Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Capilene® Air Hoody

Write Your Review

4.7/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 138 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Capilene® Air Hoody

4.7/5
True To Size
December 6, 2021

Indispensable!

Perfect layer for PNW winter steelheading. Great under jackets for warmth and staying dry.

November 23, 2021

The perfect thing on a chilly day

Love the way the hood acts as a gator. Just right under a pair of waders or light insulation on a ski day. The best for sleeping.

November 20, 2021

Versatile and stylish

Material is flexible enough to be worn underneath outer layers or one size up for a more casual approach. When not pulled up, the hood essentially acts as a scarf. But, keep it away from Velcro if you want it to last.

November 18, 2021

Good for cold weather

Awesome base layer for cold weather, the neck gaiter/hood does a great job of holding heat in (downside is that it doesn't dump heat easily) and fits well under a helmet . The zipper-less design is light, warm and the fabric feels great next to skin. This is a great piece for cold or low-output days; I've been using it for alpine climbing... Read More but can see it being perfect for the ski hill or kicking around town in the winter. James Walter Alpine Guide

November 18, 2021

Favorite new piece

Bought it for my dad, he basically wears it every day. Super comfy, practical, and versatile. Looks good too!

November 11, 2021

Early impressions

Thus far Ive lived with and worn this product for about 40 days, so take this with a grain of salt. I would describe the fit as slim, but this is what I desired as Im wearing it primarily as a base layer. I can say that the hoodie keeps you warm IF your body is warm and does a great job of wicking sweat from your skin. I cant say that the hoodie w... Read Moreill make you warm if youre not generating any body heat, e.g., just standing outside on a cold morning. I own Patagonia capilene products that are 15+ years old and have worn very well, but am unsure how this product will withstand the test of time. The product care tag needed to be sewn back on after three washings. Its for that reason that I can only give this product 4 stars.

November 11, 2021

Fantastic

This base layer is fantastic. The fabric is super soft and comfortable and the fit is spot on. Im 59 and 185 lbs and it fits close but not tight. This hoody is remarkably warm and breathable and excelled at temperature regulation regardless of whether I was hiking, running, shopping, or dinning. I never got cold or overheated, no matter what I was ... Read Moredoing. My only complaint is that I wish it was easier to remove the tag. I was a little nervous cutting the stitching, but once that annoying tag was gone, pure bliss! Whats interesting with the way the Capilene Air Hoody is constructed, is once the tag is gone, there really is no such thing as inside out or right side out. Very cool! Also, I want more colors!

November 9, 2021

Best Layer ever

Love the soft texture of this Capilene Air Hoody. Fits like a glove under my Houdini, Air Houdini and Mission Peak Coat for trail running. Wicks the moisture away and dries quickly. Appreciate the new colors. 38 chest at 160lbs and the Small fits snug but not squeezing the air out of my lungs.

November 4, 2021

Great design

Love the design, but would be more useful in the material used for the R1

Response from Patagonia
November 12, 2021

Hey Dan, we appreciate the feedback and will share it with the team. Please note if you're ever unsatisfied, all gear is covered by our Ironclad Guarantee. You can begin the return process [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

October 29, 2021

Soft, Warm, and Breathable

I have been looking a lightweight, hooded complement to my existing collection of PowerStretch pull overs for a year. I settled on the Capilene Air Hoody because of how soft, warm, and breathable it was. Some people might not enjoy how high the hood comes up your neck, but I like it. I have only had this a few weeks, but the northeastern US has g... Read Moreiven me opportunities to try it in lots of conditions. It's perfect for me (I run warm) as: 1. A single layer from 50-65*F with no to medium activity 2. A warm layer over a t-shirt from 45-65*F with mild to vigorous activity 3. A mid layer from 30-55*F with either a puffy or a hardshell with any level of activity

October 19, 2021

Great layer!

Bought this product for cold fishing mornings. It will be great!

October 14, 2021

Essential!!!

A great piece of gear! Small enough to forget about in your pack or running vest, but packs a punch when you need an extra layer. Its perfect walking on a fall day or under a shell while running in the snow. The fit is amazing and it feels great against the skin. I would 100% recommend it to anyone.

October 6, 2021

Comfortable and functional

Great piece and easy to layer with in changing conditions. The hood worked well at night.

September 12, 2021

Great baselayer and plenty durable

This piece functions as my primary warmth layer on all my thru hikes. The neck is pretty turtlenecky so if that bothers you maybe go hoodless. So far its gone over 2500 miles and is still totally sound in terms of structural integrity and warmth. The comfortable temp range on this thing is super wide. I use it mostly as a baselayer but it also func... Read Moretions as an active midlayer when paired with a wind shirt. Some reports suggest that this layer is fragile but mine is still going strong even after bushwhack heavy thru hikes like the Pacific Northwest Trail and the Oregon Desert Trail

September 7, 2021

Favorite single article of clothing

This thing is awesome, it is great at regulating temperature and I am never too hot or too cold either skiing in the backcountry or hiking an approach in the morning. Worth the money

July 11, 2021

Super warm

Perfect fit.ComfortableWarm and snug.

July 1, 2021

Fluffy Soft

Guess I'm fat or something because its a little tighter than I'd like, but otherwise a very nice layer. It does tend to snag on things from time to time and it feels a lot warmer than the old base layers I used to get from Patagonia, but it also doesn't stink when worn hard and tends to wash easily.

June 30, 2021

Capilene Air Hoody - my grown up blanket

Exceptional quality, fits great, warm and functional, and looks sharp. I use this hoody in almost all conditions; second layer on backcountry ski missions, top layer going out on the town, any layer on hikes/bikes long and short.

May 16, 2021

Essential piece

In the field, the secret power of the first version of these soft, ultralight, stretchy hoodies is 51% wool in an open weave. This makes a great layering piece that never bulks you up. And its also stylish, which makes the traveler in me want to pack it every time. Lucky it washes so well by hand! The hood disappears under a helmet and works as a f... Read Moreace covering in a pinch. My first piece was a prototype version of the Cap Air Hoody. It was styled for women. It was flattering but very tight fitting, presumably for breathability. Turns out, it was not quite the high performance piece I expected. dWarm when wet, of course; but the dry time wasnt amazing and therefore I found myself leaving it out of my pack in winter. So Ive ditched the technical use, and with it the trim fitting look, and Ive switched instead to a relaxed, oversized vibe for throwing the hoody on as a belay piece or a lounging layer. I love it. Its a travel staple. All in all, another essential piece from Patagonia...as long as you keep offering it in muted or classic travel colorways (blacks, greys, dark blues, naturals) that are welcome in Europe and after 5 pm around the world. With that in mind, please avoid contrasting stitching at the hem and/or cuffs. Its the main reason one of my old versions stayed at home on the shelf.

May 16, 2021

Just right comfort

I love the loft and the weight, hoody works well during wind that normally bites but . . . You need a layer over it to keep from snagging on anything.

May 7, 2021

Light but effective!

Love this as a base layer or just on its own. Like how it keeps your warm but also regulates heat via (way its sewn) and you feel cool if need it. Does attract lint but not a deal breaker

April 29, 2021

Breathable Warmth

Dont know how this base-layer hoodie can be warm, breathable - in the truest sense of the word, super comfortable and light weight. I have worn this biking to work in the morning (low 30s), then rode home in the evening (mid 50s) and felt perfect both ways. It has exceeded my expectations. I expect to be wearing this year round.

April 25, 2021

Warm and Conformable

Fits true to size. It is warm and comfortable. It can be warn as a base layer or a hoodie. Although pricey, I would recommend this as it is a piece that will last awhile.

April 25, 2021

Light but warm

Loved the fabric, color, and fit of this item. But I reluctantly returned it because I thought it would be too warm for non-winter hiking. The warm and generous amount of fabric around the neck, coupled with no zipper for venting, would be too much of a drawback for my spring/summer rambles. If I did winter in the mountains, this would be a MUST in... Read More the pack.

April 18, 2021

Best base layer

I have 2 hooded versions and 1 crew neck. They are the warmest, lightest, most comfortable garment that I own. Nice enough to wear in to work but also a good technical piece for medium-high exertion activity . Excellent breathability. Wore this under a Houdini for hiking in sunny snowy conditions and it was perfect.

April 9, 2021

Very warm

This hoody is very warmand cozy, besides it is very soft. very light. I like it very much and would recommend.

April 3, 2021

This really keeps me warm.

Comfortable, warm and goes great with all my vests.

April 3, 2021

Versatile and comfy!

Versatile garment that feels great as a mid layer. I love pulling the hood up under my beanie as night sets in so my neck and sides of my face feel protected from the elements.

March 31, 2021

This hoody is WARM1

I was ice climbing in Ouray and this was the only layer I had between me and my jacket. It was WARM. I had to unzip a little to cool off while I was climbing. As soon as I got to the belay I would zip up and this hoody did a great job of moving the moisture away from my body and keeping me warm. I love this piece.

March 25, 2021

Comfort at a range of temperatures

I find that this product works very well at a wide range of temperatures. I really hood that doubles as a neck comforter. Very happy with it.

March 23, 2021

Lite, warm, and nice

This is a lovely top. It's looks good and is warm. The wind will come though it so it's best as a base layer. Very comfortable.

March 20, 2021

So nice, I bought it twice

This is my second one of these. The firm-fitting nature for me (60, 150 lbs) makes it unique. Light, warm, perfect for layering when I run on Chicagos cold days, or just wearing around on cool ones.

March 9, 2021

key piece

this shirt is expensive but super worth it. I use it for winter mountain biking and xc skiing. key base layer and super versatile on days when winds may kick up or temps change. the hood fits perfect under a hat, helmet or alone or pulls down into a neck gator that is super comfy. the shirt is super warm for how light it is. get this you will be st... Read Moreoked.

March 1, 2021

Light, Comfy, and Warm

Pretty versatile top for layering or worn as is. I've used it as layering on a ski day or just as is when running in cooler temperatures.

February 28, 2021

Magic warmth

This keeps body and head warm but weighs nothing and feels like nothings there. Went running in 20 degree cold and the garment adapted as I warmed up. Never was too hot or too cold during 90 minutes outside.

February 26, 2021

Comfort plus

Great product for light weight and maximum warmth. I Use it with a puff vest and find it keeps me warm without bulk. Definitely recommend it for those cold mornings especially when there is wind.

February 24, 2021

Crazy warm, very delicate

This is one of Patagonia's weird wizard pieces. I don't know how, but it's so warm its basically not the right layering choice unless you live or work somewhere frigid, or, wear it as your only base layer if you are feeling spicy and want to attempt to be active in it. That said, buy it for any woman you know who gets cold easily and... Read More you'll shortly be a hero. The hood functions as a glorious neck warmer most of the time, though it has come in handy on occasion. I wore this, in combo with the long johns, when things were particularly frigid spending long periods outside in Antarctica. That said, it was often too warm/heat inducing and I'd leave it off preferring something less suffocating. It'd be a prime piece of kit sitting around a hole in the ice trying to catch fish if that's your cup of tea. Beware that the way its knitted leads to rapid unravelling if ripped, and lots of stretch.

February 23, 2021

Best long underwear top I have ever owned

I live in Alaska. So over the years I have owned a lot of different long underwear tops. This is hands down the best. I love the hood for under a helmet. I love to wear it cross country skiing. It keeps me super warm, it drys quickly and it is lightweight. I would likely never buy a different top again. I also rarely write reviews, but this top des... Read Moreerves one.

February 22, 2021

Super comfy piece of gear

So comfy and pretty durable, I wish they made a t shirt from this weave. Fits true to size and gorgeous colors!

February 21, 2021

Super Warm

We had frigid weather (in the negative wind chills) in Northern Michigan and this was absolutely perfect to wear. 100% recommend this to anyone.

February 19, 2021

The Patagonia Melanzana Hoody

This is the holy grail of fabric. Warm, super-fast drying, soft, and light weight. It feels like you don't even have it on. From deep pow days to a casual dinner out, this is your hoody. For extra cold days, use the crew neck version underneath for amazing warmth. Vail, Co I bought a large for 41inch chest.

February 10, 2021

great base layer

I wanted a layer close fitting and very flexible with complete freedom of movement for cold weather workouts. This hoody does exactly that. The material is very thin so I'd use it as a base layer when climbing but it probably wouldn't last long against rock. The hood can be a little snug around the neck, but I like it when I'm active... Read More in cold weather because it keeps the wind from getting past the collar and the hood is great under gear. It's on the expensive side, but I've had some good experiences with Patagonia clothing lasting a long time so we'll see. So far, thanks for making a great product Patagonia.

February 6, 2021

Clam digger

What a great find a lot Of wool and comes over Your head face every thing Do not let lightness and thin looking very very warm especially if you Are moving

February 5, 2021

Perfect for X-Country

Bought this to have a base layer for x-country skiing and love the hood to adjust as get warm (or cold). This is perfect as base layer and just add my vest on the colder days. Bought a 2nd one already.

February 5, 2021

Love the product...next step up in life..gear.. for warm..

Sailing offshore in the Winter... moving yachts in low..temp..outstanding.. layer..its alive..with you..

February 1, 2021

Heat and light

Well, warmth, not heat. Efficient warmth with the lightest weight. The hood is a gator when it's not a hood. Perfect base layer; it stays on after all the rest comes off.

February 1, 2021

Comfort

Great warmth and sun protection in a float tube trout fishing.

January 27, 2021

Great baselayer

If you are looking for the ultimate baselayer, then look no further.

January 27, 2021

If you run in cold weather, Just BUY IT!

I wear this jersey for cold weather running and beneath an R1. The hood replaces the need for a balaclava or secondary noggin cover as the R1 covers that. It's incredibly warm and affords excellent mobility. I'm 6'1" and 165lbs. The engineered constructions fits body close, very comfortable with no restrictions of movement. Just... Read More a great garment, credos to Patagonia and keep up the good work!

January 26, 2021

Awesome for aerobic activity in the cold

I wear this over a merino t-shirt as my primary be-bold-start-cold baselayer combo for winter ski touring (too warm for spring). I usually don't add an additional layer until I reach wind-exposed ridgelines--unless I stop or the temp is in the single-digits F. Sweat and snow wick away and evaporate form the waffle divets in the fabric really e... Read Moreffectively. And, even if you put your softshell over it while it's nearly wetted out with sweat, your body heat continues to evaporate the moisture and you'll eventually be dry (unless it's too warm out, in which case I go to summer sun-cover type hoody). Also, I LOVE the turtle-head hood. Sometimes I forget my buff, and the hood on this thing is awesome for protection from sun/wind/cold, under a helmet or over a trucker. Just put my first hole in mine after 2 full seasons, may have to get the gray one next.

January 20, 2021

Exceptional Base Layer

I will admit, at first I was skeptical. The fabric is seemingly quite delicate and very light. However, after a couple of backpacking trips, I can say without a doubt this is the most functional baselayer I've used. On its own, the jacket retains a minimal amount of warmth but when paired with a down jacket and windbreaker this jacket really s... Read Morehows its colors. Many fleeces are just far too warm when used as an active layer but the Air Cap hoody manages to keep me warm with minimal sweat when hiking/biking. I think this is due to the porous nature of the fabric. All in all, a fantastic piece of gear!

January 17, 2021

Needs longer sleeves for slim fit

Love the material and look, just found the sleeves to be too short for the slim fit.

January 7, 2021

Bought another without the hood!

This was a gift to my husband. He cant wait to wear it hiking and skiiing after wearing it casually. He likes it so much he purchased the hood less version so he has both options. He stated it feels cozy and warm despite its soft and light weight texture.

December 28, 2020

Great gift

I bought this for my husband to wear on the cold nights in the cabin. He finds it comfortable and definitely warm. The option of the hood extends its versatility. It is lightweight and good for travel. He would not wear it for cross country skiing because it does not "unzip" at the neck.

December 26, 2020

Cozy

Hubby has worn everyday since getting on Xmas eve. Great hood and face mask in a pinch. Great design.

December 13, 2020

not casual wear but very functional

it's both too tight and too warm to consider wearing for casual situations but it's great for being active in the cold. i haven't used the hood much yet but agree with other reviewers, it's a nice neck warmer when not a hood.

December 2, 2020

Best Base Layer Out There, Hooded Version

This is a great baselayer. Its texture makes it warmer when layered, not too warm when worn alone, and it manages moisture the whole time. The hood adds warmth, sun protection, or--during the pandemic--is a quick facial covering solution.

November 27, 2020

Great piece!!

This is an awesome layer! Use it lots over the winter and is super warm, comfortable, and stays relatively stink free. Great for skiing as packs to nothing. Highly recommend, you wont be disappointed.

November 20, 2020

Warm and ccomfy

Super light warm and comfy. Warmer than thermal weight capilene and feels softer against skin.

November 13, 2020

Best moisture transfer for cold on the market. But fit needs work

I love this base layer, needs to be below 25 F. It dries amazingly well. I do wish Patagonia would change their mens fit model For me at 6-2 180 lbs, the LG is too short in sleeves and waist, but the XL is way too roomy in the chest. Please, please make the size large longer! Same with all your other jackets and tops.

November 2, 2020

Deceitfully good

I was a bit dubious buying this as it's loosly woven. But now it's one of my go-to tops to ware on cold camping nights, both hiking to site and sleeping in. Doesn't hold water and keeps me warm. I ware a thermal base layer underneath on super cold days, and a hard shell on top for wind and rainy days, but dont need much more.

October 30, 2020

Warm

This piece is so light youd think it would keep you warm. I was wrong. I use these mainly for running, been keeping me warm thru these cold autumn days. Had to clip the tag was a bit abrasive after that theres no problems with comfort, I sometimes sleep in it

September 12, 2020

New go to top

I have owned my capilene air hoody for just under a month / worn it 4-5 times in that span. I love the slim fit/ long arms and torso. Breathes very well on its own/ does not offer any wind protection due to this attribute. Can be worn in both a casual setting and for workouts. I do question its durability though- seems as if it could snag/ tear eas... Read Moreily if worn in wrong environment without an outer layer. Definitely a favorite- would love to get a second color.

September 1, 2020

warm and lightweight

This was initially a tough purchase because my previous best layer ever (I have been a customer for 30+ years and purchased many items over that time) that Patagonia produced was the hooded R-1. It goes everywhere with me. Winter skiing, winter cross country skiing, snowshoeing, summer Sierra after hiking layer, bike touring after riding layer. Aro... Read Moreund the house when it's cold out. You name it. So when I went to purchase this layer, I was skeptical. The air hoody packs smaller is 4.1 ounces lighter, and in my opinion, it's warmer. I like the R-1 for activities more but when I get to camp, the Air Hoody is the layer I put against my skin. The fit is lean unlike many patgomnia products that tend to cater to the full size man, this layer fits better for fit people. It's lean. It tucks in deep to your pants or hangs outside nicely. Sleeves are perfect, I weight 190lbs at 6" 3". The hoody acts like a turtle neck until deployed as a hood. The wool blend does not itch, even at night and sometimes I sweat at night. It's very comfortable. When traveling even in nice restaurants or around hotels, it not only keeps me warm, it looks really nice. I bought a second one because god forbid Patagonia stops making it. I love this layer, buy one, you'll be very happy you did.

July 13, 2020

Very comfortable

I was worried this has been a compulsive purchase as I went for the xl on sale but Im extremely content with my purchase. Super soft as a base layer. The hood feels extremely cozy. Really really good. I usually get Ls or Ms but this is probably meant to be more on the snug side.

July 9, 2020

Very comfortable

I was worried this has been a compulsive purchase as I went for the xl on sale but Im extremely content with my purchase. Super soft as a base layer. The hood feels extremely cozy. Really really good. I usually get Ls or Ms but this is probably meant to be more on the snug side.

April 12, 2020

So Warm

The first winter climbing trip I wore this on, I was blown away by how warm it was, especially for the weight. The tall neck does a great job at keeping heat in, and if you use the hood underneath your hat, it gets even warmer. For this reason I wouldn't recommend the hooded option for moderately cold climates, but instead opt for the crew. Ho... Read Morewever, if you're in the extreme cold and you want a piece that will keep you warmer than pretty much any other baselayer, this is it.

March 29, 2020

Incredible top

Absolutely great warmth/weight ratio. Tall neck makes for a very cozy baselayer and hood is great for those cooler adventures.

February 16, 2020

Cap Air Hoody

I have an extensive collection of Patagonia base layer clothing, or if it matters, all categories of Pat clothing. At 5’11” and 160 lbs, I’m on the skinny side and chill easily. It gets cold in the Adirondacks where I’ve recreated for more than 40 years. Layering for warmth and moisture management is critical for me. I purchased this top and immedi... Read Moreately gave it a thorough test on an 8 mile RT backcountry ski to Pharoah Lake. Temperature was the low single digits and windchill was bitter at times. I was absolutely impressed with the air cap hoody. I layered it with an R1 full zip top, nano puff jacket and an nano air hoody. I had no issues with moisture and the Cap Air Hoody worked great as a balaclava under a wool toque. I really like the light weight and comfort of the merino wool blend. My only concern is regarding durability of this piece. Time will tell. Fortunately I have many other base layers to choose from that I will save this top for certain uses.

January 4, 2020

Capilene Air Hoody and pants

THE best. We love Patagonia and we love this product. I thought it would be nice to get our three young adult kiddos this hoody and the pants because they are outdoors continuously... turns out they have been craving owning and living in this product. Is there a place to send you a picture of them enjoying the try-on session at our Solstice Celebra... Read Moretion??

January 3, 2020

Capilene Air Hoody is HOT!

Love this piece as both a casual wear to the office or out sweating up a storm. My favorite part is the hood. It's just the right snugness to act like a neck warmer with the hood down.

January 2, 2020

so soft

Super soft and warm. Only complaint is that the hood doesn't fit as tight as I'd like and no way to cinch it down. But otherwise, an excellent base layer that's warm and dry.

January 1, 2020

Cold Runner's Delight!

I purchased this piece to do a half-marathon at the end of November in Minnesota. The piece worked wonders in the beginning having the hood pulled up over my head and pulling up the collar to cover my neck. As I began to warm up, I was able to pull down the hood and collar and cool off. The weight is perfect for activity as it is not too heavy.

December 26, 2019

Light, warm, durable

Like the length. Weight is accurate. 6'0", 175, 40 chest, 33 waist. Medium is form-fitting, large would probably work too

December 18, 2019

Cap Air

I've owned many base layers. Capilene, and wool, and blends. Patagonia has taken it to the next level with this product! By far the most comfortable base layer I own. Dries in a jiffy, odor is no problem, fit is perfect and I am already ordering more as well as the bottoms! Nice work!

December 12, 2019

So comfy

I love the close fit and cozy material. Perfect as a base layer for a jacket. The hood is an unconventional fit that works more like a balaklava, but again it works great as a scarf when down and a full face cover when up, especially when wearing something on over it with a regular hood.

December 6, 2019

Great Layer, Little Warm for Ski Touring

I've had this for over a year & it's honestly great. I do find however that it is a little too warm for high exertion ski tours.

December 5, 2019

Lightweight,comfortable(soft texture),warm

Lightweight,comfortable(soft texture),warm

December 2, 2019

Very warm base layer. You

Very warm base layer. You will have no range of motion issues

December 2, 2019

Very excited to use my

Very excited to use my new Capilene Air Hoody as an essential everyday base layer for this upcoming ski season!!

November 26, 2019

Warm and comfortable

Very nice sweater/hoody. I love the fabric. It is warm in varied conditions, keeps out the wind, and breathes. My only concern is how it will do in the wash since I am wearing it every day.

November 25, 2019

Excellent base layer

I've taken my nano-air all over the globe for touring in the backcountry. Sweat wicking, strong and comfortable. Highly recommend.

November 25, 2019

One warm cool base top

This is the warmest base layer top I have in my Fall/Winter backpacking clothing. It has a great weight to warmth ratio and the style is crazy cool - kind of like a funnel neck hood down and a scuba hood up. It is really breathable too because of the box waffle weave in the material. This is great coupled with a compression tee and a shell jacket f... Read Moreor a wide range of outdoor activity. It’s also a great sleep companion and has increased my sleep temp by about 15 degrees. Have used this in fairly cold climes (10-40 F) under heated activity and it performs like a champ. Only con - not wind proof . Size is nicely fitted for a close but not compressed feel. Stylish enough to wear around the city and tough enough to handle the backcountry. The top of the heap in Patagonia’s base lineup and well worth the moola.

November 22, 2019

ordered incorrect size

This is a base layer - more for technical use in very cold conditions. I did not realize you should order this a size smaller than wearing around the house size. Thus, it is too big to be useful as a base layer and not suited for use wearing around the house. It would be phenomenal for running in temperatures below 10 degrees F

Response from Patagonia
December 11, 2019

This is great feedback, Matthew! It's a comfortable hoody that can indeed be worn any way you like, but you're right that it was designed to fit close to the body for the best wicking and heat retention in a wide range of temperatures. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you [return](https://help.patagonia.com/s/topic/0TO1L0000002yyTWAQ/returns-exchanges) it to a Patagonia-owned store or to our main service center for merchandise credit, refund or exchange, so don't hesitate to reach out to us. Also we'd love to recommend some other products for lounging around the house!

November 21, 2019

New Favorite Layer

For day's off or for layering for skiing, these layers are my new go-to. Move over against-skin merino base layers, the Merino/Capilene Air looks great and maintains the perfect balance of warmth and breathability. Nice one, Patagooch.

November 18, 2019

Winter running

This pricey little number does what it is supposed to do....keep me warm when the temp drops here in Maine. It breathes great and the hood and neck warmer were well thought out. I was reluctant to shell out that kind of dough but took the chance and was rewarded. That doesn’t happened all that often. Perfect for me.

November 14, 2019

Awesome

Super Impressed so far. So light, quality seems great. I really like the design of the hood/neck

November 14, 2019

Warm, feels nice, fits snug

Warm, feels nice, fits snug

November 14, 2019

Round

Yet another disappointingly short and fat garnet from Patagonia. Hopefully they start making clothes for athleticly shaped people again

Response from Patagonia
December 3, 2019

Hi Jacob, thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We're sorry to hear about the disappointment with the fit. You're satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

November 11, 2019

Mens Cap Air Bottoms

Comfy, roomy, warm, true to size, i wouldn't call them slim fit, they kind of fit like the old expedition weight bottoms (2 gens ago), which is awesome. I use them as camp/sleeping bottoms so i like them a little bigger. That said, I would have bought a L instead of the XL. I bought the larger size b/c of my experiences in the last 2 years wit... Read Moreh your sizing. "Slim Fit" seems to be a little all over the map (maybe you all are playing with the range in size a bit?).

November 10, 2019

Good base layer

Good base layer

November 9, 2019

Cap Air Hoody

Awesome piece! Lightweight and warm. Fit is great (size extra large for 5’10” 190 lb). I use as a mid layer and it’s perfect.

November 9, 2019

Like a warm hug!

The Capilene Air is like a warm hug from the moment you put it on. It is soft and form-fitting so there is no room for cold air to get in. The hood design wraps around the neck preventing any heat from escaping and when you put the hood up it adds warmth and easily fits under a helmet. The Capilene Air will be my go-to base layer this winter!

November 7, 2019

Light and comfortable

Works well and breathable.

November 7, 2019

My new favorite baselayer, for everything!

I've only had this for a week but I haven't taken it off. I've worn it everyday, for a wide variety of stuff, from hiking, fall cycling, and lounging around the house. Awesome piece, super comfortable, super soft, and still doesn't smell after a week. I will by another one very soon so I never have to go without it! I'm 6&#... Read Morex27;0", 200lbs and I like the way the Large fits, sits right against the skin but not any feeling of tight.

November 5, 2019

Pro review

I’m a ski patroller and in need of a light but warn layer that won’t feel bulky. This piece is next level and has become my goto for work and a night out for a movie

November 4, 2019

Awesome warmth, tight fit

The longsleeve is amazingly warm. I love the material. Only knock is that the fabric is extremely elastic, and therefore the garment is sized very small. I don't mind/prefer a closer fit, but I can't have too much tightness into my armpits or I chafe. Unfortunately a size large is very borderline here. I'll have to see once the snow... Read More falls how my pits fare.

November 1, 2019

Capliene Air Hoody

This things is quite honestly, amazing. I run in very cold weather. Sweat hard. Set this thing on rack to dry, and it dries quickly w/no smell! Amazing!

October 20, 2019

Futuristic High-Fashion Technical Hoodie

Love the material. Super comfortable, light, and remarkably warm considering the former descriptors. Can tell that this is going to be in regular rotation this winter. Size up for more of a sweater than a baselayer. I bought the XL, and am considering getting a L simply for a more technical fit. But it's super awesome as a hoodie/sweater as we... Read Morell. My only gripe is how bunchy the hood material is when not employed IE hanging around like some sort of high-fashion turtleneck. But, the utility is obvious when you have the hood over your head. Consider the crewneck if you don't ever plan to use the hood....duh.

October 17, 2019

Thermal range

A surprisingly large thermal range. Unparalleled breathability for the warmth of this baselayer. Dries very quickly if you do start to sweat. Excellent for cold weather climbing. The softness is a nice bonus.

October 9, 2019

Love this!

Cozy and supremely warm for its weight! I wear it in my layering system but I wear it as a lifestyle piece too!

October 6, 2019

My Favorite

I bought one for a cold weather trip, liked it so much I bought a second in a different color. I love it because it's lightweight, keeps me warm, but never gets hot. It's my go-to for long flights and travel. My only issue would be it piles or pills... Not sure what the correct word is, but it develops lots of little balls where it rubs a... Read Moregainst itself and on the chest for some reason.

September 30, 2019

Amazing Layering Piece!

Amazing Layering Piece! I recently used this on a solo 20 day Sierra High Route endeavor. It was exactly what I needed. Seamless too. The hood added even more temperate control. Expensive but worth it.

September 21, 2019

Interesting Garment

ok, warm for sure while being light in weight. i usually can not wear wool next to my skin and fing this a tad itchy but not too bad. suggestion: Monkey thumbs would be nice as it is a base layer and you are pulling other sleeves up on it. The hood was bugging me at first but i discovered i could roll it in on itself over and over and it turns i... Read Morento a cowl neck of sorts and tends to stay there. The tag at the back of the neck was crazy long so i cut it off. Now I don't have washing instructions. Ha! half wool so no or low dryer I presume. Yes, it is pricey. Overall pretty cool. I look for it on cold mornings now.

September 12, 2019

Comfort, Fit, Style - A+

Received this in August in MS, in anticipation for our 'winters'. A base layer or two is all you need during our most frigid months and I'm excited to give this piece a go. Given the comfort, style and fit, I'm already anticipating it being a daily part of my rotating wardrobe during winter bird counts and leading nature walks.

September 10, 2019

Best Base Layer

This is a great base layer that can take days of all day wear without giving a stink. Very comfortable with no scratch. 6' 190 lbs large fits well, a tad long but that might be by design. Get the hoody if you can

August 25, 2019

Base Layer Hoodie

An ultralight layer that feels good next to the skin an is also super warm in chilly conditions.

August 16, 2019

A Versatile Piece. Kinda Fragile.

This a great layering piece and drys quickly if used for a high output activity. Looks stylish, comes in great colors. The hood fits perfectly and can be used when hiking or sleeping and fits under a snowboard helmet seamlessly. Works pretty well to block wind. I have worn this piece hiking, climbing and snowboarding, it does all well and is so sof... Read Moret and comfortable.

August 12, 2019

Excellent Sweater, but I miss the pocket

I had the older version of this hoody that also had a pocket in the front. I do like that the newer version has a turtle neck-style hood that doesn't take up much room when not being worn, but I'd love for the pocket to come back. The fiber feels great and the knit of the sweater looks great, too!

August 11, 2019

Best base layer

The neck is a bit tight so if that bugs you keep it in mind. This and a Houdini is three season coverage.

August 10, 2019

I wear it a lot.

Pros: Warm, soft, light, minimal, compressible; I like the feel and weight and level of insulation. I have worn it most evenings this summer living in the Sierra backcountry, and slept in it most nights. Cons: the hood seems a little baggy around the throat, like I have toad neck or something but that looseness also makes it easy to wear the hood f... Read Moreor extended periods; hood also seems a little itchy where the edge touches my face; lastly - don't get it near velcro as its susceptible to major stickage and subsequently getting fuzzy patches.

August 10, 2019

Impressive piece

The merino-air hoody is the warmest and yet the most breathable baselayer piece I have ever worn. Like most baselayers it shows every good or bad body structure even when sized up to use as a 2nd layer. It's so comfortable that you might be willing to use as a casual piece. This item easily pills so treat carefully. The Patagonia merino air Ho... Read Moreudini hoody might get the final star.

August 10, 2019

Nice and lightweight, but there's more...

Wow was my first thought when I tried it on. Super comfortable fit, and so lightweight. The wool did start to feel itchy to me when the body heats up. Learned to use it over another lightweight capeline.

August 10, 2019

love this piece

but feels a little fragile, beautiful fit

June 29, 2019

Itchy label

With a little dexterity and an Xacto knife, you can easily remove the scratchy label sewn inside.

May 8, 2019

Light weight

Fit well. Sized with nice long sleeves and tail to tuck in. Was expecting a little heavier weight material. Have not had a chance to use it in appropriately cold weather.

May 8, 2019

High performance across a wide temperature range

I've been a big fan of merino wool shirts and sweaters for years due to its abilities to help me maintain a comfortable body temperature while adventuring in the mountains regularly. I read that the Capilene air hoody improved upon the awesomeness of merino and after a long day mountaineering in the snowy Wasatch range from 4am to early aftern... Read Moreoon last weekend I was very happy with the results. While I needed to put on my nano air hoody when chilling on multiple summits that day I was comfortable only in a shirt with the capilene air hoody while summiting peaks and traversing ridges between them. I expect this will be my go-to for many mountain adventures.

April 9, 2019

cap ilene air hoody

I've lived in Wyoming 70 years and worn Patagonia clothes for half that. I still have several of my originals. However, the Capilene Air Hoody is my favorite. Easy 5 starts.

April 2, 2019

Lightest and Warmest Piece of Clothing

This hoodie does it all. Breathes, keeps you warm and is soft. Can be worn as casual wear and for many activities.

March 27, 2019

Favorite Shirt

I have really sensitive skin and had read some of the reviews that found the shirt itchy. I was happy to find this shirt was not itchy to me. It is easily the best shirt I’ve worn and it is suprisingly appropriate for many situations- it’s great to lounge around in, wear on a run, and is nice enough to wear casually, too. I’m a little worried about... Read More snagging, but haven’t had any issues so far. Most comfortable shirt I’ve ever worn.

March 4, 2019

Good and warm baselayer but...

...the change in knitting style of the garment compared to the first gen merino air is not as warm or as durable. I have a merino air hoodie I bought when they were offered for a season and it has been my go to baselayer for all cold weather. I’ve worn it by itself climbing and never ever had a loose thread. I wore this piece for one day and alread... Read Morey have had two loose threads pop and I’m worried about the capilene airs durability.

February 10, 2019

I wish I had bought it months ago

When I first saw this, I knew that I needed it. Every time I go backpacking, I always wish I had a hoodie like this. You honestly can NOT go wrong with purchasing this hoodie. It is super light weight, very warm, and extremely comfortable - and as an added bonus it covers your neck up to the middle of your face!!! I held off because of the $150 pri... Read Morece tag, but finally purchased it, and I am not the type to spend $150 on a hoodie. It was honestly a big splurge but worth every single penny. After I got it, I bought the bottoms to match! Call me a psycho but I could not resist. I wear them around the house as well as take them with me on backpacking trips, and they have not disappointed - we'll see how they do on the PCT this year ;). My only complaint is that I didn't just spend the money sooner and be able to enjoy them for longer! UGH! I rated this true to size because it's meant to fit tight - if you don't want it to show your ~features~ I recommend a size up.

February 9, 2019

Wearing mine until late spring

After wearing this piece every day since I received it in the mail, I can say it’s my favorite piece of clothing hands down. I work at a ski resort and am constantly going inside>outside>inside again all throughout the day. The hood is amazing for this because it fits over a baseball hat, under a beanie, or under a Smith ski helmet. The hood ... Read Morecould be slightly tighter at the top of the head to reduce movement under a helmet, but I imagine all the hippies with long hair appreciate the extra room. With a baseball hat on 90% of the time, this hood works great as a light buff while outside on cold/windy days and can easily be removed when going inside. The hood can be tricky if using a second buff on colder days or AM sled rides, though just putting the hood over my Black Strap Buff worked fine with my helmet. As if I haven’t talked the hood up enough, it keeps beacon straps off your shoulder which has been an annoyance of mine lately. The material is fragile as others have said, and wearing ski bibs most days of the week paired with this piece will likely beat it up. In my opinion small repairs are worth the comfort, warmth,stretch, weight of the merino air. Hopefully Patagonia can reinforce shoulders in future models for those of us who wear bibs 6-7 times a week with this great base layer. This week in the great white north has been very cold so I have been wearing this around the house/town after skiing/working. I imagine it will be too warm for everyday use as the temps get above 0 in the coming days. Some have said the size is too loose for a base layer, I personally disagree as it fits under my bibs, and with a mid-layer/shell combo. I would recommend this and know that I personally will buy another in the near future.

January 31, 2019

Air Hoody

I needed a replacement for my go-to base layer - my older go-to was beyond ratty and the newer versions didn't feel as soft. Not sure about wear... but this fits the bill for warmth and comfort. If I was designing it I would probably add the grey trim (that runs along the hem) to the outline of the hoodie hole - mainly because it's kind o... Read Moref "USB" tricky to put on. overall... very happy

January 17, 2019

Ski Patroller

I bought this needing warmer gear as a base-layer. At first glance, it's very thin and doesn't look like it would be warm. When added to your layers along with heat generated from movement, it becomes incredibly warm. The hoodie/scarf is another cool feature of this product.

January 12, 2019

Incredible soft

Soft, light, warm and super comfortable layer. Fits like glove, feel like... nothing :) Hood is not tight and maybe be bigger after using. Fabric looks not very durable, need overlayer for climbing.

January 8, 2019

Pretty good

So I've gotten to use this in single digits now for a couple weeks in Anchorage, and I personally think its a little warm to be a "base layer". Even in single digits on my fat bike I was sweating bullets underneath my thin midlayer (TNF Superhike Flashdry something or other) and OR ascent shell. The balaclava is nice is you don'... Read Moret have a helmet, but as soon as you have helmet straps on , it doesn't stay put and migrates all over the place. Furthermore, the rim of the balaclava pinches/ snags your beard hairs (if you have any), and feels slightly uncomfortable when in turtleneck mode. The sweater knit style while nice, I feel will be less durable (already fraying in a couple spots where it contacts velcro patches on my pants and sleeve cuffs. I honestly think this would serve much more effectively as a light mid-layer, being slightly less warm than an R1 with way less weight. I think it would really shine being used as a layer in down hill skiing (which I haven't gotten to try just yet because my ankle is wonky), or maybe back country touring in temps below 20 with nothing else on. The other thing I'm not huge on is the feel of polyester when wicking. It always leaves that droplet feel when evaporating compared to wool which seems to spread the drops out. Other than that, size is spot on and its nice looking. Probably too warm for biking or cross country skiing where activity is constant w/ no stops.

December 31, 2018

cant take this thing Off haha

Like many of you, I too tend to browse the reviews to help me decide on a purchase. So leaving one,is truly helpful. I hemmed an hawed before I finally dropped in on this one. I had a few things to consider: will it really be that warm for its weight? will it hold up? stretch out? fit well? etc.. Friends.. this thing is incredible. The warmth to we... Read Moreight is unreal. Its possible the bags it came in could have outweighed it haha *jokes,but really. So far, I have been wearing this thing nearly everyday since I bought it. I simply cannot help it.. Its been out skinning and kept me warm while breathing VERY well in 15 degree weather with a shell over it. We have had a few colder days in the mountains, and I layer : Merino air, Nano air, shell and cant complain. I tend to keep an R1 in my pack as well. This thing is a beast. Though.. it has a few drawbacks The Pilling after a day, and got worse. HAND WASH this dude.,then hang dry. The Hood is dope,but I wish it was tighter. The one in the images Patagonia shows looks great, I look like a flacid turtle.. not so much scub guy haha all in all,I'll swoop another down the road,no hesitation cheers

December 30, 2018

Narrow set of uses, but meets them well

This feels like being hugged by a teddy-bear at all times. Does a shirt get better than that?

December 14, 2018

Unbelievable

The Cap air hoody is expensive, maybe too much so. But if you are willing to pay the price you will get an amazing base layer that works as a standalone garment or a lightweight,warm, and exceptionally breathable base layer. Patagonia doesn't do a great job showing the knit in the videos but it is really interesting. If you look at it up close... Read More it makes total sense how this material can do those three things above. The best I can describe it seems to be mostly open air pockets inside a framework of yarn. I live in central Iowa where the winters can be quite harsh, and I want a base layer that can work under minimal garments at university and also off on adventures. This early December it was 35 with a supposed windchill of 27. To test this I put this hoody on underneath my R1 13/22 zip (or whatever) hoody and stepped out onto my porch, and I was warm! I'm not sure which outer layers work the best with this yet but the R1 seemed to work nicely enough. After I was done on the porch I stepped inside, took both hoods off and zipped my r1 1/4 open, and was again very comfortable. I cant speak on the durability of the garment yet, the "air blown yarn" makes me curious maybe even a little skeptical. In the end I guess I could always send it in for repairs (If that's even possible with this material???). But at first touch it seem quite solid. The knit has no visible imperfections. Would I recommend this hoody? Absolutely! It is so warm as a base layer under an outer layer, while also being highly breathable. as a standalone garment it breathes so well that I imagine you could wear it in 80+ degrees if that's what you wanted to do for whatever reason. in my 66 degree house it was plenty comfortable .

December 8, 2018

Great baselayer for fishing and hunting

I've worn this piece as a baselayer for hunting and fishing this fall and winter in temperatures as low as the 20s. It has kept me warm when stationary on the stand and knee deep in a creek drifting nymphs. It is comfortable and fits true to size. I'm 5'9" 155 and the medium is perfect. The hood isn't a snug fit but it work... Read Mores great as a built in neck gaiter to keep the wind off my neck. At first I was surprised at how light this piece is and wondered if it would keep me warm, but it has. I wonder about its durability for as light a garment as it is, but wearing it as a baselayer should protect it. All in all a great piece. I'm considering getting the bottoms.

November 27, 2018

Pretty awesome

The shirt is great, very warm and soft. My only complainant is around the tag. With in the 1st 30mins of wearing the tag started to come off and caused a bit of annoyance. Went back and cut the last few strands of tread holding the tag. Changing the tag to a ink tag would have been a nice. Overall this top is a winner. I am 5'7 about 150lbs t... Read Morehe M fits great.

November 22, 2018

Utterly like another skin

I am big guy and the XXL was super baggy. Amazing material to as an under shirt or main shirt. The hood is great either on the head or around the neck to keep out drafts

October 30, 2018

Fabric and my skin not a happy couple

The construction is pretty awesome even though it seems really delicate it is not. The fit is tight but if you are buying this you probably are aware of that. I would have kept this item but it was itchy i dont know if it was just the fabric or if my skin is sensitive? Either way the fabric was itchy and uncomfortable for me but the quality of the ... Read Morebuild is great.

October 29, 2018

Wonderful insulation, but a bit fragile

I purchased this for hiking in Glacier during mid-October, when the temps varied from the low 20s to the upper 40s. To understate it, I sweat a lot, and so while I love merino for its warmth it can be difficult for longer hikes when I work up a good sweat. I found the Capilene Air to be a fabulous middle ground between polyester fleece and merino. ... Read MoreIt is extremely warm for its weight. Indeed when stationary I found it to be warmer than merino. And it is a wonderfully soft fabric – the kind I’d like to live in. Further, it manages sweat fairly well, though after one particularly tough day the shirt was soaked. My only complaint is that the fabric is very fragile. It has pilled significantly on arms and in areas where straps rub up against it and it has a pull in it near the hood after just three days of hiking. But given the nature of the fabric I’m not sure there is much that can be done about it. It was likely not meant as outer, which is the way I wore it for much of the hike. I’d give it 4.5 stars if I could….

October 19, 2018

Versatile baselayer

I received one of these as a gift when it was called merino air hoody. I didn’t know what to use it for initially, so I just slept in it. But when I began to get more into splitboarding, I found its usefulness. It’s great when paired with a nano air vest, both breathable insulation. Plus I love the anti-stink properties of the merino and that I can... Read More fit the hood under my helmet.

August 26, 2018

Warm and Cozy

Lived in this for 4 days in the Chugach Mountains and was very happy that I had it. This is a very comfortable (material is awesome!) piece that kept me warm and dried quickly. Glad I got the hooded version as well. The hood isn't very bulky which is a big plus. I did learn that the mosquitos could bite through it, but it's Alaska and tha... Read Moret's part of it! Overall I definitely recommend this item.

August 24, 2018

sooooo warm

Fabric = Amazing. Warmth = Amazing. Stretch = Amazing. Hood was magic on an ultra-cold ski lift, the non-hoody version might be more versatile. Tight fit probably won't pull double duty in an office setting, but hopefully you're not buying it for that anyway...

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches