Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Capilene® Air Crew Neck Shirt

Write Your Review

4.7/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XXS
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 131 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Capilene® Air Crew Neck Shirt

4.7/5
True To Size
July 18, 2021

Very comfortable, light but warm

I love this shirt, I use it for everything actually. My daughter gifted me my first one, but I had to buy another one. Thank you !!

June 30, 2021

The softest most comfortable wool base layer ever!

I absolutely love putting this sweater on. it is soft, warm, cozy, casual but yet dressy. Great to layer or wear on its own. One of my favorite pieces of clothing I own!

May 31, 2021

Air but warm

This is very lightweight but will keep you very warm.

April 23, 2021

Perfect Fit and Warm

I love this shirt. It is a great color, comfortable and warm.

April 17, 2021

Perfect fit!

Great quality as usual!

April 15, 2021

Soft and warm

Looks great. Feels great. Good under layer

March 8, 2021

Snagged first time I wore it

Purple is nice bright color, lightweight and perfect for layering. However snagged on my first time of wearing. At this price, I expect a better product. This was a disappointment.

Response from Patagonia
March 16, 2021

Thank you for your review on our Capilene Air Crew Neck Shirt. Unfortunately, there isn't any knit that isn't prone to snagging, the loose fibers make it more susceptible. With that said, all our items are backed by our Ironclad Guarantee, so if you find that you aren't happy with your purchase, you're welcome to [send it back](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) for warranty evaluation.

March 3, 2021

Versatile Warmth

I have two of these crew neck shirts. It has the feel of a sweater and can be worn to add warmth for a walk as easily as be dressy enough for a business Zoom call or causal night out. I like a roomy fit, so bought a size up but, runs true to size.

February 28, 2021

Perfect

I play lots of paddle tennis. Tho the weather is often cold, one can become very hot from playing. Love how this shirt sucks sweat. Just right. Warm but not too warm. I love this shirt and have bought others. Main go to for winter play.

February 26, 2021

Super warm and awesome at wicking.

I have recommended this top to all my friends and they love it too. It is all you need when you fat tire bike or skate ski (or any other sport that you warm up fast) in the winter with a light shell. And did I mention the wicking, it is unbelievable about drying out so so fast and it is so warm! My friends could not believe how nice it looks too, t... Read Morehey thought I was wearing a work sweater.

February 26, 2021

Love It!

Got the hoodie version last year and it kept me so warm all winter long walking, snow shoeing and alpine skiing. Wanted the crewneck version to wear during Covid working at home. Love it so much ended up buying two crews. Wear all different ways alone, under a fleece and over a T. Easy to wash/dry in machine warm, delicate wash and air / low temp. ... Read Moremachine dry. Does not retain odors like the old poly-pro. Highly Recommend.

February 23, 2021

Feels like heaven

Fabric feels fabulous. Fits like a dream. Soft and smooth. My arms are long and the sleeves fit great.

February 20, 2021

Thank you for making this in XXS!

I am so thankful to see XXS sizes available. This top is so soft and comfy, LOVE it (and love that it fits perfectly).

February 11, 2021

Best throw on ever

Purchased two last year at the home store for a weekend trip to Ojai. Truly the BEST. Keeps me warm when needed but never too hot. Easy to stuff in your bag for when needed. They have kept their shape thru numerous washings/dryings too. Just got a third and will order more in the future!! This is my go to piece.

February 8, 2021

Soooo comfy

As soon as I put this shirt on, I knew I would love it. It's stretchy and soft, the shoulders fit great, and the sleeves are long enough for my long arms. On a recent trip, I wore it a few days in a row and it stayed smelling fine - in contrast to my 100% Capilene wear which tends to trap odors. I also like the neckline - though it's not ... Read Moreas flattering for casual wear, its high design is warm and practical for active pursuits in cooler weather. The torso is also long enough not to expose anything when I'm reaching (something I appreciate since I have a bit of a belly these days). I've also washed it a bunch and it seems to be holding up well. Highly recommend.

January 23, 2021

Great for skiing!

I wore this cross country skiing and it was wonderful! The fabric is very comfortable, warm and wicks moisture very well. I was hesitant due to price but am so happy with the purchase.

January 21, 2021

Really like this!

I was a little skeptical because this is a thin, lightweight shirt, but it's really effective in keeping you warm without bulk. Very pretty blue shade, though darker than I thought after seeing it online. I've found myself reaching for this multiple times. After washing a couple of times in a garment bag to protect it, it's come out ... Read Morelooking great. I line dry it because there's no room for shrink. Expensive but I'm getting a lot of use out of it.

January 18, 2021

Lightweight breathable warmth

Our daughter gifted this in a Medium which usually works for my 135 lb 56 frame. Since its super-stretchy it did fit - as a clingy base layer. But i also wanted to wear it without covering it. And the M revealed the muffin Ive gained during Covid lockdowns. So I swapped it for a Large - which works great: close not clingy. Very comfortable! Love it... Read More!

January 18, 2021

Love it

This is so great - comfy, warm, and versatile. You will want to wear it every day.

January 11, 2021

Love the color

Feels soft as if it has cashmere in it (which it doesnt). Nice and long to keep the small of your back warm. And the color pops.

January 7, 2021

comfort and fit

e shirt is super comfy and warm and fits so nicely. It does not cling when worn as a shirt, but fits nicely under a turtleneck sweater for extra warmth when needed. I love this. I was afraid the wool might be itchy, but it is not at all.

January 5, 2021

So soft

Perfect fit. True to size. The sleeves hit me mid hand which is perfect for cooler morning walks and they push up and stay put easily for when it gets warmer. Color is pretty - hardest part for me is determining if this shirt should be used as casual wear or for workouts/active wear. Such a dilemma!

January 3, 2021

Love it

I didn't realize I could like a baselayer so much. I find that I reach for this shirt almost every day- whether for skiing, running, hiking, even for Zoom work calls! I am 5'5," 120 lbs. and the S fits well.

January 1, 2021

Great for running in Indiana

Bought this for my daughter. She loves it.

December 30, 2020

Excellent product

Great product, looks like it will last many winters if well taken care of. Cant wait to buy another color.

December 30, 2020

Warm and comfortable

An excellent and versatile garment

December 25, 2020

Love it

I have broad shoulders and am big chested. I often need an XXL to fit but this shirt is stretchy and while form fitting, it is still soft, comfortable , attractive and practical. It is warm and wicking and it works as my base layer for mtb, road riding and fat biking all winter and late fall. It has held up very well as I ride outside year round . ... Read MoreI own three now so I keep one for off bike wear as they are very pretty. I have two mint green ones and was thrilled to see this purple one which I bought for my hubby to give me for my birthday! Please consider making more XXL sizes Id like to try one on , but thank you for making this big enough to fit me !

December 17, 2020

Only base layer you need

I bought this base layer bc it looked soft and flexible online. WOW! I havent taken it off since. Its warm and soft and I can wear it for days without needing to wash it. I want to return other base layers I bought separately bc theyre unnecessary now that I have this. I ordered the pants version recently.

December 4, 2020

Warm & perfect fit

Warm & a perfect fit. This is a great base layer or stand alone top for casual wear. I am very happy with this product.

November 21, 2020

More than a baselayer

First off I love this garment (I have in black). I've worn it as a shirt, a baselayer, and a sweater. Size down if you really want a formfitting baselayer. Great temperature regulation and looks put together and was perfect for my month long winter Europe light backpack trip. I wear it all the time as it takes a lot to really get this thing gr... Read Moreimy so it doesn't need that many washings and doesnt' hold onto smells (or so my family tells me!) Does attract dog hair and after heavy use has pilled slightly, BUT I bought a Sweater Stone (as was recommended by staff) to fix that right up which it mostly did. Caution: be VERY careful when using a Sweater Stone on this fabric because I pretty easily tore two small holes in the front, which considering the price is a HUGE bummer and reduces the versatility of the garment (still functional for keeping warm but not great for looking good). User error and c'est la vie. I will try to nab another color when/if it ever goes on sale and recommend to anyone looking for a truly wearable garment. Would love it in primary colors, earth tones, neutrals, everything. Mock neck would be great too. I could just go on. Great for people who really value their material objects, as it is just great design. Bury me in this.

November 19, 2020

Perfect for mid temperature days

I wear this one when I don't need anything around my neck if I'm going to be working and getting warmer. I wear it next to my skin for maximum breathability. If it is super windy I add a vest. I love how comfortable these are.

November 19, 2020

Super comfortable

Love this. Super warm and comfortable! Love Patagonia

November 17, 2020

Soft and warm

After months of borrowing my husbands - I finally got my own. Im normally a medium but went with an XL to keep that oversized wearing my husbands shirt vibe When he purchased his months ago, I was convinced it would snag and look ratty after a few washes. I was wrong! This item gets softer with wear and (knock on wood) has yet to show signs of w... Read Moreear. Highly recommend

November 10, 2020

Soft

Great alone or for layering

October 29, 2020

the perfect long sleeve

so happy to finally add this piece to my wardrobe. its the most versatile and the one i want closest to my skin when layering. its perfect for high aerobic activities like running and snowboarding but is so flattering tucked into jeans or shorts for casual wear too. its temperature regulating which also makes it delicious to sleep in on cold nights... Read More camping. its a somewhat delicate material so i wouldnt wear it climbing or hiking through brush but the breathability is well worth it. ive already ordered in the blue and know itll be a staple year round.

October 19, 2020

So disappointed!

This base layer is super warm, but only after one wear and wash (I hand-washed and air-dried it) it developed a hole and it pills so badly all overit looks terrible. For how expensive it was, I was really hoping it would hold up longer. Super disappointed. :(

Response from Patagonia
December 4, 2020

Thank you for the feedback on that and we're so sorry to hear about the pilling after one wear. Sadly, we do see pilling happen on knit garments and it can be unavoidable in many circumstances. With that being said though, you can usually remove those at home or you are always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) anything you aren't happy with.

October 10, 2020

So light and stretchy

Great lightweight yet warm, stretchy and flattering base layer. Bought both XXS (Dark Green) and XS (Bright pink) for my 32A 103# frame. Both fit but the XXS looks better b/c the XS neckline comes up too high and bunches a little. Also the pink is not as soft as the green. Also the green has pilled a little with use. Not a deal breaker Will keep th... Read Moree Green but might return the unworn pink oneI like my next-to-skin base layers soft.

September 28, 2020

LOVE it

Love this shirt and pretty much want to wear it every day since I received it. Perfect for layering. Warm but breathable. Like a couple other reviewers I'm tall and thin and haven't had great luck with Patagonia tops in the past - most things too big or boxy or both. 5'8 120, got an XS, and this fits me perfectly. There's someth... Read Moreing slightly off about the fit (the neck is a bit too high?) but it's hard to complain. The arms are long enough!! I've only air dried it thus far - am a bit scared to put it in the dryer, but will try eventually..and if it doesn't shrink i'll purchase others! Would love more pretty colors (I have the "spanish red"color). Thanks Patagonia for a home run with this one.

September 16, 2020

Delicious light wool sweater

I have three of these lovely sweaters, and layer them up as it gets chilly. I can wear it under a fleece and a jacket in chilly weather to stay warm. The top is loose knit, so it is a bit stretchy and comfortable. Nice length, perfect fit for my 5'3, 108 lb. frame. it is also tailored and attractive, so great with jeans or running or yoga tigh... Read Morets. I usually wear a light base layer under it. Versatile.

September 14, 2020

Highly recommend.

Great base layer, warm and breathable.

September 12, 2020

Like a Sweater but for Running!

I absolutely love this crew - it is super warm, super stretchy, super soft and looks like Im wearing a beautiful sweater while sweating it out on the trails! Its not only the most functional piece I own but the most fashionable .

September 9, 2020

It fits!

This is literally the first Patagonia shirt I've ever purchased that fits right off the shelf! Usually I have to buy men's XXS and have them tailored. The women's shirts are always wayyyy too boxy, but then they also have the shortest sleeves ever. The men's shirts are boxy (they're for men, after all), but at least the sle... Read Moreeves will reach my wrists. This one though! It takes the cake! Fitted enough to make me look like a woman under my layers; long enough to keep me warm all the way to my wrists. Well done, Patagonia. Keep it up! For reference, yes I'm tall (5'7") and skinny (110#), and I'm a climber (muscular shoulders). So my fit issues may not be representative of the general public. But there's a lot of tall skinny climber chicks out there with money to spend on well-made technical clothing.

September 7, 2020

Soft, snug, and snappy

Love this new product mix of wool and capilene. I wore it for 4 days straight when it arrived. I just didn't want to take it off.

September 5, 2020

soft and comfortable

Purchased two of these shirts. The merino wool is soft and warm and the fit is very flattering.

September 4, 2020

Love Capilene

Purchased as gift for wife. She loves capilene.

August 8, 2020

Love

Love this. Very cozy and comfortable. Relaxed fit. Lightweight

June 2, 2020

Genius material for any purpose

I do not have words for how much I love this product. I have three of the Capilene Air, 2 crew and 1 hoodie. I wear them skiing, post surfing, casual everyday, even to the office. I first bought a hoodie version the first season Patagonia released the product- then end of season bought 2 more. I bought it as a base layer just for the ski season. I ... Read Moream a die-hard fan of the Thermal Weight Zip-Hoodie and thought there is no way Patagonia could top this. But they DID. I bought all three Airs in Large bc I wanted a bit more loose fitting. I am 51 athletic build, 36D. I am sure Medium would have been fine as well, but I like the beneficial effect of having it loose fitting. Incredible, keeps you warm but also with no other layers under you can go out on a hike starting in the cool morning and then stay totally temperature regulated when it get really warm in the afternoon. So incredibleit feels like you are wearing a light linen shirtthe fabric lets air just flow through cooling you down. During the winter I actually just had a micro down jacket over it with a thin capilene under my shell, and for spring skiing just wore a thin capilene and the Air hoodie under my shelleven when sweating and then a cool down period, I did not get a chill. It is an ingenious fabric.

February 25, 2020

Great looking shirt but runs SO HOT

I was hoping this would be a new baselayer but it's impossibly warm. The good news is that it looks great and I wear it as a regular shirt, but I cannot do any sporting in it without sweating immediately. So it's still a good piece but I definitely can't use it as intended. Waaayyy warmer than a regular weight merino (150), and doesn... Read More't seem to wick as well IMO.

February 24, 2020

Love this Top!!!

This top looks great, feels great and is awesome as a base layer or worn alone. Mine have washed well so far but I do use the gentle cycle, Woolite and air dry. Just to let you know what a fan of this top I am, I bought one, and three months later, I have six all together.

February 14, 2020

What a great product.

Just received my air capilene crew in cobalt xxs. I am 5'2" 100 pounds and the xxs fits perfectly. What a great garment and insulation piece. Thank you, Patagonia!

January 7, 2020

Best Baselayer/Product EVER.

I've owned my Cap Air (then Merino Air) since 2015, and it is the single most important piece of technical clothing that I own. You are pretty much guaranteed to find me wearing it while doing any outdoor activity when it’s under 40 degrees (cycling, running, backcountry skiing, traveling, …anything to be outside! It is the absolute best.

January 6, 2020

I love this fleece-but it

I love this fleece-but it needs pockets...

January 1, 2020

Great Product

Warm, well-made, and stylish. Love it!

December 31, 2019

Incredibly Comfortable

I ordered one. Loved it so much I ordered another one.

December 31, 2019

So warm

Bought this for my sister (I already own the men's pair). She loves it and wears it whenever we travel to cold spots. Highly recommend.

December 26, 2019

This is a very versatile

This is a very versatile sweater. Can be a baselayer or a comfortable and attractive sweater to wear for daily chores and activities. I also plan to wear it for yoga classes. It has enough stretch to be worn to yoga class. The sleeves are long on me, but I just push them up.

December 24, 2019

Love this

The shirt is the best. Stylish fit that, flatters, and it’s warm, soft and sleek. I want it in all the colors.

December 19, 2019

Excellent piece

This is a real gem! A great lightweight sweater on its own, but I find it to be a killer mid-layer, where it provides excellent warmth under a fleece. Score, Patagonia.

December 16, 2019

Love!

I really love this sweater! Wore it as my base-layer skiing and again for a presentation at school- incredibly versatile! Would absolutely recommend!

December 10, 2019

Comfy

Great product! I ordered a size up to wee as a shirt. Keeps me warm, looks good, and doesn’t snag easily due to the stretch in the material. For sure getting another color! Washed well in a delicates bag, low dry. Could not change the height option - 5’8”

December 5, 2019

Very comfy, nice stretch and

Very comfy, nice stretch and fit. Love it!

December 2, 2019

Warm and lightweight

Excellent product. Lightweight, but comparable to a mid- to thermal weight capilene crew base layer.

December 1, 2019

Excellent

Really thrilled with the quality, fit and comfort . I am long of limb and it is so nice to find garments with length to spare. I'm a firm believer that you get what you pay for. I'll be wearing my Patagonia for years to come!

November 30, 2019

WOW!

This is a game changer. I was a bit hesitant on the warmth vs cooling as I work in remote lodges and it can be very cold, but I'm also moving around a lot. It's like I'm wearing nothing at all! The wind doesn't transfer throughout it and the warmth stays in. When I am very active the sweat is instantly wicked away. I've wor... Read Moren it for 5 days now and it doesn't stink (Not a lot of access to laundry) If you're on the fence about this like I was- buy this and add it to your permanent collection because it is WELL worth it!

November 28, 2019

Warmes baselayer ever!

Nice looking snd very warm. Perfect!

November 27, 2019

Another staple

The cap air is incredible. Perfect for cold weather running. Anything above 45 degrees and you might get hot. Also transitions well for causal or work wear because it looks so nice. I will be buying another!

November 27, 2019

SO WARM. I run cold

SO WARM. I run cold so I wear it under lots of things in the winter, even just running to the grocery store. I get warm but not stinky-sweaty.

November 27, 2019

Love it!

This soft warm top is so comfortable I want to wear it all the time. It's also great looking, with lots of texture and nice details like the slightly darker trim around the wrists and the gently rolled neck opening. I usually wear it over a light weight T while road biking or for yoga and often get the comment, "Nice sweater! Where'd... Read More you get it?" I'd wear it out to dinner too, but don't want to spill food on it. With a windbreaker on top, it's unbeatable for warmth. I'm 5'6", weigh about 115, and the Small is a great fit. For a more rugged fabric, try the capilene thermal weight crew: good for climbing/mntn biking, can be washed several times a week with no special care, and is very warm.

November 27, 2019

Great fit! Great product!

Great fit! Great product!

November 26, 2019

Love this base layer!

I was so excited to get this, and really fell in love with it off the bat. I'm in between small and medium sizes, but the medium just had a little too much material for me. I'm 5'2" and 143lbs but slim build on top. The material is soft and I haven't had issues with itchiness either. Really pleased with the purchase and wou... Read Moreld definitely buy this again.

November 25, 2019

Kept me warm while hiking

Kept me warm while hiking yet breathable too

November 24, 2019

the best I have ever found.

These Capilene Air pieces are the best. They keep you from getting sweaty while keeping you warm and comfortable. They have become my go-to tops for almost all my activities. Can't go skiing without this layer & my cold weather mountain bike riding is much more comfortable without overheating. This top is easy to wash and dry and has heald... Read More up extremely well considering how much I use & wear. I have 4 now in different colors because I choose these over every other winter top. The ones with the balaclava included (like a hood) are the ones to get!

November 24, 2019

Soft and Warm

Love love this new base layer! It’s light as a cloud and very warm. I used it for the first time on a horseback ride in 40 degree weather and was so pleased. It washed beautifully too!

November 23, 2019

Love this sweater

Love this sweater. Slim, flattering fit. I am a dress size 6 and bought in medium. Good quality, lightweight yet warm. I wear to work. Thin enough to wear under blazer. I intend to purchase in more colors. Would recommend.

November 23, 2019

Great piece!!

Lightweight, warm, and is nice enough to be worn as a sweater Im 5'7-135 lbs. The small fits-probably like its supposed to, but I opted for the medium so I could also wear it like a sweater.

November 22, 2019

Itchy

Very light weight and seemed that it would be warm for weight but I wanted to wear next to skin and was too itchy for me so I sent it back.

Response from Patagonia
December 12, 2019

Sorry to hear the Capilene Air was too itchy for you, but we really appreciate the great feedback, Ona! In the future, we're happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you [return](https://help.patagonia.com/s/topic/0TO1L0000002yyTWAQ/returns-exchanges) the item to a Patagonia-owned store or to our main service center for merchandise credit or a refund, so don't hesitate to reach out to us.

November 22, 2019

Love it!

Not super soft, it is wool after all, but much softer than lots of other wool garments out there. The structure feels great. So light and breathable and yet so warm too. Amazing. I will be using this for work, casual, going out on the town and of course epic exercise adventuring - it really can do it all! 5’7” 140 / straight build and the medium is... Read More perfect. Snug but plenty of room to move and stretch and nicely long (hits mid-butt pulled all the way down).

November 22, 2019

Love the Air

Got a medium bc that's all that was left, but could have probably used a small... great price for the thermal air... love, love, love

November 22, 2019

MT hiker

The capilene air crew met my expectations and more. It is soft and warm, great as an underlayer or comfortable on its own in warmer conditions. Lightweight and warm, can't beat that. I was previously a fan of the merino wool top, that has been discontinued, and this is the first time I have found an item to replace it for warmth and comfort.

November 22, 2019

Great top

This is an amazing top. Works for long underwear but can also pair with jeans. Very warm. I plan to buy in every color.

November 21, 2019

wish I knew about this earlier

great fit, great feel and the perfect layer for cold nights or but also breathable if worn as a layer for cold weather activities

November 21, 2019

So comfy!

This top has been super comfortable and warm as a base layer. It looks cute on its own too. I have both the top and the bottoms and the top seems to be holding up better than the bottoms.

November 21, 2019

So warm (and soft)

Love this top - it fits nicely and is very warm.

November 21, 2019

outstanding

outstanding

November 20, 2019

Too big...

This top is super warm! But, way to big. I am 5'7", 130 lbs, I ordered this top among several others in small and they were all too big.

Response from Patagonia
December 9, 2019

We're sorry to hear this was too big, Tory! If you'd like to try the size XS, just let us know and we'd be happy to waive the shipping charge. Thanks for your feedback.

November 20, 2019

Misleading product

Not as described. Its actually just a cheap looking knit texture uberthin sweater from China.... the kind you find at Ross for $9.99. Don't waste your money.

Response from Patagonia
December 9, 2019

Hi Kristina, thanks for writing us a review. We're sorry to hear about the disappointment with the crew. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

November 20, 2019

warm

I bought the Capilene Air Crew. It is warm, yet light. I will wear it often in the winter. I like the crew neck, so many winter shirts are too low around the neck and don't keep me warm enough. This crew is not too tight, it is just right.

November 20, 2019

A bit see through but

A bit see through but it's super warm.

November 11, 2019

warmth and comfort

so far love it I used it for light walks and hikes around the our town in the Rocky Mountain, in 0 F degrees and it was pretty awesome. My only concern and question is how well it will last over time.

November 9, 2019

It’s so fluffy

Cozy but also a solid layer. I stayed warm with just that layer at 45* weather

November 7, 2019

Great quality

I bought these to match the bottom base layer and the top is awesome. Super warm and incredibly comfy

November 6, 2019

Ridiculously warm!

One of the warmest base-layers ever!

November 6, 2019

Great fit. Can also be

Great fit. Can also be worn with jeans on a casual night out.

November 4, 2019

Magic Top!

Wore this on a multi-day backpacking trip through the Grand Canyon and it was so comfortable/versatile/warm/cool/quick drying! New favorite top. I'm 5'3", 125 pounds and the small fit well.

November 1, 2019

fantastic sweater!

Perfect fit and very comfortable , light and warm

October 31, 2019

Flaws

I was not expecting to see so many finishing flaws in the shirt such as loose threads. In addition, it runs very small. I am 5'0 and weigh 115 pounds - I ordered a medium and it is snug except for the sleeves that go beyond my fingertips. I washed it and hung it to dry and it shrunk so now I cannot wear it at all.

Response from Patagonia
November 18, 2019

We're sorry to hear this shrunk and that it has some loose threads. As always, you are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it back to us under warranty. We went ahead and emailed you a free shipping label in this instance. Thank you for your review!

October 30, 2019

Stretchy, soft, and warm

My new favorite. 5'3" 125lb size small is perfect fit. You may need an undershirt - the material is sheer so a dark bra makes the shirt see-through if you aren't wearing layers over it. I got the Feather Grey with Birch White, this is a light grey, my computer made it look like it had more of a brown tint than reality. It's su... Read Morech a nice material, it could be used for just about any sport but also looks great for work.

October 28, 2019

Great Product!

Love this product. Great fit, very warm, looks good.

October 28, 2019

BEST BASELAYER EVER!

I have this crew in the gray and I LOVE it! I live in Montana where the winter is brutally cold. I used it for running, skiing, hiking, and mountain biking last year during a record breaking winter! It is super cozy, not itchy at all despite its wool blend. I would recommend it to anyone who runs, or skis in colder conditions, or just runs cold. I ... Read Moreeven have worn it casually to and from class and work on some really cold days. I plan on ordering another one soon. The fit is pretty true I consistently wear a medium in other Patagonia tops and the medium fits great. Definitely order this if you're a cold weather adventurer!

October 28, 2019

Best Baselayers I've Owned!

I am someone who is always cold. Always. I was a bit skeptical at first when I saw this sweater but ended up reaching for it every day and bought more colours so I didn't feel guilty about wearing the same shirt every day. I work outside in any type of weather and these shirts have kept me at a comfortable temperature through the rainiest day ... Read Morein recent memory as well as during a brisk, sunny, autumn day. Fully recommend.

October 19, 2019

SO warm & lightweight

I am chronically cold due to an illness that caused me to lose a substantial amount of weight. I was looking for a warm base layer for everyday life that wasn’t bulky. This fit the bill. It made me so toasty. It’s pricey, but definitely worth it. If I can afford another, I’ll buy one bc I think I’ll be wearing this every day during my New England f... Read Moreall & winter. Thanks!

October 18, 2019

Runs a little big

I bought this top to use for layering during longer bike rides. It keeps me perfectly warm and was so soft. I ordered a large thinking it may run small but really I could’ve gotten a medium, the arms are a little long too. I’m a 10/12 size and 34DD.

October 17, 2019

Expensive garbage

I’m hiking the Portuguese Camino right now. This is my go-to sweater bought specifically for this trip, but won’t be as soon as I’m back in Canada. The 3-D weave although you might THINK it’s great, is completely worn off and pilled up where my pack sits and looks like crap. I’m guessing any added thermal value that the weave added is moot in that ... Read Morearea as well. It’s a costly piece of clothing made for what? Looking good in a downtown coffee shop THINKING about doing something adventurous? Patagonia, I thought your clothing was for outdoor pursuits. This falls grossly flat. To bad, it’s super comfy, but it’s totally to good to be true. Save your money.

Response from Patagonia
October 29, 2019

We're sorry to hear about your crew. Feel free to start a return [here](https://www.patagonia.ca/canada-returns.html#searchterm=return).

October 15, 2019

So comfortable, no itch, breathes

So comfortable, no itch, breathes very well. I found the shirt to be a bit too long, a little extra bulk

October 14, 2019

Beautiful and warm I will

Beautiful and warm I will be using theses. A sweaters. So bummed you ran out of the Light green , chose green color on my size:( please bring it back I’ll buy it! I am thin and love how it form fits and flatters!

October 9, 2019

The best sweater ever!

Nice! It’s both stylish and cozy!

October 5, 2019

LOVE this piece!!!

The Capilene Air Crew is light and snug. It's warm, but breathes for me well. Well done Patagonia!

September 14, 2019

Love the Air crew

I love to layer this and it feels nice against the skin. XS at 106 lbs is just right.

September 10, 2019

Favorite Baselayer

I bought my first Cap Air Crew last winter and found myself digging through my laundry basket every time I went skiing and decided it was time to add another to my rotation. This is also a piece I wear casually since it looks so much like a regular. Great ski day to Apres piece!

August 9, 2019

Great Base Layer

Capelene Air Crew Long underwear is the first base layer containing wool that has not caused any skin irritation or itchiness on my skin. It is so comfortable, flexible, and nearly weightless, Yet, it certainly keeps you warm. The open weave and texture is quite an ingenious invention. Congratulations to the Patagonia fabric engineers.

June 26, 2019

Classic all-around piece for looks and performance

I would call this a light sweater. It's so nice, I haven't yet worn it for activities involving sweat. But that time will come while traveling and adventuring! The cut, fit, material (soft, no itch and no chafe for my sensitive skin) and features are all high quality and functional. Hugs in all the right places for my taste.

June 25, 2019

Fit and texture are great

I thought this would be a good layer for chilly riding conditions and luckily, I was right. I ended up buying 2 for a 4-day bike-pack tour. I slept in it, wore it when it was damp from dew. I also wore it on the 4th day without washing it and it was just fine. Great casual sweater and was not itchy or too hot, except in direct sun while exercising ... Read More/ riding uphill. Got tons of compliments from other riders, too! Style points.

May 29, 2019

Just bought a Second One

This Spring while on a hut to hut ski trip one of my friends was raving about her new "favorite" shirt. So much so that I purchased one several weeks ago. Because it's still been early Spring and slightly cold, I found myself wearing this as a light "sweater". And I'm embarrassed to say that I wore it 5 out of the 7 da... Read Moreys last week. So I just went in and ordered another one. Because you know how that goes, you find something you love.........

May 12, 2019

Love it and may never take it off

Light weight and breathable yet warm, maintains shape yet stretchy and comfortable, does not stink like my R1 with wear yet also does not itch and I am very sensitive to wool. Super versatile and works as technical apparel, everyday, or travel piece. I wear it to work with a skirt and leggings, and then drive to the hill and am ready to skin up for... Read More an afterwork backcountry ski lap without changing clothing. Fits true to size for Patagonia. I am 5'4 120 lbs and typically wear a XS to S in most brands, but have been a S in Patagonia since they made their sizing quite small about 5 years ago or so. I bought this in a S and it fits great. Win win and why not add an extra win just because.

May 11, 2019

Can’t live without Capiline Air

I used my leggings and top all winter and now am using them into spring. Went on a road trip south and was able to throw them on during chilly nights. They are warm when you need them to be but they vent if it’s a bit cooler. I love them. The texture is interesting but I personally loved it. I will be getting another set going into winter!

May 9, 2019

The Everything Shirt

Capeline Air. A fine merino sweater destined for adventure. Is it expensive? Yes. But I wore this recently for 5 days straight. It was laundry day, but I was busy. Not only did I look good, I DIDN'T SMELL. And I wore it skiing, after skiing, riding my cargo bike around town with 2 kids in it, cooking dinner, skiing again....I may even have sle... Read Morept in it. Imagine your 5 favorite shirts. How much were they? Yeah. Now imagine you spent less on one great piece that will do everything and allow you to pack that much lighter. When I pulled it out of the package I felt like it was too nice to use as a base layer. Well it is nice, but it's SO nice you can wear it as a base layer all the way to a fine sweater over a collared shirt for a PTA function ON THE SAME DAY. tldr; buy it, no regret.

April 12, 2019

Looked terrific...before I wore it.

I purchased a black Capilene Air crewneck and a navy Capilene Air hoody (fall 2018). I wore the crewneck twice before a large hole appeared on the front of the garment. The navy hoody hasn't fared much better--lots of pilling. It's disappointing, particularly because neither top was used as activewear. Patagonia clothing usually withstand... Read Mores my outdoor pursuits and I've enjoyed years of wear. I hope these will be improved in the future.

March 26, 2019

Best thing ever

This is the softest, warmest, most breathable baselayer ever. I’ve worn it almost every day this winter, from skiing to working in the shop. The fabric is a little delicate, but it’s still worth the price. And yes, it pills, but I appreciate it’s functionality enough to overlook that. I want 5 more. Please keep making this product!

March 8, 2019

Great idea. Looks terrible after one wash.

I loved the feel of this baselayer. It's warm, but stretchy (unlike heavier Capilene). After one wash, the top was totally pilled. After three washes, it had a handful of holes in the fabric. Really disappointing. I hope they PG goes back to the R&D phase to get this product right. I'd buy a stack of these shirts if they didn't l... Read Moreook like garbage after a bit use.

February 18, 2019

Pills after two washes

I bought two at the San Diego Patagonia. One for skiing and the other casual wear. I wore both three times and washed. Both pill. I splurged on these because quality is so much better than quantity, but I am disppointed they look like I have had them a year. I don’t find them warm at all. They are comfy and breathable. The red color is pretty. This... Read More is the most disappointing Patagonia clothing I have purchased.

January 29, 2019

Beautiful, warm...and delicate

I love the look, feel, and fit of this Capilene Air. For being so thin and breathable, it is surprising how warm it is. However, it pulls easily, attracts tons of lint, and is disastrous when it comes into contact with Velcro. I want to love it and wear it for all my adventures, but am not good with clothing that can't take a bit of rouging-up... Read More. What I wanted to be a cute base layer that I can wear as an outer-layer will remain as an inner-layer, hidden in all its balled up, linty pulled, glory.

January 14, 2019

Warm and Dry - Game Changer

I encouraged my wife to try this upgrade to her very old Capilene baselayer system. She had invested in newer outer and mid layer patagonia pieces and was still not quite warm enough at points throughout the day of skiing. She found that replacing her older base and expedition weight capilene with the capilene air crew she was warmer and dryer than... Read More the past. We wash it in the Nikwax base layer detergent and air dry. Fit is down one size from her normal Patagonia size, no odor retention, and piece has retained its original soft feel after a month of use.

January 4, 2019

High Maintenance

I loved the feel of this top for a few days. It was a great insulator for both downhill and backcountry skiing. Then I washed it (according to manufacturer directions) and dried it on low heat. It's been pretty scratchy ever since. I tried washing it again with fabric softener and hang drying it. It's no better. I don't have the incl... Read Moreination to coddle my athletic wear. This is a base layer and meant to be worn next to my skin. It needs to feel good! It's going back. One of my few Patagonia purchases that have ever been returned.

January 2, 2019

Awesome baselayer!

I'm usually sensitive to wool, but this layer so sweet. Its not itchy, and super soft! I wore it for 2 days straight backcountry skiing in 10 degrees and it was warm, yet I didnt get too hot. Its so stretchy too. I'm 140 lbs, 36 d and got a medium in red, its fantastic, I will be wearing it a lot!

December 18, 2018

Perfectly multi-purpose

This proved to be an excellent base layer for field work and a nice looking primary layer as a sweater. I spend a large portion of time working in the field (often in cold-water trout streams) and either this or the hooded version are always in my bag. Do not get too cold or warm. Holds up great to challenging conditions in the field. This is an al... Read Morel-purpose piece of gear, I wear it in the field as a base-layer and then converts to a nice looking sweater when teaching in the lab or working on fisheries research in the lab. Since I regularly wear these as a primary layer so elected to order one size up (L) so it wouldn't be too snug.

December 9, 2018

So versatile and cute!

I wore this all day skiing and it was everything I needed--warm, comfortable, and no stink at the end of the day. The next day, I realized I had forgotten to pack something a little fancier for dinner. I put this base layer right back on. It works perfectly as a cute sweater, for apres ski or anything else. Thrilled with this purchase and definitel... Read Morey getting more!

November 23, 2018

Favorite baselayer

This lightweight but warm top is my new favorite. I wear it as a top indoors, then layer over it for cold weather activities. I like the higher than usual crew neck as it gives added warmth around my neck without needing a turtleneck and allows me to add a scarf. The torso and sleeve lengths are perfect.

November 15, 2018

Perfect Weight

Loving this layer. The stretch is really nice and it’s soft. Originally ordered a large but exchanged for a medium. The top is nice and long so it’ll stay in my pants while skiing or working outside.

November 14, 2018

Awesome

Love these sweaters (Base layers?), I now have 2! I usually can't wear wool products as they are too itchy, but these I can wear no problems. They look fantastic, I wear them all the time as a sweater, but also great for hiking/skiing etc as a base layer. So incredibly warm but also super breathable so you don't get too hot. The Arrow Red... Read More color is gorgeous, I wish they would make more products with this color! (AKA marsupial better sweater please???). I usually wear a Small or XS, went with Small in this. 5'3" 115lbs 32DD.

October 14, 2018

pilling

I love this sweater but I have worn it only a couple times and its already pilling:(

August 21, 2018

Excellent Baselayer Piece

The biggest draw for me = blending merino wool into this Capilene. It fits a lot tighter/closer to skin than the Thermal Crew. I bought same size for both = XXS. I am 5'1 and 95lbs. The sleeves and torso are great length (longer). Very breathable and warm. Thanks Patagonia and keep on finding ways to give us Merino Wool pieces!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches