Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Torrentshell 3L Rain Jacket

Write Your Review

4.5/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XXS
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 94 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Torrentshell 3L Rain Jacket

4.5/5
July 21, 2021

Keeping me dry

I bought this to keep dry, or as dry as possible when we visit Disney World in Florida.

July 21, 2021

Great Jacket

The medium fit perfectly, however thought I wanted a little extra room so I could wear my down jacket under (going to Iceland in late September) so went with the large, hard choice though. Both the medium and large the arms are extremely long, I dont understand why- the Velcro closures at the wrists are the saving grace. The jacket is top notch for... Read More construction- it will be a piece in my wardrobe for years to come! Oh and I returned the medium without hassle and was refunded promptly!

July 20, 2021

Excellent rain jacket

Cleaning hotel rooms and making very little money, I will spend my entire paycheck on your clothes for my adventurous daughter. To see the sheer excitement on her face when she receives a Patagonia pkg from her momma. Thank you for making well futting and quality products! And, in my daughter's eye...mother of the year!

July 19, 2021

Love this jacket

Love Love Love. My Torrentshell from 2013 started to fall apart and got the new version--it's perfect.

July 12, 2021

Great jacket except for stowing hood

It is a good quality jacket and fits well. But, I prefer to stow the hood when not using it. The jacket does not have the usual compartment secured by velcro to stow the hood. Instead, after rolling up the hood, you have to secure the clip on the back of it to a loop on the inside of the jacket. It is not comfortable and does not store compactly. I... Read More am returning the jacket, but hoping Patagonia makes a design change, so I can purchase it in future.

Response from Patagonia
July 15, 2021

Thanks for your feedback. We don't currently offer a Women's rain jacket with this feature but hope you find something you love.

July 11, 2021

Great lightweight rain shell

I bought this jacket for backpacking because of its light weight and ratings. So far I love it. I don't feel that it is too crinkly like other reviews. You can tell the quality is good.

July 3, 2021

Easy exchange process

I bought this for my mom, and originally ordered a Medium which was too big and long. The exchange process was so simple and fast, the small fit her very well and she said the jackets perfect for her daily needs and hiking!

June 23, 2021

Perfectly Dry

Well made and comfortable. A tad on the larger side which would be good if you needed a warm layer underneath. The hood is awesome for keeping the rain off. Great jacket.

June 22, 2021

High Ratings...And Now I Know Why!

I've been looking for a practical, packable waterproof rain jacket for a long time, looking ahead to travel this year and next. My husband read somewhere that this Patagonia jacket was top rated, relatively reasonably priced and I was always impressed with the Patagonia name. The jacket fits great, the hood is actually substantial and provides... Read More full coverage - and I love the fact I can stuff it into a pocket for packing/traveling purposes. I anticipate I'll be using it a lot when traveling - or if it's raining where we live.

June 22, 2021

Fantastic lightweight jacket for humid conditions!

I bought the Patagonia Torrentshell 3L rain jacket last year and it is so good, especially in humid and warm climates! I can layer it easily over a thermal or sweater if it is cooler and it keeps all moisture away. Only detail I'd like this jacket to feature would be a drawstring closure around the neck to prevent rain from slipping in. Hood e... Read Morextends out a bit from the top and keeps glasses from getting wet. Underarm seams have zippers for ventilation if needed. Bottom has a drawstring cinch if preferred. I used it while exploring Victoria Falls and it kept my iPhone, dslr camera and t-shirt completely dry.

June 19, 2021

Looks Great!

For reference, Im 5 ft 5 in and weigh 147 lbs. The jacket fits really good and true to size but the sleeves are on the longer size. I did need to roll the sleeve up a little but aside from that, spacious enough to wear a sweater underneath and fits really comfortably!

June 16, 2021

Excellent fit!

Love that it fits well. Hood adjustability blocks wind and rain well.

June 15, 2021

Most comfortable jacket I've ever had

I hike as part of my fine art photography outings. Comfort helps keep my mind on esthetics. I wanted something weather resistance, warm but breathable, and that allowed fluid movement. This jacket was a homerun! It just feels right.

June 13, 2021

Repels water as advertised.

A wonderful product. Just right.

June 13, 2021

Great jacket

This jacket fits perfectly and is breathable. I love it!

June 11, 2021

Torrent rain shell

Fits great!

June 8, 2021

My go-to light jacket

I love the Torrentshell. Lightweight, fits great, perfect for the rain, wind or chilly day. Easy to pack its a staple when traveling.

May 20, 2021

Material

Like the jacket but it feels like paper. Whenever you move it makes so much krinkley noise.

May 16, 2021

Great rain coat

I am 5'8, 165 pounds, and the large fits me perfectly. I have pretty long arms and the sleeves are just the right length, keep that in mind when choosing a size. This jacket is very lightweight, perfect for a warm rainy day. I've already worn it in the rain, it was great, hood fits completely over my head, no need for an umbrella!

May 12, 2021

Purchased as a Mother's Day gift, very satisfied

Gifted to my mother for Mother's Day. It was a funny convenience that it rained that day so she was able to try it on when we stepped out. She loves it!

May 11, 2021

Great jacket

Love it but would like a looser fit

May 5, 2021

Perfect for rainy days

I am using this jacket for rainy days. It fits well and is perfect for keeping me dry! If it's chilly, I have room to add a fleece underneath. I am usually a medium, but ordered a large. Sleeves are a tad long, but the Velcro straps keep them from hanging over my hands. I am very happy with this jacket and hope to have it for years to come.

May 5, 2021

Amazing

Water proof, light weight. Comfort. Style. Color block is perfect. Fit is perfect. Zipper vents at the armpits works well if you get to warm.

May 2, 2021

Zipper jammed

great jacket....though ran into a problem today. The carbiner loop in the left hand pocket got jammed in the zipper and it was impossible to open the pocket. Big issue- my house keys were in that pocket!!! Luckily my husband was home and managed to pry open the zipper with pliers, after reaching in the one-half inch that the zipper could open and c... Read Moreutting the loop. Me and my bad luck that will probably never happen to anyone else.

Response from Patagonia
May 4, 2021

Hey Marsha! We're so sorry to hear that you had this issue with your zipper. Please reach out to our Customer Service team to get set up with a warranty return.

May 1, 2021

Good for all use

Wish it was not so crunchy sounding

April 29, 2021

A nice weight material

Just got my jacket last week and have used it several times in this unpredictable Spring weather. I'm on the chunky side but can eadily wear a thick cotton shirt under it. I plan to get a lot of use from this jacket.

April 27, 2021

Excellent Rain Jacket

This jacket meets all of my requirements for a great rain coat because:omg 1) It is lightweight. 2) It can be stored in the pocket as a pouch when travelling. 3) The technical details such as the stow away hood and the pit zips. 4) It is true to size with some room for a warmer layer underneath (just follow the size guide). 5) The length: not to... Read Moreo long/ not too short. 6) The colour: I bought it in black and it pairs easy with workout clothes or jeans. 7) The quality.

April 25, 2021

Great Rain Jacket

This jacket is GREAT for the spring and summer seasons when you want to stay dry from the rain. Great, durable material. This is my second color!

April 22, 2021

Perfect for rain and wind cover

Love this jacket. The fabric is a little loud but it keeps me dry and warm against the wind.

April 16, 2021

The chin cinches have a hidden lock

I wanted to write a review because this may not be obvious to everyone. I had to contact customer service and they had to dive deep to find this answer as well! The cinch cords near the chin can be pulled down but you might notice. they don't stay put. The solution is feel along the hood rim and you will encounter the cinch cord locks. Pinch t... Read Morehem, adjust the hood cord, and release. It holds MUCH better than before. Not perfect, but much better. Also, Patagonia. This would be a 5 star product if it had one pocket on the inside that was pretty watertight, just to keep a car key.

April 15, 2021

All purpose

I ordered small but it was too small zipped up to sit comfortably b the car. I reordered it in medium. Length ok but arms way too long. I still weigh 110 and older Patagonia un size small fit. I still wear many years worth of garments. Wonderful to not wear out. Janet

Response from Patagonia
April 15, 2021

Thank you for this valuable feedback on our Torrentshell 3L Rain Jacket, we've passed the word along about the fit. If you find the long sleeves to be bothersome, feel free to begin a [return here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

April 12, 2021

My favorite

I love this jacket it is super comfy and works great in wind or rain. Also super cute!

April 12, 2021

Great Rain Gear

I prefer purchasing petite-sized/Medium clothing. This rain jacket was not available in Petite. Medium was too small around my hips, so I moved up to a Large. Sleeves were 6" too long. Glad I have been sewing for years and could disassemble the cuffs and shorten the sleeves. The hood provides stellar coverage and protection for those stormy ev... Read Moreents and the length goes just below the hips for more protection. Light weight making this jacket the perfect rain gear to have on hand.

April 7, 2021

good layer piece

This jacket definitely repels the rain. However, unless you are doing an outdoor activity to keep you warm or live in a warm climate, I would layer up! I would appreciate a liner in it

April 6, 2021

Lasts a long time

I had a previous version of the Torrentshell that lasted almost 10 years before the inside lining started to peel off. This new jacket has a lining made of fabric and feels thicker, hope it will last just as long!

April 5, 2021

Great updated fit

I had this jacket in college and needed an upgrade. Its a great fit and length. Perfect for casual wear & exercising. Its lightweight and perfect for a rainy Mississippi spring

April 4, 2021

Well constructed

I had to return my jacket for a size up which was ok since I like to be able to layer as needed. I am usually a medium. The large was still a little snug around the hips but still wearable. I feel like the clothes for women are made for slender women without curves. I would appreciate a more generous fit. I really like the jacket and the green colo... Read Morer is great. Price is a little high but am hoping the jacket will last a long time. I dont mind paying for quality.

April 3, 2021

Great Rain Jacket

I have been wearing the same black rain coat since college and thought it was finally time for an upgrade. This jacket is perfect. It's lightweight and water resistant. It'll be perfect for this spring!

March 31, 2021

Wind and rain repellant

As a woman, I love how this jacket fits: It's not baggy and feels like it has a custom fit for my body type. It's very durable and does the job of blocking wind and rain and also keeps me warm enough over a sweatshirt in unpredictable Michigan spring weather. I especially like that it was made with recycled materials. The hood and pockets... Read More are very handy, too. I think my previous one finally wore out after 15 years of heavy use. I would recommend this jacket to friends and plan on replacing it when needed with the same thing, which will probably be a long time from now.

March 29, 2021

Super dry

Love this jacket...perfect for watching outdoor high school sports in Seattle

March 27, 2021

Definitely water proof

I normally wear a size medium or even small, however I went for the large because I figured I could wear a large over layers. Definitely recommend.

March 26, 2021

Very happy with purchase

Its very true to size. Great quality

March 21, 2021

Great rain jacket

I purchased this for my wife who says she loves it but wishes the cut was different which is the only reason why she said 4 out of 5 stars. Maybe the mens cut she would like better. But for keeping her dry on a rainy day at work or walking, running, and hiking it does its job well. It also breathes well when it is that more humid rain. All in all i... Read Morets a great rain jacket.

March 14, 2021

Comfortable for waterproof

Not as rigid and clunky as some waterproof materials. Vibrant colors.

March 13, 2021

Great jacket as usual from Patagonia

I bought this jacket to be large so I can fit my jacket and down vest underneath. I walk 10 miles a day in the east coast winter and this jacket has kept me dry for the 2 1/2 hours that takes me.

March 10, 2021

Good fit

I still have my old Torrentshell from when they were Unisex size. The new one fits nice, I like the fabric. I havent worn it on a hike yet because we are still Nordic skiing in my neighborhood and havent had rain. The real test will be backpacking out of a lake in the rain for 5 or 6 hours. Ill write another review for you then.

March 8, 2021

Sizing

I haven't gotten much wear out of my jacket yet, so I cannot speak on performance. However, I have tried on both the medium and large sizes. I am 5'4" and about 150lbs. I first chose to size up from a medium to a large so that I could layer under the jacket for colder weather. However, the large was way too big, even for layering. I ... Read Morethen sized down to a medium, and there is still plenty of room with a sweatshirt and a puffy layered underneath. So far, I love the jacket and am excited to use it in more adverse weather!

March 6, 2021

Best Rain Jacket!

This is my second Torrentshell, I LOVE everything about it. It keeps me super dry and I dont get hot, the color is so bright and pretty. I highly recommend, especially for people like me who live in rainy areas. Thanks Patagonia!

February 28, 2021

Definitely waterproof!!!!!!!

I love my waterproof rain jacket. It fits perfectly. I have long arms and the arm length is perfect, I weigh 150 and could easily get my Patagonia fleece under my raincoat in cold weather!

February 27, 2021

The jacket that got me hooked

I bicycle everywhere all the time, regardless of the weather. I needed a waterproof and windproof jacket that would keep me dry, I mean really dry. With this jacket, I have nothing to worry about having my cell phone in the pocket while riding my bicycle in the pouring rain. It is that waterproof. Not the mention the easy maintenance. I am now hook... Read Moreed on Patagonia, as this jacket made me understand the brand's true difference in quality.

February 26, 2021

true to description

Fits well even with a layer underneath. The only negative is that the sleeves are long.

February 26, 2021

Narrow in the hips

A two-way zipper would have made this jacket work for me. The large (Im a size 12) fit, but the hips were very snug, making it awkwardly tight fitting when sitting down. Loved the color and the well fitting hoodI can tell it would keep me dry on those wet dog walks. If youre slim in the hips, this jacket will work.

February 26, 2021

Nice coat but too noisy

I wanted to like this coat and liked most things about it but the very noisy fabric was very distracting when I was out walking in the rain so I returned it.

Response from Patagonia
March 9, 2021

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to write this review and we are sorry you weren't satisfied. In order to create a fabric that is waterproof and up to our H2NO standards, it does end up making some noise when rubbing against itself. With that said, we have passed this feedback along to our Design Team who are constantly working on improving future versions of our gear.

February 25, 2021

Longer than hip length when your 5 tall

Because I am short it came over my hips. It fit fine everywhere but a little snug at the hips. Since it has no insulation I wanted to be able to wear layers underneath. I returned it for a medium.

February 25, 2021

Not completely satisfied with rain jacket

This is the third Torrentshell jacket Ive purchased from Patagonia. If I had been able to try it on in the store, I am not sure I would have purchased it for the following 2 reasons. One, the color is blue blue, like neon blue. The other reason is that it is so crinkly, kind of hard surfaced. It scares my cat when I put it on. The other two jackets... Read More which I still have (although the lining has worn out which is expected after this much use) are not as crinkly and noisy and hard.

February 25, 2021

Worth every penny...

This jacket is perfect for PNW. I wear it daily, vented so I can layer with synchilla pullovers. I got in XXL just to be able to do this and be comfortable. Yep, you heard me, XXL. I dont like tight, fitted outdoor gear and Im afraid that smaller sizes did not offer same comfort with thicker under layers and large chest. Have been loyal Patagonia c... Read Moreustomer for 30 years and counting. To me, best in class. And happy that XXL is an option for me anyway.

February 24, 2021

This must be at least my fourth torrentshell

The new version has upgrades and is more expensive. I'm happy about the pit zips. I thrashed my previous one but it was still fine. I lost it. Wahhh! When my daughter moved to Oregon, I bought her a torrentshell and I bought my sister one, too. So yeah, I like it. It's simple, has two generous pockets (maybe this one has three?) and keeps... Read More me dry in the rainiest conditions for my job thinning California's wildfire fuel. Never stop making this please!

February 24, 2021

Noisy but works

The coat works very well in keeping me dry. I wore it in a downpour yesterday and the water just beaded up on it! Medium would have probably fit but I like it roomy so I can wear a fleece under it if necessary. My only complaint is that it is very noisy. It sounds like crinkling waxed paper when I move. But since it did what it needed to do and kep... Read Moret me dry, I can live with the noise! :-)

February 23, 2021

Ski team gift

I pitched this for a local child on the ski team at Dodge Ridge ski area in California. All of the other kids have this jacket as a team jacket but this athletes could not afford one. I gave it to her as a gift. Seems to fit well but for sure made her feel like a part of the team. She is a very good young person and has a wonderful family. ️

February 23, 2021

Nice fit, super disappointed

This is a really well designed jacket except for one thing. Women, in my opinion, do not want to be forced to carry purses these days. Neither is it desirable to have to hold a smartphone continually if you want to keep your hands in your coat pockets. Why o why would Patagonia, the arbiter of unencumbered wandering, in the forefront of underscorin... Read Moreg female independence, not put an inside pocket in the jacket? What is up with that?

February 18, 2021

Keeps you dry and warm great shell!

I love this jacket, it keep the water & wind out. I got a bigger size so I can wear a sweater or other layers underneath. Great quality my boyfriend wants one now!

February 7, 2021

Perfect

My wife loves it. All seasons jacket. Not to hot but warm enough. Nice wind resistance super comfy

February 6, 2021

Love it!

Perfect for rainy days!

February 6, 2021

Great for running

Perfect coat for running in wind, rain, or snow to stay warm and dry. The first coat I have owned that the hood will stay up throughout the run. I where a small but purchased medium to have room for layers. Lightweight and comfortable. Love it!

January 29, 2021

Perfect!

Ive had several versions of this jacket over the years. Some of them had issues with delaminating and Patagonia replaced the jacket with no issues whatsoever. This version seems tougher. I love this company many reasons. One being their customer service. Buy one and you wont regret it.. Aloha

January 23, 2021

Disappointed

There is no way to keep the hood cinched in place. In the blowing wind and rain, I had to hold the draw strings to keep the hood from flying off, not good while you're trying to work. The fit of the jacket is good overall, so I don't understand how this detail is missed.

Response from Patagonia
February 26, 2021

Hey Elizabeth! So sorry you're disappointed with the hood of the Women's Torrentshell 3L Rain Jacket. It does have a two-way-adjustable hood and a tab to hold the cinch down on the back of the head. Of course, we stand by our products so if you aren't satisfied, we'd be happy to help you find an alternative. [Reach out](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) to us if you're interested in finding something more specific to your needs!

January 14, 2021

Very comfortable!

I absolutely love this jacket! Not only is it super waterproof, but also comfortable enough to wear overtop just a t-shirt or a chunky sweater. I have worn this while walking the dog in the down-poring rain and stayed 100% dry. The zippered pockets make all the difference because I can securely zip my phone and keys and not worry about either of th... Read Moreem falling out or getting wet during my hike or walk. Overall, this is a great jacket and should be a staple in everyone's wardrobe!

January 5, 2021

Awesome rain jacket

Love this rain jacket; wet comfortable and stylish. Seems to run a little big, but nothing too crazy.

January 3, 2021

Perfect Jacket

Loved the color, fit, and material of this jacket. I live in Oregon where it rains a lot and its perfect for my needs.

November 29, 2020

So far, so good.

I walk on rainy Oregon beaches daily. I have gone through a number of raincoats, different brands, and they all stopped being waterproof after a year or two. Im pretty excited about your guarantee. I havent had this coat very long, but, so far so good. The sleeves are extremely long, I feel a bit like a gorilla.

November 25, 2020

Great Product

I have an older version of this jacket I got in 2015. It has been to university campuses, beaches, up mountains, down mountains (hiked down a mountain in Borneo in a steady rainforest downpour for 4 hours--jacket was soaked, T shirt underneath was dry!), and to many different countries. It is light, easy to fold, and the perfect soft shell for any ... Read Moretraveler/hiker/student/etc. After 5 years of heavy usage, the waterproofing is starting to peel away, so I'm sure a replacement is imminent, and I will definitely be choosing the current version of this jacket!

November 23, 2020

Torrentshell is appropriate. I bought it for travel, to be prepared in all weather.

It's roomy enough for me to wear a fleece under it, essential for travel. My previous Torrentshell 2L was de-laminating; Patagonia replaced it with the newer 3L version. Thanks for your help, Customer Service!

November 12, 2020

Solid Rain Jacket

This is a good all round jacket. I love the white color, although if you are going to be doing a lot of dirty stuff then the jacket will ... get dirty.

November 6, 2020

Perfect Jacket

Excellent jacket for rain or wind while walking or hiking. I am petite, so I ordered the XS and the S, as I wasn't sure about the fit. If I wore a lightweight top under the jacket, the XS would have worked well. But, I wanted more versatility under different weather conditions. So, I chose to keep the S, because the fit gave me more options to... Read More add layers as needed. And, I got it in Catalan Coral, the brightest color for safety on busy roads.

November 1, 2020

Incredible Service

This jacket is incredible. I had a 10+ year old torrentshell rain jacket that was starting to fall apart (the lining was flaking). I sent it in to have it repaired. The bad news was that Patagonia was unable to fix it. The good news (that was definitely not expected) was that Patagonia generously sent me a gift card to purchase a replacement. The l... Read Moreining has been improved so I am hopeful that this jacket will not have the same problem. I am blown away by Patagonias commitment to the environment and its customers. Youve just won a customer for life!

November 1, 2020

Love color fit and weight

I bought this to replace my favorite Patagonia rain coat from a billion years ago that had started to peel the protective layer. This coat seems super sturdy, but not too stiff, perfect length overall even with long sleeves for me as they were easy to roll. Ive worn it about 6 times already and its awesome . Oh and the cinching mechanism on the hoo... Read Mored is great . I can see in the rain (some coats on my small frame have hugs hoods that overwhelm me) and the lip of the hood is now a perfect fit. I say go for it! Oh and the Catalina color looks amazing.

November 1, 2020

A Solid Wardrobe Staple

A reliable jacket for layering during New England fall/winter. Its got good insulation and stays dry in light rain and mist. This is my second one so I definitely recommend!

October 19, 2020

Super cute

I just got this jacket in the mail. I tried a XXS. Its almost perfect, its still a little big but honestly as far as jackets go for me the fit is closest to fitting me perfectly. I havent worn it out yet, but I tried it on and it looks very appealing and nice. Its definitely pricey so hopefully its worth the money once I start to wear it more. I li... Read Moreke the appearance of it a lot though and have been wanting a white rain jacket for so long. I might try skiing in it too but I dont want to ruin the jacket.

October 4, 2020

Perfect! Finally a size that fits!

Ive been waiting forever for Patagonia to get on the bandwagon with extended sizing. Having worn Patagonia most of my adult life, Ive been so sad to have to buy inferior products to fit over my chest. A back injury has kept me less active than I like, but I still love hiking and biking and canoeing and camping and being outdoors, and need the gear ... Read Moreto go along with it. I have a Patagonia poncho for rain gear, which is killer, especially for soccer matches in the fall, but it isnt always practical. So Ive been on the search for a high quality rain jacket, and wasnt even considering Patagonia bc of their sizing. Well, lo and behold, theyve finally addressed the issue. This jacket is perfect! A classic that zips, fits, is not binding or tight over the shoulders or across the chest. Enough room to wear over a sweatshirt or lightish sweater. I am typically a 14-16 and this makes me so happy! One note.... it is a little loud/crinkly, but I dont mind because I know it will work as advertised, as all Patagonia does.

September 5, 2020

The perfect rain jacket

I love this jacket. I had one previously and it was ruined in an extremely hot car for a week. So ordering a new one was needed. This version seems to be made even better than my previous jacket. The fit is perfect.

September 3, 2020

Very Waterproof

Lightweight, portable, also loud! (Sounds like one of those reusable plastic bags) but I really like it. It does run rather large though I am 135-140 lbs and EASILY would fit into an XS vs an S. The pit zips also don't have mesh they're just open to exposure which I really don't like and dropped a star for. Now mosquitos can get into... Read More my armpits!!

September 2, 2020

Birthday gift

My bride loves the jacket; we order a large at first but it was too tight around her hips. The XL fit a little loose but she could put a sweater under when it get cold and it fit better at the hip

June 16, 2020

Beautiful jacket - color not practical

I bought this jacket in Birch White and paid full price. It is gorgeous and comfortable. The only problem is that it gets marked and won't come clean. I wouldn't say that it is dirt, it is possibly when I brush up against something. I only wear it to work and take great care of my things. It does take away from how beautiful it is because... Read More of the black and gray marks around the zippers and other areas. Don't recommend the Birch White for that reason only. Patagonia, is there a product that will remove these marks?

Response from Patagonia
June 18, 2020

Hi Paula, sorry to hear about the staining. White is always a tough color to keep clean, but try dabbing those stains with isopropyl or denatured alcohol before washing in warm, soapy water. If that doesn't work and you're terribly unhappy with the look of your jacket, please feel free to return it to us under our Ironclad Guarantee. You can begin that process here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

May 10, 2020

Great basic shell

Small fits as expected - trim-looking but plenty roomy for layers. A Retool zip fleece fits comfortably underneath with room to spare. Sleeves are long for me but are easily adjustable with the Velcro cuff. Very lightweight jacket. Functional hood. Nice colors - I got the Roamer Red. Only two pockets, which is fine for me but might bother others. M... Read Morey only very minor complaint is that I like to hang jackets by their locker loop instead of the hood but cant with this jacket - the loop is minuscule and would only work on a metal hook. Not sure whywhen my other Patagonia jackets have normal sized loops. Have not tested in torrential rain but can vouch for this jacket performing well in wet/windy conditions on both warm (pit zips!) and cool spring days. Just what I needed for changeable weather...

May 10, 2020

Super Nice Rain Jacket

This was a gift for precious Sheri and she LOVES it! She really likes the cut and fit because the jacket moves with her so nicely. Sheri is super happy so I am too :) YAAAAY! = Big Thanks!

May 7, 2020

Love this jacket

I was given this jacket and wore it for over a year. Unfortunately the lining was peeling and would leave white bits of liner every time I wore it. I returned it and without question or delay, Patagonia sent me a credit to replace it. I have to say the newer version does seem better made and more water resistant. I ordered a size up as I have long ... Read Morearms and want to be able to layer under the jacket. The black is very good looking and I cannot wait to get out and wear it on an adventure. Very happy with my order and Patagonia service.

April 29, 2020

Drenched in my Patagonia Torrentshell jacket

Love to hike and was super excited to buy the Patagonia rain jacket to keep me dry when out in the elements. Am so disappointed with this product. Thought Patagonia was a brand I could count on when outdoors but no fun hiking in the rain and being super soaked. I paid a lot for this jacket and expected better.

Response from Patagonia
May 5, 2020

We are very sorry to hear about this and recommend that you send this back to us for a warranty [return](https://www.patagonia.ca/canada-returns.html). We'd be happy to get you something else and discuss what could have happened to cause it to leak through. Thank you for the feedback.

April 12, 2020

Problem with lining

The outside looks great but the lining is cracking and peeling which compromises it's waterproofing. I expected a Patagonia product to hold up better!

Response from Patagonia
April 16, 2020

We are so sorry to hear about the lining of your jacket. You likely have the older version of our Torrentshell that wasn't a three-layer design. We see the peeling of the liner occur with these, and while it isn't something we can fix, you are welcome to send it back to us for a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

March 30, 2020

Do not purchase white

I was very excited to receive this jacket (in white), it has a great fit and a clean style. However, the fabric of the jacket picks up and holds onto any dirt and the material makes it impossible to wash out. Even after soaking in soap and then running in the wash. I was originally planning on it to be an all weather, hiking or walking around the c... Read Moreity raincoat, and I expected a jacket at this price point to be more nature resistant. I am now scared to wear this coat anywhere for fear that it will pick up any bit of dirt and hold onto it. I will be exchanging this item once things are back up and running.

Response from Patagonia
April 15, 2020

Hi Leona, Thank you so much for the product feedback. We are so sorry your Torrentshell 3L Rain Jacket hasn't held up like you wished. We are happy to assist you with a [Return/exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html). We are currently able to assist and would like to resolve this for you.

March 24, 2020

Waterproof, durable and comfy

Best jacket for getting caught in a shower. Reliable, durable, a great buy!

March 11, 2020

MUST HAVE!!

I recently just purchased this jacket in the grey color. When it came in, it turned out to be more of a dusty purple rather than grey which I love even more. The jacket itself is very compact and easy to travel will, and is wonderful for drizzly 40 degree days. I purchased the small and it fits comfortably-- I can get away with wearing just a t shi... Read Morert underneath, and can also fit a thicket jacket or sweatshirt underneath as well. The pockets are large enough that they are actually useful to put many different items in. The sleeves fit perfectly and the length falls in all the right places- its not cropped and doesn't fall too low. 10/10 recommended for anyone and anything: from daily use to hiking, this jacket is the one for you

March 2, 2020

Not Wide Hip Friendly....But Amazing Otherwise

I am 5'8" with narrow shoulders, and wider hips. i found the fit to be very roomy up top but tight on the hips. just barely enough room for me and i find the coat riding up slightly. not a deal breaker at this point. i wish they would design stuff for women with thicker lower bodies.....other than that, love this product and company and w... Read Moreorth the $$$

Response from Patagonia
April 1, 2020

Hi Donna! Thanks for taking the time to write a review! We apologize regarding the fit. We truly rely on feedback like this to improve future sizing on our products. All our garments are under our Ironclad Guarantee. You are always welcome to place a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) if you'd like.

February 24, 2020

A Patagonia Classic Made Even Better!

This is Patagonia's flagship rain jacket, and for good reason! Simple, minimalist, well-made and partially from recycled materials too so you can feel even better about buying it. This year the Torrentshell got an extra thick layer and so I think its worth the investment for the enhanced durability and construction. How did it feel? Well, fir... Read Morest of all I found myself not wanting to take it off while even trying it on indoors. The material? Brand new, its got a stiff ironed feel, but quickly breaks down to conform and crease around your body. There is some soft fleece on the neck, and the hand pockets are satisfyingly large and fuzzy on the inside, so I found myself keeping my hands there a lot. Its also hard to tell in the photos, but there is also a hidden chest pocket perfect for your phone, wallet, etc. The jacket itself feels thick and durable (way more tough than your average rain jacket) with nice details a piece of material stitched well to protect the zipper for instance, and little grooves in the jacket designed to wick water off in the event of, well, torrential rain. The long pit zips were sweet for opening during a little trail jogging and exertion on a sunny day although this jacket is meant more for lighter bouts of activity and not necessarily full on cardio. I took this on a melty snowy day, even laid in the snow and the water beaded off beautifully and the jacket protected me from the intense sun. I got the Gypsum Green, which features the pleasant sea-foam green /olive color block. Think more matte-finish than shiny, and soft rather than a typical squeaky plastic bag-like rain jacket. All in all, sweet, sweet quality especially at that price point! This is definitely a shining example of why I love Patagonia attention to detail, a focus on quality and craftsmanship and made ethically, and not going to totally break the bank either! If you're thinking of getting the Torrentshell, go for it, you won't regret it!

February 22, 2020

Poor quality

Not long lasting durability or waterproofing. Lining cracked causing me to get soaked. For the price I would have hoped Patagonia would have stood behind their product. They did not. I sent it in hoping they would take measures to re-waterproof it. They sent it back saying nothing they could do. Very disappointed. I paid more for this rain jacket t... Read Morehinking it would last. It did NOT. In the future I will not look at the Patagonia label as a quality brand.

Response from Patagonia
March 26, 2020

Terri, we cannot apologize more. Unfortunately, when the waterproofing fails, it's something that is unable to be mended. Normally, when this happens we replace gear at no extra cost and we'd like to take a further look into your repair order. Please get back to us privately so we can help you out.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches