Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Tropic Comfort Hoody

Write Your Review

4.5/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 139 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Tropic Comfort Hoody

4.5/5
True To Size
May 6, 2022

Runs Small

I like things loose. I usually order large but ordering XL and still too clingy.

Response from Patagonia
May 10, 2022

Hey Marcia, thank you for the feedback. Our items are designed to have specific fits, so while sizing up might work sometimes that could be why it didn't work this go around. This shirt in particular has a regular fit. You can check out our options for relaxed women's shirts [here](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/womens-shirts?prefn1=fit&prefv1=relaxed). To check on the fit of any product, go to it's product page and check underneath the size range options. You can also search specific fits by using the filter on the left side of any category page, for example "Women's Shirts".

March 18, 2022

Lightweight and comfortable

I bought this for my daughter, she loves it. Very lightweight and smooth on the skin, which is good since she is very particular on how things feel comfort wise. Great sun protection for her fair skin.

March 15, 2022

Yay for sun protection

Got this to wear for sunny outdoor activities, mainly walks, hikes, and at the beach/on the water. I sized up to a small rather than my usual extra small for looser fit. It's still a bit long and I'm not going to get any style points with this but it works well for sun protection.

March 15, 2022

New love

Very good quality love it all the time

March 7, 2022

Ditch the Sunscreen

I have 2 of the Tropic Comfort and one Sunshade hoody. I LOVE them all! For breathability in summer the Tropic Comfort is my go-to and I am so thankful to only need a little sunscreen on my face now. But we all know Patagonia has great products, right! What is even more impressive is the customer service. I just had a nightmare shipping issue and P... Read Moreatagonia customer service reps were there to listen and resolve the situation seamlessly. I was so excited to speak to a real person (that listened) I almost forgot what I was calling about. Thank you a million Patagonia! I would say I will now only buy Patagonia, but for the most part, my entire line is Patagonia because I believe in your product and your environmental stewardship and now your customer service. Kudos!

January 4, 2022

Great sun protection

I ordered this for days at the beach, out on the ocean, and on a sunny hiking trail. The light color and material makes it great for 80+ degree weather and provides great sun protection. I get mine wet if it's too hot to keep cool. The hood has great coverage and I love the side pocket for cell or other carrying needs.

November 29, 2021

Excellent Flats Shirt

I have several Tropic Hoodies. Love this shirt, it's all I pack for a saltwater flats fishing trip. They are quick drying and the hood is extra roomie. It fits well over a hat and snugs up close to the face so it acts like a buff too. Definitely recommend.

November 10, 2021

Great Sun Protection

Does the job and does it well.

July 18, 2021

So light weight and comfy!

Super light weight, keeps the sun off so well. Perfect for river sports in the hot sun! Best desert hiking shirt. It dries very fast as well so it doesn't hold sweat. The hood is perfect for keeping sun off your neck. I'm obsessed with this hoody!!

July 12, 2021

Love this shirt

I love this shirt--it's my go-to for rafting, paddleboarding, & swimming. The only thing I don't love about it is that it's white w/ teal pattern. The white is quite dingy at this point. I'd love to be able to get 1 - 2 more in some more practical outdoor recreation colors. I don't even care about the recall--let me kno... Read Morew if/when you have a bunch of used ones to sell and I will buy some!!

May 19, 2021

Love the material

Really happy with this purchase, it fits nicely, I like the hood, and it's been great to wear out as it's starting to get hot. Only wish the sleeves were 1-2 inches longer.

May 19, 2021

Great sun shirt

This shirt is great. I have last year's version and this year the fabric is better- silkier feeling. It's similar to the cool daily hoodie but has a pocket and a hood with more coverage. I love it. Wear it for everything. I live in hot, humid Texas and I'm tired of lathering up with sunscreen so wanted to find some great sun shirts. ... Read MoreUse it fishing, mountain biking, walking the dog, floating the river. I think it actually feels cooler to wear it than not to even on a 100 degree day. If you can wear it wet, event better.

May 17, 2021

Amazing sun layer

I'm 5'5'', 120 lbs, athletic build and fit is perfect (by that I mean it feels loose enough to be breezy but doesn't fit like a tent). Super light weight, cool & comfortable in hot weather, and effectively keeps the sun off my shoulders, trunk & neck without bothering w/ sunscreen. Thumb holes are a teensy bit short... Read More for my arms but definitely still fit given the slight stretch in the shirt. Hood fits over a baseball cap nicely but would be interested in a model with a space for a ponytail to go through. I love this shirt! Nobody knows what the mushroom jellyfish things are on it either which is entertaining.

May 17, 2021

BEST UPF shirt

I bought this last year and live it. I am super pale and burn in minutes so fit around my face and being able to cover ears, neck etc is super important. My only comment for this year is that I was hoping for some brighter colors but will probably get the jelly flowers one since I got the blue one last year. A hole for long hair would also be great... Read More.

May 17, 2021

Sun protection

It is a bit tight and I am not a big person. I would love a bigger pocket and a zipper. I got a Patagonia hoodie with a zipper and 2 nice sized pockets a couple of years ago, and I loved it. I was hoping to purchase that again but couldnt find it.

May 11, 2021

Love this shirt

I am 5'9" but with a small frame. The M would be too large in the body but the sleeve length might be better. However, otherwise this is the best sunshirt I have ever bought. It is great looking, great fitting, love the hood for protection and warmth if needed with sudden weather change, and it does not smell even after lots of sweat! I a... Read Morem ordering another because I love it so much.

May 5, 2021

Super UV protection

LOVE this shirt, bought it for sun exposure in Death Valley hiking, super comfortable shirt, cool and protected from sun!

May 4, 2021

Nice Sun Shirt

I love this shirt. Super comfortable like the capilene cool shirts, but a little bit heavier and has a nice hood which protects my neck and ears. Also love the designs.

May 2, 2021

Great sailing cover up

Im out in the sun A LOT living and working on a boat. I love this piece. Keeps me cool and protected from the sun.

May 1, 2021

Perfect to hide from the sun

Love these shirts because they are lightweight SPF and the hood stays in pace with the drawstring. They are very cool To wear and find that I prefer to wear the long sleeves to keep the sun directly off my body when hiking. Love the hood for sun protection I own two of these.

May 1, 2021

Amazing Sun. Protection in Hot Weather

I use my sun hoody for protecting me from the elements while farming. It is perfect for hot windy days we get here in CO. I love that I can pull it on and not have to worry about sunscreen. Bought a size larger than normal(s) so there would be plenty of air flow - highly recommend! I only wish it came in some colors less easy to stain(i.e. not whit... Read Moree or light blue) as mine is already very brown from working in the dirt! I wear it 4-5 days a week so I guess that is to be expected!

May 1, 2021

Tropic comfort hoody

Just amazing the fit the style and the material

April 28, 2021

Finally a Women's tropic hoody!

So happy to have a thin breathable sun hoody for the ladies! I have been wearing a men's xs sun hoody for years, I wear a sun hoody almost every day in the summer!

April 17, 2021

Super comfy

This tropic weight top has become a staple of my wardrobe. It is light enough to wear in very warm weather- I always wear it on my walks whether I am in the woods or just around my neighborhood. Protects me from the sun without over heating. I am going to wear it this coming summer for all water activities- paddle boarding, kayaking etc. My son has... Read More had one for years and wears it all the time. Now I understand why!

April 6, 2021

Size disappointed

I opted for the XL thinking I would have a nice relaxed fit for a full bust and a tummy (but nothing huge)and was disappointed it was tight.There wasn't a larger size available and I love the material and the blue color.

April 5, 2021

Great sun-protection hoody for all adventures

I spend the majority of time time working and recreating in the desert and I'm always looking for ways to stay cool and covered. This is one of my favorite tops. The hood easily pulls up over a baseball cap for full coverage. I wear this top hiking, mountain biking, and white water rafting. My one design request is to add a pony tail hole in ... Read Morethe back of the hood and to make sure the seams for the hand loops aren't across the palms (creates issues while biking long distances).

March 9, 2021

Thumb holes in sleeves not functional

I ordered this top in a small for fly fishing. I like the new ability to tighten the hood so it stays on while riding in a flats boat. Unfortunately, the thumb holes are not functional - these sleeves are shorter than past versions of this shirt and the thumb holes are too high, making it tight and uncomfortable to wear it in the way it was designe... Read Mored. Bummer!

February 28, 2021

Mountains or beach

This SPF 50 top is great to grab and go to the mountains or beach

February 25, 2021

Comfortable and beautiful!

The green camo pattern pullover is so soft! The size is true to a 14 top and it fits perfectly. The colors are vibrant and perfect!

February 25, 2021

Super comfy!

Good sun protection and lightweight. Already recommended it to a friend.

February 14, 2021

Great solo or layering

A piece that is a true 10, will use as base layer in three seasons, love micro layers to adjust as the day warms, great neck cover, beautiful blue color. Wearing winter under fleece, jacket, at barn.

December 31, 2020

Essential Sun Protection

Not just for the tropics! I wore this every day on my Salmon River trip in Idaho as well as multiple Montana river trips and it is a great alternative to slathering on sunscreen all the time. It's nice and cool, dries quickly after going through rapids, and somehow doesn't show much dirt considering how light the colors are. I'd high... Read Morely recommend this shirt to anyone that spends time on rivers!

December 23, 2020

Best piece of clothing I own

I love the Tropic Comfort Hoodie. I am someone who gets hot easily, and when I first heard of sun shirts, I wasn't convinced wearing long sleeves when I was hot would be for me. My first sun hoodie was a Sunshade, whichI found too hot. Then I got a tropic comfort hoodie, which is a lot cooler than the Sunshade hoodie. I use mine now for nearly... Read More everything - I work outside, I go hiking, climbing, running, gardening, all of it. It keeps the sun off of me, is light weight, easily packable, the hood stays on easily, the sole pocket fits a phone! (Crazy in women's gear, I know). The only thing I can say is the thumb holes not in a place I can use them. The sleeves are too short for me to use the thumb holes without them digging into my hands. I've heard of other people having that issue too. It is not a reason not to own this piece of gear though. I live in the desert and wear these any time I recreate. When I go on long run in the mountains, I'll soak the hoodie in streams to stay cool when it's hot. I am hard on my stuff, but so far, even with sharp granite and cat's claw ripping at the fabric, they hold up super well. I recommend these to everyone now! You should get this.

December 19, 2020

Love it.

5ft 5 inches. 110. Small much better than the XS for fit.

November 20, 2020

Great Shirt!

I am really really enjoying this t-shirt. I can wear it alone or with a t-shirt underneath. Its ideal for walking & hiking!

September 29, 2020

Works well, but strange fit in arms

I gave this 4 stars because overall I enjoy wearing this and am happy with my purchase, but I would give the fit of the shirt specifically 3 stars. I am 5'5, 130lbs, 32DD, short torso, and am a small in almost everything Patagonia (XS if not S) and have lots of items that fit perfectly. But on this shirt, the arms are too short. I definitely h... Read Moreave average to smaller length arms for someone of my height, but it is almost impossible to use the thumbholes on this shirt without stretching the shirt and the thumbholes digging into my skin. Using the thumbholes also pulls on the arm of the shirt, making my arms feel restricted. So while I often use this shirt for alpine summer hiking, I have never actually hiked with use of the thumbholes because it is too uncomfortable. Not using the thumbholes, the sleeve is a perfect regular length. My other Patagonia items with thumbholes (such as my old R1) have longer sleeves, so that when you use the thumbholes, the sleeve is a perfect length, but this shirt seems to have just placed the hole without compensating for that extra distance. Other than the thumbhole, the shirt itself is great. Lightweight, comfortable, protects from the sun, and is a great color. I usually hike in this wearing a sports bra and tank top underneath and I've never felt too warm to need to take it off and it offers great protection if you are hiking in summer snow. The hood is big enough to cover your face and ponytail without falling off. The little clasp for the hood cord is made out of a foam material and is a little hard to use, so I usually end up not adjusting my hood and just leaving it as is.

Response from Patagonia
December 2, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to provide thorough feedback on your sizing and the fit on the Women's Tropic Comfort Hoody.

September 24, 2020

Great sun protection; cant get clean

This shirt saved my life when I was fishing in the summer heat. Completely avoided getting burned even though I was in 100* full sun for five days. However, I couldnt get it clean! I didnt get muddy or anything, but the dust and dirt stained it and it wont come clean. Fits great over full bust and belly. Didnt feel constricted.

Response from Patagonia
December 3, 2020

Hi Jessie, sorry to hear about the staining on your Women's Tropic Comfort Hoody. To launder fabrics with UPF rating, wash in cold water with a gentle detergent and tumble dry low. You can find more product care instructions here, https://www.patagonia.com/product-care.html. If you're still having trouble with the stains, even after following the care instructions, please feel free to begin a warranty return under our Ironclad Guarantee, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

September 17, 2020

Great sun protection and comfortable

Ive used this shirt for hiking and backpacking trips. Its lightweight, cool (to about 70 degrees), and comfortable. I also bought my daughter 3 of these shirts (I have 2) that she uses for fly fishing. Were both fans. I like the looser fit and bought size small (52, 115 lbs). She likes a tighter fit and wears XS (55, 125 lbs). The hood & thumb ... Read Moreholes offer great sun protection!

September 10, 2020

Lovely

The feel of this shirt is so soft and I love the (pale yellow) color. I have worn it several times for water activity and its great. Comfortable in heat, dries fast, and looks good! And the hood is awesome for sun and/or wind protection!

September 7, 2020

Amazing fabric, but dress length.

I dont really consider myself to be short - Im around 55 - but this hoodie came literally to mid-thigh. Unfortunately, I ended up returning it (if it werent so long Id definitely keep it) and the associate said its likely due to the fact that its designed for fishing. As a climber, I also frequently put my hands over my head so Im not sure how that... Read More makes a difference. Perhaps patagonia could make this hoodie in 2 lengths? I LOVED the neck and the hood on this and felt it would protect against glacier glare. Otherwise its a typical, high quality patagonia product and beautiful beautiful fabric. Bummed about this one!

September 6, 2020

Fits nice.

Fits nicely and is lightweight to wear.

September 3, 2020

Gift

This product also was a gift for my daughter so I am not putting my height in. Shes very pleased with it although again I wish there had been more colors to choose from yellow shows up every single mark and it wouldve been nice to get a different color but thats all that was available in her size Shes very pleased with it although again I wish the... Read Morere had been more colors to choose from yellow shows up every single mark and it wouldve been nice to get a different color but thats all that was available in her size Product is great color selection could use some updating.

September 2, 2020

Love it

I wear this paddleboarding whenever I go out and it's the perfect layer - it keeps the sun off of my arms but doesn't make me hot at all. I'm usually a medium in Patagonia but sized up for a loose fit. (5'5", 150 lb athletic-ish build, 34D).

August 2, 2020

Fit is off

It could just be how I like my outdoor clothing to fit, but this was just really tight, especially compared to the same fit (regular) as the capilene cool daily & trail shirts. I really wanted to like this, but the hood was not working for me either. I think the men's neckline makes so much more sense and I can't understand why the wo... Read Moremen's is a different closure system. I dislike the foam adjuster and think it is unnecessarily difficult to use.

Response from Patagonia
August 27, 2020

We appreciate these comments and can see why this didn't work for you. We always want to ensure you're loving your gear, so please don't hold onto this if it missed the mark and we'd be happy to help with a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

July 22, 2020

Very slim fit, but the cowl can double as a face mask

Unlike a lot of Patagonia clothes these days, this shirt is cut very slim. I decided to size up in the hopes that will keep me cooler, knowing I won't be using this shirt for any athletic endeavors where I'd mind some extra fabric. I haven't worn anything yellow in years, but the blue was sold out and the yellow actually looks much n... Read Moreicer than I expected. I'm not sure if it will feel weird wearing yellow in fall, but I may get one of the cool daily hoodies for that. You can actually tighten the hood using the toggle to cover everything but your eyes. This could easily double as a face mask if needed in a pinch, although obviously not as protective as a real face mask.

July 13, 2020

Nice fabric, weird hood

The toggle for the hood is placed asymmetrically and it looks and feels strange. When I'm not wearing the hood, it shifts every time I bend over and it looks strange. The fabric is wonderful.

July 13, 2020

Great Coverage

I primarily wear while walking my dog. Blocks the sun without having to grease up with sunscreen. Already own a couple of the crew tropic shirts, but wanted one with a hood to be able to block some of the pesky insects from my head and neck area while out walking or doing yard work. The little pocket is an added bonus, that is where I discreetly ke... Read Moreep a couple of bags for the nasty business that happens while out for a walk with my four legged companion.

July 13, 2020

Great sun shirt

I love Patagonia's sun shirts, and this one is not exception. The weight is great for hot days. The drawstring is a bit difficult to use and keep in place, but not enough so to make me love this shirt any less. After wearing this on a backpacking trip in the heat, just about every one of my friends asked for a link so they could purchase their... Read More own.

July 13, 2020

Great sun shirt

This is exactly what I was looking for in a sun shirt. It is long enough to wear while riding and perfectly covers my head and neck (Im incredibly fair and hate using sunblock everyday). The hip pocket is big enough for my phone. It is cool and comfortable and I immediately ordered another one. Thanks Patagonia!

July 13, 2020

More of a cover up than a shirt for a short person

This shirt comes well below my butt. Good for throwing on over a suit on the boat but not useful for much else. I hoped to mountain bike in it as well but its almost a dress.

July 13, 2020

Great Layer!

I replaced an ancient sun hoody with this number and am really happy with it. The hood is ENORMOUS, the material is comfy, and the fit is nice (slim-ish) but dips down slightly in the front and back (!) to keep the back covered when biking etc. Overall I love it - the only downside is that it's a little short on my long arms (I'm 5'1... Read More0" with a +2 ape index) so an inch or two of my wrists are exposed... This is a common problem for me in a lot of Women's Patagonia gear. That said, I would not size up to a L just for the wrist coverage as the rest of the fit is so great.

July 10, 2020

Great Coverage

I primarily wear while walking my dog. Blocks the sun without having to grease up with sunscreen. Already own a couple of the crew tropic shirts, but wanted one with a hood to be able to block some of the pesky insects from my head and neck area while out walking or doing yard work. The little pocket is an added bonus, that is where I discreetly ke... Read Moreep a couple of bags for the nasty business that happens while out for a walk with my four legged companion.

July 9, 2020

Great sun shirt

I love Patagonia's sun shirts, and this one is not exception. The weight is great for hot days. The drawstring is a bit difficult to use and keep in place, but not enough so to make me love this shirt any less. After wearing this on a backpacking trip in the heat, just about every one of my friends asked for a link so they could purchase their... Read More own.

July 9, 2020

Great sun shirt

This is exactly what I was looking for in a sun shirt. It is long enough to wear while riding and perfectly covers my head and neck (Im incredibly fair and hate using sunblock everyday). The hip pocket is big enough for my phone. It is cool and comfortable and I immediately ordered another one. Thanks Patagonia!

July 9, 2020

Colors & Price is higher for Women

I bought this hoody for fishing during warm days in the camo color. I'm with the reviews for more color options; more neutrals, please. Also, I'd like to call Patagonia out on price. Why is the Men's version priced at $10 cheaper than the Women's? That is crap.

Response from Patagonia
August 7, 2020

Hi Elizabeth, thanks for your feedback! The men's is cheaper than the women's because it has less features. As you can see, the women's version has an adjustable hood whereas the men's does not. The women's version also has a zippered pocket located on the back right side, while the men's does not have any pockets at all. Nonetheless, your feedback regarding the color selection has been passed along to the appropriate team.

June 30, 2020

cool and comfy sun protection

I love this sun shirt! It fits well, except the arms are too short to be able to use the thumb holes for hand coverage - why I gave it 4 stars. It is also cool!! So many sun shirts are hot! And the fit is flattering to my slender body. Thank you Patagonia!

June 26, 2020

Fits well, warm for hot weather.

Comfortable, fits well. Hoped to wear for long walks in sun in lieu of sun screen, but too warm.

June 25, 2020

Blocking the sun

For skin protection, garment is good for driving. There is a thumb hook, granting good hand coverage. Hood is comfy, with adjusting toggle. Does the job.

June 25, 2020

Soft and Comfy but not as tough as my other Patagonia Sun Shirt

I really like a lot of features in this shirt. The hood is sick! The zippered pocket is so nice to have! I like the color, the softness of the material. It is super light and not too hot to wear all day in the sun. However, after only 2 wears it is stained, my backpack caused it to wear where my hip belt is and it has a little thread rip? Not sure ... Read Morewhat to call it. I haven't been to hard on it either. So I don't think it will last long.

Response from Patagonia
July 23, 2020

Thanks for your thoughtful feedback on the features and fabric of this hoody, Sarah! We're sorry to hear the durability has been disappointing. We'll be happy to help you return it under our Ironclad Guarantee, so please reach out to us: help.patagonia.com/s

June 21, 2020

Perfect for summer protection

I love this top, it is perfect for protecting my skin when I am in the sun for long hours. I dont love sunscreen so this is the perfect compromise, once Ive soaked up my vitamin D for the day I can put this on and still stay out and feel cool on hot summer days.

June 19, 2020

Does not breathe!

I actually ordered both the L and M of this product. The L fit better and I'm really in between a L and M for most products. I wish Patagonia made a women's version of the Men's Tropic Hoody II. My boyfriend has one and it breathes and fits so much nicer with the simple neckline and button. The women's has a thicker fabric that ... Read Moredoesn't really breathe, especially around your neck.

Response from Patagonia
July 16, 2020

Thanks for the feedback on this and we are sorry it missed the mark for you. We always want to make sure you're satisfied so if you decide you'd like to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this back to us, please feel free to do so.

June 19, 2020

Almost perfect

I wanted a fishing shirt with a hood I could tighten up so my hair would not tangle. This worked for that as well as being cool. The only downfall is the sleeves are not quite long enough to use thumb holes without it stretching fabric on sleeves. For me this wasnt a deal breaker still wish the sleeves were longer though.

June 19, 2020

No sun shall pass

This shirt is rad! I have it in many colors and love it . The hood is big and doesnt make you feel suffocated while still providing great sun protection . In all of my others of this shirt I have a Medium, but the camo ran large and I ended up with a small .

June 18, 2020

Too small!

I generally wear a size large in tops from Patagonia. I ordered a large and it was much too small! I was looking for a relaxed fitting top for hiking and fishing. The top was form-hugging! The materials was wonderful though - lightweight and breathable. I wish I had sized up from what I typically order for this top.

Response from Patagonia
July 14, 2020

Thanks for the feedback on this and we are sorry to hear that the size didn't work out for you. Please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.ca/canada-returns.html) this back to us and we are happy to help with an exchange for a bigger size.

June 17, 2020

Better Colors Please

I echo another reviewer here about the color choices. Can you give women similar choices as men who have loads more colors in this shirt? And sometimes I don't also want to stand out or have frilly colors. Sometimes we want to feel safe on a trail and not call attention to ourselves --- or just covered up when we are out on the water. Equal co... Read Morelors for women I ask. At least more solid options - both muted for safety /not standing out - and colorful/ for wanted to stand out on water / options. Basically, please give women options like you do men. Thanks and my best wishes to you all. PS I will use this for general out of doors and sailing.

June 17, 2020

Perfect for summer protection

I love this top, it is perfect for protecting my skin when I am in the sun for long hours. I dont love sunscreen so this is the perfect compromise, once Ive soaked up my vitamin D for the day I can put this on and still stay out and feel cool on hot summer days.

June 17, 2020

Super sun protection

This is a lovely and well designed sun cover. It really needs more zippered pockets and it will be a all around great summer top for any occasion. I think that Patagonia should offer less fashionable wear but return to the timeless weather wear with attention to UV protection, and summer heat.

June 17, 2020

Awesome shirt, short little arms

This shirt has been great for hanging out on the water, having a layer after mountain biking, and anything where I want to keep the sun off my skin. The arms are way too short for a tall person to use the thumb holes, but the rest of the fit is good, so I'm not sure I'd recommend sizing up.

June 17, 2020

Summer Uniform

Being super fair skinned and prone to sun burns, this light, loose fit sun shirt complete with hoody is a quick and easy choice for all outdoor activities. Both my husband and I wear and swear by these.

June 13, 2020

Love it for hiking in the sun, but size up!

This is a fabulous, lightweight sun shirt, which I wore all the time when hiking in the Pyrenees last summer, sometimes in the strong direct sun. The shirt was super. But, I am ordering the next size up from my regular size because the fit is uncomfortably tight in the heat while exercising.

June 5, 2020

Disappointed in color options for women

I'm a huge fan and a lot of my gear is from Patagonia. I was waiting for this year's tropic comfort hoody to come out but I'm really disappointed in the color selection. Men have eight options, women just have four? And of those, none are true neutrals - even the gray is a weird baseball-T style with the fish on it. I don't th... Read Moreink it's too much to ask for a plain gray hoody in a women's cut. The color options feels like I'm shopping in the little girl's section again and feels like one more way outdoors companies are excluding women from being able to wear what we want. As someone who does a lot of solo backpacking, being able to hike incognito without advertising my gender to people a mile away is an important factor in gear selection. Next year PLEASE make sure there are neutral options for all your women's gear.

Response from Patagonia
June 7, 2020

Thank you for your feedback, as it helps our product designers. While we do not have plans for a grey color offering in the Women's hoody this year, we'll absolutely keep it in mind for future iterations.

May 22, 2020

Great sun coverage!

This comfort hoodie is awesome. It protects you from the sun and does not make you overheat; even when working out! However, when it's a little chilly in the morning or late evening, this is perfect to throw over a tight fitting tank top. I'm not crazy about the pull string to tighten the hood, but really no complaints on this piece! Ho... Read Morenestly worth the money!

May 21, 2020

So comfy, arms aren't long

This product is great. Feels durable, looks great. fits well-ish. If you're lanky like me you probably won't be able to use the arm holes, but the fit is OK. Fabric is really comfy.

May 13, 2020

Great shirt, wears fast

I love this hoodie! I have taken it on some spring back-country ski tours and love the hood coverage for sun protection. The material is breezy and keeps you cool. Unfortunately the material started to pill and show wear after only one trip. If it was tougher it would be 5 stars.

May 1, 2020

Smooth and cool on hot days

All the bases are covered in this awesome design. A cinch hood to keep you covered on blustery work days and sailing upwind, zippered stash pocket thats easy to access when wearing a PFD (which is surprisingly hard to find!), and enough length in the right places that you can reach up high to cast a net or grab a wayward halyard without having to r... Read Moreeadjust or expose a ton of skin. Wears perfectly for long, hot days on the water and doesnt lose its shape or charm after youve sweat buckets. The gypsum green is just as pictured-delightful and fun!

April 16, 2020

Amazing lightweight sun protection

This is an awesome hoodie! I spend a lot of time outdoors but am sensitive to the the sun, this will be my new go to for rafting and backcountry ski trips! Fits great, the hood has a lot of room to fit over other hats, very comfortable.

April 8, 2020

Pilled Very Quickly

This was great in the heat of the Philippines. However - after one day of hiking in this, the fabric started to pill. It’s pulled all over the chest on me - kind of disappointing as it’s brand new...

Response from Patagonia
May 18, 2020

Hi Karlee, knitted garments are prone to pilling, and this style is no exception. Removing pills can help lengthen the life of your Patagonia gear, plus it’s easy to do with a sweater stone. Learn about removing pills at [wornwear.com].

March 7, 2020

Great water shirt

I love wearing this hoody out boating. It keeps you cool and protected in bright sun, and it takes some of the bite out of the wind on blustery days. It's easy to wear a ballcap under the hood and cinch the ties around your face. Comfortable fabric and flattering shape. I wear this thing all the time. I am 5'5 and 135lb, the medium was ... Read Moreperfect.

February 27, 2020

Sunscreen Saver!

I wore this almost daily on a thirty day sailing trip and it held up so well. The back pocket was perfect for my phone and I think I saved a gallon of sunscreen. So pleased!

January 2, 2020

Costa Rica Ultimate Protection

Great possibilities for a shirt like this. The womens design was too long and quite big. Im tall and would have liked the mens cut better. I liked the cinch hood that the mens does not have. It did provide great sun protection.

December 18, 2019

Sun hoody

I love the Patagonia sun shirts. The material is very soft and light. I love the green color. The black drawstring is a little big/odd. I wish the sleeves were a little longer to cover my hands while running. The thumb holes feel a little tight. For reference, I'm 5'5", 115 lbs, 32A.

December 3, 2019

Great Service

very comfortable shirt and very functional for many activities.

November 23, 2019

Ok shirt but fit not right

Overall ok but sleeves short for size resulting in pulling at the thumb hole. 5’7” 140 lb purchased size M

November 18, 2019

perfect fit, light material

I'm excited to wear this hoodie in the grand canyon for sun protection while rafting, it feels like silk but cool to the touch and is quick dry.

November 5, 2019

wearing this for all my

wearing this for all my sports and loving it :)

October 30, 2019

Great sun shirt

Comfortable and light. True to size. Love it.

October 26, 2019

Clingy bottom

I'm 5'.05" and 115 lbs. I usually wear a size Medium in most brands...except when it comes to Patagonia, sizes may be S or M if the shirt is "regular," which this style is. However, it seems a bit more fitted than regular. Thus, I had to return it to my local Patagonia shop. Note that the Capilene Cool Daily Hoodie which is... Read More a regular fit, is truly a regular and it is a perfect fit for me. So, for those who prefer a fitted fit, go with the Tropic Comfort Hoodie, and for those who prefer a regular fit, I suggest the Capilene Cool Daily Hoodie.

October 7, 2019

Hands down...

...Best moisture wicking fly fishing shirt in the industry. I’ve tried Orvis dry release and Free Fly and go back to the tropic comfort hoody every time. Thanks for making an AMAZING product!

September 24, 2019

Love the look

This top is supper cute, I love the color and the fit. The reason I only gave it 4 stars is because the sleeves are not long enough for me to use the thumb holes. I usually have an issue with this, so I ordered a larger size, they still don't fit. Other then that, I love it! I have taken it out fishing a few times, the hood was great protectio... Read Moren from the sun. I look forward to taking it hiking to see how well it breaths while protecting me.

September 21, 2019

Nice and lite

Runs a bit slender but a good piece for traveling

September 14, 2019

Comfy top

Fits true to size, not too tight which is nice. Seems breathable and lightweight, have not tested it for sun protection yet but so far it’s a great piece.

September 13, 2019

Comfortable, but interesting hood string

I bought this for a recent hike up Mt. Saint Helens. I initally bought this as a sun shirt but ended up using it as a base layer because of adverse conditions on summit day. The hoody fits well and is pretty true to size. Going off of previous Patagonia purchases I decided to downsize and am happy with my decision. I think i could have stayed with ... Read Moreeither the Medium or a Large and been happy either way. Love the back pocket; it fits my iphone 8 which rarely ever happens. My only curiosity about it is the hood string. When you cinch the hood tight you now have this long and rather obtrusive string dangling and tucking it in doesn't help or look any better.

September 11, 2019

Good fit

I have a slim torso, broad shoulders and long arms. The medium fits me well - hangs well and is not too tight or too baggy. Lightweight material is very comfortable.

September 9, 2019

Great shirt

I bought this for sailing. I wore it all day without a sunburn or stinky pits. I like the look and color. The hood is kind of funny, but I can see how it would be really useful for additional sun coverage. Very nicely made.

September 9, 2019

Perfect for Rim2Rim

Used this the other day for a Rim2Rim run on the Grand Canyon, where it was 111 degrees at the bottom. It literally saved me. Perfect for heat and felt so good when I soaked it with water to keep me cool.

September 2, 2019

The fabric is exactly what

The fabric is exactly what I am looking for but the arms were way too short.

August 28, 2019

Tropic Hoody

This hoody is incredible. I just spent two weeks in the Alps and wore this shirt as much as possible. It was cooler then having bare skin exposed on the hot sunny days and I didn’t need to wear nearly as much sunscreen. The large hood is my favorite part as it sets other sun shirts apart. It is easily pulled over a hat (and stays put) and spacious ... Read Moreenough for comfort while breathing heavy from strenuous exercise. I would recommend this shirt to anyone looking for sun protection on the trail.

August 23, 2019

Boom

I’m 5’10 around 155lbs. This fits like a glove. Sleeves when using thumbholes are a little short for me but I am super long. Got the medium like I always do in Patagonia. Going to order in another color. Very pleased!

August 21, 2019

so much potential but had to return

I wanted to love this but the cut is off, especially for Patagonia. I usually wear a small, or size 6, and most of the time Patagonia gets it just right, even for my long arms. This little gem runs very small in my shoulders and especially small for my arms. I'm doubtful I could use the thumb holes even if I had a large because the hem of the ... Read Moresmall only lands on my wrist. I bought the crew neck T-shirt in small as well and had the same issue with sizing. I am tempted to size up to a medium but given how small the overall cut is I would have to go up to a large and then it would be too wide for my torso. Hoping the cut improves next year as I would get a ton of use out of this otherwise, especially would use the hoody comfort shirt all 4 seasons by layering under things. Love the SPF factor, love the fabric thus the four stars. Knocked one star off for being cut so oddly.

Response from Patagonia
September 2, 2019

Sorry to hear that the hoody has been a disappointment. You're welcome to [return](https://is.gd/DQq2nw) it to a Patagonia-owned store or send it in for a refund or merchandise credit.

August 19, 2019

Lightweight and UPF 50. Great

Lightweight and UPF 50. Great shirts!

August 18, 2019

It's like Mithril

I LOVE this top. It is the perfect layer for hiking, biking, climbing, or skiing in the intense sun. The fabric is stunning- it's so lightweight and breathable that I didn't even notice I was wearing it! While biking it even had a cooling effect on my skin! The hood is big and nice, and while the cinch took a little getting used to, it of... Read Morefers great protection. It's definitely more on the slim fit side, which works well for my build.

August 17, 2019

Great sun protection

Both are great! The women’s long sleeve I ordered fits me a bit short in the arms so the stitching around the thumb hole cuts into my hands. The men’s long sleeve is great. I’m planning on ordering both again!

August 16, 2019

WS Tropic Comfort Hoody

Very comfortable lightweight fabric, cute style; 4 stars as it is about 2” too long for me; also the neckline cinch keeps loosening.

August 15, 2019

I don't know why I waited so long to replace my old sun shirt.

I love nature, and am a skilled shade seeker. I finally replaced my 15 year-old button down that was 2" short in the arms (add 2 more inches lost when I roll the sleeves). This shirt is the perfect personal shade provider! I strut through the Colorado mountains with little stress about whether or not I need to apply more sunscreen - which is a... Read More huge win for me and my fellow adventurers. After I bought one, I got a second so I can never have to worry about one being in the wash. I am 5’4”, 120lbs. The XS fit great, but I wanted one of them to be a little looser so also got a S. The S is also great for my longer arms -- I get full coverage for my arms in the XS, but the thumb holes feel a little snug when I bend my arms in the smaller size. For me, the tighter fit seems better for the rigorous/running activity, whereas the larger size seems like a great option for when I am “hiking” with my 2 and 4 year old. I love the weight of the fabric and the functionality of the hood as well! My only complaint on this product is that it doesn't come in a full body suit...your move Patagonia.

August 15, 2019

Love it!

Lightweight and feels good next too skin. Perfect layer when you don't want more sun. Fits a bit small.

August 14, 2019

Great lightweight sun protection!

Love this shirt! I wear L in Patagonia Torrentshell jacket, but sized up to XL for the Tropic Comfort hoodie. L was skin tight, XL was more flattering and more breathable. Sitting in the sun, I did not feel any hotter in long sleeves than I would have bare-skinned, which is nice, and when we were boating around the lake, the breeze came through whi... Read Morech was even better. I had sunblock on and this light blue hoodie did not discolor at all, unlike a competitor's product which turned brown where sunblock touched it. Very pleased with this purchase and look forward to more boating and also trying it for hiking and music festivals.

August 13, 2019

The only shirt I'll ever wear in the sun again!

I live in this shirt while on our multi-day river trips. No matter if I am wading in the water to rig a boat, or passing back beers while lounging on the bow, this shirt has been a life saver on the river. At the end of the day my skin is not burned from the sun, and not sticky from sunscreen. That goes a long way when you are also camping for mult... Read Moreiple days in the wilderness. I am usually able to wear the shirt for 2-3 days in a row, before pulling out a fresh Tropic Comfort Hoody. Yes, I have multiples of this same shirt because its that awesome! In different colors of course!

August 13, 2019

Love this sun shirt.

Very lightweight. Feels cool on a very hot day. I love that I don't need to worry about applying sunscreen to my upper body when I am wearing this.

August 12, 2019

Montana Puppyraiser

We've had a hot summer here in Montana, and this hoody was perfect for long days on the water fishing. The hood does a great job keeping the sun off my face and neck, and the fit is perfect, you forget that you have the hood up. When I got really hot, I dunked the hoody in the water and put it back on, that kept me cool as the hoody dried. I t... Read Morehink I need to buy another one!

August 12, 2019

Perfect Weight

Used it on the Amazon River in July and it was the perfect weight to wear at night on the open air boats.

August 11, 2019

I work on the water,

I work on the water, love this hoody. The big hood covers, yet if it’s windy I can cinch it down and it never falls down. It’s always windy, I would love a couple more colors. I have 3 of each color right now. I wear them every day!!

August 11, 2019

Caribbean

I bought two of these tropic hoodies because I didn’t know what to expect weather wise in the Caribbean. They were perfect for days out on the boat, keeping me cool and protected from the sun in 90+ temperatures. And they look really cute!

August 11, 2019

tropic hoody

I bought one of these, wore it once and bought two more. These are now the only shirts I have any interest in wearing. The only time I wear anything else is when these are dirty and the washer is still on spin cycle. Fortunately for me, they dry fast, and yes, I have worn them right out of the washer. They are perfect on the hottest summer day and ... Read Morehave greatly reduced the amount of sunblock I use. When the sun goes down, they are the perfect weight to keep the chill (and most of the mosquitoes) off on a high mountain evening. They resist dirt, don't stink even after a long run, pack down to the size of a par of socks, come through the wash looking new, and are soo comfortable. More colours would be cool.

August 10, 2019

Perfect for the beach

Just returned from San Francisco, the hooded sun shirt was perfect for sun protection and comfort. It slipped easily in my bag to take anywhere, from the beach to the city!

August 10, 2019

Best river top

This top fits perfectly. It shades the sides of my face and my chin on the river. Used it on the Grand Canyon and only the tips of my fingers got a tan.

August 10, 2019

Not great for active sun exposure

Albeit great for protecting your skin from the sun, this material is much too thick and hot for exercising outdoors. The thumb holes are too short. I was unable to comfortably use my arms when using the added protection of the thumholes. Vents would make this shirt more user friendly.

August 10, 2019

Not for me

I sent this back without a second thought. The hood was way too much, the two fabrics felt mismatched...just not for me. I ended up with a simple man's shirt- straight cut, one fabric, soft and lovely.

August 10, 2019

Perfect Addition

I've really gotten to the point I hate sunscreen and have opted to use clothing to cover my fair skin. This hoody is the perfect addition! Cool, comfortable, large hood to go over my visor or ball cap. I love it!

August 10, 2019

Perfect river shirt

Kept me comfortable in the blazing sun on a week-long river trip. Absolutely love it.

August 10, 2019

Perfect for Being in the Sun All day!

I wear this top sailing (in Texas and Louisiana summers) . It’s perfect for keeping the sun off my neck and arms while keeping me cool. Love it! Although I do wish the length of the sleeves were a tad longer or at least a little more stretchy.

August 10, 2019

Love this top!

East to carry with me and put on quickly to keep sun damage away. Fits nicely and is pretty cool even on hot days. Certainly cooler that sunburn.

August 10, 2019

Runs really small

Loved the idea of this, great fabric, but it runs very small. I had to return it.

Response from Patagonia
August 13, 2019

We're sorry you ended up returning it! Please don't hesitate to contact our [Customer Service](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html) team if you have any questions regarding your refund.

August 10, 2019

Excellent

I keep the hoody in my car for whenever I might need it. It is excellent for lightweight but efficient sun protection, especially while on the water. It looks good over clothes or a swimsuit, the hood is good alone or over a hat, and the rear zippered pocket is quite useful. I have been thinking about getting a second one for myself.

August 10, 2019

Breathes well, protects against sun,

Breathes well, protects against sun, the relax fit is nice in the hear

August 10, 2019

Sun protection

Excellent sun protection for hot Hawaiian days! Washes well and does not stink

August 4, 2019

Almost Perfect

Great sun protection for your neck and sides of face. I like the long curved hem, so that your lower back doesn't show or get burnt. I love the thumb holes and long arms so that the tops of your hands don't burn either. It would be a great backpacking shirt, except that the zippered packet is a bother against the hip belt. I would love if... Read More it as a little more simple and had no pocket. (The daily capilene hooded version would almost be perfect match but that one doesn't have thumb holes.) The weave is tight enough and the fit loose enough that is does a good job of deterring mosquitoes as well!

Response from Patagonia
August 7, 2019

So glad to hear that this shirt has been working well for you but are sorry for the discomfort the zipper has caused. We recommend taking a look at our [W's Capilene Cool Daily Hoody](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-capilene-cool-daily-hoody/45315.html?dwvar_45315_color=BYBX&cgid=womens-shirts#start=1). This will perform very similarly but does not have that zipper.

July 26, 2019

Awesome for the Grand Canyon

This shirt was my go to shirt for a HOT Grand Canyon River trip. I also purchased the W's Sunshade Hoody but it didn't dry out as quickly.

June 28, 2019

Awesome fishing shirt!

I love the Tropic Comfort series, particularly the hoody. This is the most breathable fabric of any sun protection shirt I've worn and offers great protection. I put it to use during multiple days of fishing in the Mexico sun and it kept me protected and felt super lightweight. The drawstring on the hood is great for covering your face and kee... Read Moreping your hat on when running the boat. Fits true to size and the little pocket on the side is helpful for stashing a sun glass shamy or flies.

June 21, 2019

Amazing Summer Shirt!

The fabric is perfect for warm/hot days in the sun. The sleeves are a perfect length for me. The length of the shirt is nice with a harness as well, does not come un-tucked. It is a great weight fabric! The hood fits nicely over a helmet, but also without one. I am 5'4" and 118lbs, athletic build and the XS fit perfect! Not too tight, not... Read More too loose.

May 31, 2019

Amazing

This shirt feels super soft, fits true to size, and has great features. The only thing that worries me is the foam toggle on the hood to tighten it, I'm not sure how long that will last or what the reasoning was for not going with a more durable toggle. Overall impressed and might purchase a 2nd!

May 28, 2019

So comfortable and flattering

Bought for a trip to Asia in the summer, where it will be hot, humid, and rainy. It is SO soft and comfortable!! It's also flattering, which is great. Love the UPF coverage.

May 26, 2019

True to it's name

So comfortable, airy and light. Feels like a durable fabric, and the cut is lovely. I like the hood idea, it serves as both a hood and a buff if you cinch it up all the way. Would love to see this in more solid colors!

May 9, 2019

Cute and comfortable

Loving the hoodie. Fits perfectly and keeps me pretty cool. Excited to test it more in the tropics of Hawaii!!

May 8, 2019

Exceeded my expectations

I purchase this for the UV protection before a visit to the Grand Canyon .80 degree temperatures and it was perfect. Very comfortable and I never felt sweaty. I plan on buying one for my husband. Also, the price is decent!

May 8, 2019

Lightweight shirt for summer

Very lightweight and good for summer wear.

April 7, 2019

Best sun hoody yet!

Style is updated and covers the neck better. Material is more breathable and lighter than the past. Colors are all awesome. Fit is looser than last years which is a bonus--the arms last year were too tight for me and the fit was narrow. These run true to size in most Patagonia stuff.

April 2, 2019

Best Sun Hoody EVER

I own a multitude of sun shirts from a variety of brands, including other Patagonia styles. This is 100% the best one. Just spent 30 days fishing in Mexico and wore this one almost every day even though I had other options along. It went to the laundry once a week; didn't ever smell even after wearing it multiple full days in a row. The hood f... Read Moreits under your hat and buff and stays on. The length is perfect. I'd make the sleeves a little longer to prevent the wrist sunshine when you're being active.

April 1, 2019

Amazing

This might be the comfiest thing I’ve ever put on. Extremely lightweight and soft. The hood is perfect. Reminiscent of my Melanzana I’ve had for 5 years. The hood has a nice clasp that keeps the hood up when it gets windy which is helpful. I usually go for medium’s, but ended up getting a large in this one just out of personal preference. Liked the... Read More loose fitting boyfriend shirt look for this hoody. (I’m 5”5” and 138 lbs, 6/8) I’m stoked to wear this in the desert next week. I’m nervous about the color because it’s so light and I’m going backpacking and will inevitably get this thing dirty af. A dark desert brown would have perfect. But I am truly obsessed with this! Recommended for sure. Would buy another in a darker color if they ever make one.

April 1, 2019

Amazing

This might be the comfiest thing I’ve ever put on. Extremely lightweight and soft. The hood is perfect. Reminiscent of my Melanzana I’ve had for 5 years. The hood has a nice clasp that keeps the hood up when it gets windy which is helpful. I usually go for medium’s, but ended up getting a large in this one just out of personal preference. Liked the... Read More loose fitting boyfriend shirt look for this hoody. (I’m 5”5” and 138 lbs, 6/8) I’m stoked to wear this in the desert next week. I’m nervous about the color because it’s so light and I’m going backpacking and will inevitably get this thing dirty af. A dark desert brown would have perfect. But I am truly obsessed with this! Recommended for sure. Would buy another in a darker color if they ever make one.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches