Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Torrentshell 3L Rain Jacket

Write Your Review

4.46 /5

Filter Reviews

All 37 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Torrentshell 3L Rain Jacket

4.46
February 25, 2021

Worth every penny...

This jacket is perfect for PNW. I wear it daily, vented so I can layer with synchilla pullovers. I got in XXL just to be able to do this and be comfortable. Yep, you heard me, XXL. I dont like tight, fitted outdoor gear and Im afraid that smaller sizes did not offer same comfort with thicker under layers and large chest. Have been loyal Patagonia c... Read Moreustomer for 30 years and counting. To me, best in class. And happy that XXL is an option for me anyway.

February 24, 2021

This must be at least my fourth torrentshell

The new version has upgrades and is more expensive. I'm happy about the pit zips. I thrashed my previous one but it was still fine. I lost it. Wahhh! When my daughter moved to Oregon, I bought her a torrentshell and I bought my sister one, too. So yeah, I like it. It's simple, has two generous pockets (maybe this one has three?) and keeps... Read More me dry in the rainiest conditions for my job thinning California's wildfire fuel. Never stop making this please!

February 23, 2021

Ski team gift

I pitched this for a local child on the ski team at Dodge Ridge ski area in California. All of the other kids have this jacket as a team jacket but this athletes could not afford one. I gave it to her as a gift. Seems to fit well but for sure made her feel like a part of the team. She is a very good young person and has a wonderful family. ️

February 18, 2021

Keeps you dry and warm great shell!

I love this jacket, it keep the water & wind out. I got a bigger size so I can wear a sweater or other layers underneath. Great quality my boyfriend wants one now!

February 7, 2021

Perfect

My wife loves it. All seasons jacket. Not to hot but warm enough. Nice wind resistance super comfy

February 6, 2021

Love it!

Perfect for rainy days!

February 6, 2021

Great for running

Perfect coat for running in wind, rain, or snow to stay warm and dry. The first coat I have owned that the hood will stay up throughout the run. I where a small but purchased medium to have room for layers. Lightweight and comfortable. Love it!

January 29, 2021

Perfect!

Ive had several versions of this jacket over the years. Some of them had issues with delaminating and Patagonia replaced the jacket with no issues whatsoever. This version seems tougher. I love this company many reasons. One being their customer service. Buy one and you wont regret it.. Aloha

January 23, 2021

Disappointed

There is no way to keep the hood cinched in place. In the blowing wind and rain, I had to hold the draw strings to keep the hood from flying off, not good while you're trying to work. The fit of the jacket is good overall, so I don't understand how this detail is missed.

Response from Patagonia
February 26, 2021

Hey Elizabeth! So sorry you're disappointed with the hood of the Women's Torrentshell 3L Rain Jacket. It does have a two-way-adjustable hood and a tab to hold the cinch down on the back of the head. Of course, we stand by our products so if you aren't satisfied, we'd be happy to help you find an alternative. [Reach out](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) to us if you're interested in finding something more specific to your needs!

January 14, 2021

Very comfortable!

I absolutely love this jacket! Not only is it super waterproof, but also comfortable enough to wear overtop just a t-shirt or a chunky sweater. I have worn this while walking the dog in the down-poring rain and stayed 100% dry. The zippered pockets make all the difference because I can securely zip my phone and keys and not worry about either of th... Read Moreem falling out or getting wet during my hike or walk. Overall, this is a great jacket and should be a staple in everyone's wardrobe!

January 5, 2021

Awesome rain jacket

Love this rain jacket; wet comfortable and stylish. Seems to run a little big, but nothing too crazy.

January 3, 2021

Perfect Jacket

Loved the color, fit, and material of this jacket. I live in Oregon where it rains a lot and its perfect for my needs.

November 29, 2020

So far, so good.

I walk on rainy Oregon beaches daily. I have gone through a number of raincoats, different brands, and they all stopped being waterproof after a year or two. Im pretty excited about your guarantee. I havent had this coat very long, but, so far so good. The sleeves are extremely long, I feel a bit like a gorilla.

November 25, 2020

Great Product

I have an older version of this jacket I got in 2015. It has been to university campuses, beaches, up mountains, down mountains (hiked down a mountain in Borneo in a steady rainforest downpour for 4 hours--jacket was soaked, T shirt underneath was dry!), and to many different countries. It is light, easy to fold, and the perfect soft shell for any ... Read Moretraveler/hiker/student/etc. After 5 years of heavy usage, the waterproofing is starting to peel away, so I'm sure a replacement is imminent, and I will definitely be choosing the current version of this jacket!

November 23, 2020

Torrentshell is appropriate. I bought it for travel, to be prepared in all weather.

It's roomy enough for me to wear a fleece under it, essential for travel. My previous Torrentshell 2L was de-laminating; Patagonia replaced it with the newer 3L version. Thanks for your help, Customer Service!

November 12, 2020

Solid Rain Jacket

This is a good all round jacket. I love the white color, although if you are going to be doing a lot of dirty stuff then the jacket will ... get dirty.

November 6, 2020

Perfect Jacket

Excellent jacket for rain or wind while walking or hiking. I am petite, so I ordered the XS and the S, as I wasn't sure about the fit. If I wore a lightweight top under the jacket, the XS would have worked well. But, I wanted more versatility under different weather conditions. So, I chose to keep the S, because the fit gave me more options to... Read More add layers as needed. And, I got it in Catalan Coral, the brightest color for safety on busy roads.

November 1, 2020

Incredible Service

This jacket is incredible. I had a 10+ year old torrentshell rain jacket that was starting to fall apart (the lining was flaking). I sent it in to have it repaired. The bad news was that Patagonia was unable to fix it. The good news (that was definitely not expected) was that Patagonia generously sent me a gift card to purchase a replacement. The l... Read Moreining has been improved so I am hopeful that this jacket will not have the same problem. I am blown away by Patagonias commitment to the environment and its customers. Youve just won a customer for life!

November 1, 2020

Love color fit and weight

I bought this to replace my favorite Patagonia rain coat from a billion years ago that had started to peel the protective layer. This coat seems super sturdy, but not too stiff, perfect length overall even with long sleeves for me as they were easy to roll. Ive worn it about 6 times already and its awesome . Oh and the cinching mechanism on the hoo... Read Mored is great . I can see in the rain (some coats on my small frame have hugs hoods that overwhelm me) and the lip of the hood is now a perfect fit. I say go for it! Oh and the Catalina color looks amazing.

November 1, 2020

A Solid Wardrobe Staple

A reliable jacket for layering during New England fall/winter. Its got good insulation and stays dry in light rain and mist. This is my second one so I definitely recommend!

October 19, 2020

Super cute

I just got this jacket in the mail. I tried a XXS. Its almost perfect, its still a little big but honestly as far as jackets go for me the fit is closest to fitting me perfectly. I havent worn it out yet, but I tried it on and it looks very appealing and nice. Its definitely pricey so hopefully its worth the money once I start to wear it more. I li... Read Moreke the appearance of it a lot though and have been wanting a white rain jacket for so long. I might try skiing in it too but I dont want to ruin the jacket.

October 4, 2020

Perfect! Finally a size that fits!

Ive been waiting forever for Patagonia to get on the bandwagon with extended sizing. Having worn Patagonia most of my adult life, Ive been so sad to have to buy inferior products to fit over my chest. A back injury has kept me less active than I like, but I still love hiking and biking and canoeing and camping and being outdoors, and need the gear ... Read Moreto go along with it. I have a Patagonia poncho for rain gear, which is killer, especially for soccer matches in the fall, but it isnt always practical. So Ive been on the search for a high quality rain jacket, and wasnt even considering Patagonia bc of their sizing. Well, lo and behold, theyve finally addressed the issue. This jacket is perfect! A classic that zips, fits, is not binding or tight over the shoulders or across the chest. Enough room to wear over a sweatshirt or lightish sweater. I am typically a 14-16 and this makes me so happy! One note.... it is a little loud/crinkly, but I dont mind because I know it will work as advertised, as all Patagonia does.

September 5, 2020

The perfect rain jacket

I love this jacket. I had one previously and it was ruined in an extremely hot car for a week. So ordering a new one was needed. This version seems to be made even better than my previous jacket. The fit is perfect.

September 3, 2020

Very Waterproof

Lightweight, portable, also loud! (Sounds like one of those reusable plastic bags) but I really like it. It does run rather large though I am 135-140 lbs and EASILY would fit into an XS vs an S. The pit zips also don't have mesh they're just open to exposure which I really don't like and dropped a star for. Now mosquitos can get into... Read More my armpits!!

September 2, 2020

Birthday gift

My bride loves the jacket; we order a large at first but it was too tight around her hips. The XL fit a little loose but she could put a sweater under when it get cold and it fit better at the hip

June 16, 2020

Beautiful jacket - color not practical

I bought this jacket in Birch White and paid full price. It is gorgeous and comfortable. The only problem is that it gets marked and won't come clean. I wouldn't say that it is dirt, it is possibly when I brush up against something. I only wear it to work and take great care of my things. It does take away from how beautiful it is because... Read More of the black and gray marks around the zippers and other areas. Don't recommend the Birch White for that reason only. Patagonia, is there a product that will remove these marks?

Response from Patagonia
June 18, 2020

Hi Paula, sorry to hear about the staining. White is always a tough color to keep clean, but try dabbing those stains with isopropyl or denatured alcohol before washing in warm, soapy water. If that doesn't work and you're terribly unhappy with the look of your jacket, please feel free to return it to us under our Ironclad Guarantee. You can begin that process here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

May 10, 2020

Great basic shell

Small fits as expected - trim-looking but plenty roomy for layers. A Retool zip fleece fits comfortably underneath with room to spare. Sleeves are long for me but are easily adjustable with the Velcro cuff. Very lightweight jacket. Functional hood. Nice colors - I got the Roamer Red. Only two pockets, which is fine for me but might bother others. M... Read Morey only very minor complaint is that I like to hang jackets by their locker loop instead of the hood but cant with this jacket - the loop is minuscule and would only work on a metal hook. Not sure whywhen my other Patagonia jackets have normal sized loops. Have not tested in torrential rain but can vouch for this jacket performing well in wet/windy conditions on both warm (pit zips!) and cool spring days. Just what I needed for changeable weather...

May 10, 2020

Super Nice Rain Jacket

This was a gift for precious Sheri and she LOVES it! She really likes the cut and fit because the jacket moves with her so nicely. Sheri is super happy so I am too :) YAAAAY! = Big Thanks!

May 7, 2020

Love this jacket

I was given this jacket and wore it for over a year. Unfortunately the lining was peeling and would leave white bits of liner every time I wore it. I returned it and without question or delay, Patagonia sent me a credit to replace it. I have to say the newer version does seem better made and more water resistant. I ordered a size up as I have long ... Read Morearms and want to be able to layer under the jacket. The black is very good looking and I cannot wait to get out and wear it on an adventure. Very happy with my order and Patagonia service.

April 29, 2020

Drenched in my Patagonia Torrentshell jacket

Love to hike and was super excited to buy the Patagonia rain jacket to keep me dry when out in the elements. Am so disappointed with this product. Thought Patagonia was a brand I could count on when outdoors but no fun hiking in the rain and being super soaked. I paid a lot for this jacket and expected better.

Response from Patagonia
May 5, 2020

We are very sorry to hear about this and recommend that you send this back to us for a warranty [return](https://www.patagonia.ca/canada-returns.html). We'd be happy to get you something else and discuss what could have happened to cause it to leak through. Thank you for the feedback.

April 12, 2020

Problem with lining

The outside looks great but the lining is cracking and peeling which compromises it's waterproofing. I expected a Patagonia product to hold up better!

Response from Patagonia
April 16, 2020

We are so sorry to hear about the lining of your jacket. You likely have the older version of our Torrentshell that wasn't a three-layer design. We see the peeling of the liner occur with these, and while it isn't something we can fix, you are welcome to send it back to us for a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

March 30, 2020

Do not purchase white

I was very excited to receive this jacket (in white), it has a great fit and a clean style. However, the fabric of the jacket picks up and holds onto any dirt and the material makes it impossible to wash out. Even after soaking in soap and then running in the wash. I was originally planning on it to be an all weather, hiking or walking around the c... Read Moreity raincoat, and I expected a jacket at this price point to be more nature resistant. I am now scared to wear this coat anywhere for fear that it will pick up any bit of dirt and hold onto it. I will be exchanging this item once things are back up and running.

Response from Patagonia
April 15, 2020

Hi Leona, Thank you so much for the product feedback. We are so sorry your Torrentshell 3L Rain Jacket hasn't held up like you wished. We are happy to assist you with a [Return/exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html). We are currently able to assist and would like to resolve this for you.

March 24, 2020

Waterproof, durable and comfy

Best jacket for getting caught in a shower. Reliable, durable, a great buy!

March 11, 2020

MUST HAVE!!

I recently just purchased this jacket in the grey color. When it came in, it turned out to be more of a dusty purple rather than grey which I love even more. The jacket itself is very compact and easy to travel will, and is wonderful for drizzly 40 degree days. I purchased the small and it fits comfortably-- I can get away with wearing just a t shi... Read Morert underneath, and can also fit a thicket jacket or sweatshirt underneath as well. The pockets are large enough that they are actually useful to put many different items in. The sleeves fit perfectly and the length falls in all the right places- its not cropped and doesn't fall too low. 10/10 recommended for anyone and anything: from daily use to hiking, this jacket is the one for you

March 2, 2020

Not Wide Hip Friendly....But Amazing Otherwise

I am 5'8" with narrow shoulders, and wider hips. i found the fit to be very roomy up top but tight on the hips. just barely enough room for me and i find the coat riding up slightly. not a deal breaker at this point. i wish they would design stuff for women with thicker lower bodies.....other than that, love this product and company and w... Read Moreorth the $$$

Response from Patagonia
April 1, 2020

Hi Donna! Thanks for taking the time to write a review! We apologize regarding the fit. We truly rely on feedback like this to improve future sizing on our products. All our garments are under our Ironclad Guarantee. You are always welcome to place a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) if you'd like.

February 24, 2020

A Patagonia Classic Made Even Better!

This is Patagonia's flagship rain jacket, and for good reason! Simple, minimalist, well-made and partially from recycled materials too so you can feel even better about buying it. This year the Torrentshell got an extra thick layer and so I think its worth the investment for the enhanced durability and construction. How did it feel? Well, fir... Read Morest of all I found myself not wanting to take it off while even trying it on indoors. The material? Brand new, its got a stiff ironed feel, but quickly breaks down to conform and crease around your body. There is some soft fleece on the neck, and the hand pockets are satisfyingly large and fuzzy on the inside, so I found myself keeping my hands there a lot. Its also hard to tell in the photos, but there is also a hidden chest pocket perfect for your phone, wallet, etc. The jacket itself feels thick and durable (way more tough than your average rain jacket) with nice details a piece of material stitched well to protect the zipper for instance, and little grooves in the jacket designed to wick water off in the event of, well, torrential rain. The long pit zips were sweet for opening during a little trail jogging and exertion on a sunny day although this jacket is meant more for lighter bouts of activity and not necessarily full on cardio. I took this on a melty snowy day, even laid in the snow and the water beaded off beautifully and the jacket protected me from the intense sun. I got the Gypsum Green, which features the pleasant sea-foam green /olive color block. Think more matte-finish than shiny, and soft rather than a typical squeaky plastic bag-like rain jacket. All in all, sweet, sweet quality especially at that price point! This is definitely a shining example of why I love Patagonia attention to detail, a focus on quality and craftsmanship and made ethically, and not going to totally break the bank either! If you're thinking of getting the Torrentshell, go for it, you won't regret it!

February 22, 2020

Poor quality

Not long lasting durability or waterproofing. Lining cracked causing me to get soaked. For the price I would have hoped Patagonia would have stood behind their product. They did not. I sent it in hoping they would take measures to re-waterproof it. They sent it back saying nothing they could do. Very disappointed. I paid more for this rain jacket t... Read Morehinking it would last. It did NOT. In the future I will not look at the Patagonia label as a quality brand.

Response from Patagonia
March 26, 2020

Terri, we cannot apologize more. Unfortunately, when the waterproofing fails, it's something that is unable to be mended. Normally, when this happens we replace gear at no extra cost and we'd like to take a further look into your repair order. Please get back to us privately so we can help you out.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches