it more frequently. Depending on how often it's used, we suggest washing at least a couple times per season. Here are some general care instructions for waterproof gear: machine wash warm, do not bleach, tumble dry low, warm iron, do not use fabric softeners. A performance detergent is preferable (Storm Clothing Wash, Nikwax Tech Wash, etc.), but any gentle detergent will do the trick. A post-wash tumble dry on low heat for 20 minutes will help revive the water repellent DWR finish. Eventually, the DWR finish may lose effectiveness and water will no longer bead on the surface of the garment. The DWR can be restored with a performance spray or wash-in treatment such as Storm Eco Proofer or Nikwax. In short, delamination is preventable, it just takes some extra care. If you'd like to submit your current delaminating jacket in for a warranty evaluation, you can begin the process [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

August 22, 2022

Like this jacket, fit is

Like this jacket, fit is good with enough room for mid weight layer. Color is great.

August 19, 2022

Bought for granddaughter and the

Bought for granddaughter and the fit and quality of rain jacket were excellent. She love the fit and feel of fabric.

August 14, 2022

Great jacket but returning

I think this is an updated version of a jacket I had for 15+ years. It's a great, lightweight, waterproof jacket, and I loved my old one for hikes in hot, wet climates (Costa Rica!). I'm returning this as I went with the Calcite jacket for now because I wanted something a slightly heavier that feels more durable.

August 6, 2022

comfortable & stylish

Excellent craftsmanship and color choices. I don't feel like I'm in a plastic suit when wearing Patagonia Women's Torrentshell 3L Rain Jacket. I opted for the SMALL after initially purchasing XS which did not leave room for a sweater. Very happy with my purchase.

August 5, 2022

Torrential Protector

I purposely sized up on this jacket, as I wanted to be able to wear two base layers and a nano puff hoody underneath it for a two-week adventure trip to Iceland in July. This Torrentshell held up incredibly in torrential rain and wind. It was perfect for hiking behind Seljalandsfoss waterfall, too. The water just beads off and kept me dry. Ran into... Read More another hiker with the same Torrentshell and color as mine. We joked that we had good taste!

August 1, 2022

Wore every day in recent

Wore every day in recent hiking trip to Newfoundland - wind proof/rain proof/good layering piece

July 23, 2022

Love the jacket, but runs large!

Love this jacket but the L was huge on me. I normally wear a L in jackets but this one fit like an XL and the sleeves were past my fingertips. Exchanging for a M.

July 21, 2022

I loved the fit -

I loved the fit - the style - everything was perfect about this jacket except for the material. For a rain jacket material is fine but not for wearing it when it is little breezy in the spring.

July 18, 2022

Love this jacket

Perfect for drizzly and windy days, walking to work, or stuffing in my backpack for that extra layer when needed.

July 15, 2022

Rain wear

So I haven't actually had a chance to wear it in the rain yet but the fit is good, its lightweight and the green color is perfect! Its going to Colorado with me soon and then to Europe!

June 13, 2022

Always a classic, in beautiful deep green color

Always love loved Patagonia products and what they stand for. This torrent shell is great always! ( bot my first one) and I use it foraging in the woods all the time

June 8, 2022

Great Ran Coat

Best raincoat on the market! This is my second one, I tried a cheaper one off of Amazon and it was just awful. Highly recommend this coat.

June 5, 2022

Good but sleeves are too long

Rain beads off and jacket keeps me dry. Sleeves could be a bit shorter.

May 31, 2022

Love the print!

This is my second torrentshell and purchased this one because of the print! I love these jackets. Not even too bad in the summers, the pit zips make it so it doesn't get too hot, yet you still keep dry.

May 27, 2022

Great fit and great rain protection

This is a beautiful rain jacket which was sent to me very promptly. I got it because my husband has a similar one from Patagonia, purchased by me. The fit and the look are great. I recommend it highly.

May 27, 2022

Amazing Rain Jacket

This is one of the best rain jacket/wind breaker I have ever had. This is very comfortable and looks very stylish. I am 5.1', 120 lbs and I wear a S, it fits perfect with the adjustment string.

May 25, 2022

Great Rain Jacket

Love the color and fit. It does a great job keeping me dry when its pouring down rain.

May 24, 2022

Perfect Jacket!

I love this Jacket! I work part time in a high elevation Colorado Mountain Marina. I needed something to keep the wind and rain off me during work. It's light weight, and works perfectly! I went up a size as I wanted plenty of room underneath to layer, which I probably didn't need to do as the jacket runs true to slightly large. The Float... Read More Blue color is striking, really beautiful! My only suggestion is to make this with both an internal and external chest pocket - which it does not have. It is a perfect lightweight jacket for hiking, sailing, etc. Love it!

May 21, 2022

Well designed

Bought a medium so I could layer with other clothing. Can fit a light down jacket under it comfortably but still doesnt look too big. Very happy with this purchase. Have not tried out in any down pours yet but seems very well made.

May 15, 2022

Excellent jacket for rain both light and heavy.

This is probably the best rain jacket on the market. My partner and I both have torrentshells, and they are true staples here in the PNW. Rain here tends to be light and mild, but when it's extra intense and just going on forever, our torrentshells are the only appropriate jacket. This jacket allows us to go on very long walks with our active ... Read Moredog while staying warm and dry the whole time. The hood is particularly effective in keeping rain out of the face and hair. It also checks the "incredibly affordable" box. It is our most important jacket we own. Thanks for another awesome product, Patagonia.

May 12, 2022

Perfect rain and wind protection in Patagonia

This is the perfect jacket to protect from rain and wind. I did an eight day backpacking trip in Torres del Paine, Patagonia, and it rained/snowed every single day. I wore this jacket with the Long-Sleeved Capilene® Cool Lightweight Shirt underneath for 5 of the 8 days of the trip... it was the perfect combination of warm and lightweight protection... Read More underneath my pack. I had had it for several years so it was the older version, and unfortunately the lining started to wear off, so I took it into a store and they exchanged it for a new version. The new version seems slightly bigger than the other one, but I may just need to wear it in a little. Overall love this product!

May 10, 2022

Runs small in the tailored waist

I like the blue color, and the material is sturdy and very rain-proof. It has extra material that fits nicely over the hips and rear end. But it's a little tight on me through the waist and tummy. I'm 5 ft 2 and weigh 130. I kept it because I thought the arms would be way too long on me if I got a large. As is, I can't put any bulky ... Read Moresweater underneath it for warmth, so I use a down sweater. Quality material and sewing. For a medium, I wish it was a little less snug.

May 6, 2022

Stay dry with this flattering raincoat!

I absolutely love this coat! So flattering and cute! Keeps me dry in the rain! I highly recommend this product!

May 5, 2022

Easy to vent

This is the 3rd Torrentshell lve had and still spot on. The other 2 went traveling all over for plant surveys in woods, prairies and mountains. The underarm zipper helps vent in humidity.

May 5, 2022

Lots of pockets

Great design Good amount of pockets with closures Cute squared hood Love it in white

April 23, 2022

Great for rain!

Overall great jacket. Neat and clean lines keep you super dry!

April 15, 2022

Lightweight Rainjacket

Basic, lightweight rainjacket. Good for PNW fall, winter, spring rain showers. Good for layering.

April 14, 2022

Perfect for rain storms

Love the color and make of jacket super love it and get lots of compliments April showers bring May flowers thanks for keeping me dry

April 7, 2022

Perfect Rain Jacket

This is the only rain jacket I wear. It is the perfect weight.

March 27, 2022

Great Jacket

Love it.

March 24, 2022

Perfect for mountain weather

I have one of these from 15 years ago. I needed to replace it but have also lost weight and needed a smaller size. I think the quality has improved and look forward to wearing it hiking, biking, and just walking around town.

March 23, 2022

totally rain proof

I had a Patagonia rain jacket that was over 10 years old that needed to be replaced due to some inside deterioration and Patagonia generously helped me replace my old one. This jacket lasts for years!! It is a great jacket to repel rain and wind. I wear a medium in most things sometimes a large, but this jacket I definitely suggest going up a size ... Read Moreespecially if you are layering underneath.

March 20, 2022

Excellent rain protection.

Great fit. Could have worn xs if I had wanted closer fit. Really like the lining and fit of the hood. Use this for all rainy days and will buy in a color rather than black if can find a great sale! Patagonia never fails on quality performance

March 18, 2022

Perfect Lightweight Jacket

This product is all I had hoped it would be and more. It is the prefect weight and washes beautifully. I can carry it while hiking by folding it and fitting into a small space. It is there when the weather turns a little cool or wet. I may purchase in another color

March 16, 2022

Not the right fit

Cute jacket but it was too snug in the hips and too long in arms. Returned it.

Response from Patagonia
March 24, 2022

We appreciate your feedback, and we're sorry to hear the fit wasn't quite right. Please reach out to our Customer Service team to discuss sizing and measurements for other possible rain jackets. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

March 14, 2022

A great jacket to own!

These rain jackets are great anytime. I use mine boating, at the ocean, sporting events & walking when it is raining. They keep you dry & are a perfect wind break. I will always have it available in my closet!

March 14, 2022

I love it!

Super pretty and comfortable

March 13, 2022

zipper chest pocket & please size rain gear a little larger to fit over inner jackets.

It would be very helpful to have a zipper chest pocket large enough for a standard cell phone. Even better if that pocket could be accessed from both the inside and the outside of the jacket. I WOULD RECCOMMEND THIS FOR ALL YOUR JACKETS. People use these for work, not just play so they sometimes do not have the ability to leave the phone at home. A... Read Morelso those of us who go places solo like to have the phone with us, just turned off unless we to call for assistance. Also raingear is often warn over other layers or jackets a bit larger to fit over would be nice.

March 13, 2022

Well made

Well constructed, good looking shell for downpours like those common to FL & I intend to take it traveling so the fact that it can be stuffed into one of the pockets to stow away is great as well. First wear the jacket is a bit stiff& crinkly sounding, sleeves are a bit long would benefit from elastic in addition to the Velcro. Adding or us... Read Moreing a fabric to provide either wind blockage or minimal insulation would be nice too as I noticed even a mild chill went right through the jacket.

Response from Patagonia
March 21, 2022

Hi Kelly! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about some of the disappointments with the jacket. This is all great feedback and we'll pass it along to our design crew. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

March 10, 2022

Keeps you dry!

First off patagonia has the best customer service ! I love this jacket it keeps me completely dry in pouring rain. Beautiful pattern. It is kind of stiff and crunchy not something you would want to wear indoors but to keep you covered in heavy rain its great!!

February 24, 2022

Quality Product

I haven't actually used this raincoat yet but will very soon during Spring rains in Missouri and when I'm trout fishing in the rain. I was most concerned about the size when I ordered but it was perfect! I'm rather petite (5' 2, wt 118) I ordered a medium because I may wear layers. It was a good choice and I like the color (Rose... Read Morehips).

February 21, 2022

Real wind blocker

I love it!! I used it today for the first time at the summit of Mount Baldy where the winds were kind of strong! It kept me warm!!

February 19, 2022

Size

I just received this today and wanted to write a quick note about the sizing since this was a question for me personally. For anyone else wondering if you might be between sizes and should size up, I recommend doing so! I'm usually a size small in outerwear. However, I have a broader ribcage and shoulders, and the medium fits me comfortably (w... Read Moreith a light sweater underneath). Yes, the sleeves are a couple of inches too long for me, but the velcro at the ends is convenient and I don't mind rolling the sleeves up a little bit. I'm glad I waited for the fresh teal color to be restocked -- it's bright but not loud. I'm excited to wear this once the snow turns to rain here and hopefully try it out as a ski shell next winter!

February 13, 2022

Great rain shell

Great in rain and really great as a shell over a down puffer jacket When its cold AND raining

February 7, 2022

Loved it

I really liked that it wasn't too big but also big enough to layer underneath and still be able to bend my arms. It is really hard to fold it so that it fits in its left pocket nicely though.

February 4, 2022

After 2 years, no longe waterproof/repellent.

This shell was excellent for the first 2 years. After that I followed reccomended suggestions of using a water repellent wash and spray to help it continue being dry on the inside. It has not helped and takes on water anytime I'm in the rain. Such a bummer. Alot of money for a rain shell that lasted two years.

Response from Patagonia
February 5, 2022

Hi Courtney, we're sorry to hear that Torrentshell is losing its waterproofing! If laundering it with mild detergent on gentle cycle and drying it on low hasn't helped we'll be happy to help you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it. Thank you for sharing your review!

January 30, 2022

Great waterproof shell

I completely wore out my old torretshell from years of wear and Patagonia gave me a brand new one for just the $20 difference in price. I am a happy camper. I love the kelp pattern and color. I am between small and medium, and the small fits great for this jacket. Its just a waterproof shell, so I wear my wear Patagonia down vest or warm sweatshirt... Read More underneath for warmth as needed. Its a great year round rain jacket.

January 28, 2022

Perfect for Rainy Day Runs

I borrowed my husband's torrentshell for an early, very rainy, windy, morning run. It kept me very dry, and was easy to run in. I saw this one in a store and did not hesitate to purchase. The white is beautiful. 5'7" 120lbs, preferred the medium fit for layering options.

January 25, 2022

Too small even though its a large :(

I was disappointed again to find that the second jacket I bought from Patagonia this winter is too small, despite that I bought a size larger than usual. I allotted for the few lbs I put on this year, but still- its too small to zip. I assume the extra large would have me swimming in the sleeves due to being too long. Feels like Patagonia clothes a... Read Morere only for tall, thin people with no curves :(

January 19, 2022

Exactly what I was looking for! Keeps me dry during rainy days!

I love that this coat that I purchased (medium) fit just the way I wanted it to. The length of the sleeve fit better than any other jacket I have ever owned. Im tall for a female (58) and have an athletic build and can never find a jacket that has sleeves long enough! This is my first purchase from Patagonia, however, it wont be my last.

January 18, 2022

Perfect fit

Wanted a wind shell big enough to fit a lot of layers under. I usually wear a small but I got a medium for more room and its perfect. I can fit an insulated jacket underneath size small.

January 14, 2022

super dry

great lightweight 100% waterproof shell for mountain life!

January 8, 2022

Great quality and warm

Greta quality and warm and I love this dark color

January 7, 2022

Great raincoat

My job allows me to be outdoors in rainy weather, and the Torrentshell can face any rainy day. Pit zips, breatheable, easily-adjustable hood, these all add up to an exceptional and lightweight jacket perfect for the outdoors professional. Highly recommended.

January 4, 2022

Great in the rain

The jacket is very comfortable and easy to carry. I like that the whole jacket can fit into its own pocket and be kept in a bag to grab in case it rains. The built in visor is helpful. It fits snug, which helps keep the rain out, yet it is still very comfortable. If you plan to wear layers then you may want to size up.

January 4, 2022

Comfortable

Super comfortable and fits great. Lots of compliments when worn!

January 4, 2022

Comfortable

Super comfortable and fits great. Lord of compliments when worn!

January 3, 2022

Slim fit at hips

Received jacket and love it, but I usually fall in-between sizes and need verify cut/vet reviews before deciding on size. And yes, I always check the size chart. Thought Id be okay with a small, but too narrow a cut at hips. So while the top fits fine (room for layering); it is too snug at hips to wear for hiking. Will wait for colors to come in an... Read Mored order up a size. Top will be a tad big, but will allow for extra layering.

January 2, 2022

Good rain coat!

I bought this jacket for my wife after her previous jacket from a different company started to flake and peel. She wore it out in the rain last weekend and said the material is superior quality and the jacket kept her warm and dry in heavy rain. She loves the fit too! She is 5'4" and 125 lbs.

January 2, 2022

Rain Jacket

This was a Christmas gift for my daughter, and she absolutely loves this rain jacket. In the past she's worn a small, but she wanted a bit more room & the medium was perfect!

December 31, 2021

Love it!

Comfortable, room to move, lightweight, great rain protection, looks good on. Bought a second one for my daughter.

December 30, 2021

Keep the rain away

Great new rain jacket that packs pretty well and keeps me dry. The vents are great for warm tropical rains and I look for years of staying warm and dry.

December 29, 2021

perfect raincoat

Construction is great. Hood has a good pitch to keep the rain off your face. Great product.

December 28, 2021

Awesome just buy um

Supah good products, perfect for Hawaii. Mahalo Patagonia

December 27, 2021

Wonderful

We love this coat.

December 19, 2021

Perfect & love the white color

Perfect shell for at home & travel. Packs easy via stuffing into its own LT pocket, so easy in a day pack too. The white color is perfect and different from everyone else.

December 18, 2021

Super comfortable

Hi I love it my torrent jacket I was in the rain and it was all dry awesome.. definitely good material.everything Patagonia makes it just unbelievable awesome.. thank you for all Patagonia

December 15, 2021

Fits perfectly!

I'm a very small person (152cm - 45kg) and always have difficulty finding adult clothes that fit me. This fits perfectly. High quality and well made. Was thinking I would use this as the outer layer for when I go snowboarding but it hasn't snowed yet so we shall see. For now it's perfect for casual wear and cycling in the city.

December 14, 2021

THE BEST rainjacket/running jacket/etc. etc. etc.

This jacket is going to get a lot of use...I wear it when I run and need another layer. Walking the dog when it is lightly raining in the Fall and need a layer over a long sleeve; in the early Winter with a fleece; in the Spring as a rain coat. Keeps me dry and looks great. What more could you want? LOVE it.

December 12, 2021

Favorite Travel Jacket

I always always pack this jacket when I travel. You never know what weather you might get and this jacket has saved me a million times. Rainy? Check. Windy? Check. Light jacket? Check. Layer up for frigid temps? Check. Too cold on the plane? Check. Tiny and packable? Check. I'm about to buy 2 more colors.

December 12, 2021

Its a gift.

Its a gift

December 4, 2021

Versatile

Great all-round rain protection and good for wind. Packs small and light so whether its a warm downpour in to July in Tokyo or November in the Pacific Northwest, the Torrentshell got you covered.

December 2, 2021

Water and wind proof

I was looking for a bulletproof rain jacket and am happy to report I found one. It fits well with a down vest layer or puffy and has been worn in a downpour with no leaking through and in a chilly blow with warmth retained. A great purchase!

November 27, 2021

Love My New Jacket

I ordered the RHP color and love it! The fit is perfect for me. Walked outside with it on and it repelled the rain beautifully.

November 24, 2021

Terrific!

Exactly what I was looking for

November 23, 2021

Rain coat

Big difference in sizes from xl to 2x

November 23, 2021

Rain proof!

Completely, reliably rain proof. I only wish it had a 2-way zipper!

November 22, 2021

Spectacular Jacket

I LOVE this jacket. Its a great rain and wind breaker all by itself or as a super comfy shell over my down parka. Its bright colors make me feel happy and excited whether Im hiking on a trail, shoveling dirt or delivering loaves of French bread. I am beyond happy with this fantastic coat!

November 21, 2021

Rainy days

Great looking jacket for inclement weather. Rain & wind resistant. Havent had much of a chance to wear it.

November 20, 2021

Waterproof but very narrow body cut

I bought this very expensive jacket after reading an article comparing the effectiveness of various brands of rainwear. As a gardener working outside, I am subjected to Cole earth, dew, sprinkler systems, rain and cold temperatures. The jacket is warm and waterproof so far. I've had it a few weeks. The torso is very narrow, and I would prefer ... Read Morea straight side to give airflow and room to manoeuvre. The XL would be better for me. I weigh about 169 pounds, so slightly overweight but the jacket is uncomfortably tight even over a thin t-shirt.

November 20, 2021

Nothing special

It is really nothing special about it For the price i was expecting a better material

November 19, 2021

Fits great but pockets leak through

Overall, I really like my Torrentshell. Fits great, with room to layer underneath. I love the way the hood fits, even with a hoodie underneath. I purchased it a year and a half ago, but only just wore it in a heavy rain in the PNW. My phone and wallet were in my pockets and both ended up soaking wet, which is quite disappointing. Besides that, love... Read More the jacket. I just wish I didn't have to worry about things in my pockets getting wet.

Response from Patagonia
November 24, 2021

Hi Christina, thanks for taking the time to write a review. We're sorry to hear about your pockets leaking. If they are zipped up and this is still happening, it's possible that this is a warranty issue. Feel free to [reach out](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) so we can assist you with sending this in for warranty evaluation.

November 18, 2021

Biking at night

THis is the third Patagonia jacket I've owned. The first two had the same de-lamination problem--lining in the area around the back of my neck peel off. I thought it was because I didn't wash it often. But the second one had the same problem and it was fairly new. Still, I need a sturdy jacket for biking. I need the bright colors for hig... Read Moreh visibility especially at night. This does the job. This third one is a bit bigger around the torso than the previous one. I miss the upper left chest pocket, which I use for my cellphone. Maybe Patagonia will restore the pocket in future versions.

November 17, 2021

Highly Recommend

I originally purchased the Artic White jacket. I'm busty (hourglass figure), so purchased the largest size, as it's often hard to find a rain jacket that zips comfortably. This jacket is so great that I purchased a second (red color blocked). Lots of complements - many asking where they could buy one. Fits an hourglass figure nicely witho... Read Moreut the arms being too long and ends mid hip on me. I walk a lot and have been caught in several downpours. This jacket kept me dry without issue. Zippers under arms are great for ventilation when needed. Comfortable with a few layers underneath. I'm very pleased with this jacket. It's excellently priced, very good quality fabric and sewing. When on it looks like a "sportive / day on the slopes" rain jacket. #love

November 17, 2021

Solid, lightweight rain jacket

The fabric is sturdy, but light. I like the fit and the length is good. I would love more pockets, especially inside.

November 16, 2021

Great Shell

Bought this jacket to summit St Helens, and the trip got canceled. BUT I've been wearing it around town and on short hikes and it's been so great. Very well sealed keeps all the wind out. So far it's kept me super dry, but I haven't taken it through super heavy rain yet. It's kept me warm as an outer layer. The only thing I... Read More wish it had is a little reflective patch on the back for urban environments, but overall I'm very happy with the jacket and I can't wait to use it on more hikes.

November 16, 2021

Runs small

I am a typical XL in size and ordered a XXL to allow room for layering. This jacket was very large in the arms and shoulders and I couldn’t even get it zipped around my hips. Such a disappointment. This jacket is not an average XXL.

Response from Patagonia
November 23, 2021

Hi Jessica, thank you for your feedback! We're sorry to hear the sizing didn't work out. Please know we are always happy to provide exact garment measurements to ensure a confident fit in the future.

November 15, 2021

NICE JACKET

I have been in need of a decent rain jacket for some time and have not been successful in finding something I like that fits my need and budget. My first was too hot; I cannot wear those rubber slicker types i die in them. I found one that wasn't plastic (or whatever) but it and only repelled water. I finally decided to go with a good brand co... Read Moreat and settled on this jacket. I love it with all the vents, pockets etc. I've only had one occasion to wear it so far and i was very happy. It kept me warm and dry - it was in the low 50's raining and I only had a long sleeved t-shirt on under it and i was very comfortable. My only complaint at all on this jacket is the material is a little stiffer than I'd like and it's very crinkly (almost noisy) - not a fan. But given all the other pluses, this I can live with. Also, I'm hoping with wearing and time it will be less crinkly.

November 15, 2021

looks good, fits well and warm

havent worn it in heavy rain yet - it stayed dry with steady showers.

November 12, 2021

Water repellent

It is definitely water proof and that is what I am looking for when the weather is wet. Feels comfortable without being bulky.

November 11, 2021

Actually rain-proof!!!

I love this raincoat!

November 9, 2021

Appropriately Roomy

I chose the size that fit my chest (45in XL) rather than my waist/hips (35/45in L) according to the fit guide so the fit it a bit large but still comfortable (it does not noticeably nip in at the waist) and has room for another layer underneath. So far it's been completely waterproof and is not too hot. The hood protects my whole face, thumbs ... Read Moreup!

November 9, 2021

Rain Jacket

Fits perfect. I purchased a large so I could be comfortable when layering a fleece or other clothes underneath. Packs small for traveling too. Good quality! I'll have this for years to come.

November 9, 2021

Nice rain jacket

This jacket is great for the fickle weather in the mountains of Western Maryland. I will wear this in the fall ,spring and summer. I can put this on over a long sleeve shirt and a fleece for chilly days and it repells water completely. I'm a sixty year old, with a small frame and I wear size 8 petite pants. I purchased this to wear on the play... Read Moreground when I am outside with my preschool classroom and when I hike in the woods or walk in my neighborhood.

November 2, 2021

Wind resistant- waterproof

This is super lightweight, yet really blocks the wind and light rain. Havent used in heavy rain yet.

November 2, 2021

Medicane and Cyclone Apollo

My husband and I each bought Torrentshells prior to last weeks trip to Southern Italy and Sicily. Not intentional but we were there for the Medicane and Cyclone Apollo. So much rain! The jackets worked beautifully! I just wish wed also taken rain pants!

November 1, 2021

Covers your butt

I had an older version of this jacket. Fit is more narrow in hip but longer and covers your butt. Have not tried this out in the rain but good for a top layer in fall.

October 31, 2021

Perfect rain coat

Perfect layer for people who want to wear a thin sweater under in winter or just a fall or spring rainy day by itself. This might not be true for a lot of people, but I get hot very easily so it's all I need on most mild winter days (mid-30 degree range) with a couple layers underneath plus hat and gloves. This is my second torrentshell in 15 ... Read Moreyears (I wore the other one thin) and am looking forward to bonding with this one now as my new favorite coat!

October 29, 2021

Dry

This coat feels like an upgrade from my older torrentshell and has proved to keep me dry. Pit zips are a plus and a must and so lightweight and packable

October 24, 2021

Perfect Fall/Spring Rain Gear

This is a great jacket! Stylish , great in the rain, flexible fabric. Plus I love white ! However, I often have a problem with Patagonia fit. I am 5'6", weigh 130 lbs, wear a size 6 in almost every garment from every manufacturer. The medium jacket has sleeves a bit too long and there is too much material in the back shoulders. However, t... Read Morehe small jacket, while a better fit in the shoulders, arms and chest, was too short. Therefore. I bought the medium and I still love it. I can never buy Patagonia pants, almost always too small, although I wear a small in Zella and a 6 in Lululemon. The Patagonia polartec jackets (RN51884,STY25543) and vests I bought last year in a size small are a perfect fit. The best fitting garment I have ever purchased from Patagonia is the 3-in-one coat I purchased last year in a size medium (RN51884, STY28409). I wish Patagonia sizing would be more consistent.

Response from Patagonia
November 1, 2021

Thanks for the feedback on the fit Jane. We do have differences in our fit from slim fit, to regular, to relaxed. We're always happy to provide garment dimensions prior to purchase.

October 23, 2021

LOVE

Had an older version for 15 years Got this new version and still the great quality and fit! Love Patagonia Please bring back the Serenity pants

October 18, 2021

Great in the rain!

I especially like the hood. The bill is long enough to keep rain from getting in my eyes. The rain jacket is comfortable, due to the underarm vents. The velcro at the wrists help to adjust the sleeve length.

October 16, 2021

Dry & comfortable

the white color is great for before sunrise walking, helps cars see me, so far has been great for keeping me dry in an occasional rain storm, underarm vents work like a charm to cool me down. Happy so far!

October 8, 2021

Perfect little shell

This was ordered for city wear and it is nicely appointed and light.

October 7, 2021

Great updated rain jacket

I had a problem with my old rain jacket and Patagonia understood and was completely aware of the problem. They exchanged my jacket without any problems. The updated jacket is an excellent update. I am really happy with my new jacket.

October 2, 2021

Very light, waterproof, stylish.

The first order was lost and Patagonia's excellent customer service had a replacement to me in two days. Thank You!

September 26, 2021

Bought for Peru. Got SOAKED.

I love most things I have from Patagonia. Bought this jacket for a trip to Peru and found out on the trip how poorly designed it is. The jacket itself isn't very waterproof, it is a bit short imo but the deal breaker; the hood is pointless. The hood doesn't protect your face from rain at all. An extra inch of fabric along the hood would d... Read Moreo wonders to make this jacket more comfortable. Instead, I was pelted in the face all day while visiting Macchu Picchu. Other people actually commented on the uselessness of the Patagonia jacket by how soaking wet I was compared to others. I gave it away and got something else.

Response from Patagonia
October 5, 2021

We're so sorry that the hood didn't work for you. If you still happen to have it we'd be happy to help you return it.

September 19, 2021

Best rain jacket out there

This rain jacket had, best rain jacket to buy, reviews and it is true! Great fit, great hood and keeps you bone dry. Love it!

September 15, 2021

Bring on the rain

This is an amazing rain jacket. Great color! Great fit- and I can wear hoodie or sweater under it. Repels water and looks good! Who could ask for more!

September 15, 2021

Water proof

Love love this jacket. I do wish the zipper was a dual zip from the bottom so when I bend over etc I would have some better flexibility. Totally recommend otherwise.

Response from Patagonia
September 24, 2021

Thanks for your review! If you prefer a two-way zipper, we recommend the longer [Women's Torrentshell City Coat](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-torrentshell-3-layer-city-rain-coat/27119.html?).

September 12, 2021

Not waterproof

I bought this jacket as a rain jacket to run and bike in. I loved it when I tried it on - it was roomy enough to run in comfortably and fit several layers underneath as it gets colder (I live in Boston). I did not want a tight fit and had been looking for a replacement for my goretex jacket. However, when I wore it to run in a moderate rainstorm I ... Read Morenoticed that it was not repelling water and that my shirt underneath was wet. I was hoping this was a fluke and I tried it again a few days later but same thing - wet underneath and quite uncomfortable. I went back to my old goretex and it was much better despite a rip in the side. I dont know if I can return the jacket now that I have worn it but it is NOT waterproof and I will have to but another rain jacket (going with goretex next time).

September 12, 2021

9 years and still going

I've had this jacket for 9 years, re-waterproofed it multiple times, and most recently sent to patagonia repair to waterproof again (as I couldn't get the waterproofing to work this last time). Works great. First few years I wore it snowboarding, and then I moved and mostly fly fishing, hiking, camping, and traveling (wearing packs and ... Read Moreshoving it into packs). I definitely haven't beat it up like my climbing gear bc I love the color so much, but it still keeps me dry and holds it shape. I'm 5' 6" 110lbs lean athletic build w/ longer torso

September 12, 2021

Keeps me dry!!!!!

I have to walk quite a ways to my car from the office and this jacket keeps my nice and dry! No hassle holding an umbrella! And can I say I LOVE the hood with the little bill!!!! No wet makeup!!!!! Best purchase!!!!!

September 7, 2021

Perfect for rainy weather

Its hard to find the smallest sizes in outerwear in stores so this was a great find! Plus the vibrant color will be welcome on a gray day

September 3, 2021

super waterproof

I hiked in a constant downpour of rain for 8 miles to a backcountry chalet. I was dry when I arrived

September 3, 2021

Doesnt Wash Well

Bought this jacket in a pinch when I realized I under packed for an endurance cycling event out in the mountains. I instantly fell in love with it. Looked great, kept me warm and dry. I bought the jacket in white. After the ride I had a few dirt spots on it in which I used a very mild stain remover (that Ive safely used on many other items) and was... Read Morehed alone in cold water. When I took it out of the washer, it was COVERED in big blue grease spots. Despite my very best effort, I could not get them out. The wash instructions were minimal and gave no indication on how the material should be cared for. So disappointed with how this product washed up. Im heartbroken as I only wore it once.

Response from Patagonia
September 13, 2021

Hey Rebecca, thanks for the review on the Torrentshell 3L Rain Jacket. It sounds like there might have been something in the wash that caused the color transfer. The care on this jacket is relatively simple, please see below. Here are some [stain removal tips](https://www.patagonia.com/product-care.html) on our website, scroll down to "More Patagonia Product Care Tips" and find the type of stain that seems to suit what's on your jacket. If you give those instructions a go and find that you're still having issues, feel free to reach out to us so we can go over some other options for you. Care Instructions-- Machine wash warm, do not bleach, tumble dry low, cool iron.

September 2, 2021

Great jacket

I was a little nervous purchasing this jacket in small because I need to wear a mid layer but thankfully the jacket is true to size, and runs bigger than their other tops. I found patagonia tops to run small and usually need to buy medium but this jacket is a great fit in small. Love it.

August 31, 2021

Disappointed

I was super excited for this rain jacket. The jacket keeps you dry and is breathable. I had the jacket for 2 1/2 years. I probably got no more than 10 wears of the jacket and the lining is peeling. I am truly disappointed and expected to wear the jacket for at least 5 years. I do not recommend for the above reason

Response from Patagonia
September 2, 2021

Hi Vercell, we're so sorry to hear about your experience with your Torrentshell lining peeling off. This is called delamination, which can happen from things like sweat, dirt, and different oils from your skin that can start to break down the inner liner of a waterproof jacket. To prevent this in the future, we'd suggest washing and drying the jacket on low heat regularly. Unfortunately, delamination is not something we can repair, however it is something that is covered under our warranty. Please [contact us](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) so we can assist with a warranty return.

August 24, 2021

Sturdy, Lightweight, Great Fit

Being 5'1" and quite petite, I have trouble finding rain jackets that don't look super frumpy or too long/wide SOMEWHERE as outdoorwear isn't usually made for people of my stature. To my surprise, this Patagonia jacket fits me exactly how I wanted - and it wasn't even the smallest size! The length of the body + sleeves were... Read More perfect, while still giving me some room to layer on those colder hikes. Best of all, it was thin and light enough to pack into my backpack when I didn't need it. 10/10 all around, worth every penny!

August 22, 2021

Good looking and practical

Good looking and practical and water proof.

August 19, 2021

Stay dry

I purchased this because I was tired of wearing rain jackets and feeling wet and sticky. I can wear this with a tshirt and dont feel that yucky sticky feeling I used to get with other brands of rain jackets. It still is super light and easily packs away in my backpack.

August 11, 2021

A surprise

I never write reviews, however, I recently had a pretty special experience at your Boston store. I happened in to purchase a birthday gift for my husband. I was speaking with one of the staff and mentioned that I was disappointed with my less than 10 year old torrentshell, because it was no longer waterproof in the shoulders or wrists. After a litt... Read Morele friendly back and forth, the staff member said if you bring it back in "we'll take care of you". I laughed and continued shopping and then thought wait . . . it's in the trunk of my car. I retrieved it and they gave me the new torrentshell. It's been a rainy summer here and, of course, it is keeping me dry. It has an extra layer of waterproofing, per the staff, and it definitely feels thicker than my previous coat. Here's hoping this one lasts as long as my 1982 stand up pants. I can't tell you how it made my day - it was such a pleasant and unexpected surprise! Thank you Patagonia! and thank you Boston staff!

August 10, 2021

Perfect Rain Jacket

This rain jacket is perfection. Great, fitted look and keeps me dry. A classic.

August 9, 2021

Good rain jacket

Great jacket that looks good while keeping you warm and dry. I gave it 4 stars only because the zipper gets stuck occasionally. My daughter has the same issue with her jacket.

August 6, 2021

Love my jacket!

As always, Patagonia has an exceptional product. My rain jacket is exactly what I wanted. It repels water, is lightweight, and very pretty. I knew the arms would be a little long. I had to order a large to have it fit in the chest. This is my second Patagonia jacket purchase, and I will never order anywhere else.

August 4, 2021

Super light

I'm very much pleased with this purchase. It is a lightweight coat but so far it has protected me from mild wind & rain. I also like the mint/green color.

August 2, 2021

Attractive but pros and cons

I had high hopes for a well put together waterproof rain jacket since Patagonia is known for good quality products. I live in a very rainy part of Alaska and needed something new that would work for summers here. I wore it yesterday and found some good and not so good things. Some good parts are: it is flattering though a little narrower in the wai... Read Morest than ideal for me. It has nice deep zippered pockets, a nice hood that can be cinched and I love the green color I purchased, soft and almost neutral. Not so good things are: surprisingly no inside or top outside pocket I associate with well designed outdoorsy use jackets. I automatically reached for it but wasnt there assuming wrongly. The armpit zippers look awful when unzipped in terms of puffy, odd appearance added. I needed to unzip these because I was warm in it and was in the 60s. As mentioned by others the sleeves are way too long so I folded them up. So I may or may not keep this. I like it but have felt disappointed. I will see how it does in heavy rain and that might be the decision factor for me.

July 30, 2021

Rain jacket

Purchased as light jacket that provides rain protection. Perfect!

July 29, 2021

Great Rain Jacket

Great rain jacket, not too hot, keeps me dry and fits well. I did order a size up because I wanted to be able to layer it over a fleece or light jacket.

July 21, 2021

Keeping me dry

I bought this to keep dry, or as dry as possible when we visit Disney World in Florida.

July 21, 2021

Great Jacket

The medium fit perfectly, however thought I wanted a little extra room so I could wear my down jacket under (going to Iceland in late September) so went with the large, hard choice though. Both the medium and large the arms are extremely long, I dont understand why- the Velcro closures at the wrists are the saving grace. The jacket is top notch for... Read More construction- it will be a piece in my wardrobe for years to come! Oh and I returned the medium without hassle and was refunded promptly!

July 20, 2021

Excellent rain jacket

Cleaning hotel rooms and making very little money, I will spend my entire paycheck on your clothes for my adventurous daughter. To see the sheer excitement on her face when she receives a Patagonia pkg from her momma. Thank you for making well futting and quality products! And, in my daughter's eye...mother of the year!

July 19, 2021

Love this jacket

Love Love Love. My Torrentshell from 2013 started to fall apart and got the new version--it's perfect.

July 12, 2021

Great jacket except for stowing hood

It is a good quality jacket and fits well. But, I prefer to stow the hood when not using it. The jacket does not have the usual compartment secured by velcro to stow the hood. Instead, after rolling up the hood, you have to secure the clip on the back of it to a loop on the inside of the jacket. It is not comfortable and does not store compactly. I... Read More am returning the jacket, but hoping Patagonia makes a design change, so I can purchase it in future.

Response from Patagonia
July 15, 2021

Thanks for your feedback. We don't currently offer a Women's rain jacket with this feature but hope you find something you love.

July 11, 2021

Great lightweight rain shell

I bought this jacket for backpacking because of its light weight and ratings. So far I love it. I don't feel that it is too crinkly like other reviews. You can tell the quality is good.

July 3, 2021

Easy exchange process

I bought this for my mom, and originally ordered a Medium which was too big and long. The exchange process was so simple and fast, the small fit her very well and she said the jackets perfect for her daily needs and hiking!

June 23, 2021

Perfectly Dry

Well made and comfortable. A tad on the larger side which would be good if you needed a warm layer underneath. The hood is awesome for keeping the rain off. Great jacket.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches